DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 08/02/2022, 01/24/2024, 02/29/2024, 05/20/2024, 04/15/2025, and 09/10/2025 were filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 08/02/2022. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In the response filed 08/02/2022, the claims, abstract, and specification were amended.
These amendments are hereby entered.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10-12, 15-32, and 36 have been amended.
Claims 5, 7-9, 13-14, 33-35, and 37 have been canceled.
Claims 1-4, 6, 10-12, 15-32, and 36 are pending in the application,
of which claim 12 is withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
In a requirement for election of species dated 10/29/2025, Applicant was required to choose from,
A compound of Formula (1) wherein Cz is represented by:
Species I: formula (1-a)
Species II: formula (1-b)
Applicant’s election with traverse of Species II: formula (1-b) in the reply filed on 12/17/2025 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner has not shown a burden in a search and a search has not been extended. This is not found persuasive because, as evidenced below, the two species represent separate inventive effort by inventors (see MPEP 808.02).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Species II, drawn to claims 1-4, 6, 10-11, 15-32 and 36, is examined herein.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2020-018229, filed on 02/05/2020.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The words “anthracenylene” and “anthracenyl” are misspelled in paragraphs [0128] and [0130] respectively.
The letters, numbers, and/or bonds in the chemical structure given in paragraphs [0244] through [0270] are illegible. Please correct these structures so all letters, numbers, and/or bonds are clearly visible. See the example below.
Please note that this example is non-limiting and there may be other structures that require correction. Please check all formulae to make sure they are not unclear. Applicant may wish to make these structures clearer by increasing font size, making the font bold, and/or making the lines thicker.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The word “anthracenyl” has been misspelled as “anthrasenyl”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 11, the claim contains formulae which do not further limit the subject matter of parent claim 10. For example, none of formulae (1-b-11) through (1-b-14) of claim 11 can be derived from formula (1-b-2) of claim 10. Also, formulae (1-b-11) and (1-b-13) of claim 11 do not further limit formula (1-b-1) of parent claim 10. For these reasons, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
In continuing examination, only formulae (1-b-12) and (1-b-14) will be considered and they are being considered as derived from parent formula (1-b-1) only.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
With respect to claim 11, the claim contains formulae which do not further limit the subject matter of parent claim 10. For example, none of formulae (1-b-11) through (1-b-14) of claim 11 can be derived from formula (1-b-2) of claim 10. Also, formulae (1-b-11) and (1-b-13) of claim 11 do not further limit formula (1-b-1) of parent claim 10.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 10-11, 15-32, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (WO 2018/056645 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Cho discloses an organic electroluminescent device comprising a cathode, an anode, and an organic layer between the electrodes and the organic layer includes a light emitting layer comprising an anthracene host (paragraphs 100 and 101), such as compound H-82 (paragraph 120), which is pictured below, and an electron transporting layer (an electron buffer layer, paragraph 155 and Figure 1) comprising a compound represented by formula (1), which may also be represented by formula (11) (paragraphs 35 and 65), which is also pictured below.
In formula (11), Ar3 and Ar4 are a C6 aryl (phenyl) group (paragraphs 17 and 45), Ar5 and Ar6 are hydrogen atoms (see for example, compounds B-57 and B-58 on page 13), n is 2, and the two L are independently a naphthylene and phenylene group (see for example, compounds B-38, B-39, and B-41).
Cho includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Cho being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organic electroluminescent device with improved driving voltage, efficiency, and lifespan characteristics (paragraph 203), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Such a compound meets the requirements of instant formula (1) when Y2 is nitrogen and Y1 is CR and R is a hydrogen atom, Ar1 and Ar2 are both an unsubstituted aryl having 6 ring carbon atoms (phenyl), L1 and L2 are both a single bond, R1 through R6 are hydrogen atoms, one of L3 and L4 is a C6 arylene (phenylene) group, and the other is a single bond, n is 1, and Cz is represented by Formula (1-b).
In Formula (1-b), R31 through R34 and R37 and R38 are hydrogen atoms, and R35 and R36 are joined to form an annulated 6-membered ring (benzene).
Compound H-82 meets the requirements of instant formula (10) when R109 and R110 are represented by formula (31), and the remaining R groups are hydrogen atoms.
In formula (31) of R109, L101 is a single bond, and Ar101 is a heterocyclic group having 17 ring atoms (2-benzo(b)naphtho(2,3-d)furan).
In formula (31) of R110, L101 is a single bond and Ar101 is a C6 aryl (phenyl) group.
Cho teaches that organic electroluminescent devices of the invention have high efficiency and/or long lifespan and can be used to produce a display system or a lighting system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the combination of a compound of formula (11) in an electron transporting layer and compound H-82 in the light-emitting layer of an organic electroluminescent device in order to produce a display or lighting system with high efficiency and long lifespan, as taught by Cho.
With respect to claim 2, Cho teaches the device of claim 1, as discussed above.
Cho also teaches that n is 3 (paragraph 23), and the three L are independently a naphthylene and two phenylene groups (see for example, compound B-40).
Cho includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Cho being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organic electroluminescent device with improved driving voltage, efficiency, and lifespan characteristics (paragraph 203), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Such a compound meets the requirements of the instant claim when L3 and L4 are each a phenylene group.
With respect to claim 3, Cho teaches the device of claim 1, and the unsubstituted arylene group of L3 or L4 is a phenylene group and the other of L3 and L4 is a single bond, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 4, Cho teaches the device of claim 1, as discussed above.
Cho also teaches that in Formula (11) Ar5 can be a C6 aryl (phenyl).
Cho includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Cho being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organic electroluminescent device with improved driving voltage, efficiency, and lifespan characteristics (paragraph 203), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Such a compound meets the requirements of the instant claim when at least one of R31 through R38 is a C6 aryl.
