DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action replaces the Non-Final Office Action mailed June 23, 2026.
The Examiner inadvertently included the previous reference and the new reference in the wrong order. A correction is being made in this Office Action to correct the reference name and number in the 35 USC 103 Rejection. The correct reference herein is Hwang et al., US 20110117394 in the 35 USC 103 Rejection. Therefore, the claims 1-6, 10-23 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al., US 20110117394.
The pending claims are claims 1-6, 10-23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al., US 20110117394.
Regarding claim 1, Hwang et al., teaches a battery (abstract) comprising: a battery element (0062) comprising a stacked part (0062) that comprises a plurality of first electrodes (0014-0015), a plurality of second electrodes (0014-0015), and a separator located between the plurality of the first electrodes (0015) and the plurality of second electrodes (0015); the battery element (0062), comprising a plurality of first current collector parts (0063) drawn out from the stacked part (0062); an exterior material enclosing the battery element (0062); and a first tab being connected to the plurality of first current collector parts (0070), wherein the plurality of first current collector parts between the stacked part (0063); wherein the plurality of first current collector parts (0063) and the exterior material (0081) comprises a bent portion bent (0015; 0025; 0069) along a fold (0069) formed at a portion of the plurality of first current collector parts (0069; 0073) and the exterior material (0081; 0093), wherein the portion of the plurality of first current collector parts (0063) and the exterior material (0081; 0093) is located between the stacked part (0062; 0064) and the base end of the first tab (0099), wherein the exterior material (0081; 0093) comprises a tip end bent by the bent portion (0021; 0025), and the base end of the first tab (0099) and the tip end of the exterior material are directed to opposite sides in a same direction (abstract; 0015-0016; 0068-0069), wherein the plurality of first current collector parts between the stacked part (0024; 0030-0031) and the first tab have a first region (0063) in which a thickness of a bundle including the plurality of first current collector parts (0099) decreases from the stacked part toward the first tab (0070; 0099).
Hwang et al., does not teach a decrease rate of the thickness decreases from the stacked part toward the first tab, and wherein the fold of the plurality of first current collector parts is located at one of the first region of the plurality of first current collector parts and a region of the plurality of first current collector parts on the first tab side of the first region.
However, Hwang teaches adjustment of the thickness: “When the short circuit protector 40 is formed by folding the second and third sealing portions 24b and 24c toward the outer surface of the pouch cover 22, the volume, and more specifically, the thickness of the pouch type secondary battery of the present invention may increase. (0099).
Hwang et al., does not teach the first tab have a first region in which a thickness of a bundle including the plurality of first current collector parts decreases from the stacked part toward the first tab and a decrease rate of the thickness decreases from the stacked part toward the first tab.
However, Hwang et al., teaches “When the short circuit protector 40 is formed by folding the second and third sealing portions 24b and 24c toward the outer surface of the pouch cover 22, the volume, and more specifically, the thickness of the pouch type secondary battery of the present invention may increase.” (0099).
Regarding claim 2, Hwang et al., teaches wherein the plurality of first current collector parts (0063) between the stacked part (0062; 0064) and the first tab (0070) have a second region positioned on the stacked part side of the first region (0062; 0064),
Hwang does not teach the thickness of the bundle including the plurality of first current collector parts decreases from the stacked part toward the first tab, and the decrease rate of the thickness increases from the stacked part toward the first tab.
However, Hwang et al., teaches “When the short circuit protector 40 is formed by folding the second and third sealing portions 24b and 24c toward the outer surface of the pouch cover 22, the volume, and more specifically, the thickness of the pouch type secondary battery of the present invention may increase.” (0099).
Regarding claim 3, Hwang et al., teaches wherein the exterior material (0081; 0093) is provided with a notch (cut; 0013; 0016; 0105) on at least one of both sides of the first tab (0016; 0020), the notch being open to a direction from the stacked part side toward the first tab side (0016-0024).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang et al., teaches wherein an edge of the notch (cut) (0018; 0069) on the stacked part side is positioned in a direction from the first tab side toward the stacked part side, on the first tab side of the first region of the plurality of first current collector parts (0063).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang et al., teaches wherein the notch (cut) is open to a direction from the first tab toward each side of the first tab (0088; 0092).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang et al., teaches wherein the exterior material is folded (bent) on at least one of both sides of the stacked part toward the stacked part (0015; 0021; 0025).
