DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wozencroft (US 9440026 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector (Fig 1) for receiving and operating a syringe (syringe; Fig. 11(b)), the auto- injector comprising: a housing (main body portion 12 + nose piece 20, Fig 1) for receiving the syringe (syringe; Fig. 11(b)), the housing (12+20) comprising a main body (main body portion 12, Fig 1) and a door (nose piece 20, Fig 1) operable between an open (open position; Fig 11(a)) and a closed position (close position; claim 1), wherein the syringe (syringe; Fig. 11(b)) is receivable within the housing (12+20) when the door (20) is in the open position (open position; Fig 11(a)); at least one first biaser (externally operable actuating member; claim 5) configured to bias the door (20) from the open position (Fig 11(a)) towards the closed position (claim 5) and wherein opening the door (20) is arranged to store energy in the at least one first biaser (externally operable actuating member needs stored energy to urge the drive faces into lateral engagement against a bias; claim 4); and a plunger driver (constant force spring 60, Fig 4) being configured, on activation of the auto-injector (Fig 1), to drive a plunger (plunger of syringe) forward within the auto-injector (Fig 1) to operate the syringe (syringe; Fig. 11(b)) received within the auto-injector (Col 6, lines 58-62), the plunger driver (60) comprising at least one second biaser (60), a plunger driver (60) being further configured to be primed by storing energy in the at least one second biaser (60) when the door (20) is closed (Col. 1, lines 40-42) , and wherein the energy stored in the at least one first biaser on opening of the door (20) is used to prime the plunger driver (60) on closing of the door (20) (externally operable actuating member needs stored energy to urge the drive faces into lateral engagement against a bias; claim 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 13-16 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson et al. (US 20150297833 A1.) in view of Morlok (US 20190015591 A1) in further view of Wozencroft (US 9440026 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Henderson discloses an auto-injector (autoinjector 1, Fig 1) for receiving and operating a syringe (syringe 6, Fig 1), the auto-injector comprising: a housing (case 2 and door 3, Fig 1) for receiving the syringe (6)([0110]), the housing (2+3) comprising a main body (case 2, Fig 1) and a door (door 3, Fig 1) operable between an open (open position; [0110]) and closed position (closed position; [0110]), wherein the syringe (6) is receivable within the housing (2+3) when the door (3) is in the open position (open; [0110]); at least one first biaser (door spring; [0110]); and a plunger driver (drive springs 9, Fig 1) being configured, on activation of the auto-injector (when button is pressed), to drive a plunger (plunger 10, Fig 1) forward within the auto-injector (1) to operate the syringe (6) received within the auto-injector (1)([0138]), the plunger driver (9) comprising at least one second biaser (drive springs 9, Fig 1).
However, Henderson is silent wherein the biaser is configured to bias the door from the open position towards the closed position and wherein opening the door is arranged to store energy in the at least one first biaser; and the plunger driver being further configured to be primed by storing energy in the at least one second biaser when the door (3) is closed, and wherein the energy stored in the at least one first biaser on opening of the door is used to prime the plunger driver on closing of the door
Morlok teaches an injector device (Fig 1) for receiving and operating a syringe (syringe 16, Fig 2A), the device comprising: a housing (housing parts 6, 8, Fig 1) for receiving the syringe (Fig 2A) the housing (6+8) comprising a main body (housing part 6, Fig 2A) and a door (housing part 8, Fig 2A) operable between an open and closed position ([0065], open and closed positions); a first biaser (biasing means 50, Fig 3A) configured to bias the door (8) from the open position (Fig 2A) towards the closed position ([0065]: “(…)the two outer housing parts 6, 8 can be biased, in both the illustrated open position and in the closed position) and wherein opening the door (8) is arranged to store energy in the at least one first biaser (50) ([0065]; when biased in in the closed position, the opening of the door will store energy in the biaser 50 to move the door towards the closed position)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the spring of device of Henderson to bias the door towards the closing position as taught by Morlok for the purpose of closing the door automatically after syringe insertion improving user experience ([0065]).
