DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of JP 2019-180946, JP 2019-180947, and JP 2019-180942 all filed September 30, 2019 as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Receipt is also acknowledged of a copy of WO 2021/066056, the WIPO publication of PCT/JP2020/037278 filed September 30, 2020.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in Response to Applicant’s Remarks and Claim Amendments filed June 3, 2026.
Claims Filing Date
June 3, 2026
Amended
1, 2, 4, 5
New
19, 20
Cancelled
3
Pending
1, 2, 4-20
Withdrawn
8-11, 15-16, 18
Under Examination
1, 2, 4-7, 12-14, 17, 19, 20
The applicant argues claim 1 has been amended to incorporate the subject matter of previous claim 3 (p. 7 para. 1) and claim 4 has been amended into independent form with Z omitting B, Z1 limited to C, and Z2 limited to P or Si (p. 7 para. 2).
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following 112(a) rejection is withdrawn due to claim amendment:
Claim 1 lines 4-5 “M is one or more of transition metals of Group 4 to Group 6,…M1 is one or more of elements selected from M”.
The following 112(b) rejections are withdrawn due to claim amendment:
Claim 1 lines 1-2 “at least one of metalloid elements” and lines 3-6 “…Fe-M-Z based composition, M is one or more of transition metals of Group 4 to Group 6, Z is two or more of C, P, Si, B, and Ge,…”.
Claim 1 line 3 “Fe-M-Z based composition” and line 5 “M1”.
Claim 1 reciting the broad recitation in line 5 “M1 is one or more elements selected from M”, and claim 1 also reciting in lines 5-6 “M1 is one or more of elements selected from the group consisting of Ta, V, Zr, Hf, Ti, Nb, Mo, and W” and in lines 7-8 “an amount of Ta is 40 at% or more with respect to the entirety of M1” which are two narrower statements of the range/limitation.
Response to Remarks filed June 3, 2026
Inoue (JP 2000-144349 machine translation)
Applicant’s claim amendments, see amended claims 1 and 4, filed June 3, 2026, with respect to Inoue have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Inoue has been withdrawn.
Amended claim 1 lines 13-16 and claim 4 lines 11-4 require “an element Z having the highest content ratio as a ratio of the number of atoms with respect to the entirety of the soft magnetic alloy is set as Z1, and an element among Z having the highest content ratio except Z1 is set as Z2, Z1 is C, Z2 is P or Si”.
Inoue discloses an (Fe1-aZa)BMyXz composition, where X is one or more of P and C (Abstract, [0011]-[0012], [0016]-[0017], Tables 4-5), but is silent to a soft magnetic alloy comprising Z1 of C and Z2 of P or Si, where an element among Z having the highest content ratio is set as Z1, C, and an element among Z having the highest content ratio except Z1 is set as Z2, P or Si.
Sakai (JP H04-136139 machine translation) optionally in view of Martis (US 5,252,144) and Inoue (JP 2000-144349 machine translation)
Applicant’s claim amendments, see amended claims 1 and 4, filed June 3, 2026, with respect to Sakai have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Sakai option in view of Martis and Inoue has been withdrawn.
Amended claim 1 lines 13-16 and claim 4 lines 11-4 require “an element Z having the highest content ratio as a ratio of the number of atoms with respect to the entirety of the soft magnetic alloy is set as Z1, and an element among Z having the highest content ratio except Z1 is set as Z2, Z1 is C, Z2 is P or Si”.
Sakai discloses a Fe84Hf7P6C3 or Fe84Zr7P6C3 composition (Table 1) in which it is obvious to include 0 to 5 at% Ta (Abstract, p. 1 para. 2, p. 2 paras. 1-2). Sakai is silent to a soft magnetic alloy comprising Z1 of C and Z2 of P or Si, where an element among Z having the highest content ratio is set as Z1, C, and an element among Z having the highest content ratio except Z1 is set as Z2, P or Si. In the example compositions of Sakai, Z1 of C has a lower content ratio than Z2 of P.
New Grounds
In light of claim amendment and upon further consideration new grounds of rejection are made over Honda (JP 2002-74639 machine translation) and over Ito (JP 2002-155348 machine translation).
Claim Interpretation
With respect to claims 1-4 and “a coefficient of determination” applicant’s specification states that “a coefficient of determination R2 can be obtained from the primary regression equation” and that it is a measure of how likely two elements are to aggregate or disperse with each other ([0035]), where Figs. 1 and 2 show examples of two different coefficients of determination between Z at% and Fe at % ([0036]).
