Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10, 13, 20, 22, 25, 27, 30, 32, 34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Si and Guo (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0015214), herein referred to as “Si”, in view of Park et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0250910), herein referred to as “Park”, held further in view of Chen et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0037230), herein referred to as “Chen”, held further in view of Pan et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0053781), herein referred to as “Pan.”
Regarding Claim 1,
Si discloses: A resource configuration indication method, comprising:
sending, by a terminal device, time domain resource indication information through a Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH),
[0170] In one example (e.g., 1001 in FIG. 10A), the first and last symbols within a slot are reserved for other purpose, and symbols #1 to #6 are mapped for a first S-SSB within the slot, and symbols #7 to #12 are mapped for a second S-SSB within a slot, wherein the two S-SSBs have the same composition with respect to the time domain mapping: the first and second symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #1, #2, #7, and #8 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for S-PSS, the fourth and sixth symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #4, #6, #10, and #12 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for S-SSS (if the BW of S-SSB is 12 RBs or 24 RBs) or multiplexing of S-SSS and PSBCH (if the BW of S-SSB is larger than 12 RBs such as 20 RBs), and the third and fifth symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #3, #5, #9, and #11 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for PSBCH.
[0109] A vehicular communication, referred to as vehicle-to-everything (V2X), contains the following three different types: 1) vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) communications; 2) vehicle-to-infrastructure (V21) communications; and 3) vehicle-to-pedestrian (V2P) communications. These three types of V2X can use “co-operative awareness” to provide more intelligent services for end-users. This means that transport entities, such as vehicles, roadside infrastructure, and pedestrians, can collect knowledge of their local environment (e.g., information received from other vehicles or sensor equipment in proximity) to process and share that knowledge in order to provide more intelligent services, such as cooperative collision warning or autonomous driving. A direct communication between vehicles in V2V is based on a sidelink (SL) interface, and SL is the UE to UE interface for synchronization, discovery, and communication.
[0170] In one example (e.g., 1001 in FIG. 10A), the first and last symbols within a slot are reserved for other purpose, and symbols #1 to #6 are mapped for a first S-SSB within the slot, and symbols #7 to #12 are mapped for a second S-SSB within a slot, wherein the two S-SSBs have the same composition with respect to the time domain mapping: the first and second symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #1, #2, #7, and #8 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for S-PSS, the fourth and sixth symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #4, #6, #10, and #12 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for S-SSS (if the BW of S-SSB is 12 RBs or 24 RBs) or multiplexing of S-SSS and PSBCH (if the BW of S-SSB is larger than 12 RBs such as 20 RBs), and the third and fifth symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #3, #5, #9, and #11 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for PSBCH.
[0269] In a second approach for the time-domain mapping of an S-SSB burst set, contiguous slots containing an S-SSB burst set can be mapped from starting from any slot within the period for transmitting the S-SSB burst set. In this approach, the starting location of the S-SSB burst set (e.g., slot index within the period) can be indicated to the V2X UE (such as using synchronization signals, or PBCH content, or DMRS of PBCH, or their combination), or can be pre-configured to the V2X UE.
Note: The “transmission resources” are being interpreted as the symbols in paragraph [0170] since Applicant’s paragraph [0072] states that symbol by symbol indication can indicate transmission resources of the sidelink.
Si does not disclose wherein the time domain resource indication information is configured to indicate a transmission period combination and a number of time domain resource units, wherein the transmission period combination is a combination of transmission periods.
However, Park discloses: wherein the time domain resource indication information is configured to indicate a transmission period combination and a number of time domain resource units, wherein the transmission period combination is a combination of transmission periods.
[0216] Referring to FIG. 17 together with FIG. 11, the sidelink UE 1104 receives sidelink resource information from the sidelink UE 1102 through the PSBCH. A field indicating a transmission period pattern: This field may or may not be present in the PSBCH according to the subcarrier spacing. When this field is present in the PSBCH, it may have 1 bit information. This is a value indicating whether a transmission period value configured in the transmission period field has one transmission period or a combination of two transmission periods having equal lengths.
[0219] For example, when the transmission period value indicates 10 ms in the transmission period field, the transmission period pattern field of 1 bit may indicate whether the transmission period value indicates one transmission period of 10 ms or another transmission period of 20 ms formed of two units of 10 ms. In summary, the transmission period pattern field may be used to indicate whether the transmission period value represents one transmission period or a combination of two transmission periods. If the transmission period value indicated in the transmission period field is T, the former case refers to T=T1+T2, where T1=T2, and the latter case refers to T+T=T0. [0220] 3. A field indicating the number of sidelink slots: This field indicates information on the number of slots for sidelink communication within a transmission period configured by the transmission period field and the transmission period pattern field. Specifically, this field indicates the number of sidelink slots (in reverse order) from the last slot among all slots included in the transmission period indicated by the transmission period field and the transmission period pattern field.
