DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 4/7/2026.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 6, 10-13, 15, 17, 20-2127-28, 31-33, and 35-49 are cancelled.
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 14, 16, 18-19, 22-26, 29-30, and 34 are pending. Claims 25-26, 29-30 and 34 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Coleman and Casey provide no teaching or suggestion to create a mixture of different specific lengths of amorphous solid material (p. 7).
The Examiner agrees but finds Applicant’s argument unpersuasive because neither Coleman nor Casey are relied upon to teach “where in the first and second lengths are different.” Rather, Zuchuat is relied upon to teach a multimodal length distribution.
Applicant notes Zuchuat uses multimodal length distributions to specifically balance different tobacco materials whereas the claimed invention uses this multi-length processing specifically to a dried gel amorphous solid (p. 7-8). Applicant argues that the physical properties of the dried gel differ from tobacco materials and binders used in the reconstituted sheets of Zuchuat, and that a person of ordinary skill would not have been motivated to apply the teachings of Zuchuat to a dried gel (p. 8).
The Examiner has noted Applicant’s argument but finds it unpersuasive.
First, the Examiner contests Applicant’s characterization that the physical properties of the dried gel differs from reconstituted sheets of tobacco in Zuchuat. As an initial matter, the Examiner notes that Applicant provides no evidence or objective reasoning to show that the physical properties of the amorphous solid dried gel of the instant application and Zuchuat’s reconstituted material are different. “Arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record.” MPEP 2145(I). Moreover, the Examiner contends that Zuchuat’s reconstituted tobacco uses the same materials that Applicant uses in their amorphous solid dried gel. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties” and “if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.” MPEP 2112.01(II). Here, Zuchuat discloses that reconstituted tobacco is formed from tobacco material, water, and a binder, such as guar gum, which is formed into a slurry, cast onto a supportive surface, and dried ([0002]). Similarly, the instant specification describes that the amorphous solid can be a dried gel, and that the amorphous solid is a solid material that may retain some fluid, such as liquid within it (p. 10, ll. 7-9).The instant specification further describes some examples of amorphous solids comprising 1-60 wt% of a gelling agent, 0.1-50wt% of an aerosol-former agent, and 0.1-80 wt% of a flavor (p. 10, ll. 11-15). The instant specification states that flavors may include naturally occurring flavor material and botanical (e.g., tobacco) (p. 8, ll. 30-34), and that the gelling agent comprises one or more compounds such as guar gum (p. 11, ll. 11-19). Since both Zuchuat and the instant application use tobacco material and binders such as guar gum, Applicant the physical properties of a dried gel will not differ from Zuchuat’s reconstituted tobacco.
Second, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that a person of ordinary skill would not have been motivated to apply the teachings of Zuchuat to a dried gel. As noted above, Zuchuat’s reconstituted tobacco uses identical components to Applicant’s described amorphous solid dried gel and are thus applicable to amorphous solid dried gels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8–9, 14, 18–19, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COLEMAN WO 2014083333 (of record) (“COLEMAN”) in view of CASEY U.S. Patent No. 5415186 (of record) (“CASEY”) and ZUCHUAT U.S. Pub. No. 20180116274 (of record) (“ZUCHUAT”).
As to claim 1, COLEMAN discloses aerosol-generating material (p. 1, ll. 3–4) comprising a tobacco material blended with amorphous solid material (p. 8, ll. 30–32; p. 10, ll. 4–15) and that the amorphous solid material is shredded/cut into strips before being blended with the tobacco material (p. 31, ll. 1–27).
While COLEMAN fails to explicitly disclose the shape/structure of the tobacco material before it is blended with amorphous solid, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to arrive at tobacco material being plurality of strands and/or strips for the benefit of enabling the tobacco material be easily replaced by the amorphous solid material (as taught by COLEMAN at p, 10, ll. 4–15 and p. 31, ll. 17–27) when the blend is used to produce the rod shaped smoking article (as taught by COLEMAN at p. 31, ll. 30–34).
Accordingly, COLEMAN arrives at a plurality of strands and/or strips of a tobacco material and a plurality of strips of amorphous solid material, wherein the plurality of strands and/or strips of tobacco material and the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material each have a length.
COLEMAN further discloses the use of gels as a binder to support and stabilize the smokeable material (p. 21 ll. 26–27 and p. 22 ll. 21–27).
