DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending, and examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1-6 are rejected, as they provide the use of a mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome for manufacturing of a medicament for the treatment of breast cancer, but, since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed recitation of a use, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e., results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101. See for example Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd.App. 1967) and Clinical Products, Ltd. v. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966).
For compact prosecution, claims 1-6 are examined as “a method of treatment of breast cancer comprising administering to a patient mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome”, and the following rejections are made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 5-10, the phrases "preferably, further preferably, particularly preferably, more preferably, even more preferably" render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The Applicant is encouraged to remove the indefinite language from the claims.
Further, regarding claims 4, 9, the term "including" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "for a specific example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 6, 8, 10 recite the limitation " the mass ratio of HSPC” in the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since claims 6, 8, 10 recite that phospholipid bilayer contains “hydrogenated soybean lecithin” and not “HSPC”. Further, if Applicant intends to include HSPC in the claim, it is suggested to recite the full form which is “hydrogenated soybean phosphatidyl choline” (HSPC).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1)Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pestalozzi et al. (Annals of Oncology, 1992, pages 445-449, PTO-1449).
Pestalozzi et al. discloses administration of liposome-complexed mitoxantrone to patients with advanced breast cancer. See abstract; page 446. Liposome-complexed mitoxantrone was given as iv infusion every 3 weeks; starting dose was 3 mg/m2 and the dose was increased at each cycle by 3 mg/m2 up to 12 mg/m2. See abstract; page 446, right hand column.
Pestalozzi et al. anticipates instant claims.
2)Claims 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 2016/0235671 A1).
Li et al. discloses liposomal pharmaceutical preparations containing a multivalent ionic drug (mitoxantrone taught at [0001]), and a use thereof in the treatment of diseases, in which the liposome had a size of about 30-80 nm, and the phospholipid bilayer of the liposome had a phospholipid (e.g., phosphatidylcholine (HSPC), cholesterol and DSPE-PEG2000 at a weight ratio of 3:1:1 see paras [0012], [0018], [0029] and [0051]-[0052]; Examples throughout) with a Tm higher than body temperature, so that the phase transition temperature of the liposome was higher than body temperature. See abstract; claims 20-33. It is taught that the liposome drug is formulated into a preparation for parenteral administration, injection. See para [0045]. Administering by injection to subjects in need of treatment was taught. See paras [0019], [0045], [0065]. Li teaches liposomes sized about 30-80 nm, comprising HSPC, cholesterol and DSPE-PEG2000 at a weight ratio of 3:1:1. Example 3, para [0052]. Preparation of mitoxantrone liposome PLM60, PLM85 mitoxantrone hydrochloride is taught. See Examples 2, 3. It is taught that the multivalent drugs therein can be anticancer drugs useful for breast cancer. See para [0034]. Multivalent counter ions (sulfate anion) were taught. The multivalent counter ion was able to form an insoluble precipitate with the drug of interest (e.g., multivalent ionic drug), thereby stabilizing the encapsulated active. See claim 31, [0038].
Li et al. anticipates instant claims.
3)Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PEI et al. (CN103622909, PTO-1449; used English Translation in the rejection).
PEI et al. discloses mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposomes. See claims 1, 2, 5; paras [0075]-[0078], Example 7. It is taught that the concentration of mitoxantrone in the liposome is in the range of 0.5-2 mg/mL (meets instant claim 5). See claim 6. The particle size is 10 nm-0.5 µm, preferred range is 100-120 nm. See claim 7; para [0031]. The administration route can be intravenous, intraperitoneal. See claim 8. The mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposomes (LEM) can be used for treating advanced breast cancer. See claim 9; para [0012]. The study on the anti-tumor effect of mitoxantrone liposome (LEM) preparation in nude mice, using mouse leukemia animal models and human breast cancer animal models, confirmed that mitoxantrone liposome preparation has better anti-tumor efficacy than conventional preparations. See paras [0012], [0132]. The anticancer effects of different dosage forms of mitoxantrone in the Balb/c nude mouse breast cancer model: MCF-7 breast cancer cells (2×10<sup> 6 </sup> cells/0.2ml) in the logarithmic growth phase were subcutaneously inoculated into the mammary region of female Balb/c nude mice; administration of mitoxantrone liposomes (LEM) was initiated when the tumors grew to an average volume of 50 mm; the survival rate of mice treated with liposome mitoxantrone (LEM) was 40 %. See paras [0131]-[0134].
