DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 12, 14-16, 26, 29-31, 33, and 35-43 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 12, 14-16, 26, 29-31, 33, and 35-43 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 1, lines 9-10 of the claim recites the claim feature “wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of the cyclic prefix extension for the SRS transmission based at least in part on the one or more parameters”. The claimed subject matter of wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of the cyclic prefix extension for the SRS transmission was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
For example in light of the applicants specification, the cyclic prefix extension is determined based at least in part on the one or more parameters (see Para’s [0007-0008], [0010-0011], [0016], & [0043]). However the specification does not describe any subject matter of how the cyclic prefix extension is determined in the LBT procedure or the claim feature of “wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of the cyclic prefix extension for the SRS transmission”. The specification only describes that the cyclic prefix extension is determined based at least on one or more parameters, and transmitting the SRS transmission with the cyclic prefix extension after performing the LBT procedure (i.e. Para [0016]). The LBT procedure is performed to determine if the channel is idle for a certain duration before transmitting the SRS with the cyclic prefix extension, (see Para [0046-0047] of the applicants specification). However as previously mentioned, the specification does not describe the subject matter of how the LBT procedure comprises a determination of the cyclic prefix extension for the SRS transmission. The determination of the cyclic prefix extension for the SRS transmission is determined based on the one or more parameters indicated in the uplink grant or DCI (see Para’s [0010-0011], [0016], [0052], & [0054-0056]).
If the applicant has support for the claim feature, the examiner asks the applicant to provide support for the claim feature of “wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of the cyclic prefix extension for the SRS transmission based at least in part on the one or more parameters”.
Independent claims 12, 16 , and 31 which recite the same claim feature as claim 1, are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for the same reasons explained for claim 1. The dependent claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) based on their dependence to independent claims 1, 12, 16, and 31.
Claims 1, 3, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, lines 4-5 of the claim recites “and the uplink grant corresponding to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission consecutively without a timing gap”. It is unclear what “the PUSCH transmission consecutively without a timing gap” refers to or what is consecutive to the PUSCH transmission without a timing gap. The claim term “and the uplink grant corresponding to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission consecutively without a timing gap” is unclear because it is unclear what is consecutive without a timing gap with respect to the PUSCH transmission. For purposes of examination the examiner interprets the claim feature to be “wherein the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission are scheduled consecutively without a timing gap” as claimed similarly in the other independent claims 12, 16, and 31.
Dependent claim 3 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) based on its dependence to independent claim 1.
Regarding Claim 43, lines 3-4 of the claim recites the limitation “the bit field being associated with the timing gap between the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 42 from which claim 43 depends from does not claim “the timing gap between the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission” but instead claims the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission being scheduled consecutively without a timing gap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 16, 26, 31, 33, 35-36, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2020/0280465) in view of ETRI “UL signals and channels”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #100, R1-2000770, further in view of Kumagai et al. US (2023/0051403), and further in view of Tirola et al. US (2022/0078841).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 3 i.e., terminal), comprising: receiving an uplink grant (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0052] i.e., “the uplink grant may identify time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources in which to perform the PUSCH transmission and the SRS transmission. In some aspects, the uplink grant is included in DCI”…Kim, see Para [0154] i.e., Referring to Fig. 13, the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI or UL-DCI). When the SRS transmissions is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information (i.e., “uplink grant”) on an SRS resource and resource(s) of UL channels (i.e., PUSCH and/or PUCCH))
and a downlink grant (see Para [0152] i.e., The base station may trigger SRS transmission of the terminal by transmitting DCI including a trigger signal. The DCI may be DL-DCI (i.e., downlink grant”) for assigning a PDSCH & [0154] i.e., the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI))
the downlink grant corresponding to a sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (see Para’s [0135-0136], [0152] i.e., The base station may trigger SRS transmission of the terminal by transmitting DCI including a trigger signal. The DCI may be DL-DCI (i.e., downlink grant”) for assigning a PDSCH (i.e., the downlink grant (i.e., DL-DCI) corresponds to a SRS transmission since the DL-DCI triggers an SRS transmission) & [0154] i.e., Referring to Fig. 13, the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI)). When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information on an SRS resource and resources of UL channels (i.e., PUSCH) & [0167] i.e., The terminal may multiplex an SRS resource triggered by the DL-DCI (i.e., “downlink grant”) ).
And the uplink grant corresponding to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, (see Para [0154] i.e., the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI). When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information (i.e., “uplink grant”) on an SRS resource and resource(s) of UL channel(s) i.e., PUSCH)
Wherein the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission are scheduled consecutively without a timing gap (see Fig. 13 i.e., SRS transmission and PUSCH transmission are arranged adjacently in time without a timing gap & Para’s [0152-0154] i.e., When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information on an SRS resource and resource(s) of UL channel(s) (i.e., PUSCH and/or PUCCH). The SRS resource and the UL channel resource may be arranged adjacently (i.e., “without a timing gap”) in time, [0157], & [0167])
and wherein DCI indicates one or more parameters that indicate a listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining a cyclic prefix extension, (see Para’s [0154-0155] i.e., For example, in case of the NR system, a specific field of the DCI may indicate an index value, and the index indicated by the DCI may indicate the type of LBT procedure and an extended length of a cyclic prefix (CP) (i.e., “one or more parameters”). The extended length of the CP may be one of four values)
performing a listen before talk (LBT) procedure based on the LBT type (see Para [0136])
a determination of the cyclic prefix extension based at least in part on the one or more parameters; (see Para’s [0155] i.e., and the index indicated by the DCI may indicate the type of LBT procedure and an extended length of a cyclic prefix (CP) & [0164] i.e., when the terminal fails to transmit the UL channel according to the LBT procedure, the terminal may apply the extended length of the CP applied to the UL channel to the SRS resource as it is. That is, the terminal may apply the extended length of the CP indicated by the DCI to the first symbol constituting the SRS resource)
and transmitting the SRS transmission after performing the listen before talk (LBT) procedure, (see Para’s [0009] i.e., performing a channel sensing operation…and transmitting the SRS to the base station based on a result of the channel sensing (i.e., “LBT procedure”), [0133], [0136], [0153-0155], [0157], & [0175] i.e., The terminal may transmit the SRS through the first symbol of the SRS resource).
While Kim suggests a LBT procedure may be performed prior to the SRS transmission (see Para’s [0009], [0133], & [0136]) and determining the cyclic prefix extension (see Para’s [0154-0155]), Kim does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of transmitting the SRS transmission with the cyclic prefix extension after performing a listen before talk (LBT) procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of ETRI “UL signals and channels”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #100, R1-2000770.
