DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2020/074202 filed 31 August 2020. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of foreign priority to application DE102019214463.2 filed 23 September 2019. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application. The effective filing date of the instant claims is 31 August 2020.
Examiner’s Note
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 28 April 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 28 April 2026, it is noted that claims 1, 17, and 23 have been amended and no new matter or claims have been added. Support can be found in the specification at [0129].
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-20, and 23 are pending.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-20, and 23 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-10, 13-20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerl et al. (US 2017/0172901) in view of Hoeffkes et al. (US 2004/0031108) in view of Goutsis et al. (US 2013/0042882).
Kerl teaches a method of coloring or lightening keratin fibers comprising the steps of 1) providing a kit with the agents and then providing and mixing a cosmetic agent M1 and an oxidizing agent preparation M2, 2) applying the mixture onto keratin fibers and leaving it there for 10-60 minutes and 3) rinsing the keratin fibers with water [0125-0129]. The M1 agent comprises an oxidation dye precursor, direct dye, or mixture thereof [0032]. The M1 agent further comprises an aminated silicone polymer of Formula (III), which comprises a secondary amino group and reads on the structure of instant claims 2-4 [0071]. The aminated silicone polymer can be present in amounts from 0.0001-15 wt% [0075] and the direct dye/pigment is present in amounts of 0.001-10 wt% [0068]. In addition, the M1 agent can comprise a cosmetic carrier selected from aqueous, alcoholic, or aqueous-alcoholic wherein the aqueous-alcoholic option can include as little as 10% water by weight [0028-0030]. It is noted that water is not required to be included in the carrier and in some embodiments the carrier can be 100% alcoholic, as taught by Kerl. Additionally, the M1 agent can comprise a solvent such as 1,2-propylene glycol [0031] and surfactants [0078]. Regarding the surfactant, one suitable choice is Ceteareth-12 which is nonionic [0093]. The M2 preparation can comprise isopropyl myristate (3-25 wt%) in the oxidizing preparation [0117] and can further comprise water (40-98 wt%) [0114]. In practice, the cosmetic agent and oxidizing agent are mixed in a 1:1 ratio [0143].
Kerl does not teach applying the composition to the hair for about 1 to about 5 minutes. Kerl does not teach the fatty ingredients of instant claim 17.
Hoeffkes teaches compositions and methods for coloring keratin fibers (abstract) and further teaches that a typical exposure time of the composition to the hair ranges from about 5 to 45 minutes [0210].
Goutsis teaches an oxidizing coloring preparation for hair [0002] wherein the composition can comprise an oxidizing agent preparation [0010]. The oxidizing agent preparation can comprise as a hydrophobic phase an ester selected from isopropyl myristate or isopropyl palmitate [0063].
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the kit/composition of Kerl for use in a method for coloring keratin. Kerl teaches all the claimed components throughout the disclosure. That being said, however, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of silicone polymers, carriers, colorants, solvents, and surfactants from within a prior art disclosure, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.” To be sure, the selection of carrier can be 100% alcohol or as little as 10 wt% aqueous. Thus, it would have been obvious to use as little as no water in the composition of Kerl, as required in instant claim 1.
Regarding the agent in instant claim 17, it would have bene obvious to use isopropyl myristate in the oxidizing composition of Kerl and replace said agent with isopropyl palmitate, which is taught as being a suitable alternative in Goutsis. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to substitute one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding the ranges in claims 13, 18, and 20, the prior art teaches the fat in 2-25 wt%, wherein the upper limit reads on “about” 30 wt%. Kerl also teaches the total amount of polymer and dye present up to 25 wt% and then teaches using the cosmetic agent and oxidizing agent are mixed in a 1:1 ratio. That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the amount of polymer and dye and the mixing ratio can be viewed as variables which achieve the recognized result of successfully coloring a keratin fiber. The optimum or workable range of agents and ratios can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Appellants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration such as unexpected results that would render the optimized amounts of agents as nonobvious.
Similarly, the time of exposure, which is taught as ranging from 10-60 minutes, results in the desired level of coloration/lightening of the keratin fibers. That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the exposure time can be viewed as a variable which achieve the recognized result of desired level of hair coloration. The optimum or workable range of exposure time can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Appellants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration such as unexpected results that would render the optimized exposure time as nonobvious. In addition, Hoeffkes teaches that for hair coloring, an exposure time as low as 5 minutes is suitable and well known in the art. That being said, it would have been obvious to optimize the exposure time of the hair composition of Kerl including lowering it to about 5 minutes, as required in the instant claims.
The resulting method wherein hair is colored by a two-part composition comprising amino silicone polymer and dye in the first part and isopropyl myristate and surfactant in the other, followed by hair treatment and washing, renders obvious instant claims 1-6, 9-10, 13-20, and 23.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerl et al. (US 2017/0172901) in view of Hoeffkes et al. (US 2004/0031108) in view of Goutsis et al. (US 2013/0042882) in view of Kalbfleisch et al. (US 2007/0148102).
Kerl, Hoeffkes, and Goutsis, as applied supra, is herein applied in its entirety for its teachings of a method for coloring hair by a two-part composition comprising amino silicone polymer and dye in the first part and isopropyl myristate and surfactant in the other followed by hair treatment and washing.
Kerl does not teach wherein the colorant is an inorganic pigment.
Kalbfleisch teaches a hair coloring composition that can comprise, as the colorant, a direct dye or an inorganic pigment such as black iron oxide [0079].
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the composition and method of Kerl and substitute the direct dye with an inorganic pigment such as black iron oxide. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to substitute one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). The resulting method and composition render obvious instant claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-20, and 23.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues, on pages 7-8 of their remarks, that the instant claims require a content of water that is significantly less than the lowest amount of water possible in the disclosure of Kerl.
In response, the carrier of Kerl can be 100% alcoholic, which comprises 0% water. Alternatively, the carrier can comprise an alcohol in up to 98% and water in 2% by weight. As such, Kerl makes it clear that water is not required as the carrier and provides an alternative selection of alcohol.
The Applicant argues, on pages 8-9 of their remarks, that Kerl does not teach or suggest the fatty components of instant claim 17.
In response, Goutis has been applied above to address the Applicant’s amended claim 17.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-20, and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,771,641 in view of Hoeffkes et al. (US 2004/0031108).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘641 patent requires all the same limitations of the instant claims aside from the step of exposing the composition for about 1 to about 5 minutes. Hoeffkes teaches compositions and methods for coloring keratin fibers (abstract) and further teaches that a typical exposure time of the composition to the hair ranges from about 5 to 45 minutes [0210]. It would have been prima facie obvious to modify the method of ‘641 to limit the exposure time of the keratin to the composition to about 5 minutes based on the teaching of Hoeffkes.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-20, and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,808. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘808 patent requires the colorant in the second composition whereas the instant claims have it in the first composition. Rearrangement or duplication of parts is obvious, therefore it would have been obvious to include the colorant in the first (cosmetic) composition of ‘808, which reads on the instant claims.
Response to Arguments
This rejection is maintained since applicant has (effectively) not responded to the rejection in a substantive manner. See 37 CFR § 1.111(b) and MPEP § 714.02.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613