However, COLEMAN fails to explicitly disclose wherein the amorphous solid material is a dried gel.
CASEY teaches an amorphous solid material is a dried gel that is consistent with Applicant’s Specification filed on 07/29/2022 (“Specification”). Compare CASEY, col. 24 ll. 1–20 (evidencing that ammonium alginate, glycerin, and other components are formed in an aqueous slurry before being cast and air dried) with Specification at 11 ll. 6–24 (describing similar gelling agents).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of CASEY into the generic disclosure of COLEMAN for the benefit of an amorphous solid material which could be manipulated using conventional cigarette making equipment, which would provide aerosol over 10–12 puffs without the aerosol former/flavor migrating to other parts of the aerosol-generating material (as taught by CASEY at 2:20–31).
Moreover, modified COLEMAN fails to disclose the plurality of strands and/or strips of tobacco material and the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material each have a length of at least about 5 mm, and wherein a first portion of the strips of amorphous solid material are cut to a first length, and a second portion of the strips of amorphous solid material are cut to a second length, and wherein the first and second lengths are different.
ZUCHUAT teaches a plurality of strips of amorphous solid material (¶32) each have a length of at least about 5 mm (¶35) and that these strips of amorphous solid material are also blended with strips of tobacco material (¶¶ 33, 56, 62). Furthermore, ZUCHUAT teaches the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material have a cut length that is bimodal, trimodal, or multimodal (¶36), wherein a bimodal distribution corresponds effectively to two groups of cut strips having different average cut lengths with one group being larger than the other (¶40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of ZUCHUAT’s bimodal/multimodal cut length into the generic disclosure of COLEMAN for the benefit of finely controlling the size and shape of the strips into which the amorphous solid material is cut or shredded and preserving the features of the tobacco material when blended (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶12) and also for the benefit of improved filling (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶6).
The obvious combination above arrives at a plurality of strips of amorphous solid material each have a length of at least about 5 mm having a first group of smaller average cut lengths and a second group of larger average cut lengths (¶¶35, 40).
When it comes to the length of the tobacco strips, ZUCHUAT teaches blending “such that at least one of cut width and cut length of the cut strips of the [] tobacco material differs from a corresponding one of cut width and cut length of the cut strips of the [amorphous solid material],” (¶62) (annotation added) which are taught as has having a length ranging from 5 mm to about 60 mm (¶35) and disclosed within explicit embodiments as having strip lengths of either 20 mm or 40 mm (Table 1).
Simply stated, ¶62 combined with Table 1 makes obvious modifying the cut width (CW1) an apparatus used to cut the tobacco material when making the blend (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶62). By making obvious only modifying the width of the tobacco material, ZUCHUAT makes obvious Cut specifications 1–8 with length (CL1) greater than 5mm but with different widths (CW1).
As to claim 5, COLEMAN, CASEY, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
COLEMAN further teaches that the amorphous solid material may be blended with both traditional tobacco material or tobacco substitutes. (p. 31, ll. 16–21).
COLEMAN and CASEY fail to disclose to disclose the types of tobacco substitutes and, therefore, fails to disclose wherein the tobacco material comprises a reconstituted tobacco material.
ZUCHUAT teaches blending with a reconstituted tobacco material (¶24) having different shapes (Figs. 1–12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of ZUCHUAT together with/in place of COLEMAN’s tobacco material (as motivated by COLEMAN’s teaching that the amorphous solid material may be blended with both traditional tobacco material or tobacco substitutes at p. 31, ll. 16–21) for the benefit of improved filling power within the aerosol-generating material (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶6).
As to claim 8, COLEMAN, CASEY, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
ZUCHUAT further teaches wherein the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material have a non-uniform distribution of lengths (Figs. 1–12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of ZUCHUAT into COLEMAN’s amorphous solid material for the benefit of improved filling (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶6).
As to claim 9, COLEMAN, CASEY, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 8, wherein the distribution of lengths of the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material is a multi-modal distribution (ZUCHUAT at ¶¶ 36 and 40).
As to claim 14, COLEMAN, CASEY, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
COLEMAN and CASEY fail to disclose wherein between 50% and 90% of the plurality of strips of amorphous solid have a length of between 35mm and 45mm.
