DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
The Applicant’s amendment and arguments, filed 03/23/2026, has been entered. Claim 1, 3, 6, 8-9, 11, 13, 14, 18, 19, 20, 22-23, 25, 27, 29, 30, 34, 35, 36, 38, 39, and 47-48 are amended; claims 50, 53-54, 56, and 59-62 stand as originally or previously presented; claims 2, 4-5, 7, 10, 12, 15-17, 21, 24, 26, 28, 31-33, 37, 40-46, 49, 51-52, 55, and 57-58 are cancelled. Support for the amendments is found in the original filing, and there is no new matter.
Upon considered said amendments and arguments, the previous 35 U.S.C.103 rejections set forth in Office Action mailed 12/22/2025 has been withdrawn. Amended and new grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing to newly cited art and the originally cited art are set forth below as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, 11, 13, 18-20, 42, 47, 54 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20160336625 A1, hereinafter Jeong, cited in “Notice of References Cited” filed 12/22/2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component comprising an electrode and a solid electrolyte (Jeong, lithium metal battery comprising a lithium metal negative electrode and a solid electrolyte, which may improve the ionic conductivity and mechanical properties of the battery, [0094]), wherein the electrode comprises comprising a metallic film modified by a thin layer (Jeong, a lithium metal negative electrode, and a protective layer is disposed on at least a portion of the negative electrode, Abstract), wherein:
the metallic film comprises lithium or an alloy comprising lithium, the metallic film comprising a first and a second surfaces (Jeong, the negative electrode may include a lithium metal, [0036]);
the thin layer comprises an inorganic compound (Jeong, the protective layer may include at least one selected from an inorganic particle, which may include at least one selected from Al2O3, SiO2, and TiO2, [0066]) in a solvating polymer (Jeong, the protective layer including a first polymer selected from at least one of a poly(vinyl alcohol) (PVA) or PVA blend, [0034]),
the thin layer being disposed on the first surface of the metallic film (Jeong, the protective layer 13 may be disposed on the entire surface of the negative electrode 12, [0142], Figure 1) and having an average thickness of about 10 μm or less (Jeong, the protective layer had a thickness of about 5 μm, [0202]; the disclosed thickness of about 5 μm falls within the claimed range of 10 μm or less),
the inorganic compound being in the form of particles and present in the thin layer at a concentration between about 40 % and about 90 % by weight (Jeong, an amount of the inorganic particles in the protective layer may be in a range of about 50 parts by weight to about 100 parts by weight, based on 100 parts by weight of the first polymer, [0074]; the Examiner notes that the disclosed range of about 50 parts by weight to about 100 parts by weight overlaps the claimed range of about 40 % and about 90 % by weight); and
wherein the solvating polymer is selected poly(vinyl alcohols) (Jeong, the protective layer including a first polymer selected from at least one of a poly(vinyl alcohol) (PVA) and a PVA blend, [0034]),
optionally comprising crosslinked units derived from crosslinkable functions (Jeong, When the protective layer includes the first polymer having a cross-linked structure, a mechanical strength of the protective layer may be further improved, [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 3, Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jeong1 discloses the limitations regarding the electrode-electrolyte component (Jeong, lithium metal battery comprising a lithium metal negative electrode and a solid electrolyte, which may improve the ionic conductivity and mechanical properties of the battery, [0094]), wherein the metallic film (Jeong, the negative electrode may include a lithium metal, [0036]) comprises:
lithium comprising less than 1000 ppm (or less than 0.1 wt.%) of impurities (Jeong, the negative electrode may include a lithium metal, [0036]; while Jeong does not disclose a specific percentage, it is expected that lithium metal would at least overlap the claimed range of 1000 ppm)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 9, Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jeong discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Jeong, lithium metal battery comprising a lithium metal negative electrode and a solid electrolyte, which may improve the ionic conductivity and mechanical properties of the battery, [0094]), wherein the particles of the inorganic compound (Jeong, the protective layer may include at least one selected from an inorganic particle, which may include at least one selected from Al2O3, SiO2, and TiO2, [0066]) have an average particle size less than 1 µm, or 1000 nm (Jeong, the inorganic particles may have an average particle diameter of about 100 nanometers (nm) or less, [0081]; the disclosed particle diameter of smaller than 100 nm falls within the claimed range of less than 1 µm).
