DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 11-13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (US 5891097 A) in view of Lu et al. (US 20030168479 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Saito discloses a drug delivery device (fluid delivery device; Fig 1A) comprising: a drug product container (transformable fluid reservoir 113, Fig 1A-B) having at least one flexible wall (walls of fluid reservoir are flexible; see Fig 1B) and defining a cavity (cavity that reserves fluid 114) configured to contain a drug product; (fluid 114 is a liquid medicine; Col 5, lines 37-41; Col 11, lines 22-26); a pressurized vessel (compartment 106, Fig 1A-B) containing a gas (oxygen) under pressure (Col 4, lines 52-54: “the pressure of oxygen in the second compartment 106 increases so long as the current conduction is continued, because the second compartment 106 is kept air-tight.”); an urging member (partition member 103, Fig 1A-B) in working connection with the pressurized vessel (106) such that, upon at least partial release of the gas (oxygen) under pressure, the urging member (103) moves from occupying a first state (state immediately before use, Fig 1A; Col 3, lines 9-13) at a first end of the drug product container (first end 1002, Annotated Fig 1 of 113) to occupying a second state (state after use, Fig 1B) extending between the first end (1002, Annotated Fig 1) and a second end (1003, Annotated Fig 1), of the drug product container (113), the drug product container (113) disposed outside of the urging member (113) when the urging member (103) occupies the first state (state as shown in Fig 1A, drug product container 113 is at least partially outside of the urging member 103) thereby applying pressure progressively to the drug product container (113) (pressure is applied progressively as the actuator compresses fluid reservoir 113) to eject at least a portion of the drug product (114) from the drug product container (113) (Col 4, lines 45-63).
Saito is silent wherein the urging member comprises an inflatable bag that envelops the drug product container as it moves from the first state to the second state; the drug product container enveloped by the urging member when the urging member occupies the second state.
Lu teaches a delivery device (Fig 7) comprising: a product container (20) having at least one flexible wall (22) and defining a cavity configured to contain a product ([0024]); a pressurized vessel (pressurized fluid source 70, Fig 7) containing a gas under pressure ([0033]); an urging member (Donough balloon; [0050]; [0046]) in working connection with the pressurized vessel (70) such that, upon at least partial release of the gas under pressure (air); the urging member (Donough balloon; [0050]) comprises an inflatable bag (Donough balloon is a bag with a gap in the center; [0050]) that envelops the drug product container (20) as it moves from the first state (deflated state prior use; [0050]) to the second state (inflated state, after use; [0050] ballon envelops the drug product container 20 as it moves form the first deflated state to the inflated state); the drug product container (20) enveloped by the urging member (Donough balloon; [0050]) when the urging member occupies the second state (inflated state, after use; [0050]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Saito with similar doughnut shaped balloon enveloping the container as it inflates as taught by Lu for the purpose of surround the container and that single balloon is inflated to constrict the surface of the container to dispense the fluid product ([0050]).
Regarding claim 8, Saito/Lu discloses the drug delivery device as in claim 1. Saito discloses wherein the at least one flexible wall (walls of fluid reservoir 113, Fig 1A) comprises a first wall (1000, Annotated Fig 1) and a second wall (1001, Annotated Fig 1) cooperating to define the cavity (cavity containing fluid 114, Fig 1) configured to contain the drug product (114); and the drug product container (113) further comprises an outlet (opening connecting the reservoir 113 with fluid delivery pipe 115, Fig 1) in fluid communication with the cavity (cavity containing fluid 114, Fig 1) to selectively permit the drug product to exit the cavity (fluid 114 exit cavity of reservoir 133 and fluid is delivered through injection needle 116; Col 4, lines 60-63); wherein at least a portion of at least the first wall (1000, Annotated Fig 1) or the second wall (1001, Annotated Fig 1) includes and/or is coupled with an anti-sealing component (remaining volume of fluid 114; Fig 1B) that resists sealing between the first wall (1000, Annotated Fig 1) and the second wall (1001, Annotated Fig 1) while the drug product (114) exits the cavity (cavity containing fluid 114, Fig 1) (Col 5, lines 2-4 ; fluid 114 is coupled to a portion of the first 1000 and second 1001 wall and resist sealing between the walls; See Fig 1B which illustrates the termination of use state).
