Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the voltage boost converter disclosed in Jiang is operated to eliminate or reduce the operation dead zone of the post-stage voltage converter, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., maintaining the output voltage to the battery) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11-13, & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paparrizos et al. (USPGPN 2021/0376643 A1 – effectively filed May 27, 2020), in view of Jiang et al. (USPGPN 2023/0006460 A1 – effectively filed Mar. 12, 2020).
Regarding Claim 1, Paparrizos (Fig.3-1) teaches a terminal, comprising:
a charging circuit (120) comprising a boost charging branch (126-1; ¶0082: 126-1 is a buck-boost charger) and a direct charging branch (126-2; ¶0082: 126-2 is a bypass charger) which are connected to one another in parallel;
a branch selector switch (302-1, 302-2, & 302-N) respectively connected to the boost charging branch and the direct charging branch, and the buck charging branch; and
a controller (128) connected to the branch selector switch, configured to acquire an output capability parameter of an external charger (¶0066: charging controller 128 can select a charger circuit based on a power source type or capability of the power source adapter) and send a switching signal to the branch selector switch (¶0081: charging controller 128 can selectively open or close any switch 302) according to the output capability parameter, so as to enable the branch selector switch to switch on one of the boost charging branch and the direct charging branch (¶0081: switches are closed to connect the chargers to the battery).
Paparrizos teaches a buck/boost charger but fails to explicitly teach separate buck and boost charging branches as claimed, and fails to explicitly teach wherein sending, by the controller, a switching signal to the branch selector switch according to the output capability parameter, so as to enable the branch selector switch to switch on one of the boost charging branch, the direct charging branch, and the buck charging branch comprises one of:
in response to that the output capability parameter of the charger is within a preset first interval range, sending a first switching signal to the branch selector switch, so as to enable the branch selector switch to switch on the boost charging branch.
However, Jiang teaches a power conversion circuit which includes a voltage buck converter and a voltage boost converter connected in parallel (Fig.3, 111 & 112) and that the boost circuit converter is activated when the input voltage to the conversion circuit is below a lower limit value (¶0074: voltage boost converter 111 is operated when the input voltage is below a lower limit value) (examiner equates below a lower limit value to a preset first interval range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Paparrizos to provide separate buck and boost charging branches and to include a first interval range to determine the activation state of the branch selector switch to switch on the boost charging branch, as taught by Jiang. Doing so would allow for simpler control of the power conversion since buck or boost converters are simpler designs than a buck/boost converter and allow the voltage output to the battery to be maintained above a lower limit for improved efficiency.
Regarding Claim 2, Paparrizos, in view of Jiang, further teaches comprising a battery pack (Fig.3-1, 122-1) respectively connected to the boost charging branch, the direct charging branch, and the buck charging branch.
Regarding Claim 3, Paparrizos, in view of Jiang, wherein the battery pack comprises at least two batteries connected in series (¶0065: 122-1 may include one or more batteries in series).
Regarding Claim 5, Paparrizos (Fig.3 & 3-1), in view of Jian, further teaches comprising a charging interface (124) connected to the branch selector switch (302-1, 302-2, & 302-N) and configured to be externally connected to the charger (104).
Regarding Claim 6, Paparrizos, in view of Jian, further teaches wherein acquiring, by the controller, an output capability parameter of an external charger comprises:
identifying a type of the external charger (¶0066: charging controller 128 can select a charger based on a power source type of the power source adapter 104); and
acquiring the output capability parameter (¶0066: charging controller 128 can select a charger based on a capability of the power source adapter 104) of the charger according to the type of the charger (¶0068: power source adapter capabilities, 5V/9V/10V/20V, are related to the charging type).
Regarding Claim 8, Paparrizos teaches a terminal charging method, comprising:
acquiring an output capability parameter of an external charger (¶0066: charging controller 128 can select a charger circuit based on a power source type or capability of the power source adapter); and
sending a switching signal to a branch selector switch (¶0081: charging controller 128 can selectively open or close any switch 302) according to the output capability parameter, so as to enable the branch selector switch to switch on one of a boost charging branch and a direct charging branch (¶0081: switches are closed to connect the chargers to the battery).
Paparrizos teaches a buck/boost charger but fails to explicitly teach separate buck and boost charging branches as claimed, and fails to explicitly teach wherein sending, by the controller, a switching signal to the branch selector switch according to the output capability parameter, so as to enable the branch selector switch to switch on one of the boost charging branch, the direct charging branch, and the buck charging branch comprises one of:
in response to that the output capability parameter of the charger is within a preset first interval range, sending a first switching signal to the branch selector switch, so as to enable the branch selector switch to switch on the boost charging branch.
