DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 42-57, 59, and 60 have been examined in this application. Claims 42, 52, 56, and 60 are amended. Claims 43-51, 53-55, 57, and 59 are as previously presented. Claims 1-41 and 58 are cancelled.
This is a non-final office action in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed 9/2/2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Office Action Formatting
The following is an explanation of the formatting used in the instant Office Action:
• [0001] – Indicates a paragraph number in the most recent, previously cited source;
• [0001, 0010] – Indicates multiple paragraphs (in example: paragraphs 1 and 10) in the most recent, previously cited source;
• [0001-0010] – Indicates a range of paragraphs (in example: paragraphs 1 through 10) in the most recent, previously cited source;
• 1:1 – Indicates a column number and a line number (in example: column 1, line 1) in the most recent, previously cited source;
• 1:1, 2:1 – Indicates multiple column and line numbers (in example, column 1, line 1 and column 2, line 2) in the most recent, previously cited source;
• 1:1-10 – Indicates a range of lines within one column (in example: all lines spanning, and including, lines 1 and 10 in column 1) in the most recent, previously cited source;
• 1:1-2:1 – Indicates a range of lines spanning several columns (in example: column 1, line 1 to column 2, line 1 and including all intervening lines) in the most recent, previously cited source;
• p. 1, ln. 1 – Indicates a page and line number in the most recent, previously cited source;
• ¶1 – The paragraph symbol is used solely to refer to Applicant's own specification (further example: p. 1, ¶1 indicates first paragraph of page 1); and
• BRI – the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on application IL269715 filed in Israel on 09/26/2019. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 8/18/2026, have been fully considered.
Regarding the arguments pertaining to the claim rejections under 103 (presented on p. 10-11), the arguments and amendments are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of the additional prior art of Publication US2018/0237000A1 (Litkouhi et al.), as well as the previously relied upon prior art of Patent U.S. 10,518,879 B1 (Zhang et al.), Publication US2014/0244159A1 (Musabji et al.), Publication US2017/0307388A1 (McConathy et al.), Publication US2008/0147281A1 (Ishii et al.), Published Application US2020/0349368A1 (Mayster et al.), and NPL Publication “Single-View Place Recognition under Seasonal Changes” (Olid et al.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 42-57, 59, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 42, 52, and 56, the limitation: “determining an accurate geographic location of the vehicle by triangulating based on respective distances from the vehicle to the matched visual cues” renders the claims indefinite. As best understood by the office, triangulation refers to use of angle measurements for determining location of a point. Trilateration, in contrast, uses distance or range data to determine position coordinates (see also NPL Publication “Development of self-localizer using collaboration of trilateration and triangulation” on p. 1 regarding the two techniques). The limitation is therefore indefinite because it is not clear whether the claim is truly intended to refer to triangulation or instead is intended to refer to trilateration, per the recitation of the respective distances. Upon review of the specification (e.g. p. 46), the specification refers to the use of three visual cues and only discusses distance and not angles, which appears to suggest that the technique of trilateration is actually being used, and would be consistent with the distances recited in the claim language. However, the specification also recites the possibility of selecting of visual cues to be used based on distance, such that the claim could alternatively be interpreted as using triangulation using angles, but with cues that have first been selected based on distance. The scope of the claims is therefore indefinite. For the purposes of examination, any recitation of the use of triangulation or trilateration is understood to read on the limitation.
Claims 43-51, 53-55, 57, 59, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being dependent on rejected Claim 42, 52, or 56, and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42-46, 49, 52, 53, 56, 57, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent U.S. 10,518,879 B1 (Zhang et al.), in view of Publication US2014/0244159A1 (Musabji et al.), further in view of Publication US2018/0237000A1 (Litkouhi et al.).
