DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed on 09/24/2025, wherein claim 1 has been amended, and claims 2-9 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 10-13 are pending and examined herein on the merits.
Any rejection from the previous office action which is not restated herein, is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is not clear if the recitation “(POH-TMZ-LA)” in claim 1 is part of the claim. If it is intended to be part of the claim as a limitation, it cannot be enclosed in the parenthesis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) Claims 1, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20160237092, PTO-892), in view of Mayo Clinic (09 February 2019, PTO-1449).
Chen et al. teaches a method of treating cancer in a mammal such as human (see para [0093] for human) comprising administering a perillyl alcohol carbamate (POH carbamate) wherein the perillyl alcohol is a triple conjugate of conjugated temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid. See claims 3, 4, 5. Cancers that can be treated can be lymphoma such as Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. See para [0074]. It is taught that the mammal is further treated with radiation; further comprising administering a chemotherapeutic agent to the mammal. See para [0070]. It is taught that the route of administration can be inhalation, intranasal, oral intravenous, subcutaneous or intramuscular (meets instant claim 12). See claim 11
Chen et al. does not explicitly teach treating a non-Hodgkin lymphoma condition such as cutaneous T cell lymphoma mycosis fungoides comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of perillyl alcohol carbamate wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer to a human suffering from primary cutaneous T cell lymphoma mycosis fungoides a therapeutically effective amount of perillyl alcohol carbamate wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid because Chen et al. teaches a method of treating cancer in a mammal such as human (see para [0093] for human) comprising administering a perillyl alcohol carbamate (POH carbamate) wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid (see claims 3, 4, 5); Cancers that can be treated can be lymphoma such as Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (see para [0074]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to administer to a human suffering from primary cutaneous T cell lymphoma mycosis fungoides a therapeutically effective amount of perillyl alcohol carbamate, wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid with reasonable expectation of success of treating cutaneous lymphoma mycosis fungoides.
Mayo teaches that primary cutaneous T-cell lymphoma (CTCL) is a rare type of cancer that begins in white blood cells T cells (T lymphocytes). Mycosis fungoides is a type of cutaneous T-cell lymphoma; CTCL is a type of Non-Hodgin’s lymphoma. See the Entire article.
Further, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to administer to a human suffering from primary cutaneous T cell lymphoma mycosis fungoides a therapeutically effective amount of perillyl alcohol carbamate wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid because 1) Chen et al. teaches a method of treating cancer in a mammal such as human (see para [0093] for human) comprising administering a perillyl alcohol carbamate (POH carbamate) wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid (see claims 3, 4, 5); Cancers that can be treated can be lymphoma such as Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (see para [0074]); and 2) it is well known and Mayo teaches that primary cutaneous T cell lymphoma mycosis fungoides is a condition associated with a type of Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are not persuasive because the new ground of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
1) Claims 1, 10-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,522,918, in view of Chen et al. (US 20160237092, PTO-892), and further in view of Mayo Clinic (09 February 2019, PTO-1449).
Instant claims are drawn to a method for treating a primary cutaneous lymphoma mycosis fungoides in a mammal, the method comprising administering to the mammal a therapeutically effective amount of a perillyl alcohol carbamate; wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid.
Claims of ‘918 are drawn to a composition comprising a perillyl alcohol carbamate, wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid; drawn to a method for treating melanoma in a mammal, comprising the step of delivering to the mammal a therapeutically effective amount of the perillyl alcohol carbamate of claim 1.
“918 does not teach treating a non-Hodgkin lymphoma condition such as cutaneous T cell lymphoma mycosis fungoides comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of perillyl alcohol carbamate wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer orally to a human suffering from primary cutaneous T cell lymphoma mycosis fungoides a therapeutically effective amount of perillyl alcohol carbamate, wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid because 1) ‘918 teaches a composition comprising a perillyl alcohol carbamate, wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid; ‘918 teaches a method for treating melanoma in a mammal, comprising the step of delivering to the mammal a therapeutically effective amount of the perillyl alcohol carbamate of claim 1; 2) Chen et al. teaches a method of treating cancer in a mammal such as human (see para [0093] for human) comprising administering a perillyl alcohol carbamate (POH carbamate) wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid (see claims 3, 4, 5); Cancers that can be treated can be lymphoma such as Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (see para [0074]); Chen et al. teaches that the administration can be inhalation, intranasal, oral intravenous, subcutaneous or intramuscular (meets instant claim 12); and 3) it is well known and Mayo teaches that primary cutaneous T cell lymphoma mycosis fungoides is a condition associated with a type of Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to administer to a human suffering from primary cutaneous T cell lymphoma mycosis fungoides a therapeutically effective amount of perillyl alcohol carbamate wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid with reasonable expectation of success of treating cutaneous lymphoma mycosis fungoides.
Further, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to treat the mammal with radiation; or further administer the mammal with a chemotherapeutic agent because Chen et al. teaches that the mammal is further treated with radiation; and Chen et al. teaches further administering a chemotherapeutic agent to the mammal.
2) Claims 1, 10-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,696,680, in view of Chen et al. (US 20160237092, PTO-892), and further in view of Mayo Clinic (09 February 2019, PTO-1449).
Instant claims are drawn to a method for treating a primary cutaneous lymphoma mycosis fungoides in a mammal, the method comprising administering to the mammal a therapeutically effective amount of a perillyl alcohol carbamate; wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid.
Claims of ‘680 are drawn to a method of treating cancer in a mammal comprising administering a composition comprising a perillyl alcohol carbamate, wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid; wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is administered by inhalation, intranasally, orally, intravenously, subcutaneously or intramuscularly; drawn to a method for treating a glioblastoma in a mammal, comprising the step of delivering to the mammal a therapeutically effective amount of the perillyl alcohol carbamate of claim 1.
“680 does not teach treating a non-Hodgkin lymphoma condition such as cutaneous T cell lymphoma mycosis fungoides comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of perillyl alcohol carbamate wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer to a human suffering from primary cutaneous T cell lymphoma mycosis fungoides a therapeutically effective amount of perillyl alcohol carbamate wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid because 1) ‘680 teaches a method of treating cancer in a mammal comprising administering a composition comprising a perillyl alcohol carbamate, wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid; 2) Chen et al. teaches a method of treating cancer in a mammal such as human (see para [0093] for human) comprising administering a perillyl alcohol carbamate (POH carbamate) wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid (see claims 3, 4, 5); Cancers that can be treated can be lymphoma such as Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (see para [0074]); and 3) it is well known and Mayo teaches that primary cutaneous T cell lymphoma mycosis fungoides is a condition associated with a type of Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to administer to a human suffering from primary cutaneous T cell lymphoma mycosis fungoides a therapeutically effective amount of perillyl alcohol carbamate wherein the perillyl alcohol carbamate is a triple conjugate of temozolomide (TMZ), perillyl alcohol (POH) and linoleic acid with reasonable expectation of success of treating cutaneous lymphoma mycosis fungoides.
Further, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to treat the mammal with radiation; or further administer the mammal with a chemotherapeutic agent because Chen et al. teaches that the mammal is further treated with radiation; Chen et al. teaches further administering a chemotherapeutic agent to the mammal.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHOBHA KANTAMNENI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627