Regarding Claim 11, Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jeong discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Jeong, lithium metal battery comprising a lithium metal negative electrode and a solid electrolyte, which may improve the ionic conductivity and mechanical properties of the battery, [0094]), wherein the inorganic compound comprises is selected from Al2O3, SiO2, ZnO, BaTiO3, Fe2O3, and TiO2 (Jeong, the protective layer may include at least one selected from an inorganic particle, which may include at least one selected from Al2O3, SiO2, ZnO, BaTiO3, Fe2O3, and TiO2, and a metal organic framework (MOF), [0066]).
Regarding Claim 13, Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jeong discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Jeong, lithium metal battery comprising a lithium metal negative electrode and a solid electrolyte, which may improve the ionic conductivity and mechanical properties of the battery, [0094]), wherein the inorganic compound particles further comprise organic groups covalently grafted to their surface, said groups being selected from aryl groups (Jeong, the MOF may be a porous crystalline compound in which a Group 2 to Group 15 element ion or a Group 2 to Group 15 element ionic cluster is chemically bonded with an organic ligand, and the chemical bond may be a covalent bond, and the organic ligand may be a group derived from any one of a compounds represented by Figure 4, [0075-0076, 0079]).
Regarding Claim 18, Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jeong discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Jeong, lithium metal battery comprising a lithium metal negative electrode and a solid electrolyte, which may improve the ionic conductivity and mechanical properties of the battery, [0094]), wherein the average thickness of the thin layer is between about 0.5 μm and about 10 μm (Jeong, the protective layer had a thickness of about 5 μm, [0202]; the disclosed thickness of about 5 μm falls within the claimed range of 10 μm or less).
Regarding Claim 19, Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jeong discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Jeong, lithium metal battery comprising a lithium metal negative electrode and a solid electrolyte, which may improve the ionic conductivity and mechanical properties of the battery, [0094]), wherein the solvating polymer is selected from linear or branched polyether polymers (Jeong, the protective layer may include at least one selected from an oligomer, wherein the oligomer may be poly(ethylene glycol) dimethyl ether, [0066, 0089])
Regarding Claim 20, Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jeong discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Jeong, lithium metal battery comprising a lithium metal negative electrode and a solid electrolyte, which may improve the ionic conductivity and mechanical properties of the battery, [0094]), wherein the thin layer further comprises a lithium salt (Jeong, The protective layer disposed on the negative electrode for the lithium metal battery may further include a lithium salt, [0058]),
the lithium salt being selected from lithiumhexafluorophosphate (LiPF6), lithium lithium tetrafluoroborate (LiBF4), lithium perchlorate (LiClO4), lithium hexafluoroarsenate (LiAsF6), lithium trifluoromethanesulfonate (LiSO3CF3) (LiTf), lithium fluoroalkylphosphate Li[PF3(CF2CF3)3] (LiFAP), and a combination thereof. (Jeong, Examples of the lithium salt include at least one selected from LiPF6, LiClO4, LiBF4, LiAsF6, LiCF3SO3, and LiPF3(CF2CF3)3, [0059]).
Regarding Claim 42, Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jeong discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Jeong, lithium metal battery comprising a lithium metal negative electrode and a solid electrolyte, which may improve the ionic conductivity and mechanical properties of the battery, [0094]).
