Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 9, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 8 pertaining to “Firstly, the temperature sensor 109 disclosed by Tu is used to measure the temperature of the heater (paragraph [0033]) rather than the temperature of the chip, which is different from the present application. ... According to the above disclosure, the purpose of setting temperature sensor 109 by Tu is to prevent the heated temperature from overheating and to reduce the impact of the puff air flow on the heated temperature when passing through the roll. Both purposes are to control the temperature of the heater, rather than to detect the temperature of the electronic vaporizing device chip. Moreover, the purpose of providing the temperature sensing unit in the present application is to detect a temperature of the chip during working, prevent abnormal temperature caused by the chip working under high load or in a high temperature or low temperature environment, and avoid chip damage and failure (see paragraph [0061] of the present application). The technical solution disclosed by Tu only hopes to achieve more stable heated temperature and does not involve low temperature environment, so it does not disclose the protection of chip when working under low temperature environment; and the technical solution disclosed by Tu does not involve chip and protection purposes, therefore it does not disclose the protection of chip when working under high load or high temperature environment, nor does it disclose avoiding chip damage and failure. Therefore, Fu does not disclose or teach a temperature sensing unit for detecting temperature of the electronic vaporizing device chip.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Amended claim 1 recites, inter alia “an electronic vaporizing device chip … a temperature sensing unit for detecting temperature of the electronic vaporizing device chip”. Fu discloses, an electronic vaporizing device chip (Fig. 2, vaporizer device 100). Tu discloses, a temperature sensing unit for detecting temperature of an electronic vaporizing device chip (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 temperature sensor 109 used to measure the temperature of the heater). The only function of the temperature sensing unit is to detect temperature. No other function is recited. It would be obvious for one skilled in the art to combine the electronic vaporizing device chip disclosed by Fu and the temperature sensing unit for detecting temperature of the electronic vaporizing device chip Tu for the benefit of implementing a vaporizer that can be personalized to meet the needs of the user.
In response to Applicant's argument on pages 8 – 9 pertaining to “Secondly, the FET transistor 107 disclosed by Tu is used to control the heater (paragraph [0033]) rather than switching the air pressure analog signal detected by the air pressure sensing unit and a temperature analog signal detected by the temperature sensing unit, which is different from the present application. The above work process does not involve the temperature sensor 109 disclosed by Tu, and the temperature sensor 109 is not affected by the "switch" of the FET transistor 107. Obviously, the FET transistor 107 is only used to control the start and stop of the heater, and is not related to temperature analog signal. Further, it is not related to the air pressure analog signal. And, the technical solution disclosed by Tu does not involve the switching between air pressure analog signal and temperature analog signal. Therefore, Tu does not disclose or teach the control unit further comprises a circuit switching module for switching the air pressure analog signal detected by the air pressure sensing unit and a temperature analog signal detected by the temperature sensing unit.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Fu discloses an air pressure sending unit (Fig. 2, a pressure sensor 137, an ambient pressure sensor 138) and switching said air pressure sensing unit (Fig. 2, ¶ 370 the sampling frequency and/or resolution of the pressure sensor 137). The electronic vaporizing device chip disclosed by Fu comprises an inherent switching module that switches between different modes of the air pressure sensor analog signals (Fig. 2, ¶ 370 The transition between different modes of operation may change the sampling frequency and/or resolution of the pressure sensor 137). Tu discloses a switching element that switches analog signals (Fig. 1, FET transistor 107). Since the pressure sensing unit disclosed by Fu and the temperature sensing unit disclosed by Tu both produce analog signals. It would be obvious for one skilled in that art to combine the switching unit disclosed by Fu and the switching unit disclosed by Tu to switch between different analog signals for the benefit of implementing a vaporizer that can be personalized to meet the needs of the user. Furthermore, switching between different analog signals is not an inventive concept. The burden of proof lies with the Applicant to show that switching between different analog signals as recited in the present application is an inventive concept.