DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 includes a Chemical Formula B-4 that is not listed in the claim limitations and comprises variables that are not defined therein. It is unclear how Chemical Formula B-4 is to be interpreted within the claims.
Claim 13 includes the following formula that does not appear to be defined or required in the claims. It is unclear how this formula is to be interpreted within the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 13 does not further limit claim 1. Claim 13 requires a “Relational Expression 1” that is not further limiting from the “Relational Expression 4”.
To clarify the issue at hand, Claim 1 requires that the material for the auxiliary electron transport layer and the first host are the same material. Because the HOMO and LUMO are properties of a specific molecular structure, the HOMO and LUMO of the auxiliary electron transport layer and that of the first host are necessarily the same value.
As a result, the underlined portion of relational expression 4 as reproduced above has the exact same meaning as the relational expression 1. Therefore, claim 13 does not further limit claim 1 from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsang et al (US 2018/0366677) (Tsang) and further in view of Eum et al (US 2018/0053900) (Eum) as evidenced by Muruganantham et al (J. Mater. Chem. C., 2025, 13, 2932) (Muruganantham).
In reference to claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-11, 13-14, and 16-18, Tsang teaches organic electroluminescent devices comprising an anode, a cathode, a light emitting layer wherein the light emitting layer comprises a first host material, a second host material and a light-emitting material of a dopant and wherein the second host material has an electron transport property. Tsang teaches that the device has at least one electron transport layer between the light emitting layer and the cathode and wherein the second host material is the same material as the constituent material of the electron transport layer nearest to the light-emitting layer among the electron transport layers and is a triazine compound general formulae (1) or (2) or derivative thereof (Tsang [0008]). Tsang exemplifies a device with a structure such as those described for example 4 (Tsang [0149]; Fig 15) with the following structure [ITO (Anode): HAT-CN (HIL): Tris-PCz (HTL) : 4CzIPN:mCBP:T2T (EML) : T2T (ETL-1) : BPy-TP2: Liq (ETL-2) : LiF (HIL) : Al (Cathode)].
It is noted that the difference between this example structure and that instantly claimed is the selection of an alternative second host material and first electron transport layer material to T2T as exemplified therein that can be selected from triazine compounds of formula 2 or derivatives thereof (Tsang [0008]) that broadly include the claimed compounds. Tsang does not specifically exemplify the compound as claimed.
With respect to the difference, Eum teaches, in analogous art, the compound 21 below for use as an electron transporting material in organic light emitting devices with a LUMO of 2.75 eV and HOMO 6.25 (Han Table 1).
Eum further teaches that the use of this material in an organic EL device imparts excellent emission performance, low driving voltage, high efficiency and long lifespan (Eum [0019]).
In light of the motivation of using compound 21 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the compound 21 as described by Han in order to impart excellent emission performance, low driving voltage, high efficiency and long lifespan and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Tsang teaches the LUMO energy of mCBP is -2.4 eV (Tsang [0138], fig 14) and that LiQ has a LUMO energy less than -3.0 but does not detail the exact value and that the T2T has a LUMO of -3. While Eum does not expressly teach the LUMO and HOMO level of compound 21, the instant specification details those inherent properties to be 2.64 and 5.83 eV (Table 1).
Further, Muruganantham teaches the HOMO value of mCBP is 5.82 eV (Muruganantham p. 2927, col 2, para 1).
For Claim 1: Reads on the claimed device structure with an anode, cathode, light emitting layer, hole transport region and electron transport region, the first host of Tsang that is mCP corresponds to the second host of the claims, the second host of Tsang that is compound 21 corresponds to the first host of the claims, a dopant, the first electron transport layer corresponds to an electron transport auxiliary layer comprising the is compound 21 that is the same material as the claimed first host, the second electron transport layer comprising BPy-Cz and LIQ corresponds to the electron transport layer, the LiF layer corresponds to the electron injection layer and is compound 21 reads on a compound of chemical formula 4 wherein X1, X3, and X5 are each N, X2 and X4 are each CH, L1 is biphenylene, Ar1 is formula S3, A3 is a single bond and A4 is CR19R20 wherein R19 and R20 are each methyl and wherein 3.15 > 2.64 > 2.4 eV.
For Claim 2: Reads on 5.83 > 5.82 eV.
For Claim 3: Reads on 0.01 eV.
For Claim 5: Reads on 0.51 eV.
For Claim 6: Reads on 0.2 eV.
For Claims 9: Reads on formula A-5.
For Claim 10: Reads on formula B-3.
For Claim 11: Reads on formula 4.
For Claim 13: Reads on 2.64 > 2.4 eV.
For Claim 14: Reads on 0.2 eV and 0.01 eV.
For Claim 16: Reads on 10% dopant.
For Claim 17: Reads on co-deposition.
For Claim 18: Reads on at least a hole injection and hole transport layer.
In reference to claims 12 and 15, Tsang in view of Eum teaches the device as described above for claim 1.
Tsang does not exemplify that the device has the claimed ratio of host materials. However, Tsang teaches generally that the ratio of the first host material to the second host material is within the bounds of 10:90 to 95:5 (Tsang [0084] [0085]).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786