DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments to the claims filed on 31 October 2025. Claims 15 – 34 are pending and currently being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 – 20 and 22 – 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA (Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art, Page 1, Lines 8 – 12 of Applicant’s Specification) in view of Shaefer (PG Pub US 20060207659 A1) and in view of Opfel (PG Pub US 20030222000 A1) and further in view of Angell (US Patent 2,781,831 A).
In Re Claim 15, AAPA discloses a mobile pump system for pumping water and/or extinguishing agent (Page 1, Line 8), comprising: a frame (Page 1, Line 9) for housing the pump system; a booster pump (Page 1, Line 9) arranged in the frame; one or more submersible pumps (Page 1, Lines 10 – 11) arranged in the frame; a booster pump motor drive (Page 1, Line 11) configured to drive the booster pump; a motor drive (Page 1, Line 12) configured to drive the one or more submersible pumps, wherein the booster pump is configured to displace water and/or extinguishing agent (Page 1, Lines 9 – 10) and the submersible pump is configured to pump water for extinguishing and/or pumping up flood water (since it is a submersible pump, it pumps flood water).
Although AAPA does not explicitly disclose that the submersible pump is driven by a hydraulics motor drive, however it is known to drive such submersible pumps by hydraulics as attested by Shaefer, see paragraph [0067]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a hydraulics motor to drive the submersible pump of AAPA, in light of the teachings of Shaefer, as is conventional in the art.
AAPA and Shaefer do not disclose a coupling for coupling the booster pump to the hydraulics motor drive such that the hydraulics motor drive can function as auxiliary drive for the booster pump.
However, it is well known that pumps can move fluid over greater distance when provided with extra power either by increasing the power of a single pump motor or by combining plural pump motors to obtain a much higher output power as attested by Opfel, see paragraph [0042]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided extra power to the booster pump of AAPA/Schaefer by using an auxiliary drive such as another pump motor, in light of the teachings of Opfel, in order to displace water and/or extinguishing agent over a greater distance than is achievable using the booster pump motor drive alone, as is known in the art.
AAPA/Schaefer/Opfel does not specifically disclose that the extra power provided to the booster pump motor drive is coming from coupling the booster pump to the hydraulics motor drive however, Angell discloses a hydraulic motor drive (30; “turbine”; Column 1, Lines 37 – 45) that drives the motive fluid pump (“main pump” 42) of a hydraulic drive (that includes hydraulic motor 16). The booster pump (11) is initially driven by a booster pump motor drive (electric motor 15), and the hydraulic motor drive is configured to function as auxiliary drive for the booster pump (Column 1, Lines 41 – 42 and 51 – 52) when the discharge pressure of the booster pump reaches a sufficient value (Column 1, Lines 42 – 52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the hydraulics drive motor of AAPA/Schaefer to provide the extra power to the booster pump, in light of the teachings of Angell since using the already present hydraulics motor drive would alleviate the need for bringing in an extra motor and as such would make the pump system more compact. Applicant should note that it is inherent that there would have to be some type of coupling for coupling the booster pump to the hydraulics motor drive. In Angell for example, booster pump (11) is coupled to the hydraulics motor drive through common shaft 23, tube 29 and nipple 46 (fig. 1).
In Re Claim 16, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 15, and Shaefer further discloses a hydraulic drive (66) drivable by the hydraulic motor drive (68) (paragraph [0094]: “hydraulic motors fixed to the floating submersible satellite pumps”, 66 provides motive fluid to drive the hydraulic motors). In the modified apparatus, when the submersible pump drive is coupled to the booster pump drive, the submersible pumps are still driven by the submersible pump drive, therefore (66) and (68) can be designated as part of the broadly claimed coupling.
In Re Claim 17, AAPA does not explicitly disclose a controller.
However, Shaefer further discloses a controller for controlling the booster pump (paragraph [0094] states that the electronic engine control system controls the main pump discharge pressure) and the hydraulics motor drive (paragraph [0081] discloses a control interface for the engine 68 section of the hydraulic motor drive: 68 + 66).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to incorporate the controller of Shaefer to control the booster pump and hydraulic motor drive of AAPA since conventional controllers are known to be suitable for controlling pumps.
In Re Claim 18, AAPA does not explicitly disclose sensors.
