DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are currently pending in U.S. Patent Application No. 17/760,301 and an Office action on the merits follows.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 1-14 appear generally drafted in a non-standard format, wherein the pre-ambles for dependent claims are in some instances not themselves explicitly directed to any statutory category, instead featuring language “In accordance with…” a previously stated/introduced claim. The language in question is not preferred because the implication is then that the limitations of the dependent claim(s) are already present/set forth in the claim referenced. Stated differently, “In accordance with y, x” implies that x is established in/by means of y. More accurately however, dependent claims should set forth additional limitations/ constraints that further modify the independent and/or intervening claims from which they depend – i.e. x is not established in y (even if y is required for x), but is an additional limitation further modifying y. Claim 1 is narrative in form and features e.g. four total instances of terminating punctuation (i.e. is four distinct sentences as opposed to a single sentence with only one instance of terminating punctuation “.”). Claim 13 is of a format more closely modelling what is typically encountered, however features uncommon capitalization. Many of these issues are arguably matters of form and do not rise to the level of rendering the claim(s) indefinite (see below regarding 112(b) issues related to antecedent basis, that do render the claim(s) indefinite), however Examiner encourages amendment aligning claim formatting with that typically encountered in US practice.
Claim 7 features an apparent typographic error “with a a one” which is read instead “with a” or “with at least one”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. More specifically instances such as “the upper body (40)”, “the multi-spectral camera (210)”, etc., lack proper antecedent basis. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. The examples of language lacking proper antecedent basis above is not exhaustive, and careful review of the claims is respectfully requested so as to eliminate any/all instances that lack proper antecedent basis. For the case of claim 13, and language “activate the sensors (110) (210) (310)”, ‘the’ sensors lack antecedent basis and even those reference numbers 110, 210, 310, fail to establish such a basis, as no explicitly recited claim language of claim 13 serves to set forth what 110, 210, and 310 represent respectively (even if potentially established in e.g. claim 1). See MPEP § 2173.05(e). Applicant may note the format of the claims in the/any patent(s) cited.
Claim 10 recites the language “threat or propeller (12)” however this language may be resultant from a literal translation. 12 appears to illustrate a screw-like or threaded (thread vs threat) anchoring portion (sometimes referred to as a ‘ground screw’?). The illustrated portion also does not appear to be a propeller or necessarily a ‘propeller bolt’. Clarification/amendment is requested. Claim 10 further recites “such as” which is indefinite exemplary language (see MPEP 2173.05(d)).
Claim 12 recites “sorts information in real time about regions, parcels, varieties among others”. This limitation is unclear as to what if any ‘other’ sorting basis is/are required by the claim. Stated differently, the language “among others” is exemplary claim language similar to that identified in MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-4, 7-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shakoor et al. (US 2021/0045301 A1) (corresponding WO2018049189A1 would also be applicable under 102(a)(1)).
As to claim 1, Shakoor discloses a system for phenotype characterization of agricultural crops ([0001-0002]) featuring:
at least one support device (Fig. 1, Fig. 9, [0023] “remote field controller and sensor 20 may comprise a plurality of modules 22 removably connected to each other to form an elongate body for the remote field controller and sensor. Each module 22 may comprise a tubular member with axial opposite ends upon which an adjoining module may be stacked to form the remote field controller and sensor … For instance, the module may have an aluminum cylindrical inner casing, which may be embedded in the PVC wall. Although not necessary, the module 22 may have a hollow interior 24 into which specific crop and environmental sensors 26 (FIG . 6) and other electronic equipment 28 (FIG . 6) may be housed”, etc.,) that includes a central embedded microcontroller (100)
connected to atmospheric sensors (110) located in the upper body (40) (sensors 26 and electronics 28 reside e.g. within modules/body/housing 22, wherein 28 includes a microcontroller e.g. a Raspberry Pi, [0025] “The hollow interior 24 of each module 22 may be sized to accommodate the electronics 28 and any other equipment needed to power the specific crop and environ mental sensors 26 incorporated into each module and may include space to house a battery or power source 44 (FIG . 6) for one or more modules. In addition to the crop and environmental sensors 26, the electronics and internal module equipment 28 may include computers, interface electronics, power supplies 44 and wireless transmitters. The crop and environmental sensors 26 may be configured for data collection of light, soil temperature and moisture, wind speed, atmospheric temperature, pressure and humidity. The crop and environmental sensor 26 functions may be combined or separate. The electronics and other internal module equipment 28 may be configured to allow multiple and diverse sets of crop and environmental sensors 26 to be installed in the module and provide an integrated and flexible data collection and processing platform. For instance, the electronics and other internal module equipment 28 may be based upon an Internet of Things platform that allows fast and seamless connection of an environmental and crop sensor to the cloud via the internet. The platform may include a mobile software development kit that enables fast integration with other components , and easy development of software applications. The mobile / hub associated with the system serves as a gateway and communicates data from an environmental and crop sensor to the cloud platform. The cloud platform aggregates information and allows for processing of large amounts data. One embodiment of a computer may include a Raspberry PiTM developed by the Raspberry Pi Foundation”);
