DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 11, 14, 15, 20, 21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarry (EP 3339730 A1), hereinafter Jarry, in view of Abbasi (US 20050123874 A1), hereinafter Abbasi, and further in view of Kobayashi (US 20080138751 A1), hereinafter Kobayashi.
Regarding claim 9, Jarry discloses a staged injector block and injector assembly, comprising:
a staged injector sub-assembly comprising a staged injector body in fluid communication with a gas source, the staged injector body comprising a staged injector nozzle (“injection unit 40 comprises two secondary oxidant injectors 5” paragraph [0109]); and
a staged injector block (“section 4 may constitute a second partial burner block containing the two secondary passages 21” paragraph [0100]) removably securable with the staged injector sub-assembly, the staged injector block comprising a first side, a second side, a bottom surface arranged between the first side and the second side, and first and second gas channels arranged between the first side and the second side, wherein the first side is arranged to receive at least a portion of the staged injector sub-assembly (“secondary injection unit 40 which is attached to the secondary side 4' of cold face 16” paragraph [0108]) and comprises a first aperture in fluid communication with the first gas channel, and the second side comprises a second aperture in fluid communication with the first gas channel (“Each secondary oxidant injector 5 is inserted in one of the two secondary passages 21 via the corresponding secondary inlet opening 8 and this in such a way that the injection end (not shown) of the secondary oxidant injector 5 is positioned inside the secondary passage 21 upstream of the secondary outlet opening 8'” paragraph [0109]), the first gas channel being sloped from the first side to the second side (“primary passage 20 is horizontal and secondary passages 21 are downwardly inclined from cold face 16 towards hot face 15. The axes of the two secondary passages 21 define a plane (the secondary plane) which intersects the axis of the primary passage 20 downstream of hot face 15” paragraph [0101]) toward a flame burner block removably securable with the bottom surface of the staged injector block (“Horizontal plane 2 may, however also be a material plane. For example, primary section 3 may constitute a first partial burner block containing the primary passage 20 and the secondary section 4 may constitute a second partial burner block containing the two secondary passages 21, horizontal plane 2 forming the contact surface between the two partial burner blocks of the burner assembly” paragraph [0100]);
wherein the staged injector nozzle is arranged to slidingly engage with the staged injector block (“Each secondary oxidant injector 5 is inserted in one of the two secondary passages 21 via the corresponding secondary inlet opening 8” paragraph [0109]) and a gas provided to the staged injector body from the gas source can flow through the staged injector nozzle to the first and second gas channels, and the gas that exits the first and second gas channels is provided downstream of the flame burner block after ignition of a flame (“secondary oxidant which has been heated in heating device 101 is supplied by secondary oxidant piping 110 to secondary oxidant inlet 7 and is then divided, by means of forked tube 17 over the two secondary injectors 5 so that two jets of preheated secondary oxidant are injected into the combustion zone via the two secondary passages 21. By means of said secondary oxidant jets, secondary combustion is generated which completes the combustion of the fuel in the combustion zone” paragraph [0110]).
Claim 9 recites the language “removable securable” to describe the relationship between the staged injector block and staged injector sub-assembly as well as between the flame burner block and the staged injector block. The examiner contends that the identified elements of Jarry relating to the claimed elements would be removably securable as they are not integrally formed. However, the court has additionally held that if it is desirable for any reason to separate elements, it would be obvious to make the elements separable for that purpose In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Separate elements may be separately replaced or maintained for improving convenience and reducing expense. Therefore, it would also be obvious to make the identified elements removably securable.
Jarry does not disclose:
the flame burner block comprising a flat flame burner block;
without an individual injector in each gas channel.
However, Abbasi teaches the flame burner block comprising a flat flame burner block (“The reactions of oxidant and preheated fuel gas containing products of reaction from the pre-combustor stage produce parallel flow paths that create a long, flat, turbulent and highly luminous flame envelope outside the discharge 39 of refractory block 23” paragraph [0033]).