Si and Park are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Si to include the concept of having a transmission period combination based on the number of time domain resource units in each of the transmission periods as taught by Park so as to promote better communications over the SSB.
Si also does not disclose the final limitations of this claim.
Chen further discloses: wherein the number of time domain resource units is configured to indicate a number Ni of time slots in each of the transmission periods, wherein Ni=Mi*Ki, Mi is the number of time domain resource units in each of the transmission periods, a time domain resource unit comprises Ki time slots, a value of a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the Ki time slots is F, and Ki is a predefined positive integer.
[0081] The SSB transmission period may be divided into slots. The SSB transmission opportunities occupy a frequency band, and may be transmitted in a plurality of subcarriers. In the example of FIGS. 8A, 8B and 8C, P equals 20 ms, each slot has a time length of 1 ms, and SCS is 15 kilohertz. In a SSB transmission period, there are M SSB transmission opportunities for L spatial relations. SSBs may be indexed in an ascending order in time from 0 to L−1. In other words, SSB indexes may be SSB #0, SSB #1, . . . , SSB #(L−1). M may be expressed as M=N*L where N is a factor to increase SSB transmission opportunity, N>1. In the example of FIGS. 8A and 8B, N=4, L=4, and there are M=16 SSB transmission opportunities to transmit SSB #0, SSB #1, SSB #2 and SSB #3.
Note: Here, Ni is M (the transmission opportunities), Mi is L (spatial relations), and Ki is N (factor to increase the transmission opportunities). L is in the “time domain” since it is “indexed in ascending order in time”. Multiplying L by a factor (in this case N) would make M (or, per the claim, Ni), also in time domain.
Chen also discloses wherein when the transmission combination does not belong to a first transmission period combination set, Ki=1 and F is a first value, wherein the first transmission period combination set comprises transmission period combinations.
[0082] N could be further defined as N=G*R, where G is the number of groups for each spatial relation and R is the number of SSB candidates in a SSB index group. R and G may be an integer and larger than 0.
[0096] FIGS. 15-18 illustrate examples of scenario conditions for SSB Pattern #1. The values of the following parameters are the same as those in FIGS. 10-14: SSB transmission period P=20 ms, N=4, L=4 and M=N*L=16 SSB transmission opportunities. However, G=L=4 for SSB Pattern #1, hence R=N/G=1. In the examples of FIGS. 15-18, the time length of a slot=0.5 ms and SCS=30 KHz. For SSB Pattern #1, SSB candidates located in consecutive SSB candidate positions have different SSB index.
Note: Since “N” is further defined as G*R as above, where “N” is being used as Ki, N can also be 1 at higher SCS frequencies as shown here, since R is equal to 1.
Chen further discloses when the transmission period combination belongs to the first transmission period combination set, Ki is a predefined positive integer greater than 1 and F is the first value.
[0081] The SSB transmission period may be divided into slots. The SSB transmission opportunities occupy a frequency band, and may be transmitted in a plurality of subcarriers. In the example of FIGS. 8A, 8B and 8C, P equals 20 ms, each slot has a time length of 1 ms, and SCS is 15 kilohertz. In a SSB transmission period, there are M SSB transmission opportunities for L spatial relations. SSBs may be indexed in an ascending order in time from 0 to L−1. In other words, SSB indexes may be SSB #0, SSB #1, . . . , SSB #(L−1). M may be expressed as M=N*L where N is a factor to increase SSB transmission opportunity, N>1. In the example of FIGS. 8A and 8B, N=4, L=4, and there are M=16 SSB transmission opportunities to transmit SSB #0, SSB #1, SSB #2 and SSB #3.
Note: Here, N is greater than 1.
Si and Chen are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Si to include the concept of having a time domain resource unit configured based on numerical equation as taught by Chen so as to promote better communications over the SSB.
Pan discloses: wherein the first transmission period combination set comprises at least part of following transmission period combinations: 1 ms transmission period and 4 ms transmission period, 4 ms transmission period and 1 ms transmission period, 2 ms transmission period and 3 ms transmission period, 3 ms transmission period and 2 ms transmission period, 1 ms transmission period and 3 ms transmission period, 3 ms transmission period and 1 ms transmission period.
