Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 6/16/2026, with respect to Haldi et al (US 20180323394 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 04/29/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the relationship equations (1), (2), and (3) relating to singlet energy in Haldi are only valid when Haldi’s first TADF material is represented by Formula I, and if modified with a different TADF material, would no longer meet the equations. This argument is not convincing. The ordinarily skilled artisan is able to modify the TADF material of Haldi, with a reasonable expectation of success, by picking other TADF materials in the prior art that meet the equations disclosed in Haldi. Haldi discloses the equations (1), (2), and (3) in order to allow modification to the TADF (and other disclosed) materials. If only the TADF materials of Formula I worked, then Haldi would not need to disclose the equations. If not to allow for the use of materials other than the specific ones disclosed in Formula I, why would Haldi disclose the equations (1), (2), and (3)?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-24, 26-27 and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haldi et al (US 20180323394 A1) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (Advanced Materials, 2016, 28(14):2777-2781, DOI: 10.1002/adma.201505491),
If Applicant argues that Haldi does not disclose the claims with sufficient specificity to make them obvious, then this rejection applies concurrently.
Haldi, discussed above, does not explicitly the first TADF material as a depopulation agent.
Hatakeyama discloses OLEDs having an electroluminescent layer comprising a boron containing compound having the structure of the claimed Formula I-NRCT:
[p2779].
Hatekayama teaches that these compounds act as TADF emitters as well as assistant dopants for fluorescent emitters, and provide near 100% IQE [pp2777-2781, bridging ¶]. The specification indicates that these compounds are useful as depopulation agents [p23].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of Applicant’s invention to have used the TADF emitters of Hatekayama as one of the TADF emitters of Haldi because Hatekayama teaches that they are useful assistant TADF dopants and provide near 100% IQE.
Claim(s) 16-24, 26-27 and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haldi et al (US 20180323394 A1) in view of Hatekayama2 (US 20150236274 A1).
Regarding the new limitations in the claims 16 and 30, Haldi discloses that the light emitting layer B comprises the material EB (which reads on claimed SB) present in 1-50% by weight [0071, 0073].
Haldi discloses an OLED device comprising a light emitting layer B [abstract, 0003, 0008-0012, 0079-0080, 0087-0088, 0118 et seq, p8-12, Examples] comprising:
wherein the disclosed first TADF material EB reads on the claimed SB and the disclosed second TADF material SB reads on the claimed EB.
Remember that the SB and EB are switched, Haldi also discloses that:
EHOMO(SB)−EHOMO(HB)≤0.3 eV and EHOMO(SB)−EHOMO(HB)≥−0.3 eV [0080], so when EHOMO(SB)−EHOMO(HB-) is less than 0 eV, this meets claimed formula (5a) because EHOMO(HB-) > EHOMO(SB). This also reads on claimed formula (6a) and (6b)
EHOMO(EB)−EHOMO(HB)≤0.3 eV and EHOMO(EB)−EHOMO(HB)≥−0.3 eV [0079], so when EHOMO(EB)−EHOMO(HB) is between 0.2 eV and 0.3 eV, this meets claimed formula (5b). This also reads on claimed formula (6a)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of Applicant’s invention to have used the invention of Haldi within the range of EHOMO(EB)−EHOMO(HB) is between 0.2 eV and 0.3 eV, and with the claimed range of amount of SB at 1-5wt%. This range overlaps the claimed range of 0.2 to 0.8 of formula (5b). Likewise, Haldi teaches an amount of EB (claimed SB) in the encompassing range of 0.1 to 50 weight percent. In short, it would have been obvious to use the embodiments of Haldi that overlap with the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Haldi also discloses the TADF materials have the same deltaEST values as claim 17 [0037]. The components are used in the same amounts as the instant claims [claim 21]. Regarding claim 22, Haldi discloses that ELUMO(SB-) <= ELUMO(EB) [0087-0088] (remembering that the SB and EB are switched). Both the first and second TADF materials EB and SB can have the same formula as claimed Formula I-TADF:
[0118 et seq, p8-12, Examples].
Given that the TADF materials of Haldi have the same structure as the claims, as well as the same relative singlet and triplet energies and HOMO energies, they will act as depopulation agents. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. depopulation activity would inherently be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II.
Haldi, discussed above, does not explicitly the first TADF material as a depopulation agent.
Hatakeyama2 discloses OLEDs having an electroluminescent layer comprising a boron containing compound having the structure of the claimed Formula I-NRCT:
[p4].
The polycyclic aromatic compound exhibits thermally activated delayed fluorescence, the compound is also useful as a fluorescent material for an organic EL element [0046]. Hatekayama2 teaches that these compounds when used as dopants provide an excellent organic EL element [abstract, p184 Table 5]. The specification indicates that these compounds are useful as depopulation agents [p24].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of Applicant’s invention to have used the TADF emitters of Hatekayama2 as one of the TADF emitters of Haldi because Hatekayama teaches that they provide an excellent organic EL element.
MICHAEL M. DOLLINGER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1766
/MICHAEL M DOLLINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766