DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the “AMENDMENT AND RESPONSE TO NON-FINAL OFFICE ACTION” filed 27 April 2026. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 27, 29, 43, 48, and 52, the cancelation of claims 28 and 45, and the addition of new claims 53-54. Claims 27, 29-44, 46-50, and 52-54 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner Notes: currently, NO limitation invokes interpretation under § 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27, 29-41, 43-44, 46-48, and 52-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jol (US-20190079037-A1, previously presented) in view of Bacon (US-20170358922-A1).
Regarding claim 27, Jol teaches
An electronic system for detecting presence of liquid in an appliance interface, the system comprising:
an appliance interface [Connector 310 can include multiple contacts 315 located within a cavity (not shown in FIG. 3, but see cavity 210 in FIG. 2 as an example) (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3] comprising
a first primary appliance terminal [a first contact is employed as a sensing contact for the liquid intrusion test (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3)],
a reference appliance terminal [a second contact provides a reference voltage (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3)], and
a dielectric region separating the first primary appliance terminal and the reference appliance terminal [Receptacle connector 200 includes eight contacts 205(1) . . . 205(8) that are spaced apart in a single row (Jol ¶0033), wherein being spaced apart is considered to define a dielectric region of air between the contacts]; and
an electronic device couplable to the appliance interface [portable electronic device 300 (Jol ¶0038, see electronic coupling depicted in Figure 3)], the electronic device comprising:
a first primary device terminal configured to connect to the first primary appliance terminal [In some embodiments multiplexor 320 can also selectively route signals from LDM 330 onto one or more of the contacts 315 to conduct a liquid intrusion test (Jol ¶0041)], and
a reference device terminal configured to connect to the reference appliance terminal [Jol ¶0041],
wherein the electronic device is configured to:
generate and apply an electrical reference signal to the reference appliance terminal, wherein the generated reference signal comprises a first electrical waveform [For example, in some embodiments a first contact is employed as a sensing contact for the liquid intrusion test and a second contact provides a reference voltage. The reference voltage can be shared with power or ground (Jol ¶0039)],
detect, while the electrical reference signal is being applied to the reference appliance terminal, an electrical primary signal from the first primary appliance terminal [Jol ¶¶0039, 0041; When a liquid intrudes within the cavity of connector 310 and comes into contact with one or more of contacts 315, energy can be stored at the contact by the double layer capacitance effect as discussed above. LDM 330 can generate and apply a time varying signal to a contact over a range of frequencies and can measure complex impedance at a contact in connector 310 to determine whether liquid intrusion has occurred on the contacts (Jol ¶0042), wherein the Examiner notes that a dedicated reference contact is considered to read on the electrical reference signal being applied to the reference appliance terminal while an electrical primary signal is being detected from the first primary appliance terminal],
process the detected primary signal determine that liquid is present in the appliance interface [Jol ¶0039; As shown in FIG. 9A, liquid detection process 900 generates and applies a voltage signal to one or more contacts being tested in the manner described above at varying frequencies (step 910). In some embodiments, the voltage signal is applied as a sine wave at frequencies of 10 Hz, 100 Hz, 1,000 Hz and 10,000 Hz. As the voltage signal is applied to the contact, measurements are taken on both the phase and the magnitude of the voltage signal at each of the different frequencies at which it is applied (step 920). The measurements can then be compared to previously measured data of phase and magnitude versus frequency to determine whether or not potentially harmful liquid is present on the contact being tested (steps 930, 940) (Jol ¶0051)].
However, Jol fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processing of the detected primary signal is to determine whether the detected primary signal comprises a component that is the first electrical waveform of the generated reference signal in addition to one or more other detected components; and in accordance with determining the detected primary signal comprises the component that is the generated reference signal, determine that liquid is present in the appliance interface.