Regarding Claim 42, Zhang et al. discloses a method for navigating a vehicle (see Figure 3, 9:5-15, output of corrected/drift-free trajectory from 326 can be used for causing travel/navigation) from a first location to a second location (see 9:5-15, output of corrected trajectory from 326, and see 10:34-48, correction including output of “following trajectory segment” from current position (i.e. first location), and end point or any other point of the trajectory being a “second location”), the method comprising, by a processor and memory circuitry associated with the vehicle (see Figures 1, 3, and 2:15-30, 8:23-30):
(a) obtaining data indicative of geographic-location related information associated with the first and second locations (see 10:34-48, obtain following trajectory segment, from current position (first location), to end point or any other point of the trajectory (a “second location”));
(b) determining data indicative of a navigation route from the first location to the second location based on the obtained data indicative of geographic-location related information (see Figure 5, and 10:34-48, trajectory R2 connects first and second location, i.e. all intermediate points of the line defining the data indicative of the navigation route), wherein the data indicative of the navigation route includes data indicative of a succession of at least two intermediate points (see Figure 5, and 10:34-48, trajectory R2 being a line (succession of points)), wherein each of the at least two intermediate points is associated with corresponding geographic-location related information (see Figure 5, line of points, 9:8 for global navigation),
(e) obtaining data indicative of a first local information, by retrieving, from a visual cues database comprising a plurality of records (see 10:16 features/points stored in image database), wherein each of the records comprises one or more visual cues associated with coordinates (see 10:22 image represents location), more than one visual cues having coordinates (see 10:16-22 plural features and location data stored in image database),
(f) obtaining data indicative of a second local information of a surrounding area (see 9:65-67, and Figure 3, SLAM, using camera data), wherein one or more images of the surrounding area of the vehicle are captured by at least one camera mounted on the vehicle (see 8:35-55), and wherein the second local information comprises extracting at least two visual cues from the one or more captured images (see 10:5-15, features points/descriptors extracted from each image);
(f1) identifying matches to more than one retrieved visual cues by comparing the more than one visual cues extracted from the one or more captured images with more than one visual cues retrieved from the visual cues database (see 10:12-20 feature points detected for each image and matched to features points in image database), and obtaining information associated with the matched visual cue, and determining an accurate geographic location of the vehicle (see 10:20-32, obtaining location label and determining mobile platform visits particular location);
(g) repeatedly and selectively modifying the data indicative of the navigation route (see Figure 3, trajectory correction (selectively modifying route), and see 12:34-37, continues trajectory estimation based on estimated orientation and following estimation updates (i.e. repeated)) based on the determined accurate geographic location of the vehicle, the obtained information associated with the matched retrieved visual cue (see 9:65-10:32, trajectory correction based on SLAM, which is based on match between camera data and image database and determined accurate location, as based on the location label); and
(h) navigating the vehicle based on the modified navigation route (see 9:9-16, navigating, steering and/or other control based on output 328).
Zhang et al. does not explicitly recite:
wherein each two successive intermediate points are associated with a corresponding segment of the navigation route;
(c) determining data indicative of a segment associated with a first and second intermediate points of the at least two intermediate points;
(d) determining data indicative of a direction of the segment from the first intermediate point to the second intermediate point, based on their corresponding geographic- location related information;
(e) obtaining data indicative of a first local information, based on the determined direction, wherein each of the records comprises one or more visual cues associated with GPS coordinates, more than one visual cues having corresponding GPS coordinates residing in a surrounding area of the determined segment; and
the modifying of the route based on: the direction of the segment.
However, Musabji et al. teaches a technique in navigation (see e.g. [0091])
wherein each two successive intermediate points are associated with a corresponding segment of the navigation route (see [0040, 0091], solution route is series of connected segments i.e. connection points);
(c) determining data indicative of a segment associated with a first and second intermediate points of the at least two intermediate points (see [0091, 0094] for any particular segment of the solution route as the user travels);
(d) determining data indicative of a direction of the segment from the first intermediate point to the second intermediate point (see [0099] guidance function including determination of direction of the navigation system 100 as it travels along the routes (i.e. each segment)), based on their corresponding geographic- location related information (see [0094] route guidance based on the determined route (i.e. based on the segment data and therefore the corresponding nodes));
(e) obtaining data indicative of a first local information, based on the determined direction (see [0099] step 1100, determine an image data record (indicative of local information) that corresponds to the direction), wherein each of the records comprises one or more images associated with GPS coordinates (see [0086] image data record indicates location such as longitude and latitude), more than one images having corresponding GPS coordinates residing in a surrounding area of the determined segment (see [0099] reference road segment data record to determine whether image data record exists and [0096] using longitude and latitude coordinates, and [0054] and Figure 7, created based on plural images).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the use of the image features and locations of Zhang et al. to determine image data records based on segments and direction and use GPS coordinates, as taught by Musabji et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving accuracy of navigation and better filtering data by providing images with the appropriate direction (see Musabji et al., [0006, 0099]).
