DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 13-40 have been cancelled. Claims 1 and 3 have been amended. Claims 2, 4-12, and 41-48 are as previously presented. Therefore, claims 1-12 and 41-48 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/10/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/24/2025 has been entered. Applicant’s amendment and remarks overcome the drawing and specification objections, the interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 112(d). Regarding “the cavity” in line 1 of claim 6, this will be interpreted as the cavity recited in claim 1, and not the “second cavity” recited in claim 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pages 10-12, Applicant argues that Staupendahl does not disclose enclosing at least one component configured to control an optical path of the electromagnetic radiation beam within the head, as recited in amended claim 1.
However, Staupendahl discloses wherein, “bottom part 8 of the instrument base comprises essentially a oscillation-resistant housing 9, which encloses the powerful permanent magnet 10 including the magnetic poles 11 and the adjustable hollow body 12, preferably the iron core of the permanent magnet (10)” [Col. 6, lines 29-34].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12, 41-42, 44-45, 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Staupendahl (US 4,739,287).
Regarding claim 1, Staupendahl teaches a housing for a head for directing an electromagnetic radiation beam at a target, the housing comprising (housing 9): an inlet configured to receive a fluid into the housing (cooling bores 20); a support member defining a cavity configured to enclose at least one component configured to control an optical path of the electromagnetic radiation beam within the head (chamber 21; “bottom part 8 of the instrument base comprises essentially a oscillation-resistant housing 9, which encloses the powerful permanent magnet 10 including the magnetic poles 11 and the adjustable hollow body 12, preferably the iron core of the permanent magnet (10)” [Col. 6, lines 29-34]); an outlet configured to receive the fluid out of the housing (outlet 23); a first channel defining a first fluid path from the inlet to the cavity (cooling bores 20 to chamber 21); and a second channel defining a second fluid path from the cavity to the outlet (end of chamber 22 to outlet 23); wherein when the at least one component is enclosed within the cavity (housing 9, magnet 10), the housing and the at least one component further define at least a first part of a third channel between the first channel (housing 9, chamber 21 to chamber 22) and the second channel (end of chamber 22 to outlet 23); and wherein the first channel (cooling bores 20 to chamber 21), second channel (end of chamber 22 to outlet 23) and third channel (chamber 22 to end of chamber 22) are configured to isolate the fluid from the optical path of the electromagnetic radiation beam within the head (col. 7 lines 17-21).
Regarding claim 2, Staupendahl teaches the housing as claimed in claim 1, wherein the housing is configured to cooperate with the support member for supporting the at least one component within the cavity (housing 9, hollow body 12, adjustment screws 7), wherein the housing is configured to cooperate with the support member and the at least one component for enclosing the at least one component within the cavity (housing 9, adjustment screws).
Regarding claim 3, Staupendahl teaches the housing as claimed in claim 2, wherein the support member comprises a recessed portion for cooperating with the cavity and the at least one component when the support member is supporting the at least one component within the cavity (adjustment screws 7, upper part 6, lower part 8), wherein at least one of the housing (housing 9), the at least one component and the support member define at least the first part or a second part of the third channel, or the cavity and the recessed portion provide the second part of the third channel (magnet 10, chamber 21 to chamber 22).
Regarding claim 12, Staupendahl teaches the housing as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic radiation is laser (laser 33), and/or wherein the head is a marking head (fulfilled due to and/or).
Regarding claim 41, Staupendahl teaches the housing as claimed in claim 1, wherein the fluid is to be emitted at the outlet at a predetermined angle relative to a plane defined by an optical element of the head that is to emit the electromagnetic radiation beam (outlet 23).
Regarding claim 42, Staupendahl teaches the housing as claimed in claim 41, wherein emission of the fluid at the outlet is to create an air knife that is to pass across the optical element (Col. 7 lines 13-14, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 44, Staupendahl teaches the housing as claimed in claim 1, wherein the housing defines a barrier that protrudes into the cavity (hollow cylinder 14, plates 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 45, Staupendahl teaches the housing as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the first channel is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the head (housing 9, chamber 21 to chamber 22).
Regarding claim 47, Staupendahl teaches the housing as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first channel (cooling bores 20 to chamber 21), the second channel (end of chamber 22 to outlet 23), and the third channel (chamber 22 to end of chamber 22) are configured such that the first fluid path and the second fluid path contacts an outer surface of the at least one component (chamber 21 to chamber 22).
Regarding claim 48, Staupendahl teaches the housing as claimed in claim 1, wherein the support member comprises a recessed portion for cooperating with the cavity (chamber 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staupendahl (US 4,739,287), and further in view of Lacroix (GB 2558681) and Schoop (US 2020/0338680).
Regarding claim 7, Staupendahl teaches the housing as claimed in claim 1.
