DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants’ remarks, filed August 3, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21, 30, 39 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhou et al. (US 2019/0306909).
Zheng, which also teaches the use of IABs, further teaches a transmitter to transmit, to a second node, a media access control (MAC) message indicating a range of uplink transmission power parameters applicable to resources in a time domain and a frequency domain (time-frequency domain (Section 0063), uplink power control parameters (Section 0072), power control parameter configured by MAC CE (Section 0092)), and the MAC message comprises: a first indication of the range of uplink transmission power parameters (Section 0072, indication of uplink transmission power parameters, power control parameter configured by MAC CE (Section 0092)).
Yang, which also teaches uplink power control parameters and CDMA, teaches the known technique of uplink transmission power parameters comprising a power spectral density (PSD) value range (Section 0044, PSD value based on uplink power control parameters, said uplink power control parameters values can change thus rendering different power control parameters and thus different PDS values) and uplink power control parameters comprising an offset value (Section 0021, offset control parameter).
Zhou teaches which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches an indication of the resources in the frequency domain (Section 0232, resources in the frequency domain) and an indication of uplink beam indices associated with resources in the spatial domain (Section 0320, PUCCH resources comprise beam indexes associated with transmission beams of a wireless device, spatial domain is supported (Section 0327) thus rendering resources in the spatial domain).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 22, 24, 29, 30, 31, 33, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novlan et al. (US 2019/0349079) in view of Zheng et al. (US 2022/0007297) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2019/0306909) in view of Yang et al. (US 2012/0087337) in view of Yuan et al. (US 2021/0195618) and in further view of Choi et al. (US 2021/0274449)
Regarding Claim 21, Novlan teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, at a first node, a resource configuration indicating the following in a single message: an identifier (ID) of the resource configuration (Figure 1, first node (IAB node 2 (106), parent node (IAB node 1 (104)) can schedule resources for IAB node 2 via RRC signalling (See Sections 0023, 0037), there would need to be some kind of indication in the RRC signalling that indicates to IAB node 2 that said signalling is resource scheduling, which reads on an ID, the RRC signaling is the single message); wherein the resources in the time domain are indicated by the resource configuration (Section 0078, multi-slot scheduling, which is a time domain characteristic), and the control message comprises: the ID of the resource configuration (Section 0023, request for dynamic frame structure coordination (DFSC) which corresponds to resource scheduling, there would need to be some kind of indication in the signalling that indicates that said signalling is associated with resource scheduling, which reads on an ID).
Novlan does not teach a single message comprising a plurality of slots and a periodicity; to transmit, to a second node, a media access control (MAC) message indicating a range of uplink transmission power parameters applicable to resources in a time domain, a frequency domain, and a spatial domain, wherein the range of uplink transmission power parameters comprises an offset value, and the MAC message comprises: the ID of the resource configuration; a first indication of uplink transmission power parameters comprising a power spectral density (PSD) value range; a second indication of the resources in the frequency domain; and a third indication of uplink beam indices associated with the resources in the spatial domain.
Zheng, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches a transmitter to transmit, to a second node, a MAC message indicating a range of uplink transmission power parameters applicable to resources in a time domain and a frequency domain (time-frequency domain (Section 0063), uplink power control parameters (Section 0072), power control parameter configured by MAC CE (Section 0092)), and the MAC message comprises: a first indication of the range of uplink transmission power parameters (Section 0072, indication of uplink transmission power parameters, power control parameter configured by MAC CE (Section 0092)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan with the above features of Zheng for the purpose of preventing the signal of a user equipment from being blocked as taught by Zheng.
Novlan in view of Zheng does not teach an indication of the resources in the frequency domain and an indication of uplink beam indices associated with resources in the spatial domain.
Zhou, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches an indication of the resources in the frequency domain (Section 0232, resources in the frequency domain) and an indication of uplink beam indices associated with resources in the spatial domain (Section 0320, PUCCH resources comprise beam indexes associated with transmission beams of a wireless device, spatial domain is supported (Section 0327) thus rendering resources in the spatial domain).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Novlan in view of Zheng with the above features of Zhou for the purpose improving wireless communications by increasing the likelihood for a successful beam failure recovery procedure, without adversely increasing signaling overhead and/or decreasing spectral efficiency as taught by Zhou.
Novlan in view of Zheng and in further view of Zhou does not teach uplink transmission power parameters comprising a power spectral density (PSD) value range and wherein the range of uplink transmission power parameters comprises an offset value.