Regarding Claim 47, Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jeong discloses the limitations regarding an electrochemical cell (Jeong, lithium metal battery, [0140]) comprising a negative electrode (Jeong, negative electrode, [0140]), a positive electrode (Jeong1, positive electrode, [0140]), and a solid electrolyte (Jeong, the lithium metal battery may further include at least one selected from a solid electrolyte, [0093]).
Regarding Claim 54, Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jeong discloses the limitations regarding an electrochemical accumulator comprising at least one electrochemical cell, the electrochemical accumulator being a lithium battery or a lithium-ion battery (Jeong, lithium metal battery, [0140]).
Regarding Claim 56, Jeong1 discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.Jeong1 discloses the limitations regarding use of an electrochemical accumulator (Jeong, lithium metal battery, [0140]) in a portable device, in an electric or hybrid vehicle, or in renewable energy storage (Jeong, The lithium metal battery has excellent characteristics in terms of a voltage, a capacity, and an energy density, and thus may be applicable in various devices, such as a storage battery for a power plant (for example, wind or solar power) or an electric vehicle, [0138]).
Claim(s) 6 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20160336625 A1, hereinafter Jeong, cited in “Notice of References Cited” filed 12/22/2025), as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of Liao et al. (US 20180351158 A1, hereinafter Liao).
Regarding Claim 6, Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jeong discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Jeong, lithium metal battery comprising a lithium metal negative electrode and a solid electrolyte, which may improve the ionic conductivity and mechanical properties of the battery, [0094]). Jeong is silent regarding the metallic film further comprises a passivation layer on the first surface, the first surface being in contact with the thin layer, the passivation layer comprising a compound selected from a silane, a phosphonate, a borate or an inorganic compound.
Liao discloses an electrode-electrolyte component (Liao, anode where Li was positioned on a 200 nm-thick Cu current collector, and the electrolyte includes solid polymer electrolytes, [0193, 0254]) wherein the metallic film further comprises a passivation layer on the first surface, the first surface being in contact with the thin layer (Liao, a passivating layer disposed on an anode such as lithium metal. [0186]), the passivation layer comprising a compound selected from a silane, a phosphonate, a borate or an inorganic (Hwang, a second passivating agent may be present on the surface of the first passivating layer, and the second passivating agent may comprise a silane which is covalently bonded to the first passivating layer, [0084]).
Hwang teaches that the first passivating layer may prevent reaction of second electrode and/or electrolyte species with the first electrode (e.g., with an electroactive material of the first electrode), which may increase cycle lifetimes, provide improved lithium morphologies, and/or increase the compaction of lithium during charge and discharge of an electrochemical cell (Liao, [0046]).
Jeong and Liao are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards an additional layer on a negative electrode comprising a lithium metal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the first passivation layer of Liao on the surface of the lithium metal anode of Jeong, in order to increase cycle lifetimes, provide improved lithium morphologies, and/or increase the compaction of lithium during charge and discharge of an electrochemical cell.
Regarding Claim 22, modified Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Jeong discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Jeong, lithium metal battery comprising a lithium metal negative electrode and a solid electrolyte, which may improve the ionic conductivity and mechanical properties of the battery, [0094]), further comprising a current collector in contact with the second surface of the electrode material film (Liao, anode where Li was positioned on a 200 nm-thick Cu current collector, [0254]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20160336625 A1, hereinafter Jeong, cited in “Notice of References Cited” filed 12/22/2025), as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of Noda et al. (JPH08222214A, hereinafter Noda).
Regarding Claim 8, Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jeong discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Jeong, lithium metal battery comprising a lithium metal negative electrode and a solid electrolyte, which may improve the ionic conductivity and mechanical properties of the battery, [0094]). Jeong is silent regarding the first surface of the metallic film is modified by stamping beforehand.
Noda discloses an electrode (Noda, lithium electrode, [0018]), wherein the first surface of the metallic film is modified by stamping beforehand (Noda, the means for providing unevenness (e.g. use of a stamp provided with minute recesses) before disposing the negative electrode active material on the current collector surface, [0018]).