In view of Abbasi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the flame burner sub-assembly comprises a flat flame burner sub-assembly as is taught in Abbasi, in the staged injector block disclosed by Jarry because Abbasi states “This invention relates to combustion systems employing burners that produce highly luminous flames, thereby providing higher heat transfer and lower NOx emissions than conventional combustion systems. More particularly, this invention relates to a method and apparatus for producing substantially flat flames which produce uniform heat distribution and relatively high radiative heat transmission” (paragraph [0003]). Therefore, including the flat burner flame of Abbasi will improve heat transfer and reduce NOx emissions in Jarry.
Jarry, as modified by Abbasi, does not disclose without an individual injector in each gas channel.
However, Kobayashi teaches without an individual injector in each gas channel (“secondary passageways 11 through which gas can flow from plenum space 23 out the respective discharge openings 13” paragraph [0057], “spacing permits gas to flow from plenum space 23 to the openings 12 of passageways 11 that are not aligned by outlet ports 33” paragraph [0061], and “oxygen that is fed as gaseous oxidant streams through and out of spaces 48 and/or 50, and that is fed out of discharge openings 13 of secondary passageways 11, having entered those secondary passageways from outlet ports 33 and/or from plenum space 23” paragraph [0081]).
In view of Kobayashi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include without an individual injector in each gas channel as is taught in Kobayashi, in the staged injector block disclosed by Jarry because creating a plenum that feeds multiple channels rather than individual tubes extending into the channels reduces the number of necessary components. Therefore, including the teachings of Kobayashi will reduce cost in Jarry.
Regarding claim 11, Jarry, as modified by Abbasi and Kobayashi, discloses the staged injector block of claim 9, further comprising a second gas channel arranged between the first side of the staged injector block and the second side of the staged injector block (“section 4 may constitute a second partial burner block containing the two secondary passages 21” paragraph [0100]).
Regarding claim 14, Jarry, as modified by Abbasi and Kobayashi, discloses the staged injector block of claim 9, wherein the first gas channel is arranged to receive a gas from a gas nozzle of a staged injector sub-assembly secured to the staged injector block (“In normal operation of the burner assembly, secondary oxidant which has been heated in heating device 101 is supplied by secondary oxidant piping 110 to secondary oxidant inlet 7 and is then divided, by means of forked tube 17 over the two secondary injectors 5 so that two jets of preheated secondary oxidant are injected into the combustion zone via the two secondary passages 21” paragraph [0110]).
Regarding claim 15, Jarry, as modified by Abbasi and Kobayashi, discloses the staged injector block of claim 9, wherein the staged injector block is arranged to contact a top side or a bottom side of the flat flame burner block (Figure 2).
Regarding claims 20, 23, and 24, Jarry discloses a block and burner assembly, comprising:
a flame burner sub-assembly (“primary injection unit 30” paragraph [0103]) comprising:
a flame burner body in fluid communication with a gas source, the flame burner body comprising:
a gas inlet in fluid communication with the gas source and a gas nozzle (“The primary injection unit 30 also has a primary oxidant inlet 10 which is connected to primary oxidant piping 110 by means of a further flange so as to enable the supply of primary oxidant from primary oxidant source 103 to the primary burner 9 and more specifically to the primary oxidant injector of same via tube 11” paragraph [0105]); and
a fuel inlet in fluid communication with a fuel nozzle (“The primary injection unit 30 has a fuel inlet 13 which is connected to fuel piping 115 by means of a flange so as to enable the supply of gaseous fuel from fuel source 104 to the primary burner 9 and more specifically to the fuel injector of same via tube 12” paragraph [0104]), wherein the gas nozzle is arranged to at least partially encompass the fuel nozzle (“The primary injection unit 30 comprises a primary burner 9 with a central fuel injector which is surrounded by a concentric primary oxidant injector” paragraph [0103]), and the gas nozzle and the fuel nozzle comprise first ends proximate the flame burner body and second ends, opposite the first ends, wherein the first ends are non-rectangular in shape (Figure 2);
a flame burner block (“primary section 3 may constitute a first partial burner block containing the primary passage 20” paragraph [0100]) arranged to receive at least a portion of the fuel nozzle and at least a portion of the gas nozzle (“primary burner 9 is inserted in primary passage 20 via primary inlet opening 6 and this in such a way that the injection end of primary burner 9 (primary injection end, not shown) is located inside primary passage 20 upstream of primary outlet opening 6'” paragraph [0103]);
