DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed October 29th 2025 does not place the application in condition for allowance. Claims 1-13 remain pending in the application. The 112(b) rejections in the Office Action dated September 5th 2025 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment, however new 112(a) and 112(b) rejections are made in view of Applicant’s amendments to Claim 1. The arguments to the 103 rejections of the claims are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the battery module comprises multiple heat pipes”, and then recites “wherein each heat pipe comprises a first heat pipe section…and a second heat pipe section”. Claim 1 then later recites “a first heat pipe has its first heat pipe section…and its second heat pipe section” and “a second heat pipe has its first heat pipe section…and its second heat pipe section”. It is unclear whether the later mentioned first heat pipe and second heat pipe are included in the multiple heat pipes previously recited, or if Applicant is referring to a separate first heat pipe and a separate second heat pipe from the multiple heat pipes. Additionally, it is unclear whether the later mentioned “first heat pipe section” and “second heat pipe section”, mentioned with regards to the later mentioned “a first heat pipe” and “a second heat pipe”, are included in the previously mentioned a first heat pipe section and a second heat pipe section mentioned with regards to the each of the multiple heat pipes. Thus, Claim 1 is indefinite. Appropriate correction is required. Examiner notes, for the purposes of examination, that Claim 1 was best understood to essentially mean that there are multiple heat pipes, and of the multiple heat pipes, there are first heat pipes and second heat pipes located on opposite sides of the battery cell groups, each of the multiple first and second heat pipes having a first and second heat pipe section, whereby the first heat pipe sections of each of the first and second heat pipes are electrically connected to positive poles, and the second heat pipe sections of each of the first and second heat pipes are electrically connected to negative poles.
Claims 2-13, as they depend from Claim 1, are thus also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US 2020/0220240 A1, and further in view of Obasih et al. US 9,450,275 B2 and Kobune et al. US 2015/0349389 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Cheng discloses a vehicle energy storage module [0016] comprising:
an outer casing (enclosure 20 Figure 1a)
and a battery module housed inside the casing (battery module 11 Figure 1a) [0080].
Cheng discloses a battery module (Figure 1a Item 11) housed inside the casing (Figure 1a Item 20) wherein the battery module includes a plurality of battery cell groups (parallel sets 18 Figure 3d) where each battery cell group includes at least two battery cells (battery cells 111 Figure 3d) that are electrically interconnected to each other and arranged side-by-side (Figure 3d shows a plurality of battery cells 111 in parallel sets 18 arranged side-by side [0016], [0080]; [Claim 161 - an enclosure with a battery module comprising one or more secondary battery cells electrically connected to each other in series]). Cheng discloses that each battery cell (Item 111) of the battery cell groups (parallel sets 18) comprises a positive pole and a negative pole [0062, 0125].
Cheng discloses that the battery module comprises multiple heat pipes (thermal management design comprising heat exchange pipes 131 connected to metal structure element 80) [0054] further illustrated in Figure 3d above. Cheng discloses that each heat pipe comprises a first heat pipe section extending along a first axis and a second heat pipe section extending along a second axis, said first and second axes being parallel, connected by intermediate sections at their respective ends (See Cheng Annotated Figure 3e and Cheng Annotated Figure 3f, below).
Annotated Cheng Figure 3e
Annotated Cheng Figure 3f
Cheng further illustrated in Figure 3f that the first heat pipe section is defined by a first heat pipe section outer surface and that the second heat pipe section is defined by a second heat pipe section outer surface, as best understood by the Examiner. Cheng illustrates that the first heat pipe section outer surface and the second heat pipe section outer surface are separated by a gap that is free from the heat pipe between the intermediate sections along the first and second axes, as best understood by the Examiner, as shown in Annotated Figure 3f below.
Annotated Cheng Figure 3f
In Figure 3f, Cheng discloses a first heat pipe comprising a first heat pipe section electrically connected to the positive poles of a first battery cell group and a second heat pipe section electrically connected to the negative poles of an adjacent battery cell group (the heat exchange pipes are directly connected, contacted, or engaged with positive and/or negative terminals of the battery cells [0021]), see Annotated Cheng Figure 3f below. Cheng discloses that the positive poles of parallel battery cells are connected to at least one heat pipe, and the negative poles of parallel battery cells are connected to another heat pipe [0052]. Cheng further discloses that the metal structural element (Figure 3f Item 80) is connected to the poles of the battery cells such that a charge/discharge circuit is formed through the battery cells and the heat pipes (the metal structural elements and the heat exchange pipes) [0114], thus making them electrically interconnected. Cheng discloses in one embodiment that the heat pipes (the metal structural elements and the heat exchange pipes) can be connected to both electrode terminals of batteries within a parallel set [0115], see Cheng Annotated Figure 3f below, thus Cheng discloses that a first heat pipe has a first heat pipe section electrically connected to the positive pole of a first battery cell group and a second heat pipe section electrically connected to the negative pole of an adjacent second battery cell group, and a second heat pipe has a first heat pipe section electrically connected to the positive pole of the second battery cell group and a second heat pipe section electrically connected to the negative pole of an adjacent third battery cell group. Cheng discloses that the first and second heat pipes are arranged in contact positive and negative poles of adjacent battery cell groups on opposite sides of the battery module (See Annotated Cheng Figure 3f, below) [0115].
