DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an amendment filed on 03/02/2026. Status of Claims are:
** Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 15, 16, 18, 20-24, 26, 27, 29, 30, 34, 35, 37, 39, 40, and 45-48 are pending.
** Claims 6, 9, 12-14, 17, 19, 25, 28, 31-33, 36, 38 and 41-44 were previously cancelled.
** Claims 1, 20, 39 and 40 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed on 03/02/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Applicant argues, bottom of page 1 and top of page 2 of arguments:
The Examiner cites Wang, paragraph [0102], as allegedly disclosing a CORESET configuration that indicates how search space set occasions overlap in the time-domain. Applicant submits that Wang does not disclose "a CORESET configuration in accordance with the CORESET policy defines restrictions on how search space set occasions overlap in a time-domain within a CORESET and between different CORESETs," for at least the following reasons.
Paragraph [0102] of Wang discloses: "For a carrier or a BWP, the base station may configure one or more CORESETs for a UE, or may configure, for a UE, one or more search spaces corresponding to a same CORESET. These CORESETs and search spaces may be overlapped in time domain (for example, OFDM symbols) or overlapped in frequency domain (for example, RBs or sub-carriers)." Wang further provides an example where “the base station” configures two CORESETs (i.e., CORESET1 and CORESET2) for the UE” and “the UE may need to detect two search spaces or two CORESETs in a single PDCCH monitoring occasion.
As this paragraph makes clear, Wang discloses that CORESETs and search spaces “may be overlapped”. That is, overlap may be permitted to occur. However, Wang does not disclose any restriction on such overlap. To the contrary, Wang describes a scenario where overlaps freely occur and the UE must handle detecting multiple search spaces or CORESETs in a single monitoring occasion.
Examiner’s response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant and interpretation of Wang, although the rejection is based on Noh, Grant and Wang. Wang, in para[0102] clearly indicates “for a carrier or a BWP” (emphasis added), the base station may configure one or more CORESETs for a UE”, which is understood broadly as “a restriction” restricting such configured CORESET to a specific carrier or a BWP, and as such, Wang teaches and suggests the notion of restriction on such configured CORESETs that overlap.
Applicant’s all other arguments are based on above already answered argument but repeated for other claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-2, 10, 11, 15, 16, 18, 20, 21, 29, 30, 34, 35, 37, 39, 40, 45, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210314927 A1 to Noh et al., (hereinafter Noh) in view of US 20220368489 A1 to Grant et al., (hereinafter Grant), and in further view of US 20190103943 A1 issued to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)
Claim 1. A method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
determining one or more first policies (i.e., one or more configuration) for monitoring one or more physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) within one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs)
(Noh: See para[0052]-[0053] UE receives from BS, and via MIB, a “configuration information’ (i.e., one or more policies) of an initial BWP”, and “configuration information” (i.e., one or more policies) for a search space (e.g., search space #0) that UE monitors for the control resource (CORESET), wherein CORESET is a control area (i.e., control area within the BWP) in which, PDCCH is transmitted for UE to receive further information for initial access. See also, para[0181], different “TCI state assignment rules” and different “priority rules” ( i.e., one or more first policies), may be applied to various UE(s) by BS, based on capabilities of UE(s))
for a first type of UE (i.e., based on UE capability/identity),
(Noh: See para[0085] for “search spaces” may be a UE specific search space. UE specific search space is a function of UE identity (i.e., type of UE) which is UE-specifically defined. See para[0139] and Table-13, for “TCI states” configured for a UE, includes “QCL-information” that includes “a bandwidth part” (BWP) specifically for UE).
Although Noh teaches different UE receives various configurations that includes CORESET configuration (CORESET policy) based on UE capabilities reported and what cells UE can monitor on PDCCH (see para[0126]-[0127]) as well as TCI state assignment rules and different priority rules applied to UE by BS and based on capability of UEs (see para[0181]-[0188], however, it does not explicitly disclose that different UEs (e.g., UE1, UE2, UE3, etc.) are configured with different and separate CORESET monitoring configurations (i.e., monitoring policies) due to, or based on, UE capability/type, as understood by:
wherein at least one of the one or more first policies for the first type of UE is different from one or more second policies for a second type of UE; and wherein one of the one or more first policies comprises a control resource set (CORESET) policy for monitoring a lower quantity of CORESETs or search space sets per BWP based on the first type of UE for the one or more PDCCCHs than under one or more second policies for the second type of UE; and
However, in a similar field, Grant, in para[0021] teaches that various number of CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for each UE, however, UE-2 only needs to monitor both CORESET2 & CORESET3, but UE-3, on the other hand, shall monitor all four CORESETs (i.e., monitoring policies) to get its PDCCH, and the reason for this, is due to the “UE capability” (UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Noh teaches techniques wherein different “TCI state assignment rules” and different “priority rules” (i.e., one or more first policies), may be applied to various UE(s) by BS, based on capabilities of UE(s) received, wherein “TCI states” configured for a UE, includes “QCL-information” that includes “a bandwidth part” (BWP) (Noh: See para[0139] and para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have includes the teachings of Grant, with the teachings of Noh, in order to benefit from the enhanced techniques wherein different UE(s) are assigned different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) that are specifically based on UE capability (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Noh in view of Grant do not explicitly disclose a single configured CORESET for UE, may have “multiple search spaces”, and wherein such “multiple search spaces” of the same CORESET (i.e., within a CORESET) overlap one another in time domain, or, multiple configured CORESET(s) for UE, such as CORESET1 and CORESET2, each having one or more “search spaces”, wherein their respective and/or corresponding “search spaces” can overlap in time-domain, and wherein “search spaces” of such one or more CORESET(s) are identified as resources in time-domain that specifically overlap in the time-domain, as alternatively understood by:
and, wherein a CORESET configuration in accordance with the CORESET policy defines restrictions (i.e., CORESET is restricted to be for a Carrier or BWP) on how “search space” set occasions (i.e., “search space1” & “search space2”) overlap in a time-domain within a CORESET (i.e., same CORESET having one or more “search spaces” that overlap in time-domain) and between different CORESETs (i.e., “search spaces” of CORESET1 & CORESET2 overlap in time-domain)