Yang, which also teaches uplink power control parameters and CDMA, teaches the known technique of uplink transmission power parameters comprising a power spectral density (PSD) value (Section 0044, PSD value based on uplink power control parameters, said uplink power control parameters values can change thus rendering different power control parameters and thus different PDS values) and uplink power control parameters comprising an offset value (Section 0021, offset control parameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Novlan in view of Zheng and in further view of Zhou with the above features of Yang for the purpose of the determination and/or analysis of bandwidth usage and noise characterization, which is an improved process and a benefit of PSD.
Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang does not teach RRC signaling comprising a plurality of slots and a periodicity
Yuan, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches RRC signaling comprising a plurality of slots and a periodicity (Section 0084, Table 1, shows RRC configuration, which is RRC signaling, comprising periodicity including slot format, which is an indication of a plurality of slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang with the above features of Yuan for the purpose of providing efficient multiplexing of access/backhaul traffic across multiple hops as taught by Yuan.
Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang and in further view of Yuan does not teach transmission power parameters applicable to resources in a spatial domain.
Choi, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches power parameters applicable to resources in a spatial domain (Section 0058, power control scheme renders power parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang and in further view of Yuan with the above features of Choi for the purpose of seamlessly providing multiple services derived from the convergence of 5G communications technology and Internet of Things (IoT) technology as taught by Choi.
Regarding Claim 30, Novlan teaches a method comprising: receiving, at a first node, a resource configuration indicating the following in a single message: an identifier (ID) of the resource configuration (Figure 1, first node (IAB node 2 (106), parent node (IAB node 1 (104)) can schedule resources for IAB node 2 via RRC signalling (See Sections 0023, 0037), there would need to be some kind of indication in the RRC signalling that indicates to IAB node 2 that said signalling is resource scheduling, which reads on an ID, the RRC signaling is the single message); wherein the resources in the time domain are indicated by the resource configuration (Section 0078, multi-slot scheduling, which is a time domain characteristic), and the control message comprises: the ID of the resource configuration (Section 0023, request for dynamic frame structure coordination (DFSC) which corresponds to resource scheduling, there would need to be some kind of indication in the signalling that indicates that said signalling is associated with resource scheduling, which reads on an ID).
Novlan does not teach a single message comprising a plurality of slots and a periodicity; to transmit, to a second node, a media access control (MAC) message indicating a range of uplink transmission power parameters applicable to resources in a time domain, a frequency domain, and a spatial domain, wherein the range of uplink transmission power parameters comprises an offset value, and the MAC message comprises: the ID of the resource configuration; a first indication of uplink transmission power parameters comprising a power spectral density (PSD) value range; a second indication of the resources in the frequency domain; and a third indication of uplink beam indices associated with the resources in the spatial domain.
Zheng, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches a transmitter to transmit, to a second node, a MAC message indicating a range of uplink transmission power parameters applicable to resources in a time domain and a frequency domain (time-frequency domain (Section 0063), uplink power control parameters (Section 0072), power control parameter configured by MAC CE (Section 0092)), and the MAC message comprises: a first indication of the range of uplink transmission power parameters (Section 0072, indication of uplink transmission power parameters, power control parameter configured by MAC CE (Section 0092)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan with the above features of Zheng for the purpose of preventing the signal of a user equipment from being blocked as taught by Zheng.
Novlan in view of Zheng does not teach an indication of the resources in the frequency domain and an indication of uplink beam indices associated with resources in the spatial domain.
Zhou, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches an indication of the resources in the frequency domain (Section 0232, resources in the frequency domain) and an indication of uplink beam indices associated with resources in the spatial domain (Section 0320, PUCCH resources comprise beam indexes associated with transmission beams of a wireless device, spatial domain is supported (Section 0327) thus rendering resources in the spatial domain).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Novlan in view of Zheng with the above features of Zhou for the purpose improving wireless communications by increasing the likelihood for a successful beam failure recovery procedure, without adversely increasing signaling overhead and/or decreasing spectral efficiency as taught by Zhou.
Novlan in view of Zheng and in further view of Zhou does not teach uplink transmission power parameters comprising a power spectral density (PSD) value range and wherein the range of uplink transmission power parameters comprises an offset value.
Yang, which also teaches uplink power control parameters and CDMA, teaches the known technique of uplink transmission power parameters comprising a power spectral density (PSD) value (Section 0044, PSD value based on uplink power control parameters, said uplink power control parameters values can change thus rendering different power control parameters and thus different PDS values) and uplink power control parameters comprising an offset value (Section 0021, offset control parameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Novlan in view of Zheng and in further view of Zhou with the above features of Yang for the purpose of the determination and/or analysis of bandwidth usage and noise characterization, which is an improved process and a benefit of PSD.
Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang does not teach RRC signaling comprising a plurality of slots and a periodicity
Yuan, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches RRC signaling comprising a plurality of slots and a periodicity (Section 0084, Table 1, shows RRC configuration, which is RRC signaling, comprising periodicity including slot format, which is an indication of a plurality of slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang with the above features of Yuan for the purpose of providing efficient multiplexing of access/backhaul traffic across multiple hops as taught by Yuan.
Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang and in further view of Yuan does not teach transmission power parameters applicable to resources in a spatial domain.
Choi, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches power parameters applicable to resources in a spatial domain (Section 0058, power control scheme renders power parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang and in further view of Yuan with the above features of Choi for the purpose of seamlessly providing multiple services derived from the convergence of 5G communications technology and Internet of Things (IoT) technology as taught by Choi.
Regarding Claims 22, 31, Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 21, 30. Novlan further teaches wherein the first node is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, and the second node is a parent node of the first node (Figure 1, Section 0023, (IAB node 2 (106), parent node (IAB node 1 (104)).
Regarding Claims 24, 33, Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 21, 30. Novlan further teaches wherein the resource configuration is indicated in a radio resource control (RRC) information element (IE) (Section 0037, RRC control signalling comprises RRC IEs).
Regarding Claims 29, 38, Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 21, 30. Novlan further teaches wherein the first node is an IAB node and: the second node is a parent node of the first node; the first node is a child node of the second node; or a combination thereof (Figure 1, parent node (IAB node 1 (104)) to IAB node 2 (106)).
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novlan et al. (US 2019/0349079) in view of Zheng et al. (US 2022/0007297) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2019/0306909) in view of Pan et al. (US 2020/0100298) in view of Yang et al. (US 2012/0087337) in view of Yuan et al. (US 2021/0195618) and in further view of Choi et al. (US 2021/0274449)
Regarding Claim 39, Novlan teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, at an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, from a radio resource control (RRC), a resource configuration indicating the following in a single message: an identifier (ID) of the resource configuration (Figure 1, first node (IAB node 2 (106), parent node (IAB node 1 (104)) can schedule resources for IAB node 2 via RRC signalling (See Sections 0023, 0037), there would need to be some kind of indication in the RRC signalling that indicates to IAB node 2 that said signalling is resource scheduling, which reads on an ID); a transmitter to transmit, to a parent node of the IAB node, a medium access control (MAC) message (Section 0060); wherein the resources in the time domain are indicated by the resource configuration (Section 0078, multi-slot scheduling, which is a time domain characteristic), and a control message comprises: the identifier (ID) of the resource configuration (Section 0023, request for dynamic frame structure coordination (DFSC) which corresponds to resource scheduling, there would need to be some kind of indication in the signalling that indicates that said signalling is associated with resource scheduling, which reads on an ID).
Novlan does not teach a single message comprising a plurality of slots and a periodicity; to transmit, to a parent node of the IAB node, a medium access control (MAC) message indicating a range of uplink transmission power parameters applicable to resources in a time domain, a frequency domain, and a spatial domain wherein the range of uplink transmission power parameters comprises an offset value, wherein the resources in the time domain are indicated by the resource configuration, and the MAC message comprises: the ID of the resource configuration; a first indication of uplink transmission power parameters comprising a power spectral density (PSD) value range; a second indication of the resources in the frequency domain; and a third indication of uplink beam indices associated with the resources of the spatial domain.
Zheng, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches a transmitter to transmit, to a second node, a MAC message indicating a range of uplink transmission power parameters applicable to resources in a time domain and a frequency domain (time-frequency domain (Section 0063), uplink power control parameters (Section 0072), power control parameter configured by MAC CE (Section 0092)), and the MAC message comprises: a first indication of the range of uplink transmission power parameters (Section 0072, indication of uplink transmission power parameters, power control parameter configured by MAC CE (Section 0092)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan with the above features of Zheng for the purpose of preventing the signal of a user equipment from being blocked as taught by Zheng.
Novlan in view of Zheng does not teach an indication of the resources in the frequency domain and an indication of uplink beam indices associated with resources in the spatial domain.
Zhou, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches an indication of the resources in the frequency domain (Section 0232, resources in the frequency domain) and an indication of uplink beam indices associated with resources in the spatial domain (Section 0320, PUCCH resources comprise beam indexes associated with transmission beams of a wireless device, spatial domain is supported (Section 0327) thus rendering resources in the spatial domain).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Novlan in view of Zheng with the above features of Zhou for the purpose improving wireless communications by increasing the likelihood for a successful beam failure recovery procedure, without adversely increasing signaling overhead and/or decreasing spectral efficiency as taught by Zhou.
Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Abedini does not teach an indication of CSI-RS indices.