a staged injector sub-assembly comprising a staged injector body in fluid communication with the gas source, the staged injector body having a staged injector nozzle (“injection unit 40 comprises two secondary oxidant injectors 5” paragraph [0109]); and
a staged injector block (“section 4 may constitute a second partial burner block containing the two secondary passages 21” paragraph [0100]) connected to the flame burner block and arranged to receive at least a portion of the staged injector sub-assembly, the staged injector block comprising a first side, a second side, and first and second gas channels arranged to span from the first side to the second side (“Each secondary oxidant injector 5 is inserted in one of the two secondary passages 21 via the corresponding secondary inlet opening 8 and this in such a way that the injection end (not shown) of the secondary oxidant injector 5 is positioned inside the secondary passage 21 upstream of the secondary outlet opening 8'” paragraph [0109]);
wherein the flame burner block and the staged injector block are separable (The injectors 5 are inserted and are therefore not integrally formed with the block); and
wherein the staged injector nozzle is arranged to slidingly engage with the staged injector block (“Each secondary oxidant injector 5 is inserted in one of the two secondary passages 21 via the corresponding secondary inlet opening 8” paragraph [0109]) and a gas provided to the staged injector body from the gas source can flow through the staged injector nozzle to the first and second gas channels, and the gas that exits the first and second gas channels is provided downstream of the flat flame burner block after ignition of a flame (“secondary oxidant which has been heated in heating device 101 is supplied by secondary oxidant piping 110 to secondary oxidant inlet 7 and is then divided, by means of forked tube 17 over the two secondary injectors 5 so that two jets of preheated secondary oxidant are injected into the combustion zone via the two secondary passages 21. By means of said secondary oxidant jets, secondary combustion is generated which completes the combustion of the fuel in the combustion zone” paragraph [0110]).
Claim 20 recites the language “wherein the flame burner block and the staged injector block are separable.” The examiner contends that the identified elements of Jarry relating to the claimed elements would be separable as they are not integrally formed. However, the court has additionally held that if it is desirable for any reason to separate elements, it would be obvious to make the elements separable for that purpose In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Separate elements may be separately replaced or maintained for improving convenience and reducing expense. Therefore, it would also be obvious to make the identified elements separable.
Jarry does not disclose:
wherein the flame burner sub-assembly comprises a flat flame burner sub-assembly, wherein the second ends are rectangular in shape to produce a flat flame;
wherein the gas nozzle is arranged to taper from a first width and a first height to a second width and a second height, wherein the first width is smaller than the second width and the first height is greater than the second height;
wherein the fuel nozzle is arranged to taper from a third width and a third height to a fourth width and a fourth height, wherein the third width is smaller than the fourth width and the third height is greater than the fourth height;
without an individual injector in each gas channel.
However, Abbasi teaches:
wherein the flame burner sub-assembly comprises a flat flame burner sub-assembly (“The reactions of oxidant and preheated fuel gas containing products of reaction from the pre-combustor stage produce parallel flow paths that create a long, flat, turbulent and highly luminous flame envelope outside the discharge 39 of refractory block 23” paragraph [0033]), wherein the second ends are rectangular in shape to produce a flat flame (“a substantially rectangular said primary fuel outlet 19, and… a substantially rectangular primary oxidant outlet 17” paragraph [0025]);
wherein the gas nozzle is arranged to taper from a first width and a first height to a second width and a second height, wherein the first width is smaller than the second width and the first height is greater than the second height;
wherein the fuel nozzle is arranged to taper from a third width and a third height to a fourth width and a fourth height, wherein the third width is smaller than the fourth width and the third height is greater than the fourth height (“To establish the desired velocities and momentum to balance desired levels of mixing, desired rate of fuel and oxygen reaction, and desired flame length and shape, fuel chamber 25 is formed between horizontally oriented substantially planar inner walls 41, 42 converging with respect to each other and vertical inner walls 45, 46 diverging with respect to each other, forming a substantially rectangular said primary fuel outlet 19, and the oxidant chamber 26 is formed between horizontally oriented substantially planar outer walls 43, 44 converging with respect to each other and vertical outer walls 47, 48 diverging with respect to each other, forming a substantially rectangular primary oxidant outlet 17” paragraph [0025]).