Regarding claim 11, Saito/Lu discloses the drug delivery device as in claim 8. Saito discloses wherein the first wall (1000, Annotated Fig 1) and the second wall (1001, Annotated Fig 1) are a single, integrally formed component (reservoir 133 is integrally formed by blow molding; Col 10, lines 1-10).
Regarding Claim 12, Saito/Lu discloses the drug delivery device as in claim 8. Embodiment of Fig 1A-2A of Saito is silent wherein the first wall and the second wall are separate components that are coupled with each other.
Saito embodiment of Fig 4, hereinafter Saito-4, teaches a drug delivery device (Fig 4) comprising an urging member (transformable portion 421+ plate 422, Fig 4); a drug product container (fluid reservoir 413, Fig 4) wherein a first wall (left sheet, Fig 4) and the second wall (right sheet, Fig 4) are separate components that are coupled with each other (Col 10, lines 3-5: “a laminated bladder produced by bonding two sheets at their outer peripheral portions through heat seal or the like”).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the inflatable bag of device of Saito/Lu with a laminated bladder coupled by bonding as taught by Saito-4 to increase the effective use of pressure, reduce the residual fluid and have a final compact plate shape after compression by the urging member (Col 10, lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 13, Saito/Lu discloses the drug delivery device as in claim 8. Saito discloses wherein the container (113) is a sterile, flexible, non-pressurized IV bag (Col 4, lines 21-23: transformable fluid reservoir 113 is sterile because it delivers a medicine fluid; if reservoir is not sterile will place the patient in risk of receiving a contaminated infusion; fluid reservoir 113 as shown in Fig 1A is in a non-pressurized state and comprise all necessary structure of an IV bag).
Regarding claim 21, Saito/Lu discloses the drug delivery device as in claim 1. Saito discloses comprising an enclosure (vessel body 101+ vessel cover 102, Fig 1) containing the drug product container (113) and the urging member (103).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (US 5891097 A) in view of Lu et al. (US 20030168479 A1) in further view of Cogley et al. (US 3838794 A).
Regarding claim 9, Saito/Lu discloses the drug delivery device as in claim 8. Saito is silent wherein the anti-sealing component includes a plurality of ridges or grooves.
Cogley teaches a drug delivery device (package 10, Fig 1) comprising an anti-sealing component (pattern of interconnected grooves 38, Fig 6) further including a plurality of ridges or grooves (36) (Col 3, lines: 51-57 “These grooves extend toward the side edges and also between the ends of the container, so that there will always be fluid access from the various regions of the container to its upper and lower parts”).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Saito/Lu with similar grooves as taught from Cogley for the purpose of having fluid access from the various regions of the container to its upper and lower parts fluid can always reach the port and reduce the volume of fluid remaining in the bag (Col 3, lines: 50-60).
Regarding Claim 10, Saito/Lu discloses the drug delivery device as in claim 8. Saito is silent wherein only one of the first wall and the second wall includes the anti-sealing component.
Cogley teaches a drug delivery device (package 10, Fig 1) comprising an anti-sealing component (pattern of interconnected grooves 38, Fig 6) further including a plurality of ridges or grooves (36) (Col 3, lines: 51-57) wherein only one of the first wall and the second wall includes the anti-sealing component (Col 3, lines 48-51: “the inside surface of at least one of the container sidewall members is modified by a pattern of interconnected grooves 38.”).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify one of the walls of the device of Saito/Lu with similar grooves as taught from Cogley for the purpose of having fluid access from the various regions of the container to its upper and lower parts fluid can always reach the port and reduce the volume of fluid remaining in the bag (Col 3, lines: 50-60).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (US 5891097 A) in view of Lu et al. (US 20030168479 A1) in further view of Nordquist et al. (US 20160067148 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Saito/Lu discloses the drug delivery device as in claim 8, Saito discloses the drug (fluid 114 is a liquid medicine which has an inherent surface tension; Col 5, lines 37-41). Saito is silent wherein both first and second walls are treated with hydrophobic coatings or physical features to minimize any drug adhesion.