embedded controller (200) receives a signal from a multi-spectral camera (210)
located on a distal end of an arm (41) (Figs. 1, 2, 4, etc., 28 receive(s) signals from and articulates imaging system 46 mounted/located on distal end of arm/boom 90, [0032] “The camera or imaging system 46 of the remote field controller and sensor 20,200 may be configured to provide imaging the canopy of the measured crops. The camera or imaging system 46 may be mounted on a boom or arm 90 that projects from the outer surface of the module 20,220. The arm 90 may be removably attachable to the outer surface of a module in the event imaging of the canopy is not desired in a particular application. The arm 90 may be articulated, telescopic, and/or otherwise adjustable along its length to allow customization of its length as desired in a particular application. The camera or imaging system 46 may be configured to provide hemispherical imaging of the canopy of the measured crops. The camera or imaging system 46 may include a fish-eye lens for hemispherical canopy photography or imaging. The camera or imaging system 46 may include infra-red or near infra-red imaging device or a CCD device, which may prove useful in determining water retention or loss in the canopy of the measured crops … In this configuration, the arms 90 may be configured to allow the imaging of the canopy between the two arms 90 , thereby providing a more detailed analysis of canopy architecture, leaf angles, lead distribution, canopy geometry and openness, and leave area indices”, [0036], [0038] “Additional room on the camera arm 90 may accommodate additional sensors, e.g., laser proximity sensor / LIDAR, ultrasound, multispectral and hyperspectral sensors”);
a central microcontroller (100) connected to a base microcontroller (300) obtains signals from the soil sensors (310) (Fig. 11 each module 22 (base/bottom, central/intermediate and top) houses its own 28, [0031], [0035] “One of the modules, e.g. serving as the lowest arranged or base module, may specifically accommodate connections for the soil measuring devices such as a minirhizotron soil imager 48 or a soil moisture probe 208 for measuring soil conditions”, [0039] “probes 120 may be configured to measure soil moisture, soil pH, soil temperature and soil nutrient composition. The satellite probes 120 may be powered by an on-board battery. The satellite probes 120 may be configured to send out soil related information through low energy waves 122 , for instance , via Z-Wave , Bluetooth Low Energy, etc. The satellite probes 120 may be configured to operate under the soil beneath ground level. The satellite probes 120 may be configured with onboard GPS to help users locate buried sensors at the end of the crop cycle. A remote field controller and sensor 20,200 positioned in proximity to the satellite probes 120 may be configured to collect data from its sensors and from the satellite soil probes in the field”); and
microcontrollers, sensors and actuators are powered by a regulating unit (400) that is fed by a solar panel (500) as energy source (Figs. 1, 2 and 9, [0034] “The remote field controller and sensor 20,200 may be provided with solar panels 98 for powering the on-board electronics 28 and the sensors 26. … While the drawings show three solar panels, additional solar panels may be provided as needed. One or more solar panels 98 may be operatively connected to the battery source 44 located within the hollow interior of one or more of the modules, and configured to allow charging of the battery source 44, as needed. Thus, the remote field controller and sensor may be a net-zero energy device”); and
wherein the system further comprises communication unit (600) that includes a router (610) with a wireless connection to Internet ([0025] “the electronics and other internal module equipment 28 may be based upon an Internet of Things platform that allows fast and seamless connection of an environmental and crop sensor to the cloud via the internet”; Raspberry Pis have network interfaces, to include wired Ethernet and 2.4Ghz/5Ghz Wi-Fi; [0041] “A central wireless receiver 220 may be integrated with one or more remote field controller and sensors 20,200 deployed in a field of crops 222. The central wireless receiver 220 may be integrated with other field operational equipment 224 to provide automated irrigation and delivery of water, pest-control or fertilization when and where it is needed. The data may be gathered in the field 222 and transmitted to a cloud computing and storage facility 226. The data may be processed via the cloud computing and storage facility 226 and transmitted to a user 228. The cloud computing and storage facility 226 may generate reports that are customized according to location, type of crops and time of the year. Real time data may be sent to a phone/tablet/PC 230 of the user 228”).