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 9 pertaining to “Thirdly, due to the second point mentioned above, without disclosing the circuit switching module, Tu obviously will not disclose and then transmitting the switched air pressure analog signal or the switched temperature analog signal to the analog-to-digital conversion module in turn. … In Figure 1, the temperature sensor 109 is not set at the front end of the pre-amplifier 103, and whether the output analog signal is converted into a digital signal is not disclosed or taught by Tu. Therefore, Tu does not disclose or teach the analog-to-digital conversion module is capable of converting the temperature analog signal into a temperature digital signal.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned above, Fu discloses switching air pressure sensor analog signals. Tu discloses a switching circuit module. It would be obvious for one skilled in that art to combine the switching unit disclosed by Fu and the switching unit disclosed by Tu to switch between different analog signals for the benefit of implementing a vaporizer that can be personalized to meet the needs of the user. Since both the air pressure signals and temperature sensor signals are analog. Tu inherently discloses an analog to digital converter (ADC) that converts the analog signals to digital signals that are processed by a processor. (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 microcontroller 104 converting the conditioned signals into digital signals).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al (US 2019/0373679 A1) (herein after Fu) in view of Xiang (US 2017/0347707 A1) (herein after Xiang), in view of Kerdemelidis (US 2016/0338407 A1) (herein after Kerdemelidis), and further in view of Tu (US 2020/0237017 A1) (herein after Tu).
Regarding Claim 1, Fu teaches, an electronic vaporizing device chip (Fig. 2, vaporizer device 100) with an air pressure sensing unit, comprising an air pressure sensing unit (Fig. 2, a pressure sensor 137, an ambient pressure sensor 138), a control unit (Fig. 2, controller 128), a plurality of auxiliary resistors (Fig. 30C , ¶ 364 known resistances; Examiner interpretation: Fig 30C is part of Fig 2, see ¶ 364), a capacitor (Fig. 30D, capacitor 2694; Examiner interpretation: Fig 30D is part of Fig 2, see ¶ 366), and a plurality of pins, wherein the air pressure sensing unit, the control unit, the plurality of auxiliary resistors, the capacitor, and the plurality of pins are electrically connected (Fig. 2, ¶ 100 variety of electrical connectors), the control unit comprises a memory, a control logic module (Fig. 28, ¶ 321 control logic 2514; Examiner interpretation: Fig 28 is part of vaporizer device 100, see¶ 324), an air pressure sensing unit driving module (Fig. 2, ¶ 370 the sampling frequency and/or resolution of the pressure sensor 137), a signal amplification module, an analog-to-digital conversion module (Fig. 2, ¶ 336 analog-to-digital (ADC) at the controller 128), a data processing and calibration module, a communication interface module (Fig. 2, wireless communication circuitry 142), and an enabling signal input control circuit, the air pressure sensing unit is configured to detect an air pressure generated inside the electronic vaporizing device during suction (Fig. 2, ¶ 102 sense a user drawing (i.e., inhaling)), the memory is configured to store a relevant parameter (Fig. 2, ¶ 116 memory 146 may provide data storage), the control logic module is configured for a logic control of an internal circuit of the control unit (Fig. 2, ¶ 97 control and manage various operations), the air pressure sensing unit driving module is configured to drive the air pressure sensing unit to work (Fig. 2, ¶ 370 the sampling frequency and/or resolution of the pressure sensor 137), the signal amplification module is configured to amplify and then transmit an air pressure analog signal detected by the air pressure sensing unit to the analog-to-digital conversion module, the analog-to-digital conversion module is configured to convert the air pressure analog signal into an air pressure digital signal (Fig. 2, ¶ 336 perform an analog to digital conversion), the data processing and calibration module is configured to process and calibrate the air pressure digital signal, and then convert the air pressure digital signal into an air flow quantity digital signal, the communication interface module is configured for a communication connection with an external component (Fig. 2, ¶ 104 wireless communication circuitry 142, for communication with other devices), —.