However, in a similar field, WANG in para[0102] teaches that a base station, for a carrier or a BWP can configure one or more CORESETs for a UE (i.e., defined CORESET is restricted to a BWP/Carrier) or configured “search spaces” corresponding to the same one or more CORESETs, may all be overlapped in time domain (for example, OFDM symbols) or overlapped in frequency domain (for example, RBs or sub-carriers). For example, CORESET1 occupies first to tenth PRBs, and CORESET2 occupies the sixth to twentieth PRBs in bandwidth, (6th – 10th PRB overlap) and as such CORESETs and their “search spaces”, such as “search space1” and “search space2”, is understood to identify or indicate the PRBs wherein the “search space” of the same CORESET or “search spaces” of different CORESETs overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included the teachings of Wang, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant, in order to benefit from the enhancements of having different configured search spaces corresponding to a one or more CORESETs, including identified physical resource blocks (PRBs) that can be determined by UE if such “search spaces” corresponding to one or more CORESETs overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more first policies further include, in addition to the CORESET policy, at least one of:
a blind decoding (BD) policy,
(Noh: See para[0182] if TCI state “search spaces” overlap with one another, then UE performs blind decoding (i.e., a blind decoding (BD) policy) on those search spaces)
a control channel element (CCE) policy,
( Noh: See para[0172], the ‘priority rule’ may be configured such that priorities of search spaces are determined, (1) in an ascending (descending) order of search space IDs, (2) in an ascending (descending) order of monitoring slot level periods (in an ascending (descending) order of slot offsets in the case of the same period), (3) according to timings of monitoring symbols in slots, (4) in an ascending (descending) order of the numbers of monitoring symbols in slots, (5) in an descending (ascending) order of maximum aggregation levels, (6) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a maximum value of the number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level, or (7) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a total number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level)
an aggregation level (AL) policy,
( Noh: See para[0172], the ‘priority rule’ may be configured such that priorities of search spaces are determined, (1) in an ascending (descending) order of search space IDs, (2) in an ascending (descending) order of monitoring slot level periods (in an ascending (descending) order of slot offsets in the case of the same period), (3) according to timings of monitoring symbols in slots, (4) in an ascending (descending) order of the numbers of monitoring symbols in slots, (5) in an descending (ascending) order of maximum aggregation levels, (6) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a maximum value of the number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level, or (7) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a total number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level)
or a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state policy.
(Noh: See para[0166] for “TCI state assignment rules” may assign “TCI states” to respective “search spaces”)
Claim 10. The method of claim 1, wherein the CORESET policy includes monitoring at most: a single CORESET per BWP; a single common search space set per BWP; and a single UE-specific search space set per BWP.
(Noh: See para[0178], TCI states corresponding to CORESET (i.e., CORESEST per BWP) in ascending order of search space IDs. When two or more search spaces to which TCI states are assigned overlap, then the BS and UE attempt to detect search space having shortest or longest monitoring cycle)
Claim 11. The method of claim 1, wherein:
the CORESET policy includes not allowing a search space set occasion to fully overlap in time with another search space set occasion from a same search space set or from different search space sets within a same CORESET; or
the CORESET policy includes not allowing a search space set occasion within a first CORESET to fully or partially overlap in time with another search space set occasion within a second CORESET; or
the CORESET policy includes allowing a search space set occasion for a first CORESET to fully overlap in time with the other search space set occasion for the second CORESET if the first CORESET and the second CORESET have a same frequency domain resource allocation and time domain symbol duration.
(Noh: See para[0229]-[0241] for TCI states for a CORESET are assigned to each search space, the search spaces assigned two or more TCI states my overlap in a specific monitoring occasions. The UE and BS can exclude a search space overlapping a RE/RB indicated by a resource.)
Claim 15. The method of claim 2, wherein the TCI state policy includes a number of active TCI states configured for monitoring the PDCCH being independent of a number of active TCI states configured for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) associated with the PDCCH.
(Noh: See para[0056] According to another example, a base station may configure a plurality of bandwidth parts for a UE for the purpose of supporting different numerologies. For example, to support data transmission/reception using a subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz and a subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz for a certain UE, a base station may configure two bandwidth parts with subcarrier spacings of 15 kHz and 30 kHz. The different bandwidth parts may be frequency division multiplexed. When data is transmitted and received with a specific subcarrier spacing, a bandwidth part configured with the corresponding subcarrier spacing may be activated.)
Claim 16. The method of claim 2, wherein the TCI state policy includes allowing for a single active TCI state configured for monitoring the PDCCH.
(Noh: See para[0056] According to another example, a base station may configure a plurality of bandwidth parts for a UE for the purpose of supporting different numerologies. For example, to support data transmission/reception using a subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz and a subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz for a certain UE, a base station may configure two bandwidth parts with subcarrier spacings of 15 kHz and 30 kHz. The different bandwidth parts may be frequency division multiplexed. When data is transmitted and received with a specific subcarrier spacing, a bandwidth part configured with the corresponding subcarrier spacing may be activated.)
Claim 18. The method of claim 2, further comprising transmitting, to the network entity, a signal indicating the one or more first policies for the first type of UE.
(Noh: See Fig. 7 & 8, and para[0051] & para[0081] the base station (BS) may configure one or more plurality of search space sets for the UE, and transfer the configuration information to the UE using RRC signaling for “TCI state assignment rules” and different “priority rules” ( i.e., one or more first policies), that may be applied by BS to various UE(s), based on capabilities of UE(s) )
Claim 20. A method of wireless communication by a network entity, comprising:
determining one or more first policies (i.e., one or more configuration) for transmitting signals via one or more physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) within one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs)
(Noh: See para[0052]-[0053] UE receives from BS, and via MIB, a “configuration information’ (i.e., one or more policies) of an initial BWP”, and “configuration information” (i.e., one or more policies) for a search space (e.g., search space #0) that UE monitors for the control resource (CORESET), wherein CORESET is a control area (i.e., control area within the BWP) in which, PDCCH is transmitted for UE to receive further information for initial access)
for a first type of user equipment (UE) (i.e., based on UE capability/identity),,
(Noh: See para[0085] for “search spaces” may be a UE specific search space. UE specific search space is a function of UE identity (i.e., type of UE) which is UE-specifically defined. See para[0139] and Table-13, for “TCI states” configured for a UE, includes “QCL-information” that includes “a bandwidth part” (BWP) specifically for UE).
transmitting the signals to the UE via the one or more PDCCHs according to the determined one or more first policies.
