DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 27, 43, and 48, the cancellation of claim 51, and the addition of new claim 52. Claims 27-50 and 52 are pending.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the Abstract filed 24 March 2022 is of undue length [the Abstract is presently 225 words]. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Examiner Notes: currently, NO limitation invokes interpretation under § 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27-41, 43-48, and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jol (US-20190079037-A1, previously presented).
Regarding claim 27, Jol teaches
An electronic system for detecting presence of liquid in an appliance interface, the system comprising:
an appliance interface [Connector 310 can include multiple contacts 315 located within a cavity (not shown in FIG. 3, but see cavity 210 in FIG. 2 as an example) (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3] comprising
a first primary appliance terminal [a first contact is employed as a sensing contact for the liquid intrusion test (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3)],
a reference appliance terminal [a second contact provides a reference voltage (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3)], and
a dielectric region separating the first primary appliance terminal and the reference appliance terminal [Receptacle connector 200 includes eight contacts 205(1) . . . 205(8) that are spaced apart in a single row (Jol ¶0033), wherein being spaced apart is considered to define a dielectric region of air between the contacts]; and
an electronic device couplable to the appliance interface [portable electronic device 300 (Jol ¶0038, see electronic coupling depicted in Figure 3)], the electronic device comprising:
a first primary device terminal configured to connect to the first primary appliance terminal [In some embodiments multiplexor 320 can also selectively route signals from LDM 330 onto one or more of the contacts 315 to conduct a liquid intrusion test (Jol ¶0041)], and
a reference device terminal configured to connect to the reference appliance terminal [Jol ¶0041],
wherein the electronic device is configured to:
generate and apply an electrical reference signal to the reference appliance terminal [For example, in some embodiments a first contact is employed as a sensing contact for the liquid intrusion test and a second contact provides a reference voltage. The reference voltage can be shared with power or ground (Jol ¶0039)],
detect, while the electrical reference signal is being applied to the reference appliance terminal, an electrical primary signal from the first primary appliance terminal [Jol ¶¶0039, 0041; When a liquid intrudes within the cavity of connector 310 and comes into contact with one or more of contacts 315, energy can be stored at the contact by the double layer capacitance effect as discussed above. LDM 330 can generate and apply a time varying signal to a contact over a range of frequencies and can measure complex impedance at a contact in connector 310 to determine whether liquid intrusion has occurred on the contacts (Jol ¶0042), wherein the Examiner notes that a dedicated reference contact is considered to read on the electrical reference signal being applied to the reference appliance terminal while an electrical primary signal is being detected from the first primary appliance terminal],
compare the detected primary signal with the generated reference signal [Jol ¶0039; As shown in FIG. 9A, liquid detection process 900 generates and applies a voltage signal to one or more contacts being tested in the manner described above at varying frequencies (step 910). In some embodiments, the voltage signal is applied as a sine wave at frequencies of 10 Hz, 100 Hz, 1,000 Hz and 10,000 Hz. As the voltage signal is applied to the contact, measurements are taken on both the phase and the magnitude of the voltage signal at each of the different frequencies at which it is applied (step 920). The measurements can then be compared to previously measured data of phase and magnitude versus frequency to determine whether or not potentially harmful liquid is present on the contact being tested (steps 930, 940) (Jol ¶0051)], and
in accordance with at least a component of the detected primary signal being identical to the generated reference signal, determine that liquid is present in the appliance interface [Jol ¶¶0039, 0051].
Regarding claim 28, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the reference signal has a first electrical waveform [Jol ¶0039].
Regarding claim 29, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 28, wherein the first electrical waveform is selected from a sine waveform, a square waveform, a rectangular waveform, a triangular waveform, and a saw-toothed waveform [Jol ¶0051].
Regarding claim 30, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the appliance interface is substantially planar [wherein the contacts 205 as depicted in Figure 2A are considered to define a “substantially planar” surface].
Regarding claim 31, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the reference appliance terminal comprises a contact pad [wherein the contacts that are configured to physically contact liquid or plug connector 1100 are considered to define the contact pads (Jol ¶0039), such that the conductive path itself as defined in ¶0039 and depicted in Figure 3 may be considered to define the connection between appliance terminals and device terminals] and an enclosing portion, the enclosing portion at least partly enclosing the first primary appliance terminal [wherein the first primary appliance terminal is considered to be enclosed within device 300 as depicted in Jol Figures 2-3].
