DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Status of Application/Amendments/claims
3. Applicant’s amendment filed July 2, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 4-7, 9-12, 14-19, 21-33, 35 and 37-39 are canceled. Claims 1, 8, 13, 20, 34 and 36 are amended. Claims 1-3, 8, 13, 20, 34 and 36 are pending in this application. Election was treated as without traverse in the reply filed on May 27, 2025.
4. Claims 1-3, 8, 13, 20, 34 and 36 are under examination with respect to amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), poly(GA), (GA)15 (SEQ ID NO:4), anti-poly(GA) antibody in this office action.
5. Applicant’s arguments filed on July 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
Priority
6. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, provisional Application No. 62/904612, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 for one or more claims of this application. The instant application claims a method for treating aggregation of poly(GA) repeat-associated non-ATG translated (RAN) proteins in a human subject in need thereof by intramuscularly administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of an mRNA vaccine encoding a poly(GA) DPR antigen comprising SEQ ID NO:4, which is not presented in the provisional Application No. 62/904612, filed on Sep 23, 2019. The claimed method using an mRNA vaccine encoding a poly(GA) DPR antigen comprising SEQ ID NO:4 was only disclosed in the PCT/US2020/051670 (WO2021/061537) filed on Sep 18, 2020 (see p. 7 and p.33-34 of the instant specification or para. [0040]; [0155]-[0158] of WO2021/061537).
Therefore, the priority for the claimed method using an mRNA vaccine encoding a poly(GA) DPR antigen comprising SEQ ID NO:4 in the instant application is Sep 18, 2020.
Claim Rejections/Objections Withdrawn
7. The rejection of claims 1-3, 8, 13, 20, 34, 36 and 39 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US20210347866) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment to the claims and cancelation of claim 39.
The rejection of claims 1-3, 8, 13, 20, 34, 36 and 39 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US12436154 in view of Wang (US20210347866) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment to the claims and cancelation of claim 39.
The provisional rejection of claims 1-3, 8, 13, 20, 34, 36 and 39 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 13-15, 18-19 and 22 and 27-28 of copending Application No. 18/706038 or claim 51 of copending Application No. 18/841754 in view of Wang (US20210347866) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment to the claims and cancelation of claim 39.
New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by the Amendment
The following rejections are new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendment filed on July 2, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 13, 20, 34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edbauer et al. (WO2020/221937, published Nov 5, 2020, priority May 2, 2019; also published as US2022/0202935).
Claims 1-3, 8, 13, 20, 34 and 36 as amended are drawn to a method for reducing aggregation of poly(GA) RAN proteins in a human subject in need thereof, the method comprising intramuscularly administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of an mRNA vaccine encoding a poly(GA) dipeptide repeat (DPR) antigen comprising SEQ ID NO:4, wherein administration of the vaccine to the subject elicits production of one or more anti-RAN protein antibodies in the subject and reduces aggregation of the poly(GA) RAN proteins in the CNS of the subject.
Edbauer et al. (WO2020/221937) teaches a method for treating familial frontotemporal dementia (FTD), amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) or ALS-FTD including ALS with mutations in C9Orf72 gene in a human subject in need thereof as recited in claims 2-3 (see p.3-4; p. 4, lines 14-30; p. 24, line 25-p. 25, line 10; p. 26, line 3-p. 27, line 14; p. 34-37; p. 37, line 34-p. 40, line 5; p. 45-47, Examples 6-10, p.51-52, claims 12-15; p.50-52, claims 1-15), the method comprising intramuscularly administering (see p. 33, lines 13, lines 20-24) to the human subject a therapeutically effective amount of a nucleic acid vaccine including DNA or mRNA vaccine encoding a polypeptide consisting of dipeptide-repeats comprising poly (GA)a wherein a is 4-100, 4-25, 7-15, 8-12 or 9-11 (i.e. DPR antigen comprising SEQ ID NO:4: GA), which includes instant SEQ ID NO:4:(GA)15, 20 or 25, and comprises 4-100, 4-25, 7-15, 8-12 or 9-11 di-amino acid repeats (see p. 4, line 14-30; p. 4, lines 2-30; p. 11, lines 26-34; p. 23, line 28-p.24, line 12; p. 34-37; p. 39, lines 23-28; p. 51-52, claims 12-15), which meet the limitations recited in instant claims 1-3, 8, 13, 20, 34 and 36. The nucleic acid vaccine including mRNA or DNA encoding the DPR antigen comprising poly(GA)a, wherein a is 4-100, 4-25, 7-15, 8-12 or 9-11 disclosed by Edbauer meets the limitations “comprises 2-150 di-amino acid repeats” recited in claims 1 and 8.