(Noh: See para[0085] for “search spaces” may be a UE specific search space. UE may monitor “a UE specific search space” of a PDCCH to receive scheduling assignments.)
Although Noh teaches different UE receives various configurations that includes CORESET configuration (CORESET policy) based on UE capabilities reported and what cells UE can monitor on PDCCH (see para[0126]-[0127]) as well as TCI state assignment rules and different priority rules applied to UE by BS and based on capability of UEs (see para[0181]-[0188], however, it does not explicitly disclose that different UEs (e.g., UE1, UE2, UE3, etc.) are configured with different and separate CORESET monitoring configurations (i.e., monitoring policies) due to, or based on, UE capability/type, as understood by:
wherein at least one of the one or more first policies for the first type of UE is different from one or more second policies for a second type of UE; and wherein one of he one or more first policies comprises a control resource set (CORESET) policy for monitoring a lower quantity of CORESETs or search space sets per BWP based on the first type of UE for the one or more PDCCCHs than under one or more second policies for the second type of UE; and
However, in a similar field, Grant, in para[0021] teaches that various number of CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for each UE, however, UE-2 only needs to monitor both CORESET2 & CORESET3, but UE-3, on the other hand, shall monitor all four CORESETs (i.e., monitoring policies) to get its PDCCH, and the reason for this, is due to the “UE capability” (UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Noh teaches techniques wherein different “TCI state assignment rules” and different “priority rules” (i.e., one or more first policies), may be applied to various UE(s) by BS, based on capabilities of UE(s) received, wherein “TCI states” configured for a UE, includes “QCL-information” that includes “a bandwidth part” (BWP) (Noh: See para[0139] and para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have includes the teachings of Grant, with the teachings of Noh, in order to benefit from the enhanced techniques wherein different UE(s) are assigned different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) that are specifically based on UE capability (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Noh in view of Grant do not explicitly disclose a single configured CORESET for UE, may have “multiple search spaces” in such CORESET, and wherein such “multiple search spaces” of the same CORESET (i.e., within a CORESET) overlap one another in time domain, or, multiple configured CORESET(s) for UE, each having one or more “search spaces”, wherein their respective “search spaces” can overlap in time-domain, and wherein search spaces of such one or more CORESET(s) are identified as certain resources in time-domain that specifically overlap in the time-domain, as alternatively understood by:
and, wherein a CORESET configuration in accordance with the CORESET policy defines restrictions (i.e., CORESET is restricted to be for a Carrier or BWP) on how “search space” set occasions (i.e., “search space1” & “search space2”) overlap in a time-domain within a CORESET (i.e., same CORESET having one or more “search spaces” that overlap in time-domain) and between different CORESETs (i.e., “search spaces” of CORESET1 & CORESET2 overlap in time-domain)
However, in a similar field, WANG in para[0102] teaches that a base station, for a carrier or a BWP can configure one or more CORESETs for a UE (i.e., defined CORESET is restricted to a BWP/Carrier) or configured “search spaces” corresponding to the same one or more CORESETs, may all be overlapped in time domain (for example, OFDM symbols) or overlapped in frequency domain (for example, RBs or sub-carriers). For example, CORESET1 occupies first to tenth PRBs, and CORESET2 occupies the sixth to twentieth PRBs in bandwidth, (6th – 10th PRB overlap) and as such CORESETs and their “search spaces”, such as “search space1” and “search space2”, is understood to identify or indicate the PRBs wherein the “search space” of the same CORESET or “search spaces” of different CORESETs overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included the teachings of Wang, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant, in order to benefit from the enhancements of having different configured search spaces corresponding to a one or more CORESETs, including identified physical resource blocks (PRBs) that can be determined by UE if such “search spaces” corresponding to one or more CORESETs overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Claim 21. The method of claim 20, wherein the one or more first policies further include, in addition to the CORESET policy, at least one of:
a blind decoding (BD) policy,
(Noh: See para[0182] if TCI state “search spaces” overlap, then UE performs blind decoding on search spaces)
a control channel element (CCE) policy,
( Noh: See para[0172], the ‘priority rule’ may be configured such that priorities of search spaces are determined, (1) in an ascending (descending) order of search space IDs, (2) in an ascending (descending) order of monitoring slot level periods (in an ascending (descending) order of slot offsets in the case of the same period), (3) according to timings of monitoring symbols in slots, (4) in an ascending (descending) order of the numbers of monitoring symbols in slots, (5) in an descending (ascending) order of maximum aggregation levels, (6) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a maximum value of the number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level, or (7) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a total number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level)
an aggregation level (AL) policy, or
( Noh: See para[0172], the ‘priority rule’ may be configured such that priorities of search spaces are determined, (1) in an ascending (descending) order of search space IDs, (2) in an ascending (descending) order of monitoring slot level periods (in an ascending (descending) order of slot offsets in the case of the same period), (3) according to timings of monitoring symbols in slots, (4) in an ascending (descending) order of the numbers of monitoring symbols in slots, (5) in an descending (ascending) order of maximum aggregation levels, (6) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a maximum value of the number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level, or (7) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a total number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level)
a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state policy.
(Noh: See para[0166] for “TCI state assignment rules” may assign “TCI states” to respective “search spaces”)
Claim 29. The method of claim 20, wherein the CORESET policy includes configuring at most: a single CORESET per BWP; a single common search space set per BWP; and a single UE-specific search space set per BWP.
(Noh: See para[0178], TCI states corresponding to CORESET (i.e., CORESEST per BWP) in ascending order of search space IDs. When two or more search spaces to which TCI states are assigned overlap, then the BS and UE attempt to detect search space having shortest or longest monitoring cycle)
Claim 30. The method of claim 20, wherein:
the CORESET policy includes not allowing a search space set occasion to fully overlap in time with another search space set occasion from a same search space set or from different search space sets within a same CORESET; or
the CORESET policy includes not allowing a search space set occasion within a first CORESET to fully or partially overlap in time with another search space set occasion within a second CORESET; or
the CORESET policy includes allowing a search space set occasion for a first CORESET to fully overlap in time with the other search space set occasion for the second CORESET if the first CORESET and the second CORESET have a same frequency domain resource allocation and time domain symbol duration.
