DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 01/15/2026. Claims remain pending in the application. Claims 1 and 18-19 are independent.
Claim Objections
Applicant's amendment to claims corrects previous objections; therefore, the previous objections are withdrawn. Applicant's amendment to claims also raises the following new objections.
Claims 8 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in Claim 8, lines 1-3, "…after switching, in the screen display range, to display a horizontal screen playback window of the video list item triggered by the second trigger action on the third list page …" appears to be "…after switching, in the screen display range, to display the horizontal screen playback window of the video list item triggered by the second trigger action on the third list page …";
in Claim 20, lines 7-9, "… a recommendation strategy determined based on the associated content of a list item triggered on the first list page and …" appears to be "… a recommendation strategy determined based on an associated content of the list item triggered on the first list page and …" .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant's amendment to claims corrects some of previous rejections; therefore, some of previous rejections are withdrawn. Applicant's amendment to claims also raises new issues; therefore, the remaining rejections are shown below.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "… after a playback of a video list item played by a current displayed horizontal screen playback window is completed …" in lines , which rendering the claim indefinite because ".
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the triggered list item" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the list item triggered by the first trigger action" is considered.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "… in response to detecting a second trigger action on a list item of the second list page, switching, in the screen display range, to display a third list page …" in lines 4-5, which rendering the claim indefinite because "... in response to detecting a second trigger action on a video list item in the video feed flow on the second list page … switching, in the screen display range, to display a horizontal screen playback window of the video list item triggered by the second trigger action on a third list page" is also recited in its based claim, and it is unclear whether (a) "a second trigger action" recited here is the same as or different to the "second trigger action" recited in its based claim; (b) "a list item" of "the second list page" recited here is the same as, different to, or related to "a video list item " on "the second list page" recited in its based claim; and (c) "a third list page" recited here is the same as, different to "a third list page" recited in its based claim. Clarification is required.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "… corresponding to the list item triggered by the first trigger action on the second list page … and an associated content of the list item triggered by the first trigger action on the second list page" in lines 5-10, which rendering the claim indefinite because "... wherein at least two types of list items are displayed on the first list page … in response to detecting a first trigger action on a list item of the at least two types of list items … in response to detecting a second trigger action on a video list item in the video feed flow on the second list page… " is also recited in its based claim, and it is unclear how can "the first trigger action" be applied on "the second list page" when "the first trigger action" is also applied on "the first list page" as recited in its based claim. For examination purpose, "… corresponding to the list item triggered by the second trigger action on the second list page … and an associated content of the list item triggered by the second trigger action on the second list page" is considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12-14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selinger et al. (US 2010/0250336 A1, pub. date: 09/30/2010), hereinafter Selinger in view of JOHNSTON et al. (US 2018/0113579 A1, pub. date: 04/26/2018), hereinafter JOHNSTON and ZHOU et al. (US 2022/0050582 A1, priority date: 09/10/2018), hereinafter ZHOU.
Intendent Claims 1 and 18-19
Selinger discloses a list flow implementation method (Selinger, FIG. 2A; ¶¶ [0022] and [0027]: the GUI of the MSPR service 105 provide the functionality for dynamically recommending a list of products of the retailer 130 to users of the Web site), the method being applied to a client (Selinger, 140 in FIG. 1; ¶ [0015]: the users 140 may each use computing systems and/or devices (not shown) to interact with a Multi-Strategy Product Recommendation ("MSPR") service 105) and comprising:
displaying a first list page in a screen display range, wherein at least two types of list items are displayed on the first list page, and the at least two types of list items comprise at least two types of products/items which are classified according to content of products/items (Selinger, FIG. 2A; ¶¶ [0013], [0022], and [0026]-[0031]: a Web page may be generated and displayed to a user that includes images of and/or other indications of numerous items, such as for an initial group of recommended items, and with the images or other displayed indications of the items being selectable by the user, wherein the multiple item images are presented in a grid-like, a list, or a spiral/ring-like manner; e.g., the user may have initiated access to functionality of the MSPR service by selecting to browse recommended items in a particular product category, with the initial group of product recommendations provided for display in the recommended item area 270 being determined using a recommendation strategy that identifies recent top selling products within that particular product category; ¶ [0011]: identify/classify items that are similar to each other or otherwise related to each other (e.g., items that have similar or otherwise related items attributes, such as price, type, size, etc.; users who searched for this item attribute and/or browsed this item category are most likely to view and/or purchase these items or items with these attributes or items in these categories; etc.); ¶ [0014]: recommending "products" to users or other types of items; ¶ [0020]: recommendations generated by the MSPR service 105 may be limited to products that are included in the one or more particular subgroups; e.g., such subgroups may include products that are grouped/classified in various manners, such as to reflect products of a particular category and/or type (e.g., clothing, jewelry, books, tools, etc.), products available in a particular department of a retailer (e.g., sporting goods, jewelry, home furnishings, women's clothing, men's shoes, etc.), products that may be grouped on the basis of various other attributes of the products, etc.; ¶¶ [0022], [0029], and [0031]: the user may indicate a desire to browse a group of recommended products of a particular type and/or category, with the initial generated group of product recommendations being products of that particular type or category; the user may have interacted with the Web site of the retailer to obtain an initial group of recommendations that are not limited to a particular subgroup (e.g., such as to obtain recommendations for products that are generally available from the retailer, such as the top sellers of the retailer for various product categories); ¶ [0024]: provide users with specific types of recommendations for specific types of products in specific types of situations; ¶¶ [0045]-[0046]: the recommended items may include, for example, other pants that are related to multiple or all of the currently selected pants, shirt and shoes of the current collection, and/or other types of items (e.g., other shirts, other shoes, etc.) that are related to multiple or all of the currently selected pants, shirt and shoes of the current collection; the various types of determined recommended items may be displayed in various manners and at various times, such as simultaneously in an interspersed manner (e.g., based on associated relevance scores with respect to all of the currently selected items of the collection, such as to first show a particular shirt that has the highest aggregate relevance score with respect to the selected pants, shirt and shoes of the current collection, to next show particular shoes that have the second highest aggregate relevance score with respect to the selected pants, shirt and shoes of the current collection, etc.), may be displayed simultaneously but separately (e.g., with a first row of a grid showing recommended pants, a second row of the grid showing recommended shirts, etc.), may be displayed at different times ( e.g., if the pants of the current collection is designated by the user, having the grid include recommended items corresponding to those pants, and having the grid change to show recommended items corresponding to the shirt of the current collection after the user designates that shirt rather than those pants), etc.);
in response to detecting a first trigger action on a list item of the at least two types of list items, switching, in the screen display range, to display a product/item feed flow associated with the list item triggered by the first trigger action on a second list page (Selinger, ¶¶ [0013], [0017]-[0018], [0025], and [0036]-[0038] with FIGS. 2B-C: if the user makes a current selection of one of the recommended items, a second group of recommended items may be dynamically generated for the user based at least in part on the current selection, and then displayed to the user via the GUI, such as for a second group that includes some or all of the items of the first group (and optionally additional items), or instead a second group that does not include any of the items of the first group; similarly, if the user makes a second current selection of one of the recommended items of the second group, a third group of recommended items may similarly be dynamically generated for the user based at least in part on the current selection(s), and then displayed to the user via the GUI; identify products of a similar nature or kind to the selected recommended products and/or to identify products that are otherwise related to or associated with the selected recommended products; the GUI displays user-selectable information about numerous recommended products or other items available from one or more retailers, and dynamically updates the display with newly generated recommendations for products or other items as the user makes successive selections of particular displayed recommended products or other items, such as during an ongoing interactive recommendation exploration session; at some time after the multiple item images corresponding to the first group of recommended products is displayed to the user in the recommended item area 270 of FIG. 2A, the user interacts with the display 200 to select item 6 image 253 at grid position 272b:270b, such as to indicate an interest