ZUCHUAT teaches 100% of the of the plurality of strips of amorphous solid have a length of between 35mm and 45mm (Table 1, cut specification No. 8 with a Length of 40 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of ZUCHUAT’s cut length into the generic disclosure of COLEMAN for the benefit of an average filling power of 7.40 (as taught by ZUCHUAT at Table 2 and ¶25).
As to claim 18, COLEMAN, CASEY, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
COLEMAN and CASEY fail to disclose wherein each of the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material has a length between about 10 mm and about 60 mm.
ZUCHUAT further teaches wherein each of the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material has a length between about 10 mm and about 60 mm (¶35 and Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of ZUCHUAT’s cut length into the generic disclosure of COLEMAN for the benefit of finely controlling the size and shape of the strips into which the amorphous solid material is cut or shredded and preserving the features of the tobacco material when blended (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶12).
As to claim 19, COLEMAN, CASEY, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
COLEMAN further discloses wherein the strips of amorphous solid material have an average cut width of between 20–40 cuts/inch. (p. 31, ll. 4-9; 20 cuts). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that 20 cuts/inch arrives at an amorphous solid material with a width of 1.27 mm ( [25.4 mm/in]* [1 in/20 cuts] = 1.27 mm/ cut).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate these teachings for the benefit of providing the amorphous solid material with an appropriate width prior to blending with tobacco (as taught by COLEMAN at p. 31, ll. 1–27).
As to claim 22, COLEMAN, CASEY, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
COLEMAN further discloses wherein the aerosol-generating material comprises an aerosol-former (p. 33, Table 1).
As to claim 24, the recitation of “wherein the standard deviation between at least ten 10 gram samples in the aerosol-former content of the aerosol-generating material is less than 30% of the mean aerosol-former content in the aerosol- generating material” attempts to further narrow the structure of the composition of claim 22 by way of measuring certain characteristics of samples that are the result of process/quality control type steps. COLEMAN, CASEY, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 22, which appears to be the same or similar to the product claimed in claim 24 but without the process/quality control steps.
The Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. Therefore, having provided a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced might by a different process, the burden shifts to Applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. MPEP 2113.
Claims 1–3, 5, 7–9, 14, 18–19, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COLEMAN WO 2014083333 (of record) (“COLEMAN”) in view of MAEDA US 4109663 (of record) (“MAEDA”) and ZUCHUAT U.S. Pub. No.: 20180116274 (of record) (“ZUCHUAT”).
As to claim 1, COLEMAN discloses aerosol-generating material (p. 1, ll. 3–4) comprising a tobacco material blended with amorphous solid material (p. 8, ll. 30–32; p. 10, ll. 4–15) and that the amorphous solid material is shredded/cut into strips before being blended with the tobacco material (p. 31, ll. 1–27).
While COLEMAN fails to explicitly disclose the shape/structure of the tobacco material before it is blended with amorphous solid, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to arrive at tobacco material being plurality of strands and/or strips for the benefit of enabling the tobacco material be easily replaced by the amorphous solid material (as taught by COLEMAN at p, 10, ll. 4–15 and p. 31, ll. 17–27) when the blend is used to produce the rod shaped smoking article (as taught by COLEMAN at p. 31, ll. 30–34).
Accordingly, COLEMAN arrives at a plurality of strands and/or strips of a tobacco material and a plurality of strips of amorphous solid material, wherein the plurality of strands and/or strips of tobacco material and the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material each have a length.
COLEMAN further discloses the use of gels as a binder to support and stabilize the smokeable material (p. 21 ll. 26–27 and p. 22 ll. 21–27).
However, COLEMAN fails to explicitly disclose wherein the amorphous solid material is a dried gel.
MAEDA teaches an amorphous solid material is a dried gel (12:19–34; 13:20–37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of MAEDA into the disclosure of COLEMAN for the benefit of an amorphous solid material with improved smoking characteristics and reduced nicotine/tar that is easy to manufacture (as taught by MAEDA at 3:13–65).
Moreover, modified COLEMAN fails to disclose the plurality of strands and/or strips of tobacco material and the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material each have a length of at least about 5 mm and wherein a first portion of the strips of amorphous solid material are cut to a first length, and a second portion of the strips of amorphous solid material are cut to a second length, and wherein the first and second lengths are different.
