DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The previous prior art rejection under Kawabe et al (WO 2016181641) and Treat et al et al (WO
2018144141) in view of Kawabe maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabe et al (WO
2016181641), cited in previous Office Action.
4. Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Treat et al (WO 2018144141, cited herein with identical US 20200231794) in view of Kawabe, cited in previous Office Action.
Amendments to claims 8 and 13 are noted.
Kawabe teaches a thermoplastic resin (A), which preferably accounted for 25-75% of the composition, can be formed solely from an elastomer and the preferred composition contains 0.1 to 50 parts by mass of the compatibilizing agent (B), which can be represented by polypropylene-based resin and 30-70 parts of a filler.
Treat teaches the composition comprises 50-93 wt. % of the thermoplastic polymer, and 7-50 wt. % of the mineral additive (i.e., talc), relative to a total weight of the composition (see 0047).
Regarding claimed limitation recited that an elastomer, a thermoplastic resin and a filler constitute 100% of the composition, Kawabe teaches such a composition in Example 1.
The rejection can be found in the NON-FINAL office action mailed 2/25/2025 and is
herein incorporated by reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that even though Kawabe teaches filler amount within the range of 30-70% wt., the reference discloses 35.7% by mass of filler in Example 31.
However, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. V. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also >Upsher-Smith Labs. V. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component) (see MPEP 2123).
Applicant argues that Kawabe fails to teach the claimed composition, specifically used for 3D printing.
Examiner disagrees. Kawabe teaches a composition, which can be used in a wide variety of applications, including 3D printing. The latter use is positively disclosed in Kawabe's Specification.
Note that Rejection under 35 USC 112(2) is withdrawn in view of claims 8 and 13 amendments.
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765