Bacon discloses systems and methods for detecting presence of liquid in an appliance interface, wherein Bacon indicates that a short circuit between terminals of an electronic device coupled to an appliance interface results in a measured primary signal at a primary terminal to include a component of a reference signal applied at a reference terminal in addition to one or more other detected components [The controller 12 in that state proceeds with comparing the measured voltage of the first pin 5 to the predetermined threshold (thres), and specifically by action of the comparator 15… In this situation, the result of the comparison suggests that a liquid intrusion has been detected that forms a short circuit bridging the first pin 5 and the second pin 6, or the first pin 5 and the third pin 8 (assuming the latter has a significant enough voltage on it), which causes the voltage on the pin 5 to rise above the short circuit threshold (Bacon ¶0025), wherein the voltage as measured at pin 5 increasing due to the short circuit with pin 6/8 is considered to read on one or more other detected components (base voltage as measured at pin 5) in addition to a component that is a first electrical waveform of the reference signal (voltage from pin 6/8), due to the broad language of “component”]. Bacon further discloses performing the detection of the presence of liquid in an appliance interface while the electronic device is coupled to the appliance interface and remains on [In response to the output of the ADC 14 exceeding the predetermined threshold (which in this state is referred to as a short circuit threshold), the decision logic 19 signals the power converter 11 to reduce the power supply voltage that it produces on the second pin 6 of the connector 3, while the device 1 remains powered-on (Bacon ¶0025); Still referring to FIG. 1, in one embodiment, the decision logic 19 signals the power converter 11 to maintain the power supply voltage on the second pin 6 at a reduced but non-zero level, so long as the voltage of the first pin 5 (being compared by the comparator 15 while in the configuration of FIG. 2a) exceeds the predetermined short circuit threshold, and the system continues to be powered-on. In that case, performance by the portable device 1 of any actions that relate to the external connector 3, including providing power to the external device 2 and communicating with the external device 2, may continue albeit at a lower performance level. The expectation here is that the detected short circuit condition across the pins 5, 6 (or the pins 5, 8) of the external connector 3 may be “temporary.” (Bacon ¶0028)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Jol to employ wherein the processing of the detected primary signal is to determine whether the detected primary signal comprises a component that is the first electrical waveform of the generated reference signal in addition to one or more other detected components; and in accordance with determining the detected primary signal comprises the component that is the generated reference signal, determine that liquid is present in the appliance interface, as this modification would amount to mere application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results [allow for measurable detection of liquid intrusion] [MPEP § 2143(I)(D)].
Regarding claim 29, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the first electrical waveform is selected from a sine waveform, a square waveform, a rectangular waveform, a triangular waveform, and a saw-toothed waveform [Jol ¶0051].
Regarding claim 30, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the appliance interface is substantially planar [wherein the contacts 205 as depicted in Figure 2A are considered to define a “substantially planar” surface].
Regarding claim 31, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the reference appliance terminal comprises a contact pad [wherein the contacts that are configured to physically contact liquid or plug connector 1100 are considered to define the contact pads (Jol ¶0039), such that the conductive path itself as defined in ¶0039 and depicted in Figure 3 may be considered to define the connection between appliance terminals and device terminals] and an enclosing portion, the enclosing portion at least partly enclosing the first primary appliance terminal [wherein the first primary appliance terminal is considered to be enclosed within device 300 as depicted in Jol Figures 2-3].
Regarding claim 32, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 31, wherein the reference device terminal is configured to connect to the contact pad of the reference appliance terminal [Jol ¶0041].
Regarding claim 33, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the first primary appliance terminal is a terminal of an electrode of a sensor [wherein the contacts as defined by Jol (¶0039) are considered to define an electrode sensor].
Regarding claim 34, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the appliance interface comprises a second primary appliance terminal and wherein the electronic device comprises a second primary device terminal [Jol ¶¶0038-0039, Figures 2-3].
Regarding claim 35, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 34, wherein the electronic system further comprises an appliance connected to the appliance interface [a plug connector 1100 that can be mated with connector 200 (Jol ¶0064)], and wherein the first primary appliance terminal is a terminal of a first electrode of the appliance [wherein the contacts as defined by Jol (¶0039) are considered to define an electrode sensor], and the second primary appliance terminal is a terminal of a second electrode of the appliance [Jol ¶0039].
Regarding claim 36, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 34, wherein the electronic device is configured to apply a voltage across the first primary appliance terminal and the second primary appliance terminal [Jol ¶0039].