As to claim 2, Shakoor disclose the system of claim 1.
Shakoor further discloses the system wherein the support device includes a lower body (20) (Fig. 1 and 5, that lowest module/housing 22 optionally with collapsible or fixed tripod support 104, landscape spikes 102, base plate 206, etc., [0035]) attached to an intermediate body (30) that has one translation degree of freedom (attached to intermediate module(s) 22 above, Figs 1/9 – wherein each module may move/slide/translate along e.g. the Z axis for coupling with the base/lowest and any additional intermediate modules 22 – see Fig. 8, [0024], etc.,);
and this intermediate body (30) is attached to the upper body (40) with two rotational degrees of freedom (Figures 1, 9, 8, intermediate (Fig. 3) and uppermost modules (Fig. 2) 22 are characterized by two rotational degrees of freedom, e.g. in the x and y axis, as identified above, [0024] modules couple by inserting one into the other (Fig. 8) and e.g. rotating in an x-y plane to align latches/toggle clamps 30 (Fig. 7)).
As to claim 3, Shakoor disclose the system of claim 2.
Shakoor further discloses the system wherein the lower body (20) also has a volume control chamber (21) (Fig. 8 in view of 42, [0024] “As shown in FIG. 8, the upper arranged module 22a may have a smaller diameter cylindrical surface 40 extending from one axial end and the lower arranged module 22b may have a bore 42 sized to receive the smaller diameter cylindrical surface 40 of the upper arranged module. The arrangement shown in FIG . 8 may also be reversed”; see also interior portion 24 for that lowest/base module 22 proximate the ground/soil surface).
As to claim 4, Shakoor disclose the system of claim 1.
Shakoor further discloses the system wherein the atmospheric sensors (110) are selected among (not understood by the Examiner to be a Markush group/claim, see MPEP 2117 and MPEP 2173.05(h), because it is not a ‘closed group’ based on any use of “consisting of” language – claims are read/interpreted as ‘at least one of… or’ (not ‘at least one of… and’ Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 69 USPQ2d 1865 (Fed. Cir. 2004))): a wind speed and direction sensor (111), a relative humidity sensor (112), a temperature sensor (113), a methane concentration sensor (114) and/or a radiation sensor (115) ([0005] “Environmental and crop sensors on the remote field controller and sensor may be configured to take real-time measurements of temperature, humidity, CO2, barometric pressure, light quantity and quality, wind speed and direction, rainfall, soil moisture, soil temperature, pH and nutrient composition”, [0033] “The remote field controller and sensor 20,200 may be provided with an anemometer 94 at its topmost portion to measure wind speeds without interference from the measured crops”, [0040] “operation without interference from the measured crops. Barometric pressure, CO2 , temperature, humidity, and light sensors 26 along the length of the remote field controller and sensor may allow for individual readings to create a gradient of conditions and to track changing conditions”, [0042], etc.,; while not required for the case of claim 4 given those limitations in the alternative, Bond et al. (US 2018/0136113 A1) discloses atmospheric CH4 sensor(s) e.g. [0009] in a similarly deployed apparatus/tower, as does Byron as applied for the case of claim 5 below).