Noda teaches that the irregularities from stamping allows for the electrode active area to increase, so ion migration from the electrolytic solution or an organic polymer solid electrolyte can be increased (Noda, [0010]).
Jeong and Noda are analogous to the current invention as they are directed towards an electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to stamp the negative electrode active material of Jeong1, as taught by Noda, in order to form irregularities on the active area to increase electrode active area and ion migration from the electrolyte can increase.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20160336625 A1, hereinafter Jeong, cited in “Notice of References Cited” filed 12/22/2025), as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of Xiao et al. (US 20210159493 A1, hereinafter Xiao).
Regarding Claim 14, Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jeong discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Jeong, lithium metal battery comprising a lithium metal negative electrode and a solid electrolyte, which may improve the ionic conductivity and mechanical properties of the battery, [0094]). Jeong discloses that the inorganic compound is present in the thin layer at a concentration between about 40 wt.% and 65 wt (Jeong, an amount of the inorganic particles in the protective layer may be in a range of about 50 parts by weight to about 100 parts by weight, based on 100 parts by weight of the first polymer, [0074]; the Examiner notes that the disclosed range of about 50 parts by weight to about 100 parts by weight overlaps the claimed range of about 45% and about 65% by weight).
Jeong is silent regarding the particles of the inorganic compound have a specific surface area of 80 m2/g and above.
Xiao discloses an electrode-electrolyte component (Xiao, a solid electrolyte disposed between the anode and the cathode, [0021]), wherein the particles of the inorganic compound have a specific surface area of 80 m2/g and above (Xiao, the mesoporous film is prepared from ceramic oxide particles having a surface area of greater than or equal to about 80 m2/g and less than or equal to about 500 m2/g, [0071]; the disclosed range of greater than or equal to about 80 m2/g and less than or equal to about 500 m2/g falls within the claimed range of 80 m2/g and above).
Xiao teaches that the mesoporous film coats the surface of a high particle surface area can facilitate ion diffusion and charge transfer at the electrode (Xiao, [0053]).
Jeong and Xiao are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a metal electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to routinely design the protective layer of Jeong so that the inorganic particles have a particle surface area of greater than or equal to about 80 m2/g and less than or equal to about 500 m2/g, as taught by Xiao, in order to facilitate ion diffusion and charge transfer at the electrode.
Claim(s) 50 and 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20160336625 A1, hereinafter Jeong, cited in “Notice of References Cited” filed 12/22/2025), as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of Kim et al. (US 20190386340 A1, hereinafter Kim ‘340).
Regarding Claims 50 and 53, Jeong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jeong discloses the limitations regarding an electrochemical cell (Jeong, lithium metal battery, [0140]) and the solid electrolyte (Jeong, the lithium metal battery may further include at least one selected from a solid electrolyte, [0093]).
Jeong is silent regarding the solid electrolyte comprises at least one solvating polymer and a lithium salt (Claim 50), and the solid electrolyte further comprises a ceramic (Claim 53).
Kim ‘340 discloses an electrochemical cell (Kim ‘340, battery, Abstract), wherein the solid electrolyte (Kim ‘340, solid polymer electrolyte, [0018]) comprises at least one solvating polymer (Kim ‘340, poly(ethylene oxide) (PEO)-based polymer, [0017]) and a lithium salt (Kim ‘340, the lithium salt is at least one selected from LiPF6, [0071]) (Claim 50). Kim ‘340 further discloses that the solid electrolyte further comprises a ceramic (Claim 53) (Kim ‘340, most ideal form is an all-solid state form that uses inorganic solid in the electrolyte, [0067]).
Kim ‘340 teaches that the polymer solid electrolyte has excellent ion conductivity even at room temperature and has improved discharge capacity, charging/discharging speed, and energy density, while also improving stability of the battery (Kim ‘340, [0010, 0019, 0067]). Kim further teaches that inorganic solids can provide a battery with excellent stability and reliability as well as safety (Kim, [0067]).