[0224] The 15 kHz SCS configuration may include 5 slots in one half-frame. In NR SS-Burst design, each slot may have 2 SSB locations. Hence, there may be 10 DRS transmission occasions (SSB candidate locations) in the half-frame. In an example, 8 SSB/DRS may occupy 4 ms and 1 ms (or 2 occasions) may be empty. As shown in Table 1, after 10 occasions, the half-frame may change.
[0229] The 30 kHz configuration may include 10 slots in one half frame. There may be 20 DRS transmission occasions in the half-frame. In an example, 8 SSB/DRS may occupy 2 ms and 3 ms (6 slots or 12 occasions) may not have SSBs in NR. Up to 32 offsets may be used in one radio frame (40 occasions in one radio frame—8 SSB). Similarly, the 60 kHz configuration may include 20 slots in one half frame. There may be 40 DRS transmission occasions in the half-frame. In an example, 8 SSB/DRS may occupy 1 ms and 4 ms (8 slots or 32 occasions) may not have SSBs in NR. Up to 72 offsets may be used. The 30 kHz and 60 kHz SCS may be better candidates keeping the NR 8 SSB Burst design for FR1.
Si and Pan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Si to include the concept of having a time-based transmission period combination based on the number of time domain resource units in each of the transmission periods as taught by Pan so as to promote better communications over the SSB.
Regarding Claim 8,
Si does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 8.
Park discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein a first transmission period in the transmission period combination is less than a second transmission period in the transmission period combination.
[0219] For example, when the transmission period value indicates 10 ms in the transmission period field, the transmission period pattern field of 1 bit may indicate whether the transmission period value indicates one transmission period of 10 ms or another transmission period of 20 ms formed of two units of 10 ms.
Si and Park are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Si to include the concept of having one period be less than the other period as taught by Park so as to promote better communications over the SSB.
Regarding Claim 10,
Si does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 10.
However, Chen discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein F comprises a first value and a second value, and the first value is greater than the second value.
[0081] The SSB transmission period may be divided into slots. The SSB transmission opportunities occupy a frequency band, and may be transmitted in a plurality of subcarriers. In the example of FIGS. 8A, 8B and 8C, P equals 20 ms, each slot has a time length of 1 ms, and SCS is 15 kilohertz. In a SSB transmission period, there are M SSB transmission opportunities for L spatial relations. SSBs may be indexed in an ascending order in time from 0 to L−1. In other words, SSB indexes may be SSB #0, SSB #1, . . . , SSB #(L−1). M may be expressed as M=N*L where N is a factor to increase SSB transmission opportunity, N>1. In the example of FIGS. 8A and 8B, N=4, L=4, and there are M=16 SSB transmission opportunities to transmit SSB #0, SSB #1, SSB #2 and SSB #3.
[0096] FIGS. 15-18 illustrate examples of scenario conditions for SSB Pattern #1. The values of the following parameters are the same as those in FIGS. 10-14: SSB transmission period P=20 ms, N=4, L=4 and M=N*L=16 SSB transmission opportunities. However, G=L=4 for SSB Pattern #1, hence R=N/G=1. In the examples of FIGS. 15-18, the time length of a slot=0.5 ms and SCS=30 KHz. For SSB Pattern #1, SSB candidates located in consecutive SSB candidate positions have different SSB index.
Note: The SCS size can also be 30 kHz as well as 15 kHz, which are being interpreted as values of “F”.
Si and Chen are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Si to include the concept of having one frequency value greater than the other frequency as taught by Chen so as to promote better communications over the SSB.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Si further discloses: A terminal device, comprising a communication unit configured to a memory, a processor and a computer program which is stored on the memory and may run on the processor, wherein when executing the program, the processor implements the following steps:
sending time domain resource indication information through a Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH),
[0170] In one example (e.g., 1001 in FIG. 10A), the first and last symbols within a slot are reserved for other purpose, and symbols #1 to #6 are mapped for a first S-SSB within the slot, and symbols #7 to #12 are mapped for a second S-SSB within a slot, wherein the two S-SSBs have the same composition with respect to the time domain mapping: the first and second symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #1, #2, #7, and #8 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for S-PSS, the fourth and sixth symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #4, #6, #10, and #12 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for S-SSS (if the BW of S-SSB is 12 RBs or 24 RBs) or multiplexing of S-SSS and PSBCH (if the BW of S-SSB is larger than 12 RBs such as 20 RBs), and the third and fifth symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #3, #5, #9, and #11 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for PSBCH.
[0015] In one embodiment, a first user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system is provided. The first UE comprises at least one processor configured to: determine a sidelink synchronization identity (SL-SID) and a set of resources.