ETRI discloses transmitting an SRS transmission with a cyclic prefix extension after performing a listen before talk (LBT) procedure (see Pg. 2 Section 2.2, “Time resource for SRS transmission” i.e., CP extension duration values C1-C3 (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) under Agreement… We would propose to give more flexibility, when SRS request is triggered by UE-specific DCI, the field ChannelAccess-CPext_CAPC (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) can be also applicable to the SRS transmission. The previous meeting (#99) has agreements applicable to PUSCH and PUCCH, i.e., the field ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) is applied to the SRS transmission…For other CP extensions, the indicated value (C2 and/or C3) (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) for PUSCH/PUCCH can be reused for SRS transmission, & Para 2 under Proposal 2 i.e., In order to allow more transmission opportunities for SRS resources, it has been considered to attempt SRS transmissions in a slot after slot n+k, where DCI is received as slot n and k is known beforehand. With the previous agreement that SRS resource can be transmitted on any symbol in the slot, the UE attempts LBT (i.e., “LBT procedure”) in slot n+k and takes the first available time resource)
(ETRI suggests the cyclic prefix extension used for the PUSCH transmission can be applicable or reused for the SRS transmission after performing a LBT procedure to give more flexibility in the network system and for allowing more transmission opportunities for SRS resources, (see Pg. 2 Section 2.2 Para 1 and Para 2 under Proposal 2)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the SRS transmission which occurs before the PUSCH transmission without a timing gap between the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Kim to transmit the SRS transmission with the cyclic prefix extension after performing a LBT procedure as disclosed in the teachings of ETRI who discloses the cyclic prefix extension used for the PUSCH transmission can be applicable or reused for the SRS transmission after performing a LBT procedure, because the motivation lies in ETRI that the cyclic prefix extension used for the PUSCH transmission can be applicable or reused for the SRS transmission after performing a LBT procedure to give more flexibility in the network system and for allowing more transmission opportunities for SRS resources.
While the combination of Kim in view of ETRI discloses the DCI including the uplink grant indicates the one or more parameters for determining a cyclic prefix extension which is for the SRS transmission (Kim, see Para’s [0154-0155]), the combination of Kim in view of ETRI does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of the uplink grant indicating the one or more parameters that indicates the listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining the cyclic prefix extension. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kumagai et al. US (2023/0051403).
Kumagai discloses an uplink grant indicating one or more parameters that indicates the listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining the cyclic prefix extension (see Para [0051] i.e., LBT type, CP extension value, and CAPC may be jointly encoded to be included in the UL grant & [0061-0062] i.e., UL grant by the fallback DCI, LBT type, CP extension value, and CAPC may be jointly encoded in two bits, to be included in the UL grant)
(Kumagai suggests the UL grant including one or more bits indicates the CP extension value because it is necessary for the terminal to specify the period of the CP extension before RRC configuration is executed, and the CP extension value may be determined appropriately even before the RRC configuration is executed in order to appropriately apply the CP extension to the uplink transmission (see Para’s [0076-0077] & [0080-0082])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the uplink grant included in the DCI as disclosed in Kim in view of ETRI to indicate the one or more parameters that indicates the listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining the cyclic prefix extension included in the uplink grant as disclosed in Kumagai which results in the determination of the cyclic prefix extension to be used for the SRS transmission, because the motivation lies in Kumagai that the UL grant including one or more bits indicates the CP extension value because it is necessary for the terminal to specify the period of the CP extension before RRC configuration is executed, and the CP extension value may be determined appropriately even before the RRC configuration is executed in order to appropriately apply the CP extension to the uplink transmission.
The combination of Kim in view of ETRI, and further in view of Kumagai does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of the cyclic prefix extension. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tirola et al. US (2022/0078841).
Tirola discloses wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of a cyclic prefix extension, (see Para [0041] i.e., wherein the energy level being above or below the threshold is identified using a single listen before talk measurement interval…listen before talk operation during the channel occupancy time…wherein based on the energy level of the gap being below the threshold, further comprising inserting an extended cyclic prefix in at east one predefined location within one transmit time interval of the scheduled uplink transmission (i.e., cyclic prefix extension is determined based on the LBT procedure)).
(Toriola suggests the energy detection listen before talk procedure is used for determining an appropriate cyclic prefix extension for the scheduled uplink transmission and for appropriately acquiring access to the channel, (see Para’s [0041] & [0065])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the determination of the cyclic prefix extension for the SRS transmission as disclosed in Kim in view of ETRI, and further in view of Kumagai to be determined based on the performed LBT procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Tirola who discloses wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of a cyclic prefix extension for the scheduled uplink transmission, because the motivation lies in Toriola that the energy detection listen before talk procedure is used for determining an appropriate cyclic prefix extension for the scheduled uplink transmission and for appropriately acquiring access to the channel.
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, transmitting the PUSCH transmission after transmitting the SRS transmission, (see Fig. 13 i.e., the PUSCH transmission occurs after the SRS transmission & Para [0153-0155] & [0157] i.e., the terminal may transmit the PUSCH after transmitting the SRS).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim discloses a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 i.e., terminal) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory (see Fig. 2 i.e., memory 220 & Para’s [0067-0068]); and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory (see Fig. 2 i.e., processor 210 & Para’s [0067-0068]), the memory and the one or more processors (see Fig.’s 2-3 & Para’s [0067-0068]) configured to: receive an uplink grant (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0052] i.e., “the uplink grant may identify time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources in which to perform the PUSCH transmission and the SRS transmission. In some aspects, the uplink grant is included in DCI”…Kim, see Para [0154] i.e., Referring to Fig. 13, the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI or UL-DCI). When the SRS transmissions is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information (i.e., “uplink grant”) on an SRS resource and resource(s) of UL channels (i.e., PUSCH and/or PUCCH))
and a downlink grant (see Para [0152] i.e., The base station may trigger SRS transmission of the terminal by transmitting DCI including a trigger signal. The DCI may be DL-DCI (i.e., downlink grant”) for assigning a PDSCH & [0154] i.e., the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI))
the downlink grant corresponding to a sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (see Para’s [0135-0136], [0152] i.e., The base station may trigger SRS transmission of the terminal by transmitting DCI including a trigger signal. The DCI may be DL-DCI (i.e., downlink grant”) for assigning a PDSCH (i.e., the downlink grant (i.e., DL-DCI) corresponds to a SRS transmission since the DL-DCI triggers an SRS transmission) & [0154] i.e., Referring to Fig. 13, the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI)). When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information on an SRS resource and resources of UL channels (i.e., PUSCH) & [0167] i.e., The terminal may multiplex an SRS resource triggered by the DL-DCI (i.e., “downlink grant”) ).
And the uplink grant corresponding to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, (see Para [0154] i.e., the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI). When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information (i.e., “uplink grant”) on an SRS resource and resource(s) of UL channel(s) i.e., PUSCH)
Wherein the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission are scheduled consecutively without a timing gap (see Fig. 13 i.e., SRS transmission and PUSCH transmission are arranged adjacently in time without a timing gap & Para’s [0152-0154] i.e., When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information on an SRS resource and resource(s) of UL channel(s) (i.e., PUSCH and/or PUCCH). The SRS resource and the UL channel resource may be arranged adjacently (i.e., “without a timing gap”) in time, [0157], & [0167])
and wherein DCI indicates one or more parameters that indicate a listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining a cyclic prefix extension, (see Para’s [0154-0155] i.e., For example, in case of the NR system, a specific field of the DCI may indicate an index value, and the index indicated by the DCI may indicate the type of LBT procedure and an extended length of a cyclic prefix (CP) (i.e., “one or more parameters”). The extended length of the CP may be one of four values)
a determination of the cyclic prefix extension based at least in part on the one or more parameters; (see Para’s [0155] i.e., and the index indicated by the DCI may indicate the type of LBT procedure and an extended length of a cyclic prefix (CP) & [0164] i.e., when the terminal fails to transmit the UL channel according to the LBT procedure, the terminal may apply the extended length of the CP applied to the UL channel to the SRS resource as it is. That is, the terminal may apply the extended length of the CP indicated by the DCI to the first symbol constituting the SRS resource)
performing a listen before talk (LBT) procedure based on the LBT type (see Para [0136])
and transmitting the SRS transmission after performing the listen before talk (LBT) procedure, (see Para’s [0009] i.e., performing a channel sensing operation…and transmitting the SRS to the base station based on a result of the channel sensing (i.e., “LBT procedure”), [0133], [0136], [0153-0155], [0157], & [0175] i.e., The terminal may transmit the SRS through the first symbol of the SRS resource).