Applicant describes using 3DAP (three-dimensional atom probe) to determine the microscopic segregation or dispersion of elements ([0037]-[0039]) and that “The inventors found an analysis method of obtaining a coefficient of determination R2 of an atomic concentration of Fe and an atomic concentration of at least one of metalloid elements. Specifically, a scatter diagram is created from the atomic concentration of Fe and the atomic concentration of the at least one of metalloid element in each grid.” ([0042]).
Applicant’s specification states that “when changing the composition of the soft magnetic alloy and the heat treatment conditions, a concentration distribution of each element included in the soft magnetic alloy varies”, where “dependency of a concentration distribution of each element on a concentration distribution of another element varies.” ([0041]).
Applicant elected for prosecution the Fe-M-Z species. The pending claims, such as claims 5-7, define the composition of the soft magnetic alloy.
Applicant’s specification describes manufacturing the soft magnetic alloy ([0126]) as a ribbon with a single roll method ([0127]-[0131]) that is then heat treated to achieved the nanohetero structure ([0132]) by heating at a rate of 100°C/min or more to 450°C to 650°C, retaining for 0.1 to 5 minutes, then temperature-lowering at 50 to 1000°C/min ([0136]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 12-14, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 9 “an amorphous material and a nanocrystal having a grain size of 5 to 30 nm are mixed” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what requires an amorphous material and a nanocrystal. This limitation is written without context as to what it applies to. For the purpose of examination claim 1 will be interpreted as requiring the soft magnetic alloy to be a mixed structure of an amorphous material and a nanocrystal having a grain size of 5 to 30 nm.
Claim 1 lines 13-14 “an element among Z having the highest content ratio as a ratio of the number of atoms with respect to the entirety of the soft magnetic alloy is set as Z1” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if Z1 is required to have the highest content ratio among Z of “Z is two or more of C, P, Si, and Ge” (claim 1 lines 4-5) or if Z1 is required to have the highest content ratio with respect to the entirety of the soft magnetic alloy of “an Fe-M1-Z based composition” (claim 1 line 3). For the purpose of examination claim 1 will be interpreted in light of the examples of applicant’s specification (Tables 1-8) as Z1 having the highest content ratio among Z where “Z is two or more of C, P, Si, and Ge” (claim 1 lines 4-5).
Claim 13 line 2 “Fe-based nanocrystals” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if Fe-based nanocrystals further limit “a nanocrystal having a grain size of 5 nm to 30 nm” (claim 1 line 9) or if Fe-based nanocrystals are distinct from this claim 1 limitation. For the purpose of examination claim 13 will be interpreted as requiring Fe-based nanocrystals without limit on the grain size.
Claims 14, 17, and 19 are rejected as depending from claim 1.
Claim 4 line 7 “an amorphous material and a nanocrystal having a grain size of 5 to 30 nm are mixed” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what requires an amorphous material and a nanocrystal. This limitation is written without context as to what it applies to. For the purpose of examination claim 4 will be interpreted as requiring the soft magnetic alloy to be a mixed structure of an amorphous material and a nanocrystal having a grain size of 5 to 30 nm.
Claim 4 lines 11-12 “an element among Z having the highest content ratio as a ratio of the number of atoms with respect to the entirety of the soft magnetic alloy is set as Z1” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if Z1 is required to have the highest content ratio among Z of “Z is two or more of C, P, Si, and Ge” (claim 4 lines 3-4) or if Z1 is required to have the highest content ratio with respect to the entirety of the soft magnetic alloy of “an Fe-M1-Z based composition” (claim 4 line 2). For the purpose of examination claim 1 will be interpreted in light of the examples of applicant’s specification (Tables 1-8) as Z1 having the highest content ratio among Z where “Z is two or more of C, P, Si, and Ge” (claim 1 lines 4-5).
