DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui et al. (“Fabricating covalently attached hyperbranched polymers by combining photochemistry with supramolecular polymerization” Polym. Chem., 2014, 5, 1471-1476).
Regarding claims 1, 3-4, and 8-11; Hui et al. teaches a three-armed photosensitive monomer TAZB having the structure below.
Hui et al. does not explicitly teach a plurality of organic ions and counterions. However, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions (in this case compounds) each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose; the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), see MPEP §2144.06.
The Examiner makes note that “wherein the organic ion has self-complementary interactions with a first neighboring organic ion and a second neighboring organic anion that allows for the first polymerizable arm within the ordered arrangement to be positioned to react with a polymerizable arm of the first neighboring organic ion and for the second polymerizable arm with the ordered arrangement to be positioned to react with a polymerizable arm of the second neighboring organic ion” is merely future intended use (i.e. “to be positioned” is a step reciting future intended use). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim; see MPEP §2111.02, 7.37.09. Furthermore, it is the Examiner’s position that the polymerizable arms of Hui et al. would necessarily possess the capability of interacting with said neighboring ions.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lange et al. (“A Two-Dimensional Polymer Synthesized through Topochemical [2+2]-Cycloaddition on the Multigram Scale” J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2017, 139, 2053-2059), as cited on the IDS.
Regarding claim 23; Lange et al. teaches a compound having the following structure, that is an organic ion having a molecular hub, polymerizable arms, and a counter ion (BF4-) [Figure 1].
Lange et al. does not explicitly teach a plurality of organic ions and counterions. However, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions (in this case compounds) each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose; the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), see MPEP §2144.06.
The Examiner makes note that “wherein the organic ion has self-complementary interactions with a first neighboring organic ion and a second neighboring organic anion that allows for the first polymerizable arm within the ordered arrangement to be positioned to react with a polymerizable arm of the first neighboring organic ion and for the second polymerizable arm with the ordered arrangement to be positioned to react with a polymerizable arm of the second neighboring organic ion” is merely future intended use (i.e. “to be positioned” is a step reciting future intended use). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim; see MPEP §2111.02, 7.37.09. Furthermore, it is the Examiner’s position that the polymerizable arms of Lange et al. would necessarily possess the capability of interacting with said neighboring ions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Hui et al. fails to teach the required structural compound of the organic ion, as set forth in claims 5 nor 7. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art, would have no motivation to modify the structures of the prior art, to achieve the required structure of claims 5 nor 7.
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767