While Kim suggests a LBT procedure may be performed prior to the SRS transmission (see Para’s [0009], [0133], & [0136]) and determining the cyclic prefix extension (see Para’s [0154-0155]), Kim does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of transmitting the SRS transmission with the cyclic prefix extension after performing a listen before talk (LBT) procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of ETRI “UL signals and channels”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #100, R1-2000770.
ETRI discloses transmitting an SRS transmission with a cyclic prefix extension after performing a listen before talk (LBT) procedure (see Pg. 2 Section 2.2, “Time resource for SRS transmission” i.e., CP extension duration values C1-C3 (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) under Agreement… We would propose to give more flexibility, when SRS request is triggered by UE-specific DCI, the field ChannelAccess-CPext_CAPC (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) can be also applicable to the SRS transmission. The previous meeting (#99) has agreements applicable to PUSCH and PUCCH, i.e., the field ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) is applied to the SRS transmission…For other CP extensions, the indicated value (C2 and/or C3) (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) for PUSCH/PUCCH can be reused for SRS transmission, & Para 2 under Proposal 2 i.e., In order to allow more transmission opportunities for SRS resources, it has been considered to attempt SRS transmissions in a slot after slot n+k, where DCI is received as slot n and k is known beforehand. With the previous agreement that SRS resource can be transmitted on any symbol in the slot, the UE attempts LBT (i.e., “LBT procedure”) in slot n+k and takes the first available time resource)
(ETRI suggests the cyclic prefix extension used for the PUSCH transmission can be applicable or reused for the SRS transmission after performing a LBT procedure to give more flexibility in the network system and for allowing more transmission opportunities for SRS resources, (see Pg. 2 Section 2.2 Para 1 and Para 2 under Proposal 2)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the SRS transmission which occurs before the PUSCH transmission without a timing gap between the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Kim to transmit the SRS transmission with the cyclic prefix extension after performing a LBT procedure as disclosed in the teachings of ETRI who discloses the cyclic prefix extension used for the PUSCH transmission can be applicable or reused for the SRS transmission after performing a LBT procedure, because the motivation lies in ETRI that the cyclic prefix extension used for the PUSCH transmission can be applicable or reused for the SRS transmission after performing a LBT procedure to give more flexibility in the network system and for allowing more transmission opportunities for SRS resources.
While the combination of Kim in view of ETRI discloses the DCI including the uplink grant indicates the one or more parameters for determining a cyclic prefix extension which is for the SRS transmission (Kim, see Para’s [0154-0155]), the combination of Kim in view of ETRI does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of the uplink grant indicating the one or more parameters that indicates the listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining the cyclic prefix extension. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kumagai et al. US (2023/0051403).
Kumagai discloses an uplink grant indicating one or more parameters that indicates the listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining the cyclic prefix extension (see Para [0051] i.e., LBT type, CP extension value, and CAPC may be jointly encoded to be included in the UL grant & [0061-0062] i.e., UL grant by the fallback DCI, LBT type, CP extension value, and CAPC may be jointly encoded in two bits, to be included in the UL grant)
(Kumagai suggests the UL grant including one or more bits indicates the CP extension value because it is necessary for the terminal to specify the period of the CP extension before RRC configuration is executed, and the CP extension value may be determined appropriately even before the RRC configuration is executed in order to appropriately apply the CP extension to the uplink transmission (see Para’s [0076-0077] & [0080-0082])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the uplink grant included in the DCI as disclosed in Kim in view of ETRI to indicate the one or more parameters that indicates the listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining the cyclic prefix extension included in the uplink grant as disclosed in Kumagai which results in the determination of the cyclic prefix extension to be used for the SRS transmission, because the motivation lies in Kumagai that the UL grant including one or more bits indicates the CP extension value because it is necessary for the terminal to specify the period of the CP extension before RRC configuration is executed, and the CP extension value may be determined appropriately even before the RRC configuration is executed in order to appropriately apply the CP extension to the uplink transmission.
The combination of Kim in view of ETRI, and further in view of Kumagai does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of the cyclic prefix extension. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tirola et al. US (2022/0078841).
Tirola discloses wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of a cyclic prefix extension, (see Para [0041] i.e., wherein the energy level being above or below the threshold is identified using a single listen before talk measurement interval…listen before talk operation during the channel occupancy time…wherein based on the energy level of the gap being below the threshold, further comprising inserting an extended cyclic prefix in at least one predefined location within one transmit time interval of the scheduled uplink transmission (i.e., cyclic prefix extension is determined based on the LBT procedure)).
(Toriola suggests the energy detection listen before talk procedure is used for determining an appropriate cyclic prefix extension for the scheduled uplink transmission and for appropriately acquiring access to the channel, (see Para’s [0041] & [0065])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the determination of the cyclic prefix extension for the SRS transmission as disclosed in Kim in view of ETRI, and further in view of Kumagai to be determined based on the performed LBT procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Tirola who discloses wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of a cyclic prefix extension for the scheduled uplink transmission, because the motivation lies in Toriola that the energy detection listen before talk procedure is used for determining an appropriate cyclic prefix extension for the scheduled uplink transmission and for appropriately acquiring access to the channel.
Regarding Claim 26, the claim is directed towards a UE which performs the same claim features as claim 3. Therefore claim 26 is rejected as being obvious over the combination of Kim in view of ETRI, and further in view of Kumagai as in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 31, Kim discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions for wireless communication (see Para’s [0022], [0068], & [0214-0215] i.e., The exemplary embodiments of the present disclosure may be implemented as program instructions executable by a variety of computers and recorded on a computer readable medium), the one or more instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (see Para’s [0022], [0068], & [0214-0215]) of a user equipment (UE) (see Fig.’s 2-3 i.e., terminal), cause the one or more processors (see Para’s [0022], [0068], & [0214-0215]) to: receiving an uplink grant (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0052] i.e., “the uplink grant may identify time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources in which to perform the PUSCH transmission and the SRS transmission. In some aspects, the uplink grant is included in DCI”…Kim, see Para [0154] i.e., Referring to Fig. 13, the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI or UL-DCI). When the SRS transmissions is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information (i.e., “uplink grant”) on an SRS resource and resource(s) of UL channels (i.e., PUSCH and/or PUCCH))
and a downlink grant (see Para [0152] i.e., The base station may trigger SRS transmission of the terminal by transmitting DCI including a trigger signal. The DCI may be DL-DCI (i.e., downlink grant”) for assigning a PDSCH & [0154] i.e., the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI))
the downlink grant corresponding to a sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (see Para’s [0135-0136], [0152] i.e., The base station may trigger SRS transmission of the terminal by transmitting DCI including a trigger signal. The DCI may be DL-DCI (i.e., downlink grant”) for assigning a PDSCH (i.e., the downlink grant (i.e., DL-DCI) corresponds to a SRS transmission since the DL-DCI triggers an SRS transmission) & [0154] i.e., Referring to Fig. 13, the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI)). When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information on an SRS resource and resources of UL channels (i.e., PUSCH) & [0167] i.e., The terminal may multiplex an SRS resource triggered by the DL-DCI (i.e., “downlink grant”) ).
