NON-FINAL ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claim amendments and Applicant's arguments filed 13 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Upon further search and consideration, new grounds of rejection are set forth below.
Claim amendments replacing “first holding means” and “second holding means” with “protrusion” and “clip” are acknowledged. These claim limitations are no longer interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 20 June 2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitehead et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2,882,103, hereinafter Whitehead) in view of Kitamura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2001/0019842, hereinafter Kitamura), further in view of Herman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2002/0045526, hereinafter Herman), and further in view of Rohde et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,413,771, hereinafter Rohde).
Regarding claim 1, Whitehead discloses a pot (centrifuge vessel 10, Fig. 1) for centrifugal separation comprising: a wall (side wall member 16, Fig. 1) around a central axis, a top end (upper rim 38 and “a suitable cover”, Fig. 1, col. 2 lines 13-14) and a bottom end (bottom wall member 18, Fig. 1), wherein the pot comprises: a plurality of baffles (fins/vanes 34, Fig. 1) protruding from the wall into an inner volume of the pot (Fig. 3); wherein the pot is configured to centrifugally separate a biological fluid into multiple components (col. 1 lines 9-11), wherein the plurality of baffles isolates a denser portion of the biological fluid between adjacent baffles of the plurality of baffles and prevents the denser portion of the biological fluid from moving radially inward (“the fins 34 are spaced from the bottom wall surface so that the chambers in the trough 32, which are defined by said fins”, col. 2 lines 8-11; “the find 34 cause the blood in the vessel 10 to rotate therewith and thus improve the centrifugal action for separating the plasma from the red cells in vessel 10 in the centrifuging operation”, col. 3 lines 37-40; “when the rotation of the vessel is stopped, the red cells and the plasma are maintained segregated from each other in separated parts, respectively, of the bowl, col. 3 lines 23-26), but does not disclose a protrusion from the bottom end into the inner volume and around the central axis, wherein the plurality of baffles are each formed as an arc of a curve extending from the wall towards the central axis along a plane defined as transverse to the central axis, the curve having a radius between 0.12 and 0.18 of a width of the pot; and wherein a direction of rotation of the pot is against the curve of the plurality of baffles and wherein a state of deceleration the plurality of baffles isolates a denser portion of the biological fluid and prevents the denser portion of the biological fluid from moving radially inward.
Kitamura discloses analogous art related to a pot (Fig. 1) for a centrifuge, and a protrusion (columnar dam 5, Fig. 2 and 4, para. [0040]) from the bottom end into the inner volume and around the central axis (Fig. 4). Kitamura also discloses wherein a state of deceleration the plurality of baffles isolates a denser portion of the biological fluid and prevents the denser portion of the biological fluid from moving radially inward (“[s]ince the centrifugal force is reduced according to the decline of the rotational frequency, the blood corpuscle is gathered at the bottom of the peripheral room 4. Also, since the height of the dam 5 serves as an obstacle, the blood corpuscle cannot move over the upper surface of the dam so as to enter the central room 3”, para. [0043]). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the pot of Whitehead with the protrusion taught by Kitamura for the purpose of keeping the denser component from moving towards the central region when rotation declines (para. [0034], [0043], Kitamura).
The combination of Whitehead and Kitamura does not disclose wherein the plurality of baffles are each formed as an arc of a curve extending from the wall towards the central axis along a plane defined as transverse to the central axis, the curve having a radius between 0.12 and 0.18 of a width of the pot; and wherein a direction of rotation of the pot is against the curve of the plurality of baffles.
Herman discloses analogous art related to centrifuge vessel/pot with a wall (outer liner 228, Fig. 18) around a central axis, a top end and a bottom end; and a plurality of baffles (spiral vanes 230, Figs. 18-20) protruding from the wall into an inner volume of the pot, wherein the baffles are each formed as an arc of a curve extending from the wall towards the central axis along a plane defined as transverse to the central axis (the vanes spirally extending “in a generally radially inward direction” from inside surface 233 of the liner, Fig. 20, para. [0086]), and wherein a direction of rotation of the pot is against the curve of the plurality of baffles (the vanes sweep away from the direction of rotation of the rotor assembly, arrow 140, Fig. 13, para. [0077]). Herman teaches that full vanes lock fluid into axial channels and prevent tangential motion of fluid relative to the rotor’s rotation, reducing re-entrainment of separated particulate (para. [0008], [0079]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the baffles of the pot of the combination of Whitehead and Kitamura as curved vanes and oriented as taught by Herman for the purpose of reducing re-entrainment of separated sludge and particulate (para. [0079], Herman).