However, Shaefer further discloses that the pump system is provided with one or more sensors (paragraph [0016] discloses “sense water inlet pressure”; paragraph [0094] discloses: “track main pump discharge pressure”; which is tantamount to the existence of two sensors) operatively connected to the controller (paragraph [0094] states that the electronic engine control system controls the main pump discharge pressure) for controlling the booster pump (paragraph [0094]: “and automatically increase or decrease engine speed as needed to continuously maintain discharge”) and hydraulics motor drive (paragraph [0083]: “hydraulic pump driver control”; paragraph [0016]: “control output of the first and second satellite pumps” which is tantamount to controlling the hydraulics motor drive that drives the hydraulic motor of the satellite pumps).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to modify AAPA to incorporate sensors operatively connected to the controller as taught by Shaefer for the purpose of enabling the controller to perform its function.
In Re Claim 19, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 15, and Shaefer further discloses a control panel (paragraph [0066]) for operating and/or setting the pump system (paragraph [0066] discloses access to suction and discharge connections).
In Re Claim 20, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 19, and Shaefer further discloses that the control panel (paragraph [0066]) is provided on an outer side of the frame (paragraph [0066] discloses a side door that provides access to the control panel, so the control panel is on an outer side of the frame).
In Re Claim 22, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 15, and Shaefer further discloses that the hydraulics motor drive (68 + 66) is provided with radiator (68a; Figure 3A) cooling (paragraph [0085]).
In Re Claim 23, AAPA does not disclose a metering pump.
Shaefer further discloses a metering pump (paragraph [0092]: “transfer pump” for pumping additive like foam, a foam pump in applicant’s specification is referred to as a metering pump).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to modify AAPA to incorporate a metering pump as taught by Shaefer for the purpose of delivering foam additive which assists in firefighting.
In Re Claim 24, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 23, and Shaefer further discloses that the metering pump is provided with a displaceable metering pump frame (paragraph [0092] discloses a tanker which reads on a displaceable frame).
In Re Claim 25, AAPA does not disclose a displaceable frame for the submersible pump.
However, Shaefer further discloses that the one or more submersible pumps (60) are provided with a displaceable submersible pump frame (61; paragraph [0077]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to modify the submersible pump of AAPA to incorporate a displaceable submersible pump frame as taught by Shaefer for the purpose of filtering the water (paragraph [0077] discloses that the frame includes a “suction inlet strainer”).
In Re Claim 26, AAPA, Shaefer, Angell and Opfel as applied to Claim 15 discloses a device that anticipates the claimed method steps (MPEP 2112.02 – I states that if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device).
In Re Claim 27, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 26, and Shaefer further discloses a hydraulic drive (66) drivable by the hydraulic motor drive (68) (paragraph [0094]: “hydraulic motors fixed to the floating submersible satellite pumps”, 66 provides motive fluid to drive the hydraulic motors). In the modified apparatus, when the submersible pump drive is coupled (by the mechanical coupling of Angell) to the booster pump drive, the submersible pumps are still driven by the submersible pump drive, therefore (66) and (68) perform the claimed “hydraulic driving of the coupling”.
In Re Claims 28 – 30, AAPA does not explicitly disclose autonomous controlling and a controller.
However, Shaefer further discloses autonomous controlling (paragraph [0020]: “automatic control”) and a controller for controlling the booster pump (paragraph [0094] states that the electronic engine control system controls the main pump discharge pressure) and the hydraulics motor drive (paragraph [0081] discloses a control interface for the engine 68 section of the hydraulic motor drive: 68 + 66).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to incorporate the controller and autonomous controlling of Shaefer to control the booster pump and hydraulic motor drive of AAPA since conventional controllers are known to be suitable for controlling pumps.
In Re Claim 31, AAPA does not explicitly disclose sensors.
However, Shaefer further discloses that the pump system is provided with one or more sensors (paragraph [0016] discloses “sense water inlet pressure”; paragraph [0094] discloses: “track main pump discharge pressure”; which is tantamount to the existence of two sensors) operatively connected to the controller (paragraph [0094] states that the electronic engine control system controls the main pump discharge pressure) for controlling the booster pump (paragraph [0094]: “and automatically increase or decrease engine speed as needed to continuously maintain discharge”) and hydraulics motor drive (paragraph [0083]: “hydraulic pump driver control”; paragraph [0016]: “control output of the first and second satellite pumps” which is tantamount to controlling the hydraulics motor drive that drives the hydraulic motor of the satellite pumps).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to modify AAPA to incorporate sensors operatively connected to the controller as taught by Shaefer for the purpose of enabling the controller to perform its function.
