DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to communications filed on 03/02/2026. Claims 1-6, 8, 22-23 have been amended. Claims 7, & 9-20 are canceled. Presently, Claims 1-6, 8, & 21-24 remain pending and are hereinafter examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Previous rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) are withdrawn in view of the amendments filed on 03/02/2026.
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections under 35 USC § 103 have been fully, considered, but are not persuasive.
The Applicant position that the references fails to disclose storing both (i) a current use count or maximum number of uses and (ii) a status of the ICE catheter is not commensurate with the actual teachings relied upon. Denen is relied upon to disclose in-device memory storing utilization limitations (e.g., maximum use count) and utilization history (e.g., accumulated use count), which correspond to the claimed “one or more fields” including use counts. Deven further describes medical device operational conditions reflects in stored data and control logic that determines whether the device is enabled, in operation, or disabled. These teachings highlighted below in the Office Action, collectively correspond to storing usage related values and medical device status. The Examiner relies upon Deven, not Hassack, for these features.
Applicant arguments that the prior art fails to disclose, “a status [...] comprising one or more values selected from three or more values” including unlocked, in-use, locked status is unpersuasive. Deven discloses these features: a status of the medical device, wherein the status of the medical device comprises one value selected from three or more values,
-Denen discloses, the status of the medical device, wherein the status of the medical device comprises one value selected from three or more values, “a status” constitutes as the following the value of the locked value from the three or more values (i.e., the locked value, unlocked value, & in-use value).
If a certain number of faults occur, the control module is programed to write a “fault status flag” to the non-volatile memory, if flagged, the control module disables the power supply, preventing any future use, see [Col 9-10 l.55-67 to l.1-18]. This flag serves as a stored locked value representing the suspension of authorization (i.e., a status of the medical device, wherein the status of the medical device comprises one value selected from three or more values). Deven further discloses: wherein the three or more values comprise: an unlocked value representative of authorization for clinical use of the medical device with the clinical console; [Col 11-12 l.55-68 to l.1-3], [Col 13 l.29-38]. an in-use value representative of operating the medical device while connected to the clinical console; and [Col. 10 l.46-56], see also [Col 11-12 l.55-68 to l.1-3]; and a locked value representative of suspension of the authorization for the clinical use of the medical device with the clinical console [Col 9-10 l.55-67 to l.1-18]. Specifically, while Deven may not use the exact terminology recited in the claims, it teaches functionally equivalent states. The reference need not use identical language to satisfy a claim limitation where the functional correspondence is disclosed by the Deven.
Further, the Applicant provides advantageous (e.g., particular structural status values) that are not positively recited in the claims. Such arguments are not persuasive because these features are not recited in the claims.
Accordingly, the rejection under 35 USC § 103 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 21, 22, 3, 23, 4, & 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hossack et al (US 2008/0009745 A1) in view of Denen et al (US 5,400,267).
Claim 1: Hossack discloses, An apparatus, (FIG. 1) comprising:
an intracardiac echocardiography (ICE) catheter (ICE catheter 10, FIG. 1), comprising: (¶0008, ¶0042, ¶0056, FIG. 9-10)
a flexible elongate member (catheter shaft 12: ¶0043, ‘The catheter shaft 12 is a generally flexible elongate member having a distal segment 14,’) configured to be advanced through a blood vessel of a patient and into a heart of the patient; (¶Abstract, ¶0004, ¶0008, ¶0042-0043, ¶0052, ¶0057, Claim 1, FIG. 9-10)
an ultrasound transducer array (transducer array 32) coupled to a distal end (distal segment 14, ¶0008, ‘ultrasound catheter assembly is described herein that includes an elongate flexible shaft having a proximal end and a distal end.’, FIG. 2B-2C) of the flexible elongate member and configured to obtain imaging data while positioned within the heart; (¶Abstract, ¶0008, ¶0046, ¶0048, ¶0051, ¶0054, ¶0056 Claim 1, FIG. 2B-2C)
a handle (handle 18) coupled to a proximal end of the flexible elongate member (¶0008, ‘In accordance with exemplary embodiments described herein the catheter assembly also includes a handle coupled to the shaft near the proximal end.’) and configured to provide manual control for at least one of position or orientation of the ultrasound transducer array; (¶0008-0009, ¶0042-0044, ¶0047, ¶0050, Claim 1, Claim 21: -Handle 18 is coupled to the shaft near the proximal end, FIG. 1. This handle includes features for improved handed control of the position of the ultrasound transducer. The handle contains hand-controlled actuators (e.g., first actuator 22 & second actuator 24) for controlling the position of the ultrasonic transducer in space. Control can be achieved by rotating a tip (i.e., orientation control) and flexible a distal segment of the catheter shaft (i.e., position control). Thus, the starting controls provided by the hand-controlled actuators constitutes manual control for at least one of the position or orientation of the ultrasound transducer array.)
a communication cable (cable 28) extending proximally from the handle (FIG. 1) and configured to carry signals associated with the ultrasound transducer array; (¶0007, ¶0046, ¶0067, ¶0072-0073)
a connector (connector 30) coupled to a proximal end of the communication cable (FIG. 1) and configured to establish communication with a clinical console (¶0046, “an ultrasound system”); and (¶0046, ‘A cable 28 connects the handle 18 to a connector 30. The connector 30, which can be any of many possible configurations, is configured to interconnect with an ultrasound system for processing, storing, manipulating, and displaying data obtained from signals generated by a sensor mounted at the distal segment 14 of the catheter shaft 12.’)
Hassack fails to disclose:
a memory located in the handle or the connector, wherein the memory is configured to store one or more values for one or more fields, wherein the one or more fields comprises at least one of a current use count or a maximum number of uses; and
a status of the medical device, wherein the status of the medical device comprises one value selected from three or more values,
wherein the three or more values comprise:
an unlocked value representative of authorization for clinical use of the medical device with the clinical console;
an in-use value representative of operating the medical device while connected to the clinical console; and
a locked value representative of suspension of the authorization for the clinical use of the medical device with the clinical console.
