DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Tsunemi does not teach “a non-magnetic carrier layer” as claimed in claim 16. Applicant asserts that the adhesive layer 34 of Tsunemi is formed on one of the major surfaces of the composite material in a sheet form to constitute the composite magnetic material sheet (para. [0072]). Therefore, applicant contends that the adhesive layer 34 does not represent the “carrier layer” as claimed.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is respectfully found not persuasive. When the adhesive layer 34 of Tsunemi adheres the magnetic sheets 35 of the composite magnetic material 31 (the claimed “magnetic foil”), the adhesive layer becomes a “carrier” or bearer or holder of the magnetic sheets. Accordingly, it’s reasonable to interpret the adhesive layer 34 as the “carrier layer” as claimed. Therefore, the examiner maintains Tsunemi teaches “a non-magnetic carrier layer” as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunemi et al. (US PG. Pub. No. 2008/0055034) in view of Hangzhou et al. (DE 20 2016 104 063), and Sawa et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2014/0239892 A1).
With respect to claim 16, Tsunemi et al., hereinafter referred to as “Sawa,” teaches an inductive component 30 (Fig. 7), comprising:
a wire winding 33, around which a magnetic foil 31 wrapped;
wherein the magnetic foil comprises at least one magnetic layer and a non-magnetic carrier layer 34 in addition to the at least one magnetic layer,
wherein the at least one magnetic layer comprises a magnetic material, and
a non-magnetic and non-conductive insulating layer 14, which comprises a plastic and which is disposed between the magnetic foil and the wire winding (paras. [0066], [0071]-[0072]).
Tsunemi does not expressly teach
an electrical shielding, which surrounds the magnetic foil.
Hangzhou et al., hereinafter referred to as “Hangzhou,” teaches an inductive component (Fig. 1), comprising:
an electrical shielding 5, which surrounds the magnetic foil 4 (para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrical shielding as taught by Hangzhou to the inductive component of Tsunemi to reduce electromagnetic radiation emission to the outside during operation (para. [0003]).
Tsunemi does not also expressly teach
the magnetic material is a nanocrystalline iron alloy.
Sawa et al., hereinafter referred to as “Sawa,” teaches an inductive component 11 (FIG. 11),
wherein the magnetic material (magnetic material of magnetic foil 1) is a nanocrystalline iron alloy (para. [051]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the nanocrystalline iron alloy as taught by Sawa to the inductive component of Tsunemi to reduce the thickness of the magnetic foil.
With respect to claim 17, Tsunemi in view of Hangzhou, and Sawa teaches the inductive component according to claim 16, wherein the magnetic foil is self-adhesive (para. [0071]).
With respect to claim 18, Tsunemi in view of Hangzhou, and Sawa teaches the inductive component according to claim 16, wherein the magnetic foil is wrapped around the wire winding in a plurality of layers (Tsunemi, para. [0072]).
With respect to claim 19, Tsunemi in view of Hangzhou, and Sawa teaches the inductive component according to claim 16, further comprising a magnetic core (winding core of drum core 32) disposed within the wire winding (para. [0071]).
With respect to claim 22, Tsunemi in view of Hangzhou, and Sawa teaches the inductive component according to claim 16, wherein the magnetic material is configured in a form of particles, which are embedded in a non-magnetic material (paras. [0066].
With respect to claim 23, Tsunemi in view of Hangzhou, and Sawa teaches the inductive component according to claim 16, wherein the at least one magnetic layer is made entirely of the magnetic material (Hangzhou, para. [0021]).
With respect to claim 24, Tsunemi in view of Hangzhou, and Sawa teaches the inductive component according to claim 16, wherein the magnetic foil has a maximum thickness of 100 μm (Tsunemi, para. [0068]). The thickness of the magnetic foil and the adhesive layer 24 are about the same, as shown in Fig. 9 of Tsunemi. Therefore, the thickness of the magnetic foil of Tsunemi would be less than 100 μm.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunemi in view of Hangzhou, and Sawa as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Goodzeit et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,921,042 B1).
With respect to claim 20, Tsunemi in view of Hangzhou, and Sawa teaches the inductive component according to claim 16. Tsunemi in view of Hangzhou, and Sawa does not expressly teach there is no magnetic core within the wire winding.
Goodzeit et al., hereinafter referred to as “Goodzeit,” teaches an inductive component (FIG. 2), wherein there is no magnetic core within the wire winding 1 (col. 6, lines 28-33).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the wire winding without a magnetic core as taught by Goodzeit to the inductive component of Tsunemi in view of Hangzhou, and Sawa to reduce cost and or weight.
Conclusion
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837