Zhang et al. does not explicitly recite in (f1): determining an accurate geographic location of the vehicle by:
triangulating based on respective distances from the vehicle to the matched visual cues.
However, Litkouhi et al. teaches a technique to determine vehicle location based on matches between visual cues in images and a database (see [0067] match features between image data captured in sensor system and features in map data), comprising:
triangulating based on respective distances from the vehicle to the matched visual cues (see [0069] triangulate location of vehicle 10 based on localization data 326 relative to matched features, and see [0064] localization data 326 being relative position between vehicle and features, or alternatively [0024, 0073, 0081] trilateration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the use of matched features of Zhang et al. to further be used for position-finding as taught by Litkouhi et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving accuracy of travel and vehicle control by integration of image based techniques and odometry (see Litkouhi et al., [0003-0006]).
Regarding Claim 43, Zhang et al. does not explicitly recite the method of claim 42, wherein obtaining the data indicative of the geographic-location related information includes obtaining GPS coordinates associated with the first location and/or the second location.
However, Musabji et al. teaches the technique as above,
wherein obtaining the data indicative of the geographic-location related information includes obtaining GPS coordinates associated with the first location and/or the second location (see [0091] starting and destination location using “geographic coordinates” which [0044] refer to latitude and longitude (see also supporting reference “Global Positioning System - Wikipedia“ e.g. p. 1, 3, as evidence of latitude and longitude being “GPS coordinates”)).
Examiner's note: since the claim uses the conjunction "and/or," only one of the recited alternatives is necessary in the prior art to read on this claim.
The motivation to combine Zhang et al. and Musabji et al. was provided above in the rejection of Claim 42.
Regarding Claim 44, Zhang et al. discloses the method of claim 42, wherein obtaining the data indicative of the geographic-location related information further comprises obtaining one or more visual cues associated with the first location and/or the second location (see 9:65-10:17 obtaining current position by SLAM localization (the first location) performed by obtaining camera or database feature descriptors associated with images of the first location. Additionally, see 12:34-37, following estimation updates with SLAM, i.e. second location data will be obtained in the same way).
Examiner's note: since the claim uses the conjunction "and/or," only one of the recited alternatives is necessary in the prior art to read on this claim.
Regarding Claim 45, Zhang et al. does not explicitly recite the method of claim 42, wherein at least one of the first or the second intermediate points are identical to the first or the second locations, respectively.
However, Musabji et al. teaches the technique as above,
wherein at least one of the first or the second intermediate points are identical to the first or the second locations, respectively (see [0091] connected segments (which have first/second intermediate points) connect the starting location (first location) to destination (second location). In other words, for the first segment, the first intermediate point is identical to first location, and for the last segment, second intermediate point is identical to second location).
The motivation to combine Zhang et al. and Musabji et al. was provided above in the rejection of Claim 42.
Regarding Claim 46, Zhang et al. further discloses the method comprising:
(i) repeating stages (f) through (g) with respect to at least one different segment until reaching the second location (see 12:34-37, following estimation updates with SLAM, i.e. repeated localization and trajectory correction, to reach any next point or ultimate destination).
Zhang et al. does not explicitly recite the method of claim 42, the method further comprising:
(i) repeating stages (c) to (h) with respect to at least one different segment, the at least one different segment being between at least one different intermediate point than the first and second intermediate points, until reaching the second location.
However, Musabji et al. teaches the technique as above, wherein obtaining database images requires:
stages (c) through (e) with respect to at least one different segment (see the mapping of Claim 42 above with respect to Musabji et al. teaching (c) through (e)),, the at least one different segment being between at least one different intermediate point than the first and second intermediate points (see [0093] ordered list of plural segments, i.e. a subsequent segment will have a different, third intermediate point, in continuous route to destination).
The motivation to combine Zhang et al. and Musabji et al. was provided above in the rejection of Claim 42.
Regarding Claim 49, Zhang et al. discloses the method of claim 42, wherein the method further comprises:
configuring the vehicle (see 9:10-15, controlling steering, motors, wheels, rotors, etc.).