in item 6 and/or in items related to item 6, with the results of the selection being illustrated in FIG. 2B, where multiple item images corresponding to a new second group of products recommended for the user are currently being displayed in the recommended item area 270, with the second group of recommended products having been generated by the MSPR service in response to the user selection of item 6, and information related to the selected item 6 is now displayed in the selected item area 205, such as to indicate that item 6 is a currently selected product of the user; e.g., as a result of the user's selection, a number of new item images are displayed in the recommended item area 270 (e.g., item images corresponding to items 100-110), with each new item image corresponding to a recommended item that was newly identified by the aggregated recommendation strategies, or otherwise determined by the aggregated recommendation strategies to have a sufficiently high relevance score to be included in the second displayed recommendation group; in addition, a number of previously displayed item images from the first recommendation group of FIG. 2A (i.e., images for items 11, 5, 2, 1 and 13) are currently displayed in the recommended item area 270, with at least some of these item images being displayed in a different grid location than they were displayed in FIG. 2A prior to the selection of item 6, such as based on newly determined relevance scores for at least some of the recommended items corresponding to such item images as part of their inclusion in the second group; conversely, several other item images that were previously displayed in FIG. 2A prior to the user selection of item 6 are no longer part of the second recommendation group displayed in the recommended item area 270 of FIG. 2B; at some time after the multiple item images corresponding to the new second group of recommended products is displayed to the user in recommended item area 270 of FIG. 2B, the user interacts with the display 200 to select item 109 image 254 at grid position 272d:270c, such as to indicate an interest in item 109 and/or in items related to item 109, with the results of the selection being illustrated in FIG. 2C; multiple item images corresponding to a new third group of products recommended for the user are currently being displayed in recommended item area 270, with the third group of recommended products having been generated by the MSPR service in response to the user selection of item 109; Information related to the selected item 109 is now displayed in the selected item area 205; the information related to the selected item 109 includes item 109 image 220, and various product information 222, as well as user selectable control 224 to obtain additional information related to item 109, and user-selectable control 226 to deselect or otherwise remove the item 109 from being a currently selected item; i.e., the second list page (e.g., FIG.2B) refers to a feed flow according to the "feed flow" described in Page 1, lines 11-12 in BACKGROUND section of the invention: "A user can click a list item of the list page (e.g., a user can select item 109 in FIG. 2B of Selinger) to view the detail page corresponding to the list item (e.g., display detailed information in the selected item area 205 in FIG. 2C of Selinger). Such a list page can be referred to as feed flow"; ¶ [0052]: the MSPR system may obtain such information in various manners, such as by the MSPR system pulling such information from one or more other services periodically and/or on demand, by one or more other services pushing such information to the MSPR system periodically and/or as otherwise triggered (e.g., as soon as the information is available, such as to maintain a live feed so that the MSPR system has access to the most up-to-date available information), etc.),
wherein a content recommendation strategy adopted by the second list page is determined based on (Selinger, ¶¶ [0011]-[0012], [0018], and [0033]-[0034]: the recommendation strategies may be based at least in part on data regarding prior interactions of numerous users with numerous items, wherein the interaction data about the prior user interactions with items may then be analyzed and summarized in various ways to identify items that are popular; to identify items that are similar to each other or otherwise related to each other; to identify items that are popular among users similar to a user for whom recommendations are being made; to identify items that have been explicitly associated with one another, such as by a retailer, an advertiser, a manufacturer, and/or another user (e.g., "buy together" items); to identify items that are similar or otherwise related to items interacted with by a particular user; etc.; after the user interacts to indicate an interest in one or more recommended products, the MSPR service 105 may use the indications as part of one or more recommendation strategies to identify products that may be of interest to the particular user; e.g., identify products of a similar nature or kind to the selected recommended products and/or to identify products that are otherwise related to or associated with the selected recommended products; the new group of recommended products may be generated by aggregating results of the recommendation strategy used to identify the initial group of recommended products (e.g., recent top selling items within a particular category) with results of one or more recommendation strategies that identify products that are similar to or otherwise related to the currently selected product item 6), and at least one of a browsing behavior on the list item triggered by the first trigger action or a browsing behavior on a previous second list page, and wherein the browsing behavior comprises browsing time (Selinger, ¶¶ [0011], [0021]-[0022], and [0045]: the recommendation strategies may be may be based at least in part on data regarding prior interactions of numerous users with numerous items, wherein types of interactions of customers of online or other retailers with items for which interaction data is gathered may include performing searches (e.g., for particular items, for items of a particular category or other defined group of items, for items having one or more indicated attributes, etc.); browsing item categories; viewing detailed information about particular items; purchasing items; doing item returns; etc.; the interaction data about the prior user interactions with items may then be analyzed and summarized in various ways to identify items that are similar to each other or otherwise related to each other (e.g., items that have similar or otherwise related items attributes, such as price, type, size, etc.; users who searched for this item attribute and/or browsed this item category are most likely to view and/or purchase these items or items with these attributes or items in these categories; etc.); items that are related to other items may be determined by users previously interacting with the related items in similar manners ( e.g., based on doing one or more of viewing, purchasing, searching for, browsing for, etc. for each of the related items), possibly at similar times (e.g., during a single interaction session)) (Selinger, ¶¶ [0066]-[0071]: various other types of information and/or indications may be used to determine the initial group of recommended items, including user preferences; the initial recommendation strategy may include multiple recommendation strategies for use in determining an initial group of recommended items; the request for a determined group of recommended items is not based on an initial selection, determine whether the request for the determined group of recommended item is based on the selection of a previously recommended item); and
in response to detecting a second trigger action on a (Selinger, FIGS. 2B-D; ¶¶ [0013], [0017], [0025], [0032], and [0035]-[0041]: at some time after the multiple item images corresponding to the first group of recommended products is displayed to the user in the recommended item area 270 of FIG. 2A, the user interacts with the display 200 to select item 6 image 253 at grid position 272b:270b, such as to indicate an interest in item 6 and/or in items related to item 6, with the results of the selection being illustrated in FIG. 2B, where multiple item images corresponding to a new second group of products recommended for the user are currently being displayed in the recommended item area 270, with the second group of recommended products having been generated by the MSPR service in response to the user selection of item 6, and information related to the selected item 6 is now displayed in the selected item area 205, such as to indicate that item 6 is a currently selected product of the user; at some time after the multiple item images corresponding to the new second group of recommended products is displayed to the user in recommended item area 270 of FIG. 2B, the user interacts with the display 200 to select item 109 image 254 at grid position 272d:270c, such as to indicate an interest in item 109 and/or in items related to item 109, with the results of the selection being illustrated in FIG. 2C, where multiple item images corresponding to a new third group of products recommended for the user are currently being displayed in recommended item area 270, with the third group of recommended products having been generated by the MSPR service in response to the user selection of item 109; after the user has de-selected item 6 from the selected item area 205 by interacting with the user control 232 in FIG. 2C, a modified/updated display 200 is illustrated in FIG. 2D, wherein the new fourth group of recommended products displayed in FIG. 2D may be generated by aggregating results of the recommendation strategy used to identify the initial group of recommended products (e.g., recent top selling items in a category) and the results of the recommendation strategy used to identify products that are similar to or otherwise related to the selected item 109, but without including the previously used recommendation strategy used to identify items that are similar to or otherwise related to item 6; a user may interact with various information corresponding to a displayed recommended product to provide feedback with respect to that product, such as to provide positive and/or negative ratings with respect to the displayed recommended product (e.g., a numerical rating, a star rating, a thumbs-up/down rating, etc.), with such feedback being used to reduce (if a negative rating) and/or increase (if a positive rating) the relevance scores for products that are determined to be similar to or otherwise related to the rated displayed recommended product; the users may interact with the displayed images in various other ways to obtain and/or view information related to recommended products, such as by "hovering" over a displayed image of a recommended product to cause information related to a recommended product associated with the displayed image to be provided to the user (e.g., price, description, sales information, availability, etc.)).
