DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application claims priority from provisional application 62/905,988 filed 09/25/2019.
Status of Claims
Claims 25-30 are pending.
Claims 1-24 and 31-39 have been cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 12/04/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackburn US 2015/0250576 A1in view of Levy US 2011/0245597 A1 and Euteneuer et al (Euteneuer) US 2010/0191332 A1.
Blackburn discloses the invention substantially as claimed being a rollable sheet (Figures 4-5) implant 10 (Figures 1-9) comprising:
a top layer 12 comprising a biological sheet (Blackburn discloses it as a hernia patch which is considered to be a biological sheet); and
a bottom layer 26 comprising a spring material biased to an open flat configuration ([0028] discloses shape memory alloys), the bottom layer further comprising a rollable frame (the claims do not limit how the frame is rolled, for example upon itself or as a whole device, therefore the frame of Blackburn is fully capable of being rolled in a whole expanded configuration from side to side)
However, Blackburn does not disclose the frame comprises bioabsorbable material or the inner channels/port.
Levy teaches the use of a sheet implant comprising a top layer and a bottom bioabsorbable material [0033] in the same field of endeavor for the purpose of eliminating the removal step and allowing for temporary support while the top layer is absorbed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the bottom layer of Blackburn to include bioabsorbable material as disclosed by Levy in order to eliminate the removal step and allow for temporary support while the top layer is absorbed
Euteneuer teaches the use of a porous plate (Figure 9) comprising a porous top layer 374 in combination with a bottom layer 378 comprising an inflow port 386 for introduction of fluid and inner fluid channels (long open channels in layer 378) including apertures (rectangular ends in layer 378) for disbursement of fluid to the top layer (apertures are in direct communication with the pores 380 of top layer 374) in the same field of endeavor for the purpose of allowing for fluid to be evenly dispersed throughout the implant.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the bottom layer of Blackburn to comprise the frame shape of Euteneuer including the inflow port, channels, and apertures in order to better distribute fluid and forces evenly throughout the entire implant.
Furthermore, the channels of Euteneuer disclose an "x" pattern (Figure 9).
In regards to claim 27, the combination of Blackburn, Levy, and Euteneuer as combined above read upon this claim in the same manner, the only difference between this claim and claim 25 is the shape of the channels. However, the channels of Euteneuer include a central strip (narrowed up and down opening of Figure 9) with a plurality of ribs extending perpendicular to the central strip (the middle channels extending left and right at a perpendicular angle to the central strip in Figure 9).
Claim(s) 26, 28, 29, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackburn, Levy, and Euteneuer (Combination 1) as applied to claims 25 and 27 above, and further in view of Koizumi et al (Koizumi) US 2016/0183990 A1.
Combination 1 discloses the invention substantially as claimed being described above. Claim 26, 28, 29, and 30 only differ from claim 25 above in their description of the shape of the channels.
However, Combination 1 fails to disclose the channels form a honeycomb pattern, a quadrilateral with molded tabs, a round shaped hoop with a plurality of molded tabs disposed on the hoop, or a serpentine shaped spring.
Koizumi discloses a porous sheet implant comprising a bottom layer with channels forming honeycomb pattern (Figure 5), a quadrilateral with molded tabs disposed on the corners of the quadrilateral (Figure 9B includes two quadrilateral shaped diamonds with wider portions at the corners considered to read upon the molded tabs), a round shaped hoop with a plurality of molded tabs disposed on the hoop (Figure 10 includes a plurality of small round hoops surrounding reference numbers 68 with struts extending radially outward which are considered to read upon the molded tabs), and/or a serpentine shaped spring (Koizumi diagonal struts in Figure 9A-B).
It is old and extremely well known to provide channels to dispersion of fluid in a variety of shapes and patterns. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the channels of bottom layer of Blackburn as modified by Euteneuer to have a honeycomb pattern, a quadrilateral pattern with molded tabs, a round shaped hoop with a plurality of molded tabs disposed on the hoop, or a serpentine shaped spring in order to provide uniform distribution of fluid throughout the implant.
In regards to claim 30, Euteneuer further teaches the use of a lower second side of the bottom layer of the frame with a plurality of anchors (Abstract and [0061] teaches the use of barbs hooks and staples for aiding with anchoring to surrounding tissue).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s arguments focus on the Levy base reference but the prior art rejection has been amended to no longer rely on Levy for the base structure. Blackburn as modified above clearly discloses all the claimed components. This is consistent with the findings of the Chinese Patent Office.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER D. PRONE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3774
/Christopher D. Prone/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774