Regarding claim 32, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 31, wherein the reference device terminal is configured to connect to the contact pad of the reference appliance terminal [Jol ¶0041].
Regarding claim 33, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the first primary appliance terminal is a terminal of an electrode of a sensor [wherein the contacts as defined by Jol (¶0039) are considered to define an electrode sensor].
Regarding claim 34, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the appliance interface comprises a second primary appliance terminal and wherein the electronic device comprises a second primary device terminal [Jol ¶¶0038-0039, Figures 2-3].
Regarding claim 35, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 34, wherein the electronic system further comprises an appliance connected to the appliance interface [a plug connector 1100 that can be mated with connector 200 (Jol ¶0064)], and wherein the first primary appliance terminal is a terminal of a first electrode of the appliance [wherein the contacts as defined by Jol (¶0039) are considered to define an electrode sensor], and the second primary appliance terminal is a terminal of a second electrode of the appliance [Jol ¶0039].
Regarding claim 36, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 34, wherein the electronic device is configured to apply a voltage across the first primary appliance terminal and the second primary appliance terminal [Jol ¶0039].
Regarding claim 37, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 36, wherein the electronic device is configured to detect a short-circuit across the first primary appliance terminal and the second primary appliance terminal [having a connector such as connector 100 or 200 from potential damage or corrosion that might otherwise occur when the contacts of the connector are exposed to a liquid, such as liquid 230. Embodiments of the disclosure can reliably detect the presence of a short circuit-causing liquid (e.g. sweat, pool water, tap water, sea water, rain, or a beverage) in an external connector of the electronic device and reduce or terminate the voltage supplied to the connector such that the voltage across the electrical contacts of the connector is reduced or dropped to zero in response to having detected the presence of the short-circuit or corrosion causing moisture (Jol ¶0036)].
Regarding claim 38, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 37, wherein the electronic system further comprises an appliance connected to the appliance interface [see claim 35 above], and wherein the first primary appliance terminal is a terminal of a first electrode of the appliance [see claim 35 above], and the second primary appliance terminal is a terminal of a second electrode of the appliance [see claim 35 above], and wherein the electronic device is configured to, in accordance with a detection of a short-circuit across the first primary appliance terminal and the second primary appliance terminal, determine that liquid is present in the appliance [see claim 37 above].
Regarding claim 39, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the electronic system further comprises an accessory device, and wherein the electronic device is configured to, in accordance with determining that liquid is present in the appliance interface, transmit a device signal to the accessory device [Once electronic device 300 determines that a potentially harmful liquid is present on its contacts, a variety of actions can be undertaken (FIG. 9A, step 960). For example, in various embodiments, device 300 can do one or more of the following:… (3) alert a user of the device that liquid has been detected on the contacts. The alert can be in the form of a message displayed on the device screen, an indicator light, a beep or any other suitable means (Jol ¶0060)].
Regarding claim 40, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 39, wherein the accessory device is configured to, in accordance with receiving the device signal from the electronic device, visualize the presence of liquid in a user interface of the accessory device [Jol ¶0060].
Regarding claim 41, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the appliance interface is disposable [wherein it is understood that any element may be disposed of, such that the appliance interface as taught by Jol is considered to read on the claimed limitation], and wherein the electronic device is reusable [wherein it is understood that the electronic device 300 as defined by Jol is considered to comprise, for example, a smart phone (¶0037), which is considered to be reusable].