Nordquist teaches a drug delivery device (enteral feeding system 100, Fig 1) comprising a product container (reservoir 112, Fig 1) wherein both first and second walls (side walls of reservoir 112) are treated with hydrophobic coatings or physical features to minimize any drug adhesion. ([0074]: “In some embodiments a hydrophobic material can be used so that liquid in the reservoir does not stick to walls or corners. Special bag material, or a bag material inner layer (in a multi-layer bag film material construction), or a coated material lining on the inside of the reservoir bag can be implemented to reduce surface tension”).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the product container inner walls of device of Saito/Lu with a similar hydrophobic coating as taught by Nordquist to avoid adhesion of the liquid to the walls or corners ([0074]).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (US 5891097 A) in view of Freyman et al. (US 20060200083 A1) in further view of Lu et al. (US 20030168479 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Saito discloses a drug delivery device (fluid delivery device; Fig 1A) comprising: a drug product container (transformable fluid reservoir 113, Fig 1A-B) having at least one flexible wall (walls of fluid reservoir are flexible; see Fig 1B) and defining a cavity (cavity that reserves fluid 114) configured to contain a drug product; (fluid 114 is a liquid medicine; Col 5, lines 37-41; Col 11, lines 22-26); a pressurized vessel (compartment 106, Fig 1A-B) containing a gas (oxygen) under pressure (Col 4, lines 52-54: “the pressure of oxygen in the second compartment 106 increases so long as the current conduction is continued, because the second compartment 106 is kept air-tight.”); an urging member (partition member 103, Fig 1A-B) in working connection with the pressurized vessel (106) such that, upon at least partial release of the gas (oxygen) under pressure, the urging member (103) moves from occupying a first state (state immediately before use, Fig 1A; Col 3, lines 9-13) at a first end of the drug product container (first end 1002, Annotated Fig 1 of 113) to occupying a second state (state after use, Fig 1B) extending between the first end (1002, Annotated Fig 1) and a second end (1003, Annotated Fig 1), of the drug product container (113), the drug product container (113) disposed outside of the urging member (113) when the urging member (103) occupies the first state (state as shown in Fig 1A, drug product container 113 is at least partially outside of the urging member 103) thereby applying pressure progressively to the drug product container (113) (pressure is applied progressively as the actuator compresses fluid reservoir 113) to eject at least a portion of the drug product (114) from the drug product container (113) (Col 4, lines 45-63).
Saito is silent wherein the urging member comprises an inflatable bag that envelops the drug product container as it moves from the first state to the second state; the drug product container enveloped by the urging member when the urging member occupies the second state.
Freyman teaches a delivery device (Fig 3-4) comprising an urging member (balloon 30a, Fig 3) and a drug product container (balloon 40a, which is shown containing a therapeutic agent 56, Fig 3), the urging member (30a) comprises an inflatable bag (balloon 30a is an inflatable bag; [0027]) and moves from the first state (deflated state, Fig 3; [0027]) to the second state (inflated state; [0027]);
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to substitute the urging member of device of Saito with similar ballon as taught by Freyman for the purpose of transmitting a force to the drug product container as the bag is being inflated ([0027]); inflatable bag actuators are known in the art to perform the same actuating function. The substitution would involve the substitution of one known element for another according to its known function and would have yielded predictable results with reasonable expectation of success.
Saito/Freyman are silent wherein the inflatable bag envelops the drug product container; the drug product container enveloped by the urging member when the urging member occupies the second state.