However, Denen in the context of counting the number of times an medical instrument is used discloses: a memory located in the handle or the connector, wherein the memory is configured to store one or more values for one or more fields, wherein the one or more fields comprises at least one of a current use count or a maximum number of uses; and
-Denen discloses the non-volatile memory disposed withing electrically powered medical equipment, ¶Abstract. The non-volatile memory may be disposed within a handle, an electrical connector, or cable, or any other portion of the equipment having dimensions suitable for housing the memory and its related circuitry, [Col 4 l.60-68], ‘These and other objects are accomplished in accordance with the principles of the present invention by providing non-volatile memory disposed within medical equipment that may be used to store data pertaining to the equipment. The non-volatile memory may be disposed within a handle, an electrical connector or cable, or any other portion of the equipment having dimensions suitable for housing the non-volatile memory and its related circuitry.’; [Col. 5 l.1-19], ‘The non-volatile, in-device memory of the present invention may be provided by any known non-volatile memory device having dimensions suitable for disposition in medical equipment. Such memory devices may include, for example, read only memory (ROM), programmable read only memory (PROM), erasable programmable read only memory (EPROM), flash memory, battery-backed-up random access memory (RAM), non-volatile RAM, magnetic data storage apparatus, including tape drives and disk drives, optical data storage apparatus and most preferably, electrically erasable programmable read only memory (EEPROM). For the purposes of this application, EEPROM is defined as any non-volatile, semiconductor memory device in which the memory cells may be written to and erased on a byte-by-byte basis. Flash memory is defined as any non-volatile, semiconductor memory device that is erasable only in block.’. Specifically, the memory may be disposed within the handle (handle 11) or connector (connector 14) of the medical device, [Col. 7 l.45-46], ‘non-volatile memory 30 may be disposed within handle 11, or connector 14, of device 10.’
-The in-device memory is configured to store various data. This data includes utilization limits and utilization history, examples are included on FIG. 8, [Col 8 l.32-46], ‘Non-volatile memory 30 may comprise any device known to provide non-volatile memory to store various data 30' as shown in FIG. 8, described in detail hereinbelow. Preferably, non-volatile memory 30 is selected from a group of non-volatile memory devices that may be programmed during use, including but not limited to EEPROM, non-volatile RAM, battery-backed-up RAM, magnetic data storage apparatus and optical data storage apparatus. Alternatively, as will be shown hereinafter, certain objects of the present invention may be accomplished if non-volatile memory 30 is selected from a group of non-volatile memory devices that are not programmable during use. Such devices include, but are not limited to ROM, PROM, EPROM and flash memory.’ The core fundamental principle of Denen teachings is directed to the above recited claimed requirement, which Denen is relied on: see the following explicitly outlined by Denen, ¶Abstract, ‘A non-volatile memory disposed within electrically powered medical equipment is described. The non-volatile memory may be preprogrammed to store utilization limits and parametric data for the equipment. An external control module may be programmed to store the utilization history for the equipment in the non-volatile memory on an on-going basis. The control module compares the utilization limits and utilization history during each use, and disables the equipment if a utilization limit is exceeded. The control module may also use the parametric data stored in the non-volatile memory to regulate the power supplied to the equipment.’; [Col. 3 l.37-48], ‘The in-device memory of the present invention may be further preprogrammed with manufacturer specified utilization limits, for example, a maximum procedure count or use count, a maximum equipment utilization count, a maximum equipment actuation time and a maximum sterilization count. The non-volatile, in-device memory of the present invention may also be used to store the utilization history of the medical equipment on an ongoing basis, including, for example, an accumulated procedure count or use count, an accumulated instrument actuation count, an accumulated actuation time and an accumulated sterilization count.’, [Col 10 l.35-45], ‘Referring still to FIG. 3, a method for limiting the use of electrically powered medical equipment to manufacturer specifications is described. In addition to identification data and parametric data, it is contemplated that non-volatile memory 30 will be preprogrammed with equipment utilization limits before equipment 31 is distributed by the manufacturer. The utilization limits include a maximum procedure count, a maximum equipment actuation count, a maximum equipment actuation time and a maximum sterilization count.’; [Col 10 l.47-57], ‘non-volatile memory 30 is programmable during use, and comprises memory space dedicated to storing data reflecting the utilization of the equipment. The utilization history includes accumulated procedure count or use data, an accumulated equipment actuation count, an accumulated equipment actuation time, an accumulated sterilization count and any other data deemed relevant by the manufacturer. Control module 36 may be programmed to update the utilization history immediately before, during or immediately after use, as long as equipment 31 is energized.’
-Regarding the specific fields (i.e., current use count or maximum number of uses) the memory of Denen teachings stores data pertaining to the equipment, [Col. 15-24], ‘it is an object of the present invention to provide non-volatile memory disposed within medical equipment, that may be used to store data pertaining to the equipment. The in-device memory may be preprogrammed with identification data, which may be used to identify a particular instrument or component, or more generally, may be used to identify the equipment type. Such data may include, for example, the serial number or model number of the equipment.’. That is the objective of Denen teachings to store data pertaining to medical equipment.
