DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The status of the 12/26/2025 claims, is as follows: Claim 1 has been amended; and Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 13:
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 13 recites the broad recitation
, and the claim also recites
which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
For the purpose of substantive examination, it is presumed that the narrower range
is required by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 20080169334)
Regarding Claim 1, Hwang discloses a wire (solid wire, para. 0099; Table 5) for gas-shielded arc welding (MAG welding) (abstract), consisting of, based on a total mass of the wire (in weight % with respect to a total weight of the wire) (para. 0015):
C: 0.01 to 0.10 mass% (C: 0.01 to 0.1%, para. 0100-0101);
Si: 0.05 to 0.55 mass% (Si: 0.3 to 1.0%, para. 0102);
Mn: 1.60 to 2.40 mass% (Mn: 0.7 to 2.0%, para. 0104);
Ti: 0.05 to 0.25 mass% (Ti: 0.01 to 0.3%, para. 0123-0124);
Cu: 0.30 mass%or less (Cu: 0.01 to 0.5%, para. 0110);
Al: 0.10 mass%or less (Al: 0.01 to 0.5%, para. 0121);
P: 0.025 mass% or less (P: 0.001 to 0.003%, para. 0106), and
S: 0.010 mass%or less (S: 0.001 to 0.03%, para. 0108);
optionally at least one selected from the group consisting of: Ni: 0.10 mass% or less: Cr: 0.10 mass% or less; Co: 0.10 mass% or less; B: 0.01 mass% or less; and Sb:0.01 mass% or less (Ni: 0.01 to 1.0%, para. 0115-0116),
with a remainder being Fe and inevitable impurities (a remainder consisting of iron and inevitable impurities) (para. 0113),
wherein the following relationship is satisfied:
(it is noted the relationship is satisfied because Ti = 0.3% and Si = 0.3%. The ratio Ti/Si = 1, which is in the range between 0.49 and 3),
wherein [Si] is a content of Si (mass%) based on the total mass of the wire and [Ti] is a content of Ti (mass%) based on the total mass of the wire (para. 0015).
Regarding Claim 2, Hwang discloses the wire (solid wire), wherein the content of Si is at least 0.15 mass% (Si: 0.3 to 1.0%, para. 0102).
Regarding Claim 3, Hwang discloses the wire (solid wire), wherein the content of Ti is at least 0.12 mass% (Ti: 0.01 to 0.3%, para. 0123-0124).
Regarding Claim 4, Hwang discloses the wire (solid wire), wherein the following relationship is satisfied: ([Si]+[Ti]/3)/([C]/2 + 2x[Al])≥ 5, wherein [C] is a content of C (mass%) and [Al] is a content of Al (mass%), each based on the total mass of the wire (it is noted that Si = 1, Ti = 0.3, C = 0.01, Al = 0.01. Applying these values into the relationship = (1 + 0.3/3)/(0.01/2 + 2*0.01) = 1.1/(0.005 + 0.02) = 1.1/0.025 = 44, which is greater than 5. Therefore, the relationship is satisfied).
Regarding Claim 5, Hwang discloses the wire (solid wire), wherein the following relationship is satisfied: ([Si]+[Ti]/3)/([C]/2 + 2x[Al])≥ 5, wherein [C] is a content of C (mass%) and [Al] is a content of Al (mass%), each based on the total mass of the wire (it is noted that Si = 1, Ti = 0.3, C = 0.01, Al = 0.01. Applying these values into the relationship = (1 + 0.3/3)/(0.01/2 + 2*0.01) = 1.1/(0.005 + 0.02) = 1.1/0.025 = 44, which is greater than 5. Therefore, the relationship is satisfied).
Regarding Claim 6, Hwang discloses the wire (solid wire), wherein the content of Ti is at least 0.12 mass% (Ti: 0.01 to 0.3%, para. 0123-0124).
Regarding Claim 7, Hwang discloses the wire (solid wire), wherein the following relationship is satisfied: ([Si]+[Ti]/3)/([C]/2 + 2x[Al])≥ 5, wherein the following relationship is satisfied: ([Si]+[Ti]/3)/([C]/2 + 2x[Al])≥ 5, wherein [C] is a content of C (mass%) and [Al] is a content of Al (mass%), each based on the total mass of the wire (it is noted that Si = 1, Ti = 0.3, C = 0.01, Al = 0.01. Applying these values into the relationship = (1 + 0.3/3)/(0.01/2 + 2*0.01) = 1.1/(0.005 + 0.02) = 1.1/0.025 = 44, which is greater than 5. Therefore, the relationship is satisfied).
Regarding Claim 8, Hwang discloses the wire (solid wire), wherein the following relationship is satisfied: ([Si]+[Ti]/3)/([C]/2 + 2x[Al])≥ 5, wherein [C] is a content of C (mass%) and [Al] is a content of Al (mass%), each based on the total mass of the wire (it is noted that Si = 1, Ti = 0.3, C = 0.01, Al = 0.01. Applying these values into the relationship = (1 + 0.3/3)/(0.01/2 + 2*0.01) = 1.1/(0.005 + 0.02) = 1.1/0.025 = 44, which is greater than 5. Therefore, the relationship is satisfied).
Regarding Claim 9, Hwang discloses the wire (solid wire), wherein Cu is present in an amount of more than 0.00 to 0.30 mass% (Cu: 0.01 to 0.5%, para. 0110-0112) based on a total mass of the wire.
Regarding Claim 10, Hwang discloses the wire (solid wire), wherein Al present in an amount of more than 0.00 to 0.10 mass% (Al: 0.01 to 0.5%, para. 0121), based on a total mass of the wire.
Regarding Claim 11, Hwang discloses the wire (solid wire), wherein P present in an amount of more than 0.00 to 0.025 mass% (P: 0.001 to 0.003%, para. 0106), based on a total mass of the wire.
Regarding Claim 12, Hwang discloses the wire (solid wire),wherein S present in an amount of more than 0.00 to 0.010 mass% (S: 0.001 to 0.03%, para. 0108), based on a total mass of the wire.
Regarding Claim 13, Hwang discloses the wire (solid wire), wherein the following relationship is satisfied:
(based on the rejection to claim 1, the relationship would be present because the ratio Ti/Si = 1, which is between 1 and 3).
Regarding Claim 14, Hwang discloses the wire (solid wire), wherein Si is present in an amount of 0.05 to 0.35 mass% (Si: 0.3 to 1.0%, para. 0102), based on a total mass of the wire.
Response to Amendment
With respect to nonstatutory double patenting rejection: since terminal disclaimer has been filed, therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Conclusion
/BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761