Selinger further discloses an electronic device (Selinger, 300 and 350 in FIG. 3; ¶ [0049]: a server computing system 300; a user computing systems 350), comprising: one or more processors (Selinger, 305 and 351 in FIG. 3; ¶ [0049]: CPU); and a storage apparatus (Selinger, 330/357 and 320/354 in FIG. 3; ¶¶ [0049]-[0052]: memory 330/357 and storage 320/354) configured to store one or more programs, wherein when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs cause the one or more processors to implement the method described above (Selinger, FIG. 3; ¶ [0050]: the MSPR system 340 stored in the memory 330 is executed under control of configured CPU 305 for providing recommendations regarding products or other items to various users who are interacting with user computing systems 350).
Selinger further discloses a non-transitory storage medium (Selinger, ¶ [0057]: a computer-readable medium, such as a hard disk, a memory, a network, or a portable media article to be read by an appropriate drive or via an appropriate connection), comprising computer-executable instructions which, when executed by a computer processor, cause the computer processor to execute the method described above (Selinger, FIG. 3; ¶ [0050]: the MSPR system 340 stored in the memory 330 is executed under control of configured CPU 305 for providing recommendations regarding products or other items to various users who are interacting with user computing systems 350).
Selinger fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein product/item(s)/list item is/are video(s)/video list item (i.e., wherein the at least two types of list items comprises at least two types of videos which are classified according to content of videos; display a video feed flow on a second list page; detecting a second trigger action on a video list item in the video feed flow on the second list page; and the video list
item triggered by the second trigger action); (2) wherein a content recommendation strategy adopted by the second list page is determined based on content publication time; (3) wherein the browsing behavior comprises browsing duration, liking, following, or commenting; and (4) in response to detecting a second trigger action on a video list item in the video feed flow on the second list page and the second trigger action being a control action for switching the video list item triggered by the second trigger action to a video horizontal screen mode, switching, in the screen display range, to display a horizontal screen playback window of the video list item triggered by the second trigger action on the third list page.
JOHNSTON teaches a system and a method for browsing and playing content (JOHNSTON, ¶ [0002]), wherein (1) product/item(s)/list item is/are video(s)/video list item (i.e., wherein the at least two types of list items comprises at least two types of videos which are classified according to content of videos; display a video feed flow associated with the triggered list item on a second list page; the triggered list item being a video list item; updating a/the current focus video list item; replacing the current focus video list item with a next video list item; and replacing the current focus video list item with a previous video list item) (JOHNSTON, FIGS. 6B-6K and 7K; ¶¶ [0156]-[0160] and [0186]: in FIGS. 6B-6D, a left-to-right swipe of contact 608 has been detected on touch-sensitive surface 604; in response, the electronic device moves the current focus from representation 606-2 to representation 606-3, which corresponds to media item C from media provider 2, as shown in FIG. 6D; in FIGS. 6E-6G, a further left-to-right swipe of contact 608 has been detected on touch-sensitive surface 604; in response, the electronic device similarly moves the current focus from representation 606-3 to representation 606-7, which corresponds to media item G from media provider 3, as shown in FIG. 6G; in FIG. 6H, a top-to-bottom swipe of contact 608 has been detected on touch-sensitive surface 604 such that the current focus is navigated past the bottom edge of user interface 602; in response, the electronic device scrolls through user interface 602 to fully reveal, in user interface 602, representations 606-5 and 606-6 of recommended media items, and partially reveal further representations of trending media items (e.g., top movies, in FIG. 6H); as a result of the top-to-bottom swipe of contact 608 on touch sensitive surface 604 in FIG. 6H, the electronic device moves the current focus from representation 606-7 to representation 606-6, as shown in FIG. 6H; in FIG. 61, a further top-to-bottom swipe of contact 608 has been detected on touch-sensitive surface 604 such that the current focus is again navigated past the bottom edge of user interface 602; in response, the electronic device scrolls through user interface 602 to fully reveal, in user interface 602, representations 614-1 to 614-4 of trending media items (e.g., top movies, in FIG. 61); as a result of the top-to-bottom swipe of contact 608 on touch-sensitive surface 604 in FIG. 61, the electronic device moves the current focus from representation 606-6 to representation 614-3, corresponding to media item K from content provider 3, as shown in FIG. 6H; in FIGS. 6J-6K, a further top-to-bottom swipe of contact 608 has been detected on touch-sensitive surface 604 such that the current focus is again navigated past the bottom edge of user interface 602, and the electronic device further scrolls through user interface 602 to reveal, in user interface 602, further representations 614-5 to 614-8 of trending media items in user interface 602 ( e.g., top television shows in FIG. 6K); additionally, the electronic device moves the current focus from representation 614-3 to representation 614-7, which corresponds to media item O from media provider 2, as shown in FIG. 6K; the input corresponding to the request to navigate through the plurality of suggested media items corresponds (758) to a request to navigate through the plurality of suggested media items in a first direction, such as in FIGS. 6B-6G (e.g., the input comprises a horizontal, right/left scrolling input); the electronic device receives (760), via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to navigate further through the plurality of suggested media items in a second direction, different from the first direction, such as in FIGS. 6H-6K (e.g., the second input comprises a vertical, up/down scrolling input); FIGS. 8A-8V; ¶¶ [0197]-[0206]: when a user browses and plays media that is accessible on the electronic device, the user may desire to browse such media by category (e.g., movies, television shows, etc.); in FIG. 8A, the electronic device is displaying representations 806-1 to 806-6 of suggested media items and representations 815-1 to 815-4 of trending media items and representation 815-3 corresponding to media item K has the current focus, wherein Item A (806-1) and Item B (806-2) are movies, Item C (806-3) is TV shows, and Item D (806-4) is news; in FIG. 8B, a click of touch-sensitive surface 604 is detected while representation 815-3, corresponding to media item K, has the current focus; in response, display a canonical page corresponding to media item K, as shown in FIG. 8C, which includes various information and user interface objects; in response top-to-bottom swipes of contact 608 are detected on touch-sensitive surface 604 as in FIGS. 8E-8H, the electronic device scrolls through representations 815 of trending media items to reveal, in user interface 802, additional trending media items (e.g., top TV shows), and eventually user interface elements 812-1 to 812-4 that correspond to categories of suggested media available on the electronic device; e.g., as shown in FIG. 8H, user interface elements 812 include user interface element 812-1 corresponding to movies, user interface element 812-2 corresponding to television shows, user interface element 812-3 corresponding to news shows, and user interface element 812-4 corresponding to sports shows; selection of one of user interface elements 812 causes the electronic device to display media items, assessable by the electronic device, of the selected category; e.g., in response to a click of touch-sensitive surface 604 while user interface element 812-1, corresponding to movies, has the current focus, the electronic device replaces display of representations 815 of trending media items and user interface elements 812 of media categories with representations 814-1 to 814-12 of media items in the movies category, as shown in FIG. 8J; the user is able to scroll through representations 814 of media items in the selected category to reveal, in user interface 802, user interface elements for browsing media items by sub-categories of the selected category; e.g., the electronic device scrolls through representations 814 of media items in the movies category to reveal, in user interface 802, user interface elements 816-1 to 816-4 that correspond to sub-categories of movies media available on the electronic device; e.g., user interface elements 816 include user interface element 816-1 corresponding to dramas, user interface element 816-2 corresponding to comedies, user interface element 816-3 corresponding to suspense movies, and user interface element 816-4 corresponding to action