-The storage and comparison of these field (i.e., the current use count and/or maximum number of uses) are associated with authorization for clinical use of the medical device via the external power supply and control module (i.e., a clinical console). This control module compares the utilization limits an utilization history during each use, ¶Abstract, ‘The non-volatile memory may be preprogrammed to store utilization limits and parametric data for the equipment. An external control module may be programmed to store the utilization history for the equipment in the non-volatile memory on an on-going basis. The control module compares the utilization limits and utilization history during each use, and disables the equipment if a utilization limit is exceeded.’ Hence, preventing further use of the equipment would “therefore be desirable to provide apparatus for more accurately tracking the usage of a limited-use medical device. The ability to track device usage would provide the capability for replacing a device before it fails, a vital consideration where the device is used in critical medical applications, such as surgical operations, or monitoring critically ill patients.’-[Col 1 l.38-44], and would “therefore be desirable to provide a system for more accurately tracking the usage of, and accmulating such usage data for, more durable power supply/controller/measuring apparatus that is used with limited-use medical devices.”-[Col 1. l.56-60]. Accordingly, the one or more fields is associated with, authorization for clinical use of the device with the clinical console.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify handle or connector of Hassack to include a memory located thereto configured to store one or more values for one or more fields, wherein the one or more fields comprises at least one of a current use count or a maximum number of uses such that the one or more fields is associated with, authorization for clinical use of the medical device with the clinical console as taught Denen for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus, with such an apparatus being able to “provide [...] more accurately tracking the usage of a limited-use medical device. The ability to track device usage would provide the capability for replacing a device before it fails, a vital consideration where the device is used in critical medical applications, such as surgical operations, or monitoring critically ill patients.’-[Col 1 l.38-44] as suggested by Denen, and “to provide a system for more accurately tracking the usage of, and accmulating such usage data for, more durable power supply/controller/measuring apparatus that is used with limited-use medical devices.”-[Col 1. l.56-60] as suggested by Denen. The modified combination would disclose for clinical use of the ICE catheter of Hassack with the clinical console of Hassack.
Denen further discloses,
a status of the medical device, wherein the status of the medical device comprises one value selected from three or more values,
-Denen discloses, the status of the medical device, wherein the status of the medical device comprises one value selected from three or more values, “a status” constitutes as the following the value of the locked value from the three or more values (i.e., the locked value, unlocked value, & in-use value).
If a certain number of faults occur, the control module is programed to write a “fault status flag” to the non-volatile memory, if flagged, the control module disables the power supply, preventing any future use, see [Col 9-10 l.55-67 to l.1-18]. This flag serves as a stored locked value representing the suspension of authorization (i.e., a status of the medical device, wherein the status of the medical device comprises one value selected from three or more values).
wherein the three or more values comprise:
an unlocked value representative of authorization for clinical use of the medical device with the clinical console;
-Denen discloses, an authorization state determined by comparing the usage counts stored in the utilization history region, against the utilization limits. The control module determines that utilization limits have not been exceeded, the power supply module is permitted to supply power to the connect equipment (i.e., the medical device). Upon successful comparison, an unlocked value or authorized status is represented for the authorization for clinical use of the medical device with the clinical console, [Col 11-12 l.55-68 to l.1-3], ‘If control module 36 determines that utilization limits have not been exceeded, power supply module 39 is permitted to supply power to the connected equipment. Control module 36 may be programmed to then monitor equipment utilization during use, so that control module 36 receives input from actuator 37 during the use. Such input may be supplied by a foot pedal, or a switch on the handle of equipment 31. Hence, control module 36 may be programmed to track the number of equipment actuations and the total equipment actuation time during use, for example in a surgical procedure. Control module 36 is programmed to accumulate equipment utilization data from the current use. At the end of the use, but before the supply of power to equipment 31 is interrupted, or at predetermined intervals, control module 36 updates the utilization history in non-volatile memory 30.’, [Col 13 l.29-38], ‘In accordance with this method, control module 36 may be programmed to read the available use values immediately after equipment 31 is connected to external power supply and control apparatus 32. If an available use value has reached zero, control module 36 disables power supply module 39, thereby preventing further use of equipment 31. Alternatively, control module 36 may be programmed to perform a more complicated computation using some or all of the available use values to determine if equipment 31 should be disabled.’
an in-use value representative of operating the medical device while connected to the clinical console; and
-Denen discloses, how the utilization history region are actively managed and tracked to reflect the device being operated while connected to the clinical console. The control module is programmed to update the utilization history in the non-volatile memory immediately before, during, or immediately after use. The control module in concert with the utilization history region tracks the utilization data (i.e., the number of actuations and total time) during use. This tracking data constitutes an (in-use) state of the medical device, [Col. 10 l.46-56], ‘In a preferred embodiment of the present invention, non-volatile memory 30 is programmable during use, and comprises memory space dedicated to storing data reflecting the utilization of the equipment. The utilization history includes accumulated procedure count or use data, an accumulated equipment actuation count, an accumulated equipment actuation time, an accumulated sterilization count and any other data deemed relevant by the manufacturer. Control module 36 may be programmed to update the utilization history immediately before, during or immediately after use, as long as equipment 31 is energized.’, see also [Col 11-12 l.55-68 to l.1-3].
a locked value representative of suspension of the authorization for the clinical use of the medical device with the clinical console.
-Denen discloses, a value directly correlated to a temporary suspension (i.e., a locked value) of the authorization for clinical use of the medical device with the clinical console. Denen discusses the current or voltage being supplied to the medical equipment exceeding a corresponding limit, indicating a fault, the control module registers the fault and disables the power supply module 39, thereby providing a disabling mechanism as a temporary locked value, the device being disabled but immediately authorized for renewal upon a reset, [Col 9-10 l.55-67 to l.1-18], “Referring still to FIG. 3, preprogrammed parametric data stored in non-volatile memory 30 may be used by appropriately programmed control module 36 to establish electrical fault limits for equipment 31. Parametric data transferred from non-volatile memory 30 to control module 36 may include current or voltage limits. These limits, if exceeded, indicate a fault condition, such as a high current or voltage duration greater than a predefined value. The parametric data may also include a fault count limit, which if exceeded, results in equipment deactivation. Control module 36 may be programmed to monitor the current or voltage being supplied by power supply module 39. If the current or voltage being supplied to equipment 31 exceeds the corresponding limit, control module 36 begins to clock the duration of the high current or voltage condition. If the duration exceeds the corresponding high current or voltage duration, a fault is registered, and control module 36 disables power supply module 39. Typically, power supply module 39 may be reset by the physician or medical technician, thereby allowing continued use of the equipment. However, if the number of faults during use exceeds the aforementioned fault count limit, control module 36 may disable power supply module 39, and prevent it from being reset. In addition, control module 36 may be programmed to write a fault status flag to non-volatile memory 30, to prevent any future attempts at using equipment 31 until it has been serviced. It is contemplated that the fault status flag will be interrogated by control module 36 immediately after equipment 31 is energized, and if set, will result in control module 36 disabling power supply module 39.’