Regarding claim 37, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 36, wherein the electronic device is configured to detect a short-circuit across the first primary appliance terminal and the second primary appliance terminal [having a connector such as connector 100 or 200 from potential damage or corrosion that might otherwise occur when the contacts of the connector are exposed to a liquid, such as liquid 230. Embodiments of the disclosure can reliably detect the presence of a short circuit-causing liquid (e.g. sweat, pool water, tap water, sea water, rain, or a beverage) in an external connector of the electronic device and reduce or terminate the voltage supplied to the connector such that the voltage across the electrical contacts of the connector is reduced or dropped to zero in response to having detected the presence of the short-circuit or corrosion causing moisture (Jol ¶0036)].
Regarding claim 38, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 37, wherein the electronic system further comprises an appliance connected to the appliance interface [see claim 35 above], and wherein the first primary appliance terminal is a terminal of a first electrode of the appliance [see claim 35 above], and the second primary appliance terminal is a terminal of a second electrode of the appliance [see claim 35 above], and wherein the electronic device is configured to, in accordance with a detection of a short-circuit across the first primary appliance terminal and the second primary appliance terminal, determine that liquid is present in the appliance [see claim 37 above].
Regarding claim 39, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the electronic system further comprises an accessory device, and wherein the electronic device is configured to, in accordance with determining that liquid is present in the appliance interface, transmit a device signal to the accessory device [Once electronic device 300 determines that a potentially harmful liquid is present on its contacts, a variety of actions can be undertaken (FIG. 9A, step 960). For example, in various embodiments, device 300 can do one or more of the following:… (3) alert a user of the device that liquid has been detected on the contacts. The alert can be in the form of a message displayed on the device screen, an indicator light, a beep or any other suitable means (Jol ¶0060)].
Regarding claim 40, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 39, wherein the accessory device is configured to, in accordance with receiving the device signal from the electronic device, visualize the presence of liquid in a user interface of the accessory device [Jol ¶0060].
Regarding claim 41, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein the appliance interface is disposable [wherein it is understood that any element may be disposed of, such that the appliance interface as taught by Jol is considered to read on the claimed limitation], and wherein the electronic device is reusable [wherein it is understood that the electronic device 300 as defined by Jol is considered to comprise, for example, a smart phone (¶0037), which is considered to be reusable].
Regarding claim 43, Jol teaches
A method for detecting presence of liquid in an appliance interface [Connector 310 can include multiple contacts 315 located within a cavity (not shown in FIG. 3, but see cavity 210 in FIG. 2 as an example) (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3] comprising a first primary appliance terminal [a first contact is employed as a sensing contact for the liquid intrusion test (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3)], a reference appliance terminal [a second contact provides a reference voltage (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3)], and a dielectric region separating the first primary appliance terminal and the reference appliance terminal [Receptacle connector 200 includes eight contacts 205(1) . . . 205(8) that are spaced apart in a single row (Jol ¶0033), wherein being spaced apart is considered to define a dielectric region of air between the contacts], the method comprising the steps of:
generating and applying an electrical reference signal to the reference appliance terminal, wherein the generated reference signal comprises a first electrical waveform [For example, in some embodiments a first contact is employed as a sensing contact for the liquid intrusion test and a second contact provides a reference voltage. The reference voltage can be shared with power or ground (Jol ¶0039)],
detecting, while applying the electrical reference signal to the reference appliance terminal, an electrical primary signal from the first primary appliance terminal [Jol ¶¶0039; In some embodiments multiplexor 320 can also selectively route signals from LDM 330 onto one or more of the contacts 315 to conduct a liquid intrusion test (Jol ¶0041); When a liquid intrudes within the cavity of connector 310 and comes into contact with one or more of contacts 315, energy can be stored at the contact by the double layer capacitance effect as discussed above. LDM 330 can generate and apply a time varying signal to a contact over a range of frequencies and can measure complex impedance at a contact in connector 310 to determine whether liquid intrusion has occurred on the contacts (Jol ¶0042), wherein the Examiner notes that a dedicated reference contact is considered to read on the electrical reference signal being applied to the reference appliance terminal while an electrical primary signal is being detected from the first primary appliance terminal],
processing the detected primary signal to determine that liquid is present in the appliance interface [Jol ¶0039; As shown in FIG. 9A, liquid detection process 900 generates and applies a voltage signal to one or more contacts being tested in the manner described above at varying frequencies (step 910). In some embodiments, the voltage signal is applied as a sine wave at frequencies of 10 Hz, 100 Hz, 1,000 Hz and 10,000 Hz. As the voltage signal is applied to the contact, measurements are taken on both the phase and the magnitude of the voltage signal at each of the different frequencies at which it is applied (step 920). The measurements can then be compared to previously measured data of phase and magnitude versus frequency to determine whether or not potentially harmful liquid is present on the contact being tested (steps 930, 940) (Jol ¶0051)].