In view of Abbasi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the flame burner sub-assembly comprises a flat flame burner sub-assembly, wherein the second ends are rectangular in shape to produce a flat flame as is taught in Abbasi, in the staged injector block disclosed by Jarry because Abbasi states “This invention relates to combustion systems employing burners that produce highly luminous flames, thereby providing higher heat transfer and lower NOx emissions than conventional combustion systems. More particularly, this invention relates to a method and apparatus for producing substantially flat flames which produce uniform heat distribution and relatively high radiative heat transmission” (paragraph [0003]). Therefore, including the flat burner flame of Abbasi will improve heat transfer and reduce NOx emissions in Jarry.
Jarry, as modified by Abbasi, does not disclose without an individual injector in each gas channel.
However, Kobayashi teaches without an individual injector in each gas channel (“secondary passageways 11 through which gas can flow from plenum space 23 out the respective discharge openings 13” paragraph [0057], “spacing permits gas to flow from plenum space 23 to the openings 12 of passageways 11 that are not aligned by outlet ports 33” paragraph [0061], and “oxygen that is fed as gaseous oxidant streams through and out of spaces 48 and/or 50, and that is fed out of discharge openings 13 of secondary passageways 11, having entered those secondary passageways from outlet ports 33 and/or from plenum space 23” paragraph [0081]).
In view of Kobayashi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include without an individual injector in each gas channel as is taught in Kobayashi, in the staged injector block disclosed by Jarry because creating a plenum that feeds multiple channels rather than individual tubes extending into the channels reduces the number of necessary components. Therefore, including the teachings of Kobayashi will reduce cost in Jarry.
Regarding claim 21, Jarry, as modified by Abbasi and Kobayashi, discloses the block and burner assembly of claim 20, wherein the staged injector block is connected to a top side or a bottom side of the flat flame burner block (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 25, Jarry, as modified by Abbasi and Kobayashi, discloses the block and burner assembly of claim 20, wherein the gas nozzle is arranged to project a first distance from the flat flame burner body in a first direction (“Each secondary oxidant injector 5 is inserted in one of the two secondary passages 21 via the corresponding secondary inlet opening 8 and this in such a way that the injection end (not shown) of the secondary oxidant injector 5 is positioned inside the secondary passage 21 upstream of the secondary outlet opening 8'” paragraph [0109]) and the fuel nozzle is arranged to project a second distance from the flat flame burner body in the first direction (“primary burner 9 is inserted in primary passage 20 via primary inlet opening 6 and this in such a way that the injection end of primary burner 9 (primary injection end, not shown) is located inside primary passage 20 upstream of primary outlet opening 6'” paragraph [0103]).
Jarry, as modified by Abbasi and Kobayashi, does not disclose wherein the first distance is equal to the second distance or wherein the first distance is less than the second distance. However, it is noted that there are a finite number of configurations available to one having ordinary skill in the art for arranging the distances (First distance greater than the second distance, first distance equal to the second distance, or first distance less than the second distance). It is noted that the claim covers most of all possible outcomes. It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide wherein the first distance is equal to the second distance or wherein the first distance is less than the second distance (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarry, in view of Abbasi, in view of Kobayashi, and further in view of Watson (US 20100183990 A1), hereinafter Watson.
Regarding claim 10, Jarry, as modified by Abbasi and Kobayashi, discloses the staged injector block of claim 9.
Jarry, as modified by Abbasi and Kobayashi, does not disclose a recess, wherein the recess comprises the first aperture.
However, Watson teaches a recess, wherein the recess comprises the first aperture (“The burner mounting plate 8 has top and bottom ports 10 and 11 in fluid communication with the top and bottom ports of the refractory block 5 and in turn passages 6 and 7, respectively” paragraph [0061]).
In view of Watson’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a recess, wherein the recess comprises the first aperture as is taught in Watson, in the staged injector block disclosed by Jarry because including a recess will simplify lining up and joining the block and sub-assembly. Additionally, a recess will provide more surface area for supporting the sub-assembly within the block.
