DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-6, in the reply filed on 9/25/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 7-11, 13-15, 17-21, and 23 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/25/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barnard et al. (GB 2553833 A).
As to claim 1, Barnard et al. teaches a method for measuring a fluid leakage volume in a pipeline network (abstract), the method comprising:
a. providing a leakage measurement apparatus (100) comprising:
i. a fluid entry conduit (108) comprising a pressure gauge (112) and a fluid flowmeter (110) for introducing said fluid to said pipeline network (figure 1; page 9, lines 19-25); and
ii. valves (103) for closing a section of said pipeline network (page 9, lines 11-14);
b. determining a fluid flowrate using said fluid flowmeter through said leakage measurement apparatus (page 9, lines 22-26, page 10, lines 29-36, and page 18); and
c. adjusting an externally controlled pressure located at a pressure point in said apparatus thereby determining said fluid leakage volume (page 11, line 1-page 12, line 2, page 13, line 14-page 14, line 7, page 18, table 1).
As to claim 2, Barnard et al. teaches wherein said pipeline complex is at least partially one of underground and underwater (page 1, lines 3-6, page 4, lines 16-18, and figure 1 show an at least partly underground pipeline).
As to claim 3, Barnard et al. teaches wherein said pipeline complex is at least one of underground and underwater (page 1, lines 3-6, page 4, lines 16-18, and figure 1 show an underground pipeline complex).
As to claim 4, Barnard et al. teaches further comprising measuring pressure of said pressure point in said pipeline complex using said pressure gauge (page 9, lines 21-22 and page 11, lines 1-9).
As to claim 5, Barnard et al. teaches wherein said valves comprise a water inlet valve (103 on the inlet side of 101 having 125 in figure 1) at a first end of a conduit (section of 101 between the valves shown in figure 1), and wherein said pressure gauge and said fluid flowmeter are in fluid connection with said conduit (page 9, lines 12-26).
As to claim 6, Barnard et al. teaches wherein said conduit is in fluid connection with said pipeline complex at a second end thereof (see figure 1 where the connection to downstream pipeline complex is shown).
Conclusion
The prior art and related art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abhulimen et al. (6,970,808 B2), Rannow (WO 2015/021366 A1), and Soda (WO 2014/091513 A2) teach systems with similarities to the disclosed invention.
/JENNIFER BAHLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853