-Denen discloses, a mechanism to enforce long-term or non-resettable suspension of authorization, which constitutes a permanently locked value, when the number of faults use exceeds a manufacture specified limit (i.e., fault count limit), the control module disables the power supply module 39, preventing it from being resent to attempt a further use of the medical device. Specifically, the control module is programmed to write a fault status to the memory, 30 to prevent future attempts of using the medical device, [Col 9-10 l.55-67 to l.1-18].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the status of the medical device modified Hassack to further comprises, the teachings as taught by Denen for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus, with such an apparatus being able to “provide [...] more accurately tracking the usage of a limited-use medical device. The ability to track device usage would provide the capability for replacing a device before it fails, a vital consideration where the device is used in critical medical applications, such as surgical operations, or monitoring critically ill patients.’-[Col 1 l.38-44] as suggested by Denen, and “to provide a system for more accurately tracking the usage of, and accmulating such usage data for, more durable power supply/controller/measuring apparatus that is used with limited-use medical devices.”-[Col 1. l.56-60] as suggested by Denen. The modified combination would disclose for clinical use of the ICE catheter of modified Hassack with the clinical console of modified Hassack (i.e., the status of the ICE catheter).
Claim 21: Hassack as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Hassack fails to disclose: wherein the memory comprises a plurality of regions.
However, Denen is relied upon above discloses: wherein the memory comprises a plurality of regions.
-Specifically, Denen non-volatile memory (memory 30) is programmed to store several distinct categories of data, which effectively serve as separate regions. The memory is programmed with identification data, which includes serial number and/or model number of the equipment (i.e., at least two the identification and the serial number). This data is used to identify a particular type of instrument/component/equipment type. Hence, this identification data serves as a first region such that Denen discloses, wherein the plurality of regions comprises a first region, wherein the one or more fields in the first region comprises at least one of a device identification or a serial number, and wherein the one or more fields in the first region comprises two or more of the device identification and the serial number, [Col. 3 l.15-24], ‘it is an object of the present invention to provide non-volatile memory disposed within medical equipment, that may be used to store data pertaining to the equipment. The in-device memory may be preprogrammed with identification data, which may be used to identify a particular instrument or component, or more generally, may be used to identify the equipment type. Such data may include, for example, the serial number or model number of the equipment.’ [Claim 3], ‘wherein the identification data comprises data from the group consisting of: serial number, model number’; [Col 8 l.-47-67], ‘Referring still to FIG. 3, it is contemplated that non-volatile memory 30 will be programmed with identification data that can be used by control module 36 to identify equipment 31. Such identification data may include a serial number, which uniquely identifies equipment 31, a model number, which identifies the equipment type, and other proprietary data programmed by the manufacturer. The preprogrammed identification data stored in non-volatile memory 30 may be used to ensure compatibility between equipment 31 and external power supply and control apparatus 32. After equipment 31 is connected to external power supply and control apparatus 32, control module 36 interrogates non-volatile memory 30 for identification data. Control module 36 may be programmed to compare the received identification data to corresponding data stored in control module 36. If the identification data stored in non-volatile memory 30 does not successfully compare to the corresponding data stored in control module 36, then control module 36 may disable power supply module 39, thereby rendering connected equipment 31 inoperable.’
-In another region, the memory is programmed with manufacturer specified utilization limits. These limits include a maximum procedure count, or use count, a maximum equipment utilization count, a maximum equipment actuation time, and a maximum sterilization count ¶Abstract, ‘The non-volatile memory may be preprogrammed to store utilization limits’; [Col. 3 l.37-48], ‘The in-device memory of the present invention may be further preprogrammed with manufacturer specified utilization limits, for example, a maximum procedure count or use count, a maximum equipment utilization count, a maximum equipment actuation time and a maximum sterilization count. The non-volatile, in-device memory of the present invention may also be used to store the utilization history of the medical equipment on an ongoing basis, including, for example, an accumulated procedure count or use count, an accumulated instrument actuation count, an accumulated actuation time and an accumulated sterilization count.’; [Col 10 l.35-45], ‘Referring still to FIG. 3, a method for limiting the use of electrically powered medical equipment to manufacturer specifications is described. In addition to identification data and parametric data, it is contemplated that non-volatile memory 30 will be preprogrammed with equipment utilization limits before equipment 31 is distributed by the manufacturer. The utilization limits include a maximum procedure count, a maximum equipment actuation count, a maximum equipment actuation time and a maximum sterilization count.’; Hence Denen discloses, wherein the plurality of regions comprises a second region,wherein the one or more fields in the second region comprises at least one of the current use count or the maximum number of uses.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify memory of modified Hassack to comprise a plurality of regions as taught Denen for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus, with such an apparatus being able to “provide [...] more accurately tracking the usage of a limited-use medical device. The ability to track device usage would provide the capability for replacing a device before it fails, a vital consideration where the device is used in critical medical applications, such as surgical operations, or monitoring critically ill patients.’-[Col 1 l.38-44] as suggested by Denen, and “to provide a system for more accurately tracking the usage of, and accmulating such usage data for, more durable power supply/controller/measuring apparatus that is used with limited-use medical devices.”-[Col 1. l.56-60] as suggested by Denen.
Claim 22: Hassack as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 21, Hassack fails to disclose:
wherein the plurality of regions comprises a first region,
wherein the first region is configured to store a first portion of the one or more values for a first portion of the one or more fields,
wherein first portion of the one or more fields in the first region comprises at least one of a device identification, a serial number.
However, Denen is relied upon above discloses: wherein the plurality of regions comprises a first region, wherein the first region is configured to store a first portion of the one or more values for a first portion of the one or more fields, wherein first portion of the one or more fields in the first region comprises at least one of a device identification, a serial number.