And the uplink grant corresponding to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, (see Para [0154] i.e., the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI). When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information (i.e., “uplink grant”) on an SRS resource and resource(s) of UL channel(s) i.e., PUSCH)
Wherein the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission are scheduled consecutively without a timing gap (see Fig. 13 i.e., SRS transmission and PUSCH transmission are arranged adjacently in time without a timing gap & Para’s [0152-0154] i.e., When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information on an SRS resource and resource(s) of UL channel(s) (i.e., PUSCH and/or PUCCH). The SRS resource and the UL channel resource may be arranged adjacently (i.e., “without a timing gap”) in time, [0157], & [0167])
and wherein DCI indicates one or more parameters including a listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining a cyclic prefix extension, (see Para’s [0154-0155] i.e., For example, in case of the NR system, a specific field of the DCI may indicate an index value, and the index indicated by the DCI may indicate the type of LBT procedure and an extended length of a cyclic prefix (CP) (i.e., “one or more parameters”). The extended length of the CP may be one of four values)
performing an LBT procedure based on the LBT type (see Para [0136])
a determination of the cyclic prefix extension is based at least in part on the one or more parameters; (see Para’s [0155] i.e., and the index indicated by the DCI may indicate the type of LBT procedure and an extended length of a cyclic prefix (CP) & [0164] i.e., when the terminal fails to transmit the UL channel according to the LBT procedure, the terminal may apply the extended length of the CP applied to the UL channel to the SRS resource as it is. That is, the terminal may apply the extended length of the CP indicated by the DCI to the first symbol constituting the SRS resource)
and transmitting the SRS transmission after performing a listen before talk (LBT) procedure, (see Para’s [0009] i.e., performing a channel sensing operation…and transmitting the SRS to the base station based on a result of the channel sensing (i.e., “LBT procedure”), [0133], [0136], [0153-0155], [0157], & [0175] i.e., The terminal may transmit the SRS through the first symbol of the SRS resource).
While Kim suggests a LBT procedure may be performed prior to the SRS transmission (see Para’s [0009], [0133], & [0136]) and determining the cyclic prefix extension (see Para’s [0154-0155]), Kim does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of transmitting the SRS transmission with the cyclic prefix extension after performing a listen before talk (LBT) procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of ETRI “UL signals and channels”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #100, R1-2000770.
ETRI discloses transmitting an SRS transmission with a cyclic prefix extension after performing a listen before talk (LBT) procedure (see Pg. 2 Section 2.2, “Time resource for SRS transmission” i.e., CP extension duration values C1-C3 (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) under Agreement… We would propose to give more flexibility, when SRS request is triggered by UE-specific DCI, the field ChannelAccess-CPext_CAPC (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) can be also applicable to the SRS transmission. The previous meeting (#99) has agreements applicable to PUSCH and PUCCH, i.e., the field ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) is applied to the SRS transmission…For other CP extensions, the indicated value (C2 and/or C3) (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) for PUSCH/PUCCH can be reused for SRS transmission, & Para 2 under Proposal 2 i.e., In order to allow more transmission opportunities for SRS resources, it has been considered to attempt SRS transmissions in a slot after slot n+k, where DCI is received as slot n and k is known beforehand. With the previous agreement that SRS resource can be transmitted on any symbol in the slot, the UE attempts LBT (i.e., “LBT procedure”) in slot n+k and takes the first available time resource)
(ETRI suggests the cyclic prefix extension used for the PUSCH transmission can be applicable or reused for the SRS transmission after performing a LBT procedure to give more flexibility in the network system and for allowing more transmission opportunities for SRS resources, (see Pg. 2 Section 2.2 Para 1 and Para 2 under Proposal 2)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the SRS transmission which occurs before the PUSCH transmission without a timing gap between the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Kim to transmit the SRS transmission with the cyclic prefix extension after performing a LBT procedure as disclosed in the teachings of ETRI who discloses the cyclic prefix extension used for the PUSCH transmission can be applicable or reused for the SRS transmission after performing a LBT procedure, because the motivation lies in ETRI that the cyclic prefix extension used for the PUSCH transmission can be applicable or reused for the SRS transmission after performing a LBT procedure to give more flexibility in the network system and for allowing more transmission opportunities for SRS resources.
While the combination of Kim in view of ETRI discloses the DCI including the uplink grant indicates the one or more parameters for determining a cyclic prefix extension which is for the SRS transmission (Kim, see Para’s [0154-0155]), the combination of Kim in view of ETRI does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of the uplink grant indicating the one or more parameters that indicates the listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining the cyclic prefix extension. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kumagai et al. US (2023/0051403).
Kumagai discloses an uplink grant indicating one or more parameters that indicates the listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining the cyclic prefix extension (see Para [0051] i.e., LBT type, CP extension value, and CAPC may be jointly encoded to be included in the UL grant & [0061-0062] i.e., UL grant by the fallback DCI, LBT type, CP extension value, and CAPC may be jointly encoded in two bits, to be included in the UL grant)
(Kumagai suggests the UL grant including one or more bits indicates the CP extension value because it is necessary for the terminal to specify the period of the CP extension before RRC configuration is executed, and the CP extension value may be determined appropriately even before the RRC configuration is executed in order to appropriately apply the CP extension to the uplink transmission (see Para’s [0076-0077] & [0080-0082])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the uplink grant included in the DCI as disclosed in Kim in view of ETRI to indicate the one or more parameters that indicates the listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining the cyclic prefix extension included in the uplink grant as disclosed in Kumagai which results in the determination of the cyclic prefix extension to be used for the SRS transmission, because the motivation lies in Kumagai that the UL grant including one or more bits indicates the CP extension value because it is necessary for the terminal to specify the period of the CP extension before RRC configuration is executed, and the CP extension value may be determined appropriately even before the RRC configuration is executed in order to appropriately apply the CP extension to the uplink transmission.
The combination of Kim in view of ETRI, and further in view of Kumagai does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of the cyclic prefix extension. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tirola et al. US (2022/0078841).
Tirola discloses wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of a cyclic prefix extension, (see Para [0041] i.e., wherein the energy level being above or below the threshold is identified using a single listen before talk measurement interval…listen before talk operation during the channel occupancy time…wherein based on the energy level of the gap being below the threshold, further comprising inserting an extended cyclic prefix in at least one predefined location within one transmit time interval of the scheduled uplink transmission (i.e., cyclic prefix extension is determined based on the LBT procedure)).
(Toriola suggests the energy detection listen before talk procedure is used for determining an appropriate cyclic prefix extension for the scheduled uplink transmission and for appropriately acquiring access to the channel, (see Para’s [0041] & [0065])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the determination of the cyclic prefix extension for the SRS transmission as disclosed in Kim in view of ETRI, and further in view of Kumagai to be determined based on the performed LBT procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Tirola who discloses wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of a cyclic prefix extension for the scheduled uplink transmission, because the motivation lies in Toriola that the energy detection listen before talk procedure is used for determining an appropriate cyclic prefix extension for the scheduled uplink transmission and for appropriately acquiring access to the channel.
