DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azuma et al. (US 2011/0024004), hereinafter “Azuma.”
Regarding claims 1-2, Azuma teaches a high-strength high hole expansion steel comprising, in mass%, C: 0.05-0.20%, Si: 0.3-2.0%, Mn: 1.3-2.6%, P: 0.001-0.03, S: 0.0001-0.01%, N:0.0005-0.0100%, Al: 2.0% or less, O: 0.0005-0.007, and a balance of Fe and unavoidable impurities, wherein the steel may also include one or more of 0.0001-0.5% Ca, 0.001-0.14% Nb, and 0.01-1.0% Cu ([0045]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed chemical composition ranges. Azuma teaches wherein the microstructure is composed mainly of ferrite and hard structures, wherein the hard structures may be bainite, and wherein the volume fraction of the hard structures is preferably 5% or greater (Abstract, [0069]-[0070]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of ≥15%. Azuma further discloses an example containing 16% bainite (Table 5). Azuma teaches a tensile strength of 540 MPa or greater (Abstract), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range, and further teaches a tensile strength range of 590-1080 MPa, which satisfies the instantly claimed range. Azuma additionally teaches in the examples YS ranging from 343-735 MPa, elongation 16-36%, and hole expansion rate 52-118% (Tables 4 and 5), which overlaps with the instantly claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Azuma teaches that its steel may have a thickness of 1.2 mm ([0175]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding claim 1 that Al is an essential element in Azuma’s steel, citing paragraph [0095 of Azuma, while claim 1 recites an Al content of <0.001%. Applicant further concludes based on the examples of Azuma that one skilled artisan would expect the steel of Azuma to have at least 0.004-2.0% Al, which would not overlap with the instantly claimed range.
In response, Examiner also cites paragraph [0095] of Azuma, which states “Al promotes ferrite formation and can therefore be added to improve ductility. It can also be utilized as a deoxidizer.” This language would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to mean that the addition of Al is optional to the steel of Azuma. Paragraph of [0095] of Azuma also states “although no lower limit need be defined, a content of 0.0005% or less is difficult to achieve, and, as such, is the substantial lower limit,” which suggests that an Al content of more than 0.0005% to 2.0% is within the scope of the steel of Azuma, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of <0.001%. In response to Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the examples of Azuma, Examiner notes that “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments.” See MPEP §2123 (I). Furthermore, “disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. See MPEP §2123 (II).
Applicant further argues that Azuma discloses that its steel has a structure composed mainly of ferrite and hard structures and further discloses that “hard structures” means bainite, martensite, and retained austenite, citing paragraph [0069] of Azuma. Applicant further points to the examples of Azuma, alleging that all examples of Azuma contain all of bainite, martensite, and retained austenite as hard structures, while the claimed steel only has ferrite and bainite. Applicant further argues that only comparative examples of Azuma contain only ferrite and bainite, and these examples do not have yield strengths and tensile strengths satisfying the instantly claimed ranges.
In response, Examiner notes that claim 1 recites “wherein the high hole expansion steel has a microstructure of ferrite + bainite.” The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is that the microstructure is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited structures. This is supported by paragraph [0013] of the instant application as published in US 2022/389534 A1, which states “its microstructure is mainly ferrite and bainite, sometimes containing a small amount of martensite.” Nonetheless, Examiner notes that Azuma recites “hard structure” (singular) numerous times (see for example, [0042], [0045]-[0046], [0050]), and inventive example A-5 of Azuma (Table 4), has only two of bainite, martensite, and retained austenite, which would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that “hard structure(s)” in Azuma means one or more of bainite, martensite, and retained austenite. In response to Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the examples of Azuma, Examiner notes that “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments.” See MPEP §2123 (I). Furthermore, “disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. See MPEP §2123 (II).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY M LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734