-Specifically, Denen non-volatile memory (memory 30) is programmed to store several distinct categories of data, which effectively serve as separate regions. The memory is programmed with identification data, which includes serial number and/or model number of the equipment (i.e., at least two the identification and the serial number). This data is used to identify a particular type of instrument/component/equipment type. Hence, this identification data serves as a first region such that Denen discloses, wherein the plurality of regions comprises a first region, wherein the first region is configured to store a first portion of the one or more values for a first portion of the one or more fields, wherein first portion of the one or more fields in the first region comprises at least one of a device identification, a serial number, [Col. 3 l.15-24], ‘it is an object of the present invention to provide non-volatile memory disposed within medical equipment, that may be used to store data pertaining to the equipment. The in-device memory may be preprogrammed with identification data, which may be used to identify a particular instrument or component, or more generally, may be used to identify the equipment type. Such data may include, for example, the serial number or model number of the equipment.’ [Claim 3], ‘wherein the identification data comprises data from the group consisting of: serial number, model number’; [Col 8 l.-47-67], ‘Referring still to FIG. 3, it is contemplated that non-volatile memory 30 will be programmed with identification data that can be used by control module 36 to identify equipment 31. Such identification data may include a serial number, which uniquely identifies equipment 31, a model number, which identifies the equipment type, and other proprietary data programmed by the manufacturer. The preprogrammed identification data stored in non-volatile memory 30 may be used to ensure compatibility between equipment 31 and external power supply and control apparatus 32. After equipment 31 is connected to external power supply and control apparatus 32, control module 36 interrogates non-volatile memory 30 for identification data. Control module 36 may be programmed to compare the received identification data to corresponding data stored in control module 36. If the identification data stored in non-volatile memory 30 does not successfully compare to the corresponding data stored in control module 36, then control module 36 may disable power supply module 39, thereby rendering connected equipment 31 inoperable.’
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify plurality of regions of modified Hassack to comprise a first region wherein the first region is configured to store a first portion of the one or more values for a first portion of the one or more fields, wherein first portion of the one or more fields in the first region comprises at least one of a device identification, a serial number as taught Denen for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus, with such an apparatus being able to “provide [...] more accurately tracking the usage of a limited-use medical device. The ability to track device usage would provide the capability for replacing a device before it fails, a vital consideration where the device is used in critical medical applications, such as surgical operations, or monitoring critically ill patients.’-[Col 1 l.38-44] as suggested by Denen, and “to provide a system for more accurately tracking the usage of, and accmulating such usage data for, more durable power supply/controller/measuring apparatus that is used with limited-use medical devices.”-[Col 1. l.56-60] as suggested by Denen.
Claim 3: Hassack as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 21, Hassack fails to disclose: wherein first portion of the one or more fields in the first region comprises two or more of the device identification, the serial number.
However, Denen is relied upon above discloses: wherein first portion of the one or more fields in the first region comprises two or more of the device identification, the serial number.
-Specifically, Denen non-volatile memory (memory 30) is programmed to store several distinct categories of data, which effectively serve as separate regions. The memory is programmed with identification data, which includes serial number and/or model number of the equipment (i.e., at least two the identification and the serial number). This data is used to identify a particular type of instrument/component/equipment type. Hence, this identification data serves as a first region such that Denen discloses, wherein the plurality of regions comprises a first region, wherein the first region is configured to store a first portion of the one or more values for a first portion of the one or more fields, wherein first portion of the one or more fields in the first region comprises at least one of a device identification, a serial number, [Col. 3 l.15-24], ‘it is an object of the present invention to provide non-volatile memory disposed within medical equipment, that may be used to store data pertaining to the equipment. The in-device memory may be preprogrammed with identification data, which may be used to identify a particular instrument or component, or more generally, may be used to identify the equipment type. Such data may include, for example, the serial number or model number of the equipment.’ [Claim 3], ‘wherein the identification data comprises data from the group consisting of: serial number, model number’; [Col 8 l.-47-67], ‘Referring still to FIG. 3, it is contemplated that non-volatile memory 30 will be programmed with identification data that can be used by control module 36 to identify equipment 31. Such identification data may include a serial number, which uniquely identifies equipment 31, a model number, which identifies the equipment type, and other proprietary data programmed by the manufacturer. The preprogrammed identification data stored in non-volatile memory 30 may be used to ensure compatibility between equipment 31 and external power supply and control apparatus 32. After equipment 31 is connected to external power supply and control apparatus 32, control module 36 interrogates non-volatile memory 30 for identification data. Control module 36 may be programmed to compare the received identification data to corresponding data stored in control module 36. If the identification data stored in non-volatile memory 30 does not successfully compare to the corresponding data stored in control module 36, then control module 36 may disable power supply module 39, thereby rendering connected equipment 31 inoperable.’
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the one or more fields in the first region of modified Hassack to comprise two or more of the device identification, the serial number as taught Denen for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus, with such an apparatus being able to “provide [...] more accurately tracking the usage of a limited-use medical device. The ability to track device usage would provide the capability for replacing a device before it fails, a vital consideration where the device is used in critical medical applications, such as surgical operations, or monitoring critically ill patients.’-[Col 1 l.38-44] as suggested by Denen, and “to provide a system for more accurately tracking the usage of, and accmulating such usage data for, more durable power supply/controller/measuring apparatus that is used with limited-use medical devices.”-[Col 1. l.56-60] as suggested by Denen.
Claim 23: Hassack as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 22, Hassack fails to disclose: wherein the plurality of regions comprises a second region,
wherein the second region is configured to store a second portion of the one or more values for a second portion of the one or more fields,
wherein the second portion of the one or more fields in the second region comprises at least one of the current use count or the maximum number of uses.
