DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7, 13, 15, 18, 25, 27-30 and 32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 10-12, 15-32, and 36 of copending Application No. 17/759,947 the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims are drawn to devices comprising all of the limitations of the instant applications but requiring an additional material as a host material in a different layer of the device.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities. The word anthracenylene appears to be misspelled ‘anthrasenylene’ Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 12-13, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticiapted by Yamamoto et al (US 2013/03060963) (Yamamoto).
In reference to claims 1, 3-5, 12-13, 15 and 18, Yamamoto teaches a compound of formula A117 as shown below that reads on the instant claims.
For Claim 1: Reads on a compound of formula (1) with a MW of 764, Y1 is N, L1 and L2 are each a single bond, Ar1 and Ar2 are each an unsubstituted phenyl, R Y2 is CR wherein R is hydrogen, R1 to R6 are each hydrogen, L4 is a single bond, L3 is a single bond, n is 1, Cz is a group of formula 1-b, R33 is a substituted heterocyclic group having 13 ring atoms, each of R31 to to R32 and R34 to R38 are hydrogen.
For Claim 3: Reads on wherein L3 and L4 are single bonds.
For Claim 4: Reads on wherein R33 is a substituent.
For Claim 5: Reads on a substituted aryl group having 12 carbon ring atoms.
For Claim 12: Reads on wherein L1 and L2 are a single bond.
For Claim 13 Reads on wherein R1 and AR2 are each phenyl.
For Claim 15: Reads on wherein formula 1-b is present, not formula 1-a.
For Claim 18: Reads on wherein R and R1 to R6 are hydrogen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-13, 15, 18, 25, 27-30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al (WO 2018/056645) (Cho).
In reference to claims 1-3, 7, 10, 12-13, 15, 18, 25, 27-30 and 32, Cho teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising two electrodes, an electron transport and an electron buffer layer between one of the two electrodes and the light emitting layer that can comprise a fluorescent dopant wherein the buffer layer comprises a compound of formula (1) that is more specifically selected from a compound of formula 11 as shown below (Cho [12]-[24])
for example, wherein in the formula 11, one of Ar3 is biphenyl and Ar4 is substituted phenyl wherein a substituent is deuterium, n is 3, one of L is naphthalene group, and the others are phenylene groups.
Cho discloses the compound of formula 1 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the formula 11, one of Ar3 is biphenyl and Ar4 is substituted phenyl wherein a substituent is deuterium, n is 3, one of L is naphthalene group, and the others are phenylene groups. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Cho are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 1 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Cho and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: Reads on a compound of formula (1) with a MW of greater than 650, Y2 is N, L1 is phenylene and L2 is a single bond, Ar1 and Ar2 are each an unsubstituted phenyl, R Y1 is CR wherein R is hydrogen, R1 to R6 are each hydrogen, L4 is a phenylene, L3 is phenylene, n is 1, Cz is a group of formula 1-b and each of R31 to R38 are hydrogen.
For Claim 2: Reads on phenylene.
For Claim 3: Reads on phenylene.
For Claim 7: Reads on 1-b-2.
For Claim 10: Reads on wherein L1 is phenylene and L2 is a single bond.
For Claim 12: Reads on phenylene.
For Claim 13: Reads on phenyl.
For Claim 15: Reads on wherein formula 1-b is present, not formula 1-a.
For Claim 18: Reads on wherein R and R1 to R6 are hydrogen.
For Claim 25: Reads on deuterium.
For Claim 27: Reads on a device with the layers claimed.
For Claim 28 to 30: Reads on the claimed device structure wherein the layers is an a layer as claimed.
For Claim 32: Reads on a fluorescent dopant.
In reference to claim 8-9 and 11, Cho teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising two electrodes, an electron transport and an electron buffer layer between one of the two electrodes and the light emitting layer that can comprise a fluorescent dopant wherein the buffer layer comprises a compound of formula (1) that is more specifically selected from a compound of formula 11 as shown below (Cho [12]-[24])
for example, wherein in the formula 11, one of Ar3 is biphenyl and Ar4 is biphenyl, n is 2, one of L is naphthalene group, and the other is phenylene groups.
Cho discloses the compound of formula 1 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the formula 11, one of Ar3 is biphenyl and Ar4 is substituted phenyl wherein a substituent is deuterium, n is 2, one of L is naphthalene group, and the other is phenylene groups. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Cho are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 1 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Cho and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Cho teaches the compounds as described above which are positional isomers of those instantly claimed. Furthermore, it is noted that compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). In light of the case law cited above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the compound disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of the compound presently claimed, and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.”
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786