Claims 12, 13, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarry, in view of Abbasi, in view of Kobayashi, and further in view of Sarmiento-Darkin (US 20100104990 A1), hereinafter Sarmiento-Darkin.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Jarry, as modified by Abbasi and Kobayashi, discloses the staged injector block of claim 9, further comprising a second gas channel arranged between the first side and the second side (“section 4 may constitute a second partial burner block containing the two secondary passages 21” paragraph [0100]).
Jarry, as modified by Abbasi and Kobayashi, does not disclose:
wherein the first gas channel is arranged non-parallel to the second gas channel;
a third gas channel arranged between the first side of the staged injector block and the second side of the staged injector block, and wherein the third gas channel is arranged non-parallel to the first gas channel and the second gas channel.
However, Sarmiento-Darkin teaches:
a second gas channel arranged between the first side and the second side (“oxidant is emitted out opening 131 and out of the other openings that are in the same horizontal plane as opening 131. Alternately, fuel could be emitted from the lower nozzle body and oxidant from the higher nozzle body without detriment of burner performance” paragraph [0047]), and wherein the first gas channel is arranged non-parallel to the second gas channel (“Adjacent passageways in a nozzle body preferably diverge with respect each other at an angle between 0 and 45 degrees. In embodiments containing first and second nozzle bodies, the second nozzle body is preferably located below the first nozzle body, and more preferably the first and second nozzle bodies have the same number of passageways and the opening and the axis of each passageway in a first nozzle body is vertically aligned with, and is at the same angle with, that of a passageway in the second nozzle body” paragraph [0019]);
a third gas channel arranged between the first side of the staged injector block and the second side of the staged injector block, and wherein the third gas channel is arranged non-parallel to the first gas channel and the second gas channel (Figure 3).
In view of the teachings of Sarmiento-Darkin, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include multiple angled gas channels as is taught in Sarmiento-Darkin, in the staged injector block as presently modified because Sarmiento-Darkin states “Often it is advantageous to carry out such combustion in a manner that produces a relatively wide flame. The present invention provides the capability of producing a wide flame, and provides several advantages to the operator” (paragraph [0003]). Therefore, widening the injection of the staged injector block will provide advantages to the operator.
Regarding claim 26, Jarry, as modified by Abbasi and Kobayashi, discloses the block and burner assembly of claim 20, wherein the staged injector block comprises a plurality of gas channels wherein each of the plurality of gas channels extends from a first side of the staged injector block to a second side of the staged injector block (Figure 2).
Jarry, as modified by Abbasi and Kobayashi, does not disclose wherein a first gas channel of the plurality of gas channels is arranged non-parallel to a second gas channel of the plurality of gas channels.
However, Sarmiento-Darkin teaches wherein a first gas channel of the plurality of gas channels is arranged non-parallel to a second gas channel of the plurality of gas channels (“oxidant is emitted out opening 131 and out of the other openings that are in the same horizontal plane as opening 131. Alternately, fuel could be emitted from the lower nozzle body and oxidant from the higher nozzle body without detriment of burner performance” paragraph [0047] and “Adjacent passageways in a nozzle body preferably diverge with respect each other at an angle between 0 and 45 degrees. In embodiments containing first and second nozzle bodies, the second nozzle body is preferably located below the first nozzle body, and more preferably the first and second nozzle bodies have the same number of passageways and the opening and the axis of each passageway in a first nozzle body is vertically aligned with, and is at the same angle with, that of a passageway in the second nozzle body” paragraph [0019]).
In view of the teachings of Sarmiento-Darkin, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include multiple angled gas channels as is taught in Sarmiento-Darkin, in the staged injector block as presently modified because Sarmiento-Darkin states “Often it is advantageous to carry out such combustion in a manner that produces a relatively wide flame. The present invention provides the capability of producing a wide flame, and provides several advantages to the operator” (paragraph [0003]). Therefore, widening the injection of the staged injector block will provide advantages to the operator.
Regarding claim 27, Jarry, as modified by Abbasi, Kobayashi, and Sarmiento-Darkin, discloses the block and burner assembly of claim 26, wherein the first gas channel comprises a first aperture proximate the first side of the staged injector block and a second aperture proximate the second side of the staged injector block, and wherein the first aperture is arranged a first aperture distance from the flat flame burner block and the second aperture is arranged a second aperture distance from the flat flame burner block, and wherein the first aperture distance is greater than the second aperture distance (Figure 2).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarry, in view of Kobayashi.