Edbauer teaches that the immunogen further comprises one or more additional immunogens as in claim 13 (see p. 4; p. 12, lines 3-20), one or more doses of the mRNA vaccine as in claim 20 (see p. 22, lines 20-35; p. 37, lines 2-20); or the mRNA vaccine further comprising one or more adjuvants as in claim 34 (see p.4; p. 12, lines 3-20; p. 32, lines 11-p. 33, line 11; p. 37, line 34-p. 40, line 5) or in a composition comprising an exosome or a lipid nanoparticle in claim 36 (see p. 23, lines p. 31, line 23-p. 32, line 7). Thus, claims 1-3, 8, 13, 20, 34 and 36 are anticipated by Edbauer et al. (WO2020/221937).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 8, 13, 20, 34 and 36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12436154 in view of Edbauer et al. (WO2020/221937).
Claims 1-20 of US12436154 (the ‘154 patent) claim a method for detecting and identifying a subject as having a decreased level of anti-RAN protein antibodies after administration of a therapeutic agent compared to prior to administration of the therapeutic agent, and administering to the subject a vaccine against a RAN protein-associated disease or disorder, wherein the vaccine elicits an immune response including production of anti-poly(GA) antibody against a RAN protein-associated disease or disorder associated with poly(GA), and wherein the vaccine includes poly(GA)x, x=10,15,20..40 or GA10 (SEQ ID NO:4), GA15(SEQ ID NO:4) (claims 9-10) as recited in instant claims 1 and 8 and wherein the RAN protein-associated disease or disorder associated with poly(GA) includes ALS recited in instant claims 1-2 (claim 6).
While the claims of the ‘154 patent does not recite “an mRNA vaccine” as in claim 1, “intramuscular administration route” or additional immunogens as in claim 13, one or more adjuvants as in claim 34, in a composition comprising an exosome or a lipid nanoparticle in claim 36, Edbauer teaches these limitations for the reasons set forth above under the 102 rejection.
Thus, Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select and apply the known mRNA vaccine, the known intramuscular administration route, the known additional immunogens, the known one or more adjuvants, the known exosome or lipid nanoparticle in a composition, and the known technique disclosed by Edbauer to the method of the ‘154 patent, and yield the predictable result of reducing aggregation of poly(GA)-RAN protein in a human subject in need thereof including the subject with ALS or ALS caused by one or more mutations in a C9Orf72 gene because the mRNA vaccine, the intramuscular administration route, the additional immunogens, the one or more adjuvants, the exosome or lipid nanoparticle in a composition are well-known in the art and are routine practices in the field as disclosed by Edbauer.
Double Patenting
10. Claims 1-3, 8, 13, 20, 34 and 36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 13-15, 18-19, 22 and 27-28 of copending Application No. 18/706038, claim 51 of copending Application No. 18/841754, claims 14-38 of copending Application No. 19/126174 in view of Edbauer et al. (WO2020/221937).
Claims 1-6, 11, 13, and 27-28 of Application No. 18/706038 (the ‘038 Application) claim a method for treating a subject having or suspected of having Alzheimer’s disease (AD) comprising administering to the subject one or more agents that reduced poly(GA) RAN protein translation, expression, aggregation or accumulation, wherein the agents including an anti-RAN protein antibody or a peptide or an inhibitory nucleic acid.
Claim 51 of Application No. 18/841754 (the ‘754 Application) claims a method for treatment of C9orf72 negative sporadic amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (C9-sALS) comprising administering a therapeutic agent including a interfering nucleic acid, a protein or an antibody that reduces expression of poly(GA) RAN protein.
Claims 14-38 of Application No. 19/126174 (the ‘174 Application) claim a method for treating a subject having or suspected of having a RAN protein disease, comprising administering to the subject one or more anti-RAN protein agents including a protein, peptide, nucleic acid or small molecule.