Lu teaches a delivery device (Fig 7) comprising: a product container (20) having at least one flexible wall (22) and defining a cavity configured to contain a product ([0024]); a pressurized vessel (pressurized fluid source 70, Fig 7) containing a gas under pressure ([0033]); an urging member (Donough balloon; [0050]; [0046]) in working connection with the pressurized vessel (70) such that, upon at least partial release of the gas under pressure (air); the urging member (Donough balloon; [0050]) comprises an inflatable bag (Donough balloon is a bag with a gap in the center; [0050]) that envelops the drug product container (20) as it moves from the first state (deflated state prior use; [0050]) to the second state (inflated state, after use; [0050] ballon envelops the drug product container 20 as it moves form the first deflated state to the inflated state); the drug product container (20) enveloped by the urging member (Donough balloon; [0050]) when the urging member occupies the second state (inflated state, after use; [0050]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Saito with similar doughnut shaped balloon enveloping the container as it inflates as taught by Lu for the purpose of surround the container using a single balloon, inflated to constrict the surface of the container to dispense the fluid product ([0050]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant submits that neither Saito or Lu alone or in combination discloses the amended claim limitations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Saito discloses the urging member (103) moves from occupying a first state (state immediately before use, Fig 1A; Col 3, lines 9-13) at a first end of the drug product container (first end 1002, Annotated Fig 1 of 113) to occupying a second state (state after use, Fig 1B) extending between the first end (1002, Annotated Fig 1) and a second end (1003, Annotated Fig 1), of the drug product container (113), the drug product container (113) disposed outside of the urging member (103) when the urging member (103) occupies the first state (state as shown in Fig 1A, drug product container 113 is at least partially outside of the urging member 103) . Saito further discloses the urging member 103 moves from the first state (state immediately before use, Fig 1A; Col 3, lines 9-13) to the second state (state after use, Fig 1B).
Saito is silent wherein the urging member comprises an inflatable bag that envelops the drug product container; the drug product container enveloped by the urging member when the urging member occupies the second state.
Lu teaches a delivery device (Fig 7) comprising the urging member comprises an inflatable bag (Donough balloon is a bag with a gap in the center; [0050]) that envelops the drug product container (20) as it moves from the first state (deflated state prior use; [0050]) to the second state (inflated state, after use; [0050] ballon envelops the drug product container 20 as it moves form the first deflated state to the inflated state); the drug product container (20) enveloped by the urging member (Donough balloon; [0050]) when the urging member occupies the second state (inflated state, after use; [0050]).
Saito/Lu as combined discloses the urging member (103 of Saito, now in the form of a Donough balloon as taught by Lu) moves from occupying a first state (deflated state prior use; [0050]; from Lu) at a first end (1002, Annotated Fig 1, from Saito) (Please note that the claim limitation do not exclude the urging member from occupying a state at both a first end and at a second end) of the drug product container (113, from Saito) to occupying a second state (inflated state, after use; from Lu) extending between the first end (1002, Annotated Fig 1, From Saito) and a second end (1003, Annotated Fig 1, From Saito) of the drug product container (113, From Saito), the drug product container (113, From Saito) disposed outside of the urging member (103, From Saito/Lu; at least a portion of the container is disposed outside the urging member, Fig 1A) when the urging member (103 from Saito/Lu) occupies the first state (deflated state prior use; [0050]; from Lu) and the drug product container (113, From Saito) enveloped by the urging member (103 from Saito/Lu) when the urging member occupies the second state (inflated state, after use; from Lu), wherein the urging member comprises an inflatable bag (103 from Saito/Lu is modified to take the form of an inflatable Donough balloon) that envelops the drug product container (113, From Saito) as it moves from the first state (deflated state prior use; [0050]; from Lu) to the second state (inflated state, after use; from Lu). Please note that the indication extension of the urging member between the first and the second state is not being further defined and both radial and longitudinal extension are within the scope of the claim.
However, in efforts to advance prosecution Claim 1 is further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (US 5891097 A) in view of Freyman et al. (US 20060200083 A1) in further view of Lu et al. (US 20030168479 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUILLERMO G PAZ ESTEVEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/Lauren P Farrar/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783