Jeong and Kim’ 340 is analogous to the current invention as they are directed towards a battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a solid electrolyte of Kim ‘340 comprising of a (PEO)-based polymer, lithium salt (Claim 59) and an inorganic solid (Claim 60) in the battery of Jeong1, in order to have an electrolyte that has excellent ion conductivity even at room temperature and has improved discharge capacity, charging/discharging speed, and energy density, while having excellent stability and safety.
Claim(s) 23, 25, 27, 29-30, 34, 36, 38-39, 48, 58, and 61-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20170331092 A1, hereinafter Chen), in view of Takami et al. (US 20190088926 A1).
Regarding Claim 23, Chen discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component comprising an electrode and a solid electrolyte (Chen, positive electrode and an oxide electrolyte membrane, Abstract) wherein the electrode comprises an electrode material film modified by a thin layer (Chen, a bonding agent layer advantageously lowers the interfacial impedance of the oxide electrolyte at least at the positive electrode interface and also optionally acts as an adhesive between the solid electrolyte separator and the positive electrode interface, Abstract), wherein:
the electrode material film comprises an electrochemically active material (Chen, positive electrode may be a Li-nickel-manganese-oxide, [0038]), optionally a binder (Chen, the positive electrode further includes a binder polymer, [0153]), and optionally an electronically conductive material (Chen, the positive electrode includes an electronically conductive source of carbon, [0154])
the electrode material film comprising a first and a second surface (Chen, the bonding agent layer directly contacts and is positioned between the electrolyte and the positive electrode; and the positive electrode directly contacts and is positioned between the bonding agent layer and the positive electrode current collector, [0033]);
and the thin layer comprises an inorganic compound (Chen, the gel may further include structural reinforcements, such as particles of a higher modulus material, wherein the higher modulus material may be a ceramic such as Al2O3, MgO, or SiO2, [0128]) in a solvating polymer, (Chen, a bonding layer may be a gel electrolyte comprising a lithium salt, a polymer, and a solvent, [0007]),
the thin layer being disposed on the first surface of the electrode material film (Chen, the bonding agent layer directly contacts and is positioned between the electrolyte and the positive electrode, [0033]) and
having an average thickness of about 10 μm or less (Chen, the gel coating bonding layer has a thickness of less than 10 μm, Figure 12, [0026]; the disclosed range of less than 10 μm falls within the claimed thickness of about 10 μm or less),
wherein the solvating polymer is selected from linear or branched polyether polymers (Chen, the polymer is selected from the group consisting of polyethylene oxide (PEO), [0034]).
Chen is silent regarding the inorganic compound being present in the thin layer at a concentration between about 40 % and about 90 % by weight.
Takami discloses an electrode-electrolyte component comprising an electrode and a solid electrolyte (Takami, positive electrode and an oxide solid electrolyte, [0005]), wherein the inorganic compound being present in the thin layer (Takami, the lithium ion conductive layer covers at least part of the positive electrode active material-containing layer, and even if the thickness of the lithium ion conductive layer is 10 μm or less, the strength is high, and it is possible to largely reduce an internal short circuit and self-discharge while decreasing the internal resistance of the battery, Abstract, [0044]) at a concentration between about 40 % and about 90 % by weight (Takami, the content of the lithium-containing inorganic particles in the lithium ion conductive layer can be set within the range of 80 wt % to 98 wt %, [0040]).
Takami teaches that by setting the content to 80 wt % or more, it is possible to avoid self-discharge along with an internal short circuit caused by a decrease in strength of the lithium ion conductive layer. By setting the content to 98 wt % or less, it is possible to prevent the ionic conductivity of the lithium ion conductive layer from abruptly decreasing (Takami, [0040]).