[0020] Moreover, various functions described below can be implemented or supported by one or more computer programs, each of which is formed from computer readable program code and embodied in a computer readable medium. The terms “application” and “program” refer to one or more computer programs, software components, sets of instructions, procedures, functions, objects, classes, instances, related data, or a portion thereof adapted for implementation in a suitable computer readable program code.
[0109] A vehicular communication, referred to as vehicle-to-everything (V2X), contains the following three different types: 1) vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) communications; 2) vehicle-to-infrastructure (V21) communications; and 3) vehicle-to-pedestrian (V2P) communications. These three types of V2X can use “co-operative awareness” to provide more intelligent services for end-users. This means that transport entities, such as vehicles, roadside infrastructure, and pedestrians, can collect knowledge of their local environment (e.g., information received from other vehicles or sensor equipment in proximity) to process and share that knowledge in order to provide more intelligent services, such as cooperative collision warning or autonomous driving. A direct communication between vehicles in V2V is based on a sidelink (SL) interface, and SL is the UE to UE interface for synchronization, discovery, and communication.
[0170] In one example (e.g., 1001 in FIG. 10A), the first and last symbols within a slot are reserved for other purpose, and symbols #1 to #6 are mapped for a first S-SSB within the slot, and symbols #7 to #12 are mapped for a second S-SSB within a slot, wherein the two S-SSBs have the same composition with respect to the time domain mapping: the first and second symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #1, #2, #7, and #8 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for S-PSS, the fourth and sixth symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #4, #6, #10, and #12 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for S-SSS (if the BW of S-SSB is 12 RBs or 24 RBs) or multiplexing of S-SSS and PSBCH (if the BW of S-SSB is larger than 12 RBs such as 20 RBs), and the third and fifth symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #3, #5, #9, and #11 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for PSBCH.
[0269] In a second approach for the time-domain mapping of an S-SSB burst set, contiguous slots containing an S-SSB burst set can be mapped from starting from any slot within the period for transmitting the S-SSB burst set. In this approach, the starting location of the S-SSB burst set (e.g., slot index within the period) can be indicated to the V2X UE (such as using synchronization signals, or PBCH content, or DMRS of PBCH, or their combination), or can be pre-configured to the V2X UE.
Note: The “transmission resources” are being interpreted as the symbols in paragraph [0170] since Applicant’s paragraph [0072] states that symbol by symbol indication can indicate transmission resources of the sidelink.
Si does not disclose wherein the time domain resource indication information is configured to indicate a transmission period combination and a number of time domain resource units, wherein the transmission period combination is a combination of transmission periods.
However, Park discloses: wherein the time domain resource indication information is configured to indicate a transmission period combination and a number of time domain resource units, wherein the transmission period combination is a combination of transmission periods.
[0216] Referring to FIG. 17 together with FIG. 11, the sidelink UE 1104 receives sidelink resource information from the sidelink UE 1102 through the PSBCH. A field indicating a transmission period pattern: This field may or may not be present in the PSBCH according to the subcarrier spacing. When this field is present in the PSBCH, it may have 1 bit information. This is a value indicating whether a transmission period value configured in the transmission period field has one transmission period or a combination of two transmission periods having equal lengths.
[0219] For example, when the transmission period value indicates 10 ms in the transmission period field, the transmission period pattern field of 1 bit may indicate whether the transmission period value indicates one transmission period of 10 ms or another transmission period of 20 ms formed of two units of 10 ms. In summary, the transmission period pattern field may be used to indicate whether the transmission period value represents one transmission period or a combination of two transmission periods. If the transmission period value indicated in the transmission period field is T, the former case refers to T=T1+T2, where T1=T2, and the latter case refers to T+T=T0. [0220] 3. A field indicating the number of sidelink slots: This field indicates information on the number of slots for sidelink communication within a transmission period configured by the transmission period field and the transmission period pattern field. Specifically, this field indicates the number of sidelink slots (in reverse order) from the last slot among all slots included in the transmission period indicated by the transmission period field and the transmission period pattern field.
Si and Park are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Si to include the concept of having a transmission period combination based on the number of time domain resource units in each of the transmission periods as taught by Park so as to promote better communications over the SSB.
Si does not disclose the final limitations of this claim.
Chen further discloses: wherein the number of time domain resource units is configured to indicate a number Ni of time slots in each of the transmission periods, wherein Ni=Mi*Ki, Mi is the number of time domain resource units in each of the transmission periods, a time domain resource unit comprises Ki time slots, a value of a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the Ki time slots is F, and Ki is a predefined positive integer.