(Noh: See para[0229]-[0241] for TCI states for a CORESET are assigned to each search space, the search spaces assigned two or more TCI states my overlap in a specific monitoring occasions. The UE and BS can exclude a search space overlapping a RE/RB indicated by a resource.)
Claim 34. The method of claim 21, wherein the TCI state policy includes a number of active TCI states configured for monitoring the PDCCH being independent of a number of active TCI states configured for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) associated with the PDCCH.
(Noh: See para[0056] According to another example, a base station may configure a plurality of bandwidth parts for a UE for the purpose of supporting different numerologies. For example, to support data transmission/reception using a subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz and a subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz for a certain UE, a base station may configure two bandwidth parts with subcarrier spacings of 15 kHz and 30 kHz. The different bandwidth parts may be frequency division multiplexed. When data is transmitted and received with a specific subcarrier spacing, a bandwidth part configured with the corresponding subcarrier spacing may be activated.)
Claim 35. The method of claim 21, wherein the TCI state policy includes allowing for a single active TCI state configured for monitoring the PDCCH.
(Noh: See para[0056] According to another example, a base station may configure a plurality of bandwidth parts for a UE for the purpose of supporting different numerologies. For example, to support data transmission/reception using a subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz and a subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz for a certain UE, a base station may configure two bandwidth parts with subcarrier spacings of 15 kHz and 30 kHz. The different bandwidth parts may be frequency division multiplexed. When data is transmitted and received with a specific subcarrier spacing, a bandwidth part configured with the corresponding subcarrier spacing may be activated.)
Claim 37. The method of claim 21, further comprising receiving, from the UE, a signal indicating the one or more first policies for the first type of UE.
(Noh: See Fig. 7 & 8, and para[0051] & para[0081] the base station (BS) may configure one or more plurality of search space sets for the UE, and transfer the configuration information to the UE using RRC signaling for “TCI state assignment rules” and different “priority rules” ( i.e., one or more first policies), that may be applied by BS to various UE(s), based on capabilities of UE(s) )
Claim 39. An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
One or more memories comprising instructions; and one or more processors configured, individual or in any combination, (Noh: See Fig. 19, a Base Station (BS) having a processor and memory) to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
determine one or more first policies for monitoring one or more physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) within one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs)
(Noh: See para[0052]-[0053] UE receives from BS, and via MIB, a “configuration information’ (i.e., one or more policies) of an initial BWP”, and “configuration information” (i.e., one or more policies) for a search space (e.g., search space #0) that UE monitors for the control resource (CORESET), wherein CORESET is a control area (i.e., control area within the BWP) in which, PDCCH is transmitted for UE to receive further information for initial access. See also, para[0181], different “TCI state assignment rules” and different “priority rules” ( i.e., one or more first policies), may be applied to various UE(s) by BS, based on capabilities of UE(s))
for a first type of user equipment (UE), (i.e., based on UE capability/identity),
(Noh: See para[0085] for “search spaces” may be a UE specific search space. UE specific search space is a function of UE identity (i.e., type of UE) which is UE-specifically defined. See para[0139] and Table-13, for “TCI states” configured for a UE, includes “QCL-information” that includes “a bandwidth part” (BWP) specifically for UE).
monitor for signals from a network entity via the one or more PDCCHs according to the determined one or more first policies; and
(Noh: See para[0085] for “search spaces” may be a UE specific search space. UE may monitor “a UE specific search space” of a PDCCH to receive scheduling assignments.)
Although Noh teaches different UE receives various configurations that includes CORESET configuration (CORESET policy) based on UE capabilities reported and what cells UE can monitor on PDCCH (see para[0126]-[0127]) as well as TCI state assignment rules and different priority rules applied to UE by BS and based on capability of UEs (see para[0181]-[0188], however, it does not explicitly disclose that different UEs (e.g., UE1, UE2, UE3, etc.) are configured with different and separate CORESET monitoring configurations (i.e., monitoring policies) due to, or based on, UE capability/type, as understood by:
wherein at least one of the one or more first policies for the first type of UE is different from one or more second policies for a second type of UE; and wherein one of he one or more first policies comprises a control resource set (CORESET) policy for monitoring a lower quantiy of CORESETs or search space sets per BWP based on the first type of UE for the one or more PDCCCHs than under one or more second policies for the second type of UE; and
However, in a similar field, Grant, in para[0021] teaches that various number of CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for each UE, however, UE-2 only needs to monitor both CORESET2 & CORESET3, but UE-3, on the other hand, shall monitor all four CORESETs (i.e., monitoring policies) to get its PDCCH, and the reason for this, is due to the “UE capability” (UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Noh teaches techniques wherein different “TCI state assignment rules” and different “priority rules” (i.e., one or more first policies), may be applied to various UE(s) by BS, based on capabilities of UE(s) received, wherein “TCI states” configured for a UE, includes “QCL-information” that includes “a bandwidth part” (BWP) (Noh: See para[0139] and para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have includes the teachings of Grant, with the teachings of Noh, in order to benefit from the enhanced techniques wherein different UE(s) are assigned different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) that are specifically based on UE capability (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Noh in view of Grant do not explicitly disclose a single configured CORESET for UE, may have “multiple search spaces” in such CORESET, and wherein such “multiple search spaces” of the same CORESET (i.e., within a CORESET) overlap one another in time domain, or, multiple configured CORESET(s) for UE, each having one or more “search spaces”, wherein their respective “search spaces” can overlap in time-domain, and wherein search spaces of such one or more CORESET(s) are identified as certain resources in time-domain that specifically overlap in the time-domain, as alternatively understood by:
and, wherein a CORESET configuration in accordance with the CORESET policy defines restrictions (i.e., CORESET is restricted to be for a Carrier or BWP) on how “search space” set occasions (i.e., “search space1” & “search space2”) overlap in a time-domain within a CORESET (i.e., same CORESET having one or more “search spaces” that overlap in time-domain) and between different CORESETs (i.e., “search spaces” of CORESET1 & CORESET2 overlap in time-domain)
However, in a similar field, WANG in para[0102] teaches that a base station, for a carrier or a BWP can configure one or more CORESETs for a UE (i.e., defined CORESET is restricted to a BWP/Carrier) or configured “search spaces” corresponding to the same one or more CORESETs, may all be overlapped in time domain (for example, OFDM symbols) or overlapped in frequency domain (for example, RBs or sub-carriers). For example, CORESET1 occupies first to tenth PRBs, and CORESET2 occupies the sixth to twentieth PRBs in bandwidth, (6th – 10th PRB overlap) and as such CORESETs and their “search spaces”, such as “search space1” and “search space2”, is understood to identify or indicate the PRBs wherein the “search space” of the same CORESET or “search spaces” of different CORESETs overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included the teachings of Wang, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant, in order to benefit from the enhancements of having different configured search spaces corresponding to a one or more CORESETs, including identified physical resource blocks (PRBs) that can be determined by UE if such “search spaces” corresponding to one or more CORESETs overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Claim 40. An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
