DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 3 and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 3, 28, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okumura US 2011/0164324 (Embodiment # 1 Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Okumura teaches an optical system comprising (Fig. 1), sequentially from an object side:
a first lens group (Fig. 1: L1);
an aperture stop (SP); and
a second lens group (L2),
wherein the first lens group (L1) includes, sequentially from the object side,
at least two negative lenses (from Fig. 1: lenses G1 and G2 are negative),
a positive lens (lens G4 is a positive lens), and
a back-side negative lens (lens G6 has a negative lens), and
the optical system satisfies the following conditional expressions:
0.300<(−f1)/θmax<9.200 where f1: focal length of the first lens group, and θmax: maximum value [radian] of a half angle of view of the optical system
(Table 1: 2ω = 177.8, and half angle of view = 88.9 degree or 1.55 radians, and from Table 1, calculated value of f1 = -10.7, thus (−f1)/θmax = 10.7/1.55 = 6.9),
0.800 < BF/f < 2.800 (Table in para 0102: EFL = f = 15.5, and BF = 42.12 (see Table 1)), thus BF/f = 42.12/15.5 = 2.72),
0.130 < Dn/f < 3.5 (Table 1: Dn = 3.03, and f = 15.5, thus 3.03/15.5 = 0.19),
where
f1: focal length of the first lens group,
ωmax: maximum value [radian] of a half angle of view of the optical system,
BF: back focus of the optical system,
f: overall focal length of the optical system, and
Dn: thickness of a negative lens on an optical axis, the negative lens being disposed closest to an image side among negative lenses included in the first lens group.
Regarding claim 3, Okumura teaches an optical system (Fig. 1) comprising, sequentially from an object side:
a first lens group (Fig. 1: L1);
an aperture stop (Fig. 1: SP); and
a second lens group (L2), wherein the first lens group (L1) includes, sequentially from the object side,
at least two negative lenses (from Fig. 1: lenses G1 and G2 are negative),
a positive lens (lens G4 is a positive lens), and
a back-side negative lens (lens G6 has a negative lens), and
the optical system satisfies the following conditional expressions:
0.280 < D12/(-f1) < 1.200 (From Table 1 shown in para 0102, D12 is the distance between two negative lenses i.e., lenses G1 and G2, and it is 10.03 (Table 1), and from Table 1, calculated value of f1 = 10.7, thus D12 = 10.03 and -f1 = 10.7, 10.03/10.7 = 0.94)
0.800 < BF/f < 2.800 (Table in para 0102: EFL = f = 15.5, and BF = 42.12 (see Table 1)), thus BF/f = 42.12/15.5 = 2.72),
0.130 < Dn/f < 3.5 (Table 1: Dn = 3.03, and f = 15.5, thus 3.03/15.5 = 0.19),
where D12: distance on an optical axis between the two negative lenses disposed closest to the object side in the first lens group, f1: focal length of the first lens, BF: back focus of the optical system, and f: overall focal length of the optical system, and
Dn: thickness of a negative lens on an optical axis, the negative lens being disposed closest to an image side among negative lenses included in the first lens group.
Regarding claim 28, Okumura teaches an optical apparatus comprising the optical system according to claim 2 (see Fig. 14: digital camera lens).
Regarding claim 29, Okumura teaches an optical apparatus comprising the optical system according to claim 3 (see Fig. 14: digital camera lens).
