Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 8 December 2025. Claims 1-3, 7-13 and 17-29 are currently pending of which claims 12, 13, 23 and 24 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25, 26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 109112567 A to Pan et al. (Pan).
As to claim 25, 26 and 29, Pan teaches a process comprising exposing an iron catalyst forming an anode for an oxygen evolution reaction to an external magnetic field of 10 mT to 5,000 mT (0.01 to 5 T) during an oxygen evolution reaction (Paragraphs 0006, 0022, 0030, 0031, 0033 and 0035). Iron being a specifically disclosed embodiment by the applicant and thus a process which, as evidenced by Applicant’s own disclosure, enhance the catalytic efficiency of the catalyst wherein the catalyst exhibits an increased Berry phase induced by the exposure of the catalyst to the external magnetic field and a non-zero Berry phase at 25°C (MPEP 2112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan as applied to claim 25 above and further in view of US 2018/0223438 A1 to Staser et al. (Staser).
As to claims 27 and 28, Pan teaches the method of claim 25. Pan teaches that the catalyst can comprise additional metals beyond iron, such as nickel; however fails to teach that this nickel is provided as an intermetallic. However, Staser also discusses electrocatalysts and teaches that by providing nickel with another metal such as platinum in a 1:1 ratio, NiPt, the lifetime of the catalyst can be extended (Paragraphs 0011 and 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the nickel catalyst of Pan with NiPt in order to extend the lifetime of the catalyst as taught by Staser. NiPt being a specifically disclosed embodiment by the applicant and thus a process which, as evidenced by Applicant’s own disclosure, enhance the catalytic efficiency of the catalyst wherein the catalyst exhibits an increased Berry phase induced by the exposure of the catalyst to the external magnetic field and a non-zero Berry phase at 25°C (MPEP 2112).
Claims 1-3, 7-11 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 109594098 A by Peng et al. (Peng) in view of “Hierarchical Porous Ni3S4 with Enriched High-Valence Ni Sites as a Robust Electrocatalyst for Efficient Oxygen Evolution Reaction” to Wan et al. (Wan).
As to claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 17 and 18, Peng teaches a process for enhancing catalytic efficiency of a catalyst within an oxygen evolution reaction cell, the process comprising exposing a catalyst comprising a metal oxide such as nickel, iron or cobalt oxides, to an external magnetic field of, for example, 125 mT during an oxygen evolution reaction (Paragraphs 0009, 0051 and 0052). The process of Peng performing the OER at 25°C (room temperature) (Paragraph 0057) However, Peng fails to teach a sulfide catalyst.
However, Wan also discusses enhancing catalytic efficiency for an oxygen evolution reaction and teaches that in comparison to a metal oxide such as nickel, iron or cobalt, a Ni3S4 catalyst has an enhanced efficiency (Abstract; Section 1. Introduction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the improved catalyst materials of Ni3S4 with the magnetic method of Peng in order to utilize multiple methods of enhancing the catalytic performance of the oxygen evolution reaction.
Ni3S4 being a specifically disclosed embodiment by the applicant and thus a process which, as evidenced by Applicant’s own disclosure, enhance the catalytic efficiency of the catalyst wherein the catalyst exhibits an increased Berry phase induced by the exposure of the catalyst to the external magnetic field and a non-zero Berry phase at 25°C (the process temperature of the combination) (MPEP 2112).
As to claims 8, 19 and 20, the combination of Peng and Wan teaches the process of claim 1. The remaining limitations of the claims relate to a non-required alternative wherein the catalyst is a metal carbide; however, the combination teaches an alternative embodiment of a metal sulfide, and thus meet the limitations of the claims.
As to claims 9 and 21, the combination of Peng and Wan teaches the process of claim 1. The remaining limitations of the claims relate to a non-required alternative wherein the catalyst is a Heusler alloy; however, the combination teaches an alternative embodiment of a metal sulfide, and thus meet the limitations of the claims.
As to claim 10, the combination of Peng and Wan teaches the process of claim 1. Peng further teaches that the anode catalyst has a plate like form with a planar surface (Paragraph 0032; Figure 1).
As to claims 11 and 22, the combination of Peng and Wan teaches the process of claim 10. Peng further teaches that the magnetic field that is applied to the plate like catalyst is arranged so that the field lines can be modified, and includes an embodiment with an angle of 90 degrees to the plate like catalyst, and thus field lines that run perpendicular to the catalyst (Paragraphs 0052 and 0070; Table 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794