DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and remarks filed (5 – 26 – 2026) have been fully considered but they are not persuasiveApplicant argues…
Neter et al. (US 6475415 B1, hereinafter Neter) / Neter as modified does not teach the newly amended feature(s) of a conveyance mechanism configured to include a neck mold that is an injection mold for a neck portion of the preform, the conveyance mechanism sequentially conveys the preform to the injection molding unit, the temperature adjusting unit, and the blow molding unit while holding an outer circumference of the neck portion of the preform with the neck mold.
Applicant further argues that none of the other applied references make up for the deficiency of Neter / Neter as modified.
This is not found to be persuasive because…
As noted in the previous office action, Neter is found discloses an apparatus and method make use of a take-off plate 60 for moving the preform and molded articles to various points in the fabrication process, (Abstract). With Neter also disclosing on (Col. 13, lines 32 – 35) that if desired, the preform holders 62″ may grip the preforms solely around the neck portion, thus leaving a more open window for the blown cooling fluid to cool the outer portion of the preforms. As illustrated in (Figs. 5, 15 – 16 & 23), the takeoff plate 60 is provided with preform holders 62″ that are found at the transitional point between the neck and body. Where, the preform holders 62″ may be placed solely around the neck portion, where the preform holders 62″ placed solely around the neck portion act as applicant’s neck molds. Accordingly, the preform holders 62″ being placed solely around the neck portion provide for a conveyance mechanism configured to include a neck mold that is an injection mold for a neck portion of the preform / holding an outer circumference of the neck portion of the preform with the neck mold. Highlighting, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding the placement of the preform holders 62″ of the takeoff plate 60 holding an outer circumference of the neck portion of the preform with the neck mold. The case law for the rearrangement of parts may be recited. Where the courts held that when shifting the location of an element would not have modified the operation of device. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975), MPEP 2144. The particular placement of an element was held to be obvious.
This is unpersuasive because as explained above there was not found to be deficiency in Neter / Neter as modified.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show The conveyance mechanism 26 includes a rotation mechanism, not illustrated, and rotates the rotary plate 26 a to convey the preform 11 (or the container), the neck portion of which is held by the neck mold 27, to the injection molding unit 21, the temperature adjusting unit 22, the blow molding unit 23, and the taking-out unit 24 in this order.As well, The core mold 31 is a cylindrical mold member extending in the vertical direction (Z direction) in FIG. 2, and includes an air supply path (not illustrated) for introducing compressed air (cooling air) for the cooling blow into the preform 11, and an exhaust path (not illustrated) for exhausting the cooling air from the preform 11. Additionally, A flow path (not illustrated) along which a temperature adjusting medium flows is formed in the inside of the cavity mold 32Furthermore, The second movable plate 51 is supported from below by two or more (for example, four) shafts (not illustrated) extending in the vertical direction, and is movable in the vertical direction along the shaftsFinally, an air introduction member that also serves as a stretching rod (neither of them is illustrated). As described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 4, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neter et al. (US 6475415 B1, hereinafter Neter) in view of Frank Delfer (US 4721452 A, hereinafter Delfer) and in further view of Shawn McAuley (US 7216581 B2 hereinafter McAuley)
Regarding claim 1,
A blow molding apparatus comprising:
an injection molding unit configured to injection-mold a preform having a bottomed shape and made of a resin;
a temperature adjusting unit configured to flow cooling air into the preform that has been released from the injection molding unit to cool the preform with the cooling air;
a blow molding unit configured to blow-mold the preform after the temperature adjustment to manufacture a container made of the resin, and
a conveyance mechanism configured to include a neck mold that is an injection mold for a neck portion of the preform,
the conveyance mechanism sequentially conveys the preform to the injection molding unit, the temperature adjusting unit, and the blow molding unit while holding an outer circumference of the neck portion of the preform with the neck mold
the temperature adjusting unit includes:
a first drive unit configured to drive a core mold, from which the cooling air is supplied, in a first direction to insert the core mold into the preform;
a second drive unit configured to drive a cavity mold that accommodates the preform in a second direction opposite to the first direction to accommodate the preform in the cavity mold;
wherein the cavity mold has substantially the same shape as the preform at the time of injection molding and
is configured to define a temperature adjusting space in which the preform is accommodated,
a first lock portion configured to restrict a movement of the first drive unit in the second direction at a first position where the core mold is inserted into the preform;
a second lock portion configured to restrict a movement of the second drive unit in the first direction at a second position where the preform is accommodated in the cavity mold; and
in the temperature adjusting unit, the neck mold that holds the preform is disposed between the core mold and the cavity mold.
