DETAILED ACTION
Second Action Non-Final
It is noted that this Office action is a Second Action Non-Final. The Office has reconsidered the allowable subject matter (instant SEQ ID NO: 21) of claim 22, and is re-opening prosecution to make a new rejection over that limitation.
Status of Claims
The amendments received on 12/12/2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10, 21, and 23 are pending.
Claims 2, 11-20, and 22 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10, 21, and 23 are examined in this Office Action.
Notice of Non-Compliant Claim Amendments
The claim amendments filed on 12/12/2025 have been found to be non-compliant. Please see the highlighted portions of the following text taken from MPEP Section 714 titled Amendments, Applicant’s Action [R-07.2022]:
II. MANNER OF MAKING AMENDMENTS UNDER 37 CFR 1.121
All amendments filed on or after July 30, 2003 must comply with 37 CFR 1.121 as revised in the notice of final rule making published in the Federal Register on June 30, 2003 at 65 FR 38611.
C. Amendments to the Claims
Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, including the deletion of an existing claim, or submission of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented (including previously canceled and non-entered claims) in the application. After each claim number, the status identifier of the claim must be presented in a parenthetical expression, and the text of each claim under examination as well as all withdrawn claims (each with markings if any, to show current changes) must be presented. The listing will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims in the application.
(B) Markings to Show the Changes: All claims being currently amended must be presented with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version. The changes in any amended claim must be shown by strike-through (for deleted matter) or underlining (for added matter) with 2 exceptions: (1) for deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters, double brackets may be used (e.g., [[eroor]]); (2) if strike-through cannot be easily perceived (e.g., deletion of number "4" or certain punctuation marks), double brackets must be used (e.g., [[4]]). As an alternative to using double brackets, however, extra portions of text may be included before and after text being deleted, all in strike-through, followed by including and underlining the extra text with the desired change (e.g., number 4 as number 14 as ). An accompanying clean version is not required and should not be presented. Only claims of the status "currently amended" or "withdrawn" will include markings.
Objections and Rejections That are Withdrawn
All objections/rejections to claims 2, 11-20, and 22 have been rendered moot in light of Applicant’s cancellation of the claims.
The Claim Objection to claim 1 has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (Chen et al., 2017, Plant Molecular Biology, Vol. 93, pp. 299-311; see IDS dated 03/16/2022) in view of Broekaert (Broekaert et al., Pub. No.: US 2010/0077502 A1, Pub. Date: Mar. 25, 2010; see List of references cited by examiner dated 02/19/2025) and in further view of Lu (Lu et al., 2002, The Plant Cell, Vol. 14(8), pp. 1963-1980; see List of references cited by examiner dated 02/19/2025).
Claim 1 recites “a method for improving growth, stress tolerance and productivity of a plant, the method comprising:
(a) providing a transgenic plant, which includes a reduced expression on an MYBS2 gene as relative to its wild-type counterpart; and
(b) growing the transgenic plant in a non-stressed environment or an environment comprising an abiotic stress factor;
Wherein the transgenic plant includes an increased expression on an αAmy3 gene as relative to
its wild-type counterpart and the αAmy3 gene has the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 21;
and
wherein the plant is a monocotyledonous plant.
Chen teaches that the Arabidopsis genome contains two OsMYBS1 homologues, designated as MYBS1 and MYBS2. Both MYBS1 and MYBS2 belong to the R-R-type MYB transcription factor group within the CCA1-like clade; both MYBS1 and MYBS2 include a highly conserved SHAQKYF motif containing a MYB DNA binding domain; and in the N-terminus region, both MYBS1 and MYBS2 have a less conserved MYB-like DNA binding domain (Chen, page 302, right column, Results).
Chen teaches the Arabidopsis T-DNA insertion mutants mybs1 and mybs2 (i.e., a reduced expression on an MYBS2 gene as relative to its wild-type counterpart) (Chen, page 301, left column, first paragraph). Agrobacterium tumefaciens was used to transfer the plasmids into Arabidopsis (i.e., a transgenic plant) (Chen, page 302, left column, first full paragraph).
Chen teaches the germination rates of WT, mybs1, and mybs2 in glucose (G) or mannitol (M) medium on days 0–7 (i.e., growing the transgenic plant in a non-stressed environment). An asterisk indicates a significant difference from the wild-type plants (i.e., improving growth) (Chen, page 304, Figure 3; see figure below).