Regarding claim 30, Okumura teaches a method for manufacturing an optical system (Fig. 1) including, sequentially from an object side:
a first lens group (Fig. 1: L1);
an aperture stop (SP); and
a second lens group (L2), the method for manufacturing the optical system comprising: configuring the firs lens group (L1) to include, sequentially from the object side,
at least two negative lenses (from Fig. 1: lenses G1 and G2 are negative),
a positive lens (lens G4 is a positive lens), and
a back-side negative lens (lens L6 has a negative lens), and further comprising one of the following features A, B, or C,: the feature A comprising configuring the optical system satisfies the following conditional expressions:
0.300<(−f1)/θmax<9.200 where f1: focal length of the first lens group, and θmax: maximum value [radian] of a half angle of view of the optical system
(Table 1: 2ω = 177.8, and half angle of view = 88.9 degree or 1.55 radians, and from Table 1, calculated value of f1 = -10.7, thus (−f1)/θmax = 10.7/1.55 = 6.9),
0.800 < BF/f < 2.800 (Table in para 0102: EFL = f = 15.5, and BF = 42.12 (see Table 1)), thus BF/f = 42.12/15.5 = 2.72),
0.130 < Dn/f < 3.5 (Table 1: Dn = 3.03, and f = 15.5, thus 3.03/15.5 = 0.19),
where
f1: focal length of the first lens group,
ωmax: maximum value [radian] of a half angle of view of the optical system,
BF: back focus of the optical system,
f: overall focal length of the optical system, and
Dn: thickness of a negative lens on an optical axis, the negative lens being disposed closest to an image side among negative lenses included in the first lens group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 10-13, 18-20, 22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okumura US 2011/0164324 (Embodiment # 1 Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 1, Okumura teaches an optical system comprising (Fig. 1), sequentially from an object side:
a first lens group (Fig. 1: L1);
an aperture stop (SP); and
a second lens group (L2),
wherein the first lens group (L1) includes, sequentially from the object side,
at least two negative lenses (from Fig. 1: lenses G1 and G2 are negative),
a positive lens (lens G4 is a positive lens), and
a back-side negative lens (lens G6 has a negative lens), and
the optical system satisfies the following conditional expressions:
ωmax = 88.9 (Table in para 0102: 2ω = 177.8, and half angle of view = 88.9 degree)
0.200 < (-f1)/f2 < 4.500 (Table 1, calculated value of f1 = -10.7, calculated value of f2 = 21.79, thus (-f1)/f2 = - (-10.7)/21.79 = 0.49)
0.800 < BF/f < 2.800 (Table in para 0102: EFL = f = 15.5, and BF = 42.12 (see Table 1)), thus BF/f = 42.12/15.5 = 2.72),
0.130 < Dn/f < 3.5 (Table 1: Dn = 3.03, and f = 15.5, thus 3.03/15.5 = 0.19),
where ωmax: maximum value [o] of a half angle of view of the optical system, f1: focal length of the first lens group, f2: focal length of the second lens group, BF: back focus of the optical system, and f: overall focal length of the optical system, and
Dn: thickness of a negative lens on an optical axis, the negative lens being disposed closest to an image side among negative lenses included in the first lens group.
Okumura fails to teach that 90.00 < ωmax. However, the prior art discloses a half field of view of 88.9, which is substantially the same as the claimed half field of view of greater than 90-degree. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to slightly increase field of the half field of view from 88.9 to a value greater than 90-degree as a matter of routine design optimization, since field of view is a result-effective variable, and a minor adjustments are commonly made to meet system design goals such as coverage, edge performance, or packaging constraints. Applicant has not demonstrated that a half field of view greater than 90 degree yields unexpected results or a critical improvement over the prior art value of 88.9.
Regarding claim 4, Okumura teaches the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression: -10.000 < (Lnrl-Lpr2)/(Lnrl+Lpr2) < 0.000
From Table 1: Lpr2 = -39.277, Lnr1 = -14.485, (Lnrl-Lpr2)/(Lnrl+Lpr2) = (-14.485+39.277)/(-14.485-39.277) = -0.46)
where Lpr2: radius of curvature of a lens surface of the positive lens on an image side, and Lnrl: radius of curvature of a lens surface of the back-side negative lens on the object side.
Regarding claim 7, Heu teaches the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression:
0.020 < Dn/(-f1) < 1.500 (From Table 1: Dn = 3.03, and from Table 1, calculated value of f1 = 10.7, thus Dn/(-f1) = 3.03/10.7 = 0.28)
where Dn: the thickness of a negative lens on an optical axis, the negative lens being disposed closest to an image side among negative lenses included in the first lens group, and f1: the focal length of the first lens group.
Regarding claim 10, Okumura teaches the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression:
0.100 < D12/(-f11) < 0.500 (From Table 1: D12 = 10.03, and from Table 1, calculated value of f11 = -33.13, thus D12/-f11 = 10.03/33.13 = 0.3)
where D12: distance on an optical axis between the two negative lenses disposed closest to the object side in the first lens group, and f11: focal length of a negative lens disposed closest to the object side in the first lens group.
Regarding claim 11, Okumura teaches the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression:
0.015 < DS/(-f1) < 1.500 (From Table 1: DS = 7.3, and from Table 1, calculated value of f1 = -10.7, thus DS/-f1 = 7.3/10.7 = 0.68)
where DS: distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to an image side in the first lens group to a lens surface closest to the object side in the second lens group, and f1: the focal length of the first lens group.
Regarding claim 12, Okumura teaches the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression:
0.005 < DS/(-f11) < 0.250 (From Table 1: DS = 7.3 and from Table 1, calculated value of f11 = -33.13, thus DS/-f11 = 7.3/33.13 = 0.22).
where DS: distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to an image side in the first lens group to a lens surface closest to the object side in the second lens group, and f11: focal length of a negative lens disposed closest to the object side in the first lens group.