Neter teaches the following:
(Col. 5, lines 1 – 13) teaches that in accordance with one aspect of the present invention, the apparatus for forming a de-crystallized, injection molded article comprises a mold having two mold halves which can be moved between a mold closed position and a mold open position. (Col. 13, lines 42 – 45) teaching that it is well known that the temperature of the molten resin flowing through a mold varies quite substantially for a various of reasons. Highlighting, that the preforms fabricated are shown in (Figs. 5 – 6) which are shown to comprise a bottomed shape. As such, an injection molding unit configured to injection-mold a preform having a bottomed shape and made of a resin is understood to be disclosed.
(Col. 13, lines 1 – 5) teaches that cooling pins 74 blowing cold air inside the preform immediately adjacent the sprue gate area is a novel operation that prevents in a very efficient manner the formation of crystallized areas in the preform. In this case, the cooling step comprises the transfer of the preforms from the mold to the take-off plate 60. As such, the take-off plate 60 in conjunction with the cooling pins 74 and corresponding structure acts as applicant’s temperature adjusting unit configured to flow cooling air into the preform that has been released from the injection molding unit to cool the preform with the cooling air.
(Col. 5, lines 3 – 6) teaches that the cooling method and apparatus of the present invention can be integrated into an injection-blow molding machine where the cooled preforms with no crystallinity are further temperature conditioned and blown into bottles.
& e.) (Col. 13, lines 32 – 35) teaches that if desired, the preform holders 62″ may grip the preforms solely around the neck portion, thus leaving a more open window for the blown cooling fluid to cool the outer portion of the preforms. As illustrated in (Figs. 5, 15 – 16 & 23), the takeoff plate 60 is provided with preform holders 62″ that are found at the transitional point between the neck and body. Where, the preform holders 62″ may be placed solely around the neck portion, where the preform holders 62″ placed solely around the neck portion act as applicant’s neck molds. Accordingly, the preform holders 62″ being placed solely around the neck portion provide for a conveyance mechanism configured to include a neck mold that is an injection mold for a neck portion of the preform / holding an outer circumference of the neck portion of the preform with the neck mold. Highlighting, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding the placement of the preform holders 62″ of the takeoff plate 60 holding an outer circumference of the neck portion of the preform with the neck mold. The case law for the rearrangement of parts may be recited. Where the courts held that when shifting the location of an element would not have modified the operation of device. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975), MPEP 2144. The particular placement of an element was held to be obvious.
& l.) (Col. 4, lines 16 – 20) teaches the preforms are ejected from the mold and are retained external to the mold by means independent of the mold such as for example a movable take-off plate. As such, the take-off plate is understood to be a conveyance mechanism is a neck mold applied in the injection molding unit. (Col. 11, lines 4 – 8) teaches that as shown in FIGS. 6(c) and 6(d), the cooling frame 98 is provided with a plurality of spaces 112. The spaces 112 allow finally cooled molded articles or preforms ejected from the take-off plate 60 to be dropped onto a conveyor 114 for transportation away from the system. (Col. 5, lines 3 – 7) teaches that the cooling method and apparatus of the present invention can be integrated into an injection-blow molding machine where the cooled preforms with no crystallinity are further temperature conditioned and blown into bottles. As such, the take-off plate 60 is understood to provide conveyance from the injection molding unit to the cooling unit then taking the cooled preforms with no crystallinity for further temperature conditioning and finally blown into bottles. Accordingly, the take-off plate 60 provides for sequentially convey the preform from the injection molding unit to the temperature adjusting unit, and onto the blow molding unit. Highlighting, as illustrated in (Figs. 5, 15 – 16 & 23), provided is a close ups of the take-off plate 60, which comprise holders 62 & 62‘’. Which are understood to be provided for holding a neck portion of the preform with a neck mold applied in the injection molding unit. Highlighting, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding the conveyance mechanism implemented to sequentially convey the preforms from the injection molding unit to the temperature adjusting unit, and the blow molding unit while holding a neck portion of the preform with a neck mold applied in the injection molding unit is understood to be disclosed. However, the case law for the intended use of the apparatus may be recited. Where, It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235. Intended use has been continuously held not to be germane to determining the patentability of the apparatus, In re Finsterwalder, 168 USPQ 530.
