DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s amendment, filed on 4/06/2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-70, 84, and 85 are cancelled.
Claims 71-83 and 86-90 are currently pending.
Claims 87-90 stand as withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
Claims 71-83 and 86 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/06/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner in its entirety.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Specifically, browser-executable code is disclosed on pg. 37, line 34. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
The use of the terms:
Alexa Fluor® (pg. 9, lines 20-21;pg. 10, lines 1-2; pg. 23, line 13; pg. 30, line 14; pg. 34, line 8);
DyLight® (pg. 10, line 1); and
IRDye® (pg. 10, line 2);
which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 71-83 and 86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox et al. (Angew Chem Int Ed Engl. 2016 Aug 16;55(34):9894-7. doi: 10.1002/anie.201603488. Epub 2016 Jun 15, on IDS submitted 12/20/2022, in Office Action mailed 1/6/2026) in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al. (Sci Transl Med. 2018 Jan 31;10(426):eaan4488. doi: 10.1126/scitranslmed.aan4488, on IDS submitted 12/20/2022, in Office Action mailed 1/6/2026), as evidenced by Ruan et al. (Horiz Cancer Res. 2015 2nd Quarter;56:23-40. PMID: 26623174).
The instant claims have not been amended since 1/06/2026. The instant claims are rejected for the same reasons discussed in the Office Action 1/06/2026.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/6/2026, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not convincing.
Applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine the references of Cox et al. and Sagiv Barfi et al. because knottin peptide promote internalization of a payload directly into tumor cells (Remarks pg. 5-6). Applicant further argues that Cox et al. teaches “knottin conjugate internalization by the tumor cells and how that leads to inhibition of tumor cell proliferation in cell culture studies and provides no expectation of in vivo success” (Remarks pg. 7) and CpG immunostimulants nucleotides do not slow proliferation of isolated tumor cells (Remarks pg. 7-8).
Applicant further provides a Declaration Under 37 CFR 1.132, to provide evidence to support that CpG immunostimulants do not function directly on tumor cells (Section IV and Fig. 1-6) to support the assertation of a lack of motivation to combine.
This has been found to be not convincing. In response to Applicants arguments that there is no articulated motivation for success in combining the references, it is noted that Cox et al. provides clear motivation to develop knottin-drug conjugates other that the specific knottin-gemcitabine conjugate structure (pg. 9897): “…these results motivate further development and testing of KDCs for applications in cancer therapy. In addition, this work supports strategies relying upon tumor-associated integrins as targets for drug delivery, and validates antibody-alternatives as scaffolds for drug conjugation.” Cox et al. provides clear motivation to one with ordinary skill in the art to use integrin binding knottin structures with other payloads in applications for cancer therapy. Cox et al. additionally teaches that this knottin scaffold is functional and can deliver a payload to an integrin expressing target, providing a reasonable expectation of success that the knottin would also function this was in an in vivo environment.
Sagiv-Barfi et al. teaches that CpG TLR9 ligands function in vivo not on tumor cells, but as an immunostimulant (Abstract): “…immune enhancing agents are injected locally into one site of tumor, thereby triggering a T cell immune response locally that then attacks cancer throughout the body.” Additionally, Sagiv-Barfi et al. teaches that CpG immunostimulants can act to reduce tumor growth with or without an anti-OX40 antibody (see, for example, Figure 2, and 103 rejection in the Office Action mailed on 8/11/2025). One with ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that a limitation to this in situ cancer vaccine method would be a suitable injection site, which the integrin-targeting knottin would be able to overcome. This provides motivation to combine the references to deliver a CpG immunostimulant in vivo to a target tumor site, which would then lead to the local antitumor T-cell response as taught by Sagiv-Barfi et al.
Therefore, in response to Applicant’s assertations and evidence that CpG immunostimulants do not directly act on tumor cells, one with ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that this is the case, as the CpG immunostimulants would be expected not to directly target tumor cells but instead induce a local anti-tumor response in vivo after administration, and when the knottin-CpG conjugate is localized to an integrin-expressing tumor site.
Additionally, one with ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success that, for example, an EETI2.5F-CpG conjugate with a Val-Ala-PAB linker would lead to intratumoral release of the immunostimulant and not simply be internalized. For example, Cox et al. teaches that the Val-Ala-PAB linker used in the knottin-drug conjugates is cleaved by cathepsin B, which is expressed intracellularly in normal cells (pg. 9895): “…Val-Ala-PAB (valyl-alanyl-para-aminobenzyloxy) derivative (4d) that employs a linker known to be extracellularly stable but is cleaved upon internalization by proteases such as cathepsin B.”