Henderson/Morlok are silent regarding the plunger driver being further configured to be primed by storing energy in the at least one second biaser when the door is closed, and wherein the energy stored in the at least one first biaser on opening of the door is used to prime the plunger driver on closing of the door.
Wozencroft teaches an autoinjector (Fig. 1) comprising a plunger driver (60) being further configured to be primed by storing energy in the at least one second biaser (60) when the door (nose piece 20, Fig 4) is closed (Col. 1, lines 40-42)
Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft as modified discloses and wherein the energy stored in the at least one first biaser (door spring; [0110], of Henderson modified with teaching of Morlok to bias the door towards the close position, movement of the door to the opening position causes elastic energy to store in the door spring) on opening of the door (3, from Henderson) is used to prime the plunger driver (9, from Henderson) on closing of the door (3)(Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft as modified will prime the spring 9 of Henderson when the door 3 of Henderson closes; using the energy of door spring of Henderson).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Henderson/Morlok with similar latch and to prime the plunger driver when door is closed to prevent unwanted thereby preventing inadvertent firing (claim 9).
Regarding claim 2, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim 1. Henderson discloses wherein the at least one second biaser of the plunger driver (9) comprises one or more first springs ([0111]).
Regarding claim 3, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim 2. Henderson discloses wherein each of the one or more first springs comprises a tension spring ([0111]).
Regarding claim 4, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim1. Henderson discloses wherein the at least one first biaser comprises one or more second springs (door spring; [0110]).
Regarding claim 5, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim 4. Henderson discloses wherein the main body (2) and the door (3) are connected by a hinge (transverse hinge; [0109]), and the auto-injector (1) is provided with a charging link (lever 11, Fig 1) between the main body (2) and the door (3) wherein a connection (roller 13, Fig 1) of the charging link (11) to the main body (2) and/or a connection of the charging link to the door is a slidable connection (connection of lever 11 with roller 13 slides on tracks 14; [0113]) configured to slide when the door moves between the open (open) and closed positions (closed) ([0113]), the charging link (11) being configured to couple to a plunger driver (9) for priming thereof on a movement of the door (3) ([0134]).
Regarding claim 13, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim1. Henderson discloses wherein the movement of the door (3) to the closed position (closed) comprises the closing movement of the door (3) ([0110]).
Regarding claim 14, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim 5. Henderson discloses wherein the connection (pivot 12, Fig 1) of the charging link (11) to the door (3) is positionally fixed and the connection (13) of the charging link (11) to the main body (2) is slidable (connection of lever 11 with roller 13 slides on tracks 14; [0113]).
Regarding claim 15, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim 5. Henderson discloses wherein the connection (12) of the charging link (11) to the door (3) is positioned at a point up to a half, up to a third, or up to a quarter of the length of the door (3) from a hinge (transverse hinge; [0109]) of the door (3) (connection form the link 12 to hinge of door is up to a half, See Fig 1).
Regarding claim 16, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim 5. Henderson discloses wherein the main body (2) and the connection (12) of the charging link (11) to the door (3) are configured such that a maximum angle (angle between main body 2 and link 11) between the plane of the main body (3) and the charging link (11) during:(i) the movement of the door (3) to the open position (open); and (ii) the movement of the door (3) to the closed position (closed). Henderson do not disclose the maximum angle being up to 45 degrees.
The examiner notes that the angle is a result effective variable, dependent on the desired final position of the door. Further, the angle range in the instant specification is lacking specific criticality (page 9, lines 23-24 in the instant specification). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify angle of between the main body and the charging link to be in the claimed ranged since such modification would involve the optimization of a result effective variable, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Regarding claim 18, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim 5. Henderson discloses wherein the charging link (11) comprises a shuttle (roller 13 and distal foot 10.4, Fig 1) configured to travel along a shuttle guide (track 14, Fig 1) to provide a slidable connection of the charging link (11) to the main body (2) (connection of lever 11 with roller 13 and distal foot 10.4 slides on tracks 14; [0113]).