Regarding Claim 33, the claim is directed towards a non-transitory computer-readable medium which performs the same claim features as claim 3. Therefore claim 33 is rejected as being obvious over the combination of Kim in view of ETRI, and further in view of Kumagai as in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 35, the combination of Kim in view of ETRI, and further in view of Kumagai discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the downlink grant is included in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), (Kim, see Para’s [0078] i.e., DCI is in a downlink control channel (i.e., “PDCCH”) & [0152] i.e., DL-DCI (i.e., “downlink grant”) for assigning a PDSCH)
Regarding Claim 36, the combination of Kim in view of ETRI, and further in view of Kumagai discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the SRS transmission is a periodic or semi-persistent SRS transmission, (Kim, see Para [0175] i.e., the SRS may be transmitted periodically)
Regarding Claim 38, the combination of Kim in view of ETRI discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the UE to transmit the SRS transmission, cause the one or more processors to: transmit the SRS transmission with the cyclic prefix extension after performing the LBT procedure, (Kim, see Fig. 13 & Para [0091] i.e., the terminal may perform an LBT procedure before transmitting the SRS…In addition (i.e., another example of LBT being performed before SRS transmission), the terminal transmitting a PUSCH in an unlicensed band may perform an LBT procedure before transmitting the PUSCH. Accordingly, the terminal may transmit the SRS through resources allocated to the PUSCH. Particularly, the terminal may transmit the SRS through the same resources as the resources allocated to the DM-RS of the PUSCH. A symbol including the resources allocated to the PUSCH DM-RS may be located first among symbols of the PUSCH),
and wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the UE, further cause the one or more processors to: transmit the PUSCH transmission without performing an additional LBT procedure based at least in part on the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission being scheduled consecutively without the timing gap, (Kim, see Fig. 13 i.e., SRS transmission and PUSCH transmission are arranged adjacently in time without a timing gap & Para [0091] i.e., In addition, the terminal transmitting a PUSCH in an unlicensed band may perform an LBT procedure before transmitting the PUSCH. Accordingly, the terminal may transmit the SRS through resources allocated to the PUSCH (i.e., only one LBT procedure is performed before SRS transmission which is included in PUSCH resources without performing an additional LBT procedure). Particularly, the terminal may transmit the SRS through the same resources as the resources allocated to the DM-RS of the PUSCH. A symbol including the resources allocated to the PUSCH DM-RS may be located first among symbols of the PUSCH, [0154] i.e., The SRS resource and the UL channel (i.e., “PUSCH”) resource may be arranged adjacently in time, [0157], & [0167])
The combination of Kim in view of ETRI does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the cyclic prefix extension is determined based at least in part on a symbol length for a wireless access link on which the UE and a network node communicate. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kumagai et al. US (2023/0051403).
Kumagai discloses wherein the cyclic prefix extension is determined based at least in part on a symbol length (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0055] i.e., The one or more parameters may be indicated by a bit field that includes one or more bits (e.g., b1, b2). The value indicated by the bit field may index into a table such as Table 1. Para’s [0056-0057] of the applicants specification further discloses each possible value of the bit field may index into a row of the table. The one or more parameters may include an LBT type and information for determining the CP extension such as the CP extension equations. Therefore the “bit field identifies a symbol length” is interpreted in light of the applicants specification as the bit field indexing a row of table 1 which identifies a symbol length in the CP extension equations, (see Kumagai, Table 3 i.e., Bit field mapped to indexes 0-3 which indexes a row of the table for indicating CP extension equations which may include a symbol length & Para’s [0061-0062] i.e., in a UL grant by the fallback DCI, LBT type, CP extension value, and CAPC may be jointly encoded in two bits, to be included in the UL grant & [0092-0094] i.e., Indices 0-3 corresponding to one or more parameters such as channel access type/CP extension…Further, the length of the bit field may be configured to be 1 bit, and the index “2” or “3” may be indicated (i.e., index 2 indexes a row of table 3 which identifies a symbol length in the CP extension equation) & [0096] i.e., the terminal 20 can obtain the CP extension value with a small bit length)
for a wireless access link on which the UE and a network node communicate (see Fig. 1 i.e., DL/UL transmission over the downlink/uplink channels between the UE and the base station 10 may refer to the “wireless access link” & Para’s [0030-0031] i.e., Physical resources of a radio signal are defined in the time domain and in the frequency domain, where the time domain may be defined in terms of the number of OFDM symbols (i.e., symbols are communicated via the wireless access link), [0046],& [0160] i.e., PDSCH).
(Kumagai suggests the UL grant including the one or more bits indicates the CP extension value because it is necessary for the terminal to specify the period of the CP extension before RRC configuration is executed, and the CP extension value may be determined appropriately even before the RRC configuration is executed in order to appropriately apply the CP extension to the uplink transmission (see Para’s [0076-0077] & [0080-0082])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the cyclic prefix extension as disclosed in Kim in view of ETRI to be determined according to the cyclic prefix extension as disclosed in Kumagai who discloses wherein the cyclic prefix extension is determined based at least in part on a symbol length for a wireless access link on which the UE and a network node communicate, because the motivation lies in Kumagai that the UL grant including one or more bits indicates the CP extension value because it is necessary for the terminal to specify the period of the CP extension before RRC configuration is executed, and the CP extension value may be determined appropriately even before the RRC configuration is executed in order to appropriately apply the CP extension to the uplink transmission.
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2020/0280465) in view of Kumagai et al. US (2023/0051403), and further in view of Tirola et al. US (2022/0078841).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a downlink grant (see Para [0152] i.e., The base station may trigger SRS transmission of the terminal by transmitting DCI including a trigger signal. The DCI may be DL-DCI (i.e., downlink grant”) for assigning a PDSCH & [0154] i.e., the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI))
And an uplink grant (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0052] i.e., “the uplink grant may identify time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources in which to perform the PUSCH transmission and the SRS transmission. In some aspects, the uplink grant is included in DCI”…Kim, see Para [0154] i.e., Referring to Fig. 13, the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI or UL-DCI). When the SRS transmissions is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information (i.e., “uplink grant”) on an SRS resource and resource(s) of UL channels (i.e., PUSCH and/or PUCCH))
the downlink grant corresponding to a sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (see Para’s [0135-0136], [0152] i.e., The base station may trigger SRS transmission of the terminal by transmitting DCI including a trigger signal. The DCI may be DL-DCI (i.e., downlink grant”) for assigning a PDSCH (i.e., the downlink grant (i.e., DL-DCI) corresponds to a SRS transmission since the DL-DCI triggers an SRS transmission) & [0154] i.e., Referring to Fig. 13, the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI)). When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information on an SRS resource and resources of UL channels (i.e., PUSCH) & [0167] i.e., The terminal may multiplex an SRS resource triggered by the DL-DCI (i.e., “downlink grant”) ).
And the uplink grant corresponding to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, (see Para [0154] i.e., the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI). When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information (i.e., “uplink grant”) on an SRS resource and resource(s) of UL channel(s) i.e., PUSCH)
and wherein a DCI indicates, based at least in part on a field, one or more parameters including a listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining a cyclic prefix extension for the SRS transmission, (see Para’s [0155] i.e., For example, in case of the NR system, a specific field of the DCI may indicate an index value, and the index indicated by the DCI may indicate the type of LBT procedure and an extended length of a cyclic prefix (CP) (i.e., “one or more parameters”). The extended length of the CP may be one of four values & [0164])
performing an LBT procedure based on the LBT type (see Para [0136])
a determination of the cyclic prefix extension for the SRS transmission is based at least in part on the one or more parameters, (see Para’s [0155] i.e., and the index indicated by the DCI may indicate the type of LBT procedure and an extended length of a cyclic prefix (CP) & [0164] i.e., when the terminal fails to transmit the UL channel according to the LBT procedure, the terminal may apply the extended length of the CP applied to the UL channel to the SRS resource as it is. That is, the terminal may apply the extended length of the CP indicated by the DCI to the first symbol constituting the SRS resource)
and transmitting the SRS transmission with the cyclic prefix extension after performing the listen before talk (LBT) procedure, (see Para’s [0009] i.e., performing a channel sensing operation…and transmitting the SRS to the base station based on a result of the channel sensing (i.e., “LBT procedure”), [0133], [0136], [0164] the terminal may apply the extended length of the CP applied to the UL channel to the SRS resource as it is. That is, the terminal may apply the extended length of the CP indicated by the DCI to the first symbol constituting the SRS resource, [0174] i.e., when the LBT procedure is successful in the first symbol of the SRS resource, the terminal may transmit the SRS by mapping the SRS to the time resource in which the LBT procedure is successful & [0175] i.e., The terminal may transmit the SRS through the first symbol of the SRS resource & [0182]).