[0081] The SSB transmission period may be divided into slots. The SSB transmission opportunities occupy a frequency band, and may be transmitted in a plurality of subcarriers. In the example of FIGS. 8A, 8B and 8C, P equals 20 ms, each slot has a time length of 1 ms, and SCS is 15 kilohertz. In a SSB transmission period, there are M SSB transmission opportunities for L spatial relations. SSBs may be indexed in an ascending order in time from 0 to L−1. In other words, SSB indexes may be SSB #0, SSB #1, . . . , SSB #(L−1). M may be expressed as M=N*L where N is a factor to increase SSB transmission opportunity, N>1. In the example of FIGS. 8A and 8B, N=4, L=4, and there are M=16 SSB transmission opportunities to transmit SSB #0, SSB #1, SSB #2 and SSB #3.
Note: Here, Ni is M (the transmission opportunities), Mi is L (spatial relations), and Ki is N (factor to increase the transmission opportunities). L is in the “time domain” since it is “indexed in ascending order in time”. Multiplying L by a factor (in this case N) would make M (or, per the claim, Ni), also in time domain.
Chen also discloses wherein when the transmission combination does not belong to a first transmission period combination set, Ki=1 and F is a first value, wherein the first transmission period combination set comprises transmission period combinations.
[0082] N could be further defined as N=G*R, where G is the number of groups for each spatial relation and R is the number of SSB candidates in a SSB index group. R and G may be an integer and larger than 0.
[0096] FIGS. 15-18 illustrate examples of scenario conditions for SSB Pattern #1. The values of the following parameters are the same as those in FIGS. 10-14: SSB transmission period P=20 ms, N=4, L=4 and M=N*L=16 SSB transmission opportunities. However, G=L=4 for SSB Pattern #1, hence R=N/G=1. In the examples of FIGS. 15-18, the time length of a slot=0.5 ms and SCS=30 KHz. For SSB Pattern #1, SSB candidates located in consecutive SSB candidate positions have different SSB index.
Note: Since “N” is further defined as G*R as above, where “N” is being used as Ki, N can also be 1 at higher SCS frequencies as shown here, since R is equal to 1.
Chen further discloses when the transmission period combination belongs to the first transmission period combination set, Ki is a predefined positive integer greater than 1 and F is the first value.
[0081] The SSB transmission period may be divided into slots. The SSB transmission opportunities occupy a frequency band, and may be transmitted in a plurality of subcarriers. In the example of FIGS. 8A, 8B and 8C, P equals 20 ms, each slot has a time length of 1 ms, and SCS is 15 kilohertz. In a SSB transmission period, there are M SSB transmission opportunities for L spatial relations. SSBs may be indexed in an ascending order in time from 0 to L−1. In other words, SSB indexes may be SSB #0, SSB #1, . . . , SSB #(L−1). M may be expressed as M=N*L where N is a factor to increase SSB transmission opportunity, N>1. In the example of FIGS. 8A and 8B, N=4, L=4, and there are M=16 SSB transmission opportunities to transmit SSB #0, SSB #1, SSB #2 and SSB #3.
Note: Here, N is greater than 1.
Si and Chen are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Si to include the concept of having a time domain resource unit configured based on numerical equation as taught by Chen so as to promote better communications over the SSB.
Pan discloses: wherein the first transmission period combination set comprises at least part of following transmission period combinations: 1 ms transmission period and 4 ms transmission period, 4 ms transmission period and 1 ms transmission period, 2 ms transmission period and 3 ms transmission period, 3 ms transmission period and 2 ms transmission period, 1 ms transmission period and 3 ms transmission period, 3 ms transmission period and 1 ms transmission period.
[0224] The 15 kHz SCS configuration may include 5 slots in one half-frame. In NR SS-Burst design, each slot may have 2 SSB locations. Hence, there may be 10 DRS transmission occasions (SSB candidate locations) in the half-frame. In an example, 8 SSB/DRS may occupy 4 ms and 1 ms (or 2 occasions) may be empty. As shown in Table 1, after 10 occasions, the half-frame may change.
[0229] The 30 kHz configuration may include 10 slots in one half frame. There may be 20 DRS transmission occasions in the half-frame. In an example, 8 SSB/DRS may occupy 2 ms and 3 ms (6 slots or 12 occasions) may not have SSBs in NR. Up to 32 offsets may be used in one radio frame (40 occasions in one radio frame—8 SSB). Similarly, the 60 kHz configuration may include 20 slots in one half frame. There may be 40 DRS transmission occasions in the half-frame. In an example, 8 SSB/DRS may occupy 1 ms and 4 ms (8 slots or 32 occasions) may not have SSBs in NR. Up to 72 offsets may be used. The 30 kHz and 60 kHz SCS may be better candidates keeping the NR 8 SSB Burst design for FR1.