While the claims of the ‘038 Application, the ‘754 Application or the ‘174 Application do not recite “an mRNA vaccine” as in claim 1, “intramuscular administration route” or additional immunogens as in claim 13, one or more adjuvants as in claim 34, in a composition comprising an exosome or a lipid nanoparticle in claim 36, Edbauer teaches these limitations for the reasons set forth above under the 102 rejection.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select and apply the known mRNA vaccine, the known intramuscular administration route, the known additional immunogens, the known one or more adjuvants, the known exosome or lipid nanoparticle in a composition, and the known technique disclosed by Edbauer to the method of the ‘038 Application, the ‘754 Application or the ‘174 Application, and yield the predictable result of reducing aggregation of poly(GA)-RAN protein in a human subject in need thereof including the subject with ALS or ALS caused by one or more mutations in a C9Orf72 gene because the mRNA vaccine, the intramuscular administration route, the additional immunogens, the one or more adjuvants, the exosome or lipid nanoparticle in a composition are well-known in the art and are routine practices in the field as disclosed by Edbauer.
Conclusion
11. NO CLAIM IS ALLOWED.
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US20210347866) teaches a method for treating ALS including ALS with mutations in C9Orf72 gene in a human subject in need thereof recited in claims 2-3 (see para. [0006]-[0007]), the method comprising intramuscularly administering (see para.[0112];[0203]) to the human subject a therapeutically effective amount of a Dipeptide Repeat (DPR) peptide immunogen construct or vaccine targeting portions of a Dipeptide Repeat (DPR) protein from C9orf72 (see para. [0222];[0226]-[0227]) or a nucleic acid encoding the DPR peptide immunogen construct (see para.[0134]-[0135]), wherein the DPR peptide immunogen construct or vaccine has the formula of {(Th)m-(A) n-(DPR)-(A)n-(Th)m}y-X, wherein (DPR) is a B cell epitope having repeats of poly-GA, and wherein the DPR peptide immunogen construct/vaccine comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:4: (GA)25 (see para.[0028]-[0029]) which comprises 25 di-amino acid repeats and thus meets the limitations “comprises 2-150 di-amino acid repeats or optionally 10-25, 25-50 di-amino acid repeat” recited in claims 1 and 8 (see the sequence alignment; para. [0022]-[0035]; [0079]-[0116]; p. 14-27, tables 1-11; para. [0145]-[0197]), further comprising one or more additional immunogens as in claim 13 (see para. [0222]; [0226]-[0227]; [0030]; [0065], Table 2; para. [0200]; [0205]); or further comprises one or more adjuvants as in claim 34 (see paragraphs [0033]; [0108]-[0110]) or in a composition comprising a lipid nanoparticle in claim 36 (see para. [0109]; [0111]-[0113]).
SEQ ID NO:4
Sequence 2, US/17282336
Publication No. US20210347866A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: UNITED NEUROSCIENCE
APPLICANT: UNS IP HOLDINGS, LLC
APPLICANT: Wang, Chang Yi
APPLICANT: Verma, Ajay
TITLE OF INVENTION: PEPTIDE IMMUNOGEN CONSTRUCTS DIRECTED AGAINST DIPEPTIDE REPEAT
TITLE OF INVENTION: PROTEINS FROM C9ORF72
FILE REFERENCE: 1008578.103US9 (UNS-1003-US)
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/17/282,336
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2021-04-01
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/739,794
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-10-01
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/US2019/053967
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2019-10-01
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 232
SEQ ID NO 2
LENGTH: 30
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Rattus norvegicus
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: PEPTIDE
LOCATION: (1)..(30)
OTHER INFORMATION: (GA)15
Query Match 100.0%; Score 150; Length 30;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 30; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGA 30
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGA 30
US-17-282-336-3
Sequence 3, US/17282336
Publication No. US20210347866A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: UNITED NEUROSCIENCE
APPLICANT: UNS IP HOLDINGS, LLC
APPLICANT: Wang, Chang Yi
APPLICANT: Verma, Ajay
TITLE OF INVENTION: PEPTIDE IMMUNOGEN CONSTRUCTS DIRECTED AGAINST DIPEPTIDE REPEAT
TITLE OF INVENTION: PROTEINS FROM C9ORF72
FILE REFERENCE: 1008578.103US9 (UNS-1003-US)
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/17/282,336
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2021-04-01
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/739,794
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-10-01
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/US2019/053967
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2019-10-01
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 232
SEQ ID NO 3
LENGTH: 70
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Homo sapiens
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: PEPTIDE
LOCATION: (1)..(50)
OTHER INFORMATION: (GA)25
Query Match 100.0%; Score 150; Length 70;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 30; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGA 30
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGA 30
US-17-282-336-69
(NOTE: this sequence has 1 duplicate in the database searched)
Sequence 69, US/17282336
Publication No. US20210347866A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: UNITED NEUROSCIENCE