PEI et al. anticipates instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4)Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2016/0235671 A1), in view of POUJOL et al. (PTO-1449)
Li taught liposomal pharmaceutical preparations containing a multivalent ionic drug (mitoxantrone taught at [0001]), and a use thereof in the treatment of diseases, in which the liposome had a size of about 30-80 nm, and the phospholipid bilayer of the liposome had a phospholipid (e.g., phosphatidylcholine (HSPC), cholesterol and PEG2000 modified distearoylphosphatidylethanolamine (DSPE-PEG2000) at a weight ratio of 3:1:1 see paras [0012], [0018], [0029] and [0051]-[0052]; Examples throughout) with a Tm higher than body temperature, so that the phase transition temperature of the liposome was higher than body temperature. See abstract; claims 20-33. It is taught that the liposome drug is formulated into a preparation for parenteral administration, injection. See para [0045]. Administering by injection to subjects in need of treatment was taught. See paras [0019], [0045], [0065]. Li teaches liposomes sized about 30-80 nm, comprising HSPC, cholesterol and DSPE-PEG2000 at a weight ratio of 3:1:1. Example 3, para [0052]. Preparation of mitoxantrone liposome PLM60, PLM85 using mitoxantrone hydrochloride solution (10 mg/ml) is taught. See Examples 2, 3. It is taught that the multivalent drugs therein can be anticancer drugs useful for breast cancer. See para [0034].
Multivalent counter ions (sulfate anion) were taught. The multivalent counter ion was able to form an insoluble precipitate with the drug of interest (e.g., multivalent ionic drug), thereby stabilizing the encapsulated active. See claim 31, [0038].
Li generally teaches anticancer drugs (e.g., mitoxantrone), useful for the treatment of cancers [0034], but does not specifically teach treating breast cancer comprising administering mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposomes.
POUJOL et al. teaches that mitoxantrone is one of the most active drugs in the treatment of breast cancer. See page 3330, right hand column, para 1. POUJOL et al. discloses administration of mitoxantrone liposomes in patients with multidrug-resistant breast cancer. See abstract
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to administer a therapeutically effective amount of mitoxantrone liposome to a subject suffering from advance breast cancer because POUJOL et al. teaches that mitoxantrone is one of the most active drugs in the treatment of breast cancer; POUJOL et al. discloses administration of mitoxantrone liposomes in patients with multidrug-resistant breast cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to administer a therapeutically effective amount of mitoxantrone liposome to a subject suffering from advance breast cancer with reasonable expectation of success of treating breast cancer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to administer a therapeutically effective amount of mitoxantrone liposome to a subject suffering from advance breast cancer once in every 4 weeks because the optimization of result effect parameters e.g., dosage range, dosing regimens, dosing duration is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan, involving merely routine skill in the art.
Further, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of mitoxantrone in the liposomal pharmaceutical preparations as in instant claim 5. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to determine the effective amounts of mitoxantrone in the liposomal pharmaceutical preparations, since the optimization of effective amounts of known agents, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in science, involving merely routine skill in the art.
It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Double Patenting
Non-Provisional Double Patenting rejections;
Claims 9-10 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,028,913. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are drawn to a mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome for use in treating breast cancer in a patient i.e drawn to a composition.
Claims of ‘913 are drawn to a method for treating sarcoma, comprising administering to a patient in need thereof liposomes, wherein the liposomes encapsulate mitoxantrone, and have a mean size of 35-75 nm, the bilayer of the liposomes comprises (a) a phospholipid that is hydrogenated soybean phosphatidylcholine (HSPC), (b) cholesterol, and (c) PEG-modified distearoyl phosphatidyl ethaolamine (DSPE), and the intraliposomal phase of the liposomes comprises a multivalent counter ion, the phospholipid of (a) amounts to 55-95 mol/mol % relative to the total content of phospholipids of the liposomes, the cholesterol of (b) amounts to 2-60 mol/mol % relative to the mole number of the total amount of ingredients of the liposomes, and the PEG-modified DSPE of (c) amounts to 0.1-20 mol/mol % relative to the mole number of the total content of phospholipids of the liposomes.