movies; selection of one of user interface elements 816 causes the electronic device to display media items, assessable by the electronic device, of the selected sub-category; in response, the electronic device scrolls through representations 806 of media items, representations 815 of trending media items and user interface elements 812 to reveal, in user interface 802, representations 818-1 to 818-4 of music video trending media items that are suggested for the user; in FIG. 8Q, an additional top-to-bottom swipe of contact 608 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 604 to reveal additional trending media items, which are in the documentaries category of media item; the electronic device displays representations of media items in a given media category as a row in user interface 802, without first requiring selection of a media-category user interface element 812 for browsing media items in that category ( e.g., representations 818 of music video and documentary media items in FIGS. 8P-8Q); i.e., display two or more types of videos (e.g., news, sports, music videos, documentaries, … etc. or drama, comedy, suspense, action, … etc.) which are classified according to content; the triggered list item being a video list item (e.g., Item K in FIG. 8B); updating a/the current focus video list item; replacing the current focus video list item with a next video list item; and replacing the current focus video list item with a previous video list item (e.g., updating/replacing current focus item from Item K/I to Item O/M or vice versa in FIGS. 6J-6K/8E-8F)) (JOHNSTON, FIGS. 6V-6X; ¶ [0165]: in FIG. 6V, representation 614-3, corresponding to trending media item K, has the current focus; in FIG. 6W, a click of touch-sensitive surface 604 is detected while representation 614-3 has the current focus, and in response, rather than starting to play media item K, the electronic device displays a canonical page corresponding to media item K, which includes, e.g., information 618 about media item K (e.g., genre, director(s), actor(s), user rating, content rating, length, year of release, description, etc.) and information identifying media provider 3 (via which media item K is available); the canonical page corresponding to media item K also includes button 616, selection of which will cause the electronic device to play media item K in a media application corresponding to media provider 3; the canonical page includes selectable representations of media items (e.g., items AA, BB, CC, DD) that are related to media item K (e.g., are of the same genre), and that are selected to navigate to canonical pages of those media items; i.e., the second list page (e.g., FIG. 6X) refers to a video feed flow according to the "feed flow" described in Page 1, lines 11-12 in BACKGROUND section of the invention: "A user can click a list item of the list page (e.g., a user can select media item AA, BB, CC, or DD in FIG. 6X of JOHNSTON) to view the detail page corresponding to the list item (e.g., display detailed information in the canonical pages of those media items similar to FIG. 6X of JOHNSTON). Such a list page can be referred to as feed flow");
(2) wherein a content recommendation strategy adopted by the second list page is determined based on content publication time (JOHNSTON, FIGS. 6V-6X; FIGS. 8A-C; FIGS. 6N-O; ¶¶ [0165], [0200], and [0162]-[0163]: in FIG. 6V/8A, representation 614-3/815-3, corresponding to trending media item K, has the current focus; in FIG. 6W/8B, a click of touch-sensitive surface 604 is detected while representation 614-3/815-3 has the current focus, and in response, rather than starting to play media item K, the electronic device displays a canonical page corresponding to media item K, which includes, e.g., information 618/815 about media item K (e.g., genre, director(s), actor(s), user rating, content rating, length, year of release, description, etc.) and information identifying media provider 3 (via which media item K is available); additionally, the canonical page includes selectable representations of media items (e.g., items AA, BB, CC, DD) that are related to media item K (e.g., are of the same genre) as shown in FIG. 6X/8C; the electronic device prioritizes the display of suggested media item representations (e.g., items AA, BB, CC, DD shown in FIG. 6X/8C) depending on time-related characteristics (e.g., released date) of those suggested media items; e.g., in FIG. 6N, media item A-2 is a new episode of episodic media collection A, the new episode having just been released today; the electronic device has prioritized display of representation 606-9, which corresponds to media item A-2, in representations 606; the electronic device has placed representation 606-9 at the beginning of the list of suggested media items, as shown in FIG. 6N; as more time passes, the electronic device optionally de-prioritizes display of representation 606-9 in representations 606; e.g., in FIG. 60, seven days have passed since media item A-2 was released or made available to the user of the electronic device; as a result, the electronic device has de-prioritized display of representation 606-9 in representations 606, and has moved representation 606-9 further back in the list of suggested media items; in the meantime, the electronic device has prioritized display of representation 606-11, which corresponds to media item Z, over representation 606-9, because media item Z was optionally more recently added by the electronic device to the listing of suggested media items; i.e., a content recommendation strategy is determined by released dates of the videos); and
(3) wherein the browsing behavior comprises browsing duration, liking, following, or commenting (JOHNSTON, FIGS. 6X, 6A, and 6D; ¶¶ [0165], [0153], [0156], [0174], and [0178]: the canonical page also includes button 621 to favorite/like media item K (e.g., thus, causing it be displayed with suggested media item representations 606 in FIG. 6A); the media items displayed in FIG. 6A are media items suggested by the electronic device for the user of the electronic device, and are determined by the electronic device to be suggested media items for various reasons, such as prior user actions associated with the media items and/or prior media viewing activity of the user; e.g., the user may have partially watched some media items to cause them to be included in user interface 602, the user may have favorited/liked some media items to cause them to be included in user interface 602, the user may have watched previous episodes in a television series such that the current/next episode is included in user interface 602, etc.; media item C is a suggested media item, because the user of the electronic device favorited/liked media item C; the suggested media items are selected for display in the user interface based on different prior user actions associated with the suggested media items; e.g., the user may have partially watched some media items to cause them to be included in the user interface, the user may have favorited/liked some media items to cause them to be included in the user interface, the user may have watched previous episodes in a TV series such that the current/next episode is included in the user interface, etc.; the user has favorited/liked the first media item via a canonical page for the first media item, the user has provided a long press input on the first media item to display a contextual menu from which the user adds the first media item to the user's favorite media items when not on the canonical page for the first media item, or the user has provided a voice command to a virtual assistant on the electronic device to "add this to my favorites" (when on the canonical page for the first media item) or "add [ media item name] to my favorites" (when not on the canonical page for the first media item); ¶ [0354] with FIG. 18A: uses various criteria to determine whether a particular media item is likely to be of interest to the user, and thus to determine whether to include that media item in user interface 1802; the electronic device optionally determines to include a live-event media item in user interface 1802 (e.g., representations 1806-1 and 1806-2) if the user has expressed interest in a news topic, a sports team, a sport player, etc. that is related to the live-event media item, the user watched the live-event media item for more than a predetermined amount of time such as 30 seconds, 1 minute, 5 minutes, and which is still ongoing, and/or etc.; this criteria optionally differs from criteria for including on-demand media in user interface 1802, which in some embodiments occurs as a result of the user watching, favoriting, bookmarking, adding to a watchlist (i.e., following) or otherwise interacting with the particular on-demand media that is included in user interface 1802; ¶ [0378]: he second group of media items is sorted in accordance with one or more criteria including: sorting live events before upcoming events; sorting live events that are of higher interest to the user before live events that are of lower interest to the user based on user preference information such as favorite teams, historical viewing habits, preferred sports, etc.; and/or sorting upcoming events that are starting sooner before upcoming events that are starting later).