As to claim 7, Shakoor disclose the system of claim 1.
Shakoor further discloses the system wherein the upper body (40) has an arm (41) with Fig. 1, topmost/upper module 22 comprising arm 90, in view of [0032] “The arm 90 may be articulated, telescopic, and/or otherwise adjustable along its length to allow customization of its length as desired in a particular application. The camera or imaging system 46 may be configured to provide hemispherical imaging of the canopy of the measured crops”; Examiner notes that articulation disclosure is pertinent, in further view of the manner in each of 46 are oriented so as to obtain views of the canopy from above and below – see Fig. 1, Abs, etc.).
As to claim 8, Shakoor disclose the system of claim 1.
Shakoor further discloses the system wherein the intermediate body (30) is a telescope type body, to minimize the effects of the positional variance of the sensors during the growth of the plant ([0023] “Each module 22 may be approximately two to three feet tall. The modules 22 allow the operator the ability to vary the height of the field controller and sensor by stacking the modules together end to end, which in turn allows users to scale their particular system with varying crop sizes within crop rotations”).
As to claim 9, Shakoor disclose the system of claim 1.
Shakoor further discloses the system wherein the support device also has an anchor body (10) (Fig. 1, Fig. 5, [0035] “The remote field controller and sensor 20,200 may be secured to the ground using landscape spikes 102. The landscape spikes 102 may be directed through legs 104 or a base plate 206 of the lower or base module. As mentioned, the other landscape spikes 36 may be connected to the guy wires 34 extending from the spikes to guy wire eyelets 32 on one or more of the modules 22. The spikes 36,102 may be set into solid ground below plowed farm soil in a manner to accommodate crop spacing and provide maximum stability for the remote field controller and sensor 20,220. Additionally, a tripod support 104 (collapsible or fixed) may be added to the lower or base module to provide additional rigidity for remote field controller and sensor 20,200 when deployed in-field”).
As to claim 12, Shakoor disclose the system of claim 1.
Shakoor further discloses the system wherein the system also includes a logical support with a portal graphical user interface that deploys and sorts information in real time about regions, parcels, and/or varieties Figs 14-16, [0042] “FIGS. 14-16 show an exemplary graphic user interface 300 that may be displayed on a phone / tablet / PC 230 to allow the user 228 to interface with the remote field controller and sensor 20,200 . The user 228 may select one of many remote field controllers and sensors 20,200 and access in real time conditions 302 being monitored and sensed by the remote field controller and sensor , as well as historic data 304 (FIG. 16). The data and information accessible through the graphic user interface 300 may correlate to the sensors deployed and configured on the remote field controller and sensor, and may include functionality to allow …”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shakoor et al. (US 2021/0045301 A1) in view of Byron, III et al. (US 20170105373 A1).
As to claim 5, Shakoor disclose the system of claim 1.
Shakoor further discloses the system wherein the soil sensors (310) include a pH sensor (311), a humidity sensor (312), a temperature sensor (313) [0026] “The crop and environmental sensors 26 may be configured for collection of data related to conditions of light , soil temperature and moisture”, [0035] “for the soil measuring devices such as a minirhizotron soil imager 48 or a soil moisture probe 208 for measuring soil conditions such as soil water content, soil nutrients, and soil pH”).
Shakoor fails to explicitly disclose those soil sensors as comprising any methane sensor.
Byron however evidences the obvious nature of a deployable device in an agricultural context comprising soil sensors further including a methane sensor ([0030] “A soil sensor can measure any one or more of measures soil moisture, temperature, pH, electrical conductivity, methane, oxygen, and/or nitrate (i.e., with respect to the soil)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system and method of Shakoor such that the disclosed sensors such as soil probe 208 further comprise a methane sensor as taught/suggested by Byron, the motivation as similarly taught/suggested therein and apparent to POSITA, that acquiring multi-source/complimentary sensor information may facilitate a data analysis that more comprehensively and/or precisely characterizes measured changes and their associated root causes, and as further suggested in Byron that determining such a soil characteristic more specifically may serve for optimizing variables influencing crop health/quality, yield, etc..