Ruan et al. (Horiz Cancer Res. 2015 2nd Quarter;56:23-40. PMID: 26623174) is provided as an evidentiary reference to demonstrate that it is already known in the art that cathepsin B is abnormally expressed extracellularly by some tumors, including breast cancer (Abstract): “[a]berrant overexpression of cathepsin B has been reported in invasive and metastatic cancers, including breast cancer, melanoma and colorectal cancer. It has been shown that oncogenic activation, such as the signaling of the ErbB pathways, can lead to cathepsin B overexpression. The degradation of the extracellular matrix is a key factor for cathepsin B to contribute to development and metastasis of tumors”. (Section 3): “…[t]umor cells are reported to first produce pro-cathepsin B, which is secreted but tethered to the cell surface in a Ca2+ dependent manner… pro-cathepsin is converted to cathepsin B, it no longer binds to Annexin II and is released into the tumor microenvironment. Overexpression of cathepsin B has been linked to breast, cervix, bladder, stomach, colon, ovary, bladder, lung, prostate, and thyroid cancers…”
This provides additional expectation for success of a knottin-immunostimulant conjugate such as CpG to be cleaved at the Val-Ala-PAB linker by abnormally overexpressed cathepsin B in the tumor microenvironment of cancers such as breast cancer, leading to extracellular release of the immunostimulant where it can act to induce an antitumor T-cell response, as taught by Sagiv-Barfi et al.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 71-83 and 86 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 9,587,001 (herein Pat '001, in Office Action mailed 1/06/2026) in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al. (Sci Transl Med. 2018 Jan 31;10(426):eaan4488. doi: 10.1126/scitranslmed.aan4488, on IDS submitted 12/20/2022, in Office Action mailed 1/06/2026, supra), as evidenced by Ruan et al. (Horiz Cancer Res. 2015 2nd Quarter;56:23-40. PMID: 26623174, supra).
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘001 in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al., as evidenced by Ruan et al. for the same reasons discussed in the Office Action mailed 1/06/2026.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 4/6/2026, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not convincing.
Applicant argues that for the same reasons argued for the 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection supra, Sagiv-Barfi does not provide any motivation to conjugate an immunostimulant to the knottin peptide claimed by Pat ‘001. However, this has been found to be not convincing for the reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra.
Claims 71-83 and 86 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,407,477 (herein Pat ‘477, in Office Action mailed 1/06/2026) in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al. (supra), as evidenced by Ruan et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘477 in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al., as evidenced by Ruan et al. for the same reasons discussed in the Office Action mailed 1/06/2026.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 4/6/2026, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not convincing.
Applicant argues that for the same reasons argued for the 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection supra, Sagiv-Barfi does not provide any motivation to conjugate an immunostimulant to the knottin peptide claimed by Pat ‘477. However, this has been found to be not convincing for the reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra.
Claims 71-83 and 86 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,466,063 (herein Pat ‘063, in Office Action mailed 1/06/2026) in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al. (supra), as evidenced by Ruan et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘063 in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al., as evidenced by Ruan et al. for the same reasons discussed in the Office Action mailed 1/06/2026.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 4/6/2026, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not convincing.
Applicant argues that for the same reasons argued for the 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection supra, Sagiv-Barfi does not provide any motivation to conjugate an immunostimulant to the knottin peptide claimed by Pat ‘063. However, this has been found to be not convincing for the reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra.
Claims 71-83 and 86 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-35 of U.S. Patent No. 10,888,603 (herein Pat ‘603, in Office Action mailed 1/06/2026) in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al. (supra), as evidenced by Ruan et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘603 in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al. as evidenced by Ruan et al. for the same reasons discussed in the Office Action mailed 1/06/2026.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 4/6/2026, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not convincing.
Applicant argues that for the same reasons argued for the 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection supra, Sagiv-Barfi does not provide any motivation to conjugate an immunostimulant to the knottin peptide claimed by Pat ‘603. However, this has been found to be not convincing for the reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra.
Claims 71-83 and 86 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 11,096,989 (herein Pat ‘989, in Office Action mailed 1/06/2026) in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al. (supra), as evidenced by Ruan et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘989 in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al. as evidenced by Ruan et al. for the same reasons discussed in the Office Action mailed 1/06/2026.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 4/6/2026, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not convincing.
