DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11, 23-30 and 32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10-15, and 21-27 of copending Application No. 17/767,866. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant and copending claims are drawn to overlapping subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-11, 23-30 and 32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6, 21-28, 32-27, 54-61, 65 and 66 of copending Application No. 17/767,602. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant and copending claims are drawn to overlapping subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 24-30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voges et al (US 2017/0331053) (Voges).
In reference to Claims 1, 3-5, 11 and 24, Voges teaches compounds of formula A as shown below for an organic light emitting diode (abstract, [0014]-[0029])
for example, wherein in the formula A, one group A1 is Ar1-41, and the other two groups A1 are Ar1-74 as shown above (Voges [0036]).
Voges discloses the compound of formula A that encompasses the presently claimed compound of formula (1), including wherein in the formula A, one group A1 is Ar1-41, and the other two groups A1 are Ar1-74 as shown above. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Voges are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula A to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Voges and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: Reads on a compound of formula (1) wherein L is a single bond to R24, R21 to R23 and R25 to R28 are each hydrogen, R31 to R34 are each hydrogen, R41 to R42 and R44 to R45 are each hydrogen, R43 is bonded to R56, R51 to R55 and R57 to R58 are each hydrogen, R61 bonds to Ar, R63 is phenyl, R62 to R66 are each hydrogen, Ar is represented by formula (4) wherein bonded at R77, R71 to R76 and R78 are each hydrogen.
For Claim 3: Reads on formula 1-a.
For Claim 4: Reads on formula 1-a-1.
For Claim 5: Reads on formula 1-a-2.
For Claim 11: Reads on hydrogen.
For Claim 24: Reads on a material.
In reference to claim 2, the claim further limits the formula (7), which is an optional embodiment of claim 1 (i.e. Ar is represented by any of the following formulae (4) to (7)) and therefore not required. As such, claim 2 is rejected based on similar reasons to claim 1.
In reference to claim 6-7, Voges teaches the compound as described above for claim 1 Voges further teaches that the aryl group can alternatively be biphenyl groups such as those claimed (Voges [0021] [0025] [[049]).
Cha discloses the compound of formula 1 that encompasses the presently claimed compounds, including wherein L1 or L2 are biphenyl. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Cha are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these biphenylene instead of phenylene to provide the claimed compound, which is both disclosed by Voges and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
In reference to claim 8, the claim further limits the substituted or unsubstituted aryl group of various R groups, which is an optional embodiment of claim 1 (i.e. R is selected from a hydrogen atom…) and therefore not required. As such, claim 8 is rejected based on similar reasons to claim 1.
In reference to claim 9, the claim further limits the formula (7), which is an optional embodiment of claim 1 (i.e. Ar is represented by any of the following formulae (4) to (7)) and therefore not required. As such, claim 9 is rejected based on similar reasons to claim 1.
In reference to claim 10, the claim further limits the alkyl groups, which is an optional embodiment of claim 1 (i.e. R# are each independently selected from a hydrogen atom, a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group…) and therefore not required. As such, claim 10 is rejected based on similar reasons to claim 1.
In reference to claim 25 to 30 and 32, Voges teaches the compound as described above for claim 1. Voges further teaches that this compound is used in an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic material layer between wherein the organic material layer includes a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer among others and wherein the compound is included in the hole transport layer (Voges [0083] to [0093]; [0079]) and wherein the emitting layer comprises a fluorescent material and exemplifies several fluorescent dopants (Voges [0110] to [0114]).
While Voges does not exemplify a device with this specific material in the hole transport layer as claimed, it would have been immediately obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have used the material of Voges in the application of Voges with the anticipation of providing a device having similar functionality to that of the devices exemplified therein.
Claim 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voges et al (US 2017/0331053) (Voges) in view of Hwang et al (US 2009/0295274) (Hwang).
In reference to claim 23, Voges teaches the compound as described above for claim 1.
Voges does not expressly teach that the hole transport compounds should comprise deuterium atoms as claimed.
With respect to the difference, Hwang teaches, in analogous art, that partial or full deuteration of protons of semiconducting organic compounds, high voltage stability of the devices can be increased, turn on voltage can be decreased and therefor a usage lifetime can be prolonged efficiently (Hwang [0025]).
In light of the motivation of using partial deuteration as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the partial deuteration as described by Hwang in order to increase stability, decreased turn on voltage and prolong device lifetime and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786