Regarding claim 43, Jol teaches
A method for detecting presence of liquid in an appliance interface comprising a first primary appliance terminal, a reference appliance terminal [Connector 310 can include multiple contacts 315 located within a cavity (not shown in FIG. 3, but see cavity 210 in FIG. 2 as an example)… a first contact is employed as a sensing contact for the liquid intrusion test and a second contact provides a reference voltage (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3], and a dielectric region separating the first primary appliance terminal and the reference appliance terminal [Receptacle connector 200 includes eight contacts 205(1) . . . 205(8) that are spaced apart in a single row (Jol ¶0033), wherein being spaced apart is considered to define a dielectric region of air between the contacts], the method comprising the steps of:
generating and applying an electrical reference signal to the reference appliance terminal [For example, in some embodiments a first contact is employed as a sensing contact for the liquid intrusion test and a second contact provides a reference voltage. The reference voltage can be shared with power or ground (Jol ¶0039)],
detecting, while applying the electrical reference signal to the reference appliance terminal, an electrical primary signal from the first primary appliance terminal [Jol ¶¶0039, 0041; When a liquid intrudes within the cavity of connector 310 and comes into contact with one or more of contacts 315, energy can be stored at the contact by the double layer capacitance effect as discussed above. LDM 330 can generate and apply a time varying signal to a contact over a range of frequencies and can measure complex impedance at a contact in connector 310 to determine whether liquid intrusion has occurred on the contacts (Jol ¶0042), wherein the Examiner notes that a dedicated reference contact is considered to read on the electrical reference signal being applied to the reference appliance terminal while an electrical primary signal is being detected from the first primary appliance terminal],
comparing the detected primary signal with the generated reference signal [Jol ¶0039; As shown in FIG. 9A, liquid detection process 900 generates and applies a voltage signal to one or more contacts being tested in the manner described above at varying frequencies (step 910). In some embodiments, the voltage signal is applied as a sine wave at frequencies of 10 Hz, 100 Hz, 1,000 Hz and 10,000 Hz. As the voltage signal is applied to the contact, measurements are taken on both the phase and the magnitude of the voltage signal at each of the different frequencies at which it is applied (step 920). The measurements can then be compared to previously measured data of phase and magnitude versus frequency to determine whether or not potentially harmful liquid is present on the contact being tested (steps 930, 940) (Jol ¶0051)], and
determining, in accordance with at least a component of the detected primary signal being identical to the generated reference signal, that liquid is present in the appliance interface [Jol ¶¶0039, 0051].
Regarding claim 44, Jol teaches
The method according to claim 43, wherein the method is performed in an electronic device coupled to the appliance interface [Jol ¶0038, see electronic coupling depicted in Fig. 3].
Regarding claim 45, Jol teaches
The method according to claim 43, wherein generating and applying the electrical reference signal comprises generating an electrical signal having a first electrical waveform [Jol ¶0039].
Regarding claim 46, Jol teaches
The method according to claim 43, wherein the appliance interface comprises the first primary appliance terminal being a terminal of a first electrode and a second primary appliance terminal being a terminal of a second electrode [wherein the contacts as defined in Jol ¶0039 are considered to define an electrode sensor], and wherein the method further comprises the steps of:
applying a voltage across the first primary appliance terminal and the second primary appliance terminal [Jol ¶0039],
monitoring the voltage across the first primary appliance terminal and the second primary appliance terminal [Jol ¶0039], and
determining, in accordance with a short-circuit across the first primary appliance terminal and the second primary appliance terminal, that liquid is present across the first electrode and the second electrode [Jol ¶0036].
Regarding claim 47, Jol teaches
The method according to claim 43, wherein the method further comprises, in accordance with determining that liquid is present in the appliance interface, the steps of:
transmitting a device signal to an accessory device comprising a graphical user interface [Jol ¶0060], and
indicating the presence of liquid in the graphical user interface [Jol ¶0060].
Regarding claim 48, Jol teaches
A medical device comprising:
an electronic system for detecting presence of liquid in an appliance interface, the system comprising:
an appliance interface [Connector 310 can include multiple contacts 315 located within a cavity (not shown in FIG. 3, but see cavity 210 in FIG. 2 as an example) (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3] comprising:
a primary appliance terminal [a first contact is employed as a sensing contact for the liquid intrusion test (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3)],
a reference appliance terminal [a second contact provides a reference voltage (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3)], and
a dielectric region separating the primary appliance terminal and the reference appliance terminal [Receptacle connector 200 includes eight contacts 205(1) . . . 205(8) that are spaced apart in a single row (Jol ¶0033), wherein being spaced apart is considered to define a dielectric region of air between the contacts]; and
an electronic device couplable to the appliance interface [portable electronic device 300 (Jol ¶0038, see electronic coupling depicted in Figure 3)], the electronic device comprising:
a primary device terminal configured to connect to the primary appliance terminal [In some embodiments multiplexor 320 can also selectively route signals from LDM 330 onto one or more of the contacts 315 to conduct a liquid intrusion test (Jol ¶0041)], and