However, Jol fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processing of the detected primary signal is to determine whether the detected primary signal comprises a component that is the first electrical waveform of the generated reference signal in addition to one or more other detected components, and in accordance with determining the detected primary signal comprises the component that is to the generated reference signal, determining that liquid is present in the appliance interface.
Bacon discloses systems and methods for detecting presence of liquid in an appliance interface, wherein Bacon indicates that a short circuit between terminals of an electronic device coupled to an appliance interface results in a measured primary signal at a primary terminal to include a component of a reference signal applied at a reference terminal in addition to one or more other detected components [The controller 12 in that state proceeds with comparing the measured voltage of the first pin 5 to the predetermined threshold (thres), and specifically by action of the comparator 15… In this situation, the result of the comparison suggests that a liquid intrusion has been detected that forms a short circuit bridging the first pin 5 and the second pin 6, or the first pin 5 and the third pin 8 (assuming the latter has a significant enough voltage on it), which causes the voltage on the pin 5 to rise above the short circuit threshold (Bacon ¶0025), wherein the voltage as measured at pin 5 increasing due to the short circuit with pin 6/8 is considered to read on one or more other detected components (base voltage as measured at pin 5) in addition to a component that is a first electrical waveform of the reference signal (voltage from pin 6/8), due to the broad language of “component”]. Bacon further discloses performing the detection of the presence of liquid in an appliance interface while the electronic device is coupled to the appliance interface and remains on [In response to the output of the ADC 14 exceeding the predetermined threshold (which in this state is referred to as a short circuit threshold), the decision logic 19 signals the power converter 11 to reduce the power supply voltage that it produces on the second pin 6 of the connector 3, while the device 1 remains powered-on (Bacon ¶0025); Still referring to FIG. 1, in one embodiment, the decision logic 19 signals the power converter 11 to maintain the power supply voltage on the second pin 6 at a reduced but non-zero level, so long as the voltage of the first pin 5 (being compared by the comparator 15 while in the configuration of FIG. 2a) exceeds the predetermined short circuit threshold, and the system continues to be powered-on. In that case, performance by the portable device 1 of any actions that relate to the external connector 3, including providing power to the external device 2 and communicating with the external device 2, may continue albeit at a lower performance level. The expectation here is that the detected short circuit condition across the pins 5, 6 (or the pins 5, 8) of the external connector 3 may be “temporary.” (Bacon ¶0028)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Jol to employ wherein the processing of the detected primary signal is to determine whether the detected primary signal comprises a component that is the first electrical waveform of the generated reference signal in addition to one or more other detected components, and in accordance with determining the detected primary signal comprises the component that is to the generated reference signal, determining that liquid is present in the appliance interface, as this modification would amount to mere application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results [allow for measurable detection of liquid intrusion] [MPEP § 2143(I)(D)].
Regarding claim 44, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The method according to claim 43, wherein the method is performed in an electronic device coupled to the appliance interface [Jol ¶0038, see electronic coupling depicted in Fig. 3].
Regarding claim 46, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The method according to claim 43, wherein the appliance interface comprises the first primary appliance terminal being a terminal of a first electrode and a second primary appliance terminal being a terminal of a second electrode [wherein the contacts as defined in Jol ¶0039 are considered to define an electrode sensor], and wherein the method further comprises the steps of:
applying a voltage across the first primary appliance terminal and the second primary appliance terminal [Jol ¶0039],
monitoring the voltage across the first primary appliance terminal and the second primary appliance terminal [Jol ¶0039], and
determining, in accordance with a short-circuit across the first primary appliance terminal and the second primary appliance terminal, that liquid is present across the first electrode and the second electrode [Jol ¶0036].
Regarding claim 47, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The method according to claim 43, wherein the method further comprises, in accordance with determining that liquid is present in the appliance interface, the steps of:
transmitting a device signal to an accessory device comprising a graphical user interface [Jol ¶0060], and
indicating the presence of liquid in the graphical user interface [Jol ¶0060].