Fu fails to teach, — a signal amplification module, — a data processing and calibration module, — and an enabling signal input control circuit, — the signal amplification module is configured to amplify and then transmit an air pressure analog signal detected by the air pressure sensing unit to the analog-to-digital conversion module, — the data processing and calibration module is configured to process and calibrate the air pressure digital signal, and then convert the air pressure digital signal into an air flow quantity digital signal, — and the enabling signal input control circuit is configured to receive an external enabling signal and control the communication interface module to work; and the electronic vaporizing device chip with the air pressure sensing unit further comprising a temperature sensing unit for detecting temperature of the electronic vaporizing device chip, wherein the control unit further comprises a circuit switching module for switching the air pressure analog signal detected by the air pressure sensing unit and a temperature analog signal detected by the temperature sensing unit, and then transmitting the switched air pressure analog signal or the switched temperature analog signal to the analog-to-digital conversion module in turn, and the analog-to-digital conversion module is capable of converting the temperature analog signal into a temperature digital signal.
In analogous art, Xiang teaches, — a signal amplification module (Fig. 7, signal amplifying unit 15), — a data processing and calibration module (Fig. 7, smoke amount controlling unit 14), — the signal amplification module is configured to amplify and then transmit an air pressure analog signal detected by the air pressure sensing unit to the analog-to-digital conversion module (Fig. 7, ¶ 158 the signal amplifying unit 15 is configured to amplify a current smoking negative pressure signal), — the data processing and calibration module is configured to process and calibrate the air pressure digital signal (Fig. 7, ¶ 137 pressure detected, compensation smoke amount), and then convert the air pressure digital signal into an air flow quantity digital signal (Fig. 7, ¶ 146 the required output voltage or required output power is calculated), —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fu by combining the vaporizing device taught by Fu with a vaporizing device comprising: a signal amplification module, a data processing and calibration module, the signal amplification module is configured to amplify and then transmit an air pressure analog signal detected by the air pressure sensing unit to the analog-to-digital conversion module, the data processing and calibration module is configured to process and calibrate the air pressure digital signal, and then convert the air pressure digital signal into an air flow quantity digital signal; taught by Xiang for the benefit of using pressure and time to proportionally adjust a voltage and power of a vaporizer. [Xiang: ¶ 70].
Fu in view of Xiang fail to teach, — and an enabling signal input control circuit, — and the enabling signal input control circuit is configured to receive an external enabling signal and control the communication interface module to work; and the electronic vaporizing device chip with the air pressure sensing unit further comprising a temperature sensing unit for detecting temperature of the electronic vaporizing device chip, wherein the control unit further comprises a circuit switching module for switching the air pressure analog signal detected by the air pressure sensing unit and a temperature analog signal detected by the temperature sensing unit, and then transmitting the switched air pressure analog signal or the switched temperature analog signal to the analog-to-digital conversion module in turn, and the analog-to-digital conversion module is capable of converting the temperature analog signal into a temperature digital signal.
In analogous art, Kerdemelidis teaches, — and an enabling signal input control circuit (Fig. 8, serial communications interface 824; ¶ 78 SPI bus technology), — and the enabling signal input control circuit is configured to receive an external enabling signal and control the communication interface module to work (Fig. 8, ¶ 93 serial communications interface 824 can also be provided in order to facilitate communication); .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fu in view of Xiang by combining the vaporizing device taught by Fu in view of Xiang with a vaporizing device comprising: an enabling signal input control circuit, and the enabling signal input control circuit is configured to receive an external enabling signal and control the communication interface module to work; taught by Kerdemelidis for the benefit of dynamically controlling atomization of different liquids using a communications link [Kerdemelidis: ¶ 5 – 7].
Fu in view of Xiang in view of Kerdemelidis fail to teach, — and the electronic vaporizing device chip with the air pressure sensing unit further comprising a temperature sensing unit for detecting temperature of the electronic vaporizing device chip, wherein the control unit further comprises a circuit switching module for switching the air pressure analog signal detected by the air pressure sensing unit and a temperature analog signal detected by the temperature sensing unit, and then transmitting the switched air pressure analog signal or the switched temperature analog signal to the analog-to-digital conversion module in turn, and the analog-to-digital conversion module is capable of converting the temperature analog signal into a temperature digital signal.