While Kim discloses the DCI including the uplink grant indicates the one or more parameters for determining a cyclic prefix extension which is for the SRS transmission (Kim, see Para’s [0154-0155] & [0164]), Kim does not disclose the claim features of the uplink grant indicating, based at least in part on a bit field, the one or more parameters including a listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining the cyclic prefix extension, and wherein the bit field identifies a symbol length for a wireless access link on which the UE and a network node communicate. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Kumagai et al. US (2023/0051403).
Kumagai discloses wherein an uplink grant indicates, based at least in part on a bit field, one or more parameters including a listen before talk (LBT) type and information for determining a cyclic prefix extension, (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0055] i.e., The one or more parameters may be indicated by a bit field that includes one or more bits (e.g., b1, b2). The value indicated by the bit field may index into a table such as Table 1. Para’s [0056-0057] of the applicants specification further discloses each possible value of the bit field may index into a row of the table. The one or more parameters may include an LBT type and information for determining the CP extension such as the CP extension equations. (see Kumagai, Table 3 i.e., Bit field mapped to indexes 0-3 which indexes a row of the table for indicating one or more parameters such as channel access type (LBT type) and CP extension equations & Para’s [0061-0062] i.e., in a UL grant by the fallback DCI, LBT type, CP extension value, and CAPC may be jointly encoded in two bits (i.e., “bit field”), to be included in the UL grant & [0092-0094] i.e., Indices 0-3 corresponding to one or more parameters such as channel access type/CP extension…Further, the length of the bit field may be configured to be 1 bit, and the index “2” or “3” may be indicated & [0096] i.e., the terminal 20 can obtain the CP extension value with a small bit length).
wherein the bit field identifies a symbol length (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0055] i.e., The one or more parameters may be indicated by a bit field that includes one or more bits (e.g., b1, b2). The value indicated by the bit field may index into a table such as Table 1. Para’s [0056-0057] of the applicants specification further discloses each possible value of the bit field may index into a row of the table. The one or more parameters may include an LBT type and information for determining the CP extension such as the CP extension equations. Therefore the “bit field identifies a symbol length” is interpreted in light of the applicants specification as the bit field indexing a row of table 1 which identifies a symbol length in the CP extension equations, (see Kumagai, Table 3 i.e., Bit field mapped to indexes 0-3 which indexes a row of the table for indicating CP extension equations which may include a symbol length & Para’s [0061-0062] i.e., in a UL grant by the fallback DCI, LBT type, CP extension value, and CAPC may be jointly encoded in two bits, to be included in the UL grant & [0092-0094] i.e., Indices 0-3 corresponding to one or more parameters such as channel access type/CP extension…Further, the length of the bit field may be configured to be 1 bit, and the index “2” or “3” may be indicated (i.e., index 2 indexes a row of table 3 which identifies a symbol length in the CP extension equation) & [0096] i.e., the terminal 20 can obtain the CP extension value with a small bit length) for a wireless access link on which the UE and a network node communicate, (see Fig. 1 i.e., DL/UL transmission over the downlink/uplink channels between the UE and the base station 10 may refer to the “wireless access link” & Para’s [0030-0031] i.e., Physical resources of a radio signal are defined in the time domain and in the frequency domain, where the time domain may be defined in terms of the number of OFDM symbols (i.e., symbols are communicated via the wireless access link), [0046],& [0160] i.e., PDSCH).
(Kumagai suggests the UL grant including the one or more bits indicates the CP extension value because it is necessary for the terminal to specify the period of the CP extension before RRC configuration is executed, and the CP extension value may be determined appropriately even before the RRC configuration is executed in order to appropriately apply the CP extension to the uplink transmission (see Para’s [0076-0077] & [0080-0082])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the uplink grant included in the DCI as disclosed in Kim to indicate the one or more parameters including the LBT type and the information for determining the cyclic prefix extension according to the bit field in the uplink grant as disclosed in Kumagai, which results in the determination of the cyclic prefix extension to be used for the SRS transmission, because the motivation lies in Kumagai that the UL grant including one or more bits indicates the CP extension value because it is necessary for the terminal to specify the period of the CP extension before RRC configuration is executed, and the CP extension value may be determined appropriately even before the RRC configuration is executed in order to appropriately apply the CP extension to the uplink transmission.
The combination of Kim in view of Kumagai does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of the cyclic prefix extension. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tirola et al. US (2022/0078841).
Tirola discloses wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of a cyclic prefix extension, (see Para [0041] i.e., wherein the energy level being above or below the threshold is identified using a single listen before talk measurement interval…listen before talk operation during the channel occupancy time…wherein based on the energy level of the gap being below the threshold, further comprising inserting an extended cyclic prefix in at least one predefined location within one transmit time interval of the scheduled uplink transmission (i.e., cyclic prefix extension is determined based on the LBT procedure)).
(Toriola suggests the energy detection listen before talk procedure is used for determining an appropriate cyclic prefix extension for the scheduled uplink transmission and for appropriately acquiring access to the channel, (see Para’s [0041] & [0065])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the determination of the cyclic prefix extension for the SRS transmission as disclosed in Kim in view of Kumagai to be determined based on the performed LBT procedure as disclosed in the teachings of Tirola who discloses wherein the LBT procedure comprises a determination of a cyclic prefix extension for the scheduled uplink transmission, because the motivation lies in Toriola that the energy detection listen before talk procedure is used for determining an appropriate cyclic prefix extension for the scheduled uplink transmission and for appropriately acquiring access to the channel.
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the downlink grant corresponds to the SRS transmission see Para’s [0135-0136], [0152] i.e., The base station may trigger SRS transmission of the terminal by transmitting DCI including a trigger signal. The DCI may be DL-DCI (i.e., downlink grant”) for assigning a PDSCH (i.e., the downlink grant (i.e., DL-DCI) corresponds to a SRS transmission since the DL-DCI triggers an SRS transmission) & [0154] i.e., Referring to Fig. 13, the base station may trigger the SRS transmission of the terminal through DCI (i.e., DL-DCI)). When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information on an SRS resource and resources of UL channels (i.e., PUSCH) & [0167] i.e., The terminal may multiplex an SRS resource triggered by the DL-DCI (i.e., “downlink grant”) ).
And is received via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), (see Para’s [0078] i.e., The base station may transmit the trigger signal to the terminal through some of DCI fields in a downlink control channel (i.e., “PDCCH”) for assigning a PDSCH or PUSCH & [0152] i.e., The base station may trigger SRS transmission of the terminal by transmitting DCI including a trigger signal. The DCI may be DL-DCI (i.e., “downlink grant”) for assigning a PDSCH)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2020/0280465) in view of Kumagai et al. US (2023/0051403), and further in view of Tirola et al. US (2022/0078841) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Liu et al. US (2022/0159682).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Kim in view of Kumagai discloses the method of claim 12 including a transmission power determined for the SRS transmission (Kim, see Para [0156] i.e., a transmission power of the SRS and a transmission power of the PUSCH may be different from each other) and the downlink grant (Kim, see Para [0152] i.e., DL-DCI for assigning a PDSCH), but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the downlink grant indicates a transmit power control (TPC) command for the SRS transmission. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Liu et al. US (2022/0159682).