In Re Claim 32, AAPA, Shaefer, Angell as applied to Claims 15, 17 and 19 disclose all the claimed limitations.
In Re Claim 33, AAPA, Shaefer, Angell as applied to Claims 15, 17, 18 and 19 disclose all the claimed limitations.
In Re Claim 34, AAPA, Shaefer, Angell as applied to Claims 15, 17, 18, 19 and 25 disclose all the claimed limitations.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA (Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art, Page 1, Lines 8 – 12 of Applicant’s Specification) in view of Shaefer (PG Pub US 20060207659 A1) and in view of Opfel (PG Pub US 20030222000 A1) and in view of Angell (US Patent 2,781,831 A) and further in view of Brown (PG Pub US 20080302316 A1).
In Re Claim 21, AAPA does not disclose water cooling.
However, Brown discloses an engine that is cooled by coolant water pumped from a lake directly to the engine jacket (paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to pump lake water as taught by Brown to a cooling jacket of the booster pump motor drive of AAPA / Shaefer / Angell for cooling purposes (paragraph [0006] of Brown).
Claims 15 – 20 and 22 – 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA (Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art, Page 1, Lines 8 – 12 of Applicant’s Specification) in view of Shaefer (PG Pub US 20060207659 A1) and in view of Opfel (PG Pub US 20030222000 A1) and further in view of Houck (US Patent 4,004,470 A).
In Re Claim 15, AAPA discloses a mobile pump system for pumping water and/or extinguishing agent (Page 1, Line 8), comprising: a frame (Page 1, Line 9) for housing the pump system; a booster pump (Page 1, Line 9) arranged in the frame; one or more submersible pumps (Page 1, Lines 10 – 11) arranged in the frame; a booster pump motor drive (Page 1, Line 11) configured to drive the booster pump; a motor drive (Page 1, Line 12) configured to drive the one or more submersible pumps, wherein the booster pump is configured to displace water and/or extinguishing agent (Page 1, Lines 9 – 10) and the submersible pump is configured to pump water for extinguishing and/or pumping up flood water (since it is a submersible pump, it pumps flood water).
Although AAPA does not explicitly disclose that the submersible pump is driven by a hydraulics motor drive, however it is known to drive such submersible pumps by hydraulics as attested by Shaefer, see paragraph [0067]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a hydraulics motor to drive the submersible pump of AAPA, in light of the teachings of Shaefer, as is conventional in the art.
AAPA and Shaefer do not disclose a coupling for coupling the booster pump to the hydraulics motor drive such that the hydraulics motor drive can function as auxiliary drive for the booster pump.
However, it is well known that pumps can move fluid over greater distance when provided with extra power either by increasing the power of a single pump motor or by combining plural pump motors to obtain a much higher output power as attested by Opfel, see paragraph [0042]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided extra power to the booster pump of AAPA/Schaefer by using an auxiliary drive such as another pump motor, in light of the teachings of Opfel, in order to displace water and/or extinguishing agent over a greater distance than is achievable using the booster pump motor drive alone, as is known in the art.