Regarding Claims 52, 53, and 56: all limitations as recited have been analyzed with respect to Claims 42 and 49. Claims 52 and 53 pertain to an apparatus corresponding to the method of Claims 42 and 49, respectively. Claim 56 pertains to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions corresponding to the method of Claim 42. Claims 52, 53, and 56 do not teach or define any new limitations beyond Claims 42 and 49, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 57, Zhang et al. discloses the method of claim 42, wherein navigating the vehicle comprising generating a signal to operate the vehicle along the modified navigation route (see 9:10-15, control for steering/motors, output 328).
Regarding Claim 60, Zhang et al. discloses the method wherein:
obtaining the data indicative of the geographic-location related information associated with the first location comprises:
(i) retrieving, from the visual cues database, one or more stored visual cues having corresponding position coordinates (see 10:15-22 image database with location information),
(ii) wherein one or more images of the surrounding environment of the vehicle are captured by the at least one camera mounted on the vehicle (see 8:35-55) for extracting at least one visual cue appearing in the one or more captured images (see 10:5-15, features points/descriptors extracted from each image); and
(iii)identifying a match by comparing the at least one visual cue extracted from the one or more captured images with the one or more retrieved stored visual cues (see 10:15-20 finding match of image by matching features points in image database) to obtain information associated with a matched retrieved visual cue, the obtained information being indicative of the first location as an accurate geographic location of the vehicle (see 10:20-32, location label of revisited location).
Zhang et al. does not explicitly recite: the method of claim 42, wherein obtaining the data indicative of the geographic-location related information associated with the first location comprises:
(i) retrieving, from the visual cues database, one or more stored visual cues having corresponding GPS coordinates residing in a surrounding area of the vehicle.
However, Musabji et al. teaches the technique as above,
wherein obtaining the data indicative of the geographic-location related information associated with the first location comprises:
(i) retrieving, from the visual cues database, one or more stored visual cues (see [0099] retrieve image data record) having corresponding GPS coordinates (see [0086] latitude and longitude associated w/image) residing in a surrounding area of the vehicle (see [0099] use segment data record or other data corresponding to current location of the navigation system to determine whether image data record exists).
The motivation to combine Zhang et al. and Musabji et al. was provided above in the rejection of Claim 42.
Claims 47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent U.S. 10,518,879 B1 (Zhang et al.), in view of Publication US2014/0244159A1 (Musabji et al.), further in view of Publication US2018/0237000A1 (Litkouhi et al.), further in view of Publication US2017/0307388A1 (McConathy et al.).
Regarding Claim 47, Zhang et al. further discloses the method further comprising:
(i) repeating stages (a) to (h) where the first location is a current location of the navigated vehicle (see 12:34-37, following updates, i.e. repeated process of SLAM as localization changes, and see the combination with Musabji et al. in the rejection of Claim 42 regarding all stages (a) through (h) as part of the localization and navigation), and
(k) performing the determining data indicative of a navigation route in the repeated execution of stage (b) (see 12:34-37, for repeated iteration).
Zhang et al. does not explicitly recite: the method of claim 42, the method further comprising:
(j) during or prior to the repeated execution of stage (b), selectively filtering out at least one forbidden intermediate point of the at least two intermediate points included in the repeated execution, upon determining that the at least one forbidden intermediate point falls in a forbidden area; and
(k) performing the determining data indicative of a navigation route in the repeated execution of stage (b), wherein the determined navigation route includes a succession of intermediate points that excludes the at least one filtered forbidden intermediate point.
However, McConathy et al. teaches a technique to navigate (see [0011] navigation system in vehicle), by:
(j) during or prior to navigation(see [0046-0047] prior to finalizing route), selectively filtering out at least one forbidden intermediate point of the at least two intermediate points included in the repeated execution, upon determining that the at least one forbidden intermediate point falls in a forbidden area (see [0046-0047] compare geo-coordinate of nodes corresponding to segment to geo-coordinate values corresponding to restriction to determine whether any portion of the segment of the route (i.e. including endpoints/nodes) intersects 94 the area that defines the retrieved restriction, and not using (i.e. filtering out) the corresponding route/nodes); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the consideration of intermediate points of Zhang et al. to use the restricted areas as taught by McConathy et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, resulting in the repeated execution of stage (b) using a succession of intermediate points that excludes the at least one filtered forbidden intermediate point, with the motivation of improving public safety and ensuring compliance with the law (see McConathy et al., [0002-0005]).