Annotated Cheng Figure 3f
Cheng discloses that the battery cell groups (parallel sets) are connected to each other in series [0125].
Cheng discloses that the intermediate sections of each heat pipe are thermally coupled to the side wall of the casing (the ends of the heat exchange pipes 131 are located in the side of the middle layer 161 Figure 3g(4) [0118]). The phrase “thermally coupled”, given its broadest reasonable interpretation, is defined as being in close enough contact to exchange heat, such as a battery module enclosure wherein all components are packaged together would have components that are thermally coupled. Cheng discloses that the middle layer (Item 161 Figure 3g(4)) is heat conductive [0105] such that the temperature control of the battery cells is more uniform through passive means [0103], and is thus both thermally coupled with the heat pipes and as well as the casing (enclosure). Thus Cheng discloses that the intermediate sections of each heat pipe are thermally coupled to the side wall of the casing.
However, Cheng fails to disclose a passive heat sink encased in the side wall of the casing.
Obasih discloses a battery module with thermal management via heat sinks integrated into the side walls of the casing [Column 5 Lines 11-19].
Obasih discloses that a battery module with this configuration enables sufficient thermal management and permeability [Column 5 Lines 19-21] and lower production cost by reducing the number of parts and the amount of manufacturing time [Column 4 Lines 34-45].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the side walls of Cheng by encasing heat sinks within them as suggested by Obasih to achieve a battery module with intermediate sections of each heat pipe thermally coupled to passive heat sinks encased in the side walls of the outer casing that has sufficient thermal management and permeability while lowering production cost.
Cheng fails to specifically disclose that the outer casing comprises parallel upper and lower walls, two parallel first and second side walls, and opposing first and second ends such that the casing is open at the first and second ends such that the side walls and the upper and lower walls form a conduit for cooling fluid.
Kobune discloses a battery module comprising an outer casing (holding case 111 Figure 4) that houses the battery module comprising cells and has a rectangular box shape with parallel upper and lower walls (upper surface portion 112 and lower surface portion 113 [0041]), parallel first and second side walls (pair of longitudinal wall surface portions 114 [0041]), and opposing first and second ends (pair of end surface portions 115 opposing each other [0041]). See Kobune Annotated Figure 4 below. Kobune discloses that opening portions 116 & 118 provide a refrigerant inlet and outlet for introducing cooling air into the holding case 111 and a cooling passageway is formed in the holding case such that cooling air enters the case through the inlet, circulates through the case in the longitudinal direction, then exits the case through the outlet [0042].
Annotated Figure 4
Kobune discloses that a battery module comprising an outer casing with this configuration provides a battery that prevents deterioration in heat transfer efficiency and having a high assembly work efficiency [0005], as well as allows for cooling of the battery cells [0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the enclosure of Cheng with the configuration of the outer casing of Kobune, comprising parallel upper and lower walls, two parallel first and second side walls, and opposing first and second ends wherein the casing is open at the first and second ends such that the side walls and the upper and lower walls form a conduit for cooling fluid, to achieve a battery for a vehicle with prevented heat transfer efficiency deterioration, high assembly work efficiency, and better cooling. Thus modified Cheng discloses that the casing is open at the first and second ends and the first and second side walls and upper and lower walls form a conduit for a cooling fluid.
Regarding Claim 2, Kobune discloses that the casing is provided with end closures at the first and second ends (pair of end surface portions 115 Figure 4 [0041]) wherein the end closures are provided with couplings connected to a source of cooling fluid ([0043] - pair of openings 116, 118 in end closures 115 are coupled to refrigerant inlet 22 and outlet 32). Thus, modified Cheng, with the modification of Kobune, discloses that the casing comprises end closures at the first and second ends with couplings connected to a source of cooling fluid.
Regarding Claim 3, Cheng discloses that the heat pipes have a rectangular shape (see Cheng Annotated Figure 3d, below).
Annotated Figure 3d
Regarding Claim 4, Cheng discloses, as shown in Figure 3e, that the first and second parallel sections and the intermediate sections of the heat pipe form one heat pipe (See Cheng Annotated Figure 3e, below).
Annotated Figure 3e
Regarding Claim 5, as best understood by the examiner, Cheng discloses that the heat pipes (heat exchange pipes and metal structural elements) are comprised of high thermal conductive metallic material [0069], and as shown above in Figure 3e, the first heat pipe section, second heat pipe section, and intermediate sections form one heat pipe, thus Cheng discloses that the first and second heat pipe sections are connected to intermediate section comprising a conductive material.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Cheng discloses, with the modification of Obasih, that the intermediate sections of the heat pipes are connected to the heat sinks, as mentioned with regards to Claim 1. Obasih discloses that the heat sink is encased in opposite sides of the casing ([Column 3 Lines 1-3] heat sink contained in all sides of the housing), see Obasih Annotated Figure 14 below. Thus, modified Cheng discloses that the heat sinks are thermally connected to the intermediate sections at opposite ends of each heat pipe.