AAPA/Schaefer/Opfel does not specifically disclose that the extra power provided to the booster pump motor drive is coming from coupling the booster pump to the hydraulics motor drive however, Houck discloses a mobile (Abstract: “the entire system can be transported by helicopters”) pump system (Figures 1 – 3) for pumping water and/or extinguishing agent (a mud pump is also capable of pumping water), comprising: a frame (50; Figure 3) for housing the pump system; a booster pump (42B) arranged in the frame; one or more submersible pumps (42A; conventional mud pumps are submersible) arranged in the frame (50); a booster pump motor drive (14B) configured to drive the booster pump; a hydraulics motor drive (14A) configured to drive the one or more submersible pumps (42A)(mud pumps are known to have hydraulic drives in the form of a motive fluid pump which drives a hydraulic motor which drives the mud pump; the motive fluid pump would be driven by the engine 14A), wherein the hydraulics motor drive (14A) is configured to function as auxiliary drive for the booster pump (42B)(engine 14B drives the draw works and booster pump 42B simultaneously – see Column 2, Lines 32 – 41; when jaw clutch 24A is disengaged each engine drives its pump independently, when jaw clutch is engaged engine 14A functions as an auxiliary drive for engine 14B – see Column 1, Lines 50 – 54; in doing so engine 14A functions as an auxiliary drive for pump 42B); and a coupling (24A, 26A, 36, 26B) for coupling the booster pump (42B) to the hydraulics motor drive (14A) such that the hydraulics motor drive (14A) can function as auxiliary drive for the booster pump (42B) when jaw clutch 24A is engaged (Column 2, Lines 42 – 49); wherein the booster pump (42B) is configured to displace water and/or extinguishing agent (a mud pump is capable of pumping water) and the submersible pump (42A) is configured to pump water for extinguishing and/or pumping up flood water (a mud pump is capable of pumping water). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the hydraulics drive motor of AAPA/Schaefer to provide the extra power to the booster pump, in light of the teachings of Houck since using the already present hydraulics motor drive would alleviate the need for bringing in an extra motor and as such would make the pump system more compact. Note that Houck is relevant to the problem “Conventional pump systems therefore make use here of heavy drives” (Page 1 Line 15 of Applicant’s specification) that applicant is trying to solve in view of Houck’s disclosure in Column 1, Line 67: “demountable into small subassemblies, each of which weigh less than a selected magnitude”. Further, Houck also satisfies the field of endeavor test because it is a similar structure to applicant’s invention (MPEP 2141.01(a) Section IV) in view of Houck’s disclosure: “This application deals only with the engine, power compound and pump system” in Column 1, Line 43.
In Re Claim 16, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 15, and Shaefer further discloses a hydraulic drive (66) drivable by the hydraulic motor drive (68) (paragraph [0094]: “hydraulic motors fixed to the floating submersible satellite pumps”, 66 provides motive fluid to drive the hydraulic motors). In the modified apparatus, when the submersible pump drive is coupled to the booster pump drive via the coupling of Houck, the submersible pumps are still driven by the submersible pump drive, therefore (66) and (68) can be designated as part of the broadly claimed coupling.
In Re Claim 17, AAPA does not explicitly disclose a controller.
However, Shaefer further discloses a controller for controlling the booster pump (paragraph [0094] states that the electronic engine control system controls the main pump discharge pressure) and the hydraulics motor drive (paragraph [0081] discloses a control interface for the engine 68 section of the hydraulic motor drive: 68 + 66).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to incorporate the controller of Shaefer to control the booster pump and hydraulic motor drive of AAPA since conventional controllers are known to be suitable for controlling pumps.
In Re Claim 18, AAPA does not explicitly disclose sensors.
However, Shaefer further discloses that the pump system is provided with one or more sensors (paragraph [0016] discloses “sense water inlet pressure”; paragraph [0094] discloses: “track main pump discharge pressure”; which is tantamount to the existence of two sensors) operatively connected to the controller (paragraph [0094] states that the electronic engine control system controls the main pump discharge pressure) for controlling the booster pump (paragraph [0094]: “and automatically increase or decrease engine speed as needed to continuously maintain discharge”) and hydraulics motor drive (paragraph [0083]: “hydraulic pump driver control”; paragraph [0016]: “control output of the first and second satellite pumps” which is tantamount to controlling the hydraulics motor drive that drives the hydraulic motor of the satellite pumps).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to modify AAPA to incorporate sensors operatively connected to the controller as taught by Shaefer for the purpose of enabling the controller to perform its function.
In Re Claim 19, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 15, and Shaefer further discloses a control panel (paragraph [0066]) for operating and/or setting the pump system (paragraph [0066] discloses access to suction and discharge connections).
In Re Claim 20, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 19, and Shaefer further discloses that the control panel (paragraph [0066]) is provided on an outer side of the frame (paragraph [0066] discloses a side door that provides access to the control panel, so the control panel is on an outer side of the frame).
In Re Claim 22, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 15, and Shaefer further discloses that the hydraulics motor drive (68 + 66) is provided with radiator (68a; Figure 3A) cooling (paragraph [0085]).