Regarding claim 10, Hwang et al., teaches a battery stack (0062) comprising: a plurality of batteries stacked with each other, each of the plurality of batteries (0099) comprising: a battery element (0062) comprising a stacked part (0062) that comprises a plurality of first electrodes (0014), a plurality of second electrodes (0014), and a separator located between the plurality of first electrodes (0015) and the plurality of second electrodes (0014), the battery element comprising a plurality of first current collector parts (0063) drawn out from the stacked part (0062); an exterior material enclosing the battery element (0062); and a first tab (0070) comprising a base end (0099) located on a side where the battery element is located (0062), the first tab being connected to the plurality of first current collector parts (0063), wherein, in each of the plurality of batteries (abstract; 0062), the plurality of first current collector parts (0063) and the exterior material (0099) comprises a bent portion bent along a fold (0015; 0021; 0069) formed at a portion of the plurality of first current collector parts (0063) and the exterior material (0062) wherein the portion of the plurality of first current collector parts (0063) and the exterior material (0099) is located between the stacked part (0062) and the base end of the first tab (0099), wherein, in each of the plurality of batteries (0063), the exterior material (0062) comprises a tip end bent by the bent portion (0015; 0025; 0069), and the base end of the first tab (0099) and the tip end of the exterior material (0062) are directed to opposite sides in a same direction (0015; 0025; 0069), wherein a plurality of the first tabs (0070) of the plurality of batteries (0036; 0039) is bundled to each other, wherein, in each of the plurality of batteries (0013; 0081-0083), the plurality of first current collector parts (0063) between the stacked part (0063) and the first tab have a first region (0070); and wherein, in each of the plurality of batteries (abstract), the fold of the plurality of first current collector parts is located at one of the first region of the plurality of first current collector parts (0016; 0021; 0025) and a region of the plurality of first current collector parts (0063) on the first tab side (0070) of the first region (00063).
Hwang et al., does not teach a thickness of a bundle including the plurality of first current collector parts decreases from the stacked part toward the first tab and a decrease rate of the thickness decreases from the stacked part toward the first tab.
However, Hwang et al., teaches “the thickness of the pouch type secondary battery of the present invention may increase. However, this problem can be solved when the pouch type secondary battery is packaged into an external pack 50, as shown in FIG. 23. When the pouch type secondary battery shown in FIG. 22 is packaged into the external pack 50, as shown in FIG. 23, an adhesive member 60 such as a two-sided tape is interposed between the external pack 50 and the pouch case 20. When the adhesive member 60 is positioned between the folded portions of the respective second and third sealing portions 24b and 24c on the bottom of the pouch case 20, as shown in FIG. 23, the folded portions of the second and third sealing portions 24b and 24c do not increase an overall thickness T of the external package 50. Accordingly, the folded portions of the second and third sealing portions 24b and 24c do not increase a packaging size.” (0099).
Regarding claim 11, Hwang et al., teaches battery stack (abstract), according to wherein, in each of the plurality of batteries (abstract), the plurality of first current collector parts (0063) between the stacked part and the first tab (0062) have a second region positioned on the stacked part side of the first region (0062).
Hwang et al., does not teach thickness of the bundle including the plurality of first current collector parts decreases from the stacked part toward the first tab, and the decrease rate of the thickness increases from the stacked part toward the first tab.
However, Hwang et al., teaches ““the thickness of the pouch type secondary battery of the present invention may increase. However, this problem can be solved when the pouch type secondary battery is packaged into an external pack 50, as shown in FIG. 23. When the pouch type secondary battery shown in FIG. 22 is packaged into the external pack 50, as shown in FIG. 23, an adhesive member 60 such as a two-sided tape is interposed between the external pack 50 and the pouch case 20. When the adhesive member 60 is positioned between the folded portions of the respective second and third sealing portions 24b and 24c on the bottom of the pouch case 20, as shown in FIG. 23, the folded portions of the second and third sealing portions 24b and 24c do not increase an overall thickness T of the external package 50. Accordingly, the folded portions of the second and third sealing portions 24b and 24c do not increase a packaging size.” (0099).
Regarding claim 12, Hwang et al., teaches in each of the plurality of batteries (abstract), the exterior material (0032; 0038) is provided with a notch (cut) on at least one of both sides of the first tab (terminal) (0070).
Regarding claim 13, Hwang et al., teaches in each of the plurality of batteries (abstract), an edge of the notch on the stacked part side is positioned (0086; 0088), in a direction from the first tab side toward notch (cut) (0071-0072) the stacked part side (0088), on the first tab side (0070) of the first region of the plurality of first current collector parts (0063).