Annotated Figure 14
Regarding Claim 9, Obasih discloses that the heat sink is a metal plate [Column 9 Lines5-6]. Thus, modified Cheng discloses that the heat sink is a metal plate.
Regarding Claim 10, Cheng discloses that the outer casing (enclosure 20) comprises heat conductive materials [0043] such as metal alloys and composites [0042], and electrically isolating materials such as polyurethane material [0045], which is an electrically insulative substance. Thus Cheng discloses that the outer casing consists of materials that are electrically isolating and heat conductive.
Regarding Claim 11, Cheng discloses that the outer casing (enclosure) consists of polyurethane material [0045], which is a known potting compound. Thus, Cheng discloses that the outer casing consists of a potting compound.
Regarding Claims 12-13, Cheng discloses the vehicle energy storage module of Claim 1 that can be used in an electrical vehicle [0016] and comprises a battery pack [0007]. Cheng fails to disclose the use of multiple vehicle energy storage modules contained within the battery pack.
Kobune discloses the use of multiple vehicle energy storage modules contained in a battery pack (Figure 2 - battery unit 3 comprising multiple battery modules shown as battery blocks 41, 42, 43, each in outer casings) [0034-0036].
Kobune discloses that a battery device of this configuration provides a battery with high assembly work efficiency [0005].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to adopt multiple vehicle energy storage modules in the battery pack of Cheng for the advantages of providing a battery pack for a vehicle with improved assembly work efficiency. Thus, modified Cheng discloses a battery pack comprising multiple vehicle energy storage modules of Claim 1.
Claims 6 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, Kobune, and Obasih as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Yasui et al US 2012/0021260 A1.
Regarding Claim 6, as best understood by the examiner, Cheng, Kobune, and Obasih are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. However, modified Cheng fails to disclose that the heat pipes are encased within the upper and lower walls of the casing.
Yasui discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of cells housed in an outer casing (battery assembly set placed in a side surface case member with side walls [0073], an upper surface [0074], and lower cover [0080]). Yasui discloses a heat pipe encased in the bottom surface (Figure 22 shows a heat pipe 180 embedded in a plate facing the bottom of the battery cells [0122]), thus forming an integral part of the casing. Yasui further discloses a passage in the upper wall (an exhaust passage formed between the battery cells and the lid wherein high temperature gas is released through the passage and away from the cells [0086-0089]), thus Yasui discloses a heat pipe encased in the upper wall (see Yasui Annotated Figure 21 below).
Annotated Figure 21
Yasui discloses that a battery with this configuration allows for heat to transfer quickly from the battery cells through the heat pipes and away from the module [0123].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to adopt the configuration of Yasui with heat pipes embedded in the upper and lower walls of the casing in the energy storage module of Cheng to achieve a battery with fast heat transfer.
Regarding Claim 7, as best understood by the examiner, Cheng, Kobune, and Obasih are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. As mentioned above with regards to Claim 6, modified Cheng with the modification of Yasui discloses heat pipes encased in the upper and lower walls of the casing.
However, modified Cheng fails to disclose that the opposing end portions of the battery cells are encased within the upper and lower walls of the casing.
Yasui discloses an upper wall of an outer casing wherein the ends of the battery cells are accommodated (see Yasui Annotated Figure 6 below) [0086-0088].
Annotated Figure 6
Yasui further discloses that battery cells are accommodated into recessed portions of the casing [0073] such that the battery cells are in contact with the bottom portions of the recessed portions [0083]. Thus, Yasui discloses that opposing end portions of battery cells are encased in the upper and lower walls of a casing.
Yasui discloses that this configuration prevents short circuiting due [0083] and allows for gas release [0087].
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to adopt Yasui’s configuration of opposing ends of the battery cells encased in the upper and lower walls of the casing in the battery module of Cheng to prevent short circuiting and allow for gas release.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Cheng fails to disclose the multiple heat pipes with the features of amended claim 1. Examiner respectfully points out that as stated in the rejection above, Cheng does disclose the multiple heat pipes with the features of amended Claim 1. More specifically, Cheng discloses that each of the multiple heat pipes has a first heat pipe section extending along a first axis and a second heat pipe section extending along a second axis, said first and second axes being parallel, connected by intermediate sections at their respective ends (See Cheng Annotated Figure 3e and Cheng Annotated Figure 3f, above), Cheng also discloses that the first heat pipe section is defined by a first heat pipe section outer surface and that the second heat pipe section is defined by a second heat pipe section outer surface, as best understood by the Examiner. Cheng illustrates that the first heat pipe section outer surface and the second heat pipe section outer surface are separated by a gap that is free from the heat pipe between the intermediate sections along the first and second axes, as best understood by the Examiner, as shown in Annotated Figure 3f above. Accordingly, for the reasons stated above, this argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
/A.E.G./
Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726