ZUCHUAT teaches a plurality of strips of amorphous solid material (¶32) each have a length of at least about 5 mm (¶35) and that these strips of amorphous solid material are also blended with strips of tobacco material (¶¶ 33, 56, 62). Furthermore, ZUCHUAT teaches the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material have a cut length that is bimodal, trimodal, or multimodal (¶36), wherein a bimodal distribution corresponds effectively to two groups of cut strips having different average cut lengths with one group being larger than the other (¶40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of ZUCHUAT’s bimodal/multimodal cut length into the generic disclosure of COLEMAN for the benefit of finely controlling the size and shape of the strips into which the amorphous solid material is cut or shredded and preserving the features of the tobacco material when blended (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶12) and also for the benefit of improved filling (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶6).
The obvious combination above arrives at a plurality of strips of amorphous solid material each have a length of at least about 5 mm (¶35).
When it comes to the length of the tobacco strips, ZUCHUAT teaches blending “such that at least one of cut width and cut length of the cut strips of the [] tobacco material differs from a corresponding one of cut width and cut length of the cut strips of the [amorphous solid material],” (¶62) (annotation added) which are taught as has having a length ranging from 5 mm to about 60 mm (¶35) and disclosed within explicit embodiments as having strip lengths of either 20 mm or 40 mm (Table 1).
Simply stated, ¶62 combined with Table 1 makes obvious modifying the cut width (CW1) an apparatus used to cut the tobacco material when making the blend (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶62). By making obvious only modifying the width of the tobacco material, ZUCHUAT makes obvious Cut specifications 1–8 with length (CL1) greater than 5mm but with different widths (CW1).
As to claim 2, COLEMAN, MAEDA, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
COLEMAN and ZUCHUAT fail to disclose wherein the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material have an area density between about 55 and about 135 grams per square meter.
MAEDA teaches an amorphous solid material have an area density between about 55 and about 135 grams per square meter (15:35–37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of MAEDA into the disclosure of modified COLEMAN for the benefit of a mild smoking flavor with reduced tar content (as taught by MAEDA at 15:57–60).
As to claim 3, COLEMAN, MAEDA, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
COLEMAN further teaches that the amorphous solid material may be blended with both traditional tobacco material or tobacco substitutes. (p. 31, ll. 16–21).
COLEMAN fails to disclose the types of tobacco substitutes and, therefore, fails to disclose wherein the tobacco material comprises aerosol-former in an amount less than 10 wt% of the tobacco material.
ZUCHUAT teaches blending with a reconstituted tobacco material (¶24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of ZUCHUAT together with/in place of COLEMAN’s tobacco material (as motivated by COLEMAN’s teaching that the amorphous solid material may be blended with both traditional tobacco material or tobacco substitutes at p. 31, ll. 16–21) for the benefit of improved filling power within the aerosol-generating material (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶6).
ZUCHUAT fails to disclose the actual composition of the reconstituted tobacco material, and, therefore, fails to disclose wherein the tobacco material comprises aerosol-former in an amount less than 10 wt% of the tobacco material.
MAEDA teaches the tobacco material comprises aerosol-former in an amount less than 10 wt% of the tobacco material (see 15:35–42 discusses 1 ml or tobacco extract and .3 ml of licorice extract. These will account for less than 10 wt% of the overall tobacco material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of MAEDA into modified COLEMAN for the benefit of a mild smoking flavor with reduced tar content (as taught by MAEDA at 15:57–60).
This would arrive at wherein the tobacco material comprises aerosol-former in an amount less than 10 wt% of the tobacco material.
As to claim 5, COLEMAN, MAEDA, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
COLEMAN further teaches that the amorphous solid material may be blended with both traditional tobacco material or tobacco substitutes. (p. 31, ll. 16–21).
COLEMAN and MAEDA fail to disclose to disclose the types of tobacco substitutes and, therefore, fails to disclose wherein the tobacco material comprises a reconstituted tobacco material.
ZUCHUAT teaches blending with a reconstituted tobacco material (¶24) having different shapes (Figs. 1–12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of ZUCHUAT together with/in place of COLEMAN’s tobacco material (as motivated by COLEMAN’s teaching that the amorphous solid material may be blended with both traditional tobacco material or tobacco substitutes at p. 31, ll. 16–21) for the benefit of improved filling power within the aerosol-generating material (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶6).