Regarding claim 48, Jol teaches
A medical device comprising:
an electronic system for detecting presence of liquid in an appliance interface, the system comprising:
an appliance interface [Connector 310 can include multiple contacts 315 located within a cavity (not shown in FIG. 3, but see cavity 210 in FIG. 2 as an example) (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3] comprising:
a primary appliance terminal [a first contact is employed as a sensing contact for the liquid intrusion test (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3)],
a reference appliance terminal [a second contact provides a reference voltage (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3)], and
a dielectric region separating the primary appliance terminal and the reference appliance terminal [Receptacle connector 200 includes eight contacts 205(1) . . . 205(8) that are spaced apart in a single row (Jol ¶0033), wherein being spaced apart is considered to define a dielectric region of air between the contacts]; and
an electronic device couplable to the appliance interface [portable electronic device 300 (Jol ¶0038, see electronic coupling depicted in Figure 3)], the electronic device comprising:
a primary device terminal configured to connect to the primary appliance terminal [In some embodiments multiplexor 320 can also selectively route signals from LDM 330 onto one or more of the contacts 315 to conduct a liquid intrusion test (Jol ¶0041)], and
a reference device terminal configured to connect to the reference appliance terminal [Jol ¶0041],
wherein the electronic device is configured to:
generate and apply an electrical reference signal to the reference appliance terminal, wherein the generated reference signal comprises a first electrical waveform [For example, in some embodiments a first contact is employed as a sensing contact for the liquid intrusion test and a second contact provides a reference voltage. The reference voltage can be shared with power or ground (Jol ¶0039)],
detect, while the electrical reference signal is being applied to the reference appliance terminal, an electrical primary signal from the primary appliance terminal [Jol ¶¶0039, 0041; When a liquid intrudes within the cavity of connector 310 and comes into contact with one or more of contacts 315, energy can be stored at the contact by the double layer capacitance effect as discussed above. LDM 330 can generate and apply a time varying signal to a contact over a range of frequencies and can measure complex impedance at a contact in connector 310 to determine whether liquid intrusion has occurred on the contacts (Jol ¶0042), wherein the Examiner notes that a dedicated reference contact is considered to read on the electrical reference signal being applied to the reference appliance terminal while an electrical primary signal is being detected from the first primary appliance terminal],
process the detected primary signal determine that liquid is present in the appliance interface [Jol ¶0039; As shown in FIG. 9A, liquid detection process 900 generates and applies a voltage signal to one or more contacts being tested in the manner described above at varying frequencies (step 910). In some embodiments, the voltage signal is applied as a sine wave at frequencies of 10 Hz, 100 Hz, 1,000 Hz and 10,000 Hz. As the voltage signal is applied to the contact, measurements are taken on both the phase and the magnitude of the voltage signal at each of the different frequencies at which it is applied (step 920). The measurements can then be compared to previously measured data of phase and magnitude versus frequency to determine whether or not potentially harmful liquid is present on the contact being tested (steps 930, 940) (Jol ¶0051)].
However, Jol fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processing of the detected primary signal is to determine whether the detected primary signal comprises a component that is the first electrical waveform of the generated reference signal in addition to one or more other detected components, and in accordance with determining the detected primary signal comprises the component that is the generated reference signal, determine that liquid is present in the appliance interface.