As to claim 6, Shakoor in view of Byron teaches/suggests the system of claim 5.
Shakoor suggests to the system wherein one or more sensors are located in a volume control chamber (21) ([0025] 26 located within interior 24).
As identified above for the case of claim 5 however, Shakoor fails to explicitly disclose however Byron evidences the obvious nature of a soil methane sensor ([0030]).
Shakoor as modified by Byron teaches/suggests the obvious nature of locating such a sensor proximate to the soil/ground more broadly, and Shakoor further discloses housing sensors 26 within hollow interior 24 of each modules 22, analogous to Applicant’s 21 illustrated as an interior/chamber portion proximate the base/ground portion of the system.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the system and method of Shakoor in view of Byron, so as to house that soil methane sensor within the interior of that base/lowest module similar to 26 of Shakoor more broadly, the motivation as being suggested in Shakoor and evident to POSITA that locating such a sensor 26 within interior 24 may serve to protect the sensors in question from damage/loss – particularly during transit and/or redeployment.
2. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shakoor et al. (US 2021/0045301 A1) in view of Kellner (US 8,407,949 B2).
As to claim 10, Shakoor disclose the system of claim 9.
Shakoor further discloses the system wherein the anchor body (10) includes an axle-shaped stem (11) that forms or fixes an anchor mechanism (Figure 1, [0035] landscape spikes 102 and 36).
Shakoor fails to explicitly disclose any anchoring means comprising a threaded anchor (12).
Kellner however evidences the obvious nature of a threaded anchor/grounds screw in securing similar/analogous equipment (Figure 9, col 1 “The invention can be used to anchor a variety of structural elements in the soil. Examples of such structural elements are traffic signs, advertising panels, solar arrays, conservatories, transmission towers, and a multitude of other structural elements”, etc.,).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the system and method of Shakoor in view of Kellner, since implementing such an anchoring alternative as taught/suggested by Kellner would constitute a simple substitution of one known anchoring element for another, so as to obtain predictable results further characterized by a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP 2143 KSR Rationale B with further reference to In re ICON Health & Fitness, Inc., 496 F.3d 1374, 83 USPQ2d 1746 (Fed. Cir. 2007)).
3. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shakoor et al. (US 2021/0045301 A1) in view of Coen et al. (US 2022/0307971 A1).
As to claim 11, Shakoor disclose the system of claim 1.
Shakoor further discloses the system wherein the multispectral camera (210) (46) captures NIR imaging, multispectral imaging, [0032] “The camera or imaging system 46 may include infra-red or near infra-red imaging device or a CCD device, which may prove useful in determining water retention or loss in the canopy of the measured crops”, [0036] “Additional room on the camera arm may accommodate additional sensors, e.g., laser proximity sensor / LIDAR, ultrasound, multispectral and hyperspectral sensors”).
Shakoor fails to disclose 46 and/or 46 in conjunction with additional sensors mounted on boom/arm 90 as also obtaining thermal images (claim limitations are in the conjunctive and the claim requires all modalities recited).
Coen however evidences the obvious nature of a vertically oriented bracket 104 comprising sensors 108, deployed in an agricultural environment and wherein one or more imaging sensors perform thermal imaging ([0016] “a plurality of imaging sensors of different modalities selected from the group consisting of: a Red-Green-Blue (RGB) sensor; a multispectral sensor; a hyperspectral sensor; a depth sensor; a time-of-flight camera; a LIDAR; and a thermal sensor, the plurality of sensors mounted on a bracket at predetermined geometrical relationships;”, [0042-0043], [0047] “According to certain embodiments, RGB sensor may provide for detecting changes in leaf color, a depth sensor may provide for detecting changes in plant size and growth rate; and a thermal sensor may provide for detecting changes in transpiration. According to certain exemplary embodiments, combinations of the above can provide for early detection and predicting stress resulting from lack of water or lack of fertilizer”, etc., ).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system and method of Shakoor to further acquire thermal images as disclosed in analogous system/method of Coen, the motivation as similarly taught/suggested therein that such imagery may assist in detecting changes in plant/crop transpiration and accordingly provide for early detection/prediction of plant stress and more expedient corrective measures (e.g. remote watering of Shakoor ([0041])).
4. Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shakoor et al. (US 2021/0045301 A1) in view of Byron, III et al. (US 20170105373 A1), Coen et al. (US 2022/0307971 A1), Lan et al. “Development of an Integrated Sensor and Instrumentation System for Measuring Crop Conditions”, Itzhaky et al. (US 2017/0161560 A1), and Johnston et al. (US 11,345,052 B1).
As to claim 13, this claim is the method claim (method of use) associated with the system/apparatus of claim 1 and is rejected accordingly. Shakoor as previously identified discloses powering the system via solar panels 98 in conjunction with battery source 44. For the case of that ‘obtain[ing]’ step, Shakoor fails to explicitly disclose soil data regarding methane and nitrous oxide, however reference may be made to Byron as applied above for the case of claims 5-6. Shakoor discloses that transmitting step as identified above in the rejection of claim 1 and functions as performed by communication unit 600 equivalents (Shakoor [0041]). Shakoor fails to disclose a radiometric camera calibration step, as Shakoor fails to disclose a thermal imager/sensor broadly as identified above for the case of claim 11. Reference may be made to the rejection to claim 11 above, as that same modification and supporting motivation in view of Coen are applicable, and Coen further discloses a radiometric camera calibration (Coen Fig. 2A device calibration 204, field specific calibration 328 of Fig. 3, Coen [0049] “According to certain exemplary embodiments, at least one calibration is radiometric calibration” - the same modification above for the case of claim 11 applies herein, and POSITA would additionally be motivated to provide/perform such a calibration so as to ensure the associated data is useable/reliable, as evidenced by the radiometric calibration of Coen). Shakoor discloses process[ing] the acquired data, to include images, so as to calculate/ascertain those various plant phenotype characteristics (e.g. [0005] “imaging devices that allow continuous calculation of leaf area indices, leaf angle distributions and canopy geometry/openness”). Coen further discloses that ‘process[ing]’ step and phenotype characterization step ([0004] “The process of crop phenotyping, including the extraction of visual traits from plants, allows crop examination and inferring important properties concerning the crop status (Araus, J. LET AL. 2014. Trends in plant science 19, 52-61). Crops phenotyping relies on non-destructive collection of data from plants over time. Developing precision management requires tools for collecting plant phenotypic data, environmental data and computational environment enabling high throughput processing of the data received”, etc.,).
Shakoor in view of Byron and Cohen fails to explicitly disclose calculating an NDVI. As identified above however Shakoor concerns the calculation of those leaf area indices as disclosed, and Lan evidences the obvious nature of NDVI as used in phenotype characterization (Lan page 2, section 1 Introduction “Successful information acquisition relies on the ability of sensors and instrumentation in detecting these crop canopy variables, which are indicative of crop growth (Goel et al. 2003). The Normalized Difference Vegetative Index (NDVI) is a commonly used measurement of crop health in agricultural applications. NDVI is calculated as: … Healthier crop canopy will absorb more red and reflect more near infrared light, and consequently has a higher NDVI value…. NDVI was found to be closely correlated with the Leaf Area Index (Bechtel et al., 1997; Aparicio et al., 2002; Leon et al., 2003)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the system and method of Shakoor which explicitly concerns those disclosed phenotype characteristics e.g. leaf area indexes, to additionally calculate NDVI given that relationship therebetween as disclosed by Lan and readily recognized by POSITA, the motivation as similarly taught/suggested therein (Lan at page 2) that given the disclosed close correlation, a calculated NDVI may serve to corroborate LAI as calculated alternatively.
Shakoor in view of Lan, Byron and Cohen fails to disclose any low-power/sleep/standby/hibernation mode, however Shakoor discloses powering the device via solar panels/batteries (known to generate for only daylight/illuminated hours and limited by restrictions on capacity and draw rate) a net-zero energy device ([0034]), and such devices generally feature such modes/steps so as to optimize power management.