With respect to claim 6, Cho teaches the device of claim 1, and none of R31 through R38 are a substituent, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 10, Cho teaches the device of claim 1, and Compound A is represented by Formula (1-b-1), as discussed above.
With respect to claim 11, Cho teaches the device of claim 10, as discussed above.
Cho also teaches that variable L may be a substituted arylene (paragraph 18) and examples of substituents include a 13-membered heteroaryl (paragraph 40, lines 13-14), and examples of heteroaryl include carbazolyl (paragraph 39).
Such a modification produces instant formula (1-b-12).
Cho includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Cho being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent, such as a 9-carbazole, from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organic electroluminescent device with improved driving voltage, efficiency, and lifespan characteristics (paragraph 203), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claims 15 and 16, Cho teaches the device of claim 1, as discussed above.
Cho also teaches that Ar3 and Ar4 may be a biphenyl group (paragraphs 45 and 17, see also compounds B-8, B-10, B-12, B-24, etc).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claims when one or both of L1 and/or L2 is a phenylene.
Cho includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Cho being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent, such as a biphenyl group, from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organic electroluminescent device with improved driving voltage, efficiency, and lifespan characteristics (paragraph 203), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 17, Cho teaches the device of claim 1, and L1 and L2 are single bonds, as discussed above.
With respect to claims 18 and 19, Cho teaches the device of claim 1, and Ar1 and Ar2 are phenyl groups, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 20, Cho teaches the device of claim 1, and the compound has a molecular weight of 650 or more.
With respect to claim 21, Cho teaches the device of claim 1, as discussed above.
Cho also teaches that the compound may be substituted with deuterium (paragraph 40, line 9).
Cho includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Cho being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent, such as a deuterium atom, from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organic electroluminescent device with improved driving voltage, efficiency, and lifespan characteristics (paragraph 203), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 22, Cho teaches the device of claim 1, and the host material B is represented by formula (10-1) for the reasons discussed above.
With respect to claim 23, Cho teaches the device of claim 1, and the host material B is represented by formula (10-3) when one of Ar101A is a substituted aryl group of 6 carbon atoms and the other Ar101A is a unsubstituted aryl group of 6 carbon atoms (phenyl) as pictured above.
With respect to claims 24 through 27 and 29, Cho teaches the device of claim 1 and the host material B is represented by formula (10-4) and formula (10-6) when X11/X12 is an oxygen atom, R63 is a single bond to L101, R68 and R67 are an annulated benzene ring, and all other R characters are hydrogen atoms, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 28, Cho teaches the device of claim 26, and R68 and R67 are joined to form an annulated benzene ring of instant formula (10-8-1) or (10-4A-1), as discussed above.
With respect to claim 30, Cho teaches the device of claim 24, and the host material B, as discussed above.
Host material B, which is pictured and discussed above is derived from Cho formula 30 (paragraph 101), which is not limiting with respect to the bonding position of the anthracene core to the benzo(b)naphtho(2,3-d)furan moiety.
Given the general formula and teachings of Cho, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of host material B in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compounds to be useful as a host in the emission layer of the electroluminescent device of Cho and possess the properties taught by Cho. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09 I. When compounds which are position isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity, there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09 II.
Such a positional isomer meets the requirements of the instant claim when one of R70 through R73 is a single bond to L101.
-With respect to claims 31 and 32, Cho teaches the device of claim 1, and Ar101 is a single bond, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 36, Cho teaches the device of claim 1, and Cho also teaches that the device comprises a phosphorescent dopant material (paragraph 121).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a phosphorescent dopant in the emitting layer of the device as taught by Cho.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 10-11, and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-13, 25, and 27-29 of copending Application No. 17/759,980 (herein after referred to as ‘980) (reference application) in view of Cho et al. (WO 2018/056645 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically,
The compound of instant independent claim 1 is met by the compound of claim 1 and the device of claims 27 through 29 of ‘980.
The definitions of the linking groups of instant claims 2 and 3 are met by the definitions of the linking groups of claims 2 and 3 of ‘980.
The definitions of R31 to R38 of instant claims 4 and 6 are met by the definitions of R31 to R38 of claims 4 and 5 of ‘980.
The limitations of formulae (1-b-1) and (1-b-2) of instant claim 10 are met by the limitations of formulae (1-b-1) and (1-b-2) of claim 7 of ‘980.
The limitations of formulae (1-b-11), (1-b-12), (1-b-13), and (1-b-14) of instant claim 11 are met by the limitations of formulae (1-b-11), (1-b-12), (1-b-13), and (1-b-14) of claim 8 of ‘980.
The definitions of the linking groups of instant claims 15-17 are met by the definitions of the linking groups of claims 10-12 of ‘980.
The definitions of Ar1 and Ar2 of instant claims 18 and 19 are met by the definitions of Ar1 and Ar2 of claim 13 of ‘980.
The molecular weight limitation of instant claim 20 is met by claim 1 of ‘980.
The deuterium atom of instant claim 21 is also required by claim 25 of ‘980.
However, the instant claims require an anthracene-derivative host material of instant formula (10), which is not included in application 17/759,980.
Cho discloses an organic electroluminescent device having high efficiency and/or long lifespan by including a specific composition, which overlaps in scope with the compounds of instant claim 1 and of the compound of claim 1 of ‘980, as discussed above.
Cho also teaches that the emitting layer comprises an anthracene-derivative host material which overlaps in scop with instant formula (10), as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the compound of claim 1 of ‘980 with an anthracene-derivative host of instant formula (10) in order to obtain an organic electroluminescent device with high efficiency and/or long lifespan, as taught by Cho.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung et al. (KR 102019923 B1) – teaches relevant compounds.
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Examiner, Art Unit 1786