DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1 & 15 are amended. Claims 2-3, 5, 10, 12-14 & 19 are canceled. Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 11, 15-18 & 20-23 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 11, 15-18 & 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohata (US 2006/0216608 A1) in view of Yeou (US 2015/0200399 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 6-9, 11, 15-18 & 20-23, Ohata teaches an electrochemical device comprising a negative electrode, a positive electrode, and a free-standing separator interposed between the negative electrode and the positive electrode, wherein the separator excludes a separator substrate formed of a polymer resin film and includes an insulating porous layer alone having a thickness of 10 microns to 30 microns and comprising 90 wt% of inorganic particles such as Al2O3 having an average particle diameter of 0.01 microns to 0.5 microns; and 1.48 wt% to 7.41 wt% of a binder resin including 20 wt% to 80 wt% of an elastomer (with an exemplary embodiment H2 using 20 wt% elastomer in the binder) such as a rubber including acrylonitrile ([0056]-[0060], [0068]-[0070], [0072]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0105], [0132]-[0134] & [0199]; Tables 3 & 5), wherein the elastomer has molecular weight of 300,000 g/mol as evidenced by Yeou ([0113]). “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”. See MPEP 2144.05 I. Ohata is silent as to the elastomer having a molecular weight (Mw) of 600,00 g/mol to 1,000,000 g/mol. Yeou teaches a battery comprising a separator comprising an insulating porous layer comprising inorganic particles and a binder ([0099]-[0100] & [0107]), wherein the binder comprises a fluoropolymer such as PVDF and a nonfluoropolymer including a repeating unit derived from an acryl monomer and a repeating unit derived from an olefin monomer ([0042]-[0052]) or a repeating unit derived form a nitrile monomer such as acrylonitrile and a linear alkylene monomer such as 1,3-butadiene ([0058]-[0060]) which reads on the claimed nitrile butadiene rubber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use a nitrile butadiene rubber having a molecular weight (Mw) of 100,00 g/mol to 1,000,000 g/mol because such as material is known to be suitable for a binder which can be combined with a filler to form a freestanding separator for a battery as taught by Yeou ([0020], [0057]-[0060] & [0099]-[0100]). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further include a nonfluoropolymer including a repeating unit derived from an acryl monomer and a repeating unit derived from an olefin monomer such as poly(propylene-acrylate), reading on the claimed olefin-based thermoplastic elastomer, along with the nitrile butadiene rubber employed in Ohata as a suitable binder for forming a free-standing separator composed of inorganic particles and a binder. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.06 I.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments that Ohata as modified by Yeou does not fairly teach or suggest the subject matter of claims 1 & 15, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
As noted in the above updated rejection of claims 1 & 15, Yeou discloses a separator comprising an insulating porous layer including a nonfluoropolymer such as poly(propylene-acrylate) and a nitrile butadiene rubber. While Yeou does not explicitly teach binder compositions including mixtures of different nonfluoropolymers, it is noted that the combination of two separate compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose, is found to be obvious. “[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.06 I.
Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1, 4, 6-9, 11, 15-18 & 20-23 stand rejected.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727