Chen and Takami are analogous to the current invention as they are directed towards a positive electrode and solid electrolyte.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to routinely design the bonding layer of Chen so that the content of the inorganic particles are set within the range of 80 wt % to 98 wt %, as taught by Takami, in order to avoid self-discharge along with an internal short circuit caused by a decrease in strength of the lithium ion conductive layer and prevent ionic conductivity from abruptly decreasing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 25, modified Chen discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Chen, positive electrode and an oxide electrolyte membrane, Abstract), wherein the particles of the inorganic compound (Jeong1, the reinforcement material is selected from ceramic particles, [0029]) have an average particle size less than 1 µm, or 1000 nm (Jeong1, the reinforcement material may have a dimension smaller than 100 nm, [0029]; the disclosed particle diameter of smaller than 100 nm falls within the claimed range of less than 1 µm).
Regarding Claim 27, modified Chen discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Chen, positive electrode and an oxide electrolyte membrane, Abstract), wherein the inorganic compound comprises a ceramic (Chen, the gel may further include structural reinforcements, such as particles of a higher modulus material, wherein the higher modulus material may be a ceramic such as Al2O3, MgO, or SiO2, [0128]).
Regarding Claim 29, modified Chen discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Chen, positive electrode and an oxide electrolyte membrane, Abstract), wherein the inorganic compound particles further comprise organic groups covalently grafted to their surface, for example, said groups being selected from polyalkylene oxide groups (Chen, the gel is a composite electrolyte which includes a polymer and a ceramic composite with the polymer phase having a finite lithium conductivity, such as polyethyleneoxide (PEO) coformulated with LiCF3SO3 and Li3N, [0222]).
Regarding Claim 30, modified Chen discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Chen, positive electrode and an oxide electrolyte membrane, Abstract), wherein the particles of the inorganic compound have a specific surface area of less than 80 m2/g, or less than 40 m2/g (Takami, the specific surface area of the lithium-containing inorganic particles desirably ranges from 5 m2/g to 500 m2/g, [0030]; the disclosed range of 5 m2/g to 500 m2/g overlaps the claimed range of less than 80 m2/g, or less than 40 m2/g),
the inorganic compound being present in the thin layer at a concentration between about 65 wt.% and about 90 wt.% (Takami, the content of the lithium-containing inorganic particles in the lithium ion conductive layer can be set within the range of 80 wt % to 98 wt %, [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 34, modified Chen discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Chen, positive electrode and an oxide electrolyte membrane, Abstract), wherein the average thickness of the thin layer is between about 0.5 μm and about 10 μm (Chen, the gel coating bonding layer has a thickness of less than 10 μm, Figure 12, [0026]; the disclosed range of less than 10 μm overlaps the claimed thickness of between about 0.5 μm and about 10 μm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 35, modified Chen discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Chen, positive electrode and an oxide electrolyte membrane, Abstract), wherein the solvating polymer is selected from linear or branched polyether polymers (Chen, the polymer is selected from the group consisting of polyethylene oxide (PEO), [0034]).
Regarding Claim 36, modified Chen discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Chen, positive electrode and an oxide electrolyte membrane, Abstract), wherein the thin layer further comprises a lithium salt (Chen, the gel electrolyte includes a lithium salt, [0086]),
the lithium salt being selected from lithiumhexafluorophosphate (LiPF6) (Chen, the lithium salt in the gel electrolyte is LiPF6, [0087]).
Regarding Claim 38, modified Chen discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Chen, positive electrode and an oxide electrolyte membrane, Abstract), further comprising a current collector in contact with the second surface of the electrode material film (Chen, the bonding agent layer directly contacts and is positioned between the electrolyte and the positive electrode; and the positive electrode directly contacts and is positioned between the bonding agent layer and the positive electrode current collector, [0033]).
Regarding Claim 39, modified Chen discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the limitations regarding an electrode-electrolyte component (Chen, positive electrode and an oxide electrolyte membrane, Abstract), wherein the electrochemically active material is selected from lithiated metal oxides (Chen, positive electrode may be a Li-nickel-manganese-oxide, [0038]).