Herman does not disclose numerically that the curve has a radius between 0.12 and 0.18 of a width of the pot. However, Herman defines the vane curvature by an included angle with a preferred range of 30 to 60 degrees (para. [0056]) and teaches varying the degree of curvature and shaping the vane so that there is a constant particle slip rate as g-force increases proportionally with the distance from the axis of rotation (para. [0062]). The included angle and the claimed radius relative to pot width are alternative parameters defining the same vane curvature. Given the teachings of Herman, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a radius of curvature for the baffles of the combination of Whitehead and Kitamura, including one between 0.12 and 0.18 of the width of the pot, through routine optimization of the vane curvature taught by Herman, for the purpose of controlling particle slip across the pot (para. [0062], Herman). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.20 454, 456, 105 USPO 233, 238 (CCPA 1955); In re Swain et al., 70 USPQ 412; Minnesota Mining and Mfg. Co. v. Coe, 38 USPQ 213; Allen et al. v. Coe, 57 USPQ 136; MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). Applicant’s specification discloses the claimed radius range only as an optional feature (page 3 lines 25-27 of the specification as filed) and provides no data or statement showing criticality or unexpected results. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen parameters or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2144.05(III). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a radius of curvature for the baffles of the combination, including one between 0.12 and 0.18 of the width of the pot, through routine optimization of the vane curvature taught by Herman, for the purpose of controlling particle slip across the pot (para. [0062], Herman).
Rohde disclose analogous art related to centrifugal separation of blood, wherein a state of deceleration the plurality of baffles (partitions 32, Fig. 1; vertical fins, Fig. 12, col. 10 line 56 – col. 11 line 2) isolates a denser portion of the biological fluid between adjacent baffles of the plurality of baffles and prevents the denser portion of the biological fluid from moving radially inward (“the protuberances will, in effect, form inwardly projecting baffles within the interior of the container, thereby reducing the swirling and intermixing of the separated particles”, col. 3 lines 5-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the baffles of the combination of Whitehead, Kitamura, and Herman so as to compartmentalize the pot contents as taught by Rhode for the purpose of preventing remixing of the separated components on deceleration (col. 3 lines 5-15, Rohde).
The limitation that a direction of rotation of the pot is against the curve of the baffles does not patentably distinguish the claimed pot. The direction in which the pot is rotated is a “manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed”, which does not differentiate the apparatus from the prior art where the prior art teaches the structural limitations. See MPEP 2114. The pot of the combination of Whitehead, Kitamura, Herman, and Rohde has curved baffles swept away from the direction of rotation (para. [0077], Herman) and is capable of being rotated in that direction.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Whitehead, Kitamura, Herman, and Rohde discloses wherein the pot is adapted to be spun on the central axis for centrifugal separation of the biological fluid in the inner volume, wherein the plurality of baffles is configured to have the multiple components remain separated once the pot ceases to spin (col. 3 lines 4-56, Whitehead).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Whitehead, Kitamura, Herman, and Rohde discloses wherein each of the plurality of baffles (fins/vanes 34, Fig. 1, Whitehead; spiral vanes 28 and/or 230, Fig. 2 and 19, Herman) does not protrude as far as a centre of the pot, and extends along the wall for between half of and all of a distance between the top end and the bottom end (Fig. 1, Whitehead; Fig. 19, Herman).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Whitehead, Kitamura, Herman, and Rohde discloses wherein the plurality of baffles 34 are substantially equally spaced around the central axis (“equally spaced fins or vanes 34”, col. 2 lines 4-5, Fig. 3, Whitehead).
Regarding claim 5, modified Whitehead does not disclose wherein the plurality of baffles comprises a first baffle that protrude from the wall by a first distance and a second baffle that protrudes from the wall by a second distance, the first distance being different from the second distance.
Herman discloses an embodiment wherein the plurality of baffles 69 and/or 70 comprises a first baffle 69 that protrude from the wall by a first distance and a second baffle 70 that protrudes from the wall by a second distance, the first distance being different from the second distance (Fig. 7C). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the pot of modified Whitehead with the baffles as taught by Herman for the purpose of increasing the total vane surface area whenever the number of vanes and vane spacing may be limited by the close spacing a the hub inside diameter (para. [0063], Herman).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Whitehead, Kitamura, Herman, and Rohde discloses wherein the centrifugal separation separates plasma towards the central axis, and the pot is adapted to enable a component of the biological fluid to be extracted through an opening in the top end (col. 2 lines 11-16, col. 3 lines 45-56, Whitehead).