Regarding claim 19, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim 18. Henderson discloses wherein the shuttle (13+10.4) comprises a first priming portion (distal foot 10.4, Fig 3) coupled to the plunger driver (9) and configured to travel along the shuttle guide (14) ([0134]).
Henderson is silent when the door is moved in a direction opposite to that in which the at least one first biaser biases the door.
Morlok teaches an injector device (Fig 1) for receiving and operating a syringe (syringe 16, Fig 2A), the device comprising: a housing (housing parts 6, 8, Fig 1) for receiving the syringe (Fig 2A) the housing (6+8) comprising a main body (housing part 6, Fig 2A) and a door (housing part 8, Fig 2A) operable between an open and closed position ([0065], open and closed positions); a first biaser (biasing means 50, Fig 3A) configured to bias the door (8) from the open position (Fig 2A) towards the closed position ([0065]: “(…)the two outer housing parts 6, 8 can be biased, in both the illustrated open position and in the closed position))
Henderson/Morlok as modified discloses wherein the shuttle (13+10.4, from Henderson) comprises a first priming portion (distal foot 10.4, Fig 3, from Henderson) coupled to the plunger driver (9, from Henderson) and configured to travel along the shuttle guide (14, from Henderson) when the door (3, from Henderson) is moved in a direction opposite to that in which the biaser biases the door (3, from Henderson) (spring door as modified with teaching of Morlok biases the door towards the distal end in the closing direction; therefore the movement of 10. is proximal and opposite to the direction that door 3 is biased).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the spring of device of Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft to bias the door towards the closing position as taught by Morlok for the purpose of closing the door automatically after syringe insertion improving user experience ([0065]).
Regarding claim 20, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim 19. Henderson discloses wherein the main body (3) and/or the first priming portion (10.4) comprises a latch (hook 15.1 of tongue 15 disposed on the case 2; [0010]) configured to retain the first priming portion (10.4) in position after the door (3) has moved in a direction (distal direction) opposite to that in which the at least one first biaser (door spring) biases the door (3) ([0114]; [0116]: hook 15.1 engages ratchet 10.5 of distal foot 10.4 when primed is and remains engaged until device is actuated; (Fig 3)).
Regarding claim 21, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim 19. Henderson discloses wherein the shuttle (13+10.4) comprises a second priming portion (13) configured to travel along the shuttle guide (14) in the direction that the door (3) is biased (proximal direction) for priming the plunger driver (9) ([0007]; [[0136]).
However, Henderson is silent wherein the biaser is configured to bias the door from the open position towards the closed position.
Morlok teaches an injector device (Fig 1) for receiving and operating a syringe (syringe 16, Fig 2A), the device comprising: a housing (housing parts 6, 8, Fig 1) for receiving the syringe (Fig 2A) the housing (6+8) comprising a main body (housing part 6, Fig 2A) and a door (housing part 8, Fig 2A) operable between an open and closed position ([0065], open and closed positions); a first biaser (biasing means 50, Fig 3A) configured to bias the door (8) from the open position (Fig 2A) towards the closed position ([0065]: “(…)the two outer housing parts 6, 8 can be biased, in both the illustrated open position and in the closed position) and wherein opening the door (8) is arranged to store energy in the at least one first biaser (50) ([0065]; when biased in in the closed position, the opening of the door will store energy in the biaser 50 to move the door towards the closed position)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the spring of device of Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft to bias the door towards the closing position as taught by Morlok for the purpose of closing the door automatically after syringe insertion improving user experience ([0065]).
Henderson/Morlok are silent regarding the plunger driver being further configured to be primed when the door is closed, and wherein the energy stored in the at least one first biaser on opening of the door is used to prime the plunger driver on closing of the door.