As to claim 7, COLEMAN, MAEDA, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 5.
COLEMAN and ZUCHUAT fail to disclose wherein the reconstituted tobacco material has an area density between 80 grams per square meter and 120 grams per square meter.
MAEDA teaches a reconstituted tobacco material has an area density between 80 grams per square meter and 120 grams per square meter (15:35–37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of MAEDA into the disclosure of modified COLEMAN for the benefit of a mild smoking flavor with reduced tar content (as taught by MAEDA at 15:57–60).
As to claim 8, COLEMAN, MAEDA, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
ZUCHUAT further teaches wherein the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material have a non-uniform distribution of lengths (Figs. 1–12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of ZUCHUAT into COLEMAN’s amorphous solid material for the benefit of improved filling (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶6).
As to claim 9, COLEMAN, MAEDA, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 8 and further disclose wherein the distribution of lengths of the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material is a multi-modal distribution (ZUCHUAT at ¶¶ 36 and 40).
As to claim 14, COLEMAN, MAEDA, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
COLEMAN and MAEDA fail to disclose wherein between 50% and 90% of the plurality of strips of amorphous solid have a length of between 35mm and 45mm.
ZUCHUAT teaches 100% of the of the plurality of strips of amorphous solid have a length of between 35mm and 45mm (Table 1, cut specification No. 8 with a Length of 40 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of ZUCHUAT’s cut length into the generic disclosure of COLEMAN for the benefit of an average filling power of 7.40 (as taught by ZUCHUAT at Table 2 and ¶25).
As to claim 18, COLEMAN, MAEDA, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
COLEMAN and MAEDA fail to disclose wherein each of the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material has a length between about 10 mm and about 60 mm.
ZUCHUAT further teaches wherein each of the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material has a length between about 10 mm and about 60 mm (¶35 and Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of ZUCHUAT’s cut length into the generic disclosure of COLEMAN for the benefit of finely controlling the size and shape of the strips into which the amorphous solid material is cut or shredded and preserving the features of the tobacco material when blended (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶12).
As to claim 19, COLEMAN, MAEDA, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
COLEMAN further discloses wherein the strips of amorphous solid material have an average cut width of between 20–40 cuts/inch. (p. 31, ll. 4-9; 20 cuts). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that 20 cuts/inch arrives at an amorphous solid material with a width of 1.27 mm ( [25.4 mm/in]* [1 in/20 cuts] = 1.27 mm/ cut).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate these teachings for the benefit of providing the amorphous solid material with an appropriate width prior to blending with tobacco (as taught by COLEMAN at p. 31, ll. 1–27).
As to claim 22, COLEMAN, MAEDA, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
COLEMAN further discloses wherein the aerosol-generating material comprises an aerosol-former (p. 33, Table 1).
As to claim 24, the recitation of “wherein the standard deviation between at least ten 10 gram samples in the aerosol-former content of the aerosol-generating material is less than 30% of the mean aerosol-former content in the aerosol- generating material” attempts to further narrow the structure of the composition of claim 22 by way of measuring certain characteristics of samples that are the result of process/quality control type steps. COLEMAN, MAEDA, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 22, which appears to be the same or similar to the product claimed in claim 24 but without the process/quality control steps.
The Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. Therefore, having provided a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced might by a different process, the burden shifts to Applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. MPEP 2113.
Claims 1–2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZUCHUAT U.S. Pub. No.: 20180116274 (of record) (“ZUCHUAT”) in view of MAEDA US 4109663 (of record) (“MAEDA”).
As to claim 1, ZUCHUAT discloses a plurality of strips of amorphous solid material (¶32) each have a length of at least about 5 mm (¶35) and that these strips of amorphous solid material are also blended with strips of tobacco material (¶¶ 33, 56, 62).
When it comes to the length of the tobacco strips, ZUCHUAT teaches blending “such that at least one of cut width and cut length of the cut strips of the [] tobacco material differs from a corresponding one of cut width and cut length of the cut strips of the [amorphous solid material],” (¶62) (annotation added) which are taught as has having a length ranging from 5 mm to about 60 mm (¶35) and disclosed within explicit embodiments as having strip lengths of either 20 mm or 40 mm (Table 1).