One or more memories comprising instructions; and one or more processors configured, individual or in any combination, (Noh: See Fig. 19, a Base Station (BS) having a processor and memory) to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
determine one or more first policies for transmitting signals via one or more physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) within one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs)
(Noh: See para[0052]-[0053] UE receives from BS, and via MIB, a “configuration information’ (i.e., one or more policies) of an initial BWP”, and “configuration information” (i.e., one or more policies) for a search space (e.g., search space #0) that UE monitors for the control resource (CORESET), wherein CORESET is a control area (i.e., control area within the BWP) in which, PDCCH is transmitted for UE to receive further information for initial access. See also, para[0181], different “TCI state assignment rules” and different “priority rules” ( i.e., one or more first policies), may be applied to various UE(s) by BS, based on capabilities of UE(s))
for a first type of user equipment (UE), (i.e., based on UE capability/identity),
(Noh: See para[0085] for “search spaces” may be a UE specific search space. UE specific search space is a function of UE identity (i.e., type of UE) which is UE-specifically defined. See para[0139] and Table-13, for “TCI states” configured for a UE, includes “QCL-information” that includes “a bandwidth part” (BWP) specifically for UE).
transmit the signals to the UE via the one or more PDCCHs according to the determined one or more first policies;
(Noh: See Fig. 7 & 8, and para[0051] & para[0081] the base station (BS) may configure one or more plurality of search space sets for the UE, and transfer the configuration information to the UE using RRC signaling for “TCI state assignment rules” and different “priority rules” ( i.e., one or more first policies), that may be applied by BS to various UE(s), based on capabilities of UE(s) )
Although Noh teaches different UE receives various configurations that includes CORESET configuration (CORESET policy) based on UE capabilities reported and what cells UE can monitor on PDCCH (see para[0126]-[0127]) as well as TCI state assignment rules and different priority rules applied to UE by BS and based on capability of UEs (see para[0181]-[0188], however, it does not explicitly disclose that different UEs (e.g., UE1, UE2, UE3, etc.) are configured with different and separate CORESET monitoring configurations (i.e., monitoring policies) due to, or based on, UE capability/type, as understood by:
wherein at least one of the one or more first policies for the first type of UE is different from one or more second policies for a second type of UE, and wherein one of the one or more first policies comprises a control resource set (CORESET) policy for monitoring a lower quantity of CORESETs or search space sets per BWP based on the first type of UE for the one or more PDCCCHs than under one or more second policies for the second type of UE; and
However, in a similar field, Grant, in para[0021] teaches that various number of CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for each UE, however, UE-2 only needs to monitor both CORESET2 & CORESET3, but UE-3, on the other hand, shall monitor all four CORESETs (i.e., monitoring policies) to get its PDCCH, and the reason for this, is due to the “UE capability” (UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Noh teaches techniques wherein different “TCI state assignment rules” and different “priority rules” (i.e., one or more first policies), may be applied to various UE(s) by BS, based on capabilities of UE(s) received, wherein “TCI states” configured for a UE, includes “QCL-information” that includes “a bandwidth part” (BWP) (Noh: See para[0139] and para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have includes the teachings of Grant, with the teachings of Noh, in order to benefit from the enhanced techniques wherein different UE(s) are assigned different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) that are specifically based on UE capability (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Noh in view of Grant do not explicitly disclose a single configured CORESET for UE, may have “multiple search spaces” in such CORESET, and wherein such “multiple search spaces” of the same CORESET (i.e., within a CORESET) overlap one another in time domain, or, multiple configured CORESET(s) for UE, each having one or more “search spaces”, wherein their respective “search spaces” can overlap in time-domain, and wherein search spaces of such one or more CORESET(s) are identified as certain resources in time-domain that specifically overlap in the time-domain, as alternatively understood by:
and, wherein a CORESET configuration in accordance with the CORESET policy defines restrictions (i.e., CORESET is restricted to be for a Carrier or BWP) on how “search space” set occasions (i.e., “search space1” & “search space2”) overlap in a time-domain within a CORESET (i.e., same CORESET having one or more “search spaces” that overlap in time-domain) and between different CORESETs (i.e., “search spaces” of CORESET1 & CORESET2 overlap in time-domain)
However, in a similar field, WANG in para[0102] teaches that a base station, for a carrier or a BWP can configure one or more CORESETs for a UE (i.e., defined CORESET is restricted to a BWP/Carrier) or configured “search spaces” corresponding to the same one or more CORESETs, may all be overlapped in time domain (for example, OFDM symbols) or overlapped in frequency domain (for example, RBs or sub-carriers). For example, CORESET1 occupies first to tenth PRBs, and CORESET2 occupies the sixth to twentieth PRBs in bandwidth, (6th – 10th PRB overlap) and as such CORESETs and their “search spaces”, such as “search space1” and “search space2”, is understood to identify or indicate the PRBs wherein the “search space” of the same CORESET or “search spaces” of different CORESETs overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included the teachings of Wang, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant, in order to benefit from the enhancements of having different configured search spaces corresponding to a one or more CORESETs, including identified physical resource blocks (PRBs) that can be determined by UE if such “search spaces” corresponding to one or more CORESETs overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Claim 45. The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the one or more first policies further include, in addition to the CORESET policy, at least one of:
a blind decoding (BD) policy,
(Noh: See para[0182] if TCI state “search spaces” overlap with one another, then UE performs blind decoding on those search spaces)
a control channel element (CCE) policy,
( Noh: See para[0172], the ‘priority rule’ may be configured such that priorities of search spaces are determined, (1) in an ascending (descending) order of search space IDs, (2) in an ascending (descending) order of monitoring slot level periods (in an ascending (descending) order of slot offsets in the case of the same period), (3) according to timings of monitoring symbols in slots, (4) in an ascending (descending) order of the numbers of monitoring symbols in slots, (5) in an descending (ascending) order of maximum aggregation levels, (6) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a maximum value of the number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level, or (7) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a total number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level)
an aggregation level (AL) policy, or
( Noh: See para[0172], the ‘priority rule’ may be configured such that priorities of search spaces are determined, (1) in an ascending (descending) order of search space IDs, (2) in an ascending (descending) order of monitoring slot level periods (in an ascending (descending) order of slot offsets in the case of the same period), (3) according to timings of monitoring symbols in slots, (4) in an ascending (descending) order of the numbers of monitoring symbols in slots, (5) in an descending (ascending) order of maximum aggregation levels, (6) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a maximum value of the number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level, or (7) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a total number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level)
a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state policy.