Chen further teaches the phenotypes of WT, mybs1, and mybs2 growth in 4% (left) and 5% (right) glucose containing medium for 6 days (left) and 14 days (right) (see figure below) (i.e., improving growth) (Chen, Supplemental Figure S3).
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the plant is a monocotyledonous plant.
However, Broekaert teaches a method for enhancing various economically important yield-related traits in plants (i.e., a method for improving growth, stress tolerance, and productivity of a plant) by modulating expression in a plant of a nucleic acid encoding a CIRCADIAN CLOCK- ASSOCIATED 1 (CCA1-like) polypeptide (Broekaert, Abstract). The CCA1-like subfamily is the largest subfamily of the R2R3-MYB family of transcription factors (TF) that play regulatory roles in developmental processes and defense responses in plants (Broekaert, page 2, paragraph 0013).
Broekaert teaches that the plant is a monocotyledonous plant (i.e., wherein the plant is a monocotyledonous plant) (Broekaert, page 27, paragraph 0290).
Neither Chen nor Broekaert explicitly teach wherein the transgenic plant further includes an increased expression on an α-Amylase-3 (αAmy3) gene as relative to its wild-type counterpart.
However, Lu teaches that sugar regulation of gene expression has profound effects at all stages of the plant life cycle, from germination and vegetative growth to reproductive development and seed formation. A variety of genes, whose products are involved in diverse metabolic pathways and cellular functions, are either induced or repressed by sugars. Sugar signal transduction and regulation of gene expression are central control mechanisms that mediate energy homeostasis, carbohydrate distribution, and the growth and development of plants (Lu, Introduction, page 1963, first paragraph).
Lu teaches that OsMYBS gene expression is regulated by sugars, and as the levels of OsMYBS2 decreased in the absence of sucrose, the levels of αAmy3 increased (lanes 9-16), and vice versa (see figure below) (Lu, page 1967, Figure 3B).
Although Lu does not explicitly teach the αAmy3 gene as having the nucleotide sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 21, a sequence search of instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 21 disclosed sequence AK073487, an alpha-amylase isozyme 3D precursor from Oryza sativa Japonica Group located on chromosome 8, which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 21 (see sequence alignment below).1
AK073487 ALIGNED WITH INSTANT SEQUENCE SEQ ID NO: 21
Qy 1 ATTCCCCTGCCACGGTGACCGTGCCCCCGGTGTTCTATATATGCCCCCCGACGTCGAGGT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2 ATTCCCCTGCCACGGTGACCGTGCCCCCGGTGTTCTATATATGCCCCCCGACGTCGAGGT 61
Qy 61 CATTCGCCACGAACACATCGATCATCCATCATCTACAAGAGATCGATCAGTAGTGGTTAG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 62 CATTCGCCACGAACACATCGATCATCCATCATCTACAAGAGATCGATCAGTAGTGGTTAG 121
Qy 121 CAGCAACTCACTATCGAACACGGTTTCAGCTTACACAGATATGAAGAACACCAGCAGCTT 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 122 CAGCAACTCACTATCGAACACGGTTTCAGCTTACACAGATATGAAGAACACCAGCAGCTT 181
Qy 181 GTGTTTGCTGCTCCTCGTGGTGCTCTGCAGCTTGACCTGTAACTCGGGTCAAGCACAGGT 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 182 GTGTTTGCTGCTCCTCGTGGTGCTCTGCAGCTTGACCTGTAACTCGGGTCAAGCACAGGT 241