Wozencroft teaches an autoinjector (Fig. 1) comprising a plunger driver (60) being further configured to be primed by storing energy in the at least one second biaser (60) when the door (nose piece 20, Fig 4) is closed (Col. 1, lines 40-42)
Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft as modified discloses comprises a second priming portion (13, From Henderson) configured to travel along the shuttle guide (14, From Henderson) in the direction that the door (3, From Henderson) is biased (distal direction, as modified with teaching of Morlok) for priming the plunger driver (9, From Henderson).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft with similar latch and to prime the plunger driver when door is closed to prevent inadvertent firing (claim 9).
Regarding claim 22, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim 21. Henderson discloses wherein the first (10.4) and second (13) priming portions are configured to travel together along the shuttle guide (14), and are separable such that the second priming portion (13) separates from the first priming portion (10.4) and travels along the shuttle guide.
Henderson is silent regarding wherein the first and second priming portions are configured to travel together on movement of the door in the direction opposite to the direction the at least one first biaser biases the door, and the second priming portion separates and travels on the movement of the door in the direction that the door is biased.
Morlok teaches an injector device (Fig 1) for receiving and operating a syringe (syringe 16, Fig 2A), the device comprising: a housing (housing parts 6, 8, Fig 1) for receiving the syringe (Fig 2A) the housing (6+8) comprising a main body (housing part 6, Fig 2A) and a door (housing part 8, Fig 2A) operable between an open and closed position ([0065], open and closed positions); a first biaser (biasing means 50, Fig 3A) configured to bias the door (8) from the open position (Fig 2A) towards the closed position ([0065]: “(…)the two outer housing parts 6, 8 can be biased, in both the illustrated open position and in the closed position) and wherein opening the door (8) is arranged to store energy in the at least one first biaser (50) ([0065]; when biased in in the closed position, the opening of the door will store energy in the biaser 50 to move the door towards the closed position)
Henderson/Morlok as modified discloses wherein the first (10.4, from Henderson) and second priming portions (13, from Henderson) are configured to travel together along the shuttle guide (14, from Henderson) on movement of the door (3, from Henderson) in the direction opposite to the direction the at least one first biaser (door spring; [0110] from Henderson) biases the door (3, from Henderson), and are separable such that the second priming portion (13, from Henderson) separates from the first priming portion (10.4, from Henderson) and travels along the shuttle guide (14, from Henderson) on the movement of the door (3, from Henderson) in the direction that the door (3, from Henderson) is biased (spring door as modified with teaching of Morlok biases the door towards the distal end in the closing direction; therefore the movement of 10.4 together with 13 is proximal and opposite to the direction that door 3 is biased; and the movement of 13 upon separation from 10.4 follows the direction (distal) in which the door 3 is biased).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the spring of device of Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft to bias the door towards the closing position as taught by Morlok for the purpose of closing the door automatically after syringe insertion improving user experience ([0065]).
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson et al. (US 20150297833 A1.) in view of Morlok (US 20190015591 A1) in further view of Wozencroft (US 9440026 B2) in further view of Yigal et al. (WO 2019032375 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim 5. Henderson discloses the drive spring could be tension or torsion drive springs ([0111]). Henderson is silent wherein each of the one or more second springs comprises a torsion spring.
Yigal teaches an auto-injector (injector 10, Fig 2A) comprising door (door 18, Fig 4) and a second spring (torsion spring 38, Fig 2A) wherein each of the one or more second springs (38) comprises a torsion spring ([0023]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the door spring of device of Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft with a torsional spring as taught by Yigal for the purpose of biasing the door to the fully open position ([0023]).
Regarding claim 7, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft/Yigal discloses an auto-injector according to claim 6. Henderson discloses wherein the spring (door spring; [0110]) is coupled to the door (3) and the main body (2) ([0110])
Henderson is silent wherein the spring comprises a torsion spring.
Yigal teaches an auto-injector (injector 10, Fig 2A) comprising door (door 18, Fig 4) and a second spring (torsion spring 38, Fig 2A) wherein each of the one or more second springs (38) comprises a torsion spring ([0023]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the door spring of device of Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft with a torsional spring as taught by Yigal for the purpose of biasing the door to the fully open position ([0023]).
