Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Nishikawa does not teach correcting a pixel value of a saturation based on a pixel value of a non-saturation region. Instead, applicant argues Nishikawa only teaches performing gain control.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is unclear from applicant's arguments how Nishikawa fails to teach the above limitations. In [0014] and [0093] taken together, Nishikawa teaches correcting a saturated pixel signal based on nearby unsaturated pixels. Applicant has not made a convincing argument of how this differs from the claim language, and instead has simply restated Nishikawa’s teaching. Thus, this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishikawa (US 20180120423 A1).
Claim 1: Nishikawa teaches an information processing apparatus comprising
a control unit (Fig. 1, imaging signal processer) configured to:
detect a saturation region of light reception image information
wherein the light reception information is generated based on a plurality of pixel signals output from the light receiving sensor (Fig. 2, step S203 and [0070]),
the plurality of pixel signals includes a saturated pixel signal and unsaturated pixel signal ([0014]),
the light receiving sensor receives reflected light based on a set of exposure periods, by a measurement object, the projection light is light from a light source(Fig. 1, light L1 reflected off object and received by imaging element 105 as L2 and [0046]),
the pixel signal being configured to be used to calculate a distance to the measurement object (Fig. 1, distance arithmetic operator 114 and [0051]),
the saturation region is a region of the light reception image information([0054] - describing accumulated charge exceeding limit),
and the saturation region of the light reception image information is based on the saturated pixel signal ([0054] - describing accumulated charge exceeding limit);
and correct a pixel value of the saturation region of the light reception image information based on a pixel value of the non saturation region of the light reception image information (Fig. 2, steps S204 and S205 and [0074]),
wherein the non-saturation region of the light reception image information is based on the unsaturated pixel signal ([0093]).
Claim 2: Nishikawa teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the light reception image information is based on a component of the reflected light in the plurality of pixel signals ([0046]).
Claim 3: Nishikawa teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the light reception image information is based on a component of the reflected light in the plurality of pixel signals and a component of ambient light, in the plurality of pixel signals ([0065]).
Claim 4: Nishikawa teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the control unit is further configured to correct the pixel value of the saturation region based on a pixel value a non-saturation region that is adjacent to the saturation region ([0093]).
Claim 5: Nishikawa teaches information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the control unit is further configured to: calculate a correction value based on an average value of a plurality of pixel values of the non-saturation region located in surroundings of the saturation region; and correct the pixel value of the saturation region based on the correction value, wherein the plurality of pixel values of the non-saturation region includes the pixel value of the non-saturation region ([0093]).
Claim 7: Nishikawa teaches information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the control unit is further configured to: calculate a change rate of a reception light value based on the component of the reflected light in the plurality of pixel signals, and a component of ambient light in the plurality of pixel signals; and correct the pixel value of the saturation region based on the change rate of the reception light value ([0067] - comparing pixel values).
Claim 8: As Claim 8 is a method claim corresponding to Claim 1, see rejection above.
Claim 9: Nishikawa teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon, computer-executable instructions which, when executed a computer, cause the computer to execute operations, the operations comprising:
detecting a saturation region of light reception image information, wherein the light reception image information is based on a plurality of pixel signals output from a light receiving sensor (Fig. 2, step S203 and [0070]),
the plurality of pixel signals include a saturated pixel signal and an unsaturated pixel signal ([0014]),
the light receiving sensor receives reflected light based on a set of exposure periods, the reflected light is reflection of projection light from a measurement object the projection light is projected from a light source, (Fig. 1, light L1 reflected off object and received by imaging element 105 as L2 and [0046]),
a distance to the measurement object from the light receiving sensor is calculated based on the plurality of pixel signals (Fig. 1, distance arithmetic operator 114 and [0051]),
the saturation region is a region of the light reception image information and the saturation region of the light reception image information is based on the saturated pixel signal ([0054] - describing accumulated charge exceeding limit);
and correcting a pixel value of the saturation region of the light reception image information based on a pixel value of non- saturation region of the light reception image information, wherein the non-saturation region of the light reception image information is based on the unsaturated pixel signal (Fig. 2, steps S204 and S205 and [0074] and [0093]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa (US 20180120423 A1) in view of Watanabe (US 20030053689 A1).
Claim 6: Nishikawa teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, but not wherein the correction value is larger than the average value.
Watanabe teaches an image processing system which corrects color saturation (i.e.: lightness – described in [0014]) by using a weighted average of a pixel group ([0085] – note that it would be obvious to one skilled in the art that a weighting function could have the result of making the final correction value greater than a non-weighted average of pixels).
It would have been obvious to use the weighted average, as taught by Watanabe, in place of the correction value taught by Nishikawa, because a weighted average is well known in the art and would yield predictable results, such as giving more control over the final correction value (by changing the weight of different pixels).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLARA G CHILTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645