However, Denen is relied upon above discloses: wherein the plurality of regions comprises a second region, wherein the second region is configured to store a second portion of the one or more values for a second portion of the one or more fields, wherein the second portion of the one or more fields in the second region comprises at least one of the current use count or the maximum number of uses.
-In another region (utilization limit region (i.e., second region)), the memory is programmed with manufacturer specified utilization limits. These limits include a maximum procedure count, or use count, a maximum equipment utilization count, a maximum equipment actuation time, and a maximum sterilization count ¶Abstract, ‘The non-volatile memory may be preprogrammed to store utilization limits’; [Col. 3 l.37-48], ‘The in-device memory of the present invention may be further preprogrammed with manufacturer specified utilization limits, for example, a maximum procedure count or use count, a maximum equipment utilization count, a maximum equipment actuation time and a maximum sterilization count. The non-volatile, in-device memory of the present invention may also be used to store the utilization history of the medical equipment on an ongoing basis, including, for example, an accumulated procedure count or use count, an accumulated instrument actuation count, an accumulated actuation time and an accumulated sterilization count.’; [Col 10 l.35-45], ‘Referring still to FIG. 3, a method for limiting the use of electrically powered medical equipment to manufacturer specifications is described. In addition to identification data and parametric data, it is contemplated that non-volatile memory 30 will be preprogrammed with equipment utilization limits before equipment 31 is distributed by the manufacturer. The utilization limits include a maximum procedure count, a maximum equipment actuation count, a maximum equipment actuation time and a maximum sterilization count.’; Hence Denen discloses, wherein the plurality of regions comprises a second region, wherein the second region is configured to store a second portion of the one or more values for a second portion of the one or more fields, wherein the second portion of the one or more fields in the second region comprises at least one of the current use count and the maximum number of uses.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of regions of modified Hassack to comprise a second region, wherein the second region is configured to store a second portion of the one or more values for a second portion of the one or more fields, wherein the second portion of the one or more fields in the second region comprises at least one of the current use count or the maximum number of uses as taught Denen for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus, with such an apparatus being able to “provide [...] more accurately tracking the usage of a limited-use medical device. The ability to track device usage would provide the capability for replacing a device before it fails, a vital consideration where the device is used in critical medical applications, such as surgical operations, or monitoring critically ill patients.’-[Col 1 l.38-44] as suggested by Denen, and “to provide a system for more accurately tracking the usage of, and accmulating such usage data for, more durable power supply/controller/measuring apparatus that is used with limited-use medical devices.”-[Col 1. l.56-60] as suggested by Denen.
Claim 4: Hassack as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 23, Hassack fails to disclose: wherein the plurality of regions further comprises a third region, wherein the third region is configured to store a third portion of the one or more values for a third portion of the one or more fields, wherein a third portion of the one or more fields in the third region comprises the status of the medical device.
However, Denen is relied upon above discloses: wherein the plurality of regions further comprises a third region, wherein the third region is configured to store a third portion of the one or more values for a third portion of the one or more fields, wherein a third portion of the one or more fields in the third region comprises the status of the medical device.
-Denen defines a Utilization history region (i.e. a third region) within the non-volatile memory of the medical device, [Col 10 l.47-57], ‘non-volatile memory 30 is programmable during use, and comprises memory space dedicated to storing data reflecting the utilization of the equipment. The utilization history includes accumulated procedure count or use data, an accumulated equipment actuation count, an accumulated equipment actuation time, an accumulated sterilization count and any other data deemed relevant by the manufacturer. Control module 36 may be programmed to update the utilization history immediately before, during or immediately after use, as long as equipment 31 is energized.”, [Col 3 l.42-49], ‘The non-volatile, in-device memory of the present invention may also be used to store the utilization history of the medical equipment on an ongoing basis, including, for example, an accumulated procedure count or use count, an accumulated instrument actuation count, an accumulated actuation time and an accumulated sterilization count.’, [Col 11-12], ‘If control module 36 determines that utilization limits have not been exceeded, power supply module 39 is permitted to supply power to the connected equipment. Control module 36 may be programmed to then monitor equipment utilization during use, so that control module 36 receives input from actuator 37 during the use. Such input may be supplied by a foot pedal, or a switch on the handle of equipment 31. Hence, control module 36 may be programmed to track the number of equipment actuations and the total equipment actuation time during use, for example in a surgical procedure. Control module 36 is programmed to accumulate equipment utilization data from the current use. At the end of the use, but before the supply of power to equipment 31 is interrupted, or at predetermined intervals, control module 36 updates the utilization history in non-volatile memory 30.’. -Denen discloses the memory region includes the Utilization History region (i.e., the third region), but that the utilization limit region (i.e., the identified second region of Denen) is compared against the utilization history region, [Col 6 l.27-32], ‘The control module may be programmed to compare the accumulated utilization history to the corresponding utilization limits. If a limit has been exceeded, the control module disables the equipment by preventing the power supply from energizing the equipment; [Col 11 l.9-14], ‘Control module 36 may use the accumulated utilization history and the utilization limits to disable equipment 31 once the manufacturer recommended utilization limits have been exceeded. Control module 36 compares each utilization limit to its corresponding value in the accumulated utilization history.’ Hence the Utilization history region works in concert with the utilization limit region. When the utilization history region is compared against the utilization limits, the operating status, specifically authorization or prohibition of use of the medical device is defined for the clinical use of the medical device with the clinical console. The control module compares the utilization limits region and the utilization history region during each use, ¶Abstract, ‘The control module compares the utilization limits and utilization history during each use’, [Col 6 l.16-31], ‘Immediately after the equipment is energized by the external power supply and control apparatus, the control module interrogates the in-device memory for the aforementioned identification data, parametric data, and possibly the utilization limits and corresponding utilization history. [...] The control module may be programmed to compare the accumulated utilization history to the corresponding utilization limits. If a limit has been exceeded, the control module disables the equipment by preventing the power supply from energizing the equipment.’. The control unit uses these values to disable the medical device if a utilization limit has been exceeded. Disabling the medical device (i.e., preventing power supply) directly constitutes the loss of authorization for clinical use, [Col 4 l.42-59], ‘It is yet another object of the present invention to provide means for using the equipment utilization history stored in the in-device memory of the present invention to disable the equipment when a manufacturer specified utilization limit has been exceeded. The in-device memory of the present invention may be connected to an external control module, which may compare one or any combination of the aforementioned utilization limits to the corresponding accumulated values. Upon determining that a utilization limit has been reached, it is contemplated that the control module will disable the equipment, typically by preventing the power supply from delivering power to the equipment. As equipment utilization approaches a limit value, the control module provides the surgeon or medical technician with a "change equipment" advisory, so that the equipment can be replaced before it is disabled, thereby minimizing any impact of in-use replacement.’. Therefore, the status of the medical device (i.e., whether it is authorized for clinical use or disabled) is actively determined by the current values stored in the utilization history region relative to the utilization limits.