Claims 5-7, 12, and 20 are rejected as depending from claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 12-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda (JP 2002-74639 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Honda discloses a soft magnetic alloy comprising Fe and Z (Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si, Z is C and Si) ([0029]-[0032], [0042], Figs. 4, 5, 8),
wherein the soft magnetic alloy has an Fe-M1-Z based composition (Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si, M1 is Hf, Z is C and Si) ([0029]-[0032], [0042], Figs. 4, 5, 8),
Z is two or more of C, P, Si, and Ge and M1 is one or more of elements selected from the group consisting of Ta, V, Zr, Hf, Ti, Nb, Mo, and W (Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si, Z is C and Si, M1 is Hf) ([0031], [0032], [0042], Figs. 4, 5, 8),
M1 content is 3.0 to 14.0 at% (Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si, M1 is Hf) ([0029]-[0032], [0042], Figs. 4, 5, 8),
an amorphous material and a nanocrystal having a grain size of 5 to 30 nm are mixed (1 to 10 nm) ([0013], [0016], [0032], [0043]),
an element among Z having the highest content ratio as a ratio of the number of atoms with respect to the entirety of the soft magnetic alloy is set as Z1 (C), and an element among Z having the highest content ratio except Z1 is set as Z2 (Si) (Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si, Z is C and Si) ([0029]- [0032], [0042], Figs. 4, 5, 8),
Z1 is C (Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si) ([0029]-[0032], [0042], Figs. 4, 5, 8),
Z2 is P or Si (Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si, Z2 is Si) ([0029]-[0032], [0042], Figs. 4, 5, 8).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
The example composition of Honda, Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si, is silent to an amount of Ta of 40 at% or more with respect to the entirety of M1 in the soft magnetic alloy.
Honda discloses a soft magnetic film composed mainly of Fe and containing at least one element selected from Ta, Hf, Nb, Zr, C, Al, Zr, Si, B, and Ru ([0020], [0024], [0037]) with examples including 8 at% Ta or 8 at% Hf (Figs. 5, 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si example of Honda to replace the 8 at% Hf with 8 at% Ta because at least one of Ta and Hf can be added to the alloy ([0020], [0024], [0037]) with examples including Ta or Hf (Figs. 5, 8).
Therefore, the modified example of Honda is Fe- 8 at% Ta- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si ([0020], [0024], [0029]-[0032], [0042], [0037], Figs. 4, 5, 8).
The limitations of a coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of Fe and an atomic concentration of Z being 0.700 or more, a coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z1 being 0.600 or more or a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z2 being 0.600 or more, and a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of Z1 and the atomic concentration of Z2 being less than 0.400 have been considered and determined to recite a function, property, or characteristic of the claimed invention. The prior art discloses a composition that reads on that claimed (Fe- 8 at% Ta- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si) ([0020], [0024], [0029]-[0032], [0042], [0037], Figs. 4, 5, 8), such that the claimed functions, properties, or characteristics naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, including a coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of Fe and an atomic concentration of Z being 0.700 or more, a coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z1 being 0.600 or more or a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z2 being 0.600 or more, and a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of Z1 and the atomic concentration of Z2 being less than 0.400.
Regarding claim 2, Honda discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 1 as cited above.
A coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of Fe and an atomic concentration of the at least one of M1 being 0.700 or more has been considered and determined to recite a function, property, or characteristic of the claimed invention. The prior art discloses a composition that reads on that claimed (Fe- 8 at% Ta- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si) ([0020], [0024], [0031], [0032], [0042], [0037], Figs. 4, 5, 8), such that the claimed functions, properties, or characteristics naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, including a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of Fe and an atomic concentration of the at least one of M1 being 0.700 or more.
Regarding claim 4, Honda discloses a soft magnetic alloy comprising Fe and Z (Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si, Z is C and Si) ([0029]-[0032], [0042], Figs. 4, 5, 8),
wherein the soft magnetic alloy has an Fe-M1-Z based composition (Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si, M1 is Hf, Z is C and Si) ([0029]-[0032], [0042], Figs. 4, 5, 8),
Z is two or more of C, P, Si, and Ge, M1 is one or more of elements selected from the group consisting of Ta, V, Zr, Hf, Ti, Nb, Mo, and W (Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si, Z is C and Si, M1 is Hf) ([0029]-[0032], [0042], Figs. 4, 5, 8),
M1 content is 3.0 to 14.0 at% (Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si, M1 is Hf) ([0029]-[0032], [0042], Figs. 4, 5, 8),
an amorphous material and a nanocrystal having a grain size of 5 to 30 nm are mixed (1 to 10 nm) ([0013], [0016], [0032], [0043]),
wherein an element among Z having the highest content ratio as a ratio of the number of atoms with respect to the entirety of the soft magnetic alloy is set as Z1 (C), and an element among Z having the highest content ratio except Z1 is set as Z2 (Si) (Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si, Z is C and Si) ([0029]- [0032], [0042], Figs. 4, 5, 8),
Z1 is C (Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si) ([0029]-[0032], [0042], Figs. 4, 5, 8),
Z2 is P or Si (Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si, Z2 is Si) ([0029]-[0032], [0042], Figs. 4, 5, 8).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
The example composition of Honda, Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si, is silent to an amount of Ta of 40 at% or more with respect to the entirety of M1 in the soft magnetic alloy.