It would have been obvious to obtain a mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome because ‘913 teaches mitoxantrone liposomes.
Claims 9-10 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,583,508. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are drawn to a mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome for use in treating breast cancer in a patient i.e drawn to a composition.
Claims of ‘508 are drawn to a method for treating lymphoma, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a liposomal pharmaceutical preparation of mitoxantrone as a single anti-tumor therapeutic agent, wherein: the liposomal pharmaceutical preparation of mitoxantrone comprises mitoxantrone liposomes, the mitoxantrone liposomes have a particle size of about 30-80 nm, and comprise mitoxantrone as an active ingredient, wherein mitoxantrone and a multivalent counter ion within the liposomes form a poorly soluble precipitate, the phospholipid bilayer of the liposomes comprises a phospholipid with a phase transition temperature (Tm) higher than body temperature, so that the phase transition temperature of liposomes is higher than the body temperature; and the lymphoma is relapsed or refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma or peripheral T-cell lymphoma.
It would have been obvious to obtain a mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome because ‘508 teaches mitoxantrone liposomes.
Provisional Double Patenting rejections;
Claims 9-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of co-pending Application No. 18/020,089 (reference application); over claims 1-5, 7, 9-22 of co-pending Application No. 18/023,161 (reference application); over claims 34-53 of co-pending Application No. 18/266,870 (reference application); over claims 12-31 of co-pending Application No. 18/996,594 (reference application); over claims 22, 24-27, 29-38, 40-48 of co-pending Application No. 19/107,103 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are drawn to a mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome for use in treating breast cancer in a patient i.e drawn to a composition.
Claims of ‘089 are drawn to drug for improving the efficacy of pegaspargase for treating extra nodal NK/T-cell lymphoma, wherein: the drug contains mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome, the mitoxantrone liposome; wherein the particle size of mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome is about 30 to 80 nm; and mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome contains: 1) the active ingredient mitoxantrone, 2) lipid bilayer containing phospholipid with a phase transition temperature (Tm) higher than body temperature, and the phospholipid with the Tm higher than body temperature is phosphatidylcholine, hydrogenated soy lecithin, hydrogenated ovolecithin, lecithin bis palmitate, lecithin bis stearate and any combination thereof.
Claims of ‘161 are drawn a composition for treating PTCL, comprising a mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome and cyclophosphamide; wherein the particle size of mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome is about 30 to 80 nm; and contains: 1) mitoxantrone or its pharmaceutically acceptable salt as an active ingredient, and 2) a lipid bilayer containing a lipid with a phase transition temperature (Tm) higher than body temperature, where the lipid with a Tm higher than the body temperature is phosphatidylcholine, hydrogenated soybean phosphatidylcholine, hydrogenated egg-yolk phosphatidylcholine, dipalmitoyl phosphatidylcholine or distearoyl phosphatidylcholine or any combination thereof.
Claims of ‘870 are drawn to a method of treating ovarian cancer, gastric cancer, or head and neck squamous carcinoma in a subject, comprising administering to the subject a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome; wherein the pharmaceutical composition or the mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome has one or more of the following properties: (i) the mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome having a particle size of about 30 to 80 nm; (ii) the mitoxantrone hydrochloride interacting with a multivalent counter ion in the liposome to form a poorly soluble precipitate; (iii) a phospholipid bilayer in the mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome containing a phospholipid having a phase transition temperature (Tm) higher than body temperature, such that the liposome has a phase transition temperature higher than body temperature; and/or (iv) a phospholipid bilayer in mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome containing hydrogenated soy phosphatidylcholine, cholesterol and PEG2000 modified distearoylphosphatidylethanolamine (DSPE-PEG2000).
