DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 02/24/2026 have been considered for examination.
With regard to the 103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 02/24/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are not persuasive at least in view of reasons set forth below.
On page 9 of Remarks, Applicant argued:
Hwang relates to determining a second timing of the second channel, based on the first
timing of the first channel and the information indicating the offset. See Hwang, paragraph [0363]. However, Hwang does not relate to receiving the information related to the assumed offset between a Uu carrier and an SL carrier. More specifically, Hwang is completely silent with respect to the assumed offset between a Uu carrier and an SL carrier. Additionally, as Hwang is silent with respect to the assumed offset, it logically follows that Hwang does not teach transmitting the physical shared channel on the SL carrier based on the information related to the assumed offset, as required by the above-mentioned limitation of amended independent claim 1. Chen fails to supply that which Hwang lacks. Chen relates to a system that includes a terminal, another terminal, and a base station that performs terminal-to-base station communication on the information related to the assumed offset, as required by the above-mentioned limitation of amended independent claim 1. For the reasons discussed above, it is clear that neither Hwang nor Chen teaches the above-mentioned limitation of amended independent claim 1.
In response to the above Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Unlike the applicant’s argument above, Hwang discloses, the receiver receives, from the base station, information related to an assumed offset between a Uu carrier and an SL carrier, and
the transmitter transmits, to the another terminal, the physical shared channel on the SL carrier
based on the information related to the assumed offset. See the detailed mapping as set forth below regarding claim 8.
On page 10 of Remarks, Applicant argued:
Further, even assuming arguendo a skilled person were to combine Hwang and Chen
in the manner suggested by the Examiner, the combination would still fail to render amended
independent claim 1 obvious, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had no
motivation to supply the missing elements without the benefit of Applicant's own disclosure as a
guide.
In response to Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding the combination of Hwang and Chen, it is Applicant’s opinion that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had no motivation to supply the missing elements without the benefit of Applicant's own disclosure as a guide.
However, the examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton, and in many cases will be able to fit teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle. Furthermore, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressively suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In the instant case, Chen provides motivation for a side/ink frame number being aligned to an uplink frame number, as doing so provides the system of Hwang with enhanced capability of avoiding delaying of urgent data transmission, as indicated in the outstanding Office Action (it suffices that there is motivation to combine the teachings of Hwang and Chen to arrive at the claimed invention as taught by the recited limitations). Furthermore, there is no reasons to compel a person having an ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the references in the specific manner set forth by the applicant.
On page 10 of Remarks, Applicant argued:
In view of the above, amended independent claim 1 is patentable over Hwang and Chen, whether considered alone or in combination. Likewise, amended independent claims 5, 7, and 8, which recite substantially similar limitations, are patentable over Hwang and Chen for at least the same reasons.
In response to the above Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Since claims 5 and 7-8 recite similar features to claim 1 without further patentable features, claims 5 and 7-8 are unpatentable in view of the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang’279 et al (US Publication No. 2022/0095279) in view of Chen et al (US Publication No. 2021/0153170).
Regarding claim 8, Hwang teaches, a wireless communication system comprising: a plurality of terminals performing direct communication between the terminals [FIGS. 34-35; their related descriptions; ¶0355; claim 1, a wireless communication system comprising UE1 and UE2 performing sidelink (SL) communication between the UE1 and UE2]; and a base station [FIGS. 34-35; their related descriptions; ¶0355; claim 1, gNB],
wherein a terminal [FIGS. 34-35; their related descriptions; ¶0355; claim 1, UE1] includes:
a receiver [FIGS. 12 and 42; their related descriptions; ¶0142 and 0409, transceiver 106; note that every terminal has at least one receiver] configured to receive, from the base station, information indicating an offset between [FIGS. 34-35; their related descriptions; ¶0356; claim 1, the UE1 receives, from the gNB, information about an offset between]:
a first timing of receiving a retransmission control related response corresponding to a physical shared channel from another terminal in a first channel for direct communication between the terminal and the another terminal [FIGS. 34-35; a slot for carrying/receiving the PSFCH/feedback information for the PSSCH transmitted from the UE2 in a SL channel for SL direction communication between the UE1 and UE2 (S3403); further see ¶0359, the feedback information may be HARQ-ACK information related to the PSFCH for the PSSCH], and