Selinger and JOHNSTON are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, a system and a method for browsing and playing content. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of JOHNSTON to Selinger. Motivation for doing so would (1) enhance the user's interactions with the electronic device by facilitating browsing of media items by category so that reduce the amount of time needed by a user to perform operations, and thus reduce the power usage of the device and increases battery life for battery powered devices (JOHNSTON, ¶ [0197]), (2) allow the electronic device to more effectively convey media item availability to the user so that improve the efficiency of conveying such information to the user by prioritizing display of representations of certain media items based on time-considerations (JOHNSTON, ¶ [0163]); and (3) improve the efficiency with which information about media items that may be of interested to the user is conveyed to the user, thus improving user-electronic device interactions (JOHNSTON, ¶ [0178]).
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON fails to explicitly disclose in response to detecting a second trigger action on a video list item in the video feed flow on the second list page and the second trigger action being a control action for switching the video list item triggered by the second trigger action to a video horizontal screen mode, switching, in the screen display range, to display a horizontal screen playback window of the video list item triggered by the second trigger action on the third list page.
ZHOU teaches a system and a method relating to displaying a list of video in a user interface (ZHOU, FIGS. 1 and 10c), in response to detecting a second trigger action on a video list item in the video feed flow on the second list page and the second trigger action being a control action for switching the video list item triggered by the second trigger action to a video horizontal screen mode, switching, in the screen display range, to display a horizontal screen playback window of the video list item triggered by the second trigger action on the third list page (ZHOU, ¶¶ [0060]-[0063] with FIG. 1: as shown in a left portion of FIG. 1, a display 10 of the terminal 100 displays interface content 20 currently output by a system, and the interface content 20 is on an interface provided by the video application; a touch panel is disposed on the display 10, and may be configured to receive a touch control operation performed by the user; the touch control operation is an operation that the user touches the display 10 by using a hand, an elbow, a stylus, or the like; when the terminal 100 detects an operation (e.g., tapping a maximize button) performed by the user on the video interface, or when a posture of the terminal 100 changes from portrait orientation to landscape orientation, in response to the operation, the terminal 100 displays, in full screen, a video interface shown in a right portion of FIG. 1; displaying the video interface in full screen means that the display 10 displays only the video interface and does not display other content; displaying the video interface in full screen may mean that when displaying the video interface, the display may further display a system-level interface element, e.g., a status bar or a floating shortcut menu (for example, Assistive Touch of Apple); the video interface may include a video picture, and may further include a progress bar of the video, a virtual button for adjusting volume, a virtual button for playing/pausing a video, and the like).
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON, and ZHOU are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, a system and a method relating to displaying a list of videos in a user interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of ZHOU to Selinger in view of JOHNSTON. Motivation for doing so would allow users to flexibly control the orientation of video display and improve spatial utilization (ZHOU, ¶¶ [0060]-[0063] with FIG. 1).
Claim 12
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU discloses all the elements as stated in Claim 1 and further discloses wherein a content recommendation strategy adopted by the first list page is determined, before the first list page is displayed in the screen display range, according to interests which are analyzed based on a history operation behavior on a previous first list page, a history operation behavior on the previous second list page, and a history operation behavior on a previous third list page (Selinger, FIGS. 2A-D; ¶¶ [0011]-[0013], [0016]-[0018], [0025]-[0042]: the recommendation strategies may be may be based at least in part on data regarding prior interactions of numerous users with numerous items, wherein types of interactions of customers of online or other retailers with items for which interaction data is gathered may include performing searches (e.g., for particular items, for items of a particular category or other defined group of items, for items having one or more indicated attributes, etc.); browsing item categories; viewing detailed information about particular items; purchasing items; doing item returns; etc.; identify items that are similar or otherwise related to items interacted with by a particular user, such as a user to whom recommendations are to be provided (e.g., interactions related to items purchased by the user, items viewed by the user, items added to a shopping cart of the user, etc.); the new third group of recommended products may be generated by aggregating results of the recommendation strategy used to identify the initial group of recommended products (e.g., recent top selling items within a particular category), results of the previously used recommendation strategy to identify products that are similar to or otherwise related to the selected item 6, and results of a recommendation strategy that identifies products similar to or otherwise related to the selected item 109; the new fourth group of recommended products may be generated by aggregating results of the recommendation strategy used to identify the initial group of recommended products (e.g., recent top selling items in a category) and the results of the recommendation strategy used to identify products that are similar to or otherwise related to the selected item 109, but without including the previously used recommendation strategy used to identify items that are similar to or otherwise related to item 6 after a user de-selects the item 6) (Selinger, ¶¶ [0011] and [0016]-[0018]: use information about top item sellers in a particular category as one recommendation strategy when a user interest in that category is indicated or suspected; use information about users who viewed a particular item as being most likely to purchase other identified items as one recommendation strategy when a user interest in that particular item is indicated or suspected; at least some of the recommendation strategies may use the user interaction information 115 to determine which products to recommend to a particular user, such as to identify products that are popular, to identify products that are similar to or otherwise related to one or more other products currently selected by the user or otherwise determined to be of current interest to the user, and/or to otherwise likely to be of interest to a particular user based at least in part on prior interactions of multiple users; ¶ [0022]: the user may enter one or more search terms for recommended products, with the initial group of recommended products being products that match one or more of the search terms; etc.; ¶¶ [0029]-[0031]: an initial group of recommended products may be generated and provided for current display to the user based on the user having initiated access to an interactive recommendation exploration session provided by the MSPR service GUI in various manners, such as by having interacted with a Web site of a retailer providing such functionality, or by otherwise interacting directly with the MSPR service; one or more initial recommendation strategies may be chosen for recommending products for a particular user based on various preferences of the particular user (e.g., such as preferences to use one or more recommendation strategies) and/or other information associated with the user; e.g., the initial group of product recommendations may be generated by the MSPR service using various recommendation strategies to identify products that may be of potential interest to the user; some of which may be based on previous interactions of multiple users with various of the products available from the retailer; ¶¶ [0066]-[0071]: various other types of information and/or indications may be used to determine the initial group of recommended items, including user preferences; the initial recommendation strategy may include multiple recommendation strategies for use in determining an initial group of recommended items; the request for a determined group of recommended items is not based on an initial selection, determine whether the request for the determined group of recommended item is based on the selection of a previously recommended item).
Claim 13
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU discloses all the elements as stated in Claim 1 and further discloses wherein the content recommendation strategy adopted by the second list page is determined within a restriction range of a restriction condition, wherein the restriction condition is an attribute parameter of the list item triggered by the first trigger action (Selinger, ¶¶ [0011], [0020], [0030], and [0044]-[0048]: the recommendation strategies may be based at least in part on data regarding prior interactions of numerous users with numerous items, wherein the interaction data about the prior user interactions with items may then be analyzed and summarized in various ways to identify items that are similar to each other or otherwise related to each other (e.g., items that have similar or otherwise related items attributes, such as price, type, size, etc.; users who searched for this item attribute and/or browsed this item category are most likely to view and/or purchase these items or items with these attributes or items in these categories; etc.); to identify items that have been explicitly associated with one another, such as by a retailer, an advertiser, a manufacturer, and/or another user (e.g., "buy together" items); to identify items that are similar or otherwise related to items interacted with by a particular user; etc. (e.g., interactions related to items purchased by the user, items viewed by the user, items added to a shopping cart of the user, etc.); each of the users 140 may interact with the MSPR service 105 to obtain product recommendations for one or more particular subgroups of the products available from the retailer 140; e.g., such subgroups may include products that are grouped in various manners, such as to reflect products of a particular category and/or type (e.g., clothing, jewelry, books, tools, etc.), products available in a particular department of a retailer (e.g., sporting goods, jewelry, home furnishings, women's clothing, men's shoes, etc.), products that may be grouped on the basis of various other attributes of the products, etc.; recommendation strategies that identify popular items may be constrained to one or more time periods, such as to identify items that are recently popular, historically popular, popular at various times of the year, etc.; the multiple selected items may be selected as a collection of items related to each other by being complementary or otherwise designated as possibly belonging together (e.g., an outfit that includes pants, a shirt, and shoes that are intended to be worn together), whether based on a manual designation by one or more users or an automated designation by the MSPR service or other automated system; the recommended items for a current collection of multiple selected items may be determined to include other items that may be complementary to the current collection of items (e.g., one or more belts and/or socks that are complementary to a current collection of a particular shirt, pants and shoes), and/or to include recommended items that are similar to or otherwise related to one or more of the selected items of the current collection, wherein such items that are related to other items may be determined by being similar to each other with respect to one or more item attributes).