-In another region (utilization limit region (i.e., second region)), the memory is programmed with manufacturer specified utilization limits. These limits include a maximum procedure count, or use count, a maximum equipment utilization count, a maximum equipment actuation time, and a maximum sterilization count ¶Abstract, ‘The non-volatile memory may be preprogrammed to store utilization limits’; [Col. 3 l.37-48], ‘The in-device memory of the present invention may be further preprogrammed with manufacturer specified utilization limits, for example, a maximum procedure count or use count, a maximum equipment utilization count, a maximum equipment actuation time and a maximum sterilization count. The non-volatile, in-device memory of the present invention may also be used to store the utilization history of the medical equipment on an ongoing basis, including, for example, an accumulated procedure count or use count, an accumulated instrument actuation count, an accumulated actuation time and an accumulated sterilization count.’; [Col 10 l.35-45], ‘Referring still to FIG. 3, a method for limiting the use of electrically powered medical equipment to manufacturer specifications is described. In addition to identification data and parametric data, it is contemplated that non-volatile memory 30 will be preprogrammed with equipment utilization limits before equipment 31 is distributed by the manufacturer. The utilization limits include a maximum procedure count, a maximum equipment actuation count, a maximum equipment actuation time and a maximum sterilization count.’; Hence Denen discloses, wherein the plurality of regions comprises a second region, wherein the one or more fields in the second region comprises at least one of the current use count and the maximum number of uses.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of regions of modified Hassack to further comprise a third region, wherein the third region is configured to store a third portion of the one or more values for a third portion of the one or more fields, wherein a third portion of the one or more fields in the third region comprises the status of the medical device as taught by Denen for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus, with such an apparatus being able to “provide [...] more accurately tracking the usage of a limited-use medical device. The ability to track device usage would provide the capability for replacing a device before it fails, a vital consideration where the device is used in critical medical applications, such as surgical operations, or monitoring critically ill patients.’-[Col 1 l.38-44] as suggested by Denen, and “to provide a system for more accurately tracking the usage of, and accmulating such usage data for, more durable power supply/controller/measuring apparatus that is used with limited-use medical devices.”-[Col 1. l.56-60] as suggested by Denen. The modified combination would disclose for clinical use of the ICE catheter of modified Hassack with the clinical console of modified Hassack.
Claim 8: Hassack as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 7, Hassack fails to disclose: wherein the three or more values for the status of the medical device further comprises: a permanently locked value representative of a connection of the medical device to the clinical console when use of the medical device exceeds the maximum number of the uses.
However, Denen is relied upon above discloses: wherein the three or more values for the status of the medical device further comprises: a permanently locked value representative of a connection of the medical device to the clinical console when use of the medical device exceeds the maximum number of the uses
-Denen discloses, a mechanism to enforce long-term or non-resettable suspension of authorization, which constitutes a permanently locked value, when the number of faults use exceeds a manufacture specified limit (i.e., fault count limit), the control module disables the power supply module 39, preventing it from being resent to attempt a further use of the medical device. Specifically, the control module is programmed to write a fault status to the memory, 30 to prevent future attempts of using the medical device, [Col 9-10 l.55-67 to l.1-18].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the status of the ICE catheter indicative of the third region of modified Hassack to further comprises, a permanently locked value representative of a connection of the medical device to the clinical console when use of the medical device exceeds the maximum number of the uses as taught by Denen for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus, with such an apparatus being able to “provide [...] more accurately tracking the usage of a limited-use medical device. The ability to track device usage would provide the capability for replacing a device before it fails, a vital consideration where the device is used in critical medical applications, such as surgical operations, or monitoring critically ill patients.’-[Col 1 l.38-44] as suggested by Denen, and “to provide a system for more accurately tracking the usage of, and accmulating such usage data for, more durable power supply/controller/measuring apparatus that is used with limited-use medical devices.”-[Col 1. l.56-60] as suggested by Denen. The modified combination would disclose for clinical use of the ICE catheter of modified Hassack with the clinical console of modified Hassack.
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hossack et al (US 2008/0009745 A1) in view of Denen et al (US 5,400,267), as applied to claim 23, in further view of Levinson et al (US 2009/0018624 A1).
Claim 2: Hassack as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 23, Hassack fails to disclose: wherein the second portion of the one or more fields in the second region comprises a single usage time period and a beginning timestamp of current use.
However, Levinson in the context of limiting use of medical devices discloses: wherein second portion of the one or more fields in the second region (Use block 450, FIG. 4) comprises a single usage time period and a beginning timestamp of current use. (¶0049, ‘a use identifier field 456, a use start time field 458, a use stop time field 460, an identifier (“ID”) field 462, and a log field 464’).
-Within block 450, a record can be stored for each use. This record includes, a use start time field 458, which stores the time at which treatment start, thereby serving as the beginning timestamp of current use, ¶0049. Whereas the use stop time field 460, which stores the time at which treatment stopped. Hence the period defined between the time stored in the use start time field 458 and the time stored in the use stop field 460 represents the duration of that single usage time period, ¶0049.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second portion of the one or more field of the second region of modified Hassack such that it comprises a single usage time period and a beginning timestamp of current use as taught by Levinson. The motivation to do this yields predictable results such as enforcing device limitations, ensuring patient safety, as suggested by Levinson, ¶0019, ¶0034.