Regarding claim 13, Okumura teaches the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression:
-1.000 < (L1r2-L1r1)/(L1r2+L1r1) < -0.250 (From Table 1: Llr1 = 64.5, and L1r2 = 18.5, thus (L1r2-L1r1)/(L1r2+L1r1) = (18.5-64.5)/(18.5+64.5) = -0.55)
where L1rl: radius of curvature of a lens surface of a negative lens disposed closest to the object side in the first lens group, the lens surface being on the object side, and L1r2: radius of curvature of a lens surface of the negative lens disposed closest to the object side in the first lens group, the lens surface being on an image side.
Regarding claim 18, Okumura teaches the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression: 1.000 < (-f1ne)/f < 3.000,
(from Table 1: calculated value of f1ne = -14.9, and f = 15.5,
Thus (-f1ne)/f = 14.9/15.5 = ~0.96.
Okumura fails to teach that 1.000 < (-f1ne)/f < 3.000. However, the prior art discloses a (-f1ne)/f = 14.9/15.5 = ~0.96, which is substantially the same as the claimed lower limit of 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to slightly decrease the ratio of the focal length to a value lower than 1 as a matter of routine design optimization, since field of view is a result-effective variable of the focal length ratio, and a minor adjustments are commonly made to meet system design goals such as coverage, edge performance, or packaging constraints. Applicant has not demonstrated that ratio of the claimed focal length lower than 1 yield unexpected result or a critical improvement over the prior art value of 0.96.
where f1ne: combined focal length of the negative lenses disposed on the object side of the positive lens in the first lens group, and f: the overall focal length of the optical system.
Regarding claim 19, Okumura teaches the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression:
1.200 < f22/f < 4.100 (From Fig. 1: lens 9 is a positive cemented lens, and its calculated focal length form Table 1 is 25.9, and f = 15.5, thus 25.9/15.5 = 1.67)
where f22: focal length of a positive lens of a cemented lens closest to the object side among cemented lenses included in the second lens group, and f: the overall focal length of the optical system.
Regarding claim 20, Okumura the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression:
-8.000 < f2CL/(-f1) < 90.000 (From Fig. 1: lenses 8 and 9 is a cemented lens, and its calculated focal length form Table 1 is 155, calculated value of f1 = -10.7, f2CL/(-f1) = 155/10.7 = 14.5)
where f2CL: focal length of a cemented lens disposed closest to the object side among cemented lenses included in the second lens group, and the focal length of the first lens group.
Regarding claim 22, Okumura the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression: 32.000 < vda < 70.000 (Table 1: vda = (46.6+70.2+81.5)/3 = 66.1)
where vda: average value of Abbe numbers of media of the negative lenses disposed on the object side of the positive lens in the first lens group at a d line.
Regarding claim 24, Okumura an optical apparatus comprising the optical system according to claim 1 (see Fig. 14: digital camera lens).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 14, 16, 17 and 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
8. The optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression: 1.000 < (-f1)/f < 7.000 where f1: the focal length of the first lens group, and f: the overall focal length of the optical system.
9. The optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression: 2.500 < f2/f < 4.500 where f2: the focal length of the second lens group, and f: the overall focal length of the optical system.
14. The optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression: 8.500 < TL/f < 21.000 where TL: total length of the optical system, and f: the overall focal length of the optical system.
16. The optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression: 5.000 <ED1/f < 13.000 where ED1: distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to the object side to a lens surface closest to an image side in the first lens group, and f: the overall focal length of the optical system.
17. The optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression: 2.800 <ED2/f < 8.200where ED2: distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to the object side to a lens surface closest to an image side in the second lens group, and f: the overall focal length of the optical system.
21. The optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression:
0.500 < (-f1ne)/θmax < 4.500
where fine: combined focal length of the negative lenses disposed on the object side of the positive lens in the first lens group, and θmax: maximum value [radian] of the half angle of view of the optical system.
23. The optical system according to claim 1, wherein the optical system satisfies the following conditional expression: 0.250 < (L3rl-L2r2)/(L3rl+L2r2) < 1.500 where L2r2: radius of curvature of a lens surface of a lens disposed second closest to the object side in the first lens group, the lens surface being on an image side, and L3rl: radius of curvature of a lens surface of a lens disposed third closest to the object side in the first lens group, the lens surface being on the object side.
Conclusion
/EPHREM Z MEBRAHTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872