Simply stated, ¶62 combined with Table 1 makes obvious modifying the cut width (CW1) of an apparatus used to cut the tobacco material when making the blend (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶62). By making obvious only modifying the width of the tobacco material, ZUCHUAT makes obvious Cut specifications 1–8 with length (CL1) greater than 5mm but with different widths (CW1).
Accordingly, ZUCHUAT makes obvious a plurality of strands and/or strips of a tobacco material and a plurality of strips of amorphous solid material, wherein the plurality of strands and/or strips of tobacco material and the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material each have a length of at least about 5 mm.
Furthermore, ZUCHUAT discloses the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material have a cut length that is bimodal, trimodal, or multimodal (¶36), wherein a bimodal distribution corresponds effectively to two groups of cut strips having different average cut lengths with one group being larger than the other (¶40).
Accordingly, ZUCHUAT discloses a first group of strips of amorphous solid material cut to first smaller length and a second group of strips of amorphous solid material cut to a second larger length.
However, ZUCHUAT fails to explicitly disclose wherein the amorphous solid material is a dried gel.
MAEDA teaches an amorphous solid material is a dried gel (12:19–34; 13:20–37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of MAEDA into the disclosure of ZUCHUAT for the benefit of an amorphous solid material with improved smoking characteristics and reduced nicotine/tar that is easy to manufacture (as taught by MAEDA at 3:13–65).
As to claim 2, ZUCHUAT and MAEDA make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
ZUCHUAT fails to disclose wherein the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material have an area density between about 55 and about 135 grams per square meter.
MAEDA teaches an amorphous solid material have an area density between about 55 and about 135 grams per square meter (15:35–37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of MAEDA into the disclosure of modified ZUCHUAT for the benefit of a mild smoking flavor with reduced tar content (as taught by MAEDA at 15:57–60).
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZUCHUAT U.S. Pub. No.: 20180116274 (of record) (“ZUCHUAT”) in view of MAEDA US 4109663 (of record) (“MAEDA”) and RENAUD US 20120006343 (of record) (“RENAUD”).
As to claim 4, ZUCHUAT and MAEDA make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
ZUCHUAT fails to disclose wherein the area density of the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material is between 70% and 110% of the area density of the tobacco material.
MAEDA teaches an amorphous solid material have an area density between about 55 and about 135 grams per square meter (15:35–37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of MAEDA into the disclosure of modified ZUCHUAT for the benefit of a mild smoking flavor with reduced tar content (as taught by MAEDA at 15:57–60).
RENAUD teaches plurality of strands and/or strips of a tobacco material with a length between 5–15 mm (¶46) with an area density of 120 grams per square meter (¶32 “homogenized tobacco material according to the invention have a mass-to-surface-area ratio of at least about 0.12 mg/mm2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of RENAUD into the disclosure of modified ZUCHUAT for the benefit of an increased ability to assimilate energy per unit surface area and so advantageously delay the strands of tobacco material from reaching a temperature required for combustion or pyrolytic degradation (as taught by RENAUD at ¶34).
The above obvious combination of area densities arrives at wherein the area density of the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material is between 70% and 110% of the area density of the tobacco material.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COLEMAN WO 2014083333 (of record) (“COLEMAN”) in view of MAEDA US 4109663 (of record) (“MAEDA”) and ZUCHUAT U.S. Pub. No.: 20180116274 (of record) (“ZUCHUAT”), as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, and in further view of YANG CN 109349677 (“YANG”) (of record) (with reference being made to the machine translation made of record on 07/16/2025).
As to claim 23, COLEMAN, MAEDA, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
COLEMAN, MAEDA, and ZUCHUAT fail to disclose wherein the tobacco material comprises water in an amount between 5 wt% and 10 wt.
COLEMAN further teaches that the amorphous solid material may be blended with both traditional tobacco material or tobacco substitutes. (p. 31, ll. 16–21).
COLEMAN fails to disclose the types of tobacco substitutes and, therefore, fails to disclose wherein the tobacco material comprises water in an amount between 5 wt% and 10 wt.
ZUCHUAT teaches blending with a reconstituted tobacco material (¶24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of ZUCHUAT together with/in place of COLEMAN’s tobacco material (as motivated by COLEMAN’s teaching that the amorphous solid material may be blended with both traditional tobacco material or tobacco substitutes at p. 31, ll. 16–21) for the benefit of improved filling power within the aerosol-generating material (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶6).