In analogous art, Tu teaches, — and the electronic vaporizing device chip with the air pressure sensing unit further comprising a temperature sensing unit for detecting temperature of the electronic vaporizing device chip (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 temperature sensor 109 used to measure the temperature of the heater), wherein the control unit further comprises a circuit switching module (Fig. 1, FET transistor 107) for switching the air pressure analog signal detected by the air pressure sensing unit and a temperature analog signal detected by the temperature sensing unit (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 FET transistor 107 used as a switch for the microcontroller), and then transmitting the switched air pressure analog signal or the switched temperature analog signal to the analog-to-digital conversion module in turn (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 FET transistor 107 used as a switch for the microcontroller), and the analog-to-digital conversion module is capable of converting the temperature analog signal into a temperature digital signal (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 microcontroller 104 converting the conditioned signals into digital signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fu in view of Xiang in view of Kerdemelidis by combining the vaporizing device taught by Fu in view of Xiang in view of Kerdemelidis with a vaporizing device further comprising: a temperature sensing unit for detecting temperature of the electronic vaporizing device chip, wherein the control unit further comprises a circuit switching module for switching the air pressure analog signal detected by the air pressure sensing unit and a temperature analog signal detected by the temperature sensing unit, and then transmitting the switched air pressure analog signal or the switched temperature analog signal to the analog-to-digital conversion module in turn, and the analog-to-digital conversion module is capable of converting the temperature analog signal into a temperature digital signal; taught by Tu for the benefit of implementing a vaporizer that can be personalized to meet the needs of the user [Tu: Claim 26].
Regarding Claim 2, Fu in view of Xiang in view of Kerdemelidis in view of Tu teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Fu further teaches, the electronic vaporizing device chip with an air pressure sensing unit according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is inactive in a standby state (Fig. 2, ¶ 370 standby mode), the air pressure sensing unit is configured to have a patrol detection (Fig. 2, ¶ 370 deep standby mode) for the air pressure, and the control unit immediately enters a working state once a change of the air pressure is detected (Fig. 2, ¶ 370 transition between different modes of operation).
Regarding Claim 3, Fu in view of Xiang in view of Kerdemelidis in view of Tu teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kerdemelidis further teaches, the electronic vaporizing device chip with an air pressure sensing unit according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of pins comprise at least a power supply pin (Fig. 8, ¶ 78 SPI bus, TCAN4550, Pg. 3, VSUP; Examiner interpretation: Kerdemelidis teaches SPI as known in the art, see TCAN4550 Pg. 3), a ground pin (Fig. Fig. 8, ¶ 78 SPI bus, TCAN4550, Pg. 3, GND), an activation signal output pin (Fig. Fig. 8, ¶ 78 SPI bus, TCAN4550, Pg. 3, nWKRQ), an internal data output pin (Fig. Fig. 8, ¶ 78 SPI bus, TCAN4550, Pg. 3, SDI), an external data input pin (Fig. Fig. 8, ¶ 78 SPI bus, TCAN4550, Pg. 3, SDO), a clock signal pin (Fig. Fig. 8, ¶ 78 SPI bus, TCAN4550, Pg. 3, SCLK), and an enabling signal input pin (Fig. Fig. 8, ¶ 78 SPI bus, TCAN4550, Pg. 3, nCS), the activation signal output pin serves to output an activation signal generated by the control unit to an external controller so as to activate the electronic vaporizing device (Fig. Fig. 8, ¶ 78 SPI bus, TCAN4550, Pg. 3, wake request), the internal data output pin, the external data input pin, and the clock signal pin are connected to the communication interface module (Fig. Fig. 8, ¶ 78 SPI bus, TCAN4550, Pg. 21, System Controller), the internal data output pin serves to output internal data to the external controller (Fig. Fig. 8, ¶ 78 SPI bus, TCAN4550, Pg. 3, SPI slave data output), and the external data input pin serves to input external data (Fig. Fig. 8, ¶ 78 SPI bus, TCAN4550, Pg. 3, SPI slave data input), the clock signal pin serves to input a clock signal to read and write data (Fig. Fig. 8, ¶ 78 SPI bus, TCAN4550, Pg. 3, SPI clock input), and the enabling signal input pin serves to input an enabling signal to control an output of the internal data and an input of the external data (Fig. Fig. 8, ¶ 78 SPI bus, TCAN4550, Pg. 3, SPI chip select).