Liu discloses wherein a DCl communication indicates a transmit power control (TPC) command for the SRS transmission (see Para [0074] i.e., DCI format 2_3 is used to transmit a group of TPC commands for transmission of sounding reference signals (SRSs) by one or multiple termina apparatuses 1).
(Liu suggests the DCI format transmits a TPC command in order for a UE to appropriately determine the transmit power for transmission of the SRS transmission based on the TPC command, (see Para [0074])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the transmission power configured for the SRS transmission including the downlink grant such as the DL-DCI as disclosed in Kim in view of Kumagai to be indicated by the downlink grant such as the DL-DCI, based on the teachings of Liu who discloses wherein a DCl communication indicates a transmit power control (TPC) command for an SRS transmission by a terminal, because the motivation lies in Liu that the DCI format transmits a TPC command in order for a UE to appropriately determine the transmit power for transmission of the SRS transmission based on the TPC command.
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2020/0280465) in view of ETRI “UL signals and channels”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #100, R1-2000770, and further in view of Kumagai et al. US (2023/0051403), and further in view of Tirola et al. US (2022/0078841) as applied to claims 1 and 27 above, and further in view of Salem US (2020/0275430).
Regarding Claims 29 and 30, the combination of Kim in view of ETRI, and further in view of Kumagai discloses the method and UE of claims 1 and 16, wherein the LBT procedure comprises a first LBT procedure (Kim, see Para’s [0009], [0133], [0136] i.e., LBT procedure for SRS transmission, & [0155]), but does not disclose and wherein a second LBT procedure is not needed for the PUSCH transmission. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Salem US (2020/0275430).
Salem discloses a first LBT procedure for a first UL transmission (see Fig. 16 i.e., step 522 i.e., UE LBT type 2 before PUCCH transmission 3 & Para [0130] i.e., LBT type 2 preceding the uplink transmission…In some embodiments, a cyclic prefix (CP) extension may be used to create a 25us gap so that LBT type 2 may be used, e.g. as shown at 522 in Fig. 16 using hatching)
wherein a second LBT procedure is not needed for a subsequent uplink transmission (see Fig. 16 i.e., determined CP extension 524 before PUCCH 4 transmission resulting in LBT procedure not needed & Para [0131] i.e., In some embodiments, CP extension may be used to create a 16us gap so that LBT sensing does not need to be used. E.g., as shown at 524 in Fig. 16 using hatching)
(Salem suggests the determined cyclic prefix extension may be used for creating a 16us time gap so that LBT sensing does not need to be used for flexibly determining whether to configure the LBT procedure based on the determined cyclic prefix extension, (see Fig. 16 & Para’s [0130-0131])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the cyclic prefix extension determined for the uplink transmission such as PUSCH after the SRS transmission in which a first LBT procedure is performed as disclosed in Kim in view of ETRI to be determined as a cyclic prefix extension such that a second LBT procedure is not needed for the PUSCH transmission based on the teachings of Salem who discloses determining a duration of a cyclic prefix extension for an uplink transmission such that a second LBT procedure is not needed for the uplink transmission, because the motivation lies in Salem that the determined cyclic prefix extension may be used for creating a 16us time gap so that LBT sensing does not need to be used for flexibly determining whether to configure the LBT procedure based on the determined cyclic prefix extension.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2020/0280465) in view of ETRI “UL signals and channels”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #100, R1-2000770, further in view of Kumagai et al. US (2023/0051403), and further in view of Tirola et al. US (2022/0078841) as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Ookubo et al. US (2019/0116514).
Regarding Claim 37, the combination of Kim in view of ETRI, and further in view of Kumagai discloses the non-transitory medium of claim 31, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the SRS transmission is an aperiodic SRS transmission scheduled by the uplink grant. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ookubo et al. US (2019/0116514).
Ookubo discloses wherein the SRS transmission is an aperiodic SRS transmission scheduled by an uplink grant (see Para [0043] i.e., a UL scheduling grant in which the aperiodic SRS is triggered).
(Ookubo suggests the UE may be configured to transmit either a periodic SRS transmission or an aperiodic SRS transmission in which the SRS is used for uplink reception quality measurement which is necessary for applying frequency scheduling, (see Para’s [0033-0034])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the SRS transmission as disclosed in Kim in view of ETRI, and further in view of Kumagai to be an SRS transmission which is an aperiodic SRS transmission scheduled by an uplink grant as disclosed in the teachings of Ookubo, because the motivation lies in Ookubo that the UE may be configured to transmit either a configured periodic SRS transmission or an aperiodic SRS transmission in which the SRS is used for uplink reception quality measurement which is necessary for applying frequency scheduling.
Claims 39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2020/0280465) in view of ETRI “UL signals and channels”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #100, R1-2000770, further in view of Kumagai et al. US (2023/0051403), and further in view of Tirola et al. US (2022/0078841) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Yang et al. US (2022/0070934).
Regarding Claims 39 and 41, the combination of Kim in view of ETRI, further in view of Kumagai, and further in view of Tirola discloses the method and UE of claims 1 and 16, wherein the PUSCH transmission is transmitted after the SRS transmission (see Fig. 13 i.e., PUSCH transmission after SRS transmission & Para’s [0152-0154], [0157], [0167], & [0186-0187]),
based at least in part on the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission being scheduled consecutively without the timing gap. (see Fig. 13 i.e., SRS transmission and PUSCH transmission are arranged adjacently in time without a timing gap & Para’s [0152-0154] i.e., When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information on an SRS resource and resource(s) of UL channel(s) (i.e., PUSCH and/or PUCCH). The SRS resource and the UL channel resource may be arranged adjacently (i.e., “without a timing gap”) in time, [0157], & [0167]), but does not disclose the claim feature of without performing an additional LBT procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yang et al. US (2022/0070934).
Yang discloses a single LBT procedure is performed based on a PUSCH transmission and transmission of SRS adjacent to and before the PUSCH (see Para [0230]).
(Yang suggests the single LBT procedure is used for appropriately accessing the channel which results in less processing of the UE than performing an additional LBT procedure, (see Para [0090] & [0230])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission being scheduled consecutively without the timing gap as disclosed in Kim in view of ETRI, further in view of Kumagai, and further in view of Tirola to be configured to use a single LBT procedure prior to the SRS transmission without performing an additional LBT procedure based on the teachings of Yang discloses a single LBT procedure is configured based on a PUSCH transmission and transmission of SRS adjacent to and before the PUSCH, because the motivation lies in Yang that the single LBT procedure is used for appropriately accessing the channel which results in less processing of the UE than performing an additional LBT procedure.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2020/0280465) in view of Kumagai et al. US (2023/0051403), and further in view of Tirola et al. US (2022/0078841), further in view of Yang et al. US (2022/0070934), and further in view of ETRI “UL signals and channels”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #100, R1-2000770.
Regarding Claim 40, the combination of Kim in view of Kumagai, and further in view of Tirola discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the PUSCH transmission is transmitted after the SRS transmission (see Fig. 13 i.e., PUSCH transmission after SRS transmission & Para’s [0152-0154], [0157], [0167], & [0186-0187]),
based at least in part on the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission being scheduled consecutively without the timing gap. (see Fig. 13 i.e., SRS transmission and PUSCH transmission are arranged adjacently in time without a timing gap & Para’s [0152-0154] i.e., When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information on an SRS resource and resource(s) of UL channel(s) (i.e., PUSCH and/or PUCCH). The SRS resource and the UL channel resource may be arranged adjacently (i.e., “without a timing gap”) in time, [0157], & [0167]), but does not disclose the claim feature of without performing an additional LBT procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yang et al. US (2022/0070934).