(Col. 10, lines 60 – 63) teaches that a frame 98 is moved using hydraulic cylinders 110. According to the present invention, the number of cooling pins 74 can be the same or less than the number of receptacles 62 in the take-off plate 60. Highlighting, as shown in (Fig. 6a) the hydraulic cylinders 110 provides for a first hydraulic drive unit configured to drive frame and pins 74 / core mold, from which the cooling air is supplied.
(Col. 14, lines 55 – 60) teaches that as shown in (Fig. 14), the take-off plate 60 or other means for holding the performs is translated along the axis X towards the cooling frame 98. After the cooling step, the take-off plate 60 is rotated by 90° so that it faces the conveyor 114 and thus the cooled preforms are ejected. Highlighting, as shown in (Fig. 14), the translation along the axis X is found to be opposite to the first direction to accommodate the preform in the cavity mold.Additionally, (Fig. 23) provides for a take-off plate 60 comprised of a cavity mold for accommodating the preforms. As such, the take-off plate 60 or other means for holding the performs is found to provide for a second drive unit configured to drive a cavity mold that accommodates the preform in a second direction opposite to the first direction to accommodate the preform in the cavity mold.
& i.) As shown in (Fig. 23) the take-off plate 60 is comprised of a cavity mold for accommodating the preforms, where the cavity provided is found to be substantially the same shape as the preform at the time of injection molding and is configured to define a temperature adjusting space in which the preform is accommodated.
(Col. 14, lines 61 – 66) teaches that (Fig. 15) which shows novel air-cooling means attached to the take-off-plate 60. As illustrated in (Fig. 15), the holders 62 / neck mold is found holds the preform is disposed between the pins 174 / core mold and the cavity mold in which the preforms 48 are found within in the temperature adjusting unit. Additionally, (Col. 12, lines 64 – End) teaches that the holders 62″ are preferably stiff enough to retain the preforms and have perforations or other openings 242 and 244 where the holders do not have any direct contact with the preforms. As illustrated in (Fig. 15) the holders 62″, are found to act as the neck mold holds the preform is disposed between the core mold / cooling pins 252 and the cavity mold of the take off plate 60 in which the preforms are resting.
Regarding Claim 1, Neter teaches utilizing a cavity mold for the take-off plate 60 comprising additional translation means 150 attached to the mold plates 32, (Fig. 14). Neter is silent on details regarding the second drive unit for the mold plates and the take-off plate comprising a lock portion configured to restrict a movement of the second drive unit in the first direction at a position where the preform is accommodated in the cavity mold. In analogous art for parison injection molding apparatus (Abstract), Delfer suggest details regarding the locking mechanism for the take-off plate, and in this regard, Delfer teaches the following:
(Col. 4, lines 9-12) teaches that as illustrated in (Fig. 1) the first and second mold portions in a mold-open position. The mold portions reciprocate on tie rods 15 powered by any convenient motive means, as by hydraulic cylinder 16, in a pre-determined cycle. As such, the tie rods 15 of the mold portion portions are understood to be moved by a hydraulic cylinder. Noting, that the mold portions are also found to comprise a carrier plate with additional translation means.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing preform which includes the steps of injection molding a preform, temperature treating the preform and then blow molding the preform into an article, of Neter. By modifying the movement of the mold portions reciprocate on tie rods 15 powered by any convenient motive means, as by hydraulic cylinder, where the mold portion movement is also responsible for the movement of carrier plate with additional translation means, as taught by Delfer. Highlighting, one would motivated in include implementing a hydraulic cylinder as a means for movement of the mold portions as it provides for moving the mold portions in determined cycle, (Col. 4, lines 9-12). Accordingly, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143. Regarding Claim 1, Neter as modified by Delfer teaches utilizing actuating hydraulic cylinders 110 as a means for moving parts during cooling operations. Neter as modified by Delfer is silent on details regarding actuating hydraulic cylinders comprising a locking mechanism when positioned such the core mold is inserted into the preform. In analogous art for hydraulic actuators, (Abstract), McAuley suggest details regarding actuating hydraulic cylinders comprising a locking mechanism, and in this regard, McAuley teaches the following:
& k.) (Claim 16) teaches a locking actuator comprising at least one locking mechanism held by the strut, the at least one locking mechanism adapted to move into a first position when the actuator is locked and adapted to move to a second position when the actuator is unlocked. As shown in (Fig. 2A-B) the locking mechanism is shown in to be in the unlocked and locked positions, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing preform which includes the steps of injection molding a preform, temperature treating the preform and then blow molding the preform into an article, of Neter as modified by Delfer. By further modifying the actuating hydraulic cylinders to include a locking mechanism, as taught by McAuley. Highlighting, implementation of a locking mechanism provides for keeping the piston type actuator in a first and/or a second position, (Claim 17 & Figs. 2A-B).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first drive unit includes:
a first movable plate configured to support the core mold; and
a first rod configured to extend in the second direction from the first movable plate to move together with the first movable plate,
the first lock portion includes a lock piece configured to move forward and backward in a direction intersecting the second direction, and
the lock piece interferes with the first rod that has moved in the first direction when extending, and restricts a movement of the first movable plate in the second direction.
Neter teaches the following:
As shown in (Fig. 6) the cooling frame 98 is translated towards the take-off plate 60 and the cooling pins 74 enter the molded articles or preforms 48. Where the frame 98 acts as applicant’s first movable plate configured to support the core mold.
As shown in (Fig. 6) the cooling frame 98 is translated towards the take-off plate 60 and the cooling pins 74 98 is moved using hydraulic cylinders 110. As such, the pole of the hydraulic cylinders 110 acts as a first rod configured to extend in the second direction from the first movable plate to move together with the first movable plate.
Regarding Claim 2, Neter as modified by Delfer teaches utilizing actuating hydraulic cylinders as a means for moving parts during cooling operations. Neter as modified by Delfer is silent on details regarding the actuating hydraulic cylinders comprising a locking mechanism. In analogous art as applied above, McAuley suggest details regarding the locking mechanism for actuating hydraulic cylinders, and in this regard, McAuley teaches the following:
(Col. 3, lines 11-16) teaches that the locking mechanism 50 includes locking keys 60 that engage key slots or a groove 26 within the piston 20 and extending outward from the recess 24 substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis 27. As detailed, and illustrated in (Fig. 2A-B) the direction of the locking keys is understood to be intersecting with the second directionAlternatively, and/or additionally, (Col. 4, lines 34-39) teaches that another locking system can comprise a foot 53 of the shaft 55 defines a pawl slot 58 along a side of the locking piston 52. An oblong pawl 70 extends through the body 80 into the pawl slot 58. Moving the pawl 70 suitably moves the shaft 55 towards the tip 41 and away from the tip 41, thus engaging and disengaging the locking mechanism 50.
(Fig. 2A-B) as shown the locking keys 60 as demonstrated to prevent the movement of the pistons rod from moving once in the extend position. After the locking keys 60 move, the piston 20 can regress back into the cylinder 30.Alternatively, and/or additionally (Col. 4, lines 42-46) teaches that the lever 72 suitably is activated by hand through a clevis 77 linked to a pushrod 76. Thus, it will be appreciated that the system 10 may be unlocked manually using the pawl 70 to move the shaft 55
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the second drive unit includes:
a second movable plate configured to support the cavity mold; and
a second rod configured to extend in the first direction from the second movable plate to move together with the second movable plate,
the second lock portion includes a lock piece configured to move forward and backward in a direction intersecting the first direction, and
the lock piece interferes with the second rod that has moved in the second direction when extending, and restricts a movement of the second movable plate in the first direction.
Neter as teaches the following:
(Figs. 14 & 23) and recreated here, the take-off plate 60 comprising a cavity mold (bottom arrow) is found to be on a second movable plate (top arrow) of the additional translation means 150 that allows for moving the take-off plate 60 comprising a cavity mold along the axis X.
As provided in (Fig. 14) and recreated here tie rod of the mold halves 32, 36 are found to provide for a second rod configured to extend in the first direction from the second movable plate to move together with the second movable plate .