a reference device terminal configured to connect to the reference appliance terminal [Jol ¶0041],
wherein the electronic device is configured to:
generate and apply an electrical reference signal to the reference appliance terminal [For example, in some embodiments a first contact is employed as a sensing contact for the liquid intrusion test and a second contact provides a reference voltage. The reference voltage can be shared with power or ground (Jol ¶0039)],
detect, while the electrical reference signal is being applied to the reference appliance terminal, an electrical primary signal from the primary appliance terminal [Jol ¶¶0039, 0041; When a liquid intrudes within the cavity of connector 310 and comes into contact with one or more of contacts 315, energy can be stored at the contact by the double layer capacitance effect as discussed above. LDM 330 can generate and apply a time varying signal to a contact over a range of frequencies and can measure complex impedance at a contact in connector 310 to determine whether liquid intrusion has occurred on the contacts (Jol ¶0042), wherein the Examiner notes that a dedicated reference contact is considered to read on the electrical reference signal being applied to the reference appliance terminal while an electrical primary signal is being detected from the first primary appliance terminal],
compare the detected primary signal with the generated reference signal [Jol ¶0039; As shown in FIG. 9A, liquid detection process 900 generates and applies a voltage signal to one or more contacts being tested in the manner described above at varying frequencies (step 910). In some embodiments, the voltage signal is applied as a sine wave at frequencies of 10 Hz, 100 Hz, 1,000 Hz and 10,000 Hz. As the voltage signal is applied to the contact, measurements are taken on both the phase and the magnitude of the voltage signal at each of the different frequencies at which it is applied (step 920). The measurements can then be compared to previously measured data of phase and magnitude versus frequency to determine whether or not potentially harmful liquid is present on the contact being tested (steps 930, 940) (Jol ¶0051)], and in
accordance with at least a component of the detected primary signal being identical to the generated reference signal, determine that liquid is present in the appliance interface [Jol ¶¶0039, 0051].
Regarding claim 52, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the component is a first component [Jol ¶0039] and the detected primary signal further comprises a second component corresponding to an appliance connected to the appliance interface [a plug connector 1100 that can be mated with connector 200 (Jol ¶0064), wherein the detected signal being between the first component (first contact as disclosed in Jol ¶0039) and between an appliance contact is considered to read on the claimed limitation].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 42 and 49-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jol, as applied to claims 27 and 48 above, in view of Thirstrup (US-20100030167-A1, previously presented).
Regarding claim 42, Jol teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27.
While Jol discloses that the appliance interface may comprise different types of connectors defining different configurations of a substrate [Connector 310 can be a computer peripheral serial bus connector, such as a Universal Serial Bus (USB) compliant connector, a Lightning connector developed by Apple Inc. or another connector that serves to pass both a power supply voltage as well as digital and/or analog control or communication signals to an external device (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3)], Jol fails to explicitly disclose wherein the appliance interface is arranged on a stretchable substrate.
Thirstrup discloses systems for detecting leakage in dressings applied to skin [Thirstrup Abstract], wherein Thirstrup discloses an appliance interface comprising two electrodes printed on a flexible film [the first electrode and the second electrode are printed on a flexible film. This is one simple way of providing a dressing according to the invention as the film subsequently can be attached to the distal side of the adhesive body (Thirstrup ¶0045)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Jol so as to incorporate wherein the appliance interface is arranged on a stretchable substrate as this would amount to simple substitution of one known element [substrate of Jol] for another [stretchable substrate of Thirstrup] with similar expected results [allow for a terminal to be positioned thereon and allow for a short-circuit to be detected between the terminals (Jol ¶0039; Thirstrup ¶0047)] [MPEP § 2143(I)(B)].
Regarding claim 49, Jol teaches
The medical device according to claim 48.
However, Jol fails to explicitly disclose wherein the medical device comprises an ostomy appliance.
Thirstrup discloses systems for detecting leakage in appliances applied to skin [Thirstrup Abstract], wherein Thirstrup discloses an appliance interface comprising two terminals, wherein the two terminals are configured to determine that liquid is present in the appliance interface of a wound dressing [Thirstrup ¶0045; an encircling groove is formed in the proximal adhesive surface of the adhesive body, encircling the centre of the bandage or dressing (Thirstrup ¶0046); A liquid filling the groove will practically create a short circuit or a strong capacitive coupling between the first conductive ring and the second conductive ring, which significantly will change the response from the circuit and thereby identifying a leak (Thirstrup ¶0047)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical device of Jol so as to incorporate wherein the medical device comprises an ostomy appliance, as this would amount to applying a known technique [detection of the presence of a liquid between two terminals/electrodes] to a known device [medical device as disclosed by Jol] ready for improvement to yield predictable results [detect the presence of a liquid at an appliance interface (Thirstrup ¶0047)] [MPEP § 2143(I)(D)].