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fu in view of Xiang in view of Kerdemelidis in view of Tu by combining the vaporizing device taught by Fu in view of Xiang in view of Kerdemelidis in view of Tu with a vaporizing device comprising: wherein the plurality of pins comprise at least a power supply pin, a ground pin, an activation signal output pin, an internal data output pin, an external data input pin, a clock signal pin, and an enabling signal input pin, the activation signal output pin serves to output an activation signal generated by the control unit to an external controller so as to activate the electronic vaporizing device, the internal data output pin, the external data input pin, and the clock signal pin are connected to the communication interface module, the internal data output pin serves to output internal data to the external controller, and the external data input pin serves to input external data, the clock signal pin serves to input a clock signal to read and write data, and the enabling signal input pin serves to input an enabling signal to control an output of the internal data and an input of the external data; taught by Kerdemelidis for the benefit of dynamically controlling atomization of different liquids using a communications link [Kerdemelidis: ¶ 5 – 7].
Regarding Claim 4, Fu in view of Xiang in view of Kerdemelidis in view of Tu teach the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends on.
Fu further teaches, the electronic vaporizing device chip with an air pressure sensing unit according to claim 3, wherein an air pressure change threshold value (Fig. 2, ¶ 375 threshold amount) is preset in the memory, and the control unit is configured to generate the activation signal (Fig. 2, ¶ 376 vaporizer device 100 may activate the heater 166) in a condition that the control unit determines that a change value of the air pressure digital signal reaches the preset air pressure change threshold value (Fig. 2, ¶ 375 determine whether the pressure in the air flow path, is less than the ambient pressure, by a threshold amount).
Regarding Claim 6, Fu in view of Xiang in view of Kerdemelidis in view of Tu teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Fu further teaches, the electronic vaporizing device chip with an air pressure sensing unit according to claim 1, wherein the control unit further comprises an output control module (Fig. 28, control logic 2514) electrically connected with the data processing and calibration module, and the output control module is configured to generate a PWM output control signal (Fig. 28, PWM module 2518) based on the air flow quantity digital signal for controlling power of the electronic vaporizing device.
Regarding Claim 7, Fu in view of Xiang in view of Kerdemelidis in view of Tu teach the limitations of claim 6, which this claim depends on.
Fu further teaches, the electronic vaporizing device chip with an air pressure sensing unit according to claim 6, wherein the pins comprise a PWM output control signal pin serves to output the PWM output control signal (Fig. 28, PWM module 2518) generated by the output control module.
Regarding Claim 8, Fu in view of Xiang in view of Kerdemelidis in view of Tu teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Fu further teaches, the electronic vaporizing device chip with an air pressure sensing unit according to claim 1, wherein the control unit further comprises an on-chip oscillator for providing a frequency signal (Fig. 28, ¶ 323 PWM module 2516 is switched at low frequencies,) for the control unit during working.
Regarding Claim 9, Fu in view of Xiang in view of Kerdemelidis in view of Tu teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kerdemelidis further teaches, the electronic vaporizing device chip with an air pressure sensing unit according to claim 1, wherein the control unit further comprises a real-time clock module for timing (Fig. 8, ¶ 90 programmable controller 800 to adjust each individual atomizer directly, and in real-time.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fu in view of Xiang Kerdemelidis in view of Tu by combining the vaporizing device taught by Fu in view of Xiang Kerdemelidis in view of Tu with a vaporizing device wherein, the control unit further comprises a real-time clock module for timing; taught by Kerdemelidis for the benefit of dynamically controlling atomization of different liquids using a communications link [Kerdemelidis: ¶ 5 – 7].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Atkins et al (US 2020/0275696 A1) teaches, an electronic vaporizing device chip (Fig. 1, vaporizer device 100).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 12/9/2025