Bacon discloses systems and methods for detecting presence of liquid in an appliance interface, wherein Bacon indicates that a short circuit between terminals of an electronic device coupled to an appliance interface results in a measured primary signal at a primary terminal to include a component of a reference signal applied at a reference terminal in addition to one or more other detected components [The controller 12 in that state proceeds with comparing the measured voltage of the first pin 5 to the predetermined threshold (thres), and specifically by action of the comparator 15… In this situation, the result of the comparison suggests that a liquid intrusion has been detected that forms a short circuit bridging the first pin 5 and the second pin 6, or the first pin 5 and the third pin 8 (assuming the latter has a significant enough voltage on it), which causes the voltage on the pin 5 to rise above the short circuit threshold (Bacon ¶0025), wherein the voltage as measured at pin 5 increasing due to the short circuit with pin 6/8 is considered to read on one or more other detected components (base voltage as measured at pin 5) in addition to a component that is a first electrical waveform of the reference signal (voltage from pin 6/8), due to the broad language of “component”]. Bacon further discloses performing the detection of the presence of liquid in an appliance interface while the electronic device is coupled to the appliance interface and remains on [In response to the output of the ADC 14 exceeding the predetermined threshold (which in this state is referred to as a short circuit threshold), the decision logic 19 signals the power converter 11 to reduce the power supply voltage that it produces on the second pin 6 of the connector 3, while the device 1 remains powered-on (Bacon ¶0025); Still referring to FIG. 1, in one embodiment, the decision logic 19 signals the power converter 11 to maintain the power supply voltage on the second pin 6 at a reduced but non-zero level, so long as the voltage of the first pin 5 (being compared by the comparator 15 while in the configuration of FIG. 2a) exceeds the predetermined short circuit threshold, and the system continues to be powered-on. In that case, performance by the portable device 1 of any actions that relate to the external connector 3, including providing power to the external device 2 and communicating with the external device 2, may continue albeit at a lower performance level. The expectation here is that the detected short circuit condition across the pins 5, 6 (or the pins 5, 8) of the external connector 3 may be “temporary.” (Bacon ¶0028)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Jol to employ wherein the processing of the detected primary signal is to determine whether the detected primary signal comprises a component that is the first electrical waveform of the generated reference signal in addition to one or more other detected components, and in accordance with determining the detected primary signal comprises the component that is the generated reference signal, determine that liquid is present in the appliance interface, as this modification would amount to mere application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results [allow for measurable detection of liquid intrusion] [MPEP § 2143(I)(D)].
Regarding claim 52, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27, wherein:
the component is a first component [Jol ¶0039]; and
detecting, from the first primary appliance terminal, the primary signal while the electrical reference signal is being generated further comprises detecting, from the first primary appliance terminal, a second component of the one or more other detected components that correspond to an appliance connected to the appliance interface in addition to the detected first component [See § 103 modification of claim 1 above; Bacon ¶0025, wherein the base voltage as measured at pin 5 is considered to define a second component].
Regarding claim 53, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 52, wherein:
the appliance is connected to the first primary device terminal of the appliance interface [a plug connector 1100 that can be mated with connector 200 (Jol ¶0064)], and
the detecting is performed using a set of primary terminals of the appliance interface that does not include the reference device terminal and comprises the first primary device terminal [In some embodiments multiplexor 320 can also selectively route signals from LDM 330 onto one or more of the contacts 315 to conduct a liquid intrusion test as discussed below. In some embodiments the liquid detection testing signals are routed over a contact that is not currently being used for data signals, control signals or other purposes (Jol ¶0041), wherein as indicated in ¶0039 as the reference contact is configured to provide the reference voltage, and as ¶0041 indicates using primary contacts that are not otherwise in use, Jol ¶0041 is considered to read on the claimed limitation].
Regarding claim 54, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 53, wherein:
the appliance is further connected to a second primary device terminal of the appliance interface [Jol ¶0064], and
the set of primary terminals further comprises the second primary device terminal [Jol ¶0041].
Claim(s) 42 and 49-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jol in view of Bacon, as applied to claims 27 and 48 above, in further view of Thirstrup (US-20100030167-A1, previously presented).
Regarding claim 42, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The electronic system according to claim 27.
However, while Jol discloses that the appliance interface may comprise different types of connectors defining different configurations of a substrate [Connector 310 can be a computer peripheral serial bus connector, such as a Universal Serial Bus (USB) compliant connector, a Lightning connector developed by Apple Inc. or another connector that serves to pass both a power supply voltage as well as digital and/or analog control or communication signals to an external device (Jol ¶0039, Figures 2-3)], Jol in view of Bacon fails to explicitly disclose wherein the appliance interface is arranged on a stretchable substrate.
Thirstrup discloses systems for detecting leakage in dressings applied to skin [Thirstrup Abstract], wherein Thirstrup discloses an appliance interface comprising two electrodes printed on a flexible film [the first electrode and the second electrode are printed on a flexible film. This is one simple way of providing a dressing according to the invention as the film subsequently can be attached to the distal side of the adhesive body (Thirstrup ¶0045)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Jol in view of Bacon to employ wherein the appliance interface is arranged on a stretchable substrate as this would amount to simple substitution of one known element for another with similar expected results [allow for a terminal to be positioned thereon and allow for a short-circuit to be detected between the terminals (Jol ¶0039; Thirstrup ¶0047)] [MPEP § 2143(I)(B)].