Regarding claim 50, Jol teaches
The medical device according to claim 48.
However, Jol fails to explicitly disclose wherein the medical device comprises a wound dressing.
Thirstrup discloses systems for detecting leakage in dressings applied to skin [Thirstrup Abstract], wherein Thirstrup discloses an appliance interface comprising two terminals, wherein the two terminals are configured to determine that liquid is present in the appliance interface [Thirstrup ¶¶0045, 0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical device of Jol so as to incorporate wherein the medical device comprises a wound dressing, as this would amount to applying a known technique [detection of the presence of a liquid between two terminals/electrodes] to a known device [medical device as disclosed by Jol] ready for improvement to yield predictable results [detect the presence of a liquid at an appliance interface (Thirstrup ¶0047)] [MPEP § 2143(I)(D)].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks p. 8, filed 9 October 2025, with respect to the previously presented drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The drawing objection regarding subject matter defined in claim 51 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks p. 8-11, with respect to the previously applied claim rejections under § 102 and § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant asserts Jol fails to teach the argued amended limitation of an “electronic device is configured to: generate and apply an electrical reference signal to the reference appliance terminal, detect, while the electrical reference signal is being applied to the reference appliance terminal, an electrical primary signal from the first primary appliance terminal, compare the detected primary signal with the generated reference signal, and in accordance with at least a component of the detected primary signal being identical to the generated reference signal, determine that liquid is present in the appliance interface”, as the Applicant cites ¶0051 of Jol as being directed towards teachings of using “previously measured data” to perform a liquid intrusion test. However, the Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s argument, as the Examiner notes that while ¶0051 of Jol was cited as being directed towards the use of a previously measured reference signal, ¶0039 of Jol discloses "For example, in some embodiments a first contact is employed as a sensing contact for the liquid intrusion test and a second contact provides a reference voltage. The reference voltage can be shared with power or ground", wherein the Examiner notes that a dedicated reference contact is considered to read on the electrical reference signal being applied to the reference appliance terminal while an electrical primary signal is being detected from the first primary appliance terminal. Furthermore, the Examiner notes that ¶0051 of Jol does not limit when the “previously measured” reference signal was measured, such that in light of ¶0039 defining a dedicated reference contact, the step to compare the detected primary signal with the generated reference signal may use a reference signal that was just generated and measured.
The Applicant further asserts that Jol cannot “compare the detected primary signal and the generated reference signal”, as the Applicant notes that Jol relies on an observed change to the generated signal in relation to known, pre-existing measurements to categorize a liquid accordingly [Applicant cites ¶¶0049-0050 of Jol], such that comparing the generated signal to itself would preclude any such categorization of the liquid and would instead render Jol ineffective at characterizing a potentially harmful liquid. However, the Examiner notes that Jol discloses "For example, in some embodiments a first contact is employed as a sensing contact for the liquid intrusion test and a second contact provides a reference voltage. The reference voltage can be shared with power or ground" [¶0039], such that Jol is considered to teach using a first contact to detect the primary signal and a second contact to generate a reference signal, wherein the detected primary signal and the generated reference signal are compared.
The Applicant also asserts that Jol fails to explicitly disclose the subject matter of new claim 52 regarding a second component. However, the Examiner disagrees and notes that Jol is considered to teach the argued subject matter of a second component corresponding to an appliance connected to the appliance interface [a plug connector 1100 that can be mated with connector 200… Eight external contacts 1120(1) . . . 1120(8) are formed at an exterior surface of the insertion end and spaced apart along a single row in a contact region 1125. Contacts 1120(1) . . . 1120(8) can be used to carry a wide variety of signals including data signals and power and ground (Jol ¶0064), wherein the detected signal being between the first component (first contact as disclosed in Jol ¶0039) and between an appliance contact is considered to read on the claimed limitation].
The Examiner notes that the Applicant’s arguments regarding Thirstrup and Burnett failing to remedy the alleged deficiencies of Jol are not considered to be applicable in light of the Examiner’s responses above.
Conclusion
/SEVERO ANTONIO P LOPEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3791