Applicant argues that for the same reasons argued for the 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection supra, Sagiv-Barfi does not provide any motivation to conjugate an immunostimulant to the knottin peptide claimed by Pat ‘989. However, this has been found to be not convincing for the reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra.
Claims 71-83 and 86 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-33 of U.S. Patent No. 10,765,625 (herein Pat ‘625, in Office Action mailed 1/06/2026) in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al. (supra), as evidenced by Ruan et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘625 in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al. as evidenced by Ruan et al. for the same reasons discussed in the Office Action mailed 1/06/2026.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 4/6/2026, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not convincing.
Applicant argues that for the same reasons argued for the 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection supra, Sagiv-Barfi does not provide any motivation to conjugate an immunostimulant to the knottin peptide claimed by Pat ‘625. However, this has been found to be not convincing for the reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra.
Claims 71-83 and 86 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 10,844,106 (herein Pat ‘106, in Office Action mailed 1/06/2026) in view of in view of Cox et al. (Angew Chem Int Ed Engl. 2016 Aug 16;55(34):9894-7. doi: 10.1002/anie.201603488. Epub 2016 Jun 15, on IDS submitted 12/20/2022, in Office Action mailed 1/06/2026, supra) and Sagiv-Barfi et al. (supra), as evidenced by Ruan et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘106 in view of Cox et al. and Sagiv-Barfi et al. as evidenced by Ruan et al. for the same reasons discussed in the Office Action mailed 1/06/2026.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 4/6/2026, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not convincing.
Applicant argues that for the same reasons argued for the 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection supra, neither Cox et al. nor Sagiv-Barfi et al. provide any motivation to conjugate an immunostimulant to the knottin peptide claimed by Pat ‘106. However, this has been found to be not convincing for the reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra.
Claims 71-83 and 86 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,498,952 (herein Pat ‘952, in Office Action mailed 1/06/2026) in view of Cox et al. (supra) and Sagiv-Barfi et al. (supra), as evidenced by Ruan et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘952 in view of Cox et al. and Sagiv-Barfi et al. as evidenced by Ruan et al. for the same reasons discussed in the Office Action mailed 1/06/2026.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 4/6/2026, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not convincing.
Applicant argues that for the same reasons argued for the 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection supra, neither Cox et al. nor Sagiv-Barfi et al. provide any motivation to conjugate an immunostimulant to the knottin peptide claimed by Pat ‘952. However, this has been found to be not convincing for the reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra.
Claims 71-83 and 86 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 85-96 and 100-104 of copending Application No. 17/609,284 (App '284, in Office Action mailed on 1/06/2026) in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al. (supra), as evidenced by Ruan et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by App ‘284 in view of Sagiv-Barfi et al. as evidenced by Ruan et al. for the same reasons discussed in the Office Action mailed 1/06/2026.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 4/6/2026, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not convincing.
Applicant argues that for the same reasons argued for the 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection supra, neither Cox et al. nor Sagiv-Barfi et al. provide any motivation to conjugate an immunostimulant to the knottin peptide claimed by App ‘284. However, this has been found to be not convincing for the reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 71-83 and 86 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 65-84 of copending Application No. 18/018,238 (App '238) in view of Cox et al. (supra) and Sagiv-Barfi et al. (supra), as evidenced by Ruan et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by App ‘238 in view of Cox et al. and Sagiv-Barfi et al. as evidenced by Ruan et al. for the same reasons discussed in the Office Action mailed 1/06/2026.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 4/6/2026, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not convincing.
Applicant argues that for the same reasons argued for the 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection supra, neither Cox et al. nor Sagiv-Barfi et al. provide any motivation to conjugate an immunostimulant to the knottin peptide claimed by App ‘238. However, this has been found to be not convincing for the reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 71-83 and 86 stand rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 28-38 and 41-45 of copending Application No. 18/055,297 (herein App '297, now Patent No. 12,240,882) in view of Cox et al. (supra) and Sagiv-Barfi et al. (supra), as evidenced by Ruan et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by App ‘297 in view of Cox et al. and Sagiv-Barfi et al. as evidenced by Ruan et al. for the same reasons discussed in the Office Action mailed 1/06/2026.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 4/6/2026, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not convincing.
Applicant argues that for the same reasons argued for the 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection supra, neither Cox et al. nor Sagiv-Barfi et al. provide any motivation to conjugate an immunostimulant to the knottin peptide claimed by App ‘297. However, this has been found to be not convincing for the reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ALEC JON PETERS/Examiner, Art Unit 1641
/MISOOK YU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1641