CTNF 17/760,183 CTNF 88022 DETAILED ACTION Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 04/03/2026 has been entered. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1, 3, 4, 8-12, 14-17, 19-24, 31, 33-35, 39-55, 57-59 are pending in this office action. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 10-12, 14-17, 19-21, 23, 24, 41-46, 48-50, 58 and 59 are allowed. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3, 4, 34, 35 and 57 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment filed 04/03/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive. See reasons in the rejection of the independent claims below. Claim Rejection 35 U.S.C. 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 8-9, 22, 31, 33, 39, 40 and 51-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al (CN 108990014 A) in view of Stojanovski et al (US 2018/0013737 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Jia teaches a method of operating a first user equipment (UE), comprising: communicating traffic of a first type with a second UE via a single direct unicast link; setting up support for transport of traffic of a second type over the single unicast link ( Jia: Figs. 1-2; Pages 5-6; Example 1: V2X messages between two UEs (unicast) via PC5 path; IP-layer message/first type and non-IP layer message/second type ). Jia does not explicitly disclose communicating both the traffic of the first type and the traffic of the second type over the single direct unicast link, wherein the communicating comprises encapsulating, un-encapsulating or both, of internet protocol (IP) header information with respect to the traffic of the second type over the single direct unicast link between the first UE and the second UE, wherein the traffic of the first type corresponds to IP traffic and the traffic of the second type corresponds to non-IP traffic. Stojanovski teaches communicating both the traffic of the first type and the traffic of the second type over the single direct unicast link, wherein the communicating comprises encapsulating, un-encapsulating or both, of internet protocol (IP) header information with respect to the traffic of the second type over the single direct unicast link between the first UE and the second UE, wherein the traffic of the first type corresponds to IP traffic and the traffic of the second type corresponds to non-IP traffic ( Stojanovski: Fig. [0104], [0117]-[0118], encapsulating user data into a D2D non-IP protocol; the user data maybe IP packet, see [0117] and the user data may be encapsulated in a non-IP protocol, see [0118] ). It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jia by communicating both the traffic of the first type and the traffic of the second type over the single direct unicast link, wherein the communicating comprises encapsulating, un-encapsulating or both, of internet protocol (IP) header information with respect to the traffic of the second type over the single direct unicast link between the first UE and the second UE, wherein the traffic of the first type corresponds to IP traffic and the traffic of the second type corresponds to non-IP traffic as disclosed by Stojanovski to provide a system for D2D communication in wireless access in vehicular environments (Stojanovski: Abstract). Regarding claims 22 and 55 , Jia teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors configured to cause the first UE to: communicate traffic of a first type with a second UE via a single direct unicast link; setting up support for transport of traffic of a second type over the single unicast link ( Jia: Figs. 1-2; Pages 5-6; Example 1: V2X messages between two UEs (unicast) via PC5 path; IP-layer message/first type and non-IP layer message/second type ). Jia does not explicitly disclose communicating both the traffic of the first type and the traffic of the second type over the single direct unicast link, wherein the communicating comprises encapsulating, un-encapsulating or both, of internet protocol (IP) header information with respect to the traffic of the second type over the single direct unicast link between the first UE and the second UE, wherein the traffic of the first type corresponds to IP traffic and the traffic of the second type corresponds to non-IP traffic. Stojanovski teaches communicating both the traffic of the first type and the traffic of the second type over the single direct unicast link, wherein the communicating comprises encapsulating, un-encapsulating or both, of internet protocol (IP) header information with respect to the traffic of the second type over the single direct unicast link between the first UE and the second UE, wherein the traffic of the first type corresponds to IP traffic and the traffic of the second type corresponds to non-IP traffic ( Stojanovski: Fig. [0104], [0117]-[0118], encapsulating user data into a D2D non-IP protocol; the user data maybe IP packet, see [0117] and the user data may be encapsulated in a non-IP protocol, see [0118] ). It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jia by communicating both the traffic of the first type and the traffic of the second type over the single direct unicast link, wherein the communicating comprises encapsulating, un-encapsulating or both, of internet protocol (IP) header information with respect to the traffic of the second type over the single direct unicast link between the first UE and the second UE, wherein the traffic of the first type corresponds to IP traffic and the traffic of the second type corresponds to non-IP traffic as disclosed by Stojanovski to provide a system for D2D communication in wireless access in vehicular environments (Stojanovski: Abstract). Regarding claims 8 and 39 , Jia teaches wherein, at an application-layer, the traffic of the first type and the traffic of the second type are associated with the same application-layer identifier (identifier (J ia: Frigs. 1-2. Pages 5-6; V2X (V2X message ID) application layer defined ). Regarding claims 9 and 40 , Jia teaches wherein the unicast link corresponds to a PC5 unicast link that supports vehicle-to-X (V2X) communication (J ia: Figs. 1-2; Pages 5-6; Example 1: V2X messages between two UEs (unicast) via PC5 path; IP-layer message/first type and non-IP layer message/second type ). Regarding claim 31 , Jia teaches wherein the non-IP traffic comprises a PC5 packet filter (J ia: Figs. 1-2; Pages 5-6; Example 1: V2X messages between two UEs (unicast) via PC5 path; IP-layer message/first type and non-IP layer message/second type ). Regarding claim 33 , Jia teaches wherein the non-IP traffic comprises a PC5 packet filter (J ia: Figs. 1-2; Pages 5-6; Example 1: V2X messages between two UEs (unicast) via PC5 path; IP-layer message/first type and non-IP layer message/second type ). Regarding claim 51 and 52 , Jia in view of Stojanovski teaches wherein the non-IP traffic comprises a Wireless Access for Vehicular Environment Short Message Protocol (WSMP) message ( Stojanovski: [0036] ). Regarding claim 53 and 54 , Jia in view of Stojanovski teaches wherein the single direct unicast link comprises a single hop between the first UE and the second UE ( Stojanovski: Fig. 6; [0036], [0042] ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KODZOVI ACOLATSE whose telephone number is (571)270-1999. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday 10 am to 6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Avellino Joseph can be reached at (571) 272-3905. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478 Application/Control Number: 17/760,183 Page 2 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 17/760,183 Page 3 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 17/760,183 Page 4 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 17/760,183 Page 5 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 17/760,183 Page 6 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 17/760,183 Page 7 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 17/760,183 Page 8 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 17/760,183 Page 9 Art Unit: 2478