Qy 241 CCTCTTCCAGGGTTTCAACTGGGAGTCGTGGAAGCAGCAGGGTGGCTGGTACAACATGTT 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 242 CCTCTTCCAGGGTTTCAACTGGGAGTCGTGGAAGCAGCAGGGTGGCTGGTACAACATGTT 301
Qy 301 GAAAGGCCAAGTCGACGACATCGCCAAGGCCGGGGTCACCCACGTCTGGCTGCCGCCGCC 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 302 GAAAGGCCAAGTCGACGACATCGCCAAGGCCGGGGTCACCCACGTCTGGCTGCCGCCGCC 361
Qy 361 GTCGCACTCCGTGGCGCCGCAGGGGTACATGCCGGGGCGTCTCTACGACCTGGACGCGTC 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 362 GTCGCACTCCGTGGCGCCGCAGGGGTACATGCCGGGGCGTCTCTACGACCTGGACGCGTC 421
Qy 421 CAAGTACGGCACGGCGGCGGAGCTCAAGTCGCTGATCGCGGCGTTCCACGGGAAGGGCGT 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 422 CAAGTACGGCACGGCGGCGGAGCTCAAGTCGCTGATCGCGGCGTTCCACGGGAAGGGCGT 481
Qy 481 CCAGTGCGTCGCCGACGTCGTGATCAACCACCGGTGCGCCGAGAAGAAGGACGCCCGCGG 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 482 CCAGTGCGTCGCCGACGTCGTGATCAACCACCGGTGCGCCGAGAAGAAGGACGCCCGCGG 541
Qy 541 CGTGTACTGCGTGTTCGAGGGCGGGACGCCCGACGACCGCCTCGACTGGGGCCCCGGCAT 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 542 CGTGTACTGCGTGTTCGAGGGCGGGACGCCCGACGACCGCCTCGACTGGGGCCCCGGCAT 601
Qy 601 GATCTGCAGCGACGACACGCAGTACTCCGACGGCACGGGCCACCGCGACACCGGCGAGGG 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 602 GATCTGCAGCGACGACACGCAGTACTCCGACGGCACGGGCCACCGCGACACCGGCGAGGG 661
Qy 661 GTTCGGCGCGGCGCCCGACATCGACCACCTCAACCCGCGCGTCCAGCGGGAGCTCACCGA 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 662 GTTCGGCGCGGCGCCCGACATCGACCACCTCAACCCGCGCGTCCAGCGGGAGCTCACCGA 721
Qy 721 CTGGCTCAACTGGCTCAAGTCCGACGTCGGCTTCGACGGCTGGCGCCTCGACTTCGCCAA 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 722 CTGGCTCAACTGGCTCAAGTCCGACGTCGGCTTCGACGGCTGGCGCCTCGACTTCGCCAA 781
Qy 781 GGGATACTCCACGGACATCGCTAAGATGTACGTCGAGAGCTGCAAGCCGGGCTTCGTCGT 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 782 GGGATACTCCACGGACATCGCTAAGATGTACGTCGAGAGCTGCAAGCCGGGCTTCGTCGT 841
Qy 841 CGCCGAGATATGGAACTCGCTGAGCTACAACGGCGACGGCAAGCCGGCGGCCAACCAGGA 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 842 CGCCGAGATATGGAACTCGCTGAGCTACAACGGCGACGGCAAGCCGGCGGCCAACCAGGA 901
Qy 901 CCAGGGCCGGCAGGAGCTGGTGAACTGGGTGAACGCCGTCGGCGGGCCGGCGATGACGTT 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 902 CCAGGGCCGGCAGGAGCTGGTGAACTGGGTGAACGCCGTCGGCGGGCCGGCGATGACGTT 961
Qy 961 CGACTTCACCACCAAGGGCCTCCTGCAGGCGGGCGTCCAGGGCGAGCTGTGGCGGCTGCG 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 962 CGACTTCACCACCAAGGGCCTCCTGCAGGCGGGCGTCCAGGGCGAGCTGTGGCGGCTGCG 1021
Qy 1021 CGACGGCAACGGCAAGGCCGCCGGCATGATCGGGTGGCTGCCAGAGAAGGCCGTCACGTT 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1022 CGACGGCAACGGCAAGGCCGCCGGCATGATCGGGTGGCTGCCAGAGAAGGCCGTCACGTT 1081
Qy 1081 CGTCGACAACCACGACACCGGCTCGACGCAGAAGCTTTGGCCGTTCCCCTCCGACAAGGT 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1082 CGTCGACAACCACGACACCGGCTCGACGCAGAAGCTTTGGCCGTTCCCCTCCGACAAGGT 1141
Qy 1141 CATGCAGGGCTACGCCTACATCCTCACCCACCCCGGAGTCCCCTGCATCTTCTACGACCA 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1142 CATGCAGGGCTACGCCTACATCCTCACCCACCCCGGAGTCCCCTGCATCTTCTACGACCA 1201
Qy 1201 CATGTTCGACTGGAACCTGAAGCAGGAGATAACCGCGCTGGCGGCGATCAGGGAGAGGAA 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1202 CATGTTCGACTGGAACCTGAAGCAGGAGATAACCGCGCTGGCGGCGATCAGGGAGAGGAA 1261
Qy 1261 CGGCATCAACGCCGGGAGCAAGCTCCGGATCGTCGTCGCCGACGCCGACGCATACGTCGC 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1262 CGGCATCAACGCCGGGAGCAAGCTCCGGATCGTCGTCGCCGACGCCGACGCATACGTCGC 1321