Regarding claim 14, Hwang et al., teaches in each of the plurality of batteries (abstract), the notch (cut) (0071-0093) is open to a direction from the first tab toward each side of the first tab (0070).
Regarding claim 15, Hwang et al., teaches in each of the plurality of batteries (abstract), the exterior material (0032; 0038) is folded on at least one of both sides of the stacked part toward the stacked part (0025; 0069; 0073-0074).
Regarding claim 16, Hwang et al., teaches wherein the notch (cut) (0028-0029) is at a start of the fold of the exterior material (0007; 0024; 0028-0029; 0037).
Regarding claim 17, Hwang et al., teaches a battery (abstract) comprising: a battery element (0062) enclosed within an exterior material (0032-0036), the battery element (0062) comprising: a stacked part (0062) including a plurality of first electrodes (0014), a
plurality of second electrodes (0014), and separators positioned between the first electrodes and the second electrodes (0014) to prevent contact between the first electrodes and the second electrodes (0014), a plurality of first current collector parts (0070) connected to the plurality of first electrodes (0014) and drawn out from the stacked part (0062), and a plurality of second current collector parts (0070) connected to the plurality of second electrodes (0014); a bent portion between the stacked part and the base end of the first tab (0015; 0025; 0069); the bent portion bent along a fold formed (0069) with the plurality of first current collector parts (0070) and the exterior material (0081; 0093), wherein the exterior material (0032-0036) comprises a tip end bent lid by the bent portion (0021; 0025) 0015; 0069), and the base end of the first tab (terminal; 0070) and the tip end of the exterior material (0081; 0093) are directed to opposite sides in a same direction, and wherein the plurality of first current collector parts between the stacked part and the first tab (terminal) (0016-0033).
Hwang does not teach a first region in which a thickness of a bundle including the plurality of first current collector parts decreases from the stacked part toward the first tab and a decrease rate of the thickness decreases from the stacked part toward the first tab.
However, Hwang et al., teaches ““the thickness of the pouch type secondary battery of the present invention may increase. However, this problem can be solved when the pouch type secondary battery is packaged into an external pack 50, as shown in FIG. 23. When the pouch type secondary battery shown in FIG. 22 is packaged into the external pack 50, as shown in FIG. 23, an adhesive member 60 such as a two-sided tape is interposed between the external pack 50 and the pouch case 20. When the adhesive member 60 is positioned between the folded portions of the respective second and third sealing portions 24b and 24c on the bottom of the pouch case 20, as shown in FIG. 23, the folded portions of the second and third sealing portions 24b and 24c do not increase an overall thickness T of the external package 50. Accordingly, the folded portions of the second and third sealing portions 24b and 24c do not increase a packaging size.” (0099).
Regarding claim 18, Hwang et al., teaches wherein the plurality of first current collector parts (0063) between the stacked part and the first tab (terminal; 0070) have a second region positioned on the stacked part side of the first region in which the thickness of the bundle (0009; 0016; 0020) including the plurality.
Hwang does not teach first current collector parts decreases from the stacked part toward the first tab, and the decrease rate of the thickness increases from the stacked part toward the first tab.
However, Hwang et al., teaches “However, Hwang et al., teaches “When the short circuit protector 40 is formed by folding the second and third sealing portions 24b and 24c toward the outer surface of the pouch cover 22, the volume, and more specifically, the thickness of the pouch type secondary battery of the present invention may increase.” (0099).”
Regarding claim 19, Hwang et al., teaches wherein the exterior material is provided with a notch (cut) on at least one of both sides of the first tab (terminal; 0070), the notch (cut) being open to a direction from the stacked part side toward the first tab side (terminal) (0070).
Regarding claim 20, Hwang et al., teaches wherein an edge of the notch (0015; 0066) on the stacked part side is positioned (0007; 0024; 0028), in a direction from the first tab (terminal) side toward the stacked part side (0024; 0028), on the first tab (terminal) side of the first region of the plurality of first current collector parts (0007-0008; 0013-0014).
Regarding claim 21, Hwang et al., teaches the notch (cut) (0071-0093) is open to a direction from the first tab (terminal) toward each side of the first tab (terminal) (0070).
Regarding claim 22, Hwang et al., teaches wherein the exterior material (0073-0074) is folded on at least one of both sides of the stacked part (0021; 0069) toward the stacked part (0081-0083).
Regarding claim 23, Hwang et al., teaches the notch (cut) (0016-0024) is at a start of the fold (0021; 0069) of the exterior material (0073-0074).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to above claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727