Claim 14
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU discloses all the elements as stated in Claim 13 and further discloses wherein the attribute parameter comprises a content category (Selinger, ¶¶ [0011], [0020], [0022], [0024], [0031], and [0044]-[0048]: the recommendation strategies may be based at least in part on data regarding prior interactions of numerous users with numerous items, wherein the interaction data about the prior user interactions with items may then be analyzed and summarized in various ways to identify items that are similar to each other or otherwise related to each other (e.g., items that have similar or otherwise related items attributes, such as price, type, size, etc.; users who searched for this item attribute and/or browsed this item category are most likely to view and/or purchase these items or items with these attributes or items in these categories; etc.); to identify items that have been explicitly associated with one another, such as by a retailer, an advertiser, a manufacturer, and/or another user (e.g., "buy together" items); to identify items that are similar or otherwise related to items interacted with by a particular user; etc. (e.g., interactions related to items purchased by the user, items viewed by the user, items added to a shopping cart of the user, etc.); each of the users 140 may interact with the MSPR service 105 to obtain product recommendations for one or more particular subgroups of the products available from the retailer 140; e.g., such subgroups may include products that are grouped in various manners, such as to reflect products of a particular category and/or type (e.g., clothing, jewelry, books, tools, etc.), products available in a particular department of a retailer (e.g., sporting goods, jewelry, home furnishings, women's clothing, men's shoes, etc.), products that may be grouped on the basis of various other attributes of the products, etc.; the user may indicate a desire to browse a group of recommended products of a particular type and/or category, with the generated group of product recommendations being products of that particular type or category; specific types of recommendation strategies are combined and otherwise used in specific manners to provide users with specific types of recommendations for specific types of products in specific types of situations; a recommendation strategy that identifies recent top selling products within that particular product category; the multiple selected items may be selected as a collection of items related to each other by being complementary or otherwise designated as possibly belonging together (e.g., an outfit that includes pants, a shirt, and shoes that are intended to be worn together); the recommended items for a current collection of multiple selected items may be determined to include other items that may be complementary to the current collection of items (e.g., one or more belts and/or socks that are complementary to a current collection of a particular shirt, pants and shoes), and/or to include recommended items that are similar to or otherwise related to one or more of the selected items of the current collection; the various types of determined recommended items may be displayed simultaneously in an interspersed manner (e.g., first show a particular shirt that has the highest aggregate relevance score with respect to the selected pants, shirt and shoes of the current collection, to next show particular shoes that have the second highest aggregate relevance score with respect to the selected pants, shirt and shoes of the current collection, etc.), may be displayed simultaneously but separately (e.g., with a first row of a grid showing recommended pants, a second row of the grid showing recommended shirts, etc.), or may be displayed at different times (e.g., if the pants of the current collection is designated by the user, having the grid include recommended items corresponding to those pants, and having the grid change to show recommended items corresponding to the shirt of the current collection after the user designates that shirt rather than those pants)).
Claim 16
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU discloses all the elements as stated in Claim 1 and further discloses wherein the second list page comprises one type of list item (Selinger, ¶¶ [0011], [0020], [0022], [0024], [0031], and [0044]-[0048]: the recommendation strategies may be based at least in part on data regarding prior interactions of numerous users with numerous items, wherein the interaction data about the prior user interactions with items may then be analyzed and summarized in various ways to identify items that are similar to each other or otherwise related to each other (e.g., items that have similar or otherwise related items attributes, such as price, type, size, etc.; users who searched for this item attribute and/or browsed this item category are most likely to view and/or purchase these items or items with these attributes or items in these categories; etc.); to identify items that have been explicitly associated with one another, such as by a retailer, an advertiser, a manufacturer, and/or another user (e.g., "buy together" items); to identify items that are similar or otherwise related to items interacted with by a particular user; etc. (e.g., interactions related to items purchased by the user, items viewed by the user, items added to a shopping cart of the user, etc.); each of the users 140 may interact with the MSPR service 105 to obtain product recommendations for one or more particular subgroups of the products available from the retailer 140; e.g., such subgroups may include products that are grouped in various manners, such as to reflect products of a particular category and/or type (e.g., clothing, jewelry, books, tools, etc.), products available in a particular department of a retailer (e.g., sporting goods, jewelry, home furnishings, women's clothing, men's shoes, etc.), products that may be grouped on the basis of various other attributes of the products, etc.; the user may indicate a desire to browse a group of recommended products of a particular type and/or category, with the generated group of product recommendations being products of that particular type or category; specific types of recommendation strategies are combined and otherwise used in specific manners to provide users with specific types of recommendations for specific types of products in specific types of situations; a recommendation strategy that identifies recent top selling products within that particular product category; the multiple selected items may be selected as a collection of items related to each other by being complementary or otherwise designated as possibly belonging together (e.g., an outfit that includes pants, a shirt, and shoes that are intended to be worn together); the recommended items for a current collection of multiple selected items may be determined to include other items that may be complementary to the current collection of items (e.g., one or more belts and/or socks that are complementary to a current collection of a particular shirt, pants and shoes), and/or to include recommended items that are similar to or otherwise related to one or more of the selected items of the current collection; the various types of determined recommended items may be displayed simultaneously in an interspersed manner (e.g., first show a particular shirt that has the highest aggregate relevance score with respect to the selected pants, shirt and shoes of the current collection, to next show particular shoes that have the second highest aggregate relevance score with respect to the selected pants, shirt and shoes of the current collection, etc.), may be displayed simultaneously but separately (e.g., with a first row of a grid showing recommended pants, a second row of the grid showing recommended shirts, etc.), or may be displayed at different times (e.g., if the pants of the current collection is designated by the user, having the grid include recommended items corresponding to those pants, and having the grid change to show recommended items corresponding to the shirt of the current collection after the user designates that shirt rather than those pants); i.e., initially first row may display recommended shirts, second row may display recommended pants, and third row may display recommended shoes; after the pants/shirts of the current collection is designated by the user, having the grid change to show recommended items corresponding to the pants/shirts of the current collection) (JOHNSTON, FIGS. 6V-6X; FIGS. 8A-C; ¶¶ [0165] and [0200]: in FIG. 6V/8A, representation 614-3/815-3, corresponding to trending media item K, has the current focus; in FIG. 6W/8B, a click of touch-sensitive surface 604 is detected while representation 614-3/815-3 has the current focus, and in response, rather than starting to play media item K, the electronic device displays a canonical page corresponding to media item K, which includes, e.g., information 618/815 about media item K (e.g., genre, director(s), actor(s), user rating, content rating, length, year of release, description, etc.) and information identifying media provider 3 (via which media item K is available); additionally, the canonical page includes selectable representations of media items (e.g., items AA, BB, CC, DD) that are related to media item K (e.g., are of the same genre) as shown in FIG. 6X/8C; i.e., FIG. 6X/8C only display the same genre of the media items K, AA, BB, CC, and DD).