Si and Pan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Si to include the concept of having a time-based transmission period combination based on the number of time domain resource units in each of the transmission periods as taught by Pan so as to promote better communications over the SSB.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8.
Regarding Claim 22,
Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 10.
Regarding Claim 25,
Claim 25 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Si further discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, on which a computer program is stored, wherein when executed by a processor, the program implements the following steps:
sending time domain resource indication information through a Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH),
[0170] In one example (e.g., 1001 in FIG. 10A), the first and last symbols within a slot are reserved for other purpose, and symbols #1 to #6 are mapped for a first S-SSB within the slot, and symbols #7 to #12 are mapped for a second S-SSB within a slot, wherein the two S-SSBs have the same composition with respect to the time domain mapping: the first and second symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #1, #2, #7, and #8 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for S-PSS, the fourth and sixth symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #4, #6, #10, and #12 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for S-SSS (if the BW of S-SSB is 12 RBs or 24 RBs) or multiplexing of S-SSS and PSBCH (if the BW of S-SSB is larger than 12 RBs such as 20 RBs), and the third and fifth symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #3, #5, #9, and #11 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for PSBCH.
[0015] In one embodiment, a first user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system is provided. The first UE comprises at least one processor configured to: determine a sidelink synchronization identity (SL-SID) and a set of resources.
[0020] Moreover, various functions described below can be implemented or supported by one or more computer programs, each of which is formed from computer readable program code and embodied in a computer readable medium. The terms “application” and “program” refer to one or more computer programs, software components, sets of instructions, procedures, functions, objects, classes, instances, related data, or a portion thereof adapted for implementation in a suitable computer readable program code.
[0109] A vehicular communication, referred to as vehicle-to-everything (V2X), contains the following three different types: 1) vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) communications; 2) vehicle-to-infrastructure (V21) communications; and 3) vehicle-to-pedestrian (V2P) communications. These three types of V2X can use “co-operative awareness” to provide more intelligent services for end-users. This means that transport entities, such as vehicles, roadside infrastructure, and pedestrians, can collect knowledge of their local environment (e.g., information received from other vehicles or sensor equipment in proximity) to process and share that knowledge in order to provide more intelligent services, such as cooperative collision warning or autonomous driving. A direct communication between vehicles in V2V is based on a sidelink (SL) interface, and SL is the UE to UE interface for synchronization, discovery, and communication.
[0170] In one example (e.g., 1001 in FIG. 10A), the first and last symbols within a slot are reserved for other purpose, and symbols #1 to #6 are mapped for a first S-SSB within the slot, and symbols #7 to #12 are mapped for a second S-SSB within a slot, wherein the two S-SSBs have the same composition with respect to the time domain mapping: the first and second symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #1, #2, #7, and #8 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for S-PSS, the fourth and sixth symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #4, #6, #10, and #12 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for S-SSS (if the BW of S-SSB is 12 RBs or 24 RBs) or multiplexing of S-SSS and PSBCH (if the BW of S-SSB is larger than 12 RBs such as 20 RBs), and the third and fifth symbols in the S-SSB (i.e., symbols #3, #5, #9, and #11 in term of the symbol index within the slot) are mapped for PSBCH.
[0269] In a second approach for the time-domain mapping of an S-SSB burst set, contiguous slots containing an S-SSB burst set can be mapped from starting from any slot within the period for transmitting the S-SSB burst set. In this approach, the starting location of the S-SSB burst set (e.g., slot index within the period) can be indicated to the V2X UE (such as using synchronization signals, or PBCH content, or DMRS of PBCH, or their combination), or can be pre-configured to the V2X UE.
Note: The “transmission resources” are being interpreted as the symbols in paragraph [0170] since Applicant’s paragraph [0072] states that symbol by symbol indication can indicate transmission resources of the sidelink.
Si does not disclose wherein the time domain resource indication information is configured to indicate a transmission period combination and a number of time domain resource units, wherein the transmission period combination is a combination of transmission periods.
However, Park discloses: wherein the time domain resource indication information is configured to indicate a transmission period combination and a number of time domain resource units, wherein the transmission period combination is a combination of transmission periods.
[0216] Referring to FIG. 17 together with FIG. 11, the sidelink UE 1104 receives sidelink resource information from the sidelink UE 1102 through the PSBCH. A field indicating a transmission period pattern: This field may or may not be present in the PSBCH according to the subcarrier spacing. When this field is present in the PSBCH, it may have 1 bit information. This is a value indicating whether a transmission period value configured in the transmission period field has one transmission period or a combination of two transmission periods having equal lengths.