(Noh: See para[0166] for “TCI state assignment rules” may assign “TCI states” to respective “search spaces”)
Claim 47. The apparatus of claim 40, wherein the one or more first policies further include in addition to the COREST policy, at least one of:
a blind decoding (BD) policy,
(Noh: See para[0182] if TCI state “search spaces” overlap with one another, then UE performs blind decoding on those search spaces)
a control resource set (CORESET) policy,
(Noh: See para[0178], TCI states corresponding to CORESET in ascending order of search space IDs. When two or more search spaces to which TCI states are assigned overlap, then the BS and UE attempt to detect search space having shortest or longest monitoring cycle)
an aggregation level (AL) policy, or
( Noh: See para[0172], the ‘priority rule’ may be configured such that priorities of search spaces are determined, (1) in an ascending (descending) order of search space IDs, (2) in an ascending (descending) order of monitoring slot level periods (in an ascending (descending) order of slot offsets in the case of the same period), (3) according to timings of monitoring symbols in slots, (4) in an ascending (descending) order of the numbers of monitoring symbols in slots, (5) in an descending (ascending) order of maximum aggregation levels, (6) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a maximum value of the number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level, or (7) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a total number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level)
a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state policy.
(Noh: See para[0166] for “TCI state assignment rules” may assign “TCI states” to respective “search spaces”)
5. Claims 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 22, 23, 24, 26, 27, 46, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210314927 A1 to Noh et al., (hereinafter Noh) in view of US 20220368489 A1 to Grant et al., (hereinafter Grant), US 20190103943 A1 issued to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang), and in further view of US 20210119728 A1 to Nunome et al., (hereinafter Nunome)
Claim 3. Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches the method of claim 2, wherein:
the AL policy includes a first minimum AL that is greater than a second minimum AL under the one or more second policies for the second type of UE.
( Noh: See para[0172], the ‘priority rule’ may be configured such that priorities of search spaces are determined, (1) in an ascending (descending) order of search space IDs, (2) in an ascending (descending) order of monitoring slot level periods (in an ascending (descending) order of slot offsets in the case of the same period), (3) according to timings of monitoring symbols in slots, (4) in an ascending (descending) order of the numbers of monitoring symbols in slots, (5) in an descending (ascending) order of maximum aggregation levels, (6) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a maximum value of the number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level, or (7) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a total number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level)
Although Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches BD, SCS, CCEs, and monitoring search spaces including PDCCH, however, they do not explicitly disclose that a relationship exist between BD, CCEs, and SCS in various terminals, as understood by:
the BD policy includes a lower maximum of BDs for a subcarrier spacing (SCS) than under the one or more second policies for the second type of UE;
the CCE policy includes monitoring fewer CCEs for an SCS than under the one or more second policies for the second type of UE;
However, in a similar field, Nunome in para[0054]-[0055] teaches in a terminal, the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) and the maximum number of CCEs depends on SCS, wherein if the SCS increases, then the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) and the maximum number of CCEs increases as well, and vice versa.
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Nunome teaches various terminal communication methods, including the concept of maximum number of Blind Decoding depending on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included various other terminal communication methods, as taught by Nunome, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant and Wang, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an ability to be able to set the maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs being determined in accordance with subcarrier spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
Claim 4. Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches the method of claim 3, however, it does not explicitly suggest that maximum number of blind decoding are based on the Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) and varies based on SCS, as understood by:
wherein:
the BD policy includes a maximum number of BDs in a time-domain resource unit per SCS; the maximum number of BDs for a particular SCS provides a base maximum number of BDs; and the maximum number of BDs for another SCS is determined by reducing the base maximum number of BDs by a factor associated with the other SCS.
However, in a similar field, Nunome, in para[0054] teaches that the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) depends on SCS, wherein if SCS is 15Khz, then DB is 44 per slot, and if SCS is 30 KHz, then the BD is 72 per slot. See also Fig. 7 and para[0021] that teaches maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs are based on the SCS of a scheduling CC.
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Nunome teaches various terminal communication methods, including the concept of maximum number of Blind Decoding depending on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included various other terminal communication methods, as taught by Nunome, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant and Wang, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an ability to be able to set the maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs being determined in accordance with subcarrier spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
Claim 5. Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches the method of claim 3, however, it does not explicitly suggest that maximum number of blind decoding are based on the Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) and varies based on SCS, as understood by:
wherein: the BD policy includes a maximum number of BDs in a time-domain resource unit per SCS; the maximum number of BDs per SCS includes a first maximum number of BDs for one or more common search spaces and a second maximum number of BDs for one or more UE-specific search spaces; the second maximum number of BDs for a particular SCS provides a base maximum number of BDs; and the second maximum number of BDs for another SCS is determined by reducing the base maximum number of BDs by a factor associated with the other SCS.
However, in a similar field, Nunome, in para[0054] teaches that the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) depends on SCS, wherein if SCS is 15Khz, then DB is 44 per slot, and if SCS is 30 KHz, then the BD is 72 per slot. See also Fig. 7 and para[0021] that teaches maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs are based on the SCS of a scheduling CC.
