Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed on 11/18/2025 are acknowledged and entered. According to the Amendments to the claims, claims 14-15 has /have been amended, claims 1-5 were previously cancelled, claims 18-19 has /have been added. Accordingly, claims 6-19 are pending in the application with claims 6-13 and 16-17 previously withdrawn. An action on the merits for claims 14-15 and 18-19 are as follow.
The previous 112 (b) Claim Rejections and objections to the drawings are withdrawn in accordance with applicant's amendment to the claims and the drawings with no new matter added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “an adherend” in line 6 rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear what the relation between this “an adherend” and a wire member-equipped adherend mentioned in line 1 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the heat generation body” in line 10 rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear what the relation between this “the heat generation body” and at least one heat generation body mentioned in line 4 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “a heat generation in the at least one heat generation body” in line 11 rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear what the relation between this “a heat generation in the at least one heat generation body” and at least one heat generation body configured to generate heat mentioned in line 4 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “heat is applied is provided on an opposite side of the heat generation body” in line 5 rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear what the relation between this “heat is applied is provided on an opposite side of the heat generation body” and at least one heat generation body configured to generate heat mentioned in claim 14 line 4 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
The rest of the claims are also been rejected because each claim depends on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIZUNO et al. (US 2020/0172027 A1) in view of Suzuki et al. (JP 2019 186051 A).
Regarding Independent Claim 14, MIZUNO et al. discloses a wiring member-equipped adherend (sheet material 12, [0047], Fig 3), comprising:
a wiring member including at least one wire-like transmission member (electrical wire 20, [0052]) having a core wire (core wire 22 may be a solid wire or a stranded wire, [0052]) and a covering (an insulating covering 24 directly covering the core wire 22, [0052]) surrounding the core wire (see Fig 3), and
an adherend (a main surface 12a of 12, [0052], Fig 3), wherein
MIZUNO et al. discloses the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose at least one heat generation body configured to generate heat by induction heating; and, wherein the at least one heat generation body is a separate metallic member provided between the wiring member and a fixation surface of the adherend, the heat generation body surrounds a periphery of the wiring member, and the wiring member is configured to be fixed to the fixation surface of the adherend by a heat generation in the at least one heat generation body.
Suzuki et al. teach a wiring member (wires 7, P 5 of 8, line 2, Fig 4) including at least one wire-like transmission member having a core wire and a covering surrounding the core wire (an insulated electric wire 8, P 5 of 8, line 4, Fig 4. Note: taught by MIZUNO et al. already), and at least one heat generation body (12 is a metal tape winding layer, P 5 of 8, line 31, Fig 4) configured to generate heat by induction heating (welding may also be performed using a heating means such as… induction heating. [0130], MIZUNO et al.); and, wherein the at least one heat generation body is a separate metallic member (metal tape winding layer 12 is a separate metallic member, P 5 of 8, line 31, Fig 4) provided between the wiring member and a fixation surface of the adherend (12 provided between 7 and a fixation surface- outer layer 15, P 5 of 8, line 32, Fig 4. Note: “a fixation surface of the adherend”: a main surface 12a of 12, [0052], Fig 3,taught by MIZUNO et al. already), the heat generation body surrounds a periphery of the wiring member (12 surrounds a periphery of 7, Fig 4), and the wiring member is configured to be fixed to the fixation surface of the adherend (holding part 30 is welded /induction heating to the sheet material 12 by… holding part 30 is fixed to the sheet material 12, thus the electrical wires 20 are fixed to the sheet material 12, [0053, 0130], Fig 3, MIZUNO et al.) by a heat generation in the at least one heat generation body (a heat generation in the metal tape winding layer 12, P 5 of 8, line 31, Fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify MIZUNO et al. with Suzuki et al.’s further teaching of at least one heat generation body configured to generate heat by induction heating; and, wherein the at least one heat generation body is a separate metallic member provided between the wiring member and a fixation surface of the adherend, the heat generation body surrounds a periphery of the wiring member, and the wiring member is configured to be fixed to the fixation surface of the adherend by a heat generation in the at least one heat generation body; because Suzuki et al. teach, in Abstract, of providing an excellent electric cable in high frequency property and flexibility with a reduced diameter for easy connection during operation.
Claim 15, wherein a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (holding part 30 can be formed by extrusion-molding resin around the electrical wires 20, [0056]) adhering to the wiring member (inner side of 30 adhering to 22 through 24, Fig 3) is provided on a side of the heat generation body (12 is a metal tape winding layer, P 5 of 8, line 31, Fig 4, Suzuki et al.), and
a joint layer configured to have jointing properties (holding part 30 can be formed by extrusion-molding resin around the electrical wires 20, [0056]; outer side of 30 is a joint layer having joint properties, Fig 3) in a state in which heat is applied (holding part 30 is welded /induction heating to the sheet material 12, [0053, 0130], Fig 3) is provided on an opposite side of the heat generation body (12 is a metal tape winding layer, P 5 of 8, line 31, Fig 4, Suzuki et al.) from the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (provided on an opposite side from the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer, [0053], Fig 3).
Claim 18, wherein the covering (the insulated covering of the insulated electric wire 8, P 5 of 8, line 4, Fig 4. Note: taught by MIZUNO et al. already) is positioned between the core wire (the insulated electric wire 8, P 5 of 8, line 4, Fig 4. Note: taught by MIZUNO et al. already) and the heat generation body (the heat generation body 12, P 5 of 8, line 31, Fig 4, Suzuki et al.).
Claim 19, wherein the wiring member equipped-adherend includes a joint layer (14 is a resin tape layer, P 5 of 8, line 32, Fig 4, Suzuki et al.), and the heat generation body is positioned between the covering and the joint layer (12 is positioned between the insulated covering of the insulated electric wire 8 and 14, Fig 4, Suzuki et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 14-15 and 18-19 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is advised to refer to the Notice of References Cited for pertinent prior art.
/KUANGYUE CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761