In Re Claim 23, AAPA does not disclose a metering pump.
Shaefer further discloses a metering pump (paragraph [0092]: “transfer pump” for pumping additive like foam, a foam pump in applicant’s specification is referred to as a metering pump).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to modify AAPA to incorporate a metering pump as taught by Shaefer for the purpose of delivering foam additive which assists in firefighting.
In Re Claim 24, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 23, and Shaefer further discloses that the metering pump is provided with a displaceable metering pump frame (paragraph [0092] discloses a tanker which reads on a displaceable frame).
In Re Claim 25, AAPA does not disclose a displaceable frame for the submersible pump.
However, Shaefer further discloses that the one or more submersible pumps (60) are provided with a displaceable submersible pump frame (61; paragraph [0077]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to modify the submersible pump of AAPA to incorporate a displaceable submersible pump frame as taught by Shaefer for the purpose of filtering the water (paragraph [0077] discloses that the frame includes a “suction inlet strainer”).
In Re Claim 26, AAPA, Shaefer and Houck as applied to Claim 15 discloses a device that anticipates the claimed method steps (MPEP 2112.02 – I states that if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device).
In Re Claim 27, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 26, and Shaefer further discloses a hydraulic drive (66) drivable by the hydraulic motor drive (68) (paragraph [0094]: “hydraulic motors fixed to the floating submersible satellite pumps”, 66 provides motive fluid to drive the hydraulic motors). In the modified apparatus, when the submersible pump drive is coupled (by the mechanical coupling of Houck) to the booster pump drive, the submersible pumps are still driven by the submersible pump drive, therefore (66) and (68) perform the claimed “hydraulic driving of the coupling”.
In Re Claims 28 – 30, AAPA does not explicitly disclose autonomous controlling and a controller.
However, Shaefer further discloses autonomous controlling (paragraph [0020]: “automatic control”) and a controller for controlling the booster pump (paragraph [0094] states that the electronic engine control system controls the main pump discharge pressure) and the hydraulics motor drive (paragraph [0081] discloses a control interface for the engine 68 section of the hydraulic motor drive: 68 + 66).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to incorporate the controller and autonomous controlling of Shaefer to control the booster pump and hydraulic motor drive of AAPA since conventional controllers are known to be suitable for controlling pumps.
In Re Claim 31, AAPA does not explicitly disclose sensors.
However, Shaefer further discloses that the pump system is provided with one or more sensors (paragraph [0016] discloses “sense water inlet pressure”; paragraph [0094] discloses: “track main pump discharge pressure”; which is tantamount to the existence of two sensors) operatively connected to the controller (paragraph [0094] states that the electronic engine control system controls the main pump discharge pressure) for controlling the booster pump (paragraph [0094]: “and automatically increase or decrease engine speed as needed to continuously maintain discharge”) and hydraulics motor drive (paragraph [0083]: “hydraulic pump driver control”; paragraph [0016]: “control output of the first and second satellite pumps” which is tantamount to controlling the hydraulics motor drive that drives the hydraulic motor of the satellite pumps).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to modify AAPA to incorporate sensors operatively connected to the controller as taught by Shaefer for the purpose of enabling the controller to perform its function.
In Re Claim 32, AAPA, Shaefer and Houck as applied to Claims 15, 17 and 19 disclose all the claimed limitations.
In Re Claim 33, AAPA, Shaefer and Houck as applied to Claims 15, 17, 18 and 19 disclose all the claimed limitations.
In Re Claim 34, AAPA, Shaefer and Houck as applied to Claims 15, 17, 18, 19 and 25 disclose all the claimed limitations.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA (Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art, Page 1, Lines 8 – 12 of Applicant’s Specification) in view of Shaefer (PG Pub US 20060207659 A1) and in view Opfel (PG Pub US 20030222000 A1) and in view of Houck (US Patent 4,004,470 A) and further in view of Brown (PG Pub US 20080302316 A1).
In Re Claim 21, AAPA does not disclose water cooling.
However, Brown discloses an engine that is cooled by coolant water pumped from a lake directly to the engine jacket (paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to pump lake water as taught by Brown to a cooling jacket of the booster pump motor drive of AAPA / Shaefer / Houck for cooling purposes (paragraph [0006] of Brown).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/D.G.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746