Qy 1321 CGTCGTCGACGAGAAGGTCATGGTGAAGATCGGGACGAGGTACGACGTGGGCAACGCGGT 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1322 CGTCGTCGACGAGAAGGTCATGGTGAAGATCGGGACGAGGTACGACGTGGGCAACGCGGT 1381
Qy 1381 GCCGTCGGATTTCCATCAGACGGTGCACGGCAAGGACTACAGCGTCTGGGAGAAGGGGTC 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1382 GCCGTCGGATTTCCATCAGACGGTGCACGGCAAGGACTACAGCGTCTGGGAGAAGGGGTC 1441
Qy 1441 CCTCCGCGTCCCGGCGGGGCGGCACCTATAGCGGGCTCAAGCCCTAAACTGAACGGGATA 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1442 CCTCCGCGTCCCGGCGGGGCGGCACCTATAGCGGGCTCAAGCCCTAAACTGAACGGGATA 1501
Qy 1501 GTCATGCTCAAACCAGTTTCTACACGGCAAGAATTTACTGATTCTTATACTTTTGCAGTC 1560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1502 GTCATGCTCAAACCAGTTTCTACACGGCAAGAATTTACTGATTCTTATACTTTTGCAGTC 1561
Qy 1561 AATTAAATTATGGTTTTTATATATGTAATTTTGTATCCGATTGTAGCGTTCGAATAAGTA 1620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1562 AATTAAATTATGGTTTTTATATATGTAATTTTGTATCCGATTGTAGCGTTCGAATAAGTA 1621
Qy 1621 GGCAGGCTCTCTAGCCTCTAGGTTAATTGCGGGGCATATGTAGCTTGCCAGTTAATTGTG 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1622 GGCAGGCTCTCTAGCCTCTAGGTTAATTGCGGGGCATATGTAGCTTGCCAGTTAATTGTG 1681
Qy 1681 TTTGTATCACGCAGTTTGTAACCGTTGGTGCAATATATAATGTCAGGTTCAGGATGCAGT 1740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1682 TTTGTATCACGCAGTTTGTAACCGTTGGTGCAATATATAATGTCAGGTTCAGGATGCAGT 1741
Qy 1741 AAAAAATCATACTGCACCGATCAGTGAGTTTTT 1773
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1742 AAAAAATCATACTGCACCGATCAGTGAGTTTTT 1774
Thus, the αAmy3 gene is an endogenous Oryza sativa gene. As such, it would be an inherent property of the Oryza sativa αAmy3 gene to increase its level of expression in a reciprocal manner as the levels of OsMYBS2 decrease, as taught by Lu.
At the time the instant application was filed, it would have been obvious and within the scope of one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce the expression of an MYBS2 gene as taught by Chen to increase the expression of αAmy3 as taught by Lu to improve growth (and germination rate), in a monocotyledonous plant as taught by Broekaert. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Chen, Lu, and Broekaert knowing that MYBS2 can recognize (and bind to) the TA-box of αAmy3 as taught by Chen, and the reduced expression of MYBS2 would have the reciprocal effect on the expression of αAmy3 as taught by Lu. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a high expectation of success by combining the teachings of Chen, Lu, and Broekaert.
The method of reducing expression of one gene to increase expression of another gene in order to improve growth is a technique that was routine in the art at the time the application was filed, as taught by the cited references and the state of the art in general.
In regard to claim 3, Chen teaches that the expression of MYBS1 and MYBS2 was constitutively activated in both glucose-containing and glucose-free cultured seedlings, and the encoded MYBS1/AtMYBL and MYBS2 can recognize (and bind to) the TA-box of αAmy3 and enhance promoter activity (i.e., wherein the MYBS2 gene encodes an MYBS2 transcription factor; the MYBS2 transcription factor binds to a TA box in a promoter of the αAmy3 gene) (Chen, page 309, right column, last paragraph).