a second timing of transmitting the retransmission control related response to the base station in a second channel for communication between the terminal and the base station [FIGS. 34-35; their related descriptions; ¶0356; claim 1, a slot for reporting/transmitting the UCI (the PUCCH carrying the feedback information based on the PSFCH) to the gNB in an Uu channel for UL communication between the UE1 and the gNB (S3404); further see ¶0359, the feedback information may be HARQ-ACK information related to the PSFCH for the PSSCH] , wherein the receiver receives the information indicating the offset in downlink control information (DCI) used for scheduling the physical shared channel [¶0357, the offset information indicating the number of slots from the PSFCH to the UCI (the PUCCH carrying the feedback information based on the PSFCH); further see ¶0360, the offset information may be included in the DCI received by UE1, and the DCI may be received on the PDCCH related to the PSSCH . . . For example, the PUCCH resources for transmitting the UCI may be indicated by a corresponding indicator, including a PUCCH resource indicator in the DCI for allocating the SL resources”; note that the DCI includes the number of slots (i.e., offset), and the DCI is for allocation SL resources; further see ¶0353, Direct communication may be conducted between UEs on SL. For example, a gNB may indicate time and frequency resources and/or a transmission scheme (e.g., an MCS, the number of transmission layers, the number of codewords, CBG information, HARQ process information, PMI information, and the like) for SL transmission to a specific UE (by higher layer signaling and/or a DCI indication), and the UE may transmit a PSCCH and a PSSCH to another UE based on the indicated information“; note that the indicated information of Hwang is considered as DCI which is a basis for the UE to transmit the PSCCH and the PSSCH (i.e., physical shared channel)], the information being a PSFCH (physical sidelink feedback channel)-to-HARQ timing indicator1 [FIGS. 34-35; their related descriptions; ¶0356-0357, the offset information is information indicating the number of slots from the PSFCH to the PUCCH (i.e., PSFCH-to-HARQ timing indicator); further see ¶0359, the feedback information may be HARQ-ACK information],
a processor [FIGS. 12 and 42; their related descriptions; ¶0142 and 0409, processor 106; note that every terminal has at least one controller/processor] configured to:
assume:
that a slot index of the direct communication between the terminal and the another terminal is aligned to a slot index of the communication between the terminal and the base station [FIG. 35; its related descriptions; ¶0368, the slot for the PUCCH and the slot for the PSFCH are synchronized; further see ¶00357, referring to FIG. 35, after receiving a PDCCH from the gNB, UE1 transmits a PSSCH to UE2. UE1 receives a PSFCH for the PSSCH from UE2. UE1 then transmits feedback information based on the PSFCH to the gNB on a PUCCH, and the transmission timing of the PUCCH (i.e., slot index of the communication) may be determined by offset information or a value K=4 which is information indicating the number of slots from the PSFCH (i.e., slot index of the direct communication) to the PUCCH. with reference to FIG. 35; noting the square boxes of FIG. 35 are slots, the slot index of transmitting the PUCCH is determined by offset offset information from the slot index of transmitting the PSFCH which means that the slot index of transmitting the PUCCH is offset by a value K=4 (i.e., aligned with) from the slot index of transmitting the PSFCH; regarding “the slot indices being aligned with each other”, further see ¶0268, “when the transmitting UE transmits the PSSCH in slot #X to slot #N to the receiving UE, the receiving UE may transmit an HARQ feedback for the PSSCH in slot #(N+A) to the transmitting UE. For example, slot #(N+A) may include PSFCH resources. For example, A may be a smallest integer greater than or equal to K”] and that a slot boundary of the direct communication between the terminal and the another terminal is same as a slot boundary of the communication between the terminal and the base station [FIGS. 34-35; their related descriptions; ¶0363-0365 and 0369-0370; claim 1, a slot boundary of the SL channel is aligned with a slot boundary of the UL channel], and
determine the second timing of the second channel, based on the first timing of the first channel and the information indicating the offset [FIGS. 34-35; their related descriptions; ¶0356 and 0363-0365 the UE1 determines the slot for transmitting the PUCCH based on the slot for the PSFCH and the offset]; and
a transmitter [FIGS. 12 and 42; their related descriptions; ¶0142 and 0409, transceiver 106; note that every terminal has at least one transmitter] configured to transmit the retransmission control related response to the base station in the second channel [FIGS. 34-35; their related descriptions; ¶0356; claim 1, the UE1 reports/transmits the PUCCH carrying the feedback information based on the PSFCH to the gNB in the UL channel (S3404); further see ¶0359, the feedback information may be HARQ-ACK information related to the PSFCH for the PSSCH], and
the base station [FIGS. 34-35; their related descriptions; ¶0355; claim 1, gNB] includes:
a transmitter [FIGS. 12 and 42; their related descriptions; note that every gNB/base station has at least one transmitter] configured to transmit, to the terminal, the information indicating the offset [FIGS. 34-35; their related descriptions; ¶0356; claim 1, the UE1 (or the gNB) receives (or transmits), from the gNB (or to the UE1), information about an offset between];
a processor [FIGS. 12 and 42; their related descriptions; note that every gNB/base station has at least one controller/processor] configured to:
assume:
that a slot index of the direct communication between the terminal and the another terminal is aligned to as the slot index of the communication between the terminal and the base station [FIG. 35; its related descriptions; ¶0368, the slot for the PUCCH and the slot for the PSFCH are synchronized; further see ¶00357, referring to FIG. 35, after receiving a PDCCH from the gNB, UE1 transmits a PSSCH to UE2. UE1 receives a PSFCH for the PSSCH from UE2. UE1 then transmits feedback information based on the PSFCH to the gNB on a PUCCH, and the transmission timing of the PUCCH (i.e., slot index of the communication) may be determined by offset information or a value K=4 which is information indicating the number of slots from the PSFCH (i.e., slot index of the direct communication) to the PUCCH. with reference to FIG. 35; noting the square boxes of FIG. 35 are slots, the slot index of transmitting the PUCCH is determined by offset offset information from the slot index of transmitting the PSFCH which means that the slot index of transmitting the PUCCH is offset by a value K=4 (i.e., aligned with) from the slot index of transmitting the PSFCH; regarding “the slot indices being aligned with each other”, further see ¶0268, “when the transmitting UE transmits the PSSCH in slot #X to slot #N to the receiving UE, the receiving UE may transmit an HARQ feedback for the PSSCH in slot #(N+A) to the transmitting UE. For example, slot #(N+A) may include PSFCH resources. For example, A may be a smallest integer greater than or equal to K”] and that a slot boundary of the direct communication between the terminal and the another terminal is same as the slot boundary of the communication between the terminal and the base station [FIGS. 34-35; their related descriptions; ¶0363-0365 and 0369-0370; claim 1, a slot boundary of the SL channel is aligned with a slot boundary of the UL channel], and
configure the second timing of the second channel, based on the first timing of the first channel and the offset [FIGS. 34-35; their related descriptions; ¶0363-0365 the gNB configures the slot for transmitting the PUCCH based on the slot for the PSFCH and the offset]; and
a receiver [FIGS. 12 and 42; their related descriptions; note that every gNB/base station has at least one receiver] configured to receive the retransmission control related response from the terminal in the second channel [FIGS. 34-35; their related descriptions; ¶0356; claim 1, the UE1 (or the gNB) reports/transmits (or receives) the PUCCH carrying the feedback information based on the PSFCH to the gNB (or from the UE1) in the UL channel (S3404)].
wherein
the receiver [FIGS. 12 and 42; their related descriptions; note that every gNB/base station has at least one receiver] receives, from the base station, information related to an assumed offset between a Uu carrier and an SL carrier [¶0160 (further see ¶00158 and ¶0360, receiving the DCI including the offset information), receiving a slot offset between the DCI reception (i.e., UU carrier) and a first SL transmission (i.e., SL carrier)], and
the transmitter [FIGS. 12 and 42; their related descriptions; note that every gNB/base station has at least one transmitter] transmits, to the another terminal, the physical shared channel on the SL carrier based on the information related to the assumed offset [¶0160, the UE transmits (to another UE) the PSSCH on the SL carrier based on the slot offset; further see ¶0158, UE1 may perform V2X or SL communication with UE2 according to the resource scheduling made through the DCI; further see ¶0353, Direct communication may be conducted between UEs on SL. For example, a gNB may indicate time and frequency resources and/or a transmission scheme (e.g., an MCS, the number of transmission layers, the number of codewords, CBG information, HARQ process information, PMI information, and the like) for SL transmission to a specific UE (by higher layer signaling and/or a DCI indication), and the UE may transmit a PSCCH and a PSSCH to another UE based on the indicated information“].
Hwang does not explicitly teach (see, italicized and bold limitations), wherein a sidelink
frame number is aligned to an uplink frame number.
However, Chen teaches, wherein a sidelink frame number is aligned to an uplink frame number [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0084, In the subframe pattern after the change, as compared to the subframe pattern before the change, subframe 15 is changed from an uplink subframe (a radio resource for terminal-to-base station communication) to a sidelink subframe (a radio resource for terminal-to-terminal communication); 0085, in FIG. 5, …, the terminal devices 100-1 to 100-3 receive a new subframe pattern (a bitmap pattern after the change) at timing T12 and recognize the new subframe pattern. The terminal device 100-1 is notified by the base-station device 200 at around timing T12 that use of the changed sidelink subframe 15 is permitted. Then, the terminal device 100-1 uses sidelink subframe 15 to perform transmission to the terminal devices 100-2 and 100-3 at timing T13; note that since the subframe 15 is used for the uplink transmission before the subframe type change and is used for the sidelink transmission after the subframe type change, the subframe number 15 used for the uplink transmission (see, upper portion of FIG. 5) is aligned with the subframe number 15 used for the sidelink transmission (see, lower portion of FIG. 5)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Chen in the system of Hwang in order to cause the system to be able to avoid delaying of urgent data transmission [e.g., ¶0082 of Chen].
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites similar features to claim 8 without further additional features. Thus, claim 1 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 8.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites similar features to claim 8 without further additional features. Thus, claim 5 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 8.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites similar features to claim 8 without further additional features. Thus, claim 7 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 8.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.f attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 Based on the description of the specification in ¶0066, “The PSFCH-to-HARQ-feedback-timing indicator field contained in the DCI or the RRC message may indicate that the timing of the PUCCH is “X slots after PSFCH”, the examiner interprets the term “PSFCH (physical sidelink feedback channel)-to-HARQ timing indicator” as information corresponding to the number of time offset from the PSFCH to the PUCCH.