Honda discloses a soft magnetic film composed mainly of Fe and containing at least one element selected from Ta, Hf, Nb, Zr, C, Al, Zr, Si, B, and Ru ([0020], [0024], [0037]) with examples including 8 at% Ta or 8 at% Hf (Figs. 5, 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the Fe- 8 at% Hf- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si example of Honda to replace the 8 at% Hf with 8 at% Ta because at least one of Ta and Hf can be added to the alloy ([0020], [0024], [0037]) with examples including Ta or Hf (Figs. 5, 8).
Therefore, the modified example of Honda is Fe- 8 at% Ta- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si ([0020], [0024], [0029]-[0032], [0042], [0037], Figs. 4, 5, 8).
A coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of Fe and an atomic concentration of Z being 0.700 or more, a coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z1 being less than 0.500 or a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z2 being less than 0.500, and a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of Z1 and the atomic concentration of Z2 being less than 0.400 have been considered and determined to recite a function, property, or characteristic of the claimed invention. The prior art discloses a composition that reads on that claimed (Fe- 8 at% Ta- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si) ([0020], [0024], [0029]-[0032], [0042], [0037], Figs. 4, 5, 8), such that the claimed functions, properties, or characteristics naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, a coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of Fe and an atomic concentration of Z being 0.700 or more, a coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z1 being less than 0.500 or a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z2 being less than 0.500, and a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of Z1 and the atomic concentration of Z2 being less than 0.400.
Regarding claim 5, Honda discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 4 as cited above,
wherein the Fe-M1-Z based composition is expressed by a compositional formula of (Fe(1-(αβ))X1αX2β)(1-(a+b+c))M1aZbCrc (Fe- 8 at% Ta- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si) ([0020], [0024], [0029]-[0032], [0042], [0037], Figs. 4, 5, 8),
X1 is one or more of Co and Ni,
X2 is one or more of Al, Mn, Ag, Zn, Sn, Cu, Bi, N, O, S, and a rare-earth element,
0.030 ≤ a ≤ 0.140 (0.08),
0.030 ≤ b ≤ 0.275 (0.15),
0.000 ≤ c ≤ 0.030 (0.000),
0 ≤ α+β ≤ 0.50 are satisfied (0).
Regarding claim 6, Honda discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 5 as cited above,
wherein 0.050 ≤ b ≤ 0.200 is satisfied (0.15, Fe- 8 at% Ta- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si ([0020], [0024], [0029]-[0032], [0042], [0037], Figs. 4, 5, 8).
Regarding claim 7, Honda discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 5 as cited above,
wherein 0.730 ≤ 1-(a+b+c) ≤ 0.930 is satisfied (0.77, Fe- 8 at% Ta- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si) ([0020], [0024], [0029]-[0032], [0042], [0037], Figs. 4, 5, 8).
Regarding claim 12, Honda discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 5 as cited above,
wherein 0.050 ≤ a ≤ 0.140 is satisfied (0.08, Fe- 8 at% Ta- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si) ([0020], [0024], [0029]-[0032], [0042], [0037], Figs. 4, 5, 8).
Regarding claim 13, Honda discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 1 as cited above,
wherein the soft magnetic alloy contains nanocrystals ([0013], [0016], [0032], [0043]).
The soft magnetic alloy containing Fe-based nanocrystals has been considered and determined to recite a function, property, or characteristic of the claimed invention. The prior art discloses a composition that reads on that claimed (Fe- 8 at% Ta- 12 at% C- 3 at% Si) ([0020], [0024], [0029]-[0032], [0042], [0037], Figs. 4, 5, 8), such that the claimed functions, properties, or characteristics naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, including Fe-based nanocrystals.