Regarding claim 16, Jarry discloses a staged injector block and injector assembly, comprising:
a staged injector sub-assembly comprising a staged injector body in fluid communication with a gas source, the staged injector body further comprising a staged injector nozzle (“injection unit 40 comprises two secondary oxidant injectors 5” paragraph [0109]); and
a staged injector block (“section 4 may constitute a second partial burner block containing the two secondary passages 21” paragraph [0100]) removably securable with the staged injector sub-assembly (“secondary injection unit 40 which is attached to the secondary side 4' of cold face 16” paragraph [0108]), the staged injector block comprising a body having a first side, a second side, a bottom surface, and first and second gas channels arranged between the first side and the second side, wherein the first side is arranged to receive the staged injector nozzle and comprises a first aperture in fluid communication with the first gas channel, and the second side comprises a second aperture in fluid communication with the first gas channel, wherein the staged injector nozzle is arranged to slidingly engage with the staged injector block (“Each secondary oxidant injector 5 is inserted in one of the two secondary passages 21 via the corresponding secondary inlet opening 8 and this in such a way that the injection end (not shown) of the secondary oxidant injector 5 is positioned inside the secondary passage 21 upstream of the secondary outlet opening 8'” paragraph [0109]) and a gas provided to the staged injector body from the gas source can flow through the staged injector nozzle to the first and second gas channels, and the gas that exits the first and second gas channels is provided downstream of the flat flame burner block after ignition of a flat flame (“secondary oxidant which has been heated in heating device 101 is supplied by secondary oxidant piping 110 to secondary oxidant inlet 7 and is then divided, by means of forked tube 17 over the two secondary injectors 5 so that two jets of preheated secondary oxidant are injected into the combustion zone via the two secondary passages 21. By means of said secondary oxidant jets, secondary combustion is generated which completes the combustion of the fuel in the combustion zone” paragraph [0110]).
Claim 16 recites the language “removable securable” to describe the relationship between the staged injector block and staged injector sub-assembly. The examiner contends that the identified elements of Jarry relating to the claimed elements would be removably securable as they are not integrally formed. However, the court has additionally held that if it is desirable for any reason to separate elements, it would be obvious to make the elements separable for that purpose In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Separate elements may be separately replaced or maintained for improving convenience and reducing expense. Therefore, it would also be obvious to make the identified elements removably securable.
Jarry does not disclose without an individual injector in each gas channel.
However, Kobayashi teaches without an individual injector in each gas channel (“secondary passageways 11 through which gas can flow from plenum space 23 out the respective discharge openings 13” paragraph [0057], “spacing permits gas to flow from plenum space 23 to the openings 12 of passageways 11 that are not aligned by outlet ports 33” paragraph [0061], and “oxygen that is fed as gaseous oxidant streams through and out of spaces 48 and/or 50, and that is fed out of discharge openings 13 of secondary passageways 11, having entered those secondary passageways from outlet ports 33 and/or from plenum space 23” paragraph [0081]).
In view of Kobayashi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include without an individual injector in each gas channel as is taught in Kobayashi, in the staged injector block disclosed by Jarry because creating a plenum that feeds multiple channels rather than individual tubes extending into the channels reduces the number of necessary components. Therefore, including the teachings of Kobayashi will reduce cost in Jarry.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarry, in view of Kobayashi, and further in view of Sarmiento-Darkin.
Regarding claims 17-19, Jarry, as modified by Kobayashi, discloses the staged injector block of claim 16, further comprising a second gas channel arranged between the first side and the second side (“section 4 may constitute a second partial burner block containing the two secondary passages 21” paragraph [0100]).
Jarry, as modified by Kobayashi, does not disclose:
wherein the second gas channel is arranged a second radial angle relative to the center axis, and the second radial angle is different than the first radial angle;
wherein the first gas channel is arranged non-parallel to the second gas channel;
wherein the second gas channel is arranged substantially parallel with respect to the center axis.