Regarding claim 8, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft/Yigal discloses an auto-injector according to claim 7. Henderson is silent wherein the main body and the door are configured to twist the torsion spring on an opening or closing movement of the door.
Yigal teaches an auto-injector (injector 10, Fig 2A) comprising a body (exterior body of the injector housing 12 , Fig 2A; [0022]) a door (door 18, Fig 4) and a second spring (torsion spring 38, Fig 2A) wherein the main body (exterior body of the injector housing 12) and the door (18) are configured to twist the torsion spring (38) on an opening or closing movement of the door (18) ([0023]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the of device of Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft/Yigal so that the main body and the door are configured to twist the torsion spring on an opening or closing movement of the door as taught by Yigal for the purpose of biasing the door to the fully open position ([0023]).
Regarding claim 9, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft/Yigal discloses an auto-injector according to claim 6. Henderson discloses wherein the torsion spring (door spring; [0110]) is configured to apply a torque at the hinge (transverse hinge; [0109]) of the door (3) to bias the door (3) ([0110]; door spring is configured to exert a torque on the door 3 which undergo a rotational movement from the closed to open position).
Henderson is silent wherein the spring comprises a torsion spring.
Yigal teaches an auto-injector (injector 10, Fig 2A) comprising door (door 18, Fig 4) and a second spring (torsion spring 38, Fig 2A) wherein each of the one or more second springs (38) comprises a torsion spring ([0023]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the door spring of device of Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft with a torsional spring as taught by Yigal for the purpose of biasing the door to the fully open position ([0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft/Yigal discloses an auto-injector according to claim 4. Henderson discloses the drive spring could be tension or torsion drive springs ([0111]). Henderson further discloses the door spring ([0110]) but is silent wherein each of the one or more second springs comprises a tension spring and/or a compression spring.
Yigal teaches an auto-injector (injector 10, Fig 2A) comprising a body (exterior body of the injector housing 12 , Fig 2A; [0022]) a door (door 18, Fig 4) and a second spring (coil spring 38, Fig 2A; wherein each of the one or more second springs (38) comprises a tension spring and/or a compression spring (coil springs are well known for both tension and compression [0023]: “As also should be understood by those of ordinary skill in the art, the biasing member 38 may alternatively take the form of other members capable of storing and releasing energy. Non-limiting examples include other springs (e.g., coil or leaf springs) and the like).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the door spring of device of Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft with a coil spring as taught by Yigal for the purpose of biasing the door to the fully open position ([0023]).
Regarding claim 11, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft/Yigal discloses an auto-injector according to claim 10. Henderson discloses wherein the main body (2) and the door (3) are connected by a sliding means (connection of lever 11 with roller 13 slides on tracks 14; [0113]), and the auto-injector (1) is provided with a charging link (lever 11, Fig 1) between the main body (2) and the door (3) wherein the connection (13) of the charging link (11) to the main body (2) and/or the connection of the charging link to the door is a slidable connection (connection of lever 11 with roller 13 slides on tracks 14; [0113]) configured to slide when the door (3) moves between the open (open) and closed (closed) positions ([0113]), the charging link (11) being configured to couple to a plunger driver (9) for priming thereof on a movement of the door (3) ([0134]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson et al. (US 20150297833 A1.) in view of Morlok (US 20190015591 A1) in further view of Wozencroft (US 9440026 B2) in further view of Row et al. (US 20150165129 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft discloses an auto-injector according to claim 1. Henderson discloses a driving force of the plunger driver (9) ([0138]), but is silent wherein a driving force of the plunger driver is in the range from 30-50 Newtons.
Row teaches an injector (Fig 1) comprising a plunger driver (compression spring 606, Fig 7) wherein a driving force of the plunger driver is in the range from 30-50 Newtons ([0106]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the driving force of plunger driver of device of Henderson/Morlok/Wozencroft with a 30-50N driving force as taught by Row for the purpose of providing sufficient force for the injection to take place ([0100];[0106])
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11, and 13-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/GUILLERMO G PAZ ESTEVEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/Lauren P Farrar/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783