Regarding claim 14, Honda discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 1 as cited above,
wherein the soft magnetic alloy has a ribbon shape (film) ([0015], [0029]-[0032]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda (JP 2002-74639 machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Ito (JP 2002-155348 machine translation).
Regarding claim 19, Honda discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 1 as cited above.
Honda is silent to Z2 being P.
Ito discloses a soft magnet alloy ([0001], [0009]-[0014]) wherein Z2 is P ([0048]-[0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the soft magnetic alloy of Honda for Z2 to be P because P inexpensively increases the amorphous alloy formation ability, preventing coarsening of the crystal structure and suppressing the formation of compound phases that adversely affect magnetic properties during heat treatment awhile increase the alloy resistivity , which reduces the generation of eddy currents and thus reduces iron loss (Ito [0048]-[0049]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda (JP 2002-74639 machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Ito (JP 2002-155348 machine translation).
Regarding claim 20, Honda discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 4 as cited above.
Honda is silent to Z2 being P.
Ito discloses a soft magnet alloy ([0001], [0009]-[0014]) wherein Z2 is P ([0048]-[0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the soft magnetic alloy of Honda for Z2 to be P because P inexpensively increases the amorphous alloy formation ability, preventing coarsening of the crystal structure and suppressing the formation of compound phases that adversely affect magnetic properties during heat treatment awhile increase the alloy resistivity , which reduces the generation of eddy currents and thus reduces iron loss (Ito [0048]-[0049]).
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 12-14, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (JP 2002-155348 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a soft magnetic alloy ([0001]) comprising Fe and Z (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc where T is Fe and X is C, such that X and P are Z) ([0009], [0017]),
wherein the soft magnetic alloy has an Fe-M1-Z based composition (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc where T is Fe, M is M1, and C and P are Z) ([0009]-[0018], [0021]-[0024], [0028]-[0030], [0033]-[0044], [0046]-[0051]),
Z is two or more of C, P, Si, and Ge (C and P) and M1 is one or more of elements selected from the group consisting of Ta, V, Zr, Hf, Ti, Nb, Mo, and W (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc where X is C, such that X and P are Z and M is Ta) ([0009]-[0018], [0021]-[0024], [0028]-[0030], [0033]-[0044], [0046]-[0051]),
M1 content is 3.0 to 14.0 at% and an amount of Ta is 40 at% or more with respect to the entirety of M1 in the soft magnetic alloy (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc where M is Ta and a is 4 to 10 at%) ([0005], [0010], [0028]-[0029], [0041], [0044]),
an amorphous material and a nanocrystal having a grain size of 5 to 30 nm are mixed (preferably 30 nm or less) ([0009], [0011], [0034], [0058]-[0059]),
an element among Z having the highest content ratio as a ratio of the number of atoms with respect to the entirety of the soft magnetic alloy is set as Z1, and an element among Z having the highest content ratio except Z1 is set as Z2 (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc where X is C (Z1) has b preferably of 2 to 10 at% and P (Z2) has c preferred of 0.1 to 2 at% or less) ([0009]-[0013], [0028]-[0030], [0046]-[0049], Tables 1-2),
Z1 is C (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc where X is C) ([0009], [0011]-[0013], [0028], [0030], [0046]),
Z2 is P or Si (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc requires P) ([0009]-[0018], [0028]-[0030], [0048]-[0049]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
The limitations of a coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of Fe and an atomic concentration of Z being 0.700 or more, a coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z1 being 0.600 or more or a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z2 being 0.600 or more, and a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of Z1 and the atomic concentration of Z2 being less than 0.400 have been considered and determined to recite a function, property, or characteristic of the claimed invention.
Ito discloses M1 (M is Ta) reduces the growth rate of fine crystal nuclei having amorphous formation ability, preventing coarsening of the crystal structure and suppressing the formation of compound phases that adversely affect magnetic properties during heat treatment ([0010], [0041], [0044]), C (Z1) does not dissolve in the bcc phase but remains in the amorphous phase, reducing the decrease in saturation magnetic flux density and improving soft magnetic properties such as permeability while being inexpensive ([0046]), P (Z2) enhances amorphous formation ability, prevents coarsening of the crystal structure, suppresses the formation of compound phases during heat treatment, and increases resistivity of the alloy ([0010], [0048]-[0049]), and Fe is the main component in the many fine bcc-Fe crystal grains that precipitate during heat treatment ([0010], [0058]-[0059]), where limiting M (Ta) and P improve permeability and lower coercivity ([0014], [0016]). Therefore, Z1 (C) and Z2 (P) remain in the amorphous phase, while Fe precipitates out in the crystals.
