DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 and 15 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that in Geske in view of Watanabe and Smythe the ends of the connector are outside of the case (pg. 8, para. 9). This argument is not found persuasive for the following reasons. First, claim 1 requires that “a first end of the reinforcement beam is inside the module case”. The examiner notes that “a first end” is a limitation that may be interpreted broadly, as done in the rejection of record, to mean a portion of the beam including an end surface of the beam, instead of solely an endmost surface of the beam as it appears applicant intends to claim. The rejection of record identifies the first end of the beam as the portion (see annotated Fig. 1; 1E1 or 1E2) of the beam (15a, 25 substituted with the beam of Smythe) in direct contact with the upper case 14. As illustrated below, the first end (1E1 or 1E2) of the beam (15a/25 substituted for Smythe’s beam) passes through the flange 16 of the upper case 14. The examiner notes that the flange 16 is a part of the module case 13 (Fig. 1; [0034]; [0041]). Therefore, the first end of the beam may be considered inside the module case by virtue of it passing through the flange of the upper case.
Regarding applicant’s argument that one of ordinary skill in the art would not consider the teaching of Smythe to modify the rivets of Watanabe because the connectors of Smythe and Watanabe function in completely different ways for a different effect (pg. 8, para. 2), the examiner notes that the critical function and effect of the reinforcement beam (Fig. 19A; 708; “pack connector 708”; [0166]) of Smythe is the ability to mechanically retain two structures together (see [0166]). Moreover, Smythe teaches that the beam may be connected in a manner that is non-detachable, i.e. not repeatedly removable without damage to the connection structure (“adhesive”; [0168]). Therefore, applicant’s argument is not found persuasive because both Smythe and Watanabe suggest a similar function and effect, of mechanical retainment by non-detachable means, for their respective reinforcement beams.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner notes that in the claims, the limitation “beam” has been interpreted as a long piece of metal as is consistent with the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation (Dictionary.com. (n.d.). Beam definition & meaning. Dictionary.com. https://www.dictionary.com/browse/beam).
The examiner notes that in the claims, the limitation “welding” has been interpreted as “any kind of metallurgical joining method of metal and includes all cases of joining two different materials by melting or heating metal materials” including brazing, welding, and/or soldering per [0043] of the PGPUB of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geskes (US 2020/0112071 A1) in view of Watanabe (JPH1061622A, machine translation used for rejection below) and Smythe (US-20160104873-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Geskes discloses a battery module (Fig. 1) comprising:
at least one battery cell (Fig. 1; element 3);
a module case (Fig. 1; element 13) having a receiving portion (Fig. 1; element 14) for accommodating the at least one battery cell (3) therein; and
a cooling plate (Fig. 1; element 7) formed at an external side (annotated Fig. 1; ES) of a first surface (annotated Fig. 1; 1S) of the module case (13),
wherein the module case (13) is fastened with the cooling plate (7) by a reinforcement beam (Fig. 1; element 15a or 25) and wherein the reinforcement beam (15a, 25) extends through the module case (13) and cooling plate (7) in a first direction (annotated Fig. 1; element 1D), wherein a first end (annotated Fig. 1; 1E1 or 1E2) of the reinforcement beam (15a, 25) is inside (in Fig. 1, the first end passes through flange 14 of case 13, ergo it is “inside” the case) the module case (13).
Geskes fails to disclose wherein the module case is fastened with the cooling plate by welding and a reinforcement beam.
Watanabe discloses a method of fastening by welding (Fig. 3; 6; “brazing material”; [0031]) and a reinforcement beam (“rivet”; [0031]; Fig. 3; 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Geskes by substituting the method of fastening taught by Geskes for the method of fastening taught by Watanabe such that a beam was combined with welding. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to secure unprecedented strength and airtightness in the joint between Geskes module case and cooling plate as taught by Watanabe ([0060]).
Modified Geskes still fails to disclose wherein the reinforcement beam is elongated in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Smythe discloses a battery module (abstract) comprising: a reinforcement beam (Fig. 19A; element 708),
wherein the reinforcement beam (708) extends in a first direction (annotated Fig. 19A; element 1D) and is elongated in a second direction (annotated Fig. 19A; element 2D) perpendicular to (Fig. 19A) the first direction (1D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Geskes in view of Watanabe by substituting Smythe’s reinforcement beam for the beam of Geskes in view of Watanabe. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to mechanically interconnect (Smythe [0163]) and retain (Smythe [0166]) Geskes module case and cooling plate with sufficient mechanical stability (Smythe [0167]).