Claim 20
Selinger in view of and JOHNSTON and ZHOU discloses all the elements as stated in Claim 1 and further discloses after switching, in the screen display range, to display the second list page corresponding to the triggered list item, the method further comprising: in response to detecting a second trigger action on a list item of the second list page, switching, in the screen display range, to display a third list page corresponding to the list item triggered by the first trigger action on the second list page, wherein a content recommendation strategy adopted by the third list page is a recommendation strategy determined based on the associated content of a list item triggered on the first list page and an associated content of the list item triggered by the first trigger action the second list page (Selinger, FIGS. 2B-C; ¶¶ [0013], [0017], [0025], and [0036]-[0038]: if the user makes a second current selection of one of the recommended items of the second group, a third group of recommended items may similarly be dynamically generated for the user based at least in part on the current selection(s), and then displayed to the user via the GUI; such user selections may continue to be repeatedly monitored and used in this manner as part of an ongoing interactive recommendation exploration session; the successive indications of interest of the user may be collected and/or otherwise compiled by the GUI such that the new group of recommended products may be generated using one or more recommendation strategies based at least in part on the collected successive indications of the user's interest; at some time after the multiple item images corresponding to the new second group of recommended products is displayed to the user in recommended item area 270 of FIG. 2B, the user interacts with the display 200 to select item 109 image 254 at grid position 272d:270c, such as to indicate an interest in item 109 and/or in items related to item 109, with the results of the selection being illustrated in FIG. 2C, where multiple item images corresponding to a new third group of products recommended for the user are currently being displayed in recommended item area 270, with the third group of recommended products having been generated by the MSPR service in response to the user selection of item 109; the new third group of recommended products may be generated by aggregating results of the recommendation strategy used to identify the initial group of recommended products (e.g., recent top selling items within a particular category), results of the previously used recommendation strategy to identify products that are similar to or otherwise related to the selected item 6, and results of a recommendation strategy that identifies products similar to or otherwise related to the selected item 109; e.g., a number of new item images are displayed in the recommended item area 270 (e.g., item images corresponding to items 200-209) along with a number of previously displayed item images (e.g., images for items 11, 110, 100, 2, 101 and 8); several of the previously displayed item images are now being displayed in FIG. 2C in different grid positions than prior to the user selection of item 109, and many other of the previously displayed item images are no longer displayed in the recommended item area 270, such as based on newly determined relevance scores of the recommended items for the third group).
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0351564 A1, file on 08/08/2018), hereinafter Zhang.
Claim 8
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU discloses all the elements as stated in Claim 1 and further discloses after switching, in the screen display range, to display a horizontal screen playback window of the video list item triggered by the second trigger action on the third list page (ZHOU, ¶¶ [0060]-[0063] with FIG. 1: as shown in a left portion of FIG. 1, a display 10 of the terminal 100 displays interface content 20 currently output by a system, and the interface content 20 is on an interface provided by the video application; a touch panel is disposed on the display 10, and may be configured to receive a touch control operation performed by the user; the touch control operation is an operation that the user touches the display 10 by using a hand, an elbow, a stylus, or the like; when the terminal 100 detects an operation (e.g., tapping a maximize button) performed by the user on the video interface, or when a posture of the terminal 100 changes from portrait orientation to landscape orientation, in response to the operation, the terminal 100 displays, in full screen, a video interface shown in a right portion of FIG. 1; displaying the video interface in full screen means that the display 10 displays only the video interface and does not display other content; displaying the video interface in full screen may mean that when displaying the video interface, the display may further display a system-level interface element, e.g., a status bar or a floating shortcut menu (for example, Assistive Touch of Apple); the video interface may include a video picture, and may further include a progress bar of the video, a virtual button for adjusting volume, a virtual button for playing/pausing a video, and the like) further comprises: during a playback of a video list item played by a current displayed horizontal screen playback window (ZHOU, ¶¶ [0069]-[0072] with FIGS. 2-3: when watching the video, the user may control a video progress, volume, and the like by sliding a part such as a finger pad or a fingertip on the video interface, or may open the small window 30 by drawing the rectangle 40 by using the knuckle shown in FIG. 2; in response to the operation of drawing the rectangle 40 by using the knuckle of the user, the terminal 100 displays the small window 30 in the hover box on the display 10; displaying the small window 30 in the hover box means that the display 10 simultaneously displays the interface content 20 and the small window 30, and the small window 30 is stacked on the interface content 20; ¶ [0098]: quickly opening a small window, video playing is not affected, and may quickly switch between full-screen display and multi-window display).
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU fails to explicitly disclose after a playback of a video list item played by a current displayed screen playback window is completed, automatically switching, in the screen display range, to display a screen playback window of a next video list item to be played.
Zhang teaches a system and a method for displaying a list of items in a user interface (Zhang, FIG. 2; ¶ [0038]), wherein after a playback of a video list item played by a current displayed screen playback window is completed, automatically switching, in the screen display range, to display a horizontal screen playback window of a next video list item to be played (Zhang, FIGS. 1-2; ¶¶ [0034]-[0047] and [0053]-[0060]: the user interface arranges and displays the videos in the video list; when it is detected that a page sliding status is a preset status (e.g., SCROLL_STATE_TOUCH_SCROLL state – the user is scrolling through the screen by touching the same screen and the finger is still on the screen), enter the video immersive playback mode; in the video immersive playback mode, determining information layout of a current video based on a preset baseline (e.g., the baseline is located at the upper and middle position of the user interface as shown in FIG. 2), highlighting the information layout of the current video in a page, and playing the current video after darkening areas other than the information layout of the current video on the page; when playing the current video, in case there is a need to switch to other videos for viewing, a preset switching instruction is generated based on a specific operation (e.g., a user sliding on the current video or after a preset time of the current video playback ends), and the video application determines the next video based on the preloaded video list in response to the switching instruction).
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU, and Zhang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, a system and a method for displaying a list of items in a user interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Zhang to Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU. Motivation for doing so would simplify the user's video switching operation, reduce the resource consumption of the terminal, save user time, provide users with a smooth experience of switching and watching the target video, and provide a better video viewing experience (Zhang, ¶¶ [0060] and [0083]-[0084]).