Regarding Claim 3, Neter as modified by Delfer teaches utilizing actuating hydraulic cylinders as a means for moving parts during cooling operations. Neter as modified by Delfer is silent on details regarding the actuating hydraulic cylinders comprising a locking mechanism. In analogous art as applied above, McAuley suggest details regarding the locking mechanism for actuating hydraulic cylinders, and in this regard, McAuley teaches the following:
(Col. 3, lines 11-16) teaches that the locking mechanism 50 includes locking keys 60 that engage key slots or a groove 26 within the piston 20 and extending outward from the recess 24 substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis 27. As detailed and illustrated in (Fig. 2A-B), the direction of the locking keys is understood to be intersecting with the second directionAlternatively, and/or additionally, (Col. 4, lines 34-39) teaches that another locking system can comprise a foot 53 of the shaft 55 defines a pawl slot 58 along a side of the locking piston 52. An oblong pawl 70 extends through the body 80 into the pawl slot 58. Moving the pawl 70 suitably moves the shaft 55 towards the tip 41 and away from the tip 41, thus engaging and disengaging the locking mechanism 50.
(Fig. 2A-B) as shown the locking keys 60 as demonstrated to prevent the movement of the pistons rod from moving once in the extend position. After the locking keys 60 move, the piston 20 can regress back into the cylinder 30.
Alternatively, and/or additionally (Col. 4, lines 42-46) teaches that the lever 72 suitably is activated by hand through a clevis 77 linked to a pushrod 76. Thus, it will be appreciated that the system 10 may be unlocked manually using the pawl 70 to move the shaft 55
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 3,
Wherein the second lock portion further includes a receiving portion configured to convert a movement of the lock piece in an extending direction into force in the second direction.
Regarding Claim 4, Neter as modified by Delfer is silent on details regarding the piston type actuator locking means. In analogous art as applied above, McAuley suggest details regarding the locking mechanism for a piston type actuator, and in this regard, McAuley teaches the following:
(Col. 3, lines 28-31) teaches that by way of example but not limitation, the locking keys 60 are moved into the groove 26 by a lock/unlock shaft 55 movably held within a bore 42 through the center of the strut 40. (Col. 3, lines 47-48) teaches that the locking piston is biased towards a locked position by a coil spring 57.Highlighting as shown in (Fig. 2A-B) when the locking keys 60 are moved from an unlocked position (Fig. 2A) to the locked position (Fig. 2B). As shown, as the lock piece moves back and forth the shaft of the actuator is moved back and forth, holding the saft up with up in place, after being locked and the shaft moving back / released after being unlocked, respectively.Alternatively, and/or additionally, as shown in (Fig. 1) the piston if found in the extended position with the pawl is found in pawl slot 58. (Col. 4, lines 44-46) teaches that it will be appreciated that the system 10 may be unlocked manually using the pawl 70 to move the shaft 55.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well. Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kouhei Koga (US 5102610 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) An injection stretch blow molding process performs a cycle of molding steps by circulating a plurality of neck mold sets for holding the neck portions of preforms. The first step is conveying a neck mold, by which a preform has been molded in the injection molding stage, disposed at one end of a horizontal path of movement for conveying said neck mold to the stretch blow molding stage disposed at the other end of the horizontal path of movement.
Kouhei Koga (US 5424022 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) An injection stretch blow molding method blow molds a preform into a hollow member while maintaining the preform at a temperature provided by an injection molding step. The method circulatively conveys neck mold support plates each for supporting and conveying a neck mold holding the neck portion of the hollow member or preform through working stations of M in number (M≧3) including at least injection molding and blow molding stations.
Delfer et al. (US 4721452 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) The apparatus includes a carrier plate cooperating with an injection molding machine and having at least two sets of cavities therein for cooling the hollow plastic articles, with the number of cavities corresponding to a multiple of at least two times the number of hollow plastic articles produced in an injection molding cycle.
Shawn A. McAuley (US 7216581 B2) – teaches in the (Abstract) A locking actuator may be locked in an extended position. A piston with a first and a second end defines a recess that originates proximate to the first end. A strut is adapted to at least partially nest within the recess and the strut is adapted to hold at least one locking mechanism proximate to a tip of the strut.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743