Regarding claim 2, Geskes in view of Watanabe and Smythe discloses wherein the cooling plate (7) has a plate- shaped structure (“cover plate 7”; [0033]; Fig. 1; element 7) having a flexural structure (“meandering shape”; [0040]; Fig. 6; element 10) for forming a fluid-move path (“cooling channel”; [0040]).
Regarding claim 3, Geskes in view of Watanabe and Smythe discloses wherein the cooling plate (7) includes a fluid-move path (Fig. 1; element 10) at an inner side (annotated Fig. 1; element IS) contacting the module case (13),
wherein the cooling plate (7) includes an outer peripheral surface (annotated Fig. 1; element OPS) at an opposite side (annotated Fig. 1; side at OPS) of a surface (annotated Fig. 1; element IS) contacting the module case (13) has a flexural structure (“meandering shape”; [0040]; Fig. 6; element 10) including a separation region (annotated Fig. 1; the outer peripheral surface within SR) spaced apart (annotated Fig. 1; element OPS) from the module case (13), and an adhesion region (annotated Fig. 6; AR) attached to the module case (13), and wherein the fastening (Watanabe’s fastening method) by the welding
(Watanabe’s brazing) and the reinforcement beam (Smythe’s connector substituted for 15a or 25) is formed at (15a and 25 are formed at the periphery of 7 as shown by Fig. 1; AR is at the periphery per Fig. 6) the adhesion region (AR) of the cooling plate (7).
Regarding claim 4, Geskes in view of Watanabe and Smythe discloses wherein the reinforcement beam (Smythe’s connector substituted for Geskes 15a or 25) is fastened along an edge region (Fig. 1; region of 7 at 15a/25) of the cooling plate (7).
Regarding claim 5, Geskes in view of Watanabe and Smythe discloses wherein a cross-section (Smythe Fig. 19; cross-section of 708) of the reinforcement beam (Smythe 708) has a H-shaped (Smythe Fig. 19; element 708 is generally h-shaped) beam structure.
Regarding claim 6, Geskes in view of Watanabe and Smythe discloses wherein in the welding (brazing of Watanabe), the module case (13) is fastened with the cooling plate (7) by a braze (Watanabe Fig. 3; 6).
Regarding claim 7, Geskes in view of Watanabe and Smythe discloses wherein the reinforcement beam (Smythe’s connector substituted for Geskes 15a or 25) penetrates the first surface (1S) of the module case (13) and a surface (Fig. 1; topmost surface of 7) of the cooling plate (7), and wherein the welding (brazing taught by Watanabe) is performed by filling an empty space (Watanabe Fig. 3; space occupied by 6) between the reinforcement beam (Smythe’s connector substituted for Geskes 15a or 25) and each through hole (Watanabe’s Fig. 3; through hole) of the module case (13) and the cooling plate (7).
Regarding claim 8, Geskes in view of Watanabe and Smythe discloses wherein the at least one battery cell (3) is oriented in a direction (annotated Fig. 1; 1D) perpendicular to the cooling plate (7).
Regarding claim 9, Geskes in view of Watanabe and Smythe discloses wherein the module case (13) includes:
a U-shaped frame (Fig. 1; element 14) having a structure (Fig. 1; element 14) which covers a lower surface (annotated Fig. 1; element U) and opposite side surfaces (annotated Fig. 1; element S) of the receiving portion (14); and
a top plate (Fig. 1; element 6) which covers an upper surface (annotated Fig. 1; surface of 14 at 6) of the U-shaped frame (14).
Regarding claim 11, Geskes in view of Watanabe and Smythe discloses wherein the module case (13) includes: a bottom plate (Fig. 1; element 6) which forms a lower surface (Fig. 1; element 6) of the receiving portion (14); and a U-shaped frame (Fig. 1; element 14) having a structure (Fig. 1) which covers an upper surface (annotated Fig. 1; element U) and both side surfaces (annotated Fig. 1; element S) of the receiving portion (14), wherein the cooling plate (7) is fastened at an external side (annotated Fig. 1; ES) of a lower surface (annotated Fig. 1; 1S) of the bottom plate (6).
Regarding claim 13, Geskes in view of Watanabe and Smythe discloses a battery pack (Fig. 1; element 1) comprising the battery module (Fig. 1; element 1) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Geskes in view of Watanabe and Smythe discloses wherein a second end (annotated Fig. 1; 2E1 or 2E2 substituted by Smythe’s beam) of the reinforcement beam (Smythe’s connector substituted for Geskes 15a or 25) contacts an external surface (Watanabe Fig. 3; illustrates the mechanical joining member (in this case Smythe’s beam) contacting the external surface of the lower member corresponding to Geskes’ cooling plate) of the cooling plate (7).