In regard to claims 5 and 7, Broekaert teaches that the plants include rice (i.e., Oryza sativa), maize, wheat, barley, millet, rye, sorghum and oats (i.e., wherein the monocotyledonous plant is selected from the group consisting of Zea mays, Sorghum bicolor, Setaria italica, Hordeum vulgare, Brachypodium distachyon, Oryza sativa, Triticum spp., and Saccharum spp.; wherein the plant is rice) (Broekaert, page 19, paragraph 0174).
In regard to claim 10, Broekaert teaches that the methods may be performed under non-stress conditions or under conditions of mild drought. For example, drought and/or salinization are manifested primarily as osmotic stress (i.e., wherein the abiotic stress factor is osmotic stress, salt, dehydration, or heat) (Broekaert, page 27, paragraph 0286).
In regard to claim 21, Broekaert teaches SEQ ID NO: 76, a MYB TF from Oryza sativa (LOC_Os10g41260) which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 22 (i.e., wherein the MYBS2 transcription factor has the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 22) (see alignment below) (Broekaert, page 58, Table A).
BROEKAERT SEQUENCE SEQ ID NO: 76 ALIGNED WITH INSTANT SEQUENCE SEQ ID NO: 22
Qy 1 MEQHEEAAERKPSPPVIFRLFGVEVRGGGGGVDEEEYEEEEVEGGLFIKKSSSMPNLTSI 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MEQHEEAAERKPSPPVIFRLFGVEVRGGGGGVDEEEYEEEEVEGGLFIKKSSSMPNLTSI 60
Qy 61 DPLPVPADGGKRRASDDSELASGQQKRRRRKVQERKKGVPWTEEEHKKFLEGLRQLGKGD 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 DPLPVPADGGKRRASDDSELASGQQKRRRRKVQERKKGVPWTEEEHKKFLEGLRQLGKGD 120
Qy 121 WRGISKNFVTSRTATQVASHAQKYFLRQTNPGKKKRRASLFDVVAECSDDQLPSPQSVGT 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 WRGISKNFVTSRTATQVASHAQKYFLRQTNPGKKKRRASLFDVVAECSDDQLPSPQSVGT 180
Qy 181 KPPTQDIIHTDRGDVPILSYPVARGFRGDSVQVDELTEYVKRLKAAEDMSLSMISGLEMA 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 KPPTQDIIHTDRGDVPILSYPVARGFRGDSVQVDELTEYVKRLKAAEDMSLSMISGLEMA 240
Qy 241 SSSISSLELSIAPPHCAIEAAIKVL 265
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 SSSISSLELSIAPPHCAIEAAIKVL 265
In regard to claim 23, Chen teaches creating the Arabidopsis T-DNA insertion mutants mybs1 and mybs2 to disrupt the gene’s function. Although Chen does not explicitly teach introducing into the transgenic plant a MYBS2 RNA interference (Ri) construct under the control of a Ubi promoter or a MYBS2 CRISPR-Cas9 construct using a guide RNA sequence targeting MYBS2 to reduce expression of the MYBS2 gene, it is stated in MPEP 2144.04: "In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice)"
Thus, introducing into the transgenic plant a MYBS2 RNA interference (Ri) construct under the control of a Ubi promoter or a MYBS2 CRISPR-Cas9 construct using a guide RNA sequence targeting MYBS2 to reduce expression of the MYBS2 gene is a matter of design choice.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Initially, it is noted that this is a new grounds of rejection. Applicant has indicated in the Remarks dated 12/12/2025 that by adding the limitations of claim 22 to independent claim 1, the claims should be in condition for allowance. However, the new grounds of rejection to the limitations of previous claim 22 maintain the 35 USC 103 rejection of the Non-Final Rejection dated 09/12/2025.
Summary
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
CHRISTINA MEADOWS
Examiner
Art Unit 1663
/CHRISTINA L MEADOWS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/Amjad Abraham/SPE, Art Unit 1663
1 Sequence: AK073487 (Kikuchi et al., 2003, Collection, mapping, and annotation of over 28,000 cDNA clones from japonica rice, Science, Vol. 301(5631), pp. 376-379)