Itzhaky evidences the obvious nature of a system/method employing sensor suite/module 120 ([0027] “The sensor module 120 may optionally include an environmental sensor 125. The environmental sensor 125 may further include a plurality of environmental sensor units (not shown) such as, but not limited to, a temperature sensor unit, a humidity sensor unit, a soil moisture sensor unit, a sunlight sensor unit, an irradiance sensor unit, a size measurement apparatus, and so on. In some embodiments, the plurality of environmental sensor units may be housed in a single sensor module housing (not shown). In another embodiment, the environmental sensor units may be spatially distributed but communicatively connected to the communication unit of the sensor module 120”), optionally powered by a solar panel ([0028]), and a off/standby/hibernation/low-power consumption equivalent mode ([0029] “In an embodiment, the sensor module 120 may be further configured to switch on/off in accordance with a predetermined time schedule based on the predetermined image frequency and, optionally, based on the predetermined frequencies for the monitoring data so that the sensor module may only be switched on when it is acquiring data. This switching between off and on may enable reduced power consumption by the sensor module 120”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the system and method of Shakoor in view of Lan, Byron and Coen to further implement a hibernate/sleep/stand-by mode between sensor acquisitions as taught/suggested by Itzhaky, the motivation as similarly taught/ suggested therein and readily recognized by POSITA that such a mode may allow for more regular operation/acquisitions even for those instances characterized by less available solar power.
While Shakoor at the minimum suggests a positioning/deployment step for device 20,200 further comprising a height customization ([0023], [0040]) in addition to articulating arms/booms 90 to ensure a desired coverage of plant canopy is realized (Fig. 1 lowermost 46 is oriented upwards, Abs, even if manually), Shakoor in view of Byron and Cohen fails to disclose adjusting one or more positions of the device and/or sub-devices thereof by means of one or more drive units and motor(s).
Johnston however evidences the obvious nature of automatic means for adjusting the height of a telescoping mast/support body with a top-positioned camera/sensor payload (Abs “A robot may use the extensible mast to elevate cameras or other sensors to a higher vantage point”, Fig. 1 telescoping section 130, actuator 118, control electronics 116, col 21 lines 45-55, etc.,).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the system and method of Shakoor in view of Lan, Byron, Coen and Itzhaky, to further control a height customization operation automatically and by means of corresponding drive units and motors as taught/ suggested by Johnston, the motivation as recognized by POSITA that such an automatic height adjustment may serve to require less manual intervention over the course of a growing/crop season (Shakoor [0040]).
As to claim 14, Shakoor as modified by Lan, Byron, Coen, Itzhaky and Johnston teaches/suggests the method of claim 13.
Shakoor as modified in view of Byron further teaches/suggests during the stage of data collection by the sensors (110) (310) a differential measurement in ppm is performed between the methane sensor (114) and the methane sensor (314) contained in the volume control chamber (21) (Byron atmospheric sensor (corr to 114) obtaining methane data [0030] “An atmospheric sensor node can measure one or more atmospheric variables. For example, an atmospheric sensor may measure, e.g., air temperature, humidity, carbon dioxide concentration, ammonia, methane, oxygen, and or other atmospheric variables”, and distinct soil sensor (corr to 314) obtaining methane data with respect to the soil ([0030] “A soil sensor can measure any one or more of measures soil moisture, temperature, pH, electrical conductivity, methane, oxygen, and/or nitrate (i.e., with respect to the soil)”); Byron further suggests sensor data and related measures may be plant/crop specific, as distinguished from those of the environment ([0029], [0024] in view of plant profile data), and further that measured data/variables may be further characterized by those which pertain to a ‘root zone’ and/or a ‘canopy’ area ([0028])).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the system and method of Shakoor in view of Byron so as to obtain a differential measurement between the atmospheric and soil/ground zone sensors as taught/suggested by Byron, the motivation as similar taught/suggested therein that such a differential measure (e.g. treating atmospheric as background/to be subtracted/removed) may serve to isolate methane (and/or any of those additionally measured) that is/are ground/plant zone specific.
Additional References
Prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Additionally cited references (see attached PTO-892) otherwise not relied upon above have been made of record in view of the manner in which they evidence the general state of the art.
Inquiry
/IAN L LEMIEUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2669