Claims 5, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hossack et al (US 2008/0009745 A1) in view of Denen et al (US 5,400,267), as applied to claim 4, in further view of Fuller et al (US 9,722,974 B1).
Claim 5: Hassack as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 4, Hassack fails to disclose: wherein second portion of the one or more values in the second region and the third portion of the one or more values in the third region comprise different encryptions.
However, Fuller in the context of multi-tiered encryption systems discloses, wherein second portion of the one or more values in the second region and the third portion of the one or more values in the third region comprise different encryptions.
-Fuller discloses a memory structure organized into a plurality of regions where the values of encryption in higher regions is based on values in lower regions, amounting to a tiered and therefore different encryption process for keys at different levels, [Col 2 l.44-54], ‘Accordingly, a data re-encryption service within a multi-tiered encryption system that manages key rotation policies is described herein that is capable of continuously or periodically re-encrypting user data. For example, a multi-tiered encryption system can include one or more encryption tiers. Each encryption tier can include a computing node (e.g., a computing device including one or more processors coupled to a memory) programmed to service encryption and/or decryption requests and a key store (e.g., a computer-readable storage medium or device) to store encryption keys.’, see also [Col 3 l.9-36], [Col 7 l.20-64])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second portion of the one or more values in second region and third portion of the one or more values in the third region of modified Hassack to be comprise different encryptions as taught by Fuller for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus being able to provide limiting use of an encryption thereby reducing the likelihood that a key could be reversed-engineered or otherwise compromised, thereby endangering the data encrypted, as suggested by Fuller, [Col 1-2].
Claim 6: Hassack as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 5, Hassack fails to disclose, wherein the different encryptions are based on the first portion of the one or more values in the first region.
However, Fuller is relied upon above discloses, wherein the different encryptions are based on the first portion of the one or more values in the first region.
-Upon review of the limitation, under the broadest reasonable interpretation the claim states that wherein the different encryptions are based on [emphasis added] the first portion of the one or more values in the first region. The term “based on” is ambiguous and lacks precision. The term “based on” is a broad and ambiguous term that doesn’t clearly define the extent or nature of the relationship that claimed invention is intended to present. As such, the term “based on” implies that the claim invention is derived from or closely related to the first region. There are not explicit steps or additional limitations recited in the claim that preclude this interpretation.
-Accordingly, Fuller discloses a memory structure organized into a plurality of regions where the values of encryption in higher regions is based on values in lower regions, amounting to a tiered and therefore different encryption process for keys at different levels, [Col 2 l.44-54], ‘Accordingly, a data re-encryption service within a multi-tiered encryption system that manages key rotation policies is described herein that is capable of continuously or periodically re-encrypting user data. For example, a multi-tiered encryption system can include one or more encryption tiers. Each encryption tier can include a computing node (e.g., a computing device including one or more processors coupled to a memory) programmed to service encryption and/or decryption requests and a key store (e.g., a computer-readable storage medium or device) to store encryption keys.’, see also [Col 3 l.9-36], [Col 7 l.20-64])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second region and the third region of modified Hassack such that the different encryptions are based on the first portion of the one or more values in the first region as taught by Fuller for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus being able to provide limiting use of an encryption thereby reducing the likelihood that a key could be reversed-engineered or otherwise compromised, thereby endangering the data encrypted, as suggested by Fuller, [Col 1-2].
Claims 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hossack et al (US 2008/0009745 A1) in view of Denen et al (US 5,400,267), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Hoffman et al (US 2015/0289944 A1).
Claim 24: Hassack as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Hassack fails to disclose: wherein the connector of the ICE catheter is configured to be directly connected to a distal connector of a patient interface module (PIM) cable extending between the ICE catheter and the clinical console, wherein the connector is configured to establish the communication with the clinical console via the PIM cable.
However, Hoffman in the context of systems and methods for authenticated intravascular device use and reuse, discloses, wherein the connector of the ICE catheter (102) is configured to be directly connected to a distal connector of a patient interface module (PIM) (520) cable extending between the ICE catheter and the clinical console (510, Fig. 5), wherein the connector is configured to establish the communication with the clinical console via the PIM cable. (FIG. 4, ¶0053-0056)
-Hoffman explicitly states that the catheter can be physically inserted into the PIM 520, ¶0056. Hence the details of the PIM’s function includes a connector in a clinical setting, ¶0053-0056.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ICE catheter of modified Hassack such that includes a PIM cable wherein the connector of the ICE catheter is configured to be directly connected to a distal connector of a patient interface module (PIM) cable extending between the ICE catheter and the clinical console, wherein the connector is configured to establish the communication with the clinical console via the PIM cable as taught by Hoffman for the advantage of providing an improve apparatus with such an apparatus being able to access, read, and/or write memory based on instructions from the clinical system, ¶0054 as suggested by Hoffman.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Frankel et al (US 2018/0337896 A1) discloses, Frankel in the context of computers for medical information ¶0020 discloses, wherein the one or more values in the second region and the one or more values in the third region are encrypted differently. (Claim 5, ‘wherein: the memory comprises a plurality of data partitions, and each of the plurality of data partitions uses a different encryption key to encrypt data entries within each data partition.’ -Memory 402 comprises a plurality of encrypted data partitions (e.g., partitions 404, 406, 408, 410). The encryption service engine is configured to encrypt groups of data within segments or partitions using a common encryption key for that partition, ¶0052, FIG. 4. The memory is configured such that each encryption data partition uses a different encryption key to encrypt data entries within that partition, ¶0055, Claim 5, that each include values using Key A/Key B confirming the values of different regions are encrypted. This process of encrypting different partitions using different keys advantageously enhances data security by limiting bad actor’s to access the contents of the encrypted data, ¶0008, ¶0012.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798