Further, the prior art discloses a composition that reads on that claimed (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc) ([0009]-[0018], [0021]-[0024], [0028]-[0030], [0033]-[0044], [0046]-[0051]). The prior art also discloses a process (Ito [0059]-[0063]) that is substantially similar to that disclosed by the applicant to manufacture the claimed soft magnetic alloy (applicant’s specification [0136]). Therefore, the claimed functions, properties, or characteristics naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, including a coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of Fe and an atomic concentration of Z being 0.700 or more, a coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z1 being 0.600 or more or a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z2 being 0.600 or more, and a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of Z1 and the atomic concentration of Z2 being less than 0.400.
Applicant
[0136]
Heating rate
100°C/min or more
To 450 to 650°C
Retain for 0.1 to 5 min
Cooling rate
50 to 1000 °C/min
Ito
[0059]-[0063]
Heating rate
20 to 200 K/min
To 480 to 810°C
Retain for 0 to 180 min
Rapidly cooling
Regarding claim 2, Ito discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 1 as cited above.
A coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of Fe and an atomic concentration of the at least one of M1 being 0.700 or more has been considered and determined to recite a function, property, or characteristic of the claimed invention. The prior art discloses a composition that reads on that claimed (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc) ([0009]-[0018], [0021]-[0024], [0028]-[0030], [0033]-[0044], [0046]-[0051]) produced by a substantially similar process (Ito [0059]-[003]) to that disclosed by applicant (applicant’s specification [0136])
Regarding claim 4, Ito discloses a soft magnetic alloy ([0001]) comprising Fe and Z (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc where T is Fe and X is C, such that X and P are Z) ([0009], [0017]),
wherein the soft magnetic alloy has an Fe-M1-Z based composition (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc where M is M1) ([0009]-[0018], [0021]-[0024], [0028]-[0030], [0033]-[0044], [0046]-[0051]),
Z is two or more of C, P, Si, and Ge (C and P), M1 is one or more of elements selected from the group consisting of Ta, V, Zr, Hf, Ti, Nb, Mo, and W (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc where X is C, such that X and P are Z and M is Ta) ([0009]-[0018], [0021]-[0024], [0028]-[0030], [0033]-[0044], [0046]-[0051]),
M1 content is 3.0 to 14.0 at% and an amount of Ta is 40 at% or more with respect to the entirety of M1 in the soft magnetic alloy (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc where M is Ta and a is 4 to 10 at%) ([0005], [0010], [0028]-[0029], [0041], [0044]),
an amorphous material and a nanocrystal having a grain size of 5 to 30 nm are mixed (preferably 30 nm or less) ([0009], [0011], [0034], [0058]-[0059]),
an element among Z having the highest content ratio as a ratio of the number of atoms with respect to the entirety of the soft magnetic alloy is set as Z1, and an element among Z having the highest content ratio except Z1 is set as Z2 (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc where X is C (Z1) has b preferably of 2 to 10 at% and P (Z2) has c preferred of 0.1 to 2 at% or less) ([0009]-[0013], [0028]-[0030], [0046]-[0049], Tables 1-2),
Z1 is C (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc where X is C) ([0009], [0011]-[0013], [0028], [0030], [0046]),
Z2 is P or Si (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc requires P) ([0009]-[0018], [0028]-[0030], [0048]-[0049]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
A coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of Fe and an atomic concentration of Z being 0.700 or more, a coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z1 being less than 0.500 or a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z2 being less than 0.500, and a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of Z1 and the atomic concentration of Z2 being less than 0.400 have been considered and determined to recite a function, property, or characteristic of the claimed invention.
