DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 3-6 are amended. Claims 7-16 are cancelled. Claims 1-6 are presently examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bilat (US 11,185,112).
Regarding claim 1, Bilat discloses an aerosol generating device, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a control unit, having an interface that receives a consumable, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a cartridge. The consumable comprises one or more conductive portions which identify the consumable by being selectively coupleable with one or more conductive portions of the interface. Electrical circuitry is configured to identify the consumable based on completion of one or more circuits defined by the one or more pairs of conductors and the one or more conductive portions being connected (abstract). Each pair of conductors is considered to meet the claim limitation of a plurality. Information about which pairs of conductors have their lines connected together is used as values for the properties of the consumable (column 15, lines 52-67). The identification of the consumable is performed by checking which pairs of contacts are disconnected and which pairs have a voltage flowing between them (column 20, lines 33-58), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of determining which pairs of contacts have a current flowing. The aerosol generating device has a power source that selectively supplies power to different conductor pairs (column 10, lines 40-53) and a microcontroller that identifies the consumable by supplying power to the contacts to determine which ones form a circuit and are therefore connected to the cartridge (column 16, lines 24-32). The microcontroller switches between which contacts are being measured in an iterative manner (column 8, lines 9-22), and measuring also requires supplying power to the contact being measured (column 10, lines 54-67, column 11, lines 1-10), indicating that the controller selectively supplies power to the different contacts.
Regarding claim 2, Bilat discloses that each of the conductors is associated with a resistor (column 16, lines 32-48) having a different resistance value so that it can be determined which contacts are or are not in contact with the consumable based on the measured resistance (column 17, lines 4-29).
Regarding claim 3, Bilat discloses that the consumable removably docks with the device (column 4, lines 16-24), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of releasably coupled.
Regarding claim 4, Bilat discloses that a microcontroller determines which of the resistors are in short circuit (column 17, lines 4-29) and that the power for the conductors is derived from a power source (column 10, lines 54-67, column 11, lines 1-10). The conductors are electrically connected to a heater of the consumable when the consumable is inserted (column 10, liens 54-56, column 11, lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 5, Bilat discloses that microcontroller measures the voltage and determines the current through Ohm’s law (column 16, lines 58-67, column 17, lines 1-3), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a current sensor since it output a current value. Each of the conductors is connected to a switch that actives only those conductors that are connected to the heater (column 22, lines 14-28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilat (US 11,185,112) in view of Hijma (US 12,193,491).
Regarding claim 6, Bilat discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Bilat does not explicitly disclose the contacts of interface being retractable.
Hijma teaches a cartridge for an electronic cigarette (abstract). The cartridge is received in a cartridge seating that has contacts that are spring biased such that they retract under contain back into recesses within the base of the cartridge, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a rest position, to ensure that there is sufficient contact between the cartridge seating and the cartridge itself (column 10, lines 53-67, column 11, lines 1-3).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the contacts of Bilat be the spring loaded contacts of Hijma. One would have been motivated to do so since Hijma teaches contacts that ensure there is sufficient contact between the cartridge seating and the cartridge itself.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 102, applicant’s arguments presume that the amendments to the claims sufficiently differentiate the claimed invention from Bilat, however, as set forth further above, Bilat does disclose the amended claims. The grounds for the rejection under Bilat will not be restated here since applicant provides no additional arguments beyond the mere assertion that Bilat does not disclose the amended claims.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive since they are solely based on the alleged allowability of claim 1. However, claim 1 is rejected for the reasons as set forth above.
Conclusion
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755