Claims of ‘594 are drawn to a method for treating neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorders in an individual, comprising administering to the individual a therapeutically effective amount of mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome or a pharmaceutical composition comprising mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome; wherein the medicament or pharmaceutical composition is an injectable formulation; wherein the mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome has a particle size of about 30-80 nm; wherein the phospholipid bilayer in the mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome comprises phospholipids with a phase transition temperature (Tm) higher than body temperature, such that the phase transition temperature of the liposome is higher than body temperature.
Claims of ‘103 are drawn to a pharmaceutical combination for the treatment of nasopharyngeal carcinoma, comprising a mitoxantrone liposome and capecitabine; wherein the mitoxantrone liposome has one or more of the following properties: (i) the mitoxantrone liposome is a mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome; (ii) the mitoxantrone liposome has a particle size of about 30-80 nm; (iii) mitoxantrone forms a poorly soluble precipitate with multivalent counterions (e.g., sulfate anion, citrate anion, or phosphate anion) in the liposome; and (iv) a phospholipid bilayer in the mitoxantrone liposome comprises a phospholipid with a phase transition temperature (Tm) higher than body temperature, wherein the phospholipid is selected from hydrogenated soybean lecithin, phosphatidyl choline, hydrogenated yolk lecithin, dipalmitoyl lecithin, distearoyl lecithin, and any combination thereof; preferably, the phospholipid is selected from hydrogenated soybean lecithin, cholesterol, and polyethylene glycol 2000-modified distearoyl phosphatidyl ethanolamine; more preferably, the phospholipid is hydrogenated soybean lecithin, cholesterol, and polyethylene glycol 2000-modified distearoyl phosphatidyl ethanolamine in a mass ratio of about 3:1:1.
It would have been obvious to obtain a mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome because ‘089, ‘161, ‘870, ‘594, ‘103 teaches mitoxantrone liposomes.
These are provisional non-statutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8, 9-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of co-pending Application No. 18/286,592 (reference application); over claims 7-8, 11-21 of co-pending Application No. 18/564,796 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are drawn to a mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome for use in treating breast cancer in a patient i.e drawn to a composition.
Claims of ‘592 are drawn to use of mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome in the preparation of a drug for treating breast cancer; characterized in that the drug is in the form of injection; the drug contains 0.5-5 mg/ml; (ii) the mitoxantrone hydrochloride forms an insoluble precipitate with multivalent counter ions (e.g. sulfate, citrate or phosphate) in the liposome; (iii) the phospholipid bilayer of the mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome contains a phospholipid with a phase transition temperature (Tm) higher than body temperature, such that the phase transition temperature of the liposome is higher than body temperature, the phospholipid is selected from hydrogenated soy lecithin, phosphatidylcholine, hydrogenated ovolecithin, lecithin bis palmitate, lecithin bis stearate, or any combination thereof; the particle size of the mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome is about 35-75 nm. Claims of ‘592 are further drawn to a method for treating breast cancer, the method is to administer a therapeutically effective amount of mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome to a patient suffering locally advanced or recurrent/metastatic HER-2-negative breast cancer; the administration cycle is once every 4 weeks.
Claims of ‘796 are drawn to a method of treatment of advanced breast cancer, comprising the following steps: administering to a patient with an advanced solid tumor a therapeutically effective amount of a mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome; wherein the mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome has a particle size of about 30-80 nm and comprises: 1) mitoxantrone, an active ingredient, which can form a poorly soluble precipitate with multivalent counterions in theliposome, and 2) a phospholipid bilayer containing a phospholipid with a phase transition temperature (Tm) higher than a body temperature, wherein the phospholipid with Tm higher than body temperature is selected from one or more of phosphatidyl choline, hydrogenated soybean lecithin, hydrogenated yolk lecithin, dipalmitoyl lecithin, and distearoyl lecithin; wherein a route of administration of the mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome is intravenous administration; wherein a frequency of administration of the mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome is once every 3 weeks or 4 weeks; wherein the liposome has a particle size of about 35- 75 nm.
It would have been obvious to obtain a mitoxantrone hydrochloride liposome because ‘592, ‘796 teaches mitoxantrone liposomes for treatment of advanced breast cancer as in instant claims.
These are provisional non-statutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/SHOBHA KANTAMNENI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627