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Nunome teaches various terminal communication methods, including the concept of maximum number of Blind Decoding depending on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included various other terminal communication methods, as taught by Nunome, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant and Wang, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an ability to be able to set the maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs being determined in accordance with subcarrier spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
Claim 7. Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches the method of claim 3, however, it does not explicitly suggest that maximum number of CCEs are based on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) and varies based on SCS, as understood by:
wherein: the CCE policy includes a maximum number of CCEs in a time-domain resource unit per SCS; the maximum number of CCEs for a particular SCS provides a base maximum number of CCEs; and the maximum number of CCEs for another SCS is determined by reducing the base maximum number of CCEs by a factor associated with the other SCS.
However, in a similar field, Nunome, in para[0054] teaches that the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) depends on SCS, wherein if SCS is 15Khz, then DB is 44 per slot, and if SCS is 30 KHz, then the BD is 72 per slot. See also Fig. 7 and para[0021] that teaches maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs are based on the SCS of a scheduling CC.
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Nunome teaches various terminal communication methods, including the concept of maximum number of Blind Decoding depending on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included various other terminal communication methods, as taught by Nunome, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant and Wang, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an ability to be able to set the maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs being determined in accordance with subcarrier spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
Claim 8. Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches the method of claim 3, however, it does not explicitly suggest that maximum number of CCEs are based on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) and varies based on SCS, as understood by:
wherein: the CCE policy includes a maximum number of CCEs in a time-domain resource unit per SCS; the maximum number of CCEs per SCS includes a first maximum number of CCEs for one or more common search spaces and a second maximum number of CCEs for one or more UE-specific search spaces; the second maximum number of CCEs for a particular SCS provides a base maximum number of BDs; and the second maximum number of CCEs for another SCS is determined by reducing the base maximum number of CCEs by a factor associated with the other SCS.
However, in a similar field, Nunome, in para[0054] teaches that the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) depends on SCS, wherein if SCS is 15Khz, then DB is 44 per slot, and if SCS is 30 KHz, then the BD is 72 per slot. See also Fig. 7 and para[0021] that teaches maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs are based on the SCS of a scheduling CC.
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Nunome teaches various terminal communication methods, including the concept of maximum number of Blind Decoding depending on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included various other terminal communication methods, as taught by Nunome, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant and Wang, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an ability to be able to set the maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs being determined in accordance with subcarrier spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
Claim 22. Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches the method of claim 21, wherein:
the AL policy includes a first minimum AL that is greater than a second minimum AL under the one or more second policies for the second type of UE.
( Noh: See para[0172], the ‘priority rule’ may be configured such that priorities of search spaces are determined, (1) in an ascending (descending) order of search space IDs, (2) in an ascending (descending) order of monitoring slot level periods (in an ascending (descending) order of slot offsets in the case of the same period), (3) according to timings of monitoring symbols in slots, (4) in an ascending (descending) order of the numbers of monitoring symbols in slots, (5) in an descending (ascending) order of maximum aggregation levels, (6) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a maximum value of the number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level, or (7) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a total number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level)
Although Noh in view of Grant teaches BD, SCS, CCEs, and monitoring search spaces including PDCCH, however, they do not explicitly disclose that a relationship exist between BD, CCEs, and SCS in various terminals, as understood by:
the BD policy includes a lower maximum of BDs for a subcarrier spacing (SCS) than under the one or more second policies for the second type of UE;
the CCE policy includes monitoring fewer CCEs for an SCS than under the one or more second policies for the second type of UE;
However, in a similar field, Nunome in para[0054]-[0055] teaches in a terminal, the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) and the maximum number of CCEs depends on SCS, wherein if the SCS increases, then the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) and the maximum number of CCEs increases as well, and vice versa.
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Nunome teaches various terminal communication methods, including the concept of maximum number of Blind Decoding depending on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included various other terminal communication methods, as taught by Nunome, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant and Wang, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an ability to be able to set the maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs being determined in accordance with subcarrier spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
Claim 23. Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches the method of claim 22, however, it does not explicitly suggest that maximum number of blind decoding are based on the Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) and varies based on SCS, as understood by:
wherein: the BD policy includes a maximum number of BDs in a time-domain resource unit per SCS; the maximum number of BDs for a particular SCS provides a base maximum number of BDs; and the maximum number of BDs for another SCS is determined by reducing the base maximum number of BDs by a factor associated with the other SCS.
wherein:
the BD policy includes a maximum number of BDs in a time-domain resource unit per SCS; the maximum number of BDs for a particular SCS provides a base maximum number of BDs; and the maximum number of BDs for another SCS is determined by reducing the base maximum number of BDs by a factor associated with the other SCS.
However, in a similar field, Nunome, in para[0054] teaches that the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) depends on SCS, wherein if SCS is 15Khz, then DB is 44 per slot, and if SCS is 30 KHz, then the BD is 72 per slot. See also Fig. 7 and para[0021] that teaches maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs are based on the SCS of a scheduling CC.
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Nunome teaches various terminal communication methods, including the concept of maximum number of Blind Decoding depending on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included various other terminal communication methods, as taught by Nunome, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant and Wang, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an ability to be able to set the maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs being determined in accordance with subcarrier spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
Claim 24. Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches the method of claim 22, it does not explicitly suggest that maximum number of blind decoding are based on the Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) and varies based on SCS, as understood by:
wherein: the BD policy includes a maximum number of BDs in a time-domain resource unit per SCS; the maximum number of BDs per SCS includes a first maximum number of BDs for one or more common search spaces and a second maximum number of BDs for one or more UE-specific search spaces; the second maximum number of BDs for a particular SCS provides a base maximum number of BDs; and the second maximum number of BDs for another SCS is determined by reducing the base maximum number of BDs by a factor associated with the other SCS.
However, in a similar field, Nunome, in para[0054] teaches that the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) depends on SCS, wherein if SCS is 15Khz, then DB is 44 per slot, and if SCS is 30 KHz, then the BD is 72 per slot. See also Fig. 7 and para[0021] that teaches maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs are based on the SCS of a scheduling CC.