Regarding Claim 48, modified Chen discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the limitations regarding an electrochemical cell (Chen, an electrochemical stack, [0038]) comprising a negative electrode (Chen, negative electrode, [0038]), a positive electrode (Chen, positive electrode, [0038]), and a solid electrolyte (Chen, solid electrolyte, [0038]).
Regarding Claim 61, modified Chen discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the limitations regarding an electrochemical accumulator comprising at least one electrochemical cell, the electrochemical accumulator being a lithium battery or a lithium-ion battery (Chen, Li-secondary battery, [0046]).
Regarding Claim 62, modified Chen discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the limitations regarding use of an electrochemical accumulator (Chen, Li-secondary battery, [0046]) in a portable device, in an electric or hybrid vehicle, (Chen, a battery for a vehicle such as a two- or four-wheeled hybrid electronic automobile, [0191]).
Claim(s) 59-60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20170331092 A1, hereinafter Chen), in view of Takami et al. (US 20190088926 A1), as applied to Claim 23 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20190386340 A1, hereinafter Kim ‘340).
Regarding Claims 59-60, modified Chen discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the limitations regarding an electrochemical cell (Chen, an electrochemical stack, [0038]) and the solid electrolyte (Chen, solid electrolyte, [0038]).
Modified Chen is silent regarding the solid electrolyte comprises at least one solvating polymer and a lithium salt (Claim 59), and the solid electrolyte further comprises a ceramic (Claim 60).
Kim ‘340 discloses an electrochemical cell (Kim ‘340, battery, Abstract), wherein the solid electrolyte (Kim ‘340, solid polymer electrolyte, [0018]) comprises at least one solvating polymer (Kim ‘340, poly(ethylene oxide) (PEO)-based polymer, [0017]) and a lithium salt (Kim ‘340, the lithium salt is at least one selected from LiPF6, [0071]) (Claim 59). Kim ‘340 further discloses that the solid electrolyte further comprises a ceramic (Claim 60) (Kim ‘340, most ideal form is an all-solid state form that uses inorganic solid in the electrolyte, [0067]).
Kim ‘340 teaches that the polymer solid electrolyte has excellent ion conductivity even at room temperature and has improved discharge capacity, charging/discharging speed, and energy density, while also improving stability of the battery (Kim ‘340, [0010, 0019, 0067]). Kim further teaches that inorganic solids can provide a battery with excellent stability and reliability as well as safety (Kim, [0067]).
Modified Chen and Kim’ 340 is analogous to the current invention as they are directed towards a battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a solid electrolyte of Kim ‘340 comprising of a (PEO)-based polymer, lithium salt (Claim 59) and an inorganic solid (Claim 60) in the battery of modified Chen, in order to have an electrolyte that has excellent ion conductivity even at room temperature and has improved discharge capacity, charging/discharging speed, and energy density, while having excellent stability and safety.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, Pages 12-18, filed 03/23/2026, with respect to Claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 13-14, 18, 20, 22, 47, and 56 and Claims 23, 25, 27, 29, 30, 34, 36, 38, 39, 48, 58, 61, and 62 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of Claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 13-14, 18, 20, 22, 47, and 56 and Claims 23, 25, 27, 29, 30, 34, 36, 38, 39, 48, 58, 61, and 62 has been withdrawn. However, amended and new grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing to Jeong et al. (US 20160336625 A1, hereinafter Jeong, cited in “Notice of References Cited” filed 12/22/2025) and Chen et al. (US 20170331092 A1, hereinafter Chen), in view of Takami et al. (US 20190088926 A1) are set forth above.
The Examiner notes the Applicant may show criticality of the claimed range of the weight percentage of the inorganic particles by demonstrating unexpected and significant results from having a weight percentage within the claimed range.
Conclusion
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752