Pan, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches an indication of CSI-RS indices (Section 0101, CSI-RS index comprises CSI-RS indices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Novlan in view of Zheng and in further view of Zhou with the above features of Pan for the purpose of providing a suitable random access for deployments comprising mobile and backhaul nodes as taught by Pan.
Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Pan does not teach uplink transmission power parameters comprising a power spectral density (PSD) value range and wherein the range of uplink transmission power parameters comprises an offset value.
Yang, which also teaches uplink power control parameters and CDMA, teaches the known technique of uplink transmission power parameters comprising a power spectral density (PSD) value range (Section 0044, PSD value based on uplink power control parameters, said uplink power control parameters values can change thus rendering different power control parameters and thus different PDS values) and uplink power control parameters comprising an offset value (Section 0021, offset control parameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Pan with the above features of Yang for the purpose of the determination and/or analysis of bandwidth usage and noise characterization, which is an improved process and a benefit of PSD.
Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Pan in view of Yang does not teach RRC signaling comprising a plurality of slots and a periodicity
Yuan, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches RRC signaling comprising a plurality of slots and a periodicity (Section 0084, Table 1, shows RRC configuration, which is RRC signaling, comprising periodicity including slot format, which is an indication of a plurality of slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Pan in view of Yang with the above features of Yuan for the purpose of providing efficient multiplexing of access/backhaul traffic across multiple hops as taught by Yuan.
Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Pan in view of Yang in view of Yuan does not teach transmission power parameters applicable to resources in a spatial domain.
Choi, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches power parameters applicable to resources in a spatial domain (Section 0058, power control scheme renders power parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Pan in view of Yang in view of Yuan with the above features of Choi for the purpose of seamlessly providing multiple services derived from the convergence of 5G communications technology and Internet of Things (IoT) technology as taught by Choi.
Claim(s) 25, 27, 34, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novlan et al. (US 2019/0349079) in view of Zheng et al. (US 2022/0007297) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2019/0306909) in view of Yang et al. (US 2012/0087337) in view of Yuan et al. (US 2021/0195618) in view of Choi et al. (US 2021/0274449), as applied to Claims 21, 30 set forth above, and further in view of Qi et al. (US 2020/0107362)
Regarding Claims 25, 34, Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 21, 30. Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi does not teach wherein the range of uplink transmission power parameters is in decibels.
Qi, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches wherein the range of uplink transmission power parameters is in decibels (Section 0072).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi with the above features of Qi for the purpose of making power control of IAB nodes more efficient as taught by Qi.
Regarding Claims 27, 36, Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 21, 30. Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi does not teach wherein the range of uplink transmission power parameters indicates a range of uplink transmission power values.
Qi, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches wherein the range of uplink transmission power parameters indicates a range of uplink transmission power values (Section 0072, decibel values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi with the above features of Qi for the purpose of making power control of IAB nodes more efficient as taught by Qi.
Claim(s) 26, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novlan et al. (US 2019/0349079) in view of Zheng et al. (US 2022/0007297) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2019/0306909) in view of Yang et al. (US 2012/0087337) in view of Yuan et al. (US 2021/0195618) in view of Choi et al. (US 2021/0274449), as applied to Claims 21, 30 set forth above, and further in view of Dortschy et al. (US 2022/0007309)
Regarding Claim 26, 35, Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 21, 30. Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi does not teach wherein the range of uplink transmission parameters comprises a maximum uplink transmission power.
Dortschy, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches wherein the range of uplink transmission parameters comprises a maximum uplink transmission power (See Sections 0012, 0013)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi with the above features of Dortschy for the purpose of facilitating improved IAB handling as taught by Dortschy.
Claim(s) 28, 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novlan et al. (US 2019/0349079) in view of Zheng et al. (US 2022/0007297) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2019/0306909) in view of Yang et al. (US 2012/0087337) in view of Yuan et al. (US 2021/0195618) in view of Choi et al. (US 2021/0274449), as applied to Claims 21, 30 set forth above, and further in view of Pan et al. (US 2020/0100298)
Regarding Claims 28, 37, Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 21, 30. Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi does not teach wherein each of the beam indices comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) index, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index, a quasi-collocation (QCL) parameter, or some combination thereof.
Pan, which also teaches the use of IABs, teaches wherein each of the beam indices comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) index, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index, a quasi-collocation (QCL) parameter, or some combination thereof (SSB index or CSI-RS index (See Sections 0099, 0101)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Novlan in view of Zheng in view of Zhou in view of Yang in view of Yuan and in further view of Choi with the above features of Pan for the purpose of providing suitable random-access procedures for mobile terminal and IAB deployments as taught by Pan.
Conclusion
/RAYMOND S DEAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
September 8, 2026