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Nunome teaches various terminal communication methods, including the concept of maximum number of Blind Decoding depending on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included various other terminal communication methods, as taught by Nunome, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant and Wang, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an ability to be able to set the maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs being determined in accordance with subcarrier spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
Claim 26. Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches the method of claim 22, however, it does not explicitly suggest that maximum number of CCEs are based on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) and varies based on SCS, as understood by:
wherein: the CCE policy includes a maximum number of CCEs in a time-domain resource unit per SCS; the maximum number of CCEs for a particular SCS provides a base maximum number of CCEs; and the maximum number of CCEs for another SCS is determined by reducing the base maximum number of CCEs by a factor associated with the other SCS.
However, in a similar field, Nunome, in para[0054] teaches that the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) depends on SCS, wherein if SCS is 15Khz, then DB is 44 per slot, and if SCS is 30 KHz, then the BD is 72 per slot. See also Fig. 7 and para[0021] that teaches maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs are based on the SCS of a scheduling CC.
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Nunome teaches various terminal communication methods, including the concept of maximum number of Blind Decoding depending on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included various other terminal communication methods, as taught by Nunome, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant and Wang, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an ability to be able to set the maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs being determined in accordance with subcarrier spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
Claim 27. Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches the method of claim 22, however, it does not explicitly suggest that maximum number of CCEs are based on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) and varies based on SCS, as understood by:
wherein: the CCE policy includes a maximum number of CCEs in a time-domain resource unit per SCS; the maximum number of CCEs per SCS includes a first maximum number of CCEs for one or more common search spaces and a second maximum number of CCEs for one or more UE-specific search spaces; the second maximum number of CCEs for a particular SCS provides a base maximum number of BDs; and the second maximum number of CCEs for another SCS is determined by reducing the base maximum number of CCEs by a factor associated with the other SCS.
However, in a similar field, Nunome, in para[0054] teaches that the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) depends on SCS, wherein if SCS is 15Khz, then DB is 44 per slot, and if SCS is 30 KHz, then the BD is 72 per slot. See also Fig. 7 and para[0021] that teaches maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs are based on the SCS of a scheduling CC.
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Nunome teaches various terminal communication methods, including the concept of maximum number of Blind Decoding depending on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included various other terminal communication methods, as taught by Nunome, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant and Wang, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an ability to be able to set the maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs being determined in accordance with subcarrier spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
Claim 46. Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 45, wherein:
the AL policy includes a first minimum AL that is greater than a second minimum AL under the one or more second policies for the second type of UE.
( Noh: See para[0172], the ‘priority rule’ may be configured such that priorities of search spaces are determined, (1) in an ascending (descending) order of search space IDs, (2) in an ascending (descending) order of monitoring slot level periods (in an ascending (descending) order of slot offsets in the case of the same period), (3) according to timings of monitoring symbols in slots, (4) in an ascending (descending) order of the numbers of monitoring symbols in slots, (5) in an descending (ascending) order of maximum aggregation levels, (6) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a maximum value of the number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level, or (7) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a total number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level)
Although Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches BD, SCS, CCEs, and monitoring search spaces including PDCCH, however, they do not explicitly disclose that a relationship exist between BD, CCEs, and SCS in various terminals, as understood by:
the BD policy includes a lower maximum of BDs for a subcarrier spacing (SCS) than under the one or more second policies for the second type of UE;
the CCE policy includes monitoring fewer CCEs for an SCS than under the one or more second policies for the second type of UE;
However, in a similar field, Nunome in para[0054]-[0055] teaches in a terminal, the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) and the maximum number of CCEs depends on SCS, wherein if the SCS increases, then the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) and the maximum number of CCEs increases as well, and vice versa.
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Nunome teaches various terminal communication methods, including the concept of maximum number of Blind Decoding depending on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included various other terminal communication methods, as taught by Nunome, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant and Wang, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an ability to be able to set the maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs being determined in accordance with subcarrier spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
Claim 48. Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 47, wherein:
the AL policy includes a first minimum AL that is greater than a second minimum AL under the one or more second policies for the second type of UE.
( Noh: See para[0172], the ‘priority rule’ may be configured such that priorities of search spaces are determined, (1) in an ascending (descending) order of search space IDs, (2) in an ascending (descending) order of monitoring slot level periods (in an ascending (descending) order of slot offsets in the case of the same period), (3) according to timings of monitoring symbols in slots, (4) in an ascending (descending) order of the numbers of monitoring symbols in slots, (5) in an descending (ascending) order of maximum aggregation levels, (6) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a maximum value of the number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level, or (7) in a descending (ascending) order with respect to a total number of PDCCH candidates (the number of CCEs) for each aggregation level)
Although Noh in view of Grant and Wang teaches BD, SCS, CCEs, and monitoring search spaces including PDCCH, however, they do not explicitly disclose that a relationship exist between BD, CCEs, and SCS in various terminals, as understood by:
the BD policy includes a lower maximum of BDs for a subcarrier spacing (SCS) than under the one or more second policies for the second type of UE;
the CCE policy includes monitoring fewer CCEs for an SCS than under the one or more second policies for the second type of UE;
However, in a similar field, Nunome in para[0054]-[0055] teaches in a terminal, the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) and the maximum number of CCEs depends on SCS, wherein if the SCS increases, then the maximum number of blind decoding (BD) and the maximum number of CCEs increases as well, and vice versa.
Noh teaches various communication techniques, wherein Base Station (BS) can configure a UE with different TCI state assignment rules and priority rules (Noh: See para[0181])
Grant, teaches different CORESET monitoring (i.e., monitoring policies) can be configured for different UE(s), such as UE2 or UE3, due to their “capabilities” (i.e., UE monitoring capability type). (Grant: See para[0021])
Wang teaches uplink transmission methods wherein configured CORESETS or configured “search spaces” for the same CORESET or different CORESETS, are identified via PRBs that overlap in time-domain. (Wang: See para[0102])
Nunome teaches various terminal communication methods, including the concept of maximum number of Blind Decoding depending on Subcarrier Spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included various other terminal communication methods, as taught by Nunome, with the teachings of Noh in view of Grant and Wang, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an ability to be able to set the maximum number of blind decoding and maximum number of CCEs being determined in accordance with subcarrier spacing (SCS). (Nunome: See para[0054])
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477