However, Jiang teaches a power conversion circuit which includes a voltage buck converter and a voltage boost converter connected in parallel (Fig.3, 111 & 112) and that the boost circuit converter is activated when the input voltage to the conversion circuit is below a lower limit value (¶0074: voltage boost converter 111 is operated when the input voltage is below a lower limit value) (examiner equates below a lower limit value to a preset first interval range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Paparrizos to provide separate buck and boost charging branches and to include a first interval range to determine the activation state of the branch selector switch to switch on the boost charging branch, as taught by Jiang. Doing so would allow for simpler control of the power conversion since buck or boost converters are simpler designs than a buck/boost converter and allow the voltage output to the battery to be maintained above a lower limit for improved efficiency.
Regarding Claim 9, Paparrizos, in view of Jiang, further teaches wherein acquiring an output capability parameter of an external charger comprises:
identifying a type of the external charger (¶0066: charging controller 128 can select a charger based on a power source type of the power source adapter 104); and
acquiring the output capability parameter (¶0066: charging controller 128 can select a charger based on a capability of the power source adapter 104) of the charger according to the type of the charger (¶0068: power source adapter capabilities, 5V/9V/10V/20V, are related to the charging type).
Regarding Claim 11, Paparrizos, in view of Jiang, teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a memory (Fig.1, 110) configured to store a program; and
a processor (Fig.3-1, 128; ¶0059: charging controller 128 may be a processor) configured to execute the program stored in the memory (¶0058: charging controller 128 may include a separate CRM 110 to store processor-executable instructions), wherein the program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform a terminal charging method of claim 8 (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 8).
Regarding Claim 12, Paparrizos teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (¶0053: CRM 110 includes instruction 112, and does not include transitory propagating signals or carrier waves), storing computer-executable instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the terminal charging method comprising:
acquiring an output capability parameter of an external charger (¶0066: charging controller 128 can select a charger circuit based on a power source type or capability of the power source adapter); and
sending a switching signal to a branch selector switch (¶0081: charging controller 128 can selectively open or close any switch 302) according to the output capability parameter, so as to enable the branch selector switch to switch on one of a boost charging branch and a direct charging branch (¶0081: switches are closed to connect the chargers to the battery).
Paparrizos teaches a buck/boost charger but fails to explicitly teach separate buck and boost charging branches as claimed.
However, Jiang teaches a power conversion circuit which includes a voltage buck converter and a voltage boost converter connected in parallel (Fig.3, 111 & 112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Paparrizos to provide separate buck and boost charging branches, as taught by Jiang. Doing so would allow for simpler control of the power conversion since buck or boost converters are simpler designs than a buck/boost converter.
Regarding Claim 13, Paparrizos, in view of Jiang, further teaches wherein acquiring an output capability parameter of an external charger comprises:
identifying a type of the external charger (¶0066: charging controller 128 can select a charger based on a power source type of the power source adapter 104); and
acquiring the output capability parameter (¶0066: charging controller 128 can select a charger based on a capability of the power source adapter 104) of the charger according to the type of the charger (¶0068: power source adapter capabilities, 5V/9V/10V/20V, are related to the charging type).
Regarding Claim 15, Paparrizos, in view of Jiang, further teaches wherein acquiring an output capability parameter of an external charger comprises:
identifying a type of the external charger (¶0066: charging controller 128 can select a charger based on a power source type of the power source adapter 104); and
acquiring the output capability parameter (¶0066: charging controller 128 can select a charger based on a capability of the power source adapter 104) of the charger according to the type of the charger (¶0068: power source adapter capabilities, 5V/9V/10V/20V, are related to the charging type).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paparrizos, in view of Jiang, as applied in the rejection of claim 2 above, and further in view of Shen (USPGPN 2007/0152627 A1 – published Jul. 5, 2007).
Paparrizos, in view of Jiang, fails to explicitly teach further comprising: a buck output circuit connected to the battery pack and configured to buck a voltage outputted by the battery pack and then output the voltage to an electrical device.
However, Shen (Fig.1 & 2) teaches a power regulation system for a battery (2) supplying power to a portable system (Vsys) which uses a buck output circuit (14) to buck the battery voltage before outputting to the voltage to the system (steps 320-350).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Paparrizos, in view of Jiang, to use a buck output circuit to reduce the voltage of the battery before supplying the output voltage to the system electronics, as taught by Shen. Doing so ensures that voltage provided to the system is suitable for the electronics, and avoids damaging the electronics by supplying a high voltage.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859