Regarding Claim 48, Zhang et al. does not explicitly recite the method of claim 47, wherein the geographic-location related information associated with the at least one intermediate point includes GPS coordinates, and wherein selectively filtering out comprises:
positioning the GPS coordinates on a map coordinate system; and
discarding at least some of the GPS coordinates upon determining that at least some of the GPS coordinates are positioned in a predefined forbidden part of the map coordinate system.
However, McConathy et al. teaches the technique as above, wherein selectively filtering out comprises:
wherein the geographic-location related information associated with the at least one intermediate point includes GPS coordinates (see [0046] segments are bound by two GPS points), and wherein selectively filtering out comprises:
positioning the GPS coordinates on a map coordinate system (see [0046] segments are bound by two GPS points); and
discarding at least some of the GPS coordinates upon determining that at least some of the GPS coordinates are positioned in a predefined forbidden part of the map coordinate system (see [0046-0047] discarding and not using route when any portion of the segment of the route (i.e. including nodes) intersects 94 the area that defines the retrieved restriction).
The motivation to combine Zhang et al. and McConathy et al. was provided above in the rejection of Claim 47.
Claims 50 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent U.S. 10,518,879 B1 (Zhang et al.), in view of Publication US2014/0244159A1 (Musabji et al.), further in view of Publication US2018/0237000A1 (Litkouhi et al.), further in view of Publication US2008/0147281A1 (Ishii et al.).
Regarding Claim 50, Zhang et al. does not explicitly recite the method of claim 49, wherein configuring the vehicle includes adjusting a handle connected to the vehicle.
However, Ishii et al. teaches a technique for a vehicle,
wherein configuring the vehicle includes adjusting a handle connected to the vehicle (see Figure 4B, [0075], a rotation command θref0 for maintain the handle 5 in the vertical position is generated in the central control device 91 and supplied to a motor control unit 92H that controls the driving of the driving motor 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the navigation system for a vehicle of Zhang et al. to be used in a vehicle as taught by Ishii et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of enhancing the robustness and flexibility of the navigation system to apply to additional vehicles while improving ease of use of the vehicle (see Ishii et al., [00012]).
Regarding Claim 54: all limitations as recited have been analyzed with respect to Claim 50. Claim 54 pertains to an apparatus corresponding to the method of Claim 50. Claim 54 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond Claim 50, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 51 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent U.S. 10,518,879 B1 (Zhang et al.), in view of Publication US2014/0244159A1 (Musabji et al.), further in view of Publication US2018/0237000A1 (Litkouhi et al.), further in view of Published Application US2020/0349368A1 (Mayster et al.).
Regarding Claim 51, Zhang et al. does not explicitly recite the method of claim 49, wherein configuring the vehicle includes configuring the speed of the vehicle.
However, Mayster et al. teaches a technique for a vehicle,
wherein configuring the vehicle includes configuring the speed of the vehicle (see [0031] autonomous driving or adaptive cruise control operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the vehicle of Zhang et al. to operate with a configurable speed as taught by Mayster et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of enhancing the robustness and flexibility of the navigation system to be used with autonomous vehicles or those with advanced driver assistance while increasing driver convenience (see Mayster et al., [0025, 0031]).
Regarding Claim 55: all limitations as recited have been analyzed with respect to Claim 51. Claim 55 pertains to an apparatus corresponding to the method of Claim 51. Claim 55 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond Claim 51, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent U.S. 10,518,879 B1 (Zhang et al.), in view of Publication US2014/0244159A1 (Musabji et al.), further in view of Publication US2018/0237000A1 (Litkouhi et al.), further in view of NPL Publication “Single-View Place Recognition under Seasonal Changes” (Olid et al.)
Regarding Claim 59, Zhang et al. does not explicitly recite the method of claim 42, wherein searching for the match to a stored visual cue comprises using a trained Siamese network deep learning network to find the match.
However, Olid et al. teaches a technique to match images in the field of vehicle (see e.g. Abstract),
wherein searching for the match to a stored visual cue comprises using a trained Siamese network deep learning network to find the match (see p. 3, Siamese neural network, pre-trained, for task of identifying similar feature vectors of places, and p. 4 deep models).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the searching for a match of Zhang et al. to use a network as taught by Olid et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving accuracy by allowing for the identification of matches even with seasonal changes (see Olid et al., Abstract).
Conclusion
/P.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669