ZUCHUAT fails to disclose the actual composition of the reconstituted tobacco material, and, therefore, fails to disclose wherein the tobacco material comprises water in an amount between 5 wt% and 10 wt.
YANG teaches wherein the tobacco material comprises water in an amount between 5 wt% and 10 wt (bottom of 7 and extending onto page 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of YANG’s water content into the disclosure of modified COLEMAN for the benefit of an ultra-micro tobacco powder reconstituted tobacco leaf that has the density and moisture content of a regular tobacco leaf but with lower tar (as taught by the YANG at the second full paragraph on page 2).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COLEMAN WO 2014083333 (of record) (“COLEMAN”) in view of CASEY U.S. Patent No. 5415186 (“CASEY”) and ZUCHUAT U.S. Pub. No.: 20180116274 (of record) (“ZUCHUAT”), as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, and in further view of YANG CN 109349677 (“YANG”) (of record) (with reference being made to the machine translation made of record on 07/16/2025).
As to claim 23, COLEMAN, CASEY, and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 1.
COLEMAN, CASEY, and ZUCHUAT fail to disclose wherein the tobacco material comprises water in an amount between 5 wt% and 10 wt.
COLEMAN further teaches that the amorphous solid material may be blended with both traditional tobacco material or tobacco substitutes. (p. 31, ll. 16–21).
COLEMAN fails to disclose the types of tobacco substitutes and, therefore, fails to disclose wherein the tobacco material comprises water in an amount between 5 wt% and 10 wt.
ZUCHUAT teaches blending with a reconstituted tobacco material (¶24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of ZUCHUAT together with/in place of COLEMAN’s tobacco material (as motivated by COLEMAN’s teaching that the amorphous solid material may be blended with both traditional tobacco material or tobacco substitutes at p. 31, ll. 16–21) for the benefit of improved filling power within the aerosol-generating material (as taught by ZUCHUAT at ¶6).
ZUCHUAT fails to disclose the actual composition of the reconstituted tobacco material, and, therefore, fails to disclose wherein the tobacco material comprises water in an amount between 5 wt% and 10 wt.
YANG teaches wherein the tobacco material comprises water in an amount between 5 wt% and 10 wt (bottom of 7 and extending onto page 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the specific teachings of YANG’s water content into the disclosure of modified COLEMAN for the benefit of an ultra-micro tobacco powder reconstituted tobacco leaf that has the density and moisture content of a regular tobacco leaf but with lower tar (as taught by the YANG at the second full paragraph on page 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reasons for indicating claim 16 allowable is that the prior art fails to provide any teachings, suggestions, motivations, or other rationales to arrive at “wherein at least 50% of the remaining plurality of strips of amorphous solid have a length of between 10mm and 30mm.”
COLEMAN and ZUCHUAT make obvious aerosol-generating material according to claim 14.
COLEMAN and ZUCHUAT fail to arrive at wherein at least 50% of the remaining plurality of strips of amorphous solid have a length of between 10mm and 30mm.
MAEDA, YANG, CASEY, and RENAUD fail to remedy the above deficiencies.
JP 2019118317 (of record) contains a good disclosure of the plurality of strips of amorphous solid material each have a length of at least about 5 mm but lacks a disclosure of a plurality of strands and/or strips of a tobacco material. That is, JP 2019118317 discloses using only strips of amorphous solid material made from non-tobacco material.
US 20200253274 (of record) generally teaches away from tobacco material as a base for forming strands (¶¶ 4–7) and instead uses non-tobacco strands with different concentrations of aerosol formers throughout the cross section of the rod to modify the aerosol former distribution across a cross-section of the rod of aerosol generating substrate (¶44) and different diameters to control porosity (¶47).
Therefore, claim 16 is allowable because the prior art fails to provide any teachings, suggestions, motivations, or other rationales to arrive at “wherein at least 50% of the remaining plurality of strips of amorphous solid have a length of between 10mm and 30mm.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ergle (US 2009/0038629) discloses a flavor-bearing sheet cut into dimensions of about 1/32” by 7/16” is mixed with shredded tobacco filler.
Ajithkumar (US 2024/0324653) teaches an aerosol-forming substrate comprising a first particulate material and a second particulate material forming a bimodal size distribution ([0088]) but is not considered prior art.
/SONNY V NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755