Yang discloses a single LBT procedure is performed based on a PUSCH transmission and transmission of SRS adjacent to and before the PUSCH (see Para [0230]).
(Yang suggests the single LBT procedure is used for appropriately accessing the channel which results in less processing of the UE than performing an additional LBT procedure, (see Para [0090] & [0230])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission being scheduled consecutively without the timing gap as disclosed in Kim in view of Kumagai, and further in view of Tirola to be configured to use a single LBT procedure prior to the SRS transmission without performing an additional LBT procedure based on the teachings of Yang discloses a single LBT procedure is configured based on a PUSCH transmission and transmission of SRS adjacent to and before the PUSCH, because the motivation lies in Yang that the single LBT procedure is used for appropriately accessing the channel which results in less processing of the UE than performing an additional LBT procedure.
The combination of Kim in view of Kumagai, further in view of Tirola, and further in view of Yang does not disclose the claim feature of transmitting the SRS transmission with the cyclic prefix extension after performing a listen before talk (LBT) procedure when the PUSCH is transmitted after the SRS transmission. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of ETRI “UL signals and channels”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #100, R1-2000770.
ETRI discloses transmitting an SRS transmission with a cyclic prefix extension after performing a listen before talk (LBT) procedure (see Pg. 2 Section 2.2, “Time resource for SRS transmission” i.e., CP extension duration values C1-C3 (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) under Agreement… We would propose to give more flexibility, when SRS request is triggered by UE-specific DCI, the field ChannelAccess-CPext_CAPC (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) can be also applicable to the SRS transmission. The previous meeting (#99) has agreements applicable to PUSCH and PUCCH, i.e., the field ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) is applied to the SRS transmission…For other CP extensions, the indicated value (C2 and/or C3) (i.e., “cyclic prefix extension”) for PUSCH/PUCCH can be reused for SRS transmission, & Para 2 under Proposal 2 i.e., In order to allow more transmission opportunities for SRS resources, it has been considered to attempt SRS transmissions in a slot after slot n+k, where DCI is received as slot n and k is known beforehand. With the previous agreement that SRS resource can be transmitted on any symbol in the slot, the UE attempts LBT (i.e., “LBT procedure”) in slot n+k and takes the first available time resource)
(ETRI suggests the cyclic prefix extension used for the PUSCH transmission can be applicable or reused for the SRS transmission after performing a LBT procedure to give more flexibility in the network system and for allowing more transmission opportunities for SRS resources, (see Pg. 2 Section 2.2 Para 1 and Para 2 under Proposal 2)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the SRS transmission which occurs before the PUSCH transmission without a timing gap between the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Kim in view of Kumagai, further in view of Tirola, and further in view of Yang to transmit the SRS transmission with the cyclic prefix extension after performing a LBT procedure as disclosed in the teachings of ETRI who discloses the cyclic prefix extension used for the PUSCH transmission can be applicable or reused for the SRS transmission after performing a LBT procedure, because the motivation lies in ETRI that the cyclic prefix extension used for the PUSCH transmission can be applicable or reused for the SRS transmission after performing a LBT procedure to give more flexibility in the network system and for allowing more transmission opportunities for SRS resources.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2020/0280465) in view of ETRI “UL signals and channels”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #100, R1-2000770, further in view of Kumagai et al. US (2023/0051403), and further in view of Tirola et al. US (2022/0078841) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Lindoff et al. US (2012/0027048).
Regarding Claim 42, the combination of Kim in view of ETRI, further in view of Kumagai, and further in view of Tirola discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit the PUSCH transmission after the SRS transmission (Kim, see Fig. 13 i.e., PUSCH transmission after SRS transmission & Para’s [0152-0154], [0157], [0167], & [0186-0187]), based at least in part on the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission being scheduled consecutively without a timing gap (Kim, see Fig. 13 i.e., SRS transmission and PUSCH transmission are arranged adjacently in time without a timing gap & Para’s [0152-0154] i.e., When the SRS transmission is triggered by the DCI, the DCI may include information on an SRS resource and resource(s) of UL channel(s) (i.e., PUSCH and/or PUCCH). The SRS resource and the UL channel resource may be arranged adjacently (i.e., “without a timing gap”) in time, [0157], & [0167]), but does not disclose without applying the second cyclic prefix extension. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lindoff et al. US (2012/0027048).
Lindoff discloses a signal transmission may be performed without relying on an extended cyclic prefix, (see Para’s [0004-0009] i.e., there is a need for methods and arrangements that improve the quality of reception in heavy multipath without relying on an extended CP)
(Lindoff suggests there is a need for methods and arrangements that improve the quality of reception in heavy multipath without relying on an extended CP since adjustment of the CP length may waste system capacity (see Para’s [0008-0009])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the cyclic prefix extension applied the PUSCH transmission which is after the SRS transmission as disclosed in Kim in view of ETRI, further in view of Kumagai, and further in view of Tirola to be configured without the second cyclic prefix extension based on the teachings of Lindoff who discloses a signal transmission may be performed without relying on an extended cyclic prefix, because the motivation lies in Lindoff suggests there is a need for methods and arrangements that improve the quality of reception in heavy multipath without relying on an extended CP applied to the signal since adjustment of the CP length may waste system capacity.
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2020/0280465) in view of ETRI “UL signals and channels”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #100, R1-2000770, further in view of Kumagai et al. US (2023/0051403), and further in view of Tirola et al. US (2022/0078841), and further in view of Lindoff et al. US (2012/0027048) as applied to claim 42 above, and further in view of Choi et al. US (2020/0382250).
Regarding Claim 43, the combination of Kim in view of ETRI, further in view of Kumagai, and further in view of Tirola, and further in view of Lindoff discloses the UE of claim 42 including wherein the downlink grant comprises a downlink control information (DCI) format, (Kim, see Para [0078], [0152], [154], & [0167]) and wherein the downlink grant includes a bit field that corresponds to DCI format 2_3 (Kim, see Para [0140] i.e., DCI format 2_3, [0154-0155], & Kumagai, see Table 3 & Para [0092]), the bit field being associated with the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission (Kim, see Para’s [0154-0155] & Kumagai, see Table 3 & Para [0092]), but does not disclose the timing gap between the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Choi et al. US (2020/0382250)
Choi discloses a timing gap between the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission, (see Para’s [0178-0179] & [0193-0197] & Tables 6-8 i.e., symbol gap configuration between PUCCH/PUSCH and SRS)
(Choi suggests the symbol gap configuration between the PUSCH transmission and SRS transmission is configured in order for the UE to perform antenna switching so as to prevent performance deterioration, (see Para’s [0178-0179])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the SRS transmission and PUSCH transmission associated with the bit field that corresponds to DCI format 2_3 as disclosed in Kim in view of ETRI, further in view of Kumagai, and further in view of Tirola, and further in view of Lindoff to be configured with a timing gap between the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Choi which results in the bit field being associated with the timing gap between the SRS transmission and the PUSCH transmission, because the motivation lies in Choi that the symbol gap configuration between the PUSCH transmission and SRS transmission is configured in order for the UE to perform antenna switching so as to prevent performance deterioration.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461