[0219] For example, when the transmission period value indicates 10 ms in the transmission period field, the transmission period pattern field of 1 bit may indicate whether the transmission period value indicates one transmission period of 10 ms or another transmission period of 20 ms formed of two units of 10 ms. In summary, the transmission period pattern field may be used to indicate whether the transmission period value represents one transmission period or a combination of two transmission periods. If the transmission period value indicated in the transmission period field is T, the former case refers to T=T1+T2, where T1=T2, and the latter case refers to T+T=T0. [0220] 3. A field indicating the number of sidelink slots: This field indicates information on the number of slots for sidelink communication within a transmission period configured by the transmission period field and the transmission period pattern field. Specifically, this field indicates the number of sidelink slots (in reverse order) from the last slot among all slots included in the transmission period indicated by the transmission period field and the transmission period pattern field.
Si and Park are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Si to include the concept of having a transmission period combination based on the number of time domain resource units in each of the transmission periods as taught by Park so as to promote better communications over the SSB.
Si does not disclose the final limitations of this claim.
Chen further discloses: wherein the number of time domain resource units is configured to indicate a number Ni of time slots in each of the transmission periods, wherein Ni=Mi*Ki, Mi is the number of time domain resource units in each of the transmission periods, a time domain resource unit comprises Ki time slots, a value of a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the Ki time slots is F, and Ki is a predefined positive integer.
[0081] The SSB transmission period may be divided into slots. The SSB transmission opportunities occupy a frequency band, and may be transmitted in a plurality of subcarriers. In the example of FIGS. 8A, 8B and 8C, P equals 20 ms, each slot has a time length of 1 ms, and SCS is 15 kilohertz. In a SSB transmission period, there are M SSB transmission opportunities for L spatial relations. SSBs may be indexed in an ascending order in time from 0 to L−1. In other words, SSB indexes may be SSB #0, SSB #1, . . . , SSB #(L−1). M may be expressed as M=N*L where N is a factor to increase SSB transmission opportunity, N>1. In the example of FIGS. 8A and 8B, N=4, L=4, and there are M=16 SSB transmission opportunities to transmit SSB #0, SSB #1, SSB #2 and SSB #3.
Note: Here, Ni is M (the transmission opportunities), Mi is L (spatial relations), and Ki is N (factor to increase the transmission opportunities). L is in the “time domain” since it is “indexed in ascending order in time”. Multiplying L by a factor (in this case N) would make M (or, per the claim, Ni), also in time domain.
Chen also discloses wherein when the transmission combination does not belong to a first transmission period combination set, Ki=1 and F is a first value, wherein the first transmission period combination set comprises transmission period combinations.
[0082] N could be further defined as N=G*R, where G is the number of groups for each spatial relation and R is the number of SSB candidates in a SSB index group. R and G may be an integer and larger than 0.
[0096] FIGS. 15-18 illustrate examples of scenario conditions for SSB Pattern #1. The values of the following parameters are the same as those in FIGS. 10-14: SSB transmission period P=20 ms, N=4, L=4 and M=N*L=16 SSB transmission opportunities. However, G=L=4 for SSB Pattern #1, hence R=N/G=1. In the examples of FIGS. 15-18, the time length of a slot=0.5 ms and SCS=30 KHz. For SSB Pattern #1, SSB candidates located in consecutive SSB candidate positions have different SSB index.
Note: Since “N” is further defined as G*R as above, where “N” is being used as Ki, N can also be 1 at higher SCS frequencies as shown here, since R is equal to 1.
Chen further discloses when the transmission period combination belongs to the first transmission period combination set, Ki is a predefined positive integer greater than 1 and F is the first value.
[0081] The SSB transmission period may be divided into slots. The SSB transmission opportunities occupy a frequency band, and may be transmitted in a plurality of subcarriers. In the example of FIGS. 8A, 8B and 8C, P equals 20 ms, each slot has a time length of 1 ms, and SCS is 15 kilohertz. In a SSB transmission period, there are M SSB transmission opportunities for L spatial relations. SSBs may be indexed in an ascending order in time from 0 to L−1. In other words, SSB indexes may be SSB #0, SSB #1, . . . , SSB #(L−1). M may be expressed as M=N*L where N is a factor to increase SSB transmission opportunity, N>1. In the example of FIGS. 8A and 8B, N=4, L=4, and there are M=16 SSB transmission opportunities to transmit SSB #0, SSB #1, SSB #2 and SSB #3.
Note: Here, N is greater than 1.
Si and Chen are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Si to include the concept of having a transmission period combination based on the number of time domain resource units in each of the transmission periods as taught by Chen so as to promote better communications over the SSB.