Ito discloses M1 (M is Ta) reduces the growth rate of fine crystal nuclei having amorphous formation ability, preventing coarsening of the crystal structure and suppressing the formation of compound phases that adversely affect magnetic properties during heat treatment ([0010], [0041], [0044]), C (Z1) does not dissolve in the bcc phase but remains in the amorphous phase, reducing the decrease in saturation magnetic flux density and improving soft magnetic properties such as permeability while being inexpensive ([0046]), P (Z2) enhances amorphous formation ability, prevents coarsening of the crystal structure, suppresses the formation of compound phases during heat treatment, and increases resistivity of the alloy ([0010], [0048]-[0049]), and Fe is the main component in the many fine bcc-Fe crystal grains that precipitate during heat treatment ([0010], [0058]-[0059]), where limiting M (Ta) and P improve permeability and lower coercivity ([0014], [0016]). Therefore, Z1 (C) and Z2 (P) remain in the amorphous phase, while Fe precipitates out in the crystals.
Further, the prior art discloses a composition that reads on that claimed (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc) ([0009]-[0018], [0021]-[0024], [0028]-[0030], [0033]-[0044], [0046]-[0051]). The prior art also discloses a process (Ito [0059]-[0063]) that is substantially similar to that disclosed by the applicant to manufacture the claimed soft magnetic alloy (applicant’s specification [0136]). Therefore, the claimed functions, properties, or characteristics naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, including a coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of Fe and an atomic concentration of Z being 0.700 or more, a coefficient of determination between an atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z1 being less than 0.500 or a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of M1 and an atomic concentration of Z2 being less than 0.500, and a coefficient of determination between the atomic concentration of Z1 and the atomic concentration of Z2 being less than 0.400.
Applicant
[0136]
Heating rate
100°C/min or more
To 450 to 650°C
Retain for 0.1 to 5 min
Cooling rate
50 to 1000 °C/min
Ito
[0059]-[0063]
Heating rate
20 to 200 K/min
To 480 to 810°C
Retain for 0 to 180 min
Rapidly cooling
Regarding claim 5, Ito discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 4 as cited above,
wherein the Fe-M1-Z based composition is expressed by a compositional formula of (Fe(1-(αβ))X1αX2β)(1-(a+b+c))M1aZbCrc (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc where M is M1) ([0009]-[0018], [0021]-[0024], [0028]-[0030], [0033]-[0044], [0046]-[0051]),
X1 is one or more of Co and Ni,
X2 is one or more of Al, Mn, Ag, Zn, Sn, Cu, Bi, N, O, S, and a rare-earth element,
0.030 ≤ a ≤ 0.140 (0.04 to 0.1) ([0029]),
0.030 ≤ b ≤ 0.275 (0.02 to 0.14, where X is C (Z1) has b preferably of 2 to 10 at% and P (Z2) has c preferred of 0.1 to 2 at% or less and b+c is 0.02 to 0.12) ([0028]-[0030], [0050]),
0.000 ≤ c ≤ 0.030 (0.000),
0 ≤ α+β ≤ 0.50 are satisfied (0).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 6, Ito discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 5 as cited above,
wherein 0.050 ≤ b ≤ 0.200 is satisfied (0.02 to 0.14, where X is C (Z1) has b preferably of 2 to 10 at% and P (Z2) has c preferred of 0.1 to 2 at% or less and b+c is 0.02 to 0.12) ([0028]-[0030], [0050]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 7, Ito discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 5 as cited above,
wherein 0.730 ≤ 1-(a+b+c) ≤ 0.930 is satisfied (0.81 to 0.959) ([0038]-[0040]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 12, Ito discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 5 as cited above,
wherein 0.050 ≤ a ≤ 0.140 is satisfied (0.04 to 0.10) ([0011], [0017], [0030], [0044]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 13, Ito discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 1 as cited above,
wherein the soft magnetic alloy contains Fe-based (bcc-Fe) nanocrystals ([0010]-[0011], [0040], [0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Ito discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 1 as cited above,
wherein the soft magnetic alloy has a ribbon shape (thin strip) ([0056], [0066]).
Regarding claim 19, Ito discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 1,
wherein Z2 is P (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc) ([0009-[0013], [0017]-[0018], [0028]-[0030], [0033], [0048]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 20, Ito discloses the soft magnetic alloy according to claim 4,
wherein Z2 is P (T100-a-b-cMaXbPc) ([0009-[0013], [0017]-[0018], [0028]-[0030], [0033], [0048]-[0050]).
Related Art
Amano (US 2022/0351884 publication of applicant’s related US application No. 17/614,397)
Amano claims a composition that reads on that claimed (claims 10-25), but is silent to coefficient(s) of determination and primary regression equation(s) and measuring element aggregating or dispersion with each other.
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735