Except wherein, Staupendahl does not teach the housing with the outlet is fluidly connected to a guide portion and the guide portion is arranged to receive fluid from the outlet and to direct the fluid at a predetermined angle relative to a plane comprising an optical element of the head though which radiation is emitted from the head and towards the emitted radiation.
Schoop teaches the housing wherein the outlet is fluidly connected to a guide portion and the guide portion is arranged to receive fluid from the outlet (Paragraph 0032, the cooling fluid is within a closed loop system)
Staupendahl and Schoop are analogous because both teach laser inventions. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the guide portion receive fluid form the outlet since the coolant would need to be able to get into the housing.
Additionally, Lacroix teaches the housing to direct the fluid at a predetermined angle relative to a plane comprising an optical element of the head though which radiation is emitted from the head and towards the emitted radiation (Fig. 2 window 78, outlet nozzle 130, inner surface 132).
Staupendahl and Lacroix are analogous because both teach laser inventions. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the fluid to flow to the optical element since this combination allows the laser to be cleaned easily.
Regarding claim 9, Staupendahl, Schoop and Lacroix teach the housing as claimed in claim 7. Staupendahl also teaches the housing wherein the head defines a longitudinal axis (housing 9), and wherein the head is configured to direct a radiation beam out of the head in a direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis (housing 9, beam 2, laser 33).
Additionally, Lacroix teaches the housing wherein the predetermined angle is substantially 45 degrees (Fig. 2 inner surface 132).
Staupendahl and Lacroix are analogous because both teach laser inventions. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the angle be 45 degrees as shown in the figure since this allows for optimal laser cutting.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staupendahl (US 4,739,287) Lacroix (GB 2558681) and Schoop (US 2020/0338680), and further in view of Grubb (US 9,074,422).
Regarding claim 8, Staupendahl, Schoop and Lacroix teach the housing as claimed in claim 7.
Except wherein, Staupendahl, Schoop and Lacroix do not teach the housing, wherein the guide portion comprises at least one surface arranged at the predetermined angle, and wherein the at least one surface is arranged to receive fluid from the outlet and to direct the fluid at the predetermined angle.
Grubb teaches the housing, wherein the guide portion comprises at least one surface arranged at the predetermined angle (upper section 217), and wherein the at least one surface is arranged to receive fluid from the outlet and to direct the fluid at the predetermined angle (conveyance structure 202).
Staupendahl, Schoop, Lacroix and Grubb are analogous because they all teach laser inventions. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the guide portion to be arranged at a predetermined angle since this allows for optimal laser cutting.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staupendahl (US 4,739,287) Lacroix (GB 2558681) and Schoop (US 2020/0338680), and further in view of Heinemann (EP 1127652).
Regarding claim 10, Staupendahl, Schoop and Lacroix teach the housing as claimed in claim 7. Additionally, Staupendahl teaches the housing wherein the head defines a longitudinal axis (housing 9), and wherein the head is configured to direct a radiation beam out of the head in a direction substantially transverse to the longitudinal axis (housing 9, beam 2, laser 33).
Except wherein Staupendahl, Schoop and Lacroix do not tach the housing wherein the predetermined angle is substantially 60 degrees.
Heinemann teaches the housing wherein the predetermined angle is substantially 60 degrees (Fig. 1 flushing medium 36).
Staupendahl, Schoop, Lacroix and Heinemann are analogous because they all teach laser inventions. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a predetermined angle to contain the radiation from the laser.
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staupendahl (US 4,739,287), and further in view of Lacroix (GB 2558681).
Regarding claim 43, Staupendahl teaches the housing as claimed in claim 42.
Except wherein, Staupendahl does not teach the housing with the predetermined angle is substantially 45 degrees.
Lacroix teaches the housing with the predetermined angle is substantially 45 degrees.
Staupendahl, and Lacroix are analogous because they both teach laser inventions. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a predetermined angle to contain the radiation from the laser.
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staupendahl (US 4,739,287), and further in view of Knapp (US 3,638,140).
Regarding claim 46, Staupendahl teaches the housing as claimed in claim 1.
Except wherein, Staupendahl does not teach, the housing, wherein the cavity defines a surface that defines two openings, wherein the two openings are arranged such that the fluid flows through the two openings in a substantially transverse direction.
Knapp teaches the housing, wherein the cavity defines a surface that defines two openings (openings 211), wherein the two openings are arranged such that the fluid flows through the two openings in a substantially transverse direction (openings 211).
Staupendahl, and Knapp are analogous because they both teach laser inventions. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date since this allows the laser to be light weight and more convenient while still precisely laser cutting the object.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art was not found that has the fourth channel fluidly connected to a second cavity or least one second component for controlling the optical path of the electromagnetic radiation beam is enclosed within the second cavity. Prior art found had separate housing and not one housing with multiple cavities as described in this application. Claims 5, 6, and 11 would also be allowable by virtue of their dependence on claim 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761