Claim 11
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU discloses all the elements as stated in Claim 1 and further discloses wherein the first trigger action comprises a click action, (Selinger, ¶ [0026]: user may select one of the item images displayed in the recommended item area 270 by "clicking" on the item image (e.g., using a mouse or other pointing device), or by otherwise interacting with the display 200 in such a manner to indicate a selection of the item image (e.g., using a moveable highlight, voice commands, a touch screen, etc.)) (JOHNSTON, FIGS. 6B-6G and 7K; ¶¶ [0156]-[0157] and [0186]: in FIGS. 6B-6D, a left-to-right swipe of contact 608 has been detected on touch-sensitive surface 604; in response, the electronic device moves the current focus from representation 606-2 to representation 606-3, which corresponds to media item C from media provider 2, as shown in FIG. 6D; accordingly, the electronic device replaces the background of user interface 602 with representative content from media item C, and updates information 612 to correspond to media item C (e.g., to include the title of media item C, an indication of media provider 2, and an indication that media item C is a suggested media item, because the user of the electronic device favorited media item C); in FIGS. 6E-6G, a further left-to-right swipe of contact 608 has been detected on touch-sensitive surface 604; in response, the electronic device similarly moves the current focus from representation 606-3 to representation 606-7, which corresponds to media item G from media provider 3, as shown in FIG. 6G; accordingly, the electronic device similarly replaces the background of user interface 602 with representative content from media item G, and updates information 612 to correspond to media item G (e.g., to include the title of media item G, an indication of media provider 3, an indication that media item G is a suggested media item, because the user of the electronic device rented media item G, and an indication of when the user's access to media item G expires); the input corresponding to the request to navigate through the plurality of suggested media items corresponds (758) to a request to navigate through the plurality of suggested media items in a first direction, such as in FIGS. 6B-6G (e.g., the input comprises a horizontal, right/left scrolling input); the electronic device receives (760), via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to navigate further through the plurality of suggested media items in a second direction, different from the first direction, such as in FIGS. 6H-6K (e.g., the second input comprises a vertical, up/down scrolling input); FIGS. 8I-J; ¶ [0202]: selection of one of user interface elements 812 causes the electronic device to display media items, assessable by the electronic device, of the selected category; e.g., in response to a click of touch-sensitive surface 604 while user interface element 812-1, corresponding to movies, has the current focus, the electronic device replaces display of representations 815 of trending media items and user interface elements 812 of media categories with representations 814-1 to 814-12 of media items in the movies category, as shown in FIG. 8J).
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second trigger action comprises a slide-left action or a slide-right action.
Zhang teaches a system and a method for displaying a list of items in a user interface (Zhang, FIG. 2; ¶ [0038]), wherein the second trigger action comprises a slide-left action or a slide-right action (Zhang, ¶¶ [0058]-[0060]: when the video application plays the current video, the user swipes from right to left on the playback interface of the current video to generate the update instruction; the video application requests a new video list from the server in response to the update instruction; the video application updates the local video list after receiving the new video list, and upon receiving a preset switching instruction, the video application will switch the current video to the corresponding target video based on the new video list, and then the target video is played).
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU, and Zhang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, a system and a method for displaying a list of items in a user interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Zhang to Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU. Motivation for doing so would simplify the user's video switching operation, save user time, provide users with a smooth experience of switching and watching the target video, and provide a better video viewing experience (Zhang, ¶¶ [0060] and [0083]-[0084]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of LAINE et al. (US 2014/0300642 A1, published on 10/09/2014).
Claim 9
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU discloses all the elements as stated in Claim 1 and further discloses wherein a content recommendation strategy adopted by the third list page comprises a strategy of acquiring a list item that meets a condition (Selinger, FIGS. 2B-C; ¶¶ [0013], [0017], [0025], and [0036]-[0038]: at some time after the multiple item images corresponding to the new second group of recommended products is displayed to the user in recommended item area 270 of FIG. 2B, the user interacts with the display 200 to select item 109 image 254 at grid position 272d:270c, such as to indicate an interest in item 109 and/or in items related to item 109, with the results of the selection being illustrated in FIG. 2C, where multiple item images corresponding to a new third group of products recommended for the user are currently being displayed in recommended item area 270, with the third group of recommended products having been generated by the MSPR service in response to the user selection of item 109; the new third group of recommended products may be generated by aggregating results of the recommendation strategy used to identify the initial group of recommended products (e.g., recent top selling items within a particular category), results of the previously used recommendation strategy to identify products that are similar to or otherwise related to the selected item 6, and results of a recommendation strategy that identifies products similar to or otherwise related to the selected item 109); and acquiring a video list item with a horizontal screen playback (ZHOU, ¶¶ [0060]-[0063] with FIG. 1: as shown in a left portion of FIG. 1, a display 10 of the terminal 100 displays interface content 20 currently output by a system, and the interface content 20 is on an interface provided by the video application; a touch panel is disposed on the display 10, and may be configured to receive a touch control operation performed by the user; the touch control operation is an operation that the user touches the display 10 by using a hand, an elbow, a stylus, or the like; when the terminal 100 detects an operation (e.g., tapping a maximize button) performed by the user on the video interface, or when a posture of the terminal 100 changes from portrait orientation to landscape orientation, in response to the operation, the terminal 100 displays, in full screen, a video interface shown in a right portion of FIG. 1; displaying the video interface in full screen means that the display 10 displays only the video interface and does not display other content; displaying the video interface in full screen may mean that when displaying the video interface, the display may further display a system-level interface element, e.g., a status bar or a floating shortcut menu (for example, Assistive Touch of Apple); the video interface may include a video picture, and may further include a progress bar of the video, a virtual button for adjusting volume, a virtual button for playing/pausing a video, and the like).
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU fails to explicitly disclose acquiring a list item that meets a horizontal screen condition.
LAINE teaches a system and method relating to a display for presenting information (LAINE, ¶ [0002]), wherein acquiring a list item that meets a horizontal screen condition (LAINE, FIGS. 3A-B, 4, and 7; ¶¶ [0006]-[0007], [0032]-[0036], and [0046]: the device automatically changes from one display format to another based on the physical orientation of the device; an electronic device displays a horizontal service guide (HSG) when the device is in a landscape orientation and a vertical service guide (VSG) when in a portrait orientation; responsive to the change in orientation, device 110 automatically changes its display format from an HSG to a VSG (or vice versa, where the change in orientation is from portrait orientation to landscape orientation); a broadcast television program 702 may be displayed as being layered on top of a ESG program guide (shown in FIG. 7 as an HSG display format); broadcast television program 702 may be based on a program selected from an HSG display format; if the device is subjected to a motion such that the display format is to change from an HSG to a VSG (e.g., in accordance with the description contained herein), the position of broadcast television program 702 on the display screen may be updated to accommodate the change in display format; i.e., acquiring HSG when the screen is in landscape (horizontal) screen mode; acquiring VSG when the screen is in portrait (vertical) screen mode).
Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU, and LAINE are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, a system and method relating to a display for presenting information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of LAINE to Selinger in view of JOHNSTON and ZHOU. Motivation for doing so would provide significant convenience and better viewing experience for users (LAINE, ¶¶ [0003]-[0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/15/2026 with respect to Claims 1 and 18-19 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHANG (CN105843531A, pub. date: 08/10/2016) discloses in ¶¶ [0050]-[0053] with FIG. 3 that (1) Referring to FIG3, a specific example of a screen mode switching process is shown, which involves a mobile terminal placed horizontally, and may specifically include: a first preset standard line 301, a sliding trajectory 302 and an included angle 303; (2) among them, the first preset standard line 301 is a straight line parallel to the vertical edge of the mobile terminal screen; (3) when the first angle and the second angle are different, such as when the first angle is 40 degrees and the second angle is 60 degrees, if the included angle 303 is less than the first angle (i.e., the included angle 303 is less than 40 degrees), the screen mode can be switched to portrait mode; (4) if the included angle 303 is greater than the second angle (i.e., the included angle 303 is greater than 60 degrees), the screen mode can be switched to landscape mode; (5) if the included angle 303 is greater than the first angle and less than the second angle (i.e., the included angle 303 is between 40 degrees and 60 degrees), the screen mode does not need to be switched; (6) when the first angle and the second angle are the same, such as when both the first angle and the second angle are 45 degrees, if the included angle 303 is less than the first angle, that is, the included angle 303 is less than 45 degrees, the screen mode can be switched to portrait mode; (7) if the included angle 303 is greater than the second angle, that is, the included angle 303 is greater than 45 degrees, the screen mode can be switched to landscape mode.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HWEI-MIN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2142