Pan discloses: discloses wherein the first transmission period combination set comprises at least part of following transmission period combinations: 1 ms transmission period and 4 ms transmission period, 4 ms transmission period and 1 ms transmission period, 2 ms transmission period and 3 ms transmission period, 3 ms transmission period and 2 ms transmission period, 1 ms transmission period and 3 ms transmission period, 3 ms transmission period and 1 ms transmission period.
[0224] The 15 kHz SCS configuration may include 5 slots in one half-frame. In NR SS-Burst design, each slot may have 2 SSB locations. Hence, there may be 10 DRS transmission occasions (SSB candidate locations) in the half-frame. In an example, 8 SSB/DRS may occupy 4 ms and 1 ms (or 2 occasions) may be empty. As shown in Table 1, after 10 occasions, the half-frame may change.
[0229] The 30 kHz configuration may include 10 slots in one half frame. There may be 20 DRS transmission occasions in the half-frame. In an example, 8 SSB/DRS may occupy 2 ms and 3 ms (6 slots or 12 occasions) may not have SSBs in NR. Up to 32 offsets may be used in one radio frame (40 occasions in one radio frame—8 SSB). Similarly, the 60 kHz configuration may include 20 slots in one half frame. There may be 40 DRS transmission occasions in the half-frame. In an example, 8 SSB/DRS may occupy 1 ms and 4 ms (8 slots or 32 occasions) may not have SSBs in NR. Up to 72 offsets may be used. The 30 kHz and 60 kHz SCS may be better candidates keeping the NR 8 SSB Burst design for FR1.
Si and Pan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Si to include the concept of having a time-based transmission period combination based on the number of time domain resource units in each of the transmission periods as taught by Pan so as to promote better communications over the SSB.
Regarding Claim 27,
Si does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 27.
Chen discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein F comprises the first value or a second value.
[0081] The SSB transmission period may be divided into slots. The SSB transmission opportunities occupy a frequency band, and may be transmitted in a plurality of subcarriers. In the example of FIGS. 8A, 8B and 8C, P equals 20 ms, each slot has a time length of 1 ms, and SCS is 15 kilohertz. In a SSB transmission period, there are M SSB transmission opportunities for L spatial relations. SSBs may be indexed in an ascending order in time from 0 to L−1. In other words, SSB indexes may be SSB #0, SSB #1, . . . , SSB #(L−1). M may be expressed as M=N*L where N is a factor to increase SSB transmission opportunity, N>1. In the example of FIGS. 8A and 8B, N=4, L=4, and there are M=16 SSB transmission opportunities to transmit SSB #0, SSB #1, SSB #2 and SSB #3.
Note: The SCS size 15 kHz is being interpreted as values of “F”.
Si and Chen are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Si to include the concept of having one frequency value as taught by Chen so as to promote better communications over the SSB.
Regarding Claim 30,
Claim 30 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 27.
Regarding Claim 32,
Claim 32 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 27.
Regarding Claim 34,
Claim 34 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8.
Regarding Claim 36,
Claim 36 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 10.
Claims 28, 31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Si in view of Park, Chen, and Pan, held further in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #99, “Sidelink synchronization mechanism”, R1-1912024, Reno, Nevada, November 18-22, 2019, herein referred to as “R1-1912024.” The R1-1912024 reference was provided in the information disclosure statement dated September 26, 2023.
Regarding Claim 28,
Si in view of Park, Chen, and Pan does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 28.
R1-1912024 discloses: The method of claim 27, wherein the first value is 120 kHz and the second value is 60 kHz.
Si in view of Park, Chen, Pan, and R1-1912024 are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Si in view of Park, Chan, and Pan to include the concept of having a two different frequency values as taught by R1-1912024 so as to promote better communications over the SSB.
Regarding Claim 31,
Claim 31 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 28.
Regarding Claim 33,
Claim 33 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 28.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed on December 5, 2025 is acknowledged.
The following claims were amended as part of applicant’s response: 1, 13, and 25.
The objection to claim 13 is withdrawn.
The are no new claims and no canceled claims.
Claims 1, 8-10, 13, 20, 22, 25, 27-28, 30-34, and 36 are pending.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to independent claims 1, 13, and 25 have been fully considered but are unpersuasive.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, and 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Additionally, Applicant alleges Si does not teach PBSCH. Id. at. 11. This statement is inaccurate, as shown in paragraph [0170] above.
Lastly, Applicant takes issue with the definition of “slot” and “transmission opportunity”, as it relates to the mathematical equation presented in claim 1. See generally Remarks at 12. The terminology is being interpreted broadly, since “slots” does not prohibit the use of “transmission opportunity.” It is suggested then, that Applicant sufficiently define these terms in the claim so as to narrow the scope.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411