However, Sarmiento-Darkin teaches:
wherein the second gas channel is arranged a second radial angle relative to the center axis, and the second radial angle is different than the first radial angle;
wherein the first gas channel is arranged non-parallel to the second gas channel;
wherein the second gas channel is arranged substantially parallel with respect to the center axis (“oxidant is emitted out opening 131 and out of the other openings that are in the same horizontal plane as opening 131. Alternately, fuel could be emitted from the lower nozzle body and oxidant from the higher nozzle body without detriment of burner performance” paragraph [0047] and “Adjacent passageways in a nozzle body preferably diverge with respect each other at an angle between 0 and 45 degrees. In embodiments containing first and second nozzle bodies, the second nozzle body is preferably located below the first nozzle body, and more preferably the first and second nozzle bodies have the same number of passageways and the opening and the axis of each passageway in a first nozzle body is vertically aligned with, and is at the same angle with, that of a passageway in the second nozzle body” paragraph [0019]).
In view of the teachings of Sarmiento-Darkin, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include multiple angled gas channels as is taught in Sarmiento-Darkin, in the staged injector block disclosed by Jarry because Sarmiento-Darkin states “Often it is advantageous to carry out such combustion in a manner that produces a relatively wide flame. The present invention provides the capability of producing a wide flame, and provides several advantages to the operator” (paragraph [0003]). Therefore, widening the injection of the staged injector block will provide advantages to the operator.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarry, in view of Abbasi, in view of Kobayashi, and further in view of Emami (US 20130058372 A1), hereinafter Emami.
Regarding claim 22, Jarry, as modified by Abbasi and Kobayashi, discloses the block and burner assembly of claim 20.
Jarry, as modified by Abbasi and Kobayashi, does not disclose a bracket arranged to secure the staged injector block to the flat flame burner block.
However, Emami teaches a bracket arranged to secure a heater block to an adjacent heater block (“the modules are fastened together, for example, by plates 770 with sufficient strength. The plates 770 can have four holes 782, one in each corner. The plates 770 can be fastened to the heater module outer surface, keeping the modular heater as one assembly. The plate 770 can be fastened by bolts 784, securing the plate to the external shell, typically made of stainless steel. In some embodiments, the modular heater including multiple heater modules can allow replacement of individual modules” paragraph [0047]).
In view of Emami’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a bracket arranged to secure a heater block to an adjacent heater block as is taught in Emami, in the block and burner assembly disclosed by Jarry because Emami states that the brackets provide sufficient strength while permitting replacement of individual components. Therefore, including the brackets in Jarry will provide a strong connection between the blocks while permitting replacement of either block individually.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cain (US 20090130617 A1) “The air flow passages 104 and 106 in the baffle 90 (FIG. 5-7) convey the secondary combustion air from the plenum 85 to the secondary ports 27” paragraph [0028] teaches a plenum feeding secondary air without an individual injector in each gas channel
Joshi (US 5545031 A) “the fuel and oxidant preferably converge in a generally vertical plane and diverge in a generally horizontal plane” abstract and “discharging fuel and oxidant from a nozzle in a fashion that forms a fishtail or fan-shaped flame which produces uniform heat distribution and relatively high radiative heat transmission” column 1, line 9
Slavejkov (US 5575637 A) “In order to overcome problems with prior art burners and combustion systems, it has been discovered that a flat flame burner, wherein the fuel-rich phase surrounded by the oxygen-rich phase, is shaped in the form of an elongated or generally flat rectangle, flame luminosity is dramatically increased, thus enhancing heat transfer while reducing the NOx emissions” column 1, line 60
Bodelin (US 5833447 A) “the fuel and oxidant outlets being physically separated, and geometrically arranged in order to impart to the fuel fluid streams and the oxidant fluid streams angles and velocities that allow combustion of the fuel fluid with the oxidant in a stable, wide, and luminous flame” abstract
Legiret (US 6079229 A) “FIG. 9 shows, in an oxy-fuel burner/oxygen lance assembly, the superposition of these two devices. The burner 5, having concentric oxygen and fuel ducts, includes a module 51 having an inlet 52 for the oxygen, this module 51 being assembled, by flanges 53, 54 and fixing means 55, to a module 56 which has an inlet 57 for the fuel; the oxygen lance 6 is based alongside and fixed under the oxy-fuel burner 5” column 7, line 1
Yan (US 20230043686 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762