Regarding claims 7, 9 and 10, the combination of Whitehead, Kitamura, Herman, and Rohde discloses wherein the protrusion 5 from the bottom end is formed around the central axis with a width (outer diameter of dam 5 is 6 mm) of approximately half of a width of the pot (inner diameter of body 2 is 14 mm), and protrudes between 1 mm and 4 mm from the bottom end (height of dam 5 is 2 mm); wherein a width of the pot is less than 40 mm (inner diameter of body 2 is 14 mm); wherein a distance between the top end and the bottom end is less than 30 mm (depth of peripheral room 4 is 4 mm) (para. [0047], Kitamura).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Whitehead, Kitamura, Herman, and Rohde discloses wherein the pot is adapted to be spun at at least 10,000 RPM (par. [0048], Kitamura).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Whitehead, Kitamura, Herman, and Rohde discloses wherein the biological fluid is blood and the multiple components of the biological fluid comprise plasma and cellular matter (col. 1 lines 12-16, Whitehead).
Claims 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitehead, in view of Kitamura, further in view of Herman, and further in view of Rohde, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Robinson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,531,098, hereinafter Robinson).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Whitehead, Kitamura, Herman and Rohde discloses the pot according to claim 1, but does not disclose a consumable cartridge comprising a cartridge body adapted to receive the pot, a protrusion for holding the pot at least partly within the cartridge body, and wherein the protrusion is adapted to allow the pot to rotate.
Robinson discloses a consumable cartridge (cassette 490, Fig. 17) comprising a cartridge body (cassette frame 500, Fig. 17) adapted to receive the pot (CFC disk 930), a protrusion (pins 960, Fig. 18) for holding the pot at least partly within the cartridge body, and wherein the protrusion is adapted to allow the pot to rotate (col. 13 lines 13-28). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the pot of claim 1 as the rotating vessel of a disposable cassette as taught by Robinson for the purpose of having the centrifuge supported on the cassette frame such that it is easily inserted into a centrifuge drive cup (col. 13 lines 31-28, Robinson).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Whitehead, Kitamura, Herman, Rohde, and Robinson discloses further comprising a clip (spring-loading element 1410, engagement lip 1440, Fig. 22, Robinson) adapted to securely hold the pot in place until the cartridge is inserted into a centrifuge instrument, and to release the pot to spin freely when the cartridge is inserted into the centrifuge instrument (col. 13 line 47 – col. 14 line 8, Robinson).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Whitehead, Kitamura, Herman, Rohde, and Robinson discloses the consumable cartridge according to claim 13. Kitamura further teaches centrifuging blood at 10,000 RPM (para. [0048], Kitamura). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the pot of the combined cartridge at the speed taught by Kitamura for the purpose of separating a composite fluid into a low-specific-gravity component and high-specific-gravity component, by centrifugal force (Abstract).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitehead in view of Kitamura, further in view of Herman, further in view of Rohde, and further in view of Robinson as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of EP 3586971 (Nash et al., hereinafter Nash).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Whitehead, Kitamura, Herman, Rohde, and Robinson discloses wherein the cartridge (housing 35, Fig. 6) is configured to be stationary during centrifugal separation (para. [0049]), but does not disclose a dispensing needle adapted to dispense the biological fluid into the pot, and an aspirating needle adapted to extract a component of the biological fluid from the pot.
Nash discloses analogous art related to a centrifuge for concentrating and collecting constituents of a biologic liquid mixture, and a dispensing needle (needle 334, para. [0032], Fig. 7) adapted to dispense the biological fluid into the pot (analogous to centrifuge chamber 312, Fig. 7) , and an aspirating needle (needle 334, para. [0032], Fig. 7; also teaches blood constituents removed via port 602 or 645 with a syringe and cannula, para. [0086], Fig. 25) adapted to extract a component of the biological fluid from the pot. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the cartridge of the combination of Whitehead, Kitamura, Herman, Rohde, and Robinson with the dispensing needle and aspirating needle as taught by Nash for the purpose of permitting the introduction of a needle for the passage of whole blood into the chamber before the start of rotation, and removal of blood component at the cessation of action (para. [0032], Nash).
Conclusion
/Shuyi S. Liu/Examiner, Art Unit 1774