Claims 1, 9, 10, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2019/0131596 A1) in view of Lee (US-20150236314-A1), Watanabe (JPH1061622A, cited in IDS filed 04/21/2023, machine translation used for rejection below) and Smythe (US-20160104873-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a battery module (Fig. 1; element 10) comprising:
at least one battery cell ([0042]);
a module case (Fig. 1, 4; element 120, 150, 160, 162) having a receiving portion (Fig. 1; element 120) for accommodating the at least one battery cell therein ([0042]); and
a cooling plate (Fig. 1; element 40) formed at an external side (Fig. 1; side of 120 at 40) of a first surface (Fig. 1; bottom surface of 120) of the module case (120, 150, 160, 162),
wherein the module case (120, 150, 160, 162) is fastened with the cooling plate by a reinforcement beam (“bolts” [0105]; [0116]). Yang fails to disclose welding.
Lee discloses a battery module (“battery pack”; [0022]) comprising:
a cooling plate (Fig. 1; element 30; “heat exchange member”; [0023]) formed at an external side (Fig. 1; bottommost surface of 20) of a first surface (Fig. 1; bottom surface of 20) of a module case (Fig. 1; element 10, 20), wherein the module case (10, 20) is fastened with the cooling plate (30) by welding (“brazing”; [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Yang by substituting the brazing method of Lee in place of the bolt method of Yang to fasten the cooling plate to the bottom surface of the module case of Yang. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to closely adhere the cooling plate of Yang to the module case of Yang and increase the contact surface therebetween, to improve the reliability and stability of Yang’s battery module as taught by Lee ([0036]).
Yang in view of Lee still fails to disclose wherein the module case and the cooling plate are also fastened by a beam, and wherein a first end of the reinforcement beam is inside the module case.
Watanabe discloses a method of fastening by welding (Fig. 3; 6; “brazing material”; [0031]) and a reinforcement beam (“rivet”; [0031]; Fig. 3; 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Yang in view of Lee by substituting the method of fastening taught by Yang in view of Lee for the method of fastening taught by Watanabe such that a beam was combined with welding, and a first end of the reinforcement beam is inside the module case (by passing through the case the beam is “inside” the case). In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to secure unprecedented strength and airtightness in the joint between Yang’s module case and cooling plate as taught by Watanabe ([0060]).
Yang in view of Lee and Watanabe still fails to disclose wherein the reinforcement beam extends through the module case and cooling plate in a first direction and is elongated in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Smythe discloses a battery module (abstract) comprising: a reinforcement beam (Fig. 19A; element 708),
wherein the reinforcement beam (708) extends in a first direction (annotated Fig. 19A; element 1D) and is elongated in a second direction (annotated Fig. 19A; element 2D) perpendicular to (Fig. 19A) the first direction (1D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Yang in view of Lee and Watanabe by substituting Smythe’s reinforcement beam for the beam of Yang in view of Lee and Watanabe. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to mechanically interconnect (Smythe [0163]) and retain ([0166]) the module case and cooling plate of Yang in view of Lee, Watanabe and Smythe with sufficient mechanical stability (Smythe [0167]).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Yang in view of Lee, Watanabe and Smythe discloses wherein the module case (120, 150, 160, 162) includes:
a U-shaped frame (Fig. 4; element 120) which covers a lower surface (annotated Fig. 4; LS) and opposite side surfaces (annotated Fig. 4; SS) of the receiving portion (120); and
a top plate (Fig. 4; element 150) which covers an upper surface (annotated Fig. 4; US) of the U-shaped frame (120)
wherein the cooling plate (Fig. 4; element 120) is fastened (Watanabe) at an external side (Lee) of the lower surface (LS) of the U- shaped frame (120).
Regarding claim 12, Yang in view of Lee, Watanabe and Smythe discloses wherein the module case (120, 150, 160, 162) further includes an end plate (Fig. 4; element 160, 162) which covers an open side surface (Fig. 4; open surface of 120 at 160 and 162) of the U-shaped frame (120).
Regarding claim 15, Yang in view of Lee, Watanabe and Smythe wherein a second end (end of Smythe’s beam directly contacting the plate) of the reinforcement beam (Smythe’s beam) contacts an external surface (Watanabe Fig. 3; illustrates the mechanical joining member (in this case Smythe’s beam) contacting the external surface of the lower member) of the cooling plate (120).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723