Regarding claim 49, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The medical device according to claim 48.
However, Jol in view of Bacon fails to explicitly disclose wherein the medical device comprises an ostomy appliance.
Thirstrup discloses systems for detecting leakage in appliances applied to skin [Thirstrup Abstract], wherein Thirstrup discloses an appliance interface comprising two terminals, wherein the two terminals are configured to determine that liquid is present in the appliance interface of a wound dressing [Thirstrup ¶0045; an encircling groove is formed in the proximal adhesive surface of the adhesive body, encircling the centre of the bandage or dressing (Thirstrup ¶0046); A liquid filling the groove will practically create a short circuit or a strong capacitive coupling between the first conductive ring and the second conductive ring, which significantly will change the response from the circuit and thereby identifying a leak (Thirstrup ¶0047)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical device of Jol in view of Bacon to employ wherein the medical device comprises an ostomy appliance, as this would amount to applying a known technique [detection of the presence of a liquid between two terminals/electrodes] to a known device [medical device as disclosed by Jol] ready for improvement to yield predictable results [detect the presence of a liquid at an appliance interface (Thirstrup ¶0047)] [MPEP § 2143(I)(D)].
Regarding claim 50, Jol in view of Bacon teaches
The medical device according to claim 48.
However, Jol in view of Bacon fails to explicitly disclose wherein the medical device comprises a wound dressing.
Thirstrup discloses systems for detecting leakage in dressings applied to skin [Thirstrup Abstract], wherein Thirstrup discloses an appliance interface comprising two terminals, wherein the two terminals are configured to determine that liquid is present in the appliance interface [Thirstrup ¶¶0045, 0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical device of Jol in view of Bacon to employ wherein the medical device comprises a wound dressing, as this would amount to applying a known technique [detection of the presence of a liquid between two terminals/electrodes] to a known device [medical device as disclosed by Jol] ready for improvement to yield predictable results [detect the presence of a liquid at an appliance interface (Thirstrup ¶0047)] [MPEP § 2143(I)(D)].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks p. 9, filed 27 April 2026, with respect to the previously presented objection(s) to the Specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection for the abstract being greater than 150 words has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks p. 9-13, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 43, 48, and those dependent therefrom under § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jol (US-20190079037-A1, previously presented) in view of Bacon (US-20170358922-A1).
The Applicant asserts that Jol fails to anticipate “generat[ing] and apply[ing] an electrical reference signal to the reference appliance terminal, detect, while the electrical reference signal is being applied to the reference appliance terminal, an electrical primary signal from the first primary appliance terminal, [and] process the detected primary signal to determine whether the detected primary signal comprises a component that is the first electrical waveform of the generated reference signal in addition to one or more other detected components” as amended in claim 27, wherein the Applicant particular notes that Jol only describes selective operation of the disclosed contacts for either sensing or signaling, such that Jol teaches away from the claimed invention [Jol ¶¶0003, 0007, 0010, 0041, 0051]. However, the Examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Jol is further modified by Bacon, wherein Bacon indicates that a short circuit between terminals of an electronic device coupled to an appliance interface results in a measured primary signal at a primary terminal to include a component of a reference signal applied at a reference terminal in addition to one or more other detected components [Bacon ¶0025, wherein the voltage as measured at pin 5 increasing due to the short circuit with pin 6/8 is considered to read on one or more other detected components (base voltage as measured at pin 5) in addition to a component that is a first electrical waveform of the reference signal (voltage from pin 6/8), due to the broad language of “component”] and as Bacon further discloses performing the detection of the presence of liquid in an appliance interface while the electronic device is coupled to the appliance interface and remains on [Bacon ¶¶0025, 0028], wherein the Examiner notes that while Jol discloses structure and functionality directed towards preventing damage and/or corrosion due to a short circuit-causing liquid, the further modification by the disclosure of Bacon is considered to render obvious the argued functionality.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEVERO ANTONIO P LOPEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3791