APPLICANT: UNS IP HOLDINGS, LLC
APPLICANT: Wang, Chang Yi
APPLICANT: Verma, Ajay
TITLE OF INVENTION: PEPTIDE IMMUNOGEN CONSTRUCTS DIRECTED AGAINST DIPEPTIDE REPEAT
TITLE OF INVENTION: PROTEINS FROM C9ORF72
FILE REFERENCE: 1008578.103US9 (UNS-1003-US)
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/17/282,336
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2021-04-01
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/739,794
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-10-01
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/US2019/053967
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2019-10-01
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 232
SEQ ID NO 69
LENGTH: 53
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Artificial Sequence
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Synthetic Peptide
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: PEPTIDE
LOCATION: (1)..(30)
OTHER INFORMATION: (GA)15
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: PEPTIDE
LOCATION: (31)..(34)
OTHER INFORMATION: KKK-epsilon K as a spacer
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: SITE
LOCATION: (34)..(34)
OTHER INFORMATION: epsilon K
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: PEPTIDE
LOCATION: (35)..(53)
OTHER INFORMATION: MvF5 Th (UBITh1)
Query Match 100.0%; Score 150; Length 53;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 30; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGA 30
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGA 30
US20120142027 teaches a composition comprising a polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO:17, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:4 (see the sequence alignment below).
SEQ ID NO:4
Sequence 17, US/12528213
Publication No. US20120142027A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: WHITEHEAD INSTITUTE FOR BIOMEDICAL RESEARCH
TITLE OF INVENTION: COMPOSITIONS AND METHODS FOR MODULATING THE IMMUNE RESPONSE AND
TITLE OF INVENTION: IDENTIFYING IMMUNOMODULATORS
FILE REFERENCE: WHI-006PC
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/12/528,213
CURRENT FILING DATE: 0001-01-01
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCTUS0854809
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2008-05-05
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 60/902,983
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2007-02-23
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 136
SEQ ID NO 17
LENGTH: 30
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Artificial Sequence
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Description of Artificial Sequence: Synthetic
peptide
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: MOD_RES
LOCATION: (3)..(30)
OTHER INFORMATION: May or may not be present
Query Match 100.0%; Score 150; Length 30;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 30; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGA 30
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGA 30
US20220153874 teaches a composition comprising a polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO:66, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:4 (see the sequence alignment below).
SEQ ID NO:4
Sequence 66, US/17050353
Publication No. US20220153874A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: BIOGEN MA INC.
APPLICANT: NEURIMMUNE AG
TITLE OF INVENTION: HUMAN-DERIVED ANTI-(POLY-GA) DIPEPTIDE REPEAT (DPR) ANTIBODY
FILE REFERENCE: 13751-0309WO1
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/17/050,353
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2020-10-23
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/772,809
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-11-29
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: EP 18169888.7
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-04-27
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 84
SEQ ID NO 66
LENGTH: 30
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Artificial Sequence
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: source
OTHER INFORMATION: /note="Description of Artificial Sequence: Synthetic
dipeptide repeat protein peptide GA"
Query Match 100.0%; Score 150; Length 30;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 30; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGA 30
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGA 30
US20250027084 teaches a composition comprising a polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO:22, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:4 (see the sequence alignment below).
SEQ ID NO:4
Sequence 22, US/18714298
Publication No. US20250027084A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY (en)
TITLE OF INVENTION: COMPOSITIONS FOR INHIBITING DIPEPTIDE REPEAT PROTEIN-RIBOSOMAL RNA INTERACTION AND USES THEREOF (en)
FILE REFERENCE: 121384-0190
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/18/714,298
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2024-05-29
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 53
SEQ ID NO 22
LENGTH: 30
TYPE: PRT
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: source
LOCATION: 1..30
QUALIFIERS: mol_type = protein
organism = synthetic construct
Query Match 100.0%; Score 150; Length 30